View Full Version : Broadfoot, Berra, Kenneth, Wallace

11-08-2010, 06:12 PM
Has there ever in the history of the Scottish game been such a poor back four. A wee note to Levein, playing big guys who bully players in the spl will be laughed off the park at international level.

Matty_Jack04
11-08-2010, 06:14 PM
never rated garry kenneth to be honest and i think broadfoot is horrible but berra and wallace as much as it pains to say are probably 2 of the best defenders we have at the moment.

i dont understand how broadfoot is in the squad TBH he's no had a game since he triedd to boil an egg in the microwave! :confused:

11-08-2010, 06:15 PM
The best defence we can have right now would be:

Hutton Caldwell Berra Wallace

Hopefully the former two will come back to fitness soon.

11-08-2010, 06:16 PM
Has there ever in the history of the Scottish game been such a poor back four. A wee note to Levein, playing big guys who bully players in the spl will be laughed off the park at international level.

Shockingly bad, Steven Fletcher certainly isn't going to see much of the ball in this match if it continues as is.

jane_says
11-08-2010, 06:32 PM
never rated garry kenneth to be honest and i think broadfoot is horrible but berra and wallace as much as it pains to say are probably 2 of the best defenders we have at the moment.

i dont understand how broadfoot is in the squad TBH he's no had a game since he triedd to boil an egg in the microwave! :confused:

11-08-2010, 06:44 PM
Lol, add Charlie Adam to the list as well.
Absolutely horrible to watch players with so little basic natural ability.
For Sweden against Scotland read Hibs v Maribor, million miles ahead in pace, ability and game knowledge.

11-08-2010, 06:46 PM

And ask why Scott Robertson is in the squad at the same time.
Levein the saviour, don't make me laught as the guy is a dinasaur who thinks brute strength is the way to win games

11-08-2010, 06:47 PM
For Sweden against Scotland read Hibs v Maribor, million miles ahead in pace, ability and game knowledge.

rate him :agree:

11-08-2010, 06:48 PM

I think this is actually worse than Hibs v Maribor, at least we got a shot of the ball. :bitchy:

11-08-2010, 06:49 PM
Gary Kenneth is young, big and has a good few SPL games under his belt.

Unfortunately he's so ***** it's laughable.

To even read about someone like him playing for Scotland merely cements the fact , I no longer have the slightest bit of interest in what is depicted as Scotland's representative team.

the term "Couldn't give a monkeys... " is best applied to the squad, the coaching staff and the chances of qualifying for anything.

11-08-2010, 06:49 PM
Load of pish. Add to that a pish touch by fletcher more than once.

Pass marks to mcfadden so far for giving a **** and passing a few players.

11-08-2010, 06:51 PM
The thing is it is a Ibrahimovic/Swedish performance that is screaming "can't be arsed". They could be scoring 4 or 5 if they wanted to.

At times we have had some good passing movements and threatened at a couple of moments but the players seem to treat the baw as if it's a hot tattie.

Hopefully the game signals the end of the international career of Kenneth however it's wrong to single out one player, the entire team has been utter *****.

11-08-2010, 06:52 PM
Oh dear, the negative national team brigade are out as usual :yawn:

11-08-2010, 06:58 PM
Oh dear, the negative national team brigade are out as usual :yawn:

Give me something, anything, to be positive about.

11-08-2010, 07:01 PM
Give me something, anything, to be positive about.

Kenny Misser never started, thats all I've got. :greengrin

11-08-2010, 07:08 PM

At least they're Scottish. This mission Levein has spoken of, of trying out anyone with the remotest of connections to a scottish granny, is crap. Really crap. First question any prospective player should be asked is what national team do you support. If the answer isn't Scotland, then :bye:

11-08-2010, 07:15 PM
The best defence we can have right now would be:

Hutton Caldwell Berra Wallace

Hopefully the former two will come back to fitness soon.

