View Full Version : Easter Road, Before and After.

hibeeleicester
20-08-2010, 02:45 PM
Anyone got a picture of ER before the redevelopment and a picture of it now from roughly the same place/angle?

OtterHibee
20-08-2010, 02:50 PM
Anyone got a picture of ER before the redevelopment and a picture of it now from roughly the same place/angle?

As posted on the "East Stand Rebuild Pics" thread.

Then: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nala0801/4311491510/

Now: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nala0801/4889022462/

hibeeleicester
20-08-2010, 02:56 PM
Cheers mate, I was thinking more of the whole stadium and how its changed :thumbsup:

20-08-2010, 03:02 PM
Are all 4 stands the same height...?

:whistle::offski:

20-08-2010, 03:05 PM
A comprehensive collection of shots here :greengrin

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/sets/72157602269717720/

tam4hibs
20-08-2010, 03:43 PM
Im trying to get one of the old proper terracing (before the reduction)... Think if memory serves ive seen photos of (possibly) a hibs v huns game in the 70's?

Record attendance possibly and fans as far as the eyes can see on the east mound. :confused:

Anyone have a similar pic or know where i can get it?

hibee
20-08-2010, 03:56 PM
Im trying to get one of the old proper terracing (before the reduction)... Think if memory serves ive seen photos of (possibly) a hibs v huns game in the 70's?

Record attendance possibly and fans as far as the eyes can see on the east mound. :confused:

Something like this?

20-08-2010, 04:01 PM

Fantastic Collection of photos there, cheers for that. :thumbsup:

davebt
20-08-2010, 04:03 PM
There are some photo's of a full East terrace on these programmes.

hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/520920he.html (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/520920he.html)

hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/520823pt.html (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/520823pt.html)

hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/550103ab.html (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/550103ab.html)

The 61/62 programmes had this (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/610923.html) ariel shot of the ground on the cover.

JoJo_07
20-08-2010, 04:10 PM
The 61/62 programmes had this (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/610923.html) ariel shot of the ground on the cover.

Similar to the Bayern Munich (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/1960_s.html) one?

JoJo_07
20-08-2010, 04:12 PM
Similar to the Bayern Munich (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/1960_s.html) one?

Here (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/610320dd.html) is a good one.

Bobo
20-08-2010, 04:30 PM
Here's one from the last proper Euro game played in front of the old East.

JoJo_07
20-08-2010, 04:40 PM
Here (http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/610320dd.html) is a good one.

Before and after. (http://www.flickr.com/photos/51156215@N04/sets/72157624643004021/)

Looks like someone has added some "cladding".

blairwallace
20-08-2010, 05:56 PM

i love looking at those pictures! first time i went to ER was 2005 i think so never seen it any different than what it is now, wish i could of been about then :fuming:

20-08-2010, 07:08 PM
i love looking at those pictures! first time i went to ER was 2005 i think so never seen it any different than what it is now, wish i could of been about then :fuming:

Trust me, mate - it was cold, it was wet, and when the OF were here as likely as not some Weegie would use you as a urinal.

Losing 5-2 to St Johnstone in the rain was about as miserable as it gets.

20-08-2010, 07:12 PM
Trust me, mate - it was cold, it was wet, and when the OF were here as likely as not some Weegie would use you as a urinal.

It looks great but it belongs in old news reels, pics and sepia tinted memories.
The Old East is dead, long live the new East.:notworthy:

Baw187
20-08-2010, 07:49 PM
Before and after. (http://www.flickr.com/photos/51156215@N04/sets/72157624643004021/)

That looks simply sensational. Despite a half empty stadium every week, I'd take that in a heart beat.

20-08-2010, 07:52 PM
http://a.imageshack.us/img697/7691/easterrd.th.jpg (http://img697.imageshack.us/i/easterrd.jpg/)

http://a.imageshack.us/img820/5489/easterroadstadium.th.jpg (http://img820.imageshack.us/i/easterroadstadium.jpg/)

http://a.imageshack.us/img836/24/ercorner.th.jpg (http://img836.imageshack.us/i/ercorner.jpg/)

Capt Mainwaring
20-08-2010, 08:50 PM

A brilliant collection of photos mate. Really enjoyed looking at the changing face of the stadium.

Cheers:thumbsup:

20-08-2010, 08:59 PM
Heres a wee transition vid I uploaded onto youtube of the old east becoming the new one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TySB9GnxoXY

20-08-2010, 09:00 PM

It was sleety rain too.

