View Full Version : Nevin bigging up Deeks

12-08-2010, 02:50 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/8894715.stm

"Nobody creates chances for Riordan, he creates them for himself and is fabulous as far as I'm concerned.
"He's the best finisher in the league. Obviously, being a season ticket holder at Hibs, I see a lot of him.
"Riordan is extra special as a finisher and is a good distance ahead of anyone else.
"But the biggest problem is that he's played out wide. I'd love to see Stokes and Riordan playing as the two centre forwards because their understanding together is fabulous."

hibbie02
12-08-2010, 02:58 PM
Nail hit on head!!!:top marks

12-08-2010, 02:59 PM

"Nobody creates chances for Riordan, he creates them for himself and is fabulous as far as I'm concerned.
"He's the best finisher in the league. Obviously, being a season ticket holder at Hibs, I see a lot of him.
"Riordan is extra special as a finisher and is a good distance ahead of anyone else.
"But the biggest problem is that he's played out wide. I'd love to see Stokes and Riordan playing as the two centre forwards because their understanding together is fabulous."

wonder where he has got his seat in the East :greengrin

12-08-2010, 03:00 PM
Yoooooogggggggiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!!!

12-08-2010, 03:04 PM
:thumbsup: You gotta love Pat Nevin!

12-08-2010, 03:10 PM
:thumbsup: You gotta love Pat Nevin!

Future Hibs Chief Exec.

12-08-2010, 03:30 PM
Bevin for manager?

aberhibsfc
12-08-2010, 03:31 PM
Exactly why he should be in the Scotland squad. Dunno how such a natural talent keeps being overlooked. I'm not saying he is a starter but he is good enough to be involved in the squad for selection. By a mile.

Walter
12-08-2010, 03:36 PM
Nevin for gaffer

ancienthibby
12-08-2010, 03:48 PM
Nevin for gaffer

Gonnie nae do this??:grr::grr:

Nevin's calling is as a pundit (and as a Hibs supporter) but NEVER EVER as a CEO or Manager!!:bye::bye:

12-08-2010, 03:52 PM

Like the wee bit at the end regarding Riordan and Miller. :thumbsup:

12-08-2010, 04:54 PM
Deeks not wide? And up front wi Stokes? That's no on the manager's script - is this boy Nevin a real Hibs fan? :greengrin

Kyle A
12-08-2010, 05:05 PM
Nail hit on head!!!:top marks

12-08-2010, 05:16 PM
Yoooooogggggggiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!!!

Deeks not wide? And up front wi Stokes? That's no on the manager's script - is this boy Nevin a real Hibs fan? :greengrin

Well, Pat's observation which is not dissimilar to thousands of other Hibs supporters, has really put the kibosh on it ever happening now. Yogi isn't the sort of guy to heed any of this type of 'suggestion'. He's too stubborn and will continue to 'know best'. That's what he gets paid for so it's his prerogative.................pity he's wrong unfortunately.:greengrin

12-08-2010, 05:27 PM
Just another faceless wonder.

:cool2:

hibee4life1983
12-08-2010, 05:47 PM
Pity yogi doesnt see this.

renato
12-08-2010, 08:12 PM

Nevin's in the 95%, obviously :greengrin

12-08-2010, 08:41 PM
Always said that man knows what he's talking about :agree:.

12-08-2010, 08:44 PM

I'm liking him already :greengrin

Berwickhibby
12-08-2010, 08:48 PM
Pat and Yogi were having a wee chat after the game in Duns the night :agree:

bigstu
12-08-2010, 10:08 PM
Re: riordan in the scotland squad
I think his past attitude & lazyness problems have tarred him & nobody is willing to give him a chance. But scotland do need some more creative player in the squad, i looked at the team the other night & apart from Fletcher & McFadden their was very little goal scoring & creative ability there.
with Stokes & Riordan in our team we should be scoring for fun each week, every manager in the league would love to have them in their team!

Riordans Boots
12-08-2010, 10:15 PM
Exactly why he should be in the Scotland squad. Dunno how such a natural talent keeps being overlooked. I'm not saying he is a starter but he is good enough to be involved in the squad for selection. By a mile.

That was exactly my thoughts last night when Boyd came on as a sub :agree:

12-08-2010, 10:22 PM
When was Deek ever played up front by any manager?

JE89
12-08-2010, 10:29 PM

The Cowdenbeath manager of 2003? :wink:

totalfootball
13-08-2010, 05:53 AM

He played up front under Mowbray, I know he would drift lift but it was always Deek and Oconner up top with Riordan drifting left but until his return I don't think he'd ever played left mid for Hibs in a 442.

Comiston Hibee
13-08-2010, 06:02 AM

Surely you can't expect the national manager to pick players outwith the Old Firm, Hearts and
Dundee United?
There are many more mediocre players to get into the squade before Levein would stoop to look
down Leith way.

13-08-2010, 12:21 PM

Erm let me think, he played upfront under Blobby, Mowbray, Strachan at Celtic, Mixu played him upfront on his own, only Yogi has played him as a left midfielder, but has still put him upfront when needed. :greengrin

13-08-2010, 12:48 PM
Bevin for manager?

He'd certainly sort out the health care. :greengrin

13-08-2010, 04:55 PM
St Pat of Nevin :thumbsup:

14-08-2010, 02:08 AM
Erm let me think, he played upfront under Blobby, Mowbray, Strachan at Celtic, Mixu played him upfront on his own, only Yogi has played him as a left midfielder, but has still put him upfront when needed. :greengrin
Strachan played Riordan up front?

I can't recall him being played anywhere by Strachan.

14-08-2010, 03:13 AM
Here's the article re: Riordan wanting to stay...

This bit made me laugh...

Hibernian forward Derek Riordan is open to extending his stay at Easter Road.

The 27-year-old forward has a year of his contract to run and when asked if he was looking to extend his terms, replied: "Aye, I'm happy here"

Just seems funny to see "Aye" in a Beeb article :faf:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/8913355.stm