I wouldn't argue with that (maybe MacManus could be in with a shout) even so, it's still a gash back line.

bob12345
11-08-2010, 07:53 PM
Whittaker probably deserves to be in there, alas Hutton is first choice at right back.

11-08-2010, 08:01 PM
Kenneth is awful. Hes a big clodder type, and he is clearly passionate when he plays (or he is for United anyway), but he really lacks in ability. Playing 2 youngish CBs was a bit suicidal, they were all over the place at times and McGregor did well to keep the score down.

11-08-2010, 08:08 PM
I wouldn't argue with that (maybe MacManus could be in with a shout) even so, it's still a gash back line.

Yes. If that's the best we can do (and it is) then it's time to give up this international football lark.

Tha Cabbage Kid
11-08-2010, 08:10 PM
Whittaker probably deserves to be in there, alas Hutton is first choice at right back.

watched whittaker at left back and thought he was different class!

whittaker mcmannus g.caldwell hutton is our best back line just now
think darren fletcher is going down hill too :(

1875 NO 1
11-08-2010, 08:17 PM

add to that harry potter has got that top coach Kenny Black in his backroom staff. Scottish fitba is a joke. Masonic jobs for the boys

11-08-2010, 08:19 PM
add to that harry potter has got that top coach Kenny Black in his backroom staff. Scottish fitba is a joke. Masonic jobs for the boys

11-08-2010, 08:21 PM
It was just like watching Hibs last week. Absolutely no movement off the ball. When the full backs get the ball they have possibly just one option to pass to, if they are lucky. It is all very well trying to play the "continental style" but we need to want the ball and then know what to do with it once we get it.

Lee Wallace was absolutely horsed down the Sweden right hand side. And when he was on the ball he got no help from anyone in front of him. Young player isolated on the ball and off the ball.

When Sweden/Maribor had the ball they ALWAYS had numbers up on Scotland/Hibs. Little games of 2v1, 3v2, 4v3 all over the pitch. Working the ball into areas where they could exploit space and get people into that area. It is basic coaching. I'm not sure whether it is the players or the coaches in this country.

Maybe a mixture of both. Basic, basic stuff.

1875 NO 1
11-08-2010, 08:35 PM

You get a job in Scottish fitba if your mate is the manager. Its like the masons.

Kenny Black relegated Airdrie WTF has he done to coach scotland.........team mates with Levein for the smelly gorgie tramps

11-08-2010, 08:54 PM
You get a job in Scottish fitba if your mate is the manager. Its like the masons.

Kenny Black relegated Airdrie WTF has he done to coach scotland.........team mates with Levein for the smelly gorgie tramps

Couldn't agree more about Black. The only thing he ever did as a footballer was boot the opposition from one end of the park to the other. Add his football philosophy to the plodders Levein is picking on the park and the future for Scotland looks bleak unfortunately.

Big Ed
11-08-2010, 08:59 PM
Broadfoot and Kenneth are getting a lot of stick on here, but I thought that they were overshadowed in the s***e stakes by Thomson.
He used to at least look like he could hold onto possession and make a pass; now he looks like a guy who has played on for a season too many past his testimonial year. Even when he tried to crunch one of the Swedish players; he was too slow.
Also dishonourable mentions for: Berra, Wallace and Adam.
Both Fletchers looked poor and finally a question:
How does Scott Robertson merit inclusion in a Scottish squad, when he has barely played club football in two years?
Answer: He's about 6'3"

KiddA
11-08-2010, 09:14 PM
Couldn't agree more about Black. The only thing he ever did as a footballer was boot the opposition from one end of the park to the other. Add his football philosophy to the plodders Levein is picking on the park and the future for Scotland looks bleak unfortunately.

Yep jobs for the boys, Levein will not last long as Scotland manager. To bring Kenny Black in as a coach is disgraceful and that will just be part of his down fall. Kenny Black is a bigoted racist that should be nowhere near a football team yet alone Scotland. Sad times right now to be a Scotland fan, at least our kit looks good :agree:

11-08-2010, 09:18 PM

Black was sent off in his second game for Rangers. His first was at ER and he'd have been sent off in that if the ref hadn't had compassion for a debutant. Levein has to make the best of the limited resources available to him, but using Black looks to me like his first mistake.

