Get yer updates here.

If there are any :greengrin

08-08-2010, 12:50 PM
Hmmmmm.

Betfair go 11/10 Blackpool . Must be a good bet, even in a friendly. :rolleyes:

08-08-2010, 12:58 PM
I know that we have sold out our tickets for this match - but how many did they give us?

08-08-2010, 12:58 PM
Hmmmmm.

Your probably right as they're a better side than us, however remember we should be a couple of weeks ahead of them in terms of preperation so that could work as a leveller.

Not that that made any difference against Crlisle but might be worth considering if you were thinking about sticking a fair wedge on.

08-08-2010, 01:22 PM
There's a bit about the game on SSN right now.

08-08-2010, 01:32 PM
Hmmmmm.

Outrageous price :agree:

Im having it large.

sammy7
08-08-2010, 01:42 PM

Im having it large.

I cant find friendlies on bet365

Spender
08-08-2010, 01:44 PM
I know that we have sold out our tickets for this match - but how many did they give us?

1200 I think

boris the blade
08-08-2010, 01:45 PM
anybody got a link to watch the game today online?

08-08-2010, 01:45 PM
I cant find friendlies on bet365

Go to Soccer, then click 'Euro - Sunday's Matches' under main lists.

Odds are a bit worse though - currently 19/20.

08-08-2010, 01:48 PM
any team news yet?

08-08-2010, 01:50 PM

Im having it large.

me too, 30p on blackpool to win:thumbsup:

KdyHby
08-08-2010, 01:51 PM
any team news yet?

Smith, Hart, Hanlon, Hogg Bamba, McBride, De Graaf, Miller, Stokes, Riordan, Wotherspoon. Subs. Brown, Thicot, Stevenson, Rankin, Currie, Galbraith, Murray.

I only got 2.02 on Betfair about 30 mins ago.

Any audio links anywhere?

Spender

1200 I think

08-08-2010, 01:52 PM
Smith
Hart
Hogg
Bamba
Hanlon
McBride
de Graaf
Miller
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Stokes

sammy7
08-08-2010, 01:53 PM
Go to Soccer, then click 'Euro - Sunday's Matches' under main lists.

Odds are a bit worse though - currently 19/20.

Cheers :agree:

08-08-2010, 01:55 PM
Smith
Hart
Hogg
Bamba
Hanlon
McBride
de Graaf
Miller
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Stokes

442? :pray:

08-08-2010, 01:56 PM
442? :pray:

See it as 4-5-1 or 4-3-3 unless Wotherspoon is left midfield in a traditional 4-4-2.

Hibeescott
08-08-2010, 01:58 PM
Smith
Hart
Hogg
Bamba
Hanlon
McBride
de Graaf
Miller
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Stokes

Exactly the team I would play, maybe he is seeing sense........

..............................................smit h.....................................

hart....................hogg...................... ........bamba...................hanlon

.............................................mcbri de...................................

.........................de graaf..........................miller............. ..........

wotherspoon....................................... ...............................riordan

............................................stokes ......................................

08-08-2010, 01:58 PM
See it as 4-5-1 unless Wotherspoon is left midfield.

He's been getting played there in pre-season friendlies, apparently played in that position for the under 19's.

Good for him coming in on the inside and firing shots in, no point in having a winger getting to the by line to get crosses in as we don't have any strikers that are likely to win headers in the box.

Derek Dougan
08-08-2010, 01:59 PM
No Nish :grr:

08-08-2010, 01:59 PM
Id rather have Brown in goals than Smith.

08-08-2010, 02:03 PM
He's been getting played there in pre-season friendlies, apparently played in that position for the under 19's.

Good for him coming in on the inside and firing shots in, no point in having a winger getting to the by line to get crosses in as we don't have any strikers that are likely to win headers in the box.

Yeah that is a good point. Pity about the lack of strikers who can head the ball well though as I think Wotherspoons main strength is his crossing. Lot of onus on him and De Graf scoring from midfield this season if Riordan is being used further forward.

stevensons-fan
08-08-2010, 02:04 PM

Agreed, would prefer him starting or at least given some game time.

Snap.

i take it there is no audio apart from Hibs TV?

sammy7
08-08-2010, 02:06 PM

i said in another thread ive no confidence at all in smith. id have mark brown in goals before either of the other 2 i cant understand why hes not been given a chance really

08-08-2010, 02:08 PM
could this be the team that faces the well next week,,,,[murray out due to susp]
is brown on the bench????????
b

08-08-2010, 02:09 PM

i said in another thread ive no confidence at all in smith. id have mark brown in goals before either of the other 2 i cant understand why hes not been given a chance really

Spot on :agree:

08-08-2010, 02:09 PM
whos this derek reardon weve signed???????????
SSN REPORTER :confused::confused::confused:
b

08-08-2010, 02:11 PM
has kick off been delayed? my updates are at 0-0 but all the others have started?

hfc1875x
08-08-2010, 02:11 PM
Where can I listen to the match, there is no live audio on Hibs tv !

