View Full Version : Greggs Stokes (Merged)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

26-08-2010, 07:58 PM
Surely noone expected him to last at ER, when we signed him and Miller they were seen as ambitious signings, better than what any of us expected.

The reason for this is they wanted a platform to relaunch their careers, they have a good season we make some money they get put in the shop window. Stokes was more successful than Miller so there is interest in him.

They were clearly signed with short term in mind and not players that we would build a team round for the future. If the alleged off field antics are true then maybe it is time to benefit from his improved stock before his price drops again.

WWFTWTG
26-08-2010, 07:58 PM
Surely noone expected him to last at ER, when we signed him and Miller they were seen as ambitious signings, better than what any of us expected.

The reason for this is they wanted a platform to relaunch their careers, they have a good season we make some money they get put in the shop window. Stokes was more successful than Miller so there is interest in him.

They were clearly signed with short term in mind and not players that we would build a team round for the future. If the alleged off field antics are true then maybe it is time to benefit from his improved stock before his price drops again.

Ya

26-08-2010, 07:59 PM
FFS do you not get it - how many have we sold and will continue to do so.........

I agree we probably would sell if the money is right, however I'm saying if Hibs don't want to, they won't.

WWFTWTG
26-08-2010, 07:59 PM
I agree we probably would sell if the money is right, however I'm saying if Hibs don't want to, they won't.

Yes - agreed m8

26-08-2010, 08:03 PM
If Stokes goes, I'm not going back to Easter Road until Petrie goes :grr::grr:

Get a grip FFS. better players than stokes have left TBH.

So this is RP's fault.

1. He had his fingers burnt many years ago..allowing the debt to top £20 million...he saw the mistake and sorted it out. (or is trying to)

2. Produced a youth academy/policy and attracted the top players in the country to the club......O Connor, Deek, Brown, Whittaker the list goes on. (mega bucks made from them).

3. Outstanding training facility..one of the best in the country.

4. an outstanding and first class stadium which is the only Fifa standard stadium outside Glasgow.

yes I blame Rod for all this and the man should stand up and take a bow.

TBH if it wasnt for my 2 young kids, shiftwork etc I would go and see Hibs home and away...like I did for 8 years. There are folk out there who have and will continue to following the team regardless of who pulls on the jersey.

For me RP has saved our club and you may think he is penny pinching but less you forget he did bring us

Deek, Miller and Stokes.

Wake up mate cos yir heed is in the sand...this is Scottish Fitba and this is what it is like to support

HIBERNIAN FC

cheers

26-08-2010, 08:04 PM
Yes, but the only he could do that is if he let his contract run down, which still has another 2 years to go so I doubt he would do that.

Hibs have full control - if they don't want to sell they don't have to regardless of whether player is happy or not.:agree: in saying that,others on here may have insider info that they are not releasing,re-Stokes' contract,or they may think more that they actually know.:wink: however,instead of so many aulder fans on here trying to shoot you down ,saying "get over it" we are a selling club,always have been etc, I have seen it far to many times but I am ****ing raging if this has happened again,at this time of the season when the ST's are bought. the very thought of him going west,gie's me the dry boak f/kin end of.

boris the blade
Simple economics, supply and demand.......

Other teams demand our players and we supply (at a decent price)

have hibs fans just accepted were never going to win anything except the odd league cup every 20 years. do we not want to keep our best players. do we get more excited at the prospect of a couple of million to keep the chairman happy. do we not dream of beating celtic and rangers, do we now dream of our young stars playing in europe and winning league titles in blue or green and white hoops?

i dont. i want us to keep theese guys(or at least be seen to try and keep them)

We got Stokes for free and and are all set to sell him for £1.2m to Celtic - whether tonights result changes that I dont know. I wouldnt be surprised if Lennon pulls out now that he is out of Europe and only competing on 3 fronts.

26-08-2010, 08:07 PM
Trying my best to be objective here.

However when it comes down to it we are selling our most natural goalscorer for less than market value, 5 days before window closes and to one of the ugly sisters. Yes he may have a clause or yes we may need to move him on for his off field troubles but we cannot need the cash and we just cannot replace a 20 goal a season striker over night.

We now seem to be pinning our hopes on securing the very unknown Biscan, a Dutch striker who has hardly been prolific and a Lith defender who was in Vlads books for several years. Excuse me if I don't get too excited.

WWFTWTG
26-08-2010, 08:07 PM
:agree: in saying that,others on here may have insider info that they are not releasing,re-Stokes' contract,or they may think more that they actually know.:wink: however,instead of so many aulder fans on here trying to shoot you down ,saying "get over it" we are a selling club,always have been etc, I have seen it far to many times but I am ****ing raging if this has happened again,at this time of the season when the ST's are bought. the very thought of him going west,gie's me the dry boak f/kin end of.

Good post - sums the whole thing up perfect

boris the blade
26-08-2010, 08:08 PM
:agree: in saying that,others on here may have insider info that they are not releasing,re-Stokes' contract,or they may think more that they actually know.:wink: however,instead of so many aulder fans on here trying to shoot you down ,saying "get over it" we are a selling club,always have been etc, I have seen it far to many times but I am ****ing raging if this has happened again,at this time of the season when the ST's are bought. the very thought of him going west,gie's me the dry boak f/kin end of.

bottom line.. hibernian football club are not giving fans the qaulity we pay for. one of the most expensive season tickets in the league and once again we feed celtic our best.

26-08-2010, 08:08 PM
Broo - they're as likely to sell Fortune for more than they'll pay for Stokes. Money in hipper and more goals - all whilst weakening the opposition/league. Effn OF! :grr:

boris the blade
26-08-2010, 08:11 PM

However when it comes down to it we are selling our most natural goalscorer for less than market value, 5 days before window closes and to one of the ugly sisters. Yes he may have a clause or yes we may need to move him on for his off field troubles but we cannot need the cash and we just cannot replace a 20 goal a season striker over night.

We now seem to be pinning our hopes on securing the very unknown Biscan, a Dutch striker who has hardly been prolific and a Lith defender who was in Vlads books for several years. Excuse me if I don't get too excited.

spot on!

26-08-2010, 08:11 PM
I have been expecting this for a few months now, if £1.5M can get a new striker and another 1 or 2 players in needed positions then i will be for it, i have a gut feeling bamba will be gone come tuesday evening as well

26-08-2010, 08:13 PM
I have been expecting this for a few months now, if £1.5M can get a new striker and another 1 or 2 players in needed positions then i will be for it, i have a gut feeling bamba will be gone come tuesday evening as well

:agree::agree:

WWFTWTG
26-08-2010, 08:15 PM

Aye so lets get a decent GK and CH in now

26-08-2010, 08:15 PM
I think what is harder to take is that the OF sell their pish ie Looking for 2.5 to 3 million for Fortune who is utter pish and only want to offer peanuts for others in the SPL ie Deek (in the past) and now Stokes who scored 24 goals last season.

I personally think it will be for more than folk are saying as RP will not do business unless it is in our interests.

we shall see in the coming days.

26-08-2010, 08:16 PM
If it was to a club outside Scotland i'd say fair play Hibs, all the best Stokesy.

To a club like Celtic (our rivals), Hibs, Petrie and co and Stokes can all **** right off.

boris the blade
26-08-2010, 08:16 PM

i would bet my wages the manager wont spend 1.5 million before the window shuts. these guys will be free transfers. they wont be players worth 1.5m like stokes

26-08-2010, 08:17 PM
If Stokes goes, I'm not going back to Easter Road until Petrie goes :grr::grr:
Deary me. Just deary ****ing me... :bitchy:

24 posts are your shouting gash like that? LTYF :agree:

26-08-2010, 08:17 PM
Can I just ask has the deal actually been done. Like no bull**** its completely finalised etc...?

boris the blade
26-08-2010, 08:19 PM
I think what is harder to take is that the OF sell their pish ie Looking for 2.5 to 3 million for Fortune who is utter pish and only want to offer peanuts for others in the SPL ie Deek (in the past) and now Stokes who scored 24 goals last season.

I personally think it will be for more than folk are saying as RP will not do business unless it is in our interests.

we shall see in the coming days.

why does everyone think rod petrie is a bargaining wizard. he has done well but hearts got 9m for craig gordon. hamilton got 3.5m for mcarthy. that is impressive!

mcfly
26-08-2010, 08:20 PM
why are we all surprised??

hibs have always sold their best players to the old firm.....we have no ambition, filling the new stand is a pipedream.

if this happens then it is a disgrace, we'll still be left wi nish, hogg....magic.

long season awaits fellow hibees

26-08-2010, 08:20 PM
Can I just ask has the deal actually been done. Like no bull**** its completely finalised etc...?
Nope, the deal has not been done. I've spoken to someone who has been at East Mains yesterday and earlier today and it's news to him. If Stokes has almost completed his move, everything has been agreed only since this afternoon.

26-08-2010, 08:22 PM
i would bet my wages the manager wont spend 1.5 million before the window shuts. these guys will be free transfers. they wont be players worth 1.5m like stokes

im not naive enough to think we will spend that much either but if it gives Yogi more flexibility in wages or even transfer funds to get the players we need or he wants then im fine with that

26-08-2010, 08:23 PM
£1.5M seems an little low for a 20 + goals per season striker.

Fletcher went for £3M to a team with less money than Celtic and was scoring less than Stokes.

I don't understand this sale for that price!!!

luxjock
This is why I didn't buy a season ticket. Not committing 400 odd quid until the window shuts. The stadium is finished yet we are still selling to our rivals? I give up.

Eaststand
[/B]

So this is RP's fault.

1. He had his fingers burnt many years ago..allowing the debt to top £20 million...he saw the mistake and sorted it out. (or is trying to)

2. Produced a youth academy/policy and attracted the top players in the country to the club......O Connor, Deek, Brown, Whittaker the list goes on. (mega bucks made from them).

4. an outstanding and first class stadium which is the only Fifa standard stadium outside Glasgow.

TBH if it wasnt for my 2 young kids, shiftwork etc I would go and see Hibs home and away...like I did for 8 years. There are folk out there who have and will continue to following the team regardless of who pulls on the jersey.

For me RP has saved our club and you may think he is penny pinching but less you forget he did bring us

Deek, Miller and Stokes.

Wake up mate cos yir heed is in the sand...this is Scottish Fitba and this is what it is like to support

HIBERNIAN FC

cheers
Good post Aldo :top marksand what you say is all very true
Stokes might well be missed but we'll find a replacement striker just like we always do and if some of the rumours about his off field antics are accurate, it might just be that the dressingroom morale improves too

jst1875
26-08-2010, 08:24 PM
after celtics grand failure tonight lennon might not be trusted with the biscuit tin anymore !

26-08-2010, 08:26 PM

Who decide's a player market value. Smeltic sign a player from Scunthorpe for ~£2m and pay him £15k per week. According to that calculation Stokes is worth around £600k. If Stokes is worth £4-5m someone will offer that. If Hibs value him at £1.5m that is what he will go for.