Danny_Hibee
11-08-2010, 09:41 PM
Teams defend from the front and the defence werent helped tonight by a midfield that didnt track a runner all night and also at times let the Swedish centre halfs get to within 40 yards of the Scotland goal before any pressure was put on them at all! makes the defence look bad but its not all their fault although I agree that Broadfoot and Kenneth are definitely not good enough to play at that level.

11-08-2010, 09:43 PM
Black was sent off in his second game for Rangers. His first was at ER and he'd have been sent off in that if the ref hadn't had compassion for a debutant. Levein has to make the best of the limited resources available to him, but using Black looks to me like his first mistake.

Potter's grossly over-rated as a coach - always has been. After all, the Arabs aren't exactly suffering since he left. Black is a football moron - Airdrie fans I know couldn't believe their luck when he got punted from New Broomfield. I can't really think of a single even half-decent reason why any Hibee should have any concern over what happens to any team managed by that pair of Jambo idiots.

These guys aren't just inept, they're boring and inept. We'd be far better with Craig Brown and his mate Archie Knox - or Alex Miller.

11-08-2010, 09:46 PM
Potter's grossly over-rated as a coach - always has been. After all, the Arabs aren't exactly suffering since he left. Black is a football moron - Airdrie fans I know couldn't believe their luck when he got punted from New Broomfield. I can't really think of a single even half-decent reason why any Hibee should have any concern over what happens to any team managed by that pair of Jambo idiots.

These guys aren't just inept, they're boring and inept. We'd be far better with Craig Brown and his mate Archie Knox - or Alex Miller.

Alex Miller was the catalyst for Brown's success and should've been given the Scotland job IMO.

11-08-2010, 09:47 PM
I can't really think of a single even half-decent reason why any Hibee should have any concern over what happens to any team managed by that pair of Jambo idiots.

Because it's our national team.

HibeeSince85
11-08-2010, 10:06 PM
When I saw the team on Reporting Scotland it was with a look of horror, honest to god, that back four at international level, I know it's supposed to be the best we could have out together but I'd have given Danny Wilson a shot ahead of Kenneth.

Hattrick Baker
11-08-2010, 10:08 PM
And ask why Scott Robertson is in the squad at the same time.
Levein the saviour, don't make me laught as the guy is a dinasaur who thinks brute strength is the way to win games
Exactly what i have been saying since he got the job.
Any team he has ever had relied on big phsyical players, bullies.
This is international football we are playing, someone should tell Levein, his football, as someone said, might do well in a poor league like the spl.
But what did people expect, his whole ethos of football would change?
It is all he knows, he will fail big time, he has shown his colours in the players he picked.
Physique before talent.

11-08-2010, 10:12 PM
Because it's our national team.

Aye, well....

Chick Young on the subject: "Do not unravel the bunting yet and it would be ridiculously far too premature to even ice the champagne - and maybe watching Motherwell the other night was scarily infectious - but I keep giggling to myself with anticipation. Trust me. Something good is going to happen this time." :faf:

Morons commentating on TV. Morons in the press-box. A Jambo who specialises in boring as manager, and one of the nastiest wee plooks in living football memory as his assistant.

This is the football equivalent of having root-canal work done without anaesthetic by a demented blacksmith.

I think I'll forgo the enthusiasm. Post me when Levein and Black have left the building and I MAY reconsider. :rolleyes:

Hibs On Tour
11-08-2010, 10:22 PM
At least they're Scottish. This mission Levein has spoken of, of trying out anyone with the remotest of connections to a scottish granny, is crap. Really crap. First question any prospective player should be asked is what national team do you support. If the answer isn't Scotland, then :bye:

Nope - 1st question should be 'are you Scottish'. Question 2 - do you want to play for your country? Question 3 - you realise this means you *will* be called up regardless of whether your frigging club like it or not and you *will* attend even if injured to be assessed by OUR doctors?