Dalkeith
08-08-2010, 02:13 PM
Big noisy Hibs support apparently. :thumbsup:

blackburn 1 smellies 0
reardon has shot for hibs 5th min

houston1875
Why ain't brown getting a chance in goal?

08-08-2010, 02:14 PM

It is very strange, he's our very own daniel prodan

live text updates on the blackpool fc site.
1min . hibs get the game started with their loud and noisy away support:thumbsup:
deeks trys to lob the keeper but it just drifts passed the post

KdyHby
Good mention of the huge travelling army of Hibs fans on SSN

Dunno.

But id like to think he'l get a bit game time today :agree:

08-08-2010, 02:15 PM
htv are not covering the game

Dunno.

But id like to think he'l get a bit game time today :agree:

reckon he will be off to St Johnstone

Dalkeith
1-0 Blackpool. Apparently a good move.

08-08-2010, 02:16 PM
1-0 pool

08-08-2010, 02:16 PM
The hibs defence looked 'mesmorised' As Blackpool slotted the ball home :rolleyes:

08-08-2010, 02:17 PM
Hibs defenders stood mesmerised and watched according to SSN :boo hoo:

seemingly defence stood and watched,,,nothing new there then:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
b

ancienthibby
live text updates on the blackpool fc site.
1min . hibs get the game started with their loud and noisy away support:thumbsup:
deeks trys to lob the keeper but it just drifts passed the post

Here's a link to Blackpool FC:

http://www.blackpoolfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10432~2115199,00.html

Hibs defenders stood mesmerised and watched according to SSN :boo hoo:

Copycat :greengrin

houston1875
08-08-2010, 02:18 PM
It is very strange, he's our very own daniel prodan

It's like a merry go round with our gk's ,how they pose to get confidence whenthey dinae ken who's playing in goal fae one week to the next?

08-08-2010, 02:23 PM
It's like a merry go round with our gk's ,how they pose to get confidence whenthey dinae ken who's playing in goal fae one week to the next?

Not likely to help the defenders.

I've got no problem with Stack not coming for crosses as at least defenders know where they stand but if it changes from week to week it's no wonder defenders get confused.

According to someone at the game we're playing 4-4-2 with Wotherspoon and Stokes up front :confused:

Remember hearing that a camel is a horse designed by a committee, starting to wonder if it was actually Yogi they were talking about :wink:

08-08-2010, 02:27 PM
15 nin [hogg clears of the line and adam blasts wide]:grr:mon hibs ffs

08-08-2010, 02:29 PM
21m adam hits the crossbar[their is only one team in this just now]and its not us

08-08-2010, 02:30 PM
Sounds like were getting pumped :grr:

down the slope
08-08-2010, 02:31 PM
"
21 min: Demontagnac brought down on the edge of the box after some another nice passive move. Adam's curling free-kick rattles the crossbar. There is only one team in this game at the moment."

Cabbage1875
08-08-2010, 02:31 PM
Sounds like were getting pumped :grr:

There's a shock :bitchy:

08-08-2010, 02:32 PM
They hit the crossbar off a Adam free kick.

Not likely to help the defenders.

I've got no problem with Stack not coming for crosses as at least defenders know where they stand but if it changes from week to week it's no wonder defenders get confused.

According to someone at the game we're playing 4-4-2 with Wotherspoon and Stokes up front :confused:

Remember hearing that a camel is a horse designed by a committee, starting to wonder if it was actually Yogi they were talking about :wink:

If that is right then Yogi really has gone mad

whats new? weve been mince all pre season, doesnt look good going into the Well game, already predict a 2-0 defeat to Well and the seasons not even started.

08-08-2010, 02:35 PM
whats new? weve been mince all pre season, doesnt look good going into the Well game, already predict a 2-0 defeat to Well and the seasons not even started.

Only 2? I admire your optimism, you happy-clapper, you ;-)

Hibeescott
08-08-2010, 02:36 PM
If that is right then Yogi really has gone mad

wotherspoon playing in the hole behind stokes might not be as mad as it seems, he is very good at threading wee passes in behind is 'D', so can understand him trying it. if indeed that is how we are playing of course..............

08-08-2010, 02:37 PM
did anyone else just hear sky sports report that stephen caldwell is playing for dundee utd as a trialist? it was a bad line tho?

