View Full Version : Wee fellae football

Andy Bee
14-08-2010, 08:49 PM
Polbeth held their first tourney today to christen the new facilities, cracking day had by all.

First game saw the Polbeth Colts beaten convincingly by Polbeth Utd 5-1 although the Colts played with a very depleted team, the captain away to Whitburn, the goalie away to Mid Calder and our star left footer "dunno if I want to play again"

Second and third games were a different story with the Colts brushing Muiry Reds and Muiry Blues to the side in 6-2 and 8-2 wins respectively and putting me a tenner down in the process.

Final match was the one the team were waiting on, Colts v Panthers, serious grudge match with a lot of history behind it : Colts took an early goal to go on and bag another four before the Panthers invoked the extra man rule and clawed one back only for the Colts to play their secret weapon and bring on a young lad who was training with Celtic and now plays in the under 9's for Polbeth, he went on to net three with another brace coming from elsewhere, final score 10-1, me down 20 bucks and some serious sunburn to the heed:agree:

Colts are now moving up to the A League this season and I predict some harsh footballing lessons in the coming months but I can't wait :greengrin

14-08-2010, 08:51 PM

Loved playing juvenile football. The pre season tournaments were always my favourite part of the year.

Good luck to your lads in their season ahead.

14-08-2010, 09:12 PM
Sad...very sad. Under 9's football with a history behind it and a grudge match? Money being lost?

No wonder our kids end up being sheeeeite at football with adults like you 'encouraging' them.

hibeeliam
14-08-2010, 09:31 PM
My opening game was ment to be tomorrow, but the game got cancelled by the league secratary because peebles never had enough registered players, so joppa united U15 top division 3 tonight before the season starts :greengrin

Andy Bee
14-08-2010, 09:42 PM
Sad...very sad. Under 9's football with a history behind it and a grudge match? Money being lost?

No wonder our kids end up being sheeeeite at football with adults like you 'encouraging' them.

:faf::faf::faf: first point, it's under 10's
second point the money lost was an incentive to my son i.e a fiver a goal
third point, my kid aint "sheeeeeeite" along with all that played today.

14-08-2010, 09:59 PM
I can just see you all on the touchline shouting and whooping whilst kids aged 9 play football in the middle like wee gladiators. I've also seen these 'incentives' encourage wee ones to stop making right decisions and just go for goal all the time.

Still as long as you guys all get your day out.

14-08-2010, 10:08 PM
I can just see you all on the touchline shouting and whooping whilst kids aged 9 play football in the middle like wee gladiators. I've also seen these 'incentives' encourage wee ones to stop making right decisions and just go for goal all the time.

Still as long as you guys all get your day out.

To be fair AndyBee has made a fairly tongue in cheek post expressing his excitement at the season ahead for his kids team. Can we not just let him enjoy it?
Relax, fitba is fun. There are some total headcases involved in kids fitba but there is nothing in Andy's post to suggest he is one of them.

Andy Bee
14-08-2010, 10:08 PM
lol, well I suggest you write to the SFA and make your concerns known :agree: but in the meantime I'll enjoy my day out and a thoroughly jolly good day out it was :agree:

Mon the kids fitbaw :thumbsup:

14-08-2010, 10:10 PM
Tory stop being an erse. I was at that tourney today and no one was acting like you said and the kids all enjoyed themselves. Do us a favour and stop being a trumpet by trying to stereotype parents with some sort of notion you seem to have.

Andy Bee
14-08-2010, 10:11 PM
To be fair AndyBee has made a fairly tongue in cheek post expressing his excitement at the season ahead for his kids team. Can we not just let him enjoy it?
Relax, fitba is fun. There are some total headcases involved in kids fitba but there is nothing in Andy's post to suggest he is one of them.

Ah let him rant :wink: takes my mind off the sunburn :greengrin

15-08-2010, 10:24 AM
Ah let him rant :wink: takes my mind off the sunburn :greengrin

Dont take this the wrong way, but I hate parents that gave money for goals. Just means the kids would not pass. :wink:

Andy Bee
15-08-2010, 10:53 AM
I don't find that to be the case CB, 4 goals out of 24 in 4 games should suggest so, I find the team winning is a far bigger incentive for him and the cash is just an added bonus, whether the competitiveness is right at his age group is for another thread but I do have my reservations, in the meantime, until the SFA see sense and change things, I'll enjoy the games.

Jay
15-08-2010, 02:27 PM
Dont take this the wrong way, but I hate parents that gave money for goals. Just means the kids would not pass. :wink:

I agree and it got to the point a couple of years ago my son (who only gets the glory for a goal) refused to play striker anymore as the midfield were taking punts from all over the park while he was standing in the box twiddling his thumbs OR even worse his own players tackling him to get a shot on! Its stupid and does nothing to help the coaches. Its a team game and the dressing room can be a very unhappy place when wee Joe is bragging about his tenner. A parent once said to me it softened the blow of a defeat - I was astounded! If his little darling had bothered to make a pass they might have won the game! Its taking spoiling kids to new heights. What does the goalie get - a fiver a save? How about the defence? Its dads wanting the glory of their sons goals.

See you have got me started and the league doesn't begin until next saturday! :greengrin

Andy Bee
15-08-2010, 03:12 PM
I agree and it got to the point a couple of years ago my son (who only gets the glory for a goal) refused to play striker anymore as the midfield were taking punts from all over the park while he was standing in the box twiddling his thumbs OR even worse his own players tackling him to get a shot on! Its stupid and does nothing to help the coaches. Its a team game and the dressing room can be a very unhappy place when wee Joe is bragging about his tenner. A parent once said to me it softened the blow of a defeat - I was astounded! If his little darling had bothered to make a pass they might have won the game! Its taking spoiling kids to new heights. What does the goalie get - a fiver a save? How about the defence? Its dads wanting the glory of their sons goals.

See you have got me started and the league doesn't begin until next saturday! :greengrin

Whilst I see yours and CB's points, I think it's down to the individual players, some are greedy and some aren't, that'll never change, the "glory" is a far bigger incentive than the cash for some at least at under 10's anyway, most of the time my boy doesn't even ask or get the cash, he simply isn't interested.

As mentioned before they shouldn't be competing for goals or wins at that young an age, they should be working on skills, ball control and positional sense/awareness etc, it's little wonder not one of the recent Scotland team has a good consistent first touch. All IMO:greengrin

For the record he does play in defense, hence a fiver a goal as he doesn't get many and there's nothing at all wrong with dads or mums being proud of there kids scoring whether or not they give an incentive is up to the individual and if I thought it was harming his or his teams performance believe me it would stop :agree:

15-08-2010, 03:20 PM
Whilst I see yours and CB's points, I think it's down to the individual players, some are greedy and some aren't, that'll never change, the "glory" is a far bigger incentive than the cash for some at least at under 10's anyway, most of the time my boy doesn't even ask or get the cash, he simply isn't interested.

As mentioned before they shouldn't be competing for goals or wins at that young an age, they should be working on skills, ball control and positional sense/awareness etc, it's little wonder not one of the recent Scotland team has a good consistent first touch. All IMO:greengrin

For the record he does play in defense, hence a fiver a goal as he doesn't get many and there's nothing at all wrong with dads or mums being proud of there kids scoring whether or not they give an incentive is up to the individual and if I thought it was harming his or his teams performance believe me it would stop :agree:

Leaving aside my comments from last night.....this IMO is another reason why we end up with poor footballers in this country later in their "development". How or why we say a young boy aged 9 or 10 is a defender is just crazy.

This isn't a go at you. I just think that all players should be played in as many different positions as possible until say the age of 13 or 14 when they can the learn a more specialist role. That way they can develop rounded skills esp for boys stuck at the back for 10 years from the age of 8.

Witness our lack of footballing ability in our defenders against Sweden.

Jay
15-08-2010, 03:38 PM
Andy there is no one prouder on the touchline than me when my boy scores but I am equally delighted if he assists or is involved in any good play. I am one of the silent parents that stand and watch but I still communicate with my boy, whistles, winks, wee smiles, head/hand gestures all praising him. He knows when he has done well.

If your boys not interested in the money dont give him it, take him for a Mickey D's or something after he has had a fantastic game as a treat.

I feel like I am give you a hard time and I dont mean it personally, its just the whole paying for goals culture that does my nut in.

Jay
15-08-2010, 03:44 PM
Leaving aside my comments from last night.....this IMO is another reason why we end up with poor footballers in this country later in their "development". How or why we say a young boy aged 9 or 10 is a defender is just crazy.

This isn't a go at you. I just think that all players should be played in as many different positions as possible until say the age of 13 or 14 when they can the learn a more specialist role. That way they can develop rounded skills esp for boys stuck at the back for 10 years from the age of 8.

Gosh did I chat with you yesterday? I had a very similar conversation with a stupid person at my sons game. Then discussed it with someone who saw what I was getting at :greengrin

Stupid person feels very threatened by my boy (its a new team for him) and told me that his boy is the right winger for the team - did I get that straight? I said virtually what you said and said I would be very upset if my boy could only play in one position at 13 years old. Stupid person walked away :greengrin

15-08-2010, 03:57 PM
No wasn't me Mrs S. But glad to hear of your enlightened outlook. Your son will benefit from this.

Another reason for rotating all players around the field is so they can develop use of their weaker foot.

Just all IMO.

Andy Bee
15-08-2010, 04:42 PM

Totally agree, hence why I don't think they should be playing competitive football so young.

15-08-2010, 05:18 PM
Glad you and your boy enjoyed it Andy:thumbsup:

Superb weather for football today.

We were at Linlithgow at their tourny. Our 3 teams against the 3 Linlithgow teams.

We played their newest team who were playing their first ever match. I won't mention the score but we scored a bucket load.
The boys must have thought they were invincible and went into the next match dreaming of bagging more goals. They got beat 6-1.:greengrin
The final match was weird , we had most of the ball and more shots but got beat 2-0.

Great day out though.

I'm sure we play your lot this season Andy.

I'll look out for a guy with wads of notes in his hands screaming at his bairns to play better than they can:greengrin

Andy Bee
15-08-2010, 05:42 PM

We were at Linlithgow at their tourny. Our 3 teams against the 3 Linlithgow teams.

We played their newest team who were playing their first ever match. I won't mention the score but we scored a bucket load.
The boys must have thought they were invincible and went into the next match dreaming of bagging more goals. They got beat 6-1.:greengrin
The final match was weird , we had most of the ball and more shots but got beat 2-0.

Great day out though.

I'll look out for a guy with wads of notes in his hands screaming at his bairns to play better than they can:greengrin

:smokin:smokin:greengrin:greengrin

Yup mate, we move up this year although we need to find at least a couple of players as some of ours were tapped up eh left by mutual consent :greengrin

Is Jim Russell your teams coach SG?

15-08-2010, 05:46 PM

Yup mate, we move up this year although we need to find at least a couple of players as some of ours were tapped up eh left by mutual consent :greengrin

Aye. Jim is a fantastic guy. All the kids over the 3 team respect and enjoy working with him:agree:
I remember him when he was a quiet guy who brought his kid along. He's nuts now:greengrin

All 3 of our teams had to be reshuffled as we lost 4 players from the same team to pro youth.

15-08-2010, 05:47 PM
Jim has moved teams too Andy. He was Broxburn Uniteds coach last season but is now the coach of Broxburn Colts.

Andy Bee
15-08-2010, 05:50 PM
Aye. Jim is a fantastic guy. All the kids over the 3 team respect and enjoy working with him:agree:
I remember him when he was a quiet guy who brought his kid along. He's nuts now:greengrin

All 3 of our teams had to be reshuffled as we lost 4 players from the same team to pro youth.

:agree: his lad is best mates with mine

15-08-2010, 05:52 PM
:agree: his lad is best mates with mine

Glen is a great defender. I've known him for about 4 years now.
Nice polite , well mannered laddie too:agree:

Andy Bee
15-08-2010, 06:01 PM
Glen is a great defender. I've known him for about 4 years now.
Nice polite , well mannered laddie too:agree:

:agree: He can also eat for Scotland, always appears at mine around dinner time :greengrin

A great defender you say :hmmm: I've maybe found a better use for that cash :greengrin

bob12345
15-08-2010, 06:02 PM

Great day out though.

What I don't get is teams running up scores at the younger ages? When scoring is no challenge all it is doing is demoralising the opposition and, as you said, making your players think they are better than they are. Why not challenge the players by seeing how many consecutive passes they can make, or seeing if they can use more advanced turns, take men on and then keep the ball, etc. I'm sure the coaches don't mean badly, but you're stifling your own kids development and crushing that of the other team.

15-08-2010, 06:18 PM
What I don't get is teams running up scores at the younger ages? When scoring is no challenge all it is doing is demoralising the opposition and, as you said, making your players think they are better than they are. Why not challenge the players by seeing how many consecutive passes they can make, or seeing if they can use more advanced turns, take men on and then keep the ball, etc. I'm sure the coaches don't mean badly, but you're stifling your own kids development and crushing that of the other team.
You assume a lot eh !!

Our coach did start our (1-0 game) at 6+ goals
They are meant to keep the ball and treat the game like they are winning 1-0 but not allowed to score.
They still scored more.
The other team also get another player on the park when 5 goals are scored , another player if 10 etc.
Nobody set out to hammer anyone , the kids smell blood sometimes and the other team collapses.
Its happened to us a few times in the past.

15-08-2010, 06:22 PM
We also change position every goal btw.

bob12345
15-08-2010, 07:07 PM
You assume a lot eh !!

Our coach did start our (1-0 game) at 6+ goals
They are meant to keep the ball and treat the game like they are winning 1-0 but not allowed to score.
They still scored more.
The other team also get another player on the park when 5 goals are scored , another player if 10 etc.
Nobody set out to hammer anyone , the kids smell blood sometimes and the other team collapses.
Its happened to us a few times in the past.

I wasn't singling out your team - it sounds like your coaches have got the right ideas. I maintain that it is a huge problem in this country, which ultimately makes a lot of young players give up the game.

16-08-2010, 09:21 AM

I know the coach of the Mid Calder 2000s and he wouldn't tap up any player - It's not in his make up to do so, therefore I think that's a pretty crass comment to make. Tongue in cheek or not.

I saw a few games in the 2000 Bruce league in the last few months and if you are a fan of football then you will certainly enjoy watching the games coming up - whatever the result.

Lots of very talented kids who play very, very good football. Fauldhouse and Kirkfield were outstanding (IMO) and although Mid Calder have lost a couple to Hibs and Hearts they will be difficult opponents too.

Andy Bee
16-08-2010, 11:23 AM
I know the coach of the Mid Calder 2000s and he wouldn't tap up any player - It's not in his make up to do so, therefore I think that's a pretty crass comment to make. Tongue in cheek or not.

I saw a few games in the 2000 Bruce league in the last few months and if you are a fan of football then you will certainly enjoy watching the games coming up - whatever the result.

Lots of very talented kids who play very, very good football. Fauldhouse and Kirkfield were outstanding (IMO) and although Mid Calder have lost a couple to Hibs and Hearts they will be difficult opponents too.

Appologies Dave it wasn't aimed at any of the teams I mentioned, it was slightly tongue in cheek as I dont see 9 year olds being asked to go to other teams as tapping up but they were asked, we've lost 7 players over the holidays.

Midcalder have got themselves a very good keeper along with his dad who'll both be missed by everyone involved in Polbeth Colts but they left simply because the lads mates play for Mid Calder

Polbeth played Fauldhouse in a tourney and they are indeed a cracking team :agree:

Funny you should mention the lads going to Hibs and Hearts as My boy is just away for a kickabout with one of the lads who went to Hibs from Mid Calder although I think he's older

To put things in perspective here.....I see the kids football as a bit of fun, something that keeps the boys off the street, I'm not trying to raise the next Scotland star but I'm more than happy he wants to train and play in his team and I'll support him in any way I can, he's met loads of really nice like minded lads as have I

It's only lately that I'm beginning to see the more cynical side of the game, that could be opposing teams playing unfairly/dirty which has obviously been coached into them, parents that take it far to seriouslly IMO, referees with an obvious agenda, coaches favoritism, kids confidences knocked in numerous ways, etc etc.

16-08-2010, 11:42 AM
No worries Andy, I was just jumping on my high horse (again) :greengrin

Hope your boys enjoy the season. I'll try to get to Polbeth for the Mid Calder game on Nov 13th.

16-08-2010, 05:28 PM
Andy there is no one prouder on the touchline than me when my boy scores but I am equally delighted if he assists or is involved in any good play. I am one of the silent parents that stand and watch but I still communicate with my boy, whistles, winks, wee smiles, head/hand gestures all praising him. He knows when he has done well.

If your boys not interested in the money dont give him it, take him for a Mickey D's or something after he has had a fantastic game as a treat.

I feel like I am give you a hard time and I dont mean it personally, its just the whole paying for goals culture that does my nut in.

That's what Mr & Mrs Nade used to do. little Christian was a 100 goal a season striker back in the day.

16-08-2010, 09:55 PM
To put things in perspective here.....I see the kids football as a bit of fun, something that keeps the boys off the street, I'm not trying to raise the next Scotland star but I'm more than happy he wants to train and play in his team and I'll support him in any way I can, he's met loads of really nice like minded lads as have I

Exactly how i see it !

My boy is not my pension fund unlike some parents i have met :greengrin

16-08-2010, 10:14 PM
Exactly how i see it !

My boy is not my pension fund unlike some parents i have met :greengrin

That's why my laddies are getting golf lessons :greengrin

LALthehibeeGAL
16-08-2010, 10:33 PM
you know I wasn't going to bother replying to this but I cant help it - now I know we offered incentives to our son for getiting a 1 or A in his exams - but that is an individual's performance and sometimes works sometimes doesn't but take it from someone who has coached 7 a side football which is meant to be non-competitive right up to under 13s and also a soccer school - I have seen laddies and lassies who didnae even know what way to face!!! progress to "I don't want to play in defence" - I even had a parent ask me why I played his son in defence because he was a midfielder" to which I answered "I take the training I see his strengths and weaknesses - he reads the game well and is imo more suited to watching the game and can organise his defence" which imo is better than what he seemed to have in mind ie. "play in midfield and keep the ball cos I have bet him a fiver a goal" - football is a team game and is not competititve imo until even pro youth - let the kids play and support the team not just your son or daughter. Correct me if I'm wrong but a team consists of either 7 or 11 players not one!!

PS Some coaches are just as bad by living their dream through their kids. leave them be - it's a team game - that's why I don't believe in "top goalscorer awards" "player of the year" at that age - come on!!!

Sorry rant over.

Lal:wink:

Jay
16-08-2010, 10:34 PM
That's why my laddies are getting golf lessons :greengrin

Ive hedged my bets (what does that even mean? Do you know when you type something you normally just say and it looks ridiculous?) anyhoo Scott plays footy and golf :greengrin Short of doing anything with them he says he wants to be a PE teacher so he can spend his summers golfing and following Hibs pre season - he's a clever boy my boy :greengrin

16-08-2010, 10:46 PM
you know I wasn't going to bother replying to this but I cant help it - now I know we offered incentives to our son for getiting a 1 or A in his exams - but that is an individual's performance and sometimes works sometimes doesn't but take it from someone who has coached 7 a side football which is meant to be non-competitive right up to under 13s and also a soccer school - I have seen laddies and lassies who didnae even know what way to face!!! progress to "I don't want to play in defence" - I even had a parent ask me why I played his son in defence because he was a midfielder" to which I answered "I take the training I see his strengths and weaknesses - he reads the game well and is imo more suited to watching the game and can organise his defence" which imo is better than what he seemed to have in mind ie. "play in midfield and keep the ball cos I have bet him a fiver a goal" - football is a team game and is not competititve imo until even pro youth - let the kids play and support the team not just your son or daughter. Correct me if I'm wrong but a team consists of either 7 or 11 players not one!!

PS Some coaches are just as bad by living their dream through their kids. leave them be - it's a team game - that's why I don't believe in "top goalscorer awards" "player of the year" at that age - come on!!!

Sorry rant over.

Are your initials C G M ?

I've suspected for a while that i might know you :greengrin

16-08-2010, 10:47 PM
Ive hedged my bets (what does that even mean? Do you know when you type something you normally just say and it looks ridiculous?) anyhoo Scott plays footy and golf :greengrin Short of doing anything with them he says he wants to be a PE teacher so he can spend his summers golfing and following Hibs pre season - he's a clever boy my boy :greengrin

My box is empty now.:greengrin

Jay
17-08-2010, 07:32 AM
My box is empty now.:greengrin

It doesn't matter now SG. I didn't realise you weren't a PM anymore and you need to be to do what I was suggesting :greengrin

17-08-2010, 07:35 AM
It doesn't matter now SG. I didn't realise you weren't a PM anymore and you need to be to do what I was suggesting :greengrin

Careful SG. It may not be legal. Or safe..:agree:

Jay
17-08-2010, 07:43 AM
Careful SG. It may not be legal. Or safe..:agree:

I actually re worded that as the first way I put it sounded very rude :greengrin

crash
17-08-2010, 07:53 AM
This thread started off with a parents report on his sons football team and has developed into some coded conversation between certain posters. Surely there are more appropriate forums for this:confused:

Jay
17-08-2010, 08:01 AM
This thread started off with a parents report on his sons football team and has developed into some coded conversation between certain posters. Surely there are more appropriate forums for this:confused:

There is no coded conversation.I will explain it for you to ease the burden. I had put a thread on the PM board for SG saying I had tried to send him a private message but his inbox was full. He couldn't read it as he had let his private membership lapse, which I hadn't realised.Presumably someone told him and he then left me a message on here saying he had emptied his inbox. My response is just saying it doesn't matter as the original message involved him being a PM.

I apologise if the last couple of posts on this thread had upset your day - no harm was meant. I agree the OP is on the wrong forum as I dont think laddies fitba should be on the main Hibs forum but here it was.

17-08-2010, 08:28 AM
Interesting raange of views although remains limited in audience input.

I actually think laddies football is very relevant to Hibs. The amount of negative threads on here over the past few weeks about players hiding, not able to control a ball first time, not comfortable on the ball (as opposed to Sweden or Maribor for example) etc.

There were two examples on Sunday where if players had a confidence in their ability to hit a ball with their left foot we might have scored. One from Nish and one from Miller. Both delayed and turned back inside...chance gone.

We complain about not having the players to play the 'dutch way' which roughly means passing the ball, playing small sided possession football in areas of the pitch and being patient in creating chances.

But all of that inability is bred at the age of 8, 9, 10 etc. Many people who watch hibs have some interest in laddies' football either as a parent or coach. We all, imo, therefore have an interest in what goes on there if we ever want to see better football players in this country.

Again just imo.

17-08-2010, 10:40 AM
Interesting raange of views although remains limited in audience input.

I actually think laddies football is very relevant to Hibs. The amount of negative threads on here over the past few weeks about players hiding, not able to control a ball first time, not comfortable on the ball (as opposed to Sweden or Maribor for example) etc.

There were two examples on Sunday where if players had a confidence in their ability to hit a ball with their left foot we might have scored. One from Nish and one from Miller. Both delayed and turned back inside...chance gone.

We complain about not having the players to play the 'dutch way' which roughly means passing the ball, playing small sided possession football in areas of the pitch and being patient in creating chances.

But all of that inability is bred at the age of 8, 9, 10 etc. Many people who watch hibs have some interest in laddies' football either as a parent or coach. We all, imo, therefore have an interest in what goes on there if we ever want to see better football players in this country.

Again just imo.

I agree it is at the young ages where the basics should be practised and practised again however I think a bit of context needs to be given in that Scotland hasnt the greatest climate and also the facilities for kids football can be very poor with numerous councils selling off playing fields all over the country certainly in comparison with other countries. I think Norway has 18 indoor full sized facilities. The move to bring in 7 a sides is IMO a very positive development resulting in a much smaller pitch and more touches on the ball. Teams are also allowed to bring on an extra player or two if the score is one-sided. I can remember as a kid playing 11 a side at that age and the pitch was massive.

I would agree the quality of coaching can be mixed at that level however I wouldnt underestimate the in some cases massive commitment of coaches in running teams. Indeed many teams would fold if it wasnt for guys going along twice or three times a week to train and run teams. So although the facilities and coaching arent perfect the main benefit is giving kids an outlet to develop as players and also socially mixing and making new friends through active sport.

Andy Bee
17-08-2010, 01:49 PM

Sorry rant over.

:greengrin I give in, the boy will be getting no more fiver's, if you all PM me your mobile numbers I'll pass them onto him and let the lot of you take the flack. In all seriousness I had never thought of it that way and at 9 it hadn't really affected his game the way you and others mentioned but I can see as the lads get older how it would.

To suggest the kids game isn't competitive LAL is wrong IMO, I watch the same kids sidelined week after week because they're thought of as not good enough only to be given the token 10 mins at the end when the team is winning comfortably just to appease the parents, I'm not saying you'd do it but it happens a lot, players played in the same position because they show promise in that role, players berated because of mistakes, all because the team needs to win, there's a lot to be learned from the Dutch, 4 a side, penalty shootouts at the end of every game, no subs and most importantly the philosophy of enjoyment rather than the need to win.
The system is in place and proven why not copy it?

Mrs S I'm intrigued as to why you don't think this should be on the main board?

17-08-2010, 02:05 PM
:greengrin I give in, the boy will be getting no more fiver's, if you all PM me your mobile numbers I'll pass them onto him and let the lot of you take the flack. In all seriousness I had never thought of it that way and at 9 it hadn't really affected his game the way you and others mentioned but I can see as the lads get older how it would.

To suggest the kids game isn't competitive LAL is wrong IMO, I watch the same kids sidelined week after week because they're thought of as not good enough only to be given the token 10 mins at the end when the team is winning comfortably just to appease the parents, I'm not saying you'd do it but it happens a lot, players played in the same position because they show promise in that role, players berated because of mistakes, all because the team needs to win, there's a lot to be learned from the Dutch, 4 a side, penalty shootouts at the end of every game, no subs and most importantly the philosophy of enjoyment rather than the need to win.

Andy...I think we are on the same page with all of this. There have been improvements in the past 10 years but you and I have seen some of the things you write about happen every single week and no one seems able to sort it.

I guess it is a balance between having the much needed volunteers and insisting on template coaching and behaviours.

As an aside I was cycling past the patch of grass that I used to play football on about 30 years ago this morning (before kids started playing structured football at age 7-11 under the often untrained eye of a well meaning adult). I couldn't believe how small it was. Probably no more than bout 25m long and 15-10m wide....right alongside a now busy road!

But we never had subs, most of the time there was probably no more than 8 of us playing and in many cases 5 or 6. Quite often 2v3 or 3v4. Goalie "stick", "and" or "rush" to compensate for having lesser players on one side. If we can find some way to replicate that up until age 11 or 12 then we will be making progress.

Stick 14 boys aged 9 on a bit of grass and ask them to put down jumpers for goalposts and they will never, ever make the pitch 60m long and 40m wide. Never.

Quite often however it is the coaches or parents who want their boy or girl to play for a team, club etc or to coach a team.....rather than just playing for playing sake. The likelihood of wee Johnny trying a flick or an overhead kick or a ronaldo move etc. whilst under the glare of an adult "coach" is very limited....but they would if they were on their own.

Cheers.

17-08-2010, 08:56 PM
I give the boy a quid a goal. I will continue to do this to develop him. I also have left foot only days to encourage him to use his left peg. This is done in training too.
By the time players get to ten or eleven if they cannot control a ball and pass it then at best they will be average. Holding back better players is just as detrimental to the game IMO.
I am not saying they shouldn't pass etc but that is only part of the game being able to control the ball and shoot should come first or we will end up with a bunch of players who can pass the ball but have no idea how to score. I wonder what Derek Riordan learned first?

17-08-2010, 09:08 PM

If you want to know the origin of Mrs S's saying click here (http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/hedge-your-bets.html)

Crash - just you ignore this post ok :thumbsup:

17-08-2010, 09:10 PM

Don't give in Andy :greengrin

I've had a roasting from her anaw in the past !

You just sound like a proud Dad whose son is enjoying playing football as part of a team.
Too many folk assume that we are trying to fulfill our own dreams when they don't know a thing about you or the set up at your club.

If my boy did not play for a team , he would not play football at all. I know that sounds sad but there are no gangs of 20-30 bairns running about playing football every night like in the "good old days".

I too grew up playing football in the car park . 20 kids , 1 goal knockout etc etc etc.
The bairns just don't do it anymore. Well , not round my way anyway.

Its not just about the football either. My boy is really good mates with most of the team , half of which he would never have met if he had not joined.
He was not the most skillfull of a player when he first started playing (soccer 4's) at 6 but i have watched him grow in confidence on the pitch over time.
These are life skills too. Character building.

I don't buy the theory that Scottish football is p1sh due to kids leaving the game after being horsed in a match.
Scotland qualified for 5 world cups in a row during an era where there was none of the "hurt feelings" rules that have been rolled out in the past decade.

I have seen parents of the "better" players taking it too seriously and have heard comments that would make your blood boil.

I'm also wondering why you think this should be off the main board Jill ?

17-08-2010, 09:11 PM
What you want though is players who can make the right decision....having had that developed over many years through 'coaching' as opposed to 'instructing'.

In my experience over 7 years of coaching, when wee ones are on a bung from their dad then they invariably make the wrong decision as their mind is only on one thing....scoring.

17-08-2010, 09:13 PM
There is no coded conversation.I will explain it for you to ease the burden. I had put a thread on the PM board for SG saying I had tried to send him a private message but his inbox was full. He couldn't read it as he had let his private membership lapse, which I hadn't realised.Presumably someone told him and he then left me a message on here saying he had emptied his inbox. My response is just saying it doesn't matter as the original message involved him being a PM.

I apologise if the last couple of posts on this thread had upset your day - no harm was meant. I agree the OP is on the wrong forum as I dont think laddies fitba should be on the main Hibs forum but here it was.

I was going to renew my membership this week but the laddie got a hat-trick at the weekend and cleaned me out :hilarious

17-08-2010, 09:27 PM
Sorry I can't quote using my phone Tory but what about when passing is the wrong decision? How many times Rowe see teams/ players trying to walk it into the net instead of having a go? How many souness esque type goals do we see from midfield or around the box from players?
I don't even remember any in tge last world cup.

17-08-2010, 09:39 PM
I agree lex. That is because their natural decision making is being coached out of them by instructing the kids to pass...pass..pass. IMO we should be helping them develop all the requisite skills, in small side games and in every position from age 8 to 14 and all the time 'coach' them to develop footballing insight that helps them make their own decisions...which through good coaching will lead to more 'right' decisions.

If I offered a tenner for every assist then no one would shoot!! If I offered a tenner for every goal then no one would pass!! If there is no incentive on offer then the young player is more likely to make his own (and hopefully the correct) decision in any given situation.

Twa Cairpets
17-08-2010, 09:51 PM
Sorry I can't quote using my phone Tory but what about when passing is the wrong decision? How many times Rowe see teams/ players trying to walk it into the net instead of having a go? How many souness esque type goals do we see from midfield or around the box from players?
I don't even remember any in tge last world cup.

But you dont have players at 8,9 or 10 being incentivised financially to pass.

I've coached kids and yout football for about twelve years, and have politely asked parents not to offer money for goals, but as someone said earlier in the thread reward them for all round performance or something exceptional.

It is not so much the players who occasionally get a goal where it is the problem, and lots of players (like someone else said), forget about it when they are on the park. It is more the slightly better/bigger/stronger players at soccer sevens who can run riot individually when they are 9 or 10 and know they can get the cash for it who end up making the wrong decisions. As they get older, and others catch up, their ability to change from being a succesful one trick pony is limited because they havent developed the other side of their game.

The proud father of the 100+ goals-a-season kid at under 10s often transforms into the embittered shouty muppet on the sidelines at 13s and 14s.

(Not suggesting for a minute anyone on this thread falls into this category by the way).

18-08-2010, 08:55 AM
Don't give in Andy :greengrin

I've had a roasting from her anaw in the past !

You just sound like a proud Dad whose son is enjoying playing football as part of a team.
Too many folk assume that we are trying to fulfill our own dreams when they don't know a thing about you or the set up at your club.

If my boy did not play for a team , he would not play football at all. I know that sounds sad but there are no gangs of 20-30 bairns running about playing football every night like in the "good old days".

I too grew up playing football in the car park . 20 kids , 1 goal knockout etc etc etc.
The bairns just don't do it anymore. Well , not round my way anyway.

Its not just about the football either. My boy is really good mates with most of the team , half of which he would never have met if he had not joined.
He was not the most skillfull of a player when he first started playing (soccer 4's) at 6 but i have watched him grow in confidence on the pitch over time.
These are life skills too. Character building.

I don't buy the theory that Scottish football is p1sh due to kids leaving the game after being horsed in a match.
Scotland qualified for 5 world cups in a row during an era where there was none of the "hurt feelings" rules that have been rolled out in the past decade.

I have seen parents of the "better" players taking it too seriously and have heard comments that would make your blood boil.

I'm also wondering why you think this should be off the main board Jill ?

Completely agree with that. Very good post. Things have changed there arent the same amount of playing fields, there are cars everywhere and parents are less likely to let their kids wander off unsupervised.

Your comments about the social skills and the slow development of kids as players and people is a vital part of it also.