View Full Version : Give someone a compliment today, and every day.
I was at a Festival thingy over the weekend and an American pointed out how bad we were, particularly in Scotland, at giving and accepting compliments.
There's been a lot of uncomplimentary to-ing and fro-ing on the boards recently and I suspect we are no different to life out there in the real world.
So to make life as a Hibby, and for those around us more pleasant, can I suggest we all compliment someone today and every day; someone on here; your partner; your children; a friend; someone at Hibs. When someone gives you a compliment accept it graciously with a ‘thank you’ and without feeling it needs to be turned round in some form of self deprecation.
No need to say what you’ve done on this thread, maybe just a wee happy smilie showing you have done your bit to brighten up someone's day.
Jack, you have lovely hair!
(((Fergus)))
09-08-2010, 01:41 PM
Two very thoughtful posts, if I may say so
09-08-2010, 03:53 PM
I was at a Festival thingy over the weekend and an American pointed out how bad we were, particularly in Scotland, at giving and accepting compliments.
There's been a lot of uncomplimentary to-ing and fro-ing on the boards recently and I suspect we are no different to life out there in the real world.
So to make life as a Hibby, and for those around us more pleasant, can I suggest we all compliment someone today and every day; someone on here; your partner; your children; a friend; someone at Hibs. When someone gives you a compliment accept it graciously with a ‘thank you’ and without feeling it needs to be turned round in some form of self deprecation.
No need to say what you’ve done on this thread, maybe just a wee happy smilie showing you have done your bit to brighten up someone's day.
Why? :cool2:
This some Yanqui nicey-nicey feel-good rubbish?
Speak nice to folks and all that happens is they try to borrow money off you. Grrrr! :fuming:
:no way:
Leicester Fan
09-08-2010, 05:01 PM
Speak nice to folks and all that happens is they try to borrow money off you. Grrrr! :fuming:
I salute your sagacity sir, and would expect no less. Your wisdom knows no bounds.
09-08-2010, 06:46 PM
Every member of this board enhances my life every day.
09-08-2010, 07:10 PM
Thank you. Now what is it you're after?
(((Fergus)))
09-08-2010, 07:11 PM
Some say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit, but you elevate it to new heights.
Respect.
09-08-2010, 07:49 PM
Some say sarcasm is the lowest form of wit, but you elevate it to new heights.
Respect.
I just can't win. :boo hoo:
Leicester Fan
10-08-2010, 02:23 PM
I just can't win. :boo hoo:
You are a winner, you are.
10-08-2010, 05:18 PM
Yous are aw barrie.:thumbsup:
Liar!
Thats not a compliment so here you go. My 13 year old is a magnificent shopper for school shoes, we came home with footy boots and a full Barcelona strip instead.:greengrin
khib70
11-08-2010, 12:18 PM
Now that's what I call a voracious sexual appetite. Hats off.
Wait a minute, I don't remember.................
HibeeB
11-08-2010, 01:08 PM
Now that's what I call a voracious sexual appetite. Hats off.
Wait a minute, I don't remember.................
Rohypnol :coffee:
11-08-2010, 01:54 PM
Today I will mostly be complimenting the man who invented Muller yoghurts, they are actually very delicious, and I can't think of a better strawberry and milk based treat in the land.:thumbsup:
khib70
11-08-2010, 01:56 PM
**** off, ya torn-faced, tight-ersed auld devil-dodger!......
Oops - I seem to have missed the point of this thread entirely :greengrin:devil:
11-08-2010, 02:29 PM
****ing americans!!
11-08-2010, 02:57 PM
It's got to be sincere though. Any suggestion of sarcasm can get you into more trouble than if you'd just said nothing.
12-08-2010, 12:40 PM
**** off, ya torn-faced, tight-ersed auld devil-dodger!......
Oops - I seem to have missed the point of this thread entirely :greengrin:devil:
Awey an bile yer heid, ya thicko! If you'd a couple o hundred mair brain-cells you might just qualify as a half-wit! :grr:
:devil:
12-08-2010, 12:47 PM
I think Kiefer Sutherland was excellent as Athos in the Three Musketeers, and I really feel like saying it.
12-08-2010, 02:04 PM
Where is LiverpoolHibs ? :greengrin
12-08-2010, 05:55 PM
I think Kiefer Sutherland was excellent as Athos in the Three Musketeers, and I really feel like saying it.
No he wasn't - he was rubbish. :wink:
12-08-2010, 07:05 PM
Where is LiverpoolHibs ? :greengrin
Probably gone to see a socialist community in action - joined a kibbutz is my guess.:greengrin
HibsMax
12-08-2010, 09:03 PM
You can extend this to other parts of your life too e.g., driving. I often let people in in front of me when I am in slow moving traffic and I am sure they appreciate it just as much as when someone does the same for me. It gets my goat when I am waiting to pull out of a side-street into stop-go traffic and some punter slowly rolls to a stop right in front of me when all they needed to do was stop about 15' farther back. So I try and get my daily dose of karma when I am behind the wheel.
13-08-2010, 09:32 AM
Lothian Buses are always very clean. I want to compliment the people who make sure this happens, as I have always taken it for granted.
13-08-2010, 12:13 PM
i think its so kind of my co-workers not to say anything when i fall asleep at work :agree:
17-08-2010, 07:54 AM
I love Jambos and nothing makes my day more than seeing them dressed head-to-toe in their nice, shiny maroon sporting leisurewear, singing their colourful songs in support of their team.
17-08-2010, 03:27 PM
I'd like to compliment the two guys who lent me their tyre wrench in Gifford today. Had it not been for them there is no way I could have changed my tyre!:thumbsup:
17-08-2010, 03:47 PM
I'd like to thank the f***er that burst their tyre in Gifford for holding the traffic up and making me late for some urgent surgery and that.:greengrin
17-08-2010, 06:15 PM
I'd like to thank the f***er that burst their tyre in Gifford for holding the traffic up and making me late for some urgent surgery and that.:greengrin
There was a tailback stretching the length of the Co-Op, I expect to be in the East Lothian Courier this week (if it's been slow for news I might even get my own colour supplement). :agree:
20-08-2010, 05:39 PM
what a life affirming thread,......get your karma here :agree:
FR ,burst tyres aside,you ROCK on your geetar,never have two chords sounded so sublime.
20-08-2010, 06:13 PM
what a life affirming thread,......get your karma here :agree:
FR ,burst tyres aside,you ROCK on your geetar,never have two chords sounded so sublime.
Tell that to Lou Reed, he could do with the encouragement.