It's easy to put a price on a player but if nobody is willing to pay thats not his value. Remember Vlad reckons Driver is worth £5m+

26-08-2010, 08:26 PM
£1.5M just seems way to cheap for a player who could be a regular for the ROI within a year or 2.

26-08-2010, 08:27 PM
why does everyone think rod petrie is a bargaining wizard. he has done well but hearts got 9m for craig gordon. hamilton got 3.5m for mcarthy. that is impressive!

Yeah but that has been that for the Yams and lets be fair Gordon is an excellent keeper and a specialist position.

As for McCarthy you will find it was 1.2 up front and up to 3 million etc if and when.

SloopJB
26-08-2010, 08:27 PM
If this turns out to be true, I am NEVER going back to Greggs

HFC_NYC
26-08-2010, 08:28 PM
What are these alleged off field antics some people are talking about?

26-08-2010, 08:33 PM
Can I just say if we sell Stokes I'm never going back.
And can I just add that I say I'm never going back every time we lose, play crap, sell cauld bovril etc.....

Can I please remind everyone that Rod is on record that transfer income will never be spent on player budget or transfer fees.

cappoquinboy
Perhaps when Stokes was signed (for very little money), a clause was inserted in his contract along the lines of "if any club offers a clean offer of £2m" then he was able to walk and the club would have no option but to let him go.
Given that he was signed for next to nothing, at the time that may haveseemed like a fair deal?
Also, if the rumours of the off field "problems" are to be believed there may be a few at the club who won't be overly distraught at Stokesy heading out and £2m (or thereabouts) coming in.
If this guesswork is true, then I sincerely hope that the majority is reinvested in the team.

26-08-2010, 08:34 PM
Yeah but that has been that for the Yams and lets be fair Gordon is an excellent keeper and a specialist position.

As for McCarthy you will find it was 1.2 up front and up to 3 million etc if and when.

...and McCarthy is an excellent player who has already shown he is EPL class whereas Stokes couldnt even score goals in the Championship, a fact some folk are obviously forgetting.

I cant say but basically he is making a James Hunt of Hibs - fans and players included.

boris the blade

9 million pounds though!!! hibs fans like the club seem to be lacking ambition. wow! a big shiney stand. half empty every week because the teams pish because all they ever do is sell theyr best players. no wonder folk are pissed off. colin nish and derek riordan could be our only attacking options til january unless we make a couple of panic buys before next week.

26-08-2010, 08:35 PM
I suspect this transfer might not go ahead now that Celtic are out of Europe. They're now up to £10 m poorer and I get the feeling it might have been contingent on them progressing.

hibsmum
26-08-2010, 08:35 PM
stokes is not the team,yes he will be very missed but if we can keep Riordan and get someone up front to help him he could be our 20plus man. would rather have both though

boris the blade
26-08-2010, 08:38 PM
stokes is not the team,yes he will be very missed but if we can keep Riordan and get someone up front to help him he could be our 20plus man. would rather have both though

for me. stokes is the tip of the iceberg.

26-08-2010, 08:39 PM
Only way Hibs will be selling at that price is a clause in his contract, doesnt make sense otherwise IMO.

26-08-2010, 08:40 PM
Can I please remind everyone that Rod is on record that transfer income will never be spent on player budget or transfer fees.

Doubt this very much Speedway.

26-08-2010, 08:41 PM
...and McCarthy is an excellent player who has already shown he is EPL class whereas Stokes couldnt even score goals in the Championship, a fact some folk are obviously forgetting.

Stokes' goals record in English football (mostly in the Championship) was Nade-esque. Hence why he was available to Hibs in the first place. It's not as if Stokes is some sensational youngster who Hibs have brought through and hasn't been tried (and possibly failed) at a higher standard of football.

I would suggest caution and to wait and see what the full facts are on 1 September. Particularly as Celtic's result tonight may change their perspective on things.

26-08-2010, 08:41 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8948137.stm

26-08-2010, 08:42 PM
9 million pounds though!!! hibs fans like the club seem to be lacking ambition. wow! a big shiney stand. half empty every week because the teams pish because all they ever do is sell theyr best players. no wonder folk are pissed off. colin nish and derek riordan could be our only attacking options til january unless we make a couple of panic buys before next week.

And I can guarantee that if any team offers £9m for any Hibs player Rod will accept. However, Sunderland were he only club offering anything for Spotty and I'm sure Vlad was as surprised as anyone at the size of their offer.

blaikie
26-08-2010, 08:43 PM
First Time Ive posted here in a while,

We made a lot of Cash in the past few years by selling players on, Its time to move forward and build a team not selling the foundations under the managers feet. I like many Hibees will be very disappointed if we sell Stokes :grr:

Fair enough if we were like hearts and up to our necks in debt, but we have a decent backing and a solid plan to move forward but by selling every player soon as one of the ugly sisters wave there cheque books has to stop. If we can move forward not just as a club but as a team! :agree:

26-08-2010, 08:44 PM
i heard on realcrap radio that celtic had signed that israeli striker and bbc states that celtic wud go for him if they couldnt get stokes so perhaps stokes is staying?

26-08-2010, 08:49 PM
Folk going mental at the knockdown price despite the fact its purely speculation!!

I'll start going mental if by the close of the transfer window Big Yoghurt and Kipper have signed absolute huddies.... and I include the Dutch Boy in that.

Selling to our rivals????? Both the old firm were humpty last season and we were still miles behind them. We don't rival them in wages either which is why players want to move on from Hibs when they can triple their wages at least. Nobody down south is interested in Stokes as he did nowt at Sunderland or in two loan spells in the championship so will take more than one good (goalscoring) season in the SPL for them to take a look again.

I take the off field rumours with a pinch of salt usually as there is so much *****e flying about on these boards BUT theres another reason if true.

Cash in and move on Hibs but make sure we get 3 or 4 quality replacements in - not last minute panic buys.

26-08-2010, 08:50 PM
Doubt this very much Speedway.

He's on record as saying that any transfer income goes on capital expenditure or reducing debt. Reducing debt reduces interest payments which increases cash available for player budget but not transfer income spent on player purchase. RP August 2007.

26-08-2010, 08:51 PM
i heard on realcrap radio that celtic had signed that israeli striker and bbc states that celtic wud go for him if they couldnt get stokes so perhaps stokes is staying?

Tbh I can't see them shelling out for Stokes now that they've lost the expected Europa cash.

26-08-2010, 08:52 PM
Was uber raging after reading that article but after reading the Bounce it is likely there is a clause in Stokes' contract about leaving if a good enough offer comes in? That could be Barry White though. God help us if Tony Stokes leaves and there isn't a replacement in:boo hoo:

26-08-2010, 08:53 PM

If he signs for Celtic it will all come out in the wash, and I think a lot of fans will change their minds about Stokes.

26-08-2010, 08:56 PM
He's on record as saying that any transfer income goes on capital expenditure or reducing debt. Reducing debt reduces interest payments which increases cash available for player budget but not transfer income spent on player purchase. RP August 2007.

What do Hibs next need to build?

Your quote relates to a time pre Fletcher cash (£4m+), Jones plus others and when the East Stand build price was c40% more than it cost this year. I'd argue that we've moved on financially quite a large part in 4 years and to quote that is misleading and inaccurate.

sundo1875
26-08-2010, 08:57 PM
The deal might not happen now they are out of europe

26-08-2010, 08:58 PM
so to be clear, this isn't confirmed yet?

26-08-2010, 08:58 PM

I'll comment on the mortgage debt when the accounts pop through the door as we don't currently, as at last accounts, have any other debt IIRC

Other than the two long term mortgages (2020 is the redemption date, I think). If Hibs sold a player now the cash would just be sitting there earning naff all interest.

26-08-2010, 09:01 PM
so to be clear, this isn't confirmed yet?

Yup, it's at the "BBC Sport understands" stage.

The only facts are that Hibs turned down a bid from Celtc for Stokes last month and that Lennon has said that Stokes "is a player we [Celtc] like".

26-08-2010, 09:03 PM
Yup, it's at the "BBC Sport understands" stage.

The only facts are that Hibs turned down a bid from Celtc for Stokes last month and that Lennon has said that Stokes "is a player we [Celtc] like".

where was this confirmed?

26-08-2010, 09:04 PM
Other than the two long term mortgages (2020 is the redemption date, I think). If Hibs sold a player now the cash would just be sitting there earning naff all interest.

so the only winner at the year end is the tax man:grr:

Jaz
26-08-2010, 09:04 PM
http://browse.guardian.co.uk/search/Football?search=Stokes&sitesearch-radio=Football&go-guardian=Search

26-08-2010, 09:11 PM
Not that simple. That part of the fee not reinvested in the player budget would contribute to the cost of the new East Stand or offset operating losses so that the club covers its expenditure over the year and breaks-even.

26-08-2010, 09:13 PM
So we haven't actually sold him? Yes?

Hibs On Tour
26-08-2010, 09:18 PM
If it was to a club outside Scotland i'd say fair play Hibs, all the best Stokesy.

To a club like Celtic (our rivals), Hibs, Petrie and co and Stokes can all **** right off.

But if there was a contractual obligation to let him speak to any club who met the fee of X in the contract, there's nothing Hibs could do about it [nor could any other club in the same position]. Understand your ire tho...!

PS - the name 'Killen' is being bandied about certain parts...? :dunno:

26-08-2010, 09:20 PM
Accordin to Stokesys facebook he's been getting judas messages already. He's not even left yet ! ... or has he :boo hoo:

Sloppy
26-08-2010, 09:23 PM
keep bloody up man!! jesus your getting on my tits!

26-08-2010, 09:25 PM
Correct. The deal has not been officially confirmed and may never happen.

It's just looking likely at this stage.

26-08-2010, 09:26 PM

Your quote relates to a time pre Fletcher cash (£4m+), Jones plus others and when the East Stand build price was c40% more than it cost this year. I'd argue that we've moved on financially quite a large part in 4 years and to quote that is misleading and inaccurate.

Rod was explaining club policy of three years ago and I've seen nothing from him or Lindsay to rescind that.

Out of interest, I'm hearing that Rod's asking price for Stokes is £3.8m. Can't see us getting anything close to that.

26-08-2010, 09:26 PM
If this was an English team that we were talking about here, I would be slightly miffed at the apparent transfer fee which I feel is too low for someone like Stokes, who still has two years left on his contract, however I would wish him all the best and hope that Hughes can use the cash to get someone in before the end of the month who can attempt to fill Stokes' boots.

However, it's not an English team that we're talking about here, it's Celtic, and I wouldn't sell that mob a bag of sugar, never mind a 20+ goals a season striker.

26-08-2010, 09:27 PM
9 million pounds though!!!
I wouldn't get too excited about that. Record transfer fee for Hearts yet I doubt they saw much of the money going to Tynecastle and they even managed to still make a loss that year. It may well have been a great bit of business but it very soon disappeared beneath the weight of all the utterly woeful pieces of dreadful business that surrounded it.