08-08-2010, 02:38 PM
1-1 :thumbsup:

Derek Riordan with a header :tee hee:

Sky Sports reporter - "Send the Hibs fans into ectasy" :tee hee:

1-1 reardon

1-1 Riordan header :greengrin - who says none of our strikers can head the ball?

1-1 deeks with a HEADER

08-08-2010, 02:39 PM
haha make that 1-0 to Well

down the slope
08-08-2010, 02:39 PM
Deeks scores

08-08-2010, 02:40 PM
26m stokes bursts down the left wing , crossing to deeks but his flick towards goal is blocked by baptiste before being cleared.:grr: better though

did anyone else just hear sky sports report that stephen caldwell is playing for dundee utd as a trialist? it was a bad line tho?

See if that is the case I will be raging. Just the sort of physical defender with good experience we need. Yes he is a Caldwell and had a shocker in Norway a ear or so ago but he is someone who would improve us no doubt.

goal deeks:thumbsup:a header ,get in there

1-1 - Riordan........you were saying????

08-08-2010, 02:41 PM

He said he came on for Wigan despite not being on the official teamsheet.

phoenixfire
Thats the way to do it , play Deek up front on his
own and pump in high balls to him:thumbsup:

Cabbage1875
Where would we be without Deeks. Well done son. :thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 02:42 PM
15 nin [hogg clears of the line and adam blasts wide]:grr:mon hibs ffs

Do you think that we have a real chance of getting a result from a Premiership team?

08-08-2010, 02:43 PM
Do you think that we have a real chance of getting a result from a Premiership team?

Yeap, let's not will Hibs to do well.:bitchy:

ChrissyG1875
08-08-2010, 02:44 PM

Why wouldn't we?

Awful stench coming from this thread. :wink:

26m stokes bursts down the left wing , crossing to deeks but his flick towards goal is blocked by baptiste before being cleared.:grr: better though

Does 'burst' not suggest that Stokes has some pace?

Yeap, let's not will Hibs to do well.:bitchy:

eh? :cool2:

08-08-2010, 02:45 PM
See if that is the case I will be raging. Just the sort of physical defender with good experience we need. Yes he is a Caldwell and had a shocker in Norway a ear or so ago but he is someone who would improve us no doubt.

my thoughts exactly mate

08-08-2010, 02:45 PM

He is like Sproule on a motorbike apparently. :greengrin

08-08-2010, 02:46 PM
Deeks for lone striker role:greengrin

Why wouldn't we?

well, imo, i believe that the Premiership is light years ahead of the SPL so would make the prediction that we would not get a result today, especially the way our pre-season has gone! Happy to eat my words though if we do get a result :agree:

my thoughts exactly mate

He said he came on for Wigan despite not being on the official teamsheet.

Do you two no read :grr::bitchy:

08-08-2010, 02:47 PM

Aye - must be a typo :confused:

08-08-2010, 02:49 PM
Do you two no read :grr::bitchy:

read his before I saw yours

sparkiehibs
according to blackpool site we are playing a player called derek wetherspoon??

ancienthibby
Aye - must be a typo :confused:

39 min: Taylor-Fletcher breaks through the middle, finding Ormerod to his right but his shot is wel saved by Graeme Smith.

36 min: All go here. Alex Baptiste making a nuisance himself at the other end, striking the bar will a well struck shot.

34 min: A fine double save by Matt Gilks. Adam brings down Liam Miller on the edge of the box. Up steps that man Riordan again whose shot is well saved by the 'keeper. The ball falls only as far as Derek Wetherspoon who drills in from a tight angle but Gilks is equal to that one too.

08-08-2010, 02:52 PM
read his before I saw yours

Me too. Didn't realise they were playing Wigan.

08-08-2010, 02:52 PM
just hope with deeks playing so well that blackpool dont put an offer in
b

HibbyRod
08-08-2010, 02:54 PM
Sorry if mentioned earlier in this thread, but do we know who's on the bench for us?

08-08-2010, 02:54 PM
According to SSN reporter, both teams devoted to playing attacking football :thumbsup:

sparkiehibs
08-08-2010, 03:01 PM
According to SSN reporter, both teams devoted to playing attacking football :thumbsup:

Funny wat happens when u play 4-4-2 and take Nish out of the squad

08-08-2010, 03:01 PM
Indeed, Blackpool's website even used the "f" word.

08-08-2010, 03:03 PM
Indeed, Blackpool's website even used the "f" word.

Not in front of kids surely! :grr:

08-08-2010, 03:05 PM
Funny wat happens when u play 4-4-2 and take Nish out of the squad

Sounds like we could and should have been getting humped after the first 20 minutes so i think it shows you it's not the answer to all our prayers that so many think it is.

08-08-2010, 03:05 PM
I've always found that a strange thing to say.........We get a "result" in every single game we play.

sparkiehibs
08-08-2010, 03:08 PM
Sounds like we could and should have been getting humped after the first 20 minutes so i think it shows you it's not the answer to all our prayers that so many think it is.

We are drawing with a Premiership side, newly promoted or not, and for the first time this season, are trying to play attacking football.

We are playing our two best strikers up front where they should be

I am not saying 'Hibs to win the League', i am just saying it is better

08-08-2010, 03:10 PM
We are drawing with a Premiership side, newly promoted or not, and for the first time this season, are trying to play attacking football.

We are playing our two best strikers up front where they should be

I am not saying 'Hibs to win the League', i am just saying it is better

It is better and i'm pleased we're getting a good result, if we can hold onto a draw or start winning it'd be good for confidence, however the point i'm making is that results don't tell you everything, just because they're both playing and we're getting a better result, it doesn't mean that it's because of the formation we're playing which is what you appeared to imply.

hibeeswph
08-08-2010, 03:12 PM
dundee unt now 2 nil down

08-08-2010, 03:15 PM
Brown on for Smith

stevensons-fan
08-08-2010, 03:15 PM
dundee unt now 2 nil down

Who are they playing?

08-08-2010, 03:16 PM
Who are they playing?
Wigan

sparkiehibs
08-08-2010, 03:17 PM
It is better and i'm pleased we're getting a good result, if we can hold onto a draw or start winning it'd be good for confidence, however the point i'm making is that results don't tell you everything, just because they're both playing and we're getting a better result, it doesn't mean that it's because of the formation we're playing which is what you appeared to imply.

Fair enough

I just feel it has alot to do with the formation as 4-4-2 gives us a better opportunity for width and makes us more stable. 4-5-1 with Nish did not work as we dont have the players who drive from midfield to create support and 4-3-3 doesnt work for us as we get overrun in midfield and we have no width so middle of the park gets too crowded. 4-4-2 gives us the best opportunities in my opinion

08-08-2010, 03:19 PM
celtic 2-1 down now

ancienthibby
08-08-2010, 03:20 PM
Fair enough

I just feel it has alot to do with the formation as 4-4-2 gives us a better opportunity for width and makes us more stable. 4-5-1 with Nish did not work as we dont have the players who drive from midfield to create support and 4-3-3 doesnt work for us as we get overrun in midfield and we have no width so middle of the park gets too crowded. 4-4-2 gives us the best opportunities in my opinion

52 min: A quick break by Hibs results in Riordan having another strike at goal but it sails comfortably into the grasp of Gilks.

46 min: No changes for the Seasiders at half-time as the action gets underway once again.

08-08-2010, 03:20 PM
Another shot by Riordan held by Gilks

08-08-2010, 03:21 PM
Fair enough

I agree about the lack of width and how we don't have a striker to play up front on his own, however i don't think we've got the legs in the centre of the park to play with just 2 in there, we'd get overrun even more than we do just now, especially as most teams now play with 5 across the middle.

Not sure what the answer is but i'm not entirely convinced it's playing 442

08-08-2010, 03:23 PM
Fair enough

I agree with this, the players we have are better suited to 442 and I hope Yogi goes with this for the spl.

08-08-2010, 03:23 PM
2nd half started yet?

08-08-2010, 03:24 PM
Are hibstv doing a live commentry , if so I'm no getting it?????????????????

08-08-2010, 03:25 PM
Thicot on for Hart.

Jamie
08-08-2010, 03:25 PM

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100807/blackpool-v-hibernian_2262950_2114895

08-08-2010, 03:26 PM
2nd half started yet?Yes

Are hibstv doing a live commentry , if so I'm no getting it?????????????????No

sparkiehibs
08-08-2010, 03:27 PM
I agree about the lack of width and how we don't have a striker to play up front on his own, however i don't think we've got the legs in the centre of the park to play with just 2 in there, we'd get overrun even more than we do just now, especially as most teams now play with 5 across the middle.

Not sure what the answer is but i'm not entirely convinced it's playing 442

I think a diamond 442 is our best option with galbraith and spoony/zouma playing wide, mcbride as DMF and De Graff as AMC

08-08-2010, 03:28 PM

No

Getting them from here

http://www.blackpoolfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10432~2115199,00.html

08-08-2010, 03:28 PM
Judging by the comments about our "noisy fans", it seems that after one statement we can tell that the Blackpool text guy is better than the BBC Cumbria commentators. :agree: Glad to see Deeks up front and Nish dropped. :thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 03:29 PM
54 min: Taylor-Fletcher crosses for Demontagnac but his shot his blocked on the edge of the six yard box.

58 min: Pool getting closer now. Stephen Crainey crosses for Taylor-Fletcher who strikes just over the crossbar.

08-08-2010, 03:31 PM
Rankin on for De Graaf

08-08-2010, 03:34 PM
Chelski 0-2 ManUre

ancienthibby
08-08-2010, 03:34 PM
Rankin on for De Graaf

65 min: Not as entertaining as the first half, a lot quieter at the minute although the Seasiders are enjoying most of the possesion.

08-08-2010, 03:36 PM
Chelski 0-2 ManUre

:faf: Did you see the goal?

08-08-2010, 03:37 PM
Chelski 0-2 ManUre

looks like Ancelotti will need to rush through the loan deal for Andy Driver:greengrin

65 min: Not as entertaining as the first half, a lot quieter at the minute although the Seasiders are enjoying most of the possesion.

Even stevens according to SSN. I'll believe them.

wpj

class! :greengrin

bursts my HT FT coupon though

Good strike with the face!

ferryhibs
08-08-2010, 03:39 PM

That was class. Could not do that again if he tried :thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 03:41 PM
2-1 now

for manure :cool2:

08-08-2010, 03:41 PM
Galbraith on for Stokes.

ColinP
08-08-2010, 03:43 PM
1-2 man utd now....

come on hibs....!

Hibeescott
Fair enough

we played 4-4-2 against Maribor at ER :grr:

It is who he plays as the wide players that is important.

Goal Hibs!

08-08-2010, 03:44 PM
apparently a cracking free kick from liam miller :thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 03:45 PM

nice one :thumbsup:

Sweep
08-08-2010, 03:46 PM
78 min: GOAL: BLACKPOOL 1-2 HIBERNIAN: After a bit of scrappy passing, Hibs' Lee Currie is brought down on the edge of the box. Liam Miller steps up for the free-kick and perfectly executes it into the top corner.

ancienthibby
nice one :thumbsup:

78 min: GOAL: BLACKPOOL 1-2 HIBERNIAN: After a bit of scrappy passing, Hibs' Lee Currie is brought down on the edge of the box. Liam Miller steps up for the free-kick and perfectly executes it into the top corner.

Miller on free kicks eh :cool2:

08-08-2010, 03:47 PM

The large army of Edinburgh fans. :greengrin

08-08-2010, 03:47 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

ColinP
08-08-2010, 03:48 PM
YEAH!!! 2-1 hibees! :thumbsup:

sparkiehibs
Miller on free kicks eh :cool2:

he must have had to tie deek up first :wink::wink:

Capt Mainwaring
Delighted for the travelling support. Something to cheer at last.

SSN says there have been 14 subs so clearly we have more strength in depth than the Seasiders!:greengrin

ColinP
08-08-2010, 03:49 PM
1-3 Man Utd Berba......

down the slope
Is it no full time yet ?.

he must have had to tie deek up first :wink::wink:

Thats what I was thinking, unless he has been subbed? :wink:

08-08-2010, 03:51 PM
Thats what I was thinking, unless he has been subbed? :wink:

aye Lee Currie came on for Deek. Explains it:greengrin

sparkiehibs
08-08-2010, 03:53 PM
aye Lee Currie came on for Deek. Explains it:greengrin

My bad, hadnt realised he'd been subbed

sparkiehibs
08-08-2010, 03:55 PM
we played 4-4-2 against Maribor at ER :grr:

It is who he plays as the wide players that is important.

I would say we played 4-3-3 on Thursday

I agree we need wingers but the structure is also required

08-08-2010, 03:56 PM
FT yet?

Twiglet
08-08-2010, 03:57 PM
Anyone know where on the box the free kick was from (i.e. left/right/centre)? It would be interesting to know since Deeks seems to be best from the left(?) and with no Zemmama I think we need someone who can take a decent free kick from the right (and is a regular on the starting 11).

08-08-2010, 03:58 PM
FT Blackpool 1- Hibs 2 :greengrin

Hibeescott
08-08-2010, 03:58 PM
I would say we played 4-3-3 on Thursday

I agree we need wingers but the structure is also required

IMO it was clear as day it was 4-4-2. deeks left mid, edwin right mid, they just drifted in far too much. the two of them were switching like supposed wingers would. and nish and stokes were very much a front 2. also i cant imagine deeks would have tracked back as much as he did if playing in a front 3. but opinions eh.

08-08-2010, 03:59 PM
FT yet?

23 minutes added time due to Hibs winning. :greengrin

08-08-2010, 03:59 PM
Not a hope!

ancienthibby
08-08-2010, 04:00 PM
FT Blackpool 1- Hibs 2 :greengrin

FULL-TIME RESULT: BLACKPOOL 1-2 HIBERNIAN. A draw would probably have been a more fair result although it the Seasiders probably edged the game in terms of possession and chances. An entertaining first half was followed by a much quieter second period. More importantly though, a good run out for the lads who are looking sharper as each game goes on. Next up, it's the big kick off in the Barclays Premier League.

08-08-2010, 04:01 PM
Tell ye what, Aken its only a friendly..But this win will give the boys a massive lift:agree:..Confidence and aw that:cool2:

Well done the Cabbage, Beating a premiership team on there ain patch..***** have it!!.

Not a hope!

I'll be having red sauce with my hat :wink:

Glad to see the team getting another win under their belts before the season starts next week.:agree:

08-08-2010, 04:02 PM
Great result for all the fans who went down to Blackpool and a wee boost for the players before the Motherwell game.

JoJo_07
FULL-TIME RESULT: BLACKPOOL 1-2 HIBERNIAN. A draw would probably have been a more fair result although it the Seasiders probably edged the game in terms of possession and chances. An entertaining first half was followed by a much quieter second period. More importantly though, a good run out for the lads who are looking sharper as each game goes on. Next up, it's the big kick off in the Barclays Premier League.

They said on SSN that Hibs probably deserved to edge it. Let go with what they say :wink:.

08-08-2010, 04:03 PM
:cool2:

08-08-2010, 04:04 PM
Tell ye what, Aken its only a friendly..But this win will give the boys a massive lift:agree:..Confidence and aw that:cool2:

Well done the Cabbage, Beating a premiership team on there ain patch..***** have it!!.

If only we'd had Liverpool in the Europa, instead of Maribor! :boo hoo::wink::greengrin

Hibstrooper
08-08-2010, 04:04 PM

What you going to use to keep your noggin warm now :greengrin

Good result. Hopefully Yogi has learnt from this pre-season and we'll start to play a system/style that suits.

Black Kyle
08-08-2010, 04:06 PM
Good result to beat a Premirship team home or away. Let's just hope some of the team don't think
they're world beaters again and think they just have to turn up at Mudderwell.

Bob Box Fish
08-08-2010, 04:06 PM
Good result and hopefully a confidence booster for next week.

08-08-2010, 04:08 PM
Kwalitee! :thumbsup:

Now did we play 4-4-2? :dunno:

08-08-2010, 04:09 PM
Well done lads, maybe the 4 hours on the coach wasnt that bad an idea after all:wink:.

Considering blackpools season starts the same time as us thats a cracking result away from home:agree:

08-08-2010, 04:09 PM

Im having it large.

Mr Big

08-08-2010, 04:13 PM
Just had a look at the new stand being built by Blackpool.

Nasty, very very nasty.

08-08-2010, 04:15 PM
well done hibees, hopefully some light at the end of the tunnel now :thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 04:16 PM
That's what happens when you start with a strong team Yogi...:rolleyes:

Well done Hibs.:thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 04:23 PM
I don't why people are suprised. Similarly, I didn't get the doom and gloom prior to today.

Blackpool will not have set up to stop us playing. They will have went out to play the game thier own way, to make chances, and play an open game. That suits us all day long, especially since they are at a similar stage of fitness to ourselves. It give the likes of Riordan, Miller and Stokes a lot of freedom, which they won't get against the likes of St.Mirren and Aberdeen who will set out to stop us playing, first and foremost.

This result changes nothing.

08-08-2010, 04:26 PM
How funny is it to read the 1at 2 pages of this thread now..

Some folks feet must be sare with the amount of backtracking they'll be doing!!

Bet half them are gutted we won so they can't have a moan and greet about Hughes and predict how many goals Motherwell will pump us by on the opening day..

Get a grip FFS!

A wee bit positivity never goes a miss eh!

Come Yogi, let's build from this result and have a great season :notworthy:

08-08-2010, 04:32 PM

Bet half them are gutted we won so they can't have a moan and greet about Hughes and predict how many goals Motherwell will pump us by on the opening day..

Get a grip FFS!

I'm pretty sure there will be more positivity when we start winning games that actually matter.

08-08-2010, 04:39 PM

Get a grip FFS!

A good win today, long over due, dont know where the *** you get the idea that half of us will be gutted due to us winning, what an idiotic thing to say. As for getting a grip, 1 win in a friendly does not make up for being completely and utterly clueless and pi5h for half a season, the folk who really need to get a grip are the twats that get onto the rest of the fans for speaking their minds about Hughes and the way we have not been playing fitba.
As for the game against Well, I still think they will beat us and beat us well.

08-08-2010, 04:40 PM
Great result for all the fans who went down to Blackpool and a wee boost for the players before the Motherwell game.

well done hibs. delighted for the fans that travelled.

08-08-2010, 04:44 PM
Did we have a sub goalie on the bench!
Did he get on?

08-08-2010, 04:44 PM

Get a grip FFS!

Backtracking?

There's no need for backtracking. Most of us have said that we should be putting out our best team every game, as opposed to persisting with Pish and Rank. Yogi obliged, and it paid dividends.

08-08-2010, 04:45 PM
A good win today, long over due, dont know where the *** you get the idea that half of us will be gutted due to us winning, what an idiotic thing to say. As for getting a grip, 1 win in a friendly does not make up for being completely and utterly clueless and pi5h for half a season, the folk who really need to get a grip are the twats that get onto the rest of the fans for speaking their minds about Hughes and the way we have not been playing fitba.

Heres hoping eh, REMOVED :bye:

JohnScott
08-08-2010, 04:56 PM

For crying out loud, some of you need to grow up! :bitchy:

Hibstrooper
08-08-2010, 05:04 PM
Any idea who was captain today in the absence of Hogg & Murray from the starting line up?

Hoefully Deeks again - been the star of the pre-season. Rod get that contract sorted Pronto!

08-08-2010, 05:11 PM
Any idea who was captain today in the absence of Hogg & Murray from the starting line up?

Hoefully Deeks again - been the star of the pre-season. Rod get that contract sorted Pronto!
Hogg started.:wink:

08-08-2010, 05:14 PM
Well done you Hibees, although you gave me my first losing bet of the season after backing:

Maribor In Slovenia (after seeing Hibs team)
Maribor at ER (after watching the first game on the internet)
Celtic against Braga at Darkheid,
Man U today and
Hernandez to score anytime today

May the betting on this football season continue in the same vein. :thumbsup:

Hibstrooper
08-08-2010, 05:33 PM
Hogg started.:wink:

:doh:

08-08-2010, 05:33 PM

Exhibit A: this board after last Sunday's game at Carlisle

08-08-2010, 06:13 PM
Exhibit A: this board after last Sunday's game at Carlisle

The idea that half on this board wanted Hibs to lose against Blackpool is ridiculous. I was at Carlisle and it was as poor a performance as I've seen since Duff Jimmy was in charge although as I said at the time, Yogi should have given fringe players and promising youngsters a run out. The first teamers weren't interested.

Same team v Motherwell (if Stack isn't fit) and give it a good go.

08-08-2010, 06:53 PM
Having been at Carlisle where to be honest Hibs were as poor as I have seen them for a long time and quite frankly looked like they couldnt be bothered. Followed by the Maribor game where we didnt look too bad but still looked like we had no chance of pulling back the game against a decent ( and thats all they were ) outfit. Its nice to see us get a result against a team who by definition cant be too bad. And even better that a big Hibs support went home happy.

Having said that I for one havnt got a clue how it will go next weekend.

So for now its good luck lads coz we need a decent result to kick start our season after a pretty poor last few weeks.

C'mon the Hibees !!!

08-08-2010, 07:57 PM
:bye:

08-08-2010, 08:19 PM

this twat hopes to give you a great big GIRUY next sunday :greengrin

08-08-2010, 08:21 PM
:bye:

If you think your fellow fans are twats then you can do one aswelll. We won today against EPL team may not erase the pain of thurs but gives a glimmer of hope.

08-08-2010, 08:36 PM
If you think your fellow fans are twats then you can do one aswelll. We won today against EPL team may not erase the pain of thurs but gives a glimmer of hope.
All the guy did was say he thought we are going to lose to Motherwell. Does somebody's realistic opinion prompt you to call people tubes all the time?

Motherwell probably will beat us, because we are pish. Have been for a while now, would you like to disagree with me? If so, reply with something more intelligent than calling me a tube.

08-08-2010, 08:42 PM
All the guy did was say he thought we are going to lose to Motherwell. Does somebody's realistic opinion prompt you to call people tubes all the time?

Motherwell probably will beat us, because we are pish. Have been for a while now, would you like to disagree with me? If so, reply with something more intelligent than calling me a tube.

That was not all he said, he called us twats, if you think that is fine i don't.
We are not playing well at the moment and would take a draw away from home just now.
For the record i don't call people tubes for predicting we lose a match, if you think we will lose fine by me as it will have no bearing on the 90 mins whatsoever.

08-08-2010, 08:58 PM
That was not all he said, he called us twats, if you think that is fine i don't.
We are not playing well at the moment and would take a draw away from home just now.
For the record i don't call people tubes for predicting we lose a match, if you think we will lose fine by me as it will have no bearing on the 90 mins whatsoever.
Simple name-calling is crap, so no I don't think that's fine.

I'm glad you realise that we are pish aswell, however as you say, my opinion won't have any bearing on the result, like yours...

08-08-2010, 09:02 PM
Simple name-calling is crap, so no I don't think that's fine.

I'm glad you realise that we are pish aswell, however as you say, my opinion won't have any bearing on the result, like yours...

Awrite D :greengrin

Mon the Cabbage next week mate :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 09:09 PM
Awrite D :greengrin

Awrite A :greengrin

08-08-2010, 09:14 PM
Awrite A :greengrin

See you in the pub for the Huns match ma man :agree::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

08-08-2010, 09:26 PM
Did we have a sub goalie on the bench!
Did he get on?

Mark Brown came on at half-time and made a couple of decent saves.

08-08-2010, 10:17 PM
Mark Brown came on at half-time and made a couple of decent saves.

Thats the goalkeeper id start with too.Dinnae wanna hear any this nonsense he is off tae St.Johnstone.

MB Hibs number 1 :agree:

08-08-2010, 10:29 PM
Good win for the team and hopefully it gives us confidence for the clash against the Mothers, good to see Miller get in on the goals and I home the trip was great for the fans:thumbsup:.

Instead of being angry at Hibs getting beat I think the Doom and Gloomers can be smug with the fact that dropping both Rankin and Nish brings wins against Premiership opposition, therefore proving us all right:greengrin

08-08-2010, 11:36 PM
Good win for the team and hopefully it gives us confidence for the clash against the Mothers, good to see Miller get in on the goals and I home the trip was great for the fans:thumbsup:.

Instead of being angry at Hibs getting beat I think the Doom and Gloomers can be smug with the fact that dropping both Rankin and Nish brings wins against Premiership opposition, therefore proving us all right:greengrin
But Rankin came on as substitute before Hibs scored the winner.

08-08-2010, 11:41 PM
Just saw the goals on SSN. Well taken by Deeks and Miller.

Hibs supporters behind the goals. :thumbsup:

09-08-2010, 09:17 AM

With respect to them, I don't think Blackpool are really Premiership class. I hope I'm wrong, because I like Ian Holloway, and I'd love to see them stick it to a few of the Big Teams, but I do fear the worst for them...

They're a more than decent side, though, and since I logged on this morning expecting to see a scoreline of 2 or 3-0 against us, a 2-1 win's a pleasant surprise. :rolleyes:

09-08-2010, 09:25 AM
But Rankin came on as substitute before Hibs scored the winner.

Noooooooooooo:boo hoo::greengrin

With respect to them, I don't think Blackpool are really Premiership class. I hope I'm wrong, because I like Ian Holloway, and I'd love to see them stick it to a few of the Big Teams, but I do fear the worst for them...

They're a more than decent side, though, and since I logged on this morning expecting to see a scoreline of 2 or 3-0 against us, a 2-1 win's a pleasant surprise. :rolleyes:

Aye true, it might not be a pretty year for them but at least those parachute payments from relegation (if it happens) will help soften the blow, can't believe it's now £48 million over 4 years:bitchy:

09-08-2010, 10:53 AM

Thought the win was fortunate, and Blackpool should really have taken more of their chances....

09-08-2010, 11:01 AM
What you going to use to keep your noggin warm now :greengrin

Good result. Hopefully Yogi has learnt from this pre-season and we'll start to play a system/style that suits.

shut it you :blah: just glad I never said I would go in a bath of beans :agree:

09-08-2010, 11:11 AM
Aye true, it might not be a pretty year for them but at least those parachute payments from relegation (if it happens) will help soften the blow, can't believe it's now £48 million over 4 years:bitchy:

If Holloway can manage the team well, and do so while avoiding blowing huge sums on mediocrities (which TBF he's done in the past at Blackpool and other clubs) like other promoted sides have done, things could work out well for them in the long term. Hope so - I've a wee soft spot for Blackpool.

I'd truly LOVE to see them turn over some of their "big-team" Lancashire rivals.... :greengrin

09-08-2010, 11:20 AM
If Holloway can manage the team well, and do so while avoiding blowing huge sums on mediocrities (which TBF he's done in the past at Blackpool and other clubs) like other promoted sides have done, things could work out well for them in the long term. Hope so - I've a wee soft spot for Blackpool.

I'd truly LOVE to see them turn over some of their "big-team" Lancashire rivals.... :greengrin

Holloway has been in for a few players in the last few weeks. John Stead at Ipswich was one, a fee was agreed but he wants 17k a week. The top earner at the moment is on 8k a week. Holloway and Oyston wont put the club in debt, they wont pay these type of wages either, and will have to get very lucky with their signing if they are not relegated before xmas.