View Full Version : Question Europa league

suavegav
19-08-2010, 01:00 PM
Hello all fellow hibbies,

Quick question, are you happy about the Liverpool game being on STV tonight, when scotland has 3 sides in Europe all playing important games to qualify for the groups sections.
I wish Hibs were still in it, but cant understand why STV are showing this game, im sure all Scottish fitba fans would rather watch one of our own.
I'd like to know how much STV is paying for the rights to show this game. Surely this money should be staying in Scotland.

19-08-2010, 01:03 PM
Is the Celtc game oan any channel tonight ?

19-08-2010, 01:11 PM
Hello all fellow hibbies,

Quick question, are you happy about the Liverpool game being on STV tonight, when scotland has 3 sides in Europe all playing important games to qualify for the groups sections.
I wish Hibs were still in it, but cant understand why STV are showing this game, im sure all Scottish fitba fans would rather watch one of our own.
I'd like to know how much STV is paying for the rights to show this game. Surely this money should be staying in Scotland.

Not bothered one iota..... We are out and if being totally honest would rather watch an English premiership side than Celtic, Utd or Well..........

suavegav
19-08-2010, 01:18 PM

none of the scottish games Live on TV tonight

19-08-2010, 01:20 PM
Would liked to have seen the Dundee Utd v AEK game as I think it could be a good contest at Tannadice , so abit of a shame we have Liverpool.

19-08-2010, 01:20 PM
Really? I would love to see the Utd game or the Motherwell game.

Be good to see how they (and Scottish football) shapes up against good euro opposition.

Liverpool? On every week already. I'll give that a miss.

Mikeystewart
19-08-2010, 01:30 PM
I would be if it was being televised on BBC which is paid for by licence payers. Though ITV is a commercial broadcaster so would expect nothing less. ITV have been well known for showing Liverpool's games over the years, cant see it changing any time soon.

19-08-2010, 01:40 PM
As I and others have said in the past.

Scotland must be the only country in the world that shows football from another country in preference to its own domestic clubs.

Tonight is an example.

As the weekend we will have the English leagues at the traditional prime time for football on a Saturday night, with Sundays matches, again at a prime time that evening. The majority of the SPL games are on a Saturday yet Scottish football fans have to wait, sometimes beyond midnight, the day after to see their teams in action.

The not very Scottish for BBC Scotland, and an unScottishTV ought to hang their heads in shame.

HiBremian
19-08-2010, 01:44 PM
Would have preferred to watch the Arabs tonight. ITV is progressively ditching its regional remit. Pure commercialism means little or no Scottish fitba', and saturation coverage of the "big" teams.

Ye gets what they votes for :bitchy:.

19-08-2010, 01:46 PM
If anybody wants to watch some top class scottish football tonight then head to the Gyle pitches.

the mighty Hibeernian AFC are up against Westside AFC in the 2nd game of the season.

much better standard than that liverpool garbage!! :agree:

:notworthy:

19-08-2010, 01:49 PM
not surprised Liverpool are a bigger draw commercially in the UK. STV will just be taking a feed of their coverage. Hopefully Utd and Celtic will sell out their games.

19-08-2010, 02:24 PM
STV are skint,must be cheaper to show the red dippers through ITN than show any scottish team in europe.

19-08-2010, 02:30 PM
C'mon the Palermo :greengrin

19-08-2010, 02:33 PM
Would rather watch Arabs vs AEK would be a far more interesting match to watch.

19-08-2010, 02:40 PM

Sandy
19-08-2010, 02:47 PM

:agree: That would be my choice, although I couldn't see the ****in thing out here anyway :grr:

19-08-2010, 02:56 PM
:agree: That would be my choice, although I couldn't see the ****in thing out here anyway :grr:

I'd have thought it would be easy to watch the Arabs out there? :greengrin

19-08-2010, 03:03 PM

It's oan the Disney Channel Andy.

It Disney warrant being shown. :agree:

Anyway back to the subject in hand. Would've preferred watching the Arabs or Motherwell than Liverpool.

Sandy
19-08-2010, 03:05 PM
I'd have thought it would be easy to watch the Arabs out there? :greengrin

:top marks:greengrin Aye but they are actually MORE annoying here than in Dundee !!!

19-08-2010, 03:26 PM
pretty sure my mate justin is showing the sellic game 2nite.

19-08-2010, 03:32 PM

I know, right. :wink:

Free ticket to the game ftw. :thumbsup:

suavegav
19-08-2010, 04:29 PM

Scotland must be the only country in the world that shows football from another country in preference to its own domestic clubs.

Tonight is an example.

As the weekend we will have the English leagues at the traditional prime time for football on a Saturday night, with Sundays matches, again at a prime time that evening. The majority of the SPL games are on a Saturday yet Scottish football fans have to wait, sometimes beyond midnight, the day after to see their teams in action.

The not very Scottish for BBC Scotland, and an unScottishTV ought to hang their heads in shame.

Couldnt agree more m8. :agree:

19-08-2010, 04:52 PM
It's good to see different teams in European competition and I'd generally prefer to watch two non-British teams. Braga against Seville on ITV4 last night was a cracking game.

19-08-2010, 04:59 PM
I'm pretty certain that our Iraqi friends will be covering all 3 scottish teams tonight.

19-08-2010, 05:15 PM
Jamie Murphy has had two great chances inside first few minutes for Well. They look quite settled and are playing well so far.

19-08-2010, 05:19 PM
Jamie Murphy has had two great chances inside first few minutes for Well. They look quite settled and are playing well so far.

'Mon the Well!

19-08-2010, 05:24 PM
None of this 4-5-1 crap with Pa Broon's team.They're playing exceedingly well so far.

Oh aye - we did beat them on Sunday right enough!

19-08-2010, 05:26 PM
Two decent penalty shouts. Keeper for Well again looks solid, and Humphrey looks a right livewire. Hearing that there have been plenty arrests over there too. Well fans arrested for fighting.

Mikeystewart
19-08-2010, 05:59 PM
anyone just see the villa keeper knee the Vienna boy in the face?

19-08-2010, 10:42 PM
Really? I would love to see the Utd game or the Motherwell game.

Be good to see how they (and Scottish football) shapes up against good euro opposition.

Liverpool? On every week already. I'll give that a miss.

I've never been a Liverpool fan, they are pretty much the English version of Celtic, and they seem to be on more than anybody else. Would rather have watched ANY of the Scottish games as they ARE Scottish (well, maybe not Celtic) and are also more relevant to Hibs (ie future quotas).

Well done Motherwell though, they have a good chance after tonights result - surely TV can't ignore their return game?

Fantic
19-08-2010, 11:02 PM
I went down the Cameo bar for the 6-6 Motherwell game last season. There was an English game on the big screen and the other tely at the front!

The place was packed and they're all watching the English game except me and 4 others who watched the Hibs game on a crappy wee portable above the top bar. As time went on more and more people came over and watched the Scottish game but it should have taken priority from the start!

And that's a pub in Leith.

20-08-2010, 05:29 AM

Tonight is an example.

Not quite mate, could name a dozen off the top of my head, but I agree in principle. :agree: