View Full Version : NHC It's official, the world's gone mad

13-08-2010, 01:06 PM
I'm usually pretty blasé about the upward trend in players weekly wages - it takes a real mega-shift in the figures to grab my attention, whether transfer fees of weekly wages.

However, this just about fits the bill as "head turning"

http://www.metro.co.uk/sport/football/837992-zlatan-ibrahimovic-offered-500k-a-week-for-manchester-city-transfer

:bitchy:

cwilliamson85
13-08-2010, 01:09 PM
how much tax will he pay on that 500k.

Or will he able to claim it back when he leaves the UK?

13-08-2010, 01:11 PM

1. if it's Gross, approximately half.

2. no. :greengrin

13-08-2010, 01:12 PM
£26 million a year for kicking a ball about? :bitchy:

That's the reason why I become less capitalist and more socialist by the day.

13-08-2010, 01:15 PM
City should just off and die.

**** modern day football and **** the english premier league :scarf:

Hank Schrader
13-08-2010, 01:17 PM
Is there a more overrated player in world football right now?:confused:

I'm still smarting at the fact Spartak Moscow have just handed 9.5M to Celtic for McGready :bitchy:.

Hank Schrader
13-08-2010, 01:17 PM

Amen to that :top marks

13-08-2010, 01:18 PM
Can't see this happening but would not be to botherd if it does because i would like nothing more that to see adebayor sitting on the bench rotting away.

13-08-2010, 02:30 PM
Modern football is *****. Everything is overpriced, from pies to pay. I ****ing hate Man City.

These greedy ****s 'earning' this kind of money wouldnae know a days real work if it kicked them up the arse. Infuriating that they earn so much for doing **** all.

13-08-2010, 02:35 PM
Is there a more overrated player in world football right now?:confused:

I'm still smarting at the fact Spartak Moscow have just handed 9.5M to Celtic for McGready :bitchy:.

:agree: My thoughts exactly - if you're going to spend half a million a week on a player there are many far better than him

13-08-2010, 02:39 PM
:agree: My thoughts exactly - if you're going to spend half a million a week on a player there are many far better than him

Aye Deeks! :greengrin

ulises_trotter
13-08-2010, 02:45 PM
Modern football is *****. Everything is overpriced, from pies to pay. I ****ing hate Man City.

These greedy ****s 'earning' this kind of money wouldnae know a days real work if it kicked them up the arse. Infuriating that they earn so much for doing **** all.

its not their faults they get offered the money..
if people pay extortionate prices to go see football and to watch football on tv then players will be paid extortionate wages!

13-08-2010, 02:47 PM
i thought the 180,000 grand a week Balotelli was asking was just daft....this is bonkers..however he is already on 200,000 a week at Barca (the community owned club :faf::faf: aye right)

the sooner wages are tied to turn over by Uefa the better :agree:

13-08-2010, 02:54 PM

A lot of players wages are these days are a net value in the contract. This means currency fluctuations and tax differences across national boundaries don’t affect the players, in this case obscene, income. Of course Rangers had there own way of dealing with this thats come back to bite their botties :faf:

Still, he’s just a footballer plying his trade, its Man City that have made the offer.

13-08-2010, 02:58 PM
its not their faults they get offered the money..
if people pay extortionate prices to go see football and to watch football on tv then players will be paid extortionate wages!

It isnt the players fault, we would all take a massive pay hike in our jobs if someone would offer them!

euro Hibby
13-08-2010, 03:24 PM
problem is clubs running on huge debt. This makes unfair playing ground.

13-08-2010, 03:31 PM
It's no wonder I care less and less about football each passing season, reading stories like that.

What a pointless game it really has become, where money outranks skill on such a massive basis.

Not even Lionel Messi is worth £500,000 p/w. No player is!

13-08-2010, 03:48 PM
He's worth it if someone is willing to pay it. In this case it an oil sheikh but mostly it's people daft enough to shell out £300 pound a year for sky sports. Rather see the money going to the players than the owners like it does in america.

(((Fergus)))
13-08-2010, 04:49 PM
Suppose we're all paying for these wages every time we fill up at the petrol pump.

Still, better that it's going into this type of vanity project than into some others, e.g., terrorism.