No to any of these and don't let the door hit yer arse on the way oot the office!

11-08-2010, 10:47 PM
I think I'll forgo the enthusiasm. Post me when Levein and Black have left the building and I MAY reconsider. :rolleyes:

No enthusiasm Doddie, but it's our country even though it has produced Chick Young and Kenny Black. Levein's no really a Jambo. He played there for a while, but after talking to him once I think he's a Raith man at heart

Hibby 2005
11-08-2010, 10:54 PM
Same old, same old.

Current and ex Rangers/Celtic players, a few Hertz, Dundee Utd (current and ex) players.

PREDICTABLE!

Bookkeeper
12-08-2010, 12:04 AM
Teams defend from the front and the defence werent helped tonight by a midfield that didnt track a runner all night and also at times let the Swedish centre halfs get to within 40 yards of the Scotland goal before any pressure was put on them at all! makes the defence look bad but its not all their fault although I agree that Broadfoot and Kenneth are definitely not good enough to play at that level.

Why stop with Broadfoot and Kenneth? we put out the best players we have available at the time, but none of them are good enough at international level. Even Darren Fletcher, good player he is, when surrounded by his teammates at Man U.

Agree with the lack of defensive cover throughout the team too. :agree:

Bookkeeper
12-08-2010, 12:09 AM
Aye, well....

Chick Young on the subject: "Do not unravel the bunting yet and it would be ridiculously far too premature to even ice the champagne - and maybe watching Motherwell the other night was scarily infectious - but I keep giggling to myself with anticipation. Trust me. Something good is going to happen this time." :faf:

Morons commentating on TV. Morons in the press-box. A Jambo who specialises in boring as manager, and one of the nastiest wee plooks in living football memory as his assistant.

This is the football equivalent of having root-canal work done without anaesthetic by a demented blacksmith.

:faf: :faf: :top marksWhy would anybody put themselves through watching a Scotland match... I know we've all got a masochistic streak but thats going to far!!

12-08-2010, 12:29 AM
Had the misfortune of editing the 'highlights' for a few foreign TV channels so saw much of it over and over. Pretty poor stuff.

Broadfoot should never be near a Scotland squad. To be honest, I'm only interested in matches like that if there are any Hibbys involved...

DCI Gene Hunt
12-08-2010, 06:57 AM
Didn't see any "highlights", probably for the best, sounds like another classically pish display from the Scottish national team. Nothing new by the sounds of things. :soapbox:

Guv

12-08-2010, 07:23 AM
I might just be being cynical but it seems that if you've played for Levein before, you've got a better chance of earning a cap.

Kenneth, Berra, Wallace, Robson and Robertson - all fringe players earning caps last night.

12-08-2010, 07:40 AM
I might just be being cynical but it seems that if you've played for Levein before, you've got a better chance of earning a cap.
Kenneth, Berra, Wallace, Robson and Robertson - all fringe players earning caps last night.

Which means that Derek Riordan has no chance of adding to his cap collection whilst Potter is in charge.

12-08-2010, 10:34 AM
Had the misfortune of editing the 'highlights' for a few foreign TV channels so saw much of it over and over. Pretty poor stuff.

Broadfoot should never be near a Scotland squad. To be honest, I'm only interested in matches like that if there are any Hibbys involved...

Which under present "management" isn't likely to be any too soon....

12-08-2010, 10:47 AM

I got the impression he was ingratiating himself with certain managers e.g who needs a game and who doesnt, maybe explain why Broadfoot played 75 and Whitty 15. Were there no other centre halfs on the bench seemed very odd Kenneth getting the full game.

aberhibsfc
12-08-2010, 11:00 AM
Cannie believe that Broadfoot would get a game ahead of Whittaker.