26-08-2010, 09:27 PM

:bye:

26-08-2010, 09:29 PM
I'm hearing that Rod's asking price for Stokes is £3.8m.
I've always wanted to say this. Source?

26-08-2010, 09:31 PM
I've always wanted to say this. Source?

Professional service firm individual, same as always.

26-08-2010, 09:33 PM

So what are you saying?

26-08-2010, 09:34 PM
After tonight's brutal financial result for an already cash light Celtic, I'd expect to see Fortune, Samaras, etc punted quickly to slash the wage bill with immediate effect. These guys wouldn;t have come cheaply and don;t look interested half the time.

Stokes is a proven SPL goalscorer who will do a better job than those two put together and will be cheaper on the wage bill than either so will be worth them paying a couple of million.

26-08-2010, 09:35 PM
So what are you saying?

Mibaes Aye, Mibaes Naw !!! :wink:

26-08-2010, 09:35 PM
Can we start getting rid of the yams yet?:wink:

he hasn't signed yet, whats all the fuss about?

Lets wait for something concrete!!

MontrealHibs
26-08-2010, 09:36 PM
£3.8m would be magical. However, I am "hearing" his release clause is only £1m and not £1.5m

26-08-2010, 09:37 PM
After tonight's brutal financial result for an already cash light Celtic, I'd expect to see Fortune, Samaras, etc punted quickly to slash the wage bill with immediate effect. These guys wouldn;t have come cheaply and don;t look interested half the time.

Stokes is a proven SPL goalscorer who will do a better job than those two put together and will be cheaper on the wage bill than either so will be worth them paying a couple of million.

You would think so, but we are talking about RP and Celtic :greengrin

26-08-2010, 09:41 PM
£3.8m would be magical. However, I am "hearing" his release clause is only £1m and not £1.5m

admit it, you heard that on kickback. that's the only place i've seen that figure mentioned and we all know just how trustworthy they are. i cite that guy who trousered the wullie bauld memorial charity money as an example. :greengrin

new malkyhib
26-08-2010, 09:46 PM
We have a higher percentage of balance sheet fetishists than any other support in Scotland. Learn to accept that fact and your blood pressure will be much more controllable.

The Silver Fox
26-08-2010, 09:46 PM
Is this Stokes final year of his contract? If so Celtic won't rush in to buy him for big money unless they get rid of some of their no hopers like Samaras. They will wait until January when they are going for th title push.

No doubt about it Stokes would score far more gaols than the big Greek boy.

26-08-2010, 09:48 PM
Is this Stokes final year of his contract? If so Celtic won't rush in to buy him for big money unless they get rid of some of their no hopers like Samaras. They will wait until January when they are going for th title push.

No doubt about it Stokes would score far more gaols than the big Greek boy.

He is signed until the end of the 2011-2012 season.

007 Mickey Weir
26-08-2010, 09:48 PM
Ok my opinion on this if true is that I am disappointed.

I understand we are a selling club. I understand we have a great balance sheet and new ground/training centre. We are buiding a great youth set up. We try to play attacking football where possible.

But why is it always planning for next year. It is never now. We are football fans not investors!

Hearts seem to **** everything up behind the scenes. But they know how to get the fans going. Cheap ticket/season tickets to get strong crowds. PR is 100% better than ours. And very rarely sell there soul to the ugly sisters for a quick buck. ok a lot of it is HOT air, but thats what football fans love. The rumours and excitment of what if...

D Utd have a terrible support but still mock us for selling all the time and winning nothing.

Even the sheep are starting to invest again.

I will always support Hibs. I am season ticket holder that will be there all season. But I just wish we could risk a little to gain a lot. Better contracts for players we have. Loan deals to bring in some exciting players that are outwith our reach normally. Give each season ticket holder 10 free tickets to use for friends throughout the season for category B games.

I don't know. Somehow make it more FUN to be a hibbie, rather than hard work all the time.

I hope we sign Denneboom, Griffiths, two defenders (one at least an experienced CB. Webster anyone??

Its gonna be an interesting weekend.

new malkyhib
26-08-2010, 09:50 PM
I think alot of people are missing the point here. Hibs have little control of the situation.

If Celtic want Stokes and Stokes wants to move to Celtic, all Celtic need to do is match Hibs' valuation of the player.

We all know Petrie is no fool so let's just leave it up to him and if Stokes is sold then fair enough.

Every time we sell one of our decent players, it's always doom and gloom but another is usually just round the corner!! O'Connor, Fletcher, Riordan, Stokes, Miller, Bamba, Murray, Murphy, Thomson, Brown, Whittaker to name a few.

Toss in Doumbe, Sproule, Killen and Danny Andersson as the goalie and you've got a potential league winning squad there...wouldn't win any balance sheet awards though:bitchy:

26-08-2010, 09:55 PM
I think alot of people are missing the point here. Hibs have little control of the situation.

If Celtic want Stokes and Stokes wants to move to Celtic, all Celtic need to do is match Hibs' valuation of the player.

We all know Petrie is no fool so let's just leave it up to him and if Stokes is sold then fair enough.

Every time we sell one of our decent players, it's always doom and gloom but another is usually just round the corner!! O'Connor, Fletcher, Riordan, Stokes, Miller, Bamba, Murray, Murphy, Thomson, Brown, Whittaker to name a few.

Toss in Doumbe, Sproule, Killen and Danny Andersson as the goalie and you've got a potential league winning squad there...wouldn't win any balance sheet awards though:bitchy:

Jeez how long was I sleeping for:greengrin

26-08-2010, 09:56 PM

Rod was explaining club policy of three years ago and I've seen nothing from him or Lindsay to rescind that.
Think this is the piece you remember from 22 June 2007, Official Site and EEN:

"Transfer fee income from the sale of players reflects the success of the club's youth academy system. It would be wrong to use transfer fee income to pay for over-spending on players, thereby leading to unsustainable trading losses."

and ..

"The annual income provided by supporters through purchasing a season ticket or by attending matches on a game-by-game basis, is vital to the well-being of the club and maintaining the amount the club can spend on the team

At the same time, improvements to our infrastructure can be funded from the transfer fee income without taking away from the commitment to the playing squad."

There has been no publicly stated change in that policy. However, I do believe that Hibs have developed some guile in their transfer dealings over the last 2 - 3 years and are now finding creative ways to provide packages that will attract a higher calibre of player to Easter Road.

Meanwhile RP's stated policy will inevitably change once the investment in infrastructure has been completed.

ionahibby
26-08-2010, 09:58 PM
If this all turns out to be true will be interesting to see what yogi thinks of this will he go head to head with petrie and fight his corner or is he another yes man :hmmm:

new malkyhib
26-08-2010, 09:59 PM
I like Stokes as a player but if he wants to go and price is right then Bye Ants thanks for the goals. However I support Hibs not just individual players. Hopefully money will be used wisely. Get a couple players in and secure Deeks possibly Bamba (wishful thinking) on longer deals.
FFS we are Hibs Petrie would sell us if he could.

...and his granny if the price was right - as long as it provided "incremental long-term sustainable growth", and there'll always be next year for us Hibees, just be patient, Rod (or should that be "God" on this board) will see to it.

26-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Ok my opinion on this if true is that I am disappointed.

I understand we are a selling club. I understand we have a great balance sheet and new ground/training centre. We are buiding a great youth set up. We try to play attacking football where possible.

But why is it always planning for next year. It is never now. We are football fans not investors!

Hearts seem to **** everything up behind the scenes. But they know how to get the fans going. Cheap ticket/season tickets to get strong crowds. PR is 100% better than ours. And very rarely sell there soul to the ugly sisters for a quick buck. ok a lot of it is HOT air, but thats what football fans love. The rumours and excitment of what if...

D Utd have a terrible support but still mock us for selling all the time and winning nothing.

Even the sheep are starting to invest again.

I will always support Hibs. I am season ticket holder that will be there all season. But I just wish we could risk a little to gain a lot. Better contracts for players we have. Loan deals to bring in some exciting players that are outwith our reach normally. Give each season ticket holder 10 free tickets to use for friends throughout the season for category B games.

I don't know. Somehow make it more FUN to be a hibbie, rather than hard work all the time.

I hope we sign Denneboom, Griffiths, two defenders (one at least an experienced CB. Webster anyone??

Its gonna be an interesting weekend.

Eh???? :confused:

I live in the land of sheep and am surrounded by Dons fans....tell me how they are investing again??? Free transfers and 2/3k wages???

26-08-2010, 10:07 PM
If this all turns out to be true will be interesting to see what yogi thinks of this will he go head to head with petrie and fight his corner or is he another yes man :hmmm:

was speaking to my Hibby uncle earlier and he reckoned that Yogi's body language when talking about Zouma was different, his words where that he look "a bit doon". This coupled with the mixed messages from Yogi recently - We need another few players.......well no we dont. I'm looking to add a centre half and a striker.............then we get, Hibs fans have to realise that the stand was expensive etc etc
So he speculated that Yogi may be getting the treatment that JC and Mixu got, ie a reduction in budget to force them into leaving?

26-08-2010, 10:08 PM

Is doing the best thing for the club make him a yes man

Remember

Sale is not yet confirmed
Hughes might already have a replacement in mind
Fjk is a yes man

johncrobertson@
26-08-2010, 10:15 PM
Were Hibs not quoted as paying £800,00 for Stokes? If he has a get out clause of £1m the profit margin is not in Rod's normal dealings.

Think he is a great goalscorer - but team player? and does not link up well with others in the team!

26-08-2010, 10:16 PM
Were Hibs not quoted as paying £800,00 for Stokes? If he has a get out clause of £1m the profit margin is not in Rod's normal dealings.

Think he is a great goalscorer - but team player? and does not link up well with others in the team!

We need Stokes.

26-08-2010, 10:17 PM
I can see Hibs going in for Leigh Griffiths if/when the sale of AS goes through.

epperstonehibby
26-08-2010, 10:18 PM
This is from a mate who is a journalist and a hibby.

26-08-2010, 10:25 PM
This is from a mate who is a journalist and a hibby.

must be true then :cool2:

26-08-2010, 10:26 PM

but can score 20 plus a season :bitchy: who gives a flying duck if he is a team player.
who was the last hibs player to hit 20 plus goals in a season?

DoonTheSlope
26-08-2010, 10:27 PM
BBC Scotland have officially announced Stokes a Celtic employee!!

26-08-2010, 10:29 PM
BBC Scotland have officially announced Stokes a Celtic employee!!

When was that mate?

the_ginger_hibee
26-08-2010, 10:30 PM
If true, disappointing. Selling to the OF **** for a supposedly small fee.

It's tough being a Hibee.

26-08-2010, 10:32 PM
Thank f*** for us, eh, or Celtic would have utterly nobody to do their scouting for them.

Cancerous institution.

DoonTheSlope
26-08-2010, 10:32 PM
When was that mate?