13-08-2010, 04:51 PM

HAHAHA..

Who's rattled your cage pal ????

What's up ?? You a jealous United fan ???

Hibs On Tour
13-08-2010, 08:36 PM
It isnt the players fault, we would all take a massive pay hike in our jobs if someone would offer them!

The players aren't just innocent wee souls in all of this - they have agents there screwing the dosh upwards all the time too. Oh for the days before those parasitical twats were around...

13-08-2010, 08:58 PM
Man City use the money to effect of pricing everyone out of the market. There are players that will not take the money (kaka) at a certain point the money must become obsolete which is why man city won't just sign any player they want. But the 500,000 is a ridiculous sum for any one player to receive. But if Hibs had been in the situation would you be complaining maybe not in a vulgar yamish way but in a very conservative way, such as being able to hold onto all the players we have sold in the last 5 years plus adding quality where it has been lacking. I doubt IMHO many Hibees would be ashamed of that?

steviecarnie
13-08-2010, 09:04 PM
im sorry but that is just ridiculous nonsense from another piss poor journalist, City's owners may be rich and money be no object, but they didnt get that way by throwing money down the drain, they are savvy business men and therefore wont be paying anyone £26m a year for kicking a little white leather ball around.

vahibbie
13-08-2010, 09:18 PM

:agree:Mad totally ******in mad.

BryanV
13-08-2010, 09:53 PM
He's worth it if someone is willing to pay it. In this case it an oil sheikh but mostly it's people daft enough to shell out £300 pound a year for sky sports. Rather see the money going to the players than the owners like it does in america.

Players wages in America are higher than in football. Unless you mean the MLS.

13-08-2010, 10:05 PM

How is it a fans FAULT that pays £300 a year, that a player is gonna be offered half a million a week??
Surely if a guy is a sports fan he's entitled to pay that?

Bookkeeper
13-08-2010, 10:45 PM
If this story is true, then it just shows that EPL football is becoming a sick joke. Clubs are becoming either toys of the obscenely rich or running borderline insolvently with huge debts to achieve a modicum of success.

Would rather see the rich Arabs putting their money into aid for the Pakistan flood victims than wasting it on this over-rated player.

MrHibs1982
14-08-2010, 06:34 AM
It is obscene these players earning this kind of money but i agree with a lot of people here, it is not the footballers faults they are being offered 500k a week etc BUT they are still human there surely has to be a part of them that says "ok i earn £10m a year i think thats more than enough"!! Footballers still insist they move for "footballing" reasons when it is clearly bull**** and its money money money. I dont mind players being paid lots of money but they should only earn what clubs can afford and if that is still £5m a year or whatever fine by me.

I know eufa have spoke about curbing spending and cutting debt in clubs but that will only affect less than ahandful of clubs outside the EPL, thats where all the debt is and only a few clubs running correctly. From the top 7/8 clubs only arsenal run correctly although still have debt and despite it being 200m (guesstimate) it is managed and it is from building a ****ing beautiful stadium and not from arsene going crazy in the market or on wages. Really the FA should be looking into this and I would've thought after portsmouth going under they would've at least showed willing to try sort this problem out a little form there end.

Gala Foxes
14-08-2010, 06:58 AM
used to have a bit of a soft spot for Man City, proper peoples type football club. Now it is run by mindless morons - hope they struggle this season and miss the Champions League again.

Davy Mac
14-08-2010, 07:43 AM
Something strange about this deal.

9.5million, nah cannae be right, it will come out of the unwashed - I mean wash eventually.

But as usual Hibs showed Smellick the way with GOC, honestly Sellick are so jealous of Hibs................:greengrin

14-08-2010, 08:37 AM
How is it a fans FAULT that pays £300 a year, that a player is gonna be offered half a million a week??
Surely if a guy is a sports fan he's entitled to pay that?

Absolutely he is entitled to pay that. My point was that if you do pay that then you should not be surprised when you see the money being used to pay the players massive amounts of money. In fact you should be glad that the money is being used to bring in the best players available and not trousered by the club owners.
I personally no longer have sky sports but still manage to watch whatever sport I want on the internet for free. I don't feel guilty about this as I feel football has enough money without another £50 a month from me.
My point being, if you are outraged by this (and I'm not) then cancel your sky subscription and start watching for free.