20-08-2010, 09:05 PM
It looks great but it belongs in old news reels, pics and sepia tinted memories.
The Old East is dead, long live the new East.:notworthy:

:agree: in ma heid :greengrin

blairwallace
20-08-2010, 09:41 PM

thing is it was part of the original stadium which is obviously part of our history and it would be amazing to look back on the pictures back then and now and seeing just how different it is and having memories on them either good or bad but i suppose ill never know!
well thats till the yams go bust and we need to fill in a corner or two for the glory supporters :rolleyes:

Tranent Hibby
20-08-2010, 11:03 PM

Fantastic thread some great pics a real journey thanks bud

21-08-2010, 01:05 AM
It's funny that the old stands look absolutely TINY compared to the new ones, and yet the capacity wasn't that much different!?

What was the capacity during the time when the Cowshed etc was still there, and there were seats in the East? :confused:

21-08-2010, 08:49 AM

I think the record attendance was in 1951 versus Hearts.

Honestly you are not missing much. It was open to the elements, and as a result any noise generated went straight into the Firth of Forth.

21-08-2010, 09:31 AM
It's funny that the old stands look absolutely TINY compared to the new ones, and yet the capacity wasn't that much different!?

What was the capacity during the time when the Cowshed etc was still there, and there were seats in the East? :confused:

It was between 13 000 and 14 000

21-08-2010, 09:47 AM
It was between 13 000 and 14 000

The biggest crowd i saw at easter road was a game against the huns in the 70s. I think the official crowd given was 49000, but with lift overs and other free ways to get in:wink:, i wonder what the real crowd was that night? And certainly there would have been well over 20000 in the east that night. When did lift overs stop?????

21-08-2010, 10:22 AM

lEXO
21-08-2010, 10:25 AM
As posted on the "East Stand Rebuild Pics" thread.

Then: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nala0801/4311491510/

Now: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nala0801/4889022462/

Cheers for that.Looking at these photo,s brought back great memories for me.
I lived in Lochend for a few years and me and my brother spent every minute we could at ER, reserve games included.Climbing that huge grass embankment at the East terracing,then sneaking through the fence into the shed and finally trying to get into the stand.
My dad would,nt let us go to the games againt the OF or the yams, but we always managed to sneak away for them.I remember well a game against the Huns when we went in when the gates were opened with 20 minutes to go, we were 1-0 down.George Best inspired us to a 2-1 win with Tony Higgins scoring the winner i think.

21-08-2010, 05:39 PM
The biggest crowd i saw at easter road was a game against the huns in the 70s. I think the official crowd given was 49000, but with lift overs and other free ways to get in:wink:, i wonder what the real crowd was that night? And certainly there would have been well over 20000 in the east that night. When did lift overs stop?????

I remember getting lift overs at the cowshed turnstyle in the early eighties, when i was about three or four.

In those days you could get about 29000 for a game vs rangers or celtic.

tony higgins
21-08-2010, 06:20 PM
When did lift overs stop?????

Starting giving it a miss when you reached 15 stone.

Gordon Quinn
21-08-2010, 06:45 PM
Here's a good one from the Dunbar end.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/50620334@N06/4913884382/

21-08-2010, 06:52 PM
Starting giving it a miss when you reached 15 stone.

:tee hee::tee hee:

21-08-2010, 06:52 PM

Strange fashion back then. :greengrin

21-08-2010, 07:41 PM

this was the 2nd game I ever went to. It was a Hibs game and finished 2-2 iirc, definately a draw around November 1994.

renato
21-08-2010, 07:45 PM
Imagine being in the east with a crowd like that....

21-08-2010, 07:48 PM
Imagine being in the east with a crowd like that....

I was. :greengrin

sKipper
21-08-2010, 08:26 PM
Strange fashion back then. :greengrin

It wasn't fashion.

The cagouls were freebies handed out by the club on dreich days to away fans after bench seats were installed in the Dunbar End.

renato
21-08-2010, 08:31 PM
I was. :greengrin

Sweet :greengrin

Was this said game against the hunnery that you refer to, or a bit earlier than that? Any details from the game in question?

21-08-2010, 08:44 PM
It wasn't fashion.

The cagouls were freebies handed out by the club on dreich days to away fans after bench seats were installed in the Dunbar End.

Woooooooooooooosh! :wink:

21-08-2010, 10:54 PM
Sweet :greengrin

Was this said game against the hunnery that you refer to, or a bit earlier than that? Any details from the game in question?

I cant remember the score or year, but I'm certain i was there. I never missed a game home or away in those days.