Almost official....http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8948137.stm

26-08-2010, 10:35 PM
Almost official....http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8948137.stm

That's not what you posted at first, though.:cool2:

At least read the thread and see that the link's already been posted and discussed before inventing new parts to a story to get a reaction.:bitchy:

26-08-2010, 10:37 PM
Still no signed then?

Well for me, unless it's a stupid amount of money, this is madness.

Take the 20 goals Stokes scored last season out of the team and we'll be luck to scrape 6th. The transfer window is nearly shut, we don't have a hope of getting someone of similar quality, we'll be stuck with Gow, who doesn't seem to be able to buy himself a a new club, or the Dutch boy who seems to have been pretty underwhelming when he was on trial.

This would be a pretty catastrophic act of shooting ourselves in the foot at the start of the season and will probably result in a lot more empty seats in our shiny 'expensive' new stand.

i posted about this months ago, and he will go before the window shuts...its great that we have such a nice stadium, its just a pity we have a ***** team and continue to sell our best players

HIBERNIAN 1875
26-08-2010, 10:38 PM
Disgraceful, absolutely disgraceful, yet another key player off along the M8. :bitchy:

26-08-2010, 10:39 PM

At least read the thread and see that the link's already been posted and discussed before inventing new parts to a story to get a reaction.:bitchy:

Where's the fun in that?

LeithBoozy
26-08-2010, 10:40 PM
It was only last week Stokes was telling the world just how happy he was at ER. You cant believe a word they player's say nowadays, It breaks your heart when you are starting to build a team. :boo hoo:

26-08-2010, 10:40 PM

It was being discussed on the radio ealier on, with the BBC team seeming to suggest it was pretty much done and dusted.

We've been here before right enough (Riordan and Rangers), but this one seems to have a hell of a lot of momentum.

26-08-2010, 10:42 PM
It was only last week Stokes was telling the world just how happy he was at ER. You cant believe a word they player's say nowadays, It breaks your heart when you are starting to build a team. :boo hoo:

Players are as loyal as their options - they can pay him more than we can, ergo, no great surprise he'd move. Doesn't make it any less bearable right enough.

Most modern footballers are mercenaries, but then, we knew from the off that Stokes was using this as a 'shop window'. It's just blood-boilingly annoying that he's gone to those canoots.

TrickyNicky
26-08-2010, 10:47 PM

Real Story

" Hey Maurice, gonnae no gie they students it the BBC Scoatlind internetty site one ay thaim unsettle a player tip - oafs".

" Aye, nae bother Pat, ah'll just pit mah wallies back in and git it done fir ye, any chance whae kin poap roond tae Neils hoose and git um tae pit that 2 men one hoarse video oan again "

26-08-2010, 10:51 PM
It's not that disgraceful if we are talking about a player who wants to leave due to the club he supports coming in for him and making a bid. Hibs are not in any position, like all UK clubs, to simply crumple up the bids as they come in and bin them. It's not as if it was unexpected either. When he signed we all knew that it would be a stepping stone, with Celtic his potential target. If RP would say no and not participate in discussions, Hibs then have an even more unhappy player who may not be as committed, and the club has less in the bank to spend/pay a salary to a replacement(s). I just hope the players have kept their betting slips :wink: All the best to him but no player is bigger than the club and I am sure we will find another player similar who will bang in some goals (please Yogi :pray:) - a few more days in the window yet and I have a feeling Hibs will pull this infamous rabbit out of the hat.

26-08-2010, 10:52 PM
I'd rather wait until it's official or reported that Stokes has told Sellick to do one before having a rant at Hibs or declaring that Stokes is pish anyway.

26-08-2010, 10:52 PM

C'est la vie

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose

26-08-2010, 10:54 PM
Thank f*** for us, eh, or Celtic would have utterly nobody to do their scouting for them.

Cancerous institution.

Correct.

26-08-2010, 11:00 PM
please can we not start talking crap about how bad he is cos we all know that is completely yammish and very untrue

26-08-2010, 11:01 PM
Jim Delahunt was on radio clyde tonight and said that Stokes would be a celtic player by the close of the window.
While I'm angry that yet again we are losing one of out best players to the infirm in this case the blame can not be at Rod's or Yogi's door. If there is a release clause in his contract then there's nothing we can do. Doesn't matter who comes in for him. Once the price is met it's met.
And a word to the wise. You can forget all about 3-4 million. You looking at about £800k or what ever €1 million are now a days.

26-08-2010, 11:02 PM

Hahaha

All those players have played for the club at different times and peaked at different times. That would sort of be a Hibs dream team over the last few years.

Just think, any club in the world can note down all their best players from the last 5-10 years and say that the team could win the league.

People that spout this pish are either yams or don't have a clue.

26-08-2010, 11:08 PM
I can understand if this was a shop window job but Hibs have got to be bigger than that, 1 season is just not on, player for the off on the first chance he gets. We will go nowhere doing this messing about with key players. He owes us 2 seasons for giving him a chance IMO.

So gets into swing of things with us for a season then can join a rival and build on that with it likely sticking in a few against our cracking defence, total joke from all concerned IMO.

26-08-2010, 11:12 PM
And a word to the wise. You can forget all about 3-4 million. You looking at about £800k or what ever €1 million are now a days.

Yet the jamboids can turn down 3M for Driver nowadays?

26-08-2010, 11:15 PM
The transfer window between Scottish clubs should be closed before the start of our domestic season and we shouldn't be selling anybody after a couple of games. Doesn't stop players going down south or abroad but once our season starts we would know that they ain't going to bugger off west. :grr:

Anyway I'm out of here as nothing is going to happen until the morning.

26-08-2010, 11:28 PM
If Stokes stays, good, he's a good player.

If he goes, lets see who we've had lined up. Riordan, O'Connor, Stokes, Killen, Fletcher, Nish....all players varying in quality for EPL to SPL, but all players that are enviable to other teams around us - even Nish who Aberdeen were very interested in.

If we sell Stokes, but bring in another forward, and a centre half from the proceeds, then it is, on paper, good business, on and off the field.

26-08-2010, 11:33 PM
Yet the jamboids can turn down 3M for Driver nowadays?

I agree with you mate but he's got a clause in the contract and once it's matched it means he can go. Stokes should be about to £3 million to an english team and £5 million to the soap dodgers.
As for Driver? Wouldn't even give you three buttons for the *** never mind £3million. Can't believe the yams turned it down.

26-08-2010, 11:39 PM
If you want to compete with the OF for the services of any player, then get selling out this new stadium. Then we can talk about anything like competition - and even then we're at a major numbers disadvantage.

26-08-2010, 11:42 PM
Surely it's Rangers shot next for a player, I am sure if we replace Stokes with anyone who looks half decent we will lose them too. Sell Kenny Miller to Rangers get in Agathe as posible replacement left for Celtic 2 months later, farce.

26-08-2010, 11:43 PM
Has he gone yet?

LeithBoozy
26-08-2010, 11:51 PM
We saw on sunday, not for the first time the damage former players can do to us.The thought of stokes returning to haunt us for years does not appeal one little bit. :boo hoo:

26-08-2010, 11:55 PM
Disgraceful, absolutely disgraceful, yet another key player off along the M8. :bitchy:

When did this happen, :wink: As far as I can see nobody has signed anybody..... yet :cool2:

And with the smellies getting humped tonight, I'm not so sure they got the money now

27-08-2010, 12:39 AM
If Stokes has a release clause in his contract and it's met then there's nothing the club can do about it and there's absolutely no point in us moaning about it. And it's quite possible he'd never have signed on Hibs wages in the first place without such a clause in place (remember he was supposed to have accepted a massive pay cut when he signed).

From what I know Stokes is a Smellies fan anyway - he'll get a massively improved wage as well so it would be pretty churlish to get all bitter about it.

If he does go I just hope Yogi gets all the cash and spends it wisely - I remember being royally pissed off when Kenny Miller signed for the huns years ago. But McLeish made good use of the cash, signing John O'Neil, Zitelli and Ulrik Laursen IIRC and we went on to have an excellent season, finishing 3rd and getting into Europe.

If a similar scenario happened this time around I certainly wouldn't be complaining. There's certainly areas of the team in dire need of improvement - so if Hughes gets all the cash from this transfer and plays his cards right then this could just turn out to be a blessing in disguise.

27-08-2010, 12:41 AM
but can score 20 plus a season :bitchy: who gives a flying duck if he is a team player.
who was the last hibs player to hit 20 plus goals in a season?

That boy riordan?

We should try and sign him if stokes leaves!

I hope he doesn't leave but it'd all happened before and it will happen again.
As much as yogi gets a hard time, and quite rightly, for some of his tactics etc, it has to be said, I've been more impressed with the signings he has made than any other recent manager. We'll sign a replacement, we always do!

And for those saying he's worth more look at it this way..
if stokes stays, scores 20 goals whats the best hibs can achieve realistically? 3rd place? Is third place goin to net us 1.2million? Probably not!
Its not the way the fans want to look at it but were lucky we have a board who do look at it this way and are protecting the future of our club!

McHibby
27-08-2010, 02:50 AM
According to the Scotsman Celtic have made a bid of around £800,000:

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport/Celtic-bid-for-Anthony-Stokes.6498157.jp

blindsummit
27-08-2010, 02:57 AM
Only 800K! they are taking the urine. I'm sure Rod won't settle for that. he better not anyway.

brightons hibby
27-08-2010, 03:41 AM
I hope Hibs tell celtic toF off and if they are serious show us the money or go away back in to the hole you weggies came from.:hnet:

Hibstrooper
27-08-2010, 03:45 AM
There must be something in his contract about letting him leave pretty cheap as the figures being banded about are certainly a lot less than you would expect.

27-08-2010, 05:18 AM
Petries no accepted any offer yet, the weedgies better get serious or they will get nowt!!:greengrin

27-08-2010, 05:21 AM
If we sell Stokes to that lot, I'll find it hard to support Hibs this season.

I know that every player has his price etc etc, but IF we are in such a decent financial state as we hear, then surely we need to build on last season and not sell sell sell.

If anything I'm dissapointed with our signings and our sqaud as it is.

'mon Hibs, tell them to F OFF

27-08-2010, 06:01 AM
IF Stokes does go, before there's a lot of gnashing of teeth from those who think we're selling too cheap/dismantling the squad, they'd do well to read back through this thread and pay attention to the posts from people who have a track record of inside knowledge.

If they can piece them together , then that might tell them all they want to know :cool2:

27-08-2010, 06:16 AM
£800,000 reported on Talk Sport this morning, probably got it from the papers though, i hope we get more than that TBH

DCI Gene Hunt
27-08-2010, 06:20 AM
You've got to laugh at such a scaffy offer. :faf:

Typical Smelltic

Gene

sundo1875
27-08-2010, 06:24 AM
Sun reporting he's havin a medical today

27-08-2010, 06:34 AM
Sun reporting he's havin a medical today

How can a player have a medical if the clubs haven't agreed a fee?