14-08-2010, 09:33 AM
used to have a bit of a soft spot for Man City, proper peoples type football club. Now it is run by mindless morons - hope they struggle this season and miss the Champions League again.

Yeh, me too. Now they're way down the Swanee. :bye:

14-08-2010, 09:52 AM
HAHAHA..

Who's rattled your cage pal ????

What's up ?? You a jealous United fan ???

I care about United as much as I do Hertz.

Man City are a joke club. A nothing club. Yet they now have one of the biggest wage bills in fitba history!! Spending money as if its going out of fashion, when in reality they should be down their with their Wigans and Boltons. Buying any player you fancy without a care in the world isn't football.

All yer modern day soccer am sky sports fitba fans will be lapping it up though. Andy Gray the baldy annoying pr1ck will be loving it. The type of dafties aswell that havn't been to a fitba match in Scotland but think they are sooper dooper football fans watching a game on sky sports with their Chelsea shirt on (they'll replace it with a Man City shirt a few seasons) will all be loving it. It's all bollocks.

The sooner Sky Sports and the EPL go bust, the better.

big-mo
14-08-2010, 09:54 AM
I think a lot more EPL clubs should pay their players £26m a year (plus bonuses), that would mean that the tax man will get £13m each year for each player, that would mean that the national debt would come down faster, that would mean that fewer cuts would be required in the public sector, that would mean that fewer people would lose their jobs, that would mean that there will be more people paying tax, that would mean that the country would be better, that would mean that more people could enjoy themselves, that would mean more people go to watch football, that would mean Hibs would bigger crowds, that would mean Hibs have more money to spend on players, that would mean Hibs would have a better team, that would mean we might win something, that would mean I would be happy.
So go on pay them stupid money.

Bookkeeper
14-08-2010, 10:22 AM
I care about United as much as I do Hertz.

Man City are a joke club. A nothing club. Yet they now have one of the biggest wage bills in fitba history!! Spending money as if its going out of fashion, when in reality they should be down their with their Wigans and Boltons. Buying any player you fancy without a care in the world isn't football.

All yer modern day soccer am sky sports fitba fans will be lapping it up though. Andy Gray the baldy annoying pr1ck will be loving it. The type of dafties aswell that havn't been to a fitba match in Scotland but think they are sooper dooper football fans watching a game on sky sports with their Chelsea shirt on (they'll replace it with a Man City shirt a few seasons) will all be loving it. It's all bollocks.

The sooner Sky Sports and the EPL go bust, the better.

14-08-2010, 01:07 PM
£500,000 a week to one player is insanity. Its clubs paying that sort of money which will kill football off, its already started with clubs, especially in the EPL getting into huge debt to try and compete with the big spenders.

Hells bells .. If Hibs were able to spend that sort of money on the wages of the whole squad in a week we would walk the SPL.

I know UEFA have their eye on this, but they are taking too long to get something done. IMO no club should be able to pay any player more than £40,000 per week. If you cant set youself up for life earning that sort of money for say 5 years you dont deserve to be lucky enough to earn that sort of money anyway.

But as a back up clubs should pay into a fund which can pay out to any player whos career is ended by injury, based on a calculation of earnings up to say 32 years of age.

Off subject a wee bit, but the same ball park ... With all of their problems HOW can the current buns afford to pay the likes of James Beattie, who I presume is on at least £20,000 per week ?

This is the whole problem badly ( some would say dishonestly ) run clubs are still able to way outspend well run clubs in order to maintain their dominance of football.

Its patently wrong and high time the powers that be did something about it.

14-08-2010, 01:13 PM
Man City will never win anything......cause they are p!sh :agree:

No amount of money/players etc.... will ever bring the silverware to that club....

14-08-2010, 02:29 PM
Man City will never win anything......cause they are p!sh :agree:

No amount of money/players etc.... will ever bring the silverware to that club....

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
You still pished Graham ???

14-08-2010, 02:52 PM
Man City are Man City. Im willing to place a charity bet of £10 that Man City will win hee haw this season.