12-08-2010, 11:02 AM
I think Berra, Kenneth and Wallace are good defenders but I seem to be alone on that one. Hutton would complete a decent back line in my view but there you go.

12-08-2010, 11:07 AM
I think Berra, Kenneth and Wallace are good defenders but I seem to be alone on that one. Hutton would complete a decent back line in my view but there you go.

Would give you Wallace as think he is a very good player though personally always think he needs to shed a stone or two, the last time I saw an ass that big there was a trunk on the other end of it :greengrin however IMO Kenneth is nowhere near international class while Berra may be he hasnt looked great in the games I have seen him.

12-08-2010, 11:08 AM

Wallace is OK. Kenneth is raw, but might develop. Berra has experience, but is slow and lacks height. Hutton on form is fine.

Hutton-Webster-Mcmanus-Wallace probably the best we can offer right now. If Hutton can play on the left, I'd play Whitty at RB and Hutton at LB.

Which (since our back-ups include Kenneth and the 2 Caldwells) absolutely says it all about the state of Scottish football.

It'll take much better coaches than Potter and Nasty Airdrie Jambo to make that lot work.

12-08-2010, 11:20 AM

Did Berra and Wallace play for Levein when he was at Hearts?

Both may have been in the U19's at the time :dunno:

Danny_Hibee
12-08-2010, 11:57 AM
Wallace is OK. Kenneth is raw, but might develop. Berra has experience, but is slow and lacks height. Hutton on form is fine.

Hutton-Webster-Mcmanus-Wallace probably the best we can offer right now. If Hutton can play on the left, I'd play Whitty at RB and Hutton at LB.

Which (since our back-ups include Kenneth and the 2 Caldwells) absolutely says it all about the state of Scottish football.

It'll take much better coaches than Potter and Nasty Airdrie Jambo to make that lot work.

Berra is about 6 ft 3 and definitely isnt slow!

Danny_Hibee
12-08-2010, 12:01 PM
Did Berra and Wallace play for Levein when he was at Hearts?

Both may have been in the U19's at the time :dunno:

They were both at the club but Wallace made his debut under John Robertson, not sure about Berra. If he did play under Levein it wouldnt have been many games

12-08-2010, 12:04 PM
sadly i think we must play three ch as we dont have two that are up to it.

i hope wilson can step up quickly but isnt ready yet

caldwell mcmanus berra for me but i hope someone else can oust caldwell

hutton and whittaker as full backs

12-08-2010, 12:06 PM

He definitely is slow.

timebomb
12-08-2010, 12:11 PM
I thought the defence individually and as a unit was all over the place but the major issue stemed from the midfield.

Levein played 4 centre-midfielders out there.

Robson wide right who will do anything to avoid using his right boot.

Thomson who for the life of me I can't see as a footballer, slow and reckless in the challenge and if that had been a competative game could have been red carded for a challenge from behind inside 20 mins.

Fletcher isn't a match winner for Utd, he's the ball winner and 'water carrier', yet for Scotland he is expected to pull the strings as he plays for Man Utd. Just let the guy play his normal game.

Adam is no where near mobile enough to play at that level, imagine him chasing after the German midfield trying to geyt the ball from them!!

This meant to me that Fletcher (S) was totally isolated up front because Adam couldn't get anywhear him. Robson continually had to cut back or stop and get on his left foot thus killing any attacking momentum and the md-field as a whole just didn't track runners leaving the defence wide open time after time.

12-08-2010, 12:17 PM

Oh yes he IS slow, and he can't jump for toffee. :rolleyes:

Big Ed
12-08-2010, 12:32 PM
I thought the defence individually and as a unit was all over the place but the major issue stemed from the midfield.

Thomson who for the life of me I can't see as a footballer, slow and reckless in the challenge and if that had been a competative game could have been red carded for a challenge from behind inside 20 mins.

Fletcher isn't a match winner for Utd, he's the ball winner and 'water carrier', yet for Scotland he is expected to pull the strings as he plays for Man Utd. Just let the guy play his normal game.