:wtf:

Smiggy 7-0
27-08-2010, 06:41 AM
Just tell the SMELLY SOAP DODGIN' UNCLEAN BARSTEWARDS TO GET TO ****

27-08-2010, 06:43 AM
Firstly I have absolutely no inside information at all, but having read through the read comments from posters usually in the know, its clear that there is a buy out clause in his contract.

No matter how much some of the other posters in the thread jump up and down about it and complain about the paucity of the fee, if its in the contract and we are offered that and he wants to go he is gone.

Pretending it isnt there or complaining about the unfairness of it all, the boards willingness to sell or how he has gone too cheap are pointless.

Sorry folks it not always the case that if you complain loud enough, shout long enough or refuse to believe something it will go away.

Its a massive blow and a worry, no question at all.

It would however do us well to look back and say we got 20 odd goals and £x for a player we wouldnt have had a sniff of in the first place if the deal to bring him to Hibs hadnt been written in the way it was.

With the aboslute dismantling of the team over the previous few years and constant managerial changes, I always believed that last season had the potential for disaster for us and thank god Stokes & Riordan's goals saved us from that.

FWIW if the rumoured problems behind the scenes with Stokes are to be believed, living in the old firm spotlight will destroy the poor guy.

I wish him all the best as I seriously think he is going to need it, expect against us of course.

sundo1875
27-08-2010, 06:44 AM
How can a player have a medical if the clubs haven't agreed a fee?

:wtf:

Its sed in the sun the deal is almost done and he will play for them on Sunday v Motherwell

TrickyNicky
27-08-2010, 06:51 AM
According to the Scotsman Celtic have made a bid of around £800,000:

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/sport/Celtic-bid-for-Anthony-Stokes.6498157.jp

This amount does seem low.

Sunderland bought him from Arsenal for £2 million in 2007 and I know he had a dip in form that season but after14 goals in 16 matches then being the second top scorer in the SPL last season I would've thought that his present price tag would be closer to the £2 mill again.

Deano Mourinho
27-08-2010, 06:56 AM
Then Hibs can stick my season ticket up there a**e i will not be back at easter road, i see this as a totally pointless sale 1 million for arguably are best player last season!!!! I thought Hughes was trying to build a team not get rid of best assests

:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

I am so annoyed i can hardly type just now

MoantheCabbage
27-08-2010, 06:59 AM
This is from Hibs mad. Seems Petrie has other idea's

Celtic move for Hibs striker Anthony Stokes

By Steve Forbes Thursday, 26th August 2010

Green and Grey Hoops sniffing about.. AGAIN

Just as Hibs-Mad revealed FOUR days ago, it has been confirmed that Celtic have contacted the Hibees about the availability of striker Anthony Stokes.

According to press reports Celtic are close to agreeing a deal with the club over a move to Glasgow for the Republic of Ireland striker.

Our man inside Easter Road reckons Rod Petrie has told the lesser green’s it will take a mammoth £4m to sign the Hibees top goal scorer.

Celtic manager Neil Lennon has admitted he wants the 22-year-old, he said:

"He's an option for us.

"He's a player we like but we have nothing more to say on that at the minute."

Stokes signed for the Hibees in a £500,000 deal from Premiership side Sunderland last summer, and had a superb first season in Edinburgh, scoring 23 goals.

He joined Sunderland in a £2m from Arsenal, after an explosive loan spell in the SPL with Falkirk.

27-08-2010, 06:59 AM
It appears there's a but out clause and Celtic know what it is. At least we will see Riordan up front now and Galbraith might get a run out on the left,

I for one am resigned to the fact he's gone although while he's still here there's still hope.

27-08-2010, 07:01 AM
800k?! WTF?

That's not far off what they paid for Pat McGinlay 15 years ago FFS! :grr:

27-08-2010, 07:01 AM
Firstly I have absolutely no inside information at all, but having read through the read comments from posters usually in the know, its clear that there is a buy out clause in his contract.

No matter how much some of the other posters in the thread jump up and down about it and complain about the paucity of the fee, if its in the contract and we are offered that and he wants to go he is gone.

Pretending it isnt there or complaining about the unfairness of it all, the boards willingness to sell or how he has gone too cheap are pointless.

Sorry folks it not always the case that if you complain loud enough, shout long enough or refuse to believe something it will go away.

Its a massive blow and a worry, no question at all.

It would however do us well to look back and say we got 20 odd goals and £x for a player we wouldnt have had a sniff of in the first place if the deal to bring him to Hibs hadnt been written in the way it was.

With the aboslute dismantling of the team over the previous few years and constant managerial changes, I always believed that last season had the potential for disaster for us and thank god Stokes & Riordan's goals saved us from that.

FWIW if the rumoured problems behind the scenes with Stokes are to be believed, living in the old firm spotlight will destroy the poor guy.

I wish him all the best as I seriously think he is going to need it, expect against us of course.

Having a buy out clause is not what is giving me issues. It's the amount within the clause thats bothering me and going by reports it's £800K.

There was hardly a queue of teams willing to take on Stokes this time last season and the fact that Stokes played under Hughes before probably had a factor in both Hibs going for him and Stokes agreeing to take a wage cut to come to Hibs.

Petrie is a shrewd man and probably knows the transfer market better than anyone. Has Petrie really allowed Hibs to take on Stokes knowing what he previously did in the SPL when at Falkirk with such a small sell on feature in his contract?

27-08-2010, 07:04 AM
Then Hibs can stick my season ticket up there a**e i will not be back at easter road, i see this as a totally pointless sale 1 million for arguably are best player last season!!!! I thought Hughes was trying to build a team not get rid of best assests

Well said mate.

We need bums on seats otherwise why have this nice new stadium if we are selling our very best players for small fee's and to the OF. It makes no sense.
We're on a sound financial footing, we don't "need" to sell, so if we do, it should only be for very very good money, otherwise clubs can **** Off.

As I mentioned earlier, I'm dissapointed with our signings and squad as it is, selling Stokes or Deek/Bamba, would be tragic.

Also, why don't Hibs try some loan signings to bolster our squad with a bit more quality?

27-08-2010, 07:06 AM

One of the best lines I've read on here for a long time!

M8UDB
27-08-2010, 07:07 AM
I am f***in ragin about this, there is no need to let him go at all, surely he could stay another season at least and if he does the same for us as he did last season (which im sure he would) then he would be able to get a better move rather than goin down the M8 to they dirty, smelly, scroungin barstewards, £800k as well......got to be havin a laugh :grr::grr::grr:
All we need now is for Bamba to be sold next week for £500k and we will have a great season:grr::grr:

27-08-2010, 07:10 AM

Do the ticket office staff operate some sort of rota for that particular task?

Disc O'Dave
27-08-2010, 07:11 AM
According to Forth 1, we have knocked back an initial £800K bid

Which raised a couple of questions.

If there is a buy-out clause figure, why have we rejected this bid? because...

If there is a buy out clause figure, surely Stokes Agent will know what it is, and thus so will Celtic.

I'm all for driving a hard bargain, but surely if you know you can alreday get a 20-goals a season striker at a knock down price, you don't take the piss by bidding below that price?

If any of this is actually happening, of course.

Disc O'Dave
27-08-2010, 07:15 AM
I am f***in ragin about this, there is no need to let him go at all, surely he could stay another season at least and if he does the same for us as he did last season (which im sure he would) then he would be able to get a better move rather than goin down the M8 to they dirty, smelly, scroungin barstewards, £800k as well......got to be havin a laugh :grr::grr::grr:
All we need now is for Bamba to be sold next week for £500k and we will have a great season:grr::grr:

Only if you have ignored all the posts about a buy-out clause.

Only if you know for a fact that IF these players leave we have no intention of replacing them

It's taken 36 years, but finally, thanks to Hibs.net, I understand what my mother meant when she said "there's no point in getting worked up about something, until there's actually something to get worked up about"

27-08-2010, 07:16 AM
,I understand what my mother meant when she said "there's no point in getting worked up about something, until there's actually something to get worked up about"

27-08-2010, 07:18 AM
Only if you have ignored all the posts about a buy-out clause.

Only if you know for a fact that IF these players leave we have no intention of replacing them

It's taken 36 years, but finally, thanks to Hibs.net, I understand what my mother meant when she said "there's no point in getting worked up about something, until there's actually something to get worked up about"

Yeah this all a bit strange, surely celtic know what the buy out level is?

or perhaps it is actually a lot higher than we all think and they are just trying to force the issue for less money?

Or perhaps there just skint?

If I was stokes I would be quite pissed of at only being valued at 800k by my new potential employer:devil:

27-08-2010, 07:19 AM

Indeed. It must be pretty crap living your whole life expecting the worst.

DCI Gene Hunt
27-08-2010, 07:22 AM
Suppose we will need to wait and see what happens.

The Sun seem to be the only ones reporting that he's having a medical. There again it is The Sun... :blah:

The Guv

27-08-2010, 07:25 AM
According to Forth 1, we have knocked back an initial £800K bid

Which raised a couple of questions.

If there is a buy-out clause figure, why have we rejected this bid? because...

If there is a buy out clause figure, surely Stokes Agent will know what it is, and thus so will Celtic.

I'm all for driving a hard bargain, but surely if you know you can alreday get a 20-goals a season striker at a knock down price, you don't take the piss by bidding below that price?

If any of this is actually happening, of course.

I believe there is a price clause in the contract.

You can bet your life on it that Celtic will know what it is.

Rodders chased Celtic a couple of weeks ago with a 1.2 million bid. I therefore assume the price is above 1.2 million.

Celtic chancing their mitt with £800,000, Rodders won't take a penny less than the contract price.

Should there be no contract price (unlikely IMO) then we will get a good price.

Stokes carry on last week probably stage managed to guarantee exit to Celtic.

If Stokes can't handle the heat with Hibs wait til he hits Glasgow, recipe for disaster in that goldfish bowl.

As Thorburn1 says if we hadn't put a price in the contract we wouldn't have got him in the first place.

27-08-2010, 07:26 AM

Do you understand the words "buy out clause" in regards to his contract? :confused:

Disc O'Dave
27-08-2010, 07:31 AM

Rodders chased Celtic a couple of weeks ago with a 1.2 million bid. I therefore assume the price is above 1.2 million.

Celtic chancing their mitt with £800,000, Rodders won't take a penny less than the contract price.

If Stokes can't handle the heat with Hibs wait til he hits Glasgow, recipe for disaster in that goldfish bowl.

As Thorburn1 says if we hadn't put a price in the contract we wouldn't have got him in the first place.

Is it possible that celtic think we have some signings lined up, and selling either Stokes or Bamba is key to getting those signing in, thus as the window draws to a close, they think we might panic?

That's the only reason they could ever imagine Rod would sell anyone for less than he absolutely has to. We have called their bluff before with Fletcher, I'm happy to see us do it again.

27-08-2010, 07:38 AM
I was annoyed last night but not now. If we survived losing Joe Baker, Pat Stanton, Franck Sauzee etc then we'll survive with the loss on Anthony Stokes.
I do hope we spend some money on reinforcementsd - I believe the squad was 3 bodies light before this

27-08-2010, 07:45 AM
apparently hibs want around 2.5 million and talks will continue today and celtic are expected to up their offer to 1million up front plus add ons. Hughes has another striker lined up but he is contracted to another club

27-08-2010, 07:52 AM
From my reading of this thread so far....

- There's a release clause in his contract.

- There may not be a release clause in his contract after all.

- Celtic offered £1.2m a few weeks ago and having been refused, decided to lower that offer by £400k.

- Celtic offered £1.2m a few weeks ago and having been refused, decided to lower that offer by £200k.

- Celtic offered £1.2m a few weeks ago and having been refused, decided to up that offer by £300k.

- Stokes has signed for Celtic.

- Stokes is having a medical today.

- Stokes wants to go.

- Stokes is happy at Hibs.

- Rodders values him at £3.8m.

- Rodders values him at £2.5m.

- Rodders has accepted a bid of £1.5m.

- Rodders hasn't accepted any bids.

- Stokes has major problems.

- Stokes stage-managed his 'problems' to force a move.

- Celtic might not buy Stokes now that they're out of Europe.

- We paid £800k for Stokes.

- We got Stokes on a free.

- We paid £500k for Stokes.

Hopefully that brings everyone up to speed.

27-08-2010, 07:57 AM

- Celtic offered £1.2m a few weeks ago and having been refused, decided to lower that offer by £400k.

- Celtic offered £1.2m a few weeks ago and having been refused, decided to lower that offer by £200k.

- Celtic offered £1.2m a few weeks ago and having been refused, decided to up that offer by £300k.

- Stokes wants to go.

I think the only constant in this whole thing is that we still really really hate Celtic, and Neil Lennon is still an erse... :agree:

robinp
27-08-2010, 07:58 AM

- Stokes wants to go.

I've seen this mentioned a few times now - what are these 'problems'

27-08-2010, 07:59 AM

Cheers. That clears everything up :greengrin

He wants to play for celtic, thats surely a pretty big problem for any guy to have:wink:

Duffys13

As Barney McGrew says at the top of this page, it is more than possible that there is more to this than selling a striker to Celtic simply for Cash. There is a big picture to look at

OK, so a few posters seem to indicate that Stokes has been up to no good off the park. Can anyone shed any light on this? Maybe if people know what he has been up to it will make it a bit easier when he does move along the M8 to that manky mob. Come one someone spill the beans!

27-08-2010, 08:00 AM

I heard he was an axe murderer.

27-08-2010, 08:01 AM
Come one someone spill the beans!

Och, not again. It's been done to death on the PM board.

:whistle:

27-08-2010, 08:03 AM

- Stokes wants to go.

:top marks It's all crystal clear now. Thank god for those who have sources in the know, eh?

alfie
27-08-2010, 08:14 AM
Thanks Beefster for the summary, saved me wading through pages and pages of speculation.

Until I see a story of his completed transfer in a reputable paper or website (e.g. BBC) I'm not going to get worried about it. Petrie knows how to get money out of the OF and I'm sure he is a more experienced negotiator than Lennon.

The OF can always offer a higher wage than us so it will always turn a player's head and most of them are happy to take it with the risk of less first team action, but we dont have to look too far to see other players in our current squad that have done the same in the past and it hasnt worked out for them in the long run.

I'm sure that Hughes and Petrie have targets that we can only afford if we make a big cash sale. If there is a sale then I'm sure that there will be a replacement coming along shortly. Knowing Petrie, we would get another decent signing for less than we got for selling Stokes. That, ultimately how Hibs keep balancing the books.

27-08-2010, 08:14 AM
Surely the transfers of Fletcher, Brown and Thomson have shown us that the club won't accept an offer below our valuation.

If Celtic don't cough up what Hibs ask for he won't be sold to them. It's as simple as that. He has 2 seasons left on his contract and will be worth just as much in January.

Some of you might be shopping for eggs and flour on Tuesday night so you can bake yourself a huge humble pie :greengrin

27-08-2010, 08:15 AM
OK, so a few posters seem to indicate that Stokes has been up to no good off the park. Can anyone shed any light on this? Maybe if people know what he has been up to it will make it a bit easier when he does move along the M8 to that manky mob. Come one someone spill the beans!

The one I heard was he went AWOL from training for a couple of days last week.

27-08-2010, 08:17 AM

Can I respectfully suggest that before you rip up your season ticket you might want to pay your tenner and have a read of the thread on the PM board. After reading that you will probally agree with me and many others that we are well shot of Stokes and the Smellies are welcome to him.

Factor in the alledged sell on clause and you can't have any problem with Rod Petrie.

In Rod we trust!

cwilliamson85
27-08-2010, 08:19 AM
With results last night why would Stockes move along the M8? no european football and a bigger wage. Surely if he wants to get his name out there why not join rangers and play in the CL?

khib70
27-08-2010, 08:20 AM
Well said mate.

We need bums on seats otherwise why have this nice new stadium if we are selling our very best players for small fee's and to the OF. It makes no sense.
We're on a sound financial footing, we don't "need" to sell, so if we do, it should only be for very very good money, otherwise clubs can **** Off.

As I mentioned earlier, I'm dissapointed with our signings and squad as it is, selling Stokes or Deek/Bamba, would be tragic.

Also, why don't Hibs try some loan signings to bolster our squad with a bit more quality?
:agree:I'm with you on this and always have been.

It's ludicrous that we are considering selling our best player to the OF again. Almost as ludicrous as the price the malodorous biscuit-tin merchants are offering. Now that the new stand is built, and the pitch upgraded, what excuse is there for continuing to build new squads for the OF, then sticking the money in some impenetrable vault far away from the manager's clutches.

The stand is magnificent and the ground looks wonderful. But, as people sometimes forget, we're a football club with a balance sheet attached, and not the other way around. The "If you build it, they will come" mentality is not sustainable. Unless we have a good side on the park, and stability in the dressing room, we're going to be looking at a lot of empty seats for the next few years.

It's too early to say how good this season's signings are. The financial details, as far as are known, don't speak of much ambition, though. I'd prefer to spend this season admiring our performances, rather than our premises.

27-08-2010, 08:22 AM
Can I respectfully suggest that before you rip up your season ticket you might want to pay your tenner and have a read of the thread on the PM board. After reading that you will probally agree with me and many others that we are well shot of Stokes and the Smellies are welcome to him.

factor in the alledged sell on clause and we you can't have any problem with Rod petrie.

In Rod we trust!

Oi. No bombscares :tsk tsk:

27-08-2010, 08:22 AM

This was mentioned at the time by a few posters and it seems to be the case. Sorry to lose his 20+ goals but the club will benefit, on and off the pitch, from him leaving IMO.

27-08-2010, 08:24 AM
For me this says so much about Celtc and the SPL. From the very moment he arrived at Easter Road it was so blindingly obvious that while he was a Hibs player Celtc would bit for him.

Let's see, he fulfills all the criteria for a Celtc signing:

1 - He's "Celtc-minded"
2 - He's Irish
3 - He plays for Hibs
4 - He's a threat of OF dominance (despite the fact the rest of the Hibs squad probably isn't)

So... anybody who didn't see this coming from the moment he signed for us hasn't been paying attention in recent years.

And no, I don't like it. It's dull and predictable - but that's the SPL all round for you.

DCI Gene Hunt
27-08-2010, 08:26 AM
It seems that some players still haven't learned Deeko's lesson... good talent gets wasted warming the bench. :violin:

The same fate may befall Stokesy.

Strong is the Force, but beware the power of the dark side, young Padawan...

Guv

27-08-2010, 08:27 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3113366/Marco-out-Stokes-is-in.html

:bye:

27-08-2010, 08:27 AM
Trust in Rod - if he can get £4M+ for Scott Brown (who was again very disappointing last night and was taken off after 51 minutes) then let's let him negotiate with Celtic and get the best price for Hibs. I would be happy with £2M Mr Petrie.

27-08-2010, 08:30 AM
[/B]

So this is RP's fault.

Deek, Miller and Stokes.

HIBERNIAN FC

cheers

Expecting Rain
27-08-2010, 08:32 AM
No big surprise that Stokes could be off to Celtic, he was bought to sell, the biggest concern for me is who is going to replace him, if anybody.
As regards loan signings i can`t see Hibs going down that road it is not profitable, let`s hope that Bamba,Riordan and Miller remain for the time being and that Hibs move speedily to bring in another striker, if not another patchy season looms ahead.

steviecarnie
Got sent a link to the **** this morning with headline Marco out Stokes in, had a quick scan and seen that they are selling Fortune for £2.5m - essentially a flop!!! yet we're apparently getting less for a success,

FOOTBALL BAFFLES ME SOMETIMES!!!!:grr:

Trust in Rod - if he can get £4M+ for Scott Brown (who was again very disappointing last night and was taken off after 51 minutes) then let's let him negotiate with Celtic and get the best price for Hibs. I would be happy with £2M Mr Petrie.

I'd be happy with £8 million :agree:

27-08-2010, 08:34 AM
No big surprise that Stokes could be off to Celtic, he was bought to sell, the biggest concern for me is who is going to replace him, if anybody.
As regards loan signings i can`t see Hibs going down that road it is not profitable, let`s hope that Bamba,Riordan and Miller remain for the time being and that Hibs move speedily to bring in another striker, if not another patchy season looms ahead.

Not profitable for the player but can be profitable for the team

scott7_0(Prague)
27-08-2010, 08:39 AM
I know, I know it is from the Sun but.....

But after hitting 23 goals for Hibs last season he'll have a medical in Glasgow today and could be in the Celtic squad for Sunday's SPL trip to Motherwell.

Read more: http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3113366/Marco-out-Stokes-is-in.html#ixzz0xnH6Aqbg
:yawn: or :bye:

27-08-2010, 08:45 AM
If this deal goes through i'm going to march down to ER and kick the new East Stand really, really hard, then i'm going to march into Rods office and spit in his coffee, i'll pause for a second to send Stokes an abusive facebook message on my blackberry before driving to East Mains and chaining myself to the fence in protest.

Alternatively i could stop being a drama queen like a few on here and accept that this is football. You sign a player, he does well and a bigger club make an offer for said player and he leaves. It's happened before, it will happen again. It happens to Hibs, it happens to bigger clubs, it happened to Liverpool last night FFS.

Clubs like Hibs need to balance the books, this isn't being a balance sheet fetishist, it's being realistic. If you want to see what happens to clubs who neglect balancing the books look no further than Aberdeen or Kilmarnock, would anyone want to trade places with them? Thought not.

GreenPJ
27-08-2010, 08:47 AM
If he goes then offer ICT a hundred thousand for Adam Rooney. He is a new Gary O'Conner in the making but with a better first touch.

That should still leave some cash for a couple of other players (CH, MF).

27-08-2010, 08:48 AM
If the fee is £800k, they can ****** right off. If we're going to lose Stokes, we should at least get the going rate.

I f***ing hate the Smellies.

OF GTF.

Expecting Rain
27-08-2010, 08:49 AM
Not profitable for the player but can be profitable for the team

I agree but it looks like Hibs would rather sign somebody, let`s see how they react to a possible Stokes sale, i`m not holding my breath.

cockneymike
27-08-2010, 08:50 AM
Slight tangent:
That sun article says fortune is off to west brom to finance the stokes deal - i thought on another thread last night boys were talking about kenny miller going to west brom. Surely that deal must now be off :confused:

Dr Jimmy
27-08-2010, 08:55 AM
It's now on the BBC site http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8948137.stm

Here is the most telling part.

Celtic are close to agreeing a deal to sign Hibernian's Anthony Stokes, BBC Scotland has learned.
Stokes heads a shortlist of strikers targeted by the Glasgow club, with Itay Shechter also being considered.
But it is believed Celtic will only move for the Hapoel Tel Aviv player if they miss out on Stokes.
"He's an option for us," manager Neil Lennon said of Stokes. "He's a player we like but we have nothing more to say on that at the minute."
Discussions between Celtic and Hibs have taken place and an agreement is close to being struck.

27-08-2010, 08:58 AM
It's now on the BBC site http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/8948137.stm

Here is the most telling part.

Celtic are close to agreeing a deal to sign Hibernian's Anthony Stokes, BBC Scotland has learned.
Stokes heads a shortlist of strikers targeted by the Glasgow club, with Itay Shechter also being considered.
But it is believed Celtic will only move for the Hapoel Tel Aviv player if they miss out on Stokes.
"He's an option for us," manager Neil Lennon said of Stokes. "He's a player we like but we have nothing more to say on that at the minute."
Discussions between Celtic and Hibs have taken place and an agreement is close to being struck.

That's last night's article.

Ultimately I think, that if Hibs choose to sell Stokes in this transfer window, it's likely that he could be playing for a different team this season.

27-08-2010, 08:59 AM
If he goes then offer ICT a hundred thousand for Adam Rooney. He is a new Gary O'Conner in the making but with a better first touch.

That should still leave some cash for a couple of other players (CH, MF).

And Leigh Griffiths, about time we had a decent blogger on the team :wink:

cockneymike
27-08-2010, 09:01 AM

Ultimately I think, that if Hibs choose to sell Stokes in this transfer window, it's likely that he could be playing for a different team this season.

Incisive analysis as ever Speedway! :greengrin

gringojoe
27-08-2010, 09:03 AM
As he has played for us in Europe this season at least he won't play a part in the all conquering Celtc team in the Europa League.

27-08-2010, 09:04 AM

:hmmm: might be on to something there...

Dr Jimmy
27-08-2010, 09:05 AM

Different team to Hibs or celtic...............???

27-08-2010, 09:05 AM
Incisive analysis as ever Speedway! :greengrin

All part of the service. :wink:

27-08-2010, 09:07 AM
Would take both rooney, from ICT and griffiths, from Dundee.
Then a strong no nonsense centre half = sorted.:thumbsup:

Dr Jimmy
27-08-2010, 09:10 AM
If Petrie lets Stokes go for anything less than £2M he has failed. He scored 2 goals less than Kris Boyd in the league last year, despite not taking all the Penalties and leading the line for a team in free-fall from January.

27-08-2010, 09:16 AM
As he has played for us in Europe this season at least he won't play a part in the all conquering Celtc team in the Europa League.

:confused:.com

27-08-2010, 09:19 AM
What i dont understand in this saga is that unless he does have a transfer fee which if met means he can talk to clubs,then why are we even contemplating selling him,even then it must be for a very good amount and not £1m as has been quoted.So they sell fortune and then buy stokes,a guy who will score many time more goals than fortune,for less than half the price.The whole thing sounds very fishy to me and unless hibs have a pretty good replacement in mind could see us struggle and then yogi will come under pressure.
It makes no sense on any level this transfer not least that we are 4 days away from the close of the transfer window with no time to find a replacement.Unless hibs have been negotiating for weeks with celtic and will bring in a couple of players once the transfer goes through.The scotsman seems to hint that there is no reelase clause in his contract which then poses the question as to how much say yogi is having in this.Another can of worms i realise but a point that will have to be discussed if this goes through.As usual nothing from hibs which is the way to do it.Im sure we will find out soon enough but from looking forward to a good win on sunday in paisley i am now nervously awaiting news and hoping it there is a happy ending to this.
I hate transfer windows because we always seem to get one scenario which gets everybodys back up just when we wanted for it to finish with no hassle.GRRRRRRRRRR.In the tache we trust so dont let us down rod or the tache gets it.

27-08-2010, 09:23 AM
So we accept that he has a contract that is structured in his favour as regards moving on.

we also accept that we signed him knowing if he did well he would be away soon enough.

if this deal has to happen then make it happen today and not late tuesday night.

the one thing that i couldnt handle would be a last minute deal leaving no time for players to come in though maybe that would suit our board perfectly.

get him out if he wants to go and get people in who want to play for us.

MrHibs1982
27-08-2010, 09:23 AM

:faf::faf::faf:

scott7_0(Prague)
27-08-2010, 09:25 AM
:confused:.com

Stand up and you might get it, obviously you were sitting and it went over your head! :agree::greengrin

27-08-2010, 09:26 AM
If Petrie lets Stokes go for anything less than £2M he has failed. He scored 2 goals less than Kris Boyd in the league last year, despite not taking all the Penalties and leading the line for a team in free-fall from January.

Boyd who moved under freedom of contract for a duck egg. If we get any of the figures getting mentioned for AS then it's a job well done from Hibs point of view. It was a cast iron certainty that AS would be away whenever a bigger club came in for him IMHO, and we were the shop window. We have not nurtured him, nor wasted a great deal of money on him. It's profit for the club and the team. Would of liked him to stay but the dressing room will be a happier place, I am 100% convinced we have player(s) lined up, and Hibs go marching on. The door at Easter Road is revolving, the stadium and fans will always be there through thick and thin, so you wish players all the best and get on with it. For what it is worth I think Anthony will really struggle on and off the park in Glasgow. A better move would be elsewhere and not Glasgow

27-08-2010, 09:30 AM
FFS this is a joke. Would be fuming if this happened, and for the prices being quoted the fee is farcical. We gave him a chance by bringing him off the scrapheap where his career was finished. One ****ing season and hes off? Thanks Stokesy.

Makes you ****ing wonder why John Mourinho Hughes let go Benji. What strikers do we have left now? Cant bear to think of a season with Pish upfront. Who is the cover? Yogi is clueless.

Raging.:grr::grr::grr::grr:

27-08-2010, 09:35 AM
Shallow logic I know but if Hibs have a suitable replacement lined up for Stokes then why don't Celtic go for that suitable replacement? Knowing Hibs as we do any replacement would be cheaper.

At The Edge
27-08-2010, 09:41 AM
Boyd who moved under freedom of contract for a duck egg. If we get any of the figures getting mentioned for AS then it's a job well done from Hibs point of view. It was a cast iron certainty that AS would be away whenever a bigger club came in for him IMHO, and we were the shop window. We have not nurtured him, nor wasted a great deal of money on him. It's profit for the club and the team. Would of liked him to stay but the dressing room will be a happier place, I am 100% convinced we have player(s) lined up, and Hibs go marching on. The door at Easter Road is revolving, the stadium and fans will always be there through thick and thin, so you wish players all the best and get on with it. For what it is worth I think Anthony will really struggle on and off the park in Glasgow. A better move would be elsewhere and not Glasgow

I agree, looking back over the last few weeks, and piecing things together, the wheels have been turning re.Stokes, If Tache has already knocked back a bid from Celtic, they probably knew that they'd come back in with another, 2 strikers on trial, told to wait....

The Hibs way is that everything is finalised then released to the public, is infuriating but i trust that Yogi/Hibs have got players lined up.
Hopefully we'll see that come to light in the next few days.

27-08-2010, 09:42 AM
FFS this is a joke. Would be fuming if this happened, and for the prices being quoted the fee is farcical. We gave him a chance by bringing him off the scrapheap where his career was finished. One ****ing season and hes off? Thanks Stokesy.

Makes you ****ing wonder why John Mourinho Hughes let go Benji. What strikers do we have left now? Cant bear to think of a season with Pish upfront. Who is the cover? Yogi is clueless.

Why not wait and see who is brought in if Stokes is sold before having a breakdown.

I firmly beleive that we are better off without Stokes, who is without doubt causing too much grief with his team mates, especially if the money is used to bring in 2 or 3 players which will improve the squad.

Again, it appears there is a clause in his contract allowing him to leave if a certain bid is made. Had that not been the case I very much doubt he'd have signed in the first place.

I wish folk would take the time to gather together all the info before over reacting in a knee jerk stylee!

Dr Jimmy
27-08-2010, 09:44 AM

Do you honestly think Boyd would have moved for this or even £1M if he had 2 years left on his contract?
I get your point about the revolving door, but only if the terms suit Hibs and £800K - £1M is selling us short.
Let's remember £800K is less than half of what we got for Whittaker, whilst a good player he is a right back! We are talking about a proven SPL striker and guys that can can score 20+ a season are very hard to find, therefore the price should reflect this!!
I also believe there comes a point when then constant selling has to end if we are ever going to try and get anywhere.

27-08-2010, 09:46 AM

:grr: why do people blame yogi for an offer coming in from Celtc for Stokes? If Stokes has a clause in his contract then there is nothing Hibs can do about people bidding for Stokes.

27-08-2010, 09:46 AM
Having a buy out clause is not what is giving me issues. It's the amount within the clause thats bothering me and going by reports it's £800K.

There was hardly a queue of teams willing to take on Stokes this time last season and the fact that Stokes played under Hughes before probably had a factor in both Hibs going for him and Stokes agreeing to take a wage cut to come to Hibs.

Petrie is a shrewd man and probably knows the transfer market better than anyone. Has Petrie really allowed Hibs to take on Stokes knowing what he previously did in the SPL when at Falkirk with such a small sell on feature in his contract?

What if that was the price of getting Stokes in?

If the price is that low, Stokes negotiates a bigger signing on fee from any potential buyer, which defrays the loss to him in wages he accepted to come to Hibs.

He effectively bet on himself moving to Hibs that he could turn it around.

Its a pity his other alleged betting activities weren't so succeful.

In any deal there is a cost to the buyer and funds for the seller, maybe Hibs have been creative in this deal and had a player for a season who did them a right turn and then they sold for a profit, its just that Hibs get less of the fee than they would in a normal deal.

The alternative was probably not having him at all, would anyone have preferred that?

IMO some folk need to get real and accept the restrictions within which the club works and instead of booting them up the arse for having the foresight to structure an unusual deal which was to our great benefit, maybe offer them the praise they are due?

27-08-2010, 09:47 AM
Do you honestly think Boyd would have moved for this or even £1M if he had 2 years left on his contract?
I get your point about the revolving door, but only if the terms suit Hibs and £800K - £1M is selling us short.
Let's remember £800K is less than half of what we got for Whittaker, whilst a good player he is a right back! We are talking about a proven SPL striker and guys that can can score 20+ a season are very hard to find, therefore the price should reflect this!!
I also believe there comes a point when then constant selling has to end if we are ever going to try and get anywhere.

Small point - (IMO) he may have played in the right back position but he was/is never a RB in a month of Sundays.

27-08-2010, 09:48 AM

And let's not forget that £6million + is what we got for Katy and Broon.

27-08-2010, 09:49 AM
Thanks Beefster for the summary, saved me wading through pages and pages of speculation.

Until I see a story of his completed transfer in a reputable paper or website (e.g. BBC) I'm not going to get worried about it. Petrie knows how to get money out of the OF and I'm sure he is a more experienced negotiator than Lennon.

The OF can always offer a higher wage than us so it will always turn a player's head and most of them are happy to take it with the risk of less first team action, but we dont have to look too far to see other players in our current squad that have done the same in the past and it hasnt worked out for them in the long run.

I'm sure that Hughes and Petrie have targets that we can only afford if we make a big cash sale. If there is a sale then I'm sure that there will be a replacement coming along shortly. Knowing Petrie, we would get another decent signing for less than we got for selling Stokes. That, ultimately how Hibs keep balancing the books.

BBC - reputable???? Yer havin a laugh mate! They may be reputable in many ways but as far as Scottish football is concerned they get most of their stories from yesterdays chip wrappers - and even then they copy them wrong half the time :rolleyes:

27-08-2010, 09:54 AM
I have mixed feelings about this. I have seen Stokesy look out of his depth against Maribor (IMO) and that makes me think okay we can let him go. Thinking of his goals last season and how he plays in the SPL I think to myself oh no we are going to be in the doo doo this season without him. We might not have had him in the first place to sell on so that it is a positive that we do. I can't think of an equally effective proven goal scorer in the SPL that we can get our hands on so that's a negative. The final negative for me is how ST holders (in all clubs) are encouraged to by ST as early as the previous season ends, with out knowing who they are going to watch in their team and whether their team is going to be any good. Clubs really need to get a grip on this otherwise it will put more people of buying a ST, at least at the earliest stage. I'm surprised I have only read one post where the poster refers to feeling suckered in to buying a ST, and I guess that shows how much unflinching love there is for our club among the posters here.

27-08-2010, 09:54 AM
Why not wait and see who is brought in if Stokes is sold before having a breakdown.

I firmly beleive that we are better off without Stokes, who is without doubt causing too much grief with his team mates, especially if the money is used to bring in 2 or 3 players which will improve the squad.

Again, it appears there is a clause in his contract allowing him to leave if a certain bid is made. Had that not been the case I very much doubt he'd have signed in the first place.

I wish folk would take the time to gather together all the info before over reacting in a knee jerk stylee!

Not heard anything about Stokes causing disruptions in the dressing room (whats it based on :confused:), but to say we would be better off without Stokes is crazy.

He was the second top goal scorer in the league last season, and the person who finished top has gone; to me, for the moment anyway, we have probably the best striker in the SPL in our team. Hes one of few players in our squad that actually cause other teams to worry, who is a constant threat. To take a 20+ a season striker out of the team, when we are thread bare on forwards as it is, is not a good thing in any way.

Players move on, thats fine. But didnt think we would be losing Stokes this window, especially not to another SPL team, which is why its a bit gutting.

27-08-2010, 09:57 AM
Not heard anything about Stokes causing disruptions in the dressing room (whats it based on :confused:), but to say we would be better off without Stokes is crazy.

He was the second top goal scorer in the league last season, and the person who finished top has gone; to me, for the moment anyway, we have probably the best striker in the SPL in our team. Hes one of few players in our squad that actually cause other teams to worry, who is a constant threat. To take a 20+ a season striker out of the team, when we are thread bare on forwards as it is, is not a good thing in any way.

Players move on, thats fine. But didnt think we would be losing Stokes this window, especially not to another SPL team, which is why its a bit gutting.

He has been disruptive in dressing room since he arrived, it is common knowledge

27-08-2010, 09:58 AM

What if we sign a forward who get us 10-15 goals, play Deek up top and he gets 20+ goals and sign a midfielder and centre half which helps toward losing 15 less goals a season. Would that not make us a better team?

27-08-2010, 10:03 AM

The harsh truth is however Rangers, in their horrible predicament, got nothing for their top striker and top goalscorer for 4 years. We had AS signed for 3 years, thereby giving us "transfer cover", knowing if he hit the ground running we would profit. Look at Craig Conway at Dundee Utd. He is their star talent (although IMHO Gomis, Swanson and Goodwillie are better) and they are getting Boro bids in the region of £600K. Only Hibs and Hearts seem to command better and bigger fees, which is great for our club. RP draws a clear line in the sand and other clubs now know his reputation and his ground rules. Look at Mick McCarthy's recent quotes. And Eddie Thompson's for that matter. We get a good fee, they get a benchwarmer, and Hibs can find a replacement. Also gives players like Caldwell and Handling some incentive to show what they can do this year in the 19's and step up. Hughes IMHO really needs to be using some youth and blending them in. Welsh will definitely be in the side this year as will Currie. The future, despite this transfer, is very very bright believe me :agree:

27-08-2010, 10:05 AM
Just read on the back of the Hootsmon that Smeltic have bid 800,000 for Stokes :rotflmao:

If that's the sort of paltry money they're offering then I think we should all relax - it aint gonna happen.

Unless there's some release clause for a lesser fee (and it WON'T be for 800K) I would think that the Tache would accept a bare minimum of £2M - and that's cheap!

27-08-2010, 10:07 AM
Just read on the back of the Hootsmon that Smeltic have bid 800,000 for Stokes :rotflmao:

If that's the sort of paltry money they're offering then I think we should all relax - it aint gonna happen.

Unless there's some release clause for a lesser fee (and it WON'T be for 800K) I would think that the Tache would accept a bare minimum of £2M - and that's cheap!

Dont be surprised if that fee is accepted...........

27-08-2010, 10:08 AM
The harsh truth is however Rangers, in their horrible predicament, got nothing for their top striker and top goalscorer for 4 years. We had AS signed for 3 years, thereby giving us "transfer cover", knowing if he hit the ground running we would profit. Look at Craig Conway at Dundee Utd. He is their star talent (although IMHO Gomis, Swanson and Goodwillie are better) and they are getting Boro bids in the region of £600K. Only Hibs and Hearts seem to command better and bigger fees, which is great for our club. RP draws a clear line in the sand and other clubs now know his reputation and his ground rules. Look at Mick McCarthy's recent quotes. And Eddie Thompson's for that matter. We get a good fee, they get a benchwarmer, and Hibs can find a replacement. Also gives players like Caldwell and Handling some incentive to show what they can do this year in the 19's and step up. Hughes IMHO really needs to be using some youth and blending them in. Welsh will definitely be in the side this year as will Currie. The future, despite this transfer, is very very bright believe me :agree:

I think their deals are up at xmas

27-08-2010, 10:13 AM
I think their deals are up at xmas

I think both will be offered new ones. The only concern will be Welsh's injury record, but if they placed faith in McCann, I can see JH offering them both contracts. Welsh oozes class when he plays.

27-08-2010, 10:18 AM
Celtic are expected to sell Fortune for £2.25million. He’s 29. £800,000 for a 22 year old proven SPL goalscorer is just laughable.

I hope we aren’t even considering accepting a fee like this regardless of Stokes motives.

EH6 Hibby
27-08-2010, 10:21 AM

Why would Hibs accept a bid of £800k if they turned down a bid of £1.2m a few weeks ago according to reports on here? It doesn't make any sense. :confused:

euro Hibby
27-08-2010, 10:24 AM
more surprised Celtic never went for Bamba !

27-08-2010, 10:26 AM
Why would Hibs accept a bid of £800k if they turned down a bid of £1.2m a few weeks ago according to reports on here? It doesn't make any sense. :confused:

I think mibbe the 800,000 bid is the part in his contract that says he can talk to other clubs??
Dont think Petrie will settle for 800,000?

27-08-2010, 10:28 AM

I thought you'd be aware of Rod Petrie by now.

I don't care what Stokes has been up to behind the scenes, we will not sell a player for that far below what they are worth. Not a chance.

27-08-2010, 10:29 AM
This is from Hibs mad. Seems Petrie has other idea's

Celtic move for Hibs striker Anthony Stokes

By Steve Forbes Thursday, 26th August 2010

Green and Grey Hoops sniffing about.. AGAIN

Just as Hibs-Mad revealed FOUR days ago, it has been confirmed that Celtic have contacted the Hibees about the availability of striker Anthony Stokes.

According to press reports Celtic are close to agreeing a deal with the club over a move to Glasgow for the Republic of Ireland striker.

Our man inside Easter Road reckons Rod Petrie has told the lesser green’s it will take a mammoth £4m to sign the Hibees top goal scorer.

Celtic manager Neil Lennon has admitted he wants the 22-year-old, he said:

"He's an option for us.

"He's a player we like but we have nothing more to say on that at the minute."

Stokes signed for the Hibees in a £500,000 deal from Premiership side Sunderland last summer, and had a superb first season in Edinburgh, scoring 23 goals.

He joined Sunderland in a £2m from Arsenal, after an explosive loan spell in the SPL with Falkirk.

Hibs never paid a fee for Stokes.

27-08-2010, 10:31 AM

I believe it has already been rejected.

27-08-2010, 10:39 AM
couple of yams looking on, must be bashing it away like ****:greengrin

27-08-2010, 10:42 AM
SSN now reporting on their "news bar" that Celtic close to buying Stokes.

If it's going to happen then hope it's signed, sealed and delivered today. Give Yogi time to get a replacement. Whoever that may be.

27-08-2010, 10:50 AM
SSN now reporting on their "news bar" that Celtic close to buying Stokes.

If it's going to happen then hope it's signed, sealed and delivered today. Give Yogi time to get a replacement. Whoever that may be.

Wouldn't surprise me if the replacements were Denneboom, Biscan and a CH

EH6 Hibby
27-08-2010, 10:51 AM
I think mibbe the 800,000 bid is the part in his contract that says he can talk to other clubs??
Dont think Petrie will settle for 800,000?

I find it hard to believe that The Tache would have agreed to such a low figure when the contract was being written up. His wages alone would have been around half that if he's one of the top earners.

27-08-2010, 10:52 AM
He has been disruptive in dressing room since he arrived, it is common knowledge

Let's have a squad full of Hoggs, Rankins and Nishes as long as the players are happy.

This "he's disruptive" is a red herring and basically blames him for our form since February while simultaneously letting Hughes off the hook. Players haven't gotten on since time began (Cole and Sheringham being a particularly famous example) but have had to deal with the situation.

I've never worked in a team where at least one person didn't constantly piss me off. I still managed to get on with my job.

SQHib
27-08-2010, 10:53 AM
bit more here from david Hardie

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-aim-to-make-it.6498722.jp

sounds like who blinks first... lawwell or petrie ??