Adam is no where near mobile enough to play at that level, imagine him chasing after the German midfield trying to geyt the ball from them!!

This meant to me that Fletcher (S) was totally isolated up front because Adam couldn't get anywhear him. Robson continually had to cut back or stop and get on his left foot thus killing any attacking momentum and the md-field as a whole just didn't track runners leaving the defence wide open time after time.

I agree with the Jambo............................................. .............NURSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12-08-2010, 12:32 PM
Kevin Thomson was anonymous, actually thought Scott Robertson looked a better player than him.

Broadfoot is a joke though!

12-08-2010, 12:50 PM

:top marks Steven Fletcher doesn't play as a lone striker, anyway. He tends to play behind the main striker IIRC. So he was being asked to do something he doesn't do normally, or in other words, he was being played out of position....

Robson will do better if played in his proper position. Adam is over-rated - a Championship player about be found out. Darren Fletcher is exactly what you say he is, and in that role is OK. he can't do what he was being asked to do by Potter. And KT, as you so rightly say, isn't a footballer. He's a creep.

Which may be why he seems to appeal to Levein and Black - like calling to like.

12-08-2010, 12:53 PM
Aye, well....

Chick Young on the subject: "Do not unravel the bunting yet and it would be ridiculously far too premature to even ice the champagne - and maybe watching Motherwell the other night was scarily infectious - but I keep giggling to myself with anticipation. Trust me. Something good is going to happen this time."

Only Chick Young could write such pish. I’m not talking about him being optimistic – I don’t agree with it but fair play for trying – but his style of writing is so cringe worthy its difficult to read. Far too many ‘I’, ‘me’ and ‘my’ as well. This wee pleb really gets on my tits.

Back to the point of the thread, that is as poor back 4 as I can remember and long gone are the days when we could have someone like Hanson on the bench. Arguably the Caldwell’s, Whittaker, Hutton and McManus would get in but we will still concede goals any average international team regardless.

I don’t agree with not supporting them because of Levein\Black. Did you stop supporting Hibs under Blobby or Duffy? I will always support Hibs\Scotland no matter how bad it gets

12-08-2010, 12:59 PM
Only Chick Young could write such pish. I’m not talking about him being optimistic – I don’t agree with it but fair play for trying – but his style of writing is so cringe worthy its difficult to read. Far too many ‘I’, ‘me’ and ‘my’ as well. This wee pleb really gets on my tits.

Back to the point of the thread, that is as poor back 4 as I can remember and long gone are the days when we could have someone like Hanson on the bench. Arguably the Caldwell’s, Whittaker, Hutton and McManus would get in but we will still concede goals any average international team regardless.

I don’t agree with not supporting them because of Levein\Black. Did you stop supporting Hibs under Blobby or Duffy? I will always support Hibs\Scotland no matter how bad it gets

Mikey, there is only so much aggravation and annoyance and pain this poor suffering Hibee can take.

And right now I'll take it from Hughes and the Hibees, but not from that arrogant plook of a Jambo and his Neanderthal twonk Igor fae Airdrie.

IMO Bobby Williamson didn't have an easy time at ER - the club IMO was to all intents and purposes in admin for much of his time - so I don't bear him ill-will. (I don't want him back, either, though.) Duffy was just an idiot. Neither was as objectionable as Potter and Igor.

If our own season blossoms into joy and thanksgiving, I may reconsider. Not until. :no way:

Danny_Hibee
12-08-2010, 01:23 PM
Oh yes he IS slow, and he can't jump for toffee. :rolleyes:

Obviously I cant prove it but I know for a fact Berra is not slow, hes actually very quick :rolleyes:

12-08-2010, 01:28 PM
Obviously I cant prove it but I know for a fact Berra is not slow, hes actually very quick :rolleyes:

OK, OK - he isn't slow - maybe I was just watching him in slow-motion.... :rolleyes:

He sure wasn't quick enough last night. :wink: