View Full Version : Family Home?

Pages : 1 [2]

08-08-2010, 07:32 PM
God mate, you ask anyone who used to go to football before about 1990 how good games used to be. Football atmosphere at ER needs to go back to that. If you dont like bad language then start watching chuffing rugby! No I wouldnt pay for a ticket for the circus and when it turned out to be crap start swearing my head off but the football is somewhere everyone has always done this. Stop killing the game!

With respect - and again, I'm not wanting to pick on you, but seeing as you're asking - in 1990, you were six. And I'm getting on for 20 years older than you, but not so old that I cannae remember it. I swear myself. Quite a lot. That's not what we're talking about though. It's the violent insult-fest that people don't get.

08-08-2010, 07:35 PM
No got a problem with swearing but when it comes to people making racist remarks or comments then thats when things have gone too far.

Anyone hearing these comments being made should either tell the person making them to shut up or report them ENDOF.

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 07:41 PM
Yes. I was one of them, unlike you.

This mythical land of non-stop singing and boisterous and never ending expletive filled fanaticism never existed. It was hard in the late seventies and early eighties with crowds of 4 or 5000 for regular games to get much of a kind of Glee Club with added tourettes.

In the derbies and old firm games, yes, the atmosphere was better, but that was due to terracing, pure and simple. It had nothing to do with what you think - that a kind of "Primal Mans Club" was in existence. It didn't.

And all this "go to the rugby" crap. Get over yourself sunshine.

So you believe there is a line over which it is unacceptable to go. To call someone a "useless f****** c***" is ok, but if they were to call them "a useless f****** black c***" that immediately becomes offensive to you. It clearly would be offensive to almost anyone, but the fact that you refuse to accept that your line of acceptability may be different to someone elses is arrogant in the extreme.

Ok, im hardly looking for ****ing glee club just a bit of passion to be allowed without people getting humpty about it. I always voice my opinions at the games and have never been told to be quiet or had any other comments directed at me in over 20 years so I must have a point.

As for the useless c*** thing, what your saying is just stupid and makes no sense. I dont care if it was big Konte, or Stevie Crawford, colour was irrelivant and they were both useless c***s. Just cos someone is useless and also happens to be black has nowt to do with my point. If players arent pulling their weight then I think as someone who has paid alot of money over the years to watch my team, I have a right to call someone a useless c***. God man, next you will be saying that its wrong to call a Hearts player a dirty scabby smelly Herts c***.

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 07:49 PM
No got a problem with swearing but when it comes to people making racist remarks or comments then thats when things have gone too far.

Anyone hearing these comments being made should either tell the person making them to shut up or report them ENDOF.

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 07:50 PM
With respect - and again, I'm not wanting to pick on you, but seeing as you're asking - in 1990, you were six. And I'm getting on for 20 years older than you, but not so old that I cannae remember it. I swear myself. Quite a lot. That's not what we're talking about though. It's the violent insult-fest that people don't get.

E.G.?

08-08-2010, 07:54 PM
Ok, im hardly looking for ****ing glee club just a bit of passion to be allowed without people getting humpty about it. I always voice my opinions at the games and have never been told to be quiet or had any other comments directed at me in over 20 years so I must have a point.

As for the useless *** thing, what your saying is just stupid and makes no sense. I dont care if it was big Konte, or Stevie Crawford, colour was irrelivant and they were both useless ***s. Just cos someone is useless and also happens to be black has nowt to do with my point. If players arent pulling their weight then I think as someone who has paid alot of money over the years to watch my team, I have a right to call someone a useless ***. God man, next you will be saying that its wrong to call a Hearts player a dirty scabby smelly Herts ***.

You really are just ignoring the point aren't you? I pay the odd shilling to watch Hibs play. it doesn't give me a right to behave just how I want to though.
And no complaints directed at you in over 20 years. :confused: Again..............how old are you really?:wink:

08-08-2010, 08:03 PM

As for the useless c*** thing, what your saying is just stupid and makes no sense. I dont care if it was big Konte, or Stevie Crawford, colour was irrelivant and they were both useless c***s. Just cos someone is useless and also happens to be black has nowt to do with my point. If players arent pulling their weight then I think as someone who has paid alot of money over the years to watch my team, I have a right to call someone a useless c***. God man, next you will be saying that its wrong to call a Hearts player a dirty scabby smelly Herts c***.

One man's useless c*** is another man's hero dontcha know :wink:

Seriously, if you're happy to curse and swear at games then go ahead and fill your boots but at least acknowledge that there are occasions when it's inappropriate (e.g. shouting and swearing aggressively at a fellow fan or youngster sitting near you at a game)

08-08-2010, 08:03 PM
I've taken my grandkid to a bunch of matches now, but have become very wary because I don't want him to hear folk screaming f'n c - - t for what sometimes seems like half the match. It's a minority, but I don't see why some folk think they have some god-given right to ignore common decency when there are 5 year olds around them.

08-08-2010, 08:05 PM
Agree with all these posts.

I like a shout at the football, I've used the "C" word more than a few times, I even used it on Thursday night, but folk need to know when they've overstepped the mark.

:agree: I know, I heard you use it at least twice in BTG. And one of them was directed at me! Shocking behaviour ! :bitchy:

Ahh but DeGraff, that would be because it would personally offend you, luckily we do not have too many halfwits and the vast majority would be offended no matter what race they are,possibly supporting a club at which many supporters have been brought up as Catholic for instance heightens so many fans dislike of any type of victimisation, surely you realise atmosphere can be generated without outright hostility, one of the best atmospheres in recent years was a Scotland game against Canada, almost as good as AEK, and no animosity whatever :wink:

There's a sweeping generalisation if ever I've read one!

As an aside, I have found that I have never heard the use of the 'C' word more than I have in Edinbugh. Don't know why.

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 08:22 PM

Spectacularly missing the point.

This isnt about whether or not a player meets your exacting standards of acceptability as a Hibs player. Its about what is deemed acceptable or unacceptable to yell at a football match. You have said you find racist comments unacceptable. Good. Other people find being subjected to people persistently shouting "f****** c***" unacceptable. But apparently, because you don't, you dont see why anyone else should.

And once again, your point of "I've paid my money I can shout what I want" is not, repeat not, correct.

As for your last point re Hearts. I've not missed a derby home or away for longer than youve been alive. I've hurled abuse at Hearts players, and you know what, thats been when the atmosphere has been loud, when Ive been aware that what Im shouting is fine. If Ive been with my kids or theres been kids near me, ive shouted, but tempered my language. Its not hard to do - just a wee bit of self control.

Sitting or standing with 5000 people on a cold February night while some p!ssed up moron constantly calls, say, some Motherwell player a hun c*** for 90 minutes is just turgidly depressing, and only serves to make an already deeply unedifying experience even less pleasurable.

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 08:37 PM

This isnt about whether or not a player meets your exacting standards of acceptability as a Hibs player. Its about what is deemed acceptable or unacceptable to yell at a football match. You have said you find racist comments unacceptable. Good. Other people find being subjected to people persistently shouting "f****** c***" unacceptable. But apparently, because you don't, you dont see why anyone else should.

And once again, your point of "I've paid my money I can shout what I want" is not, repeat not, correct.

As for your last point re Hearts. I've not missed a derby home or away for longer than youve been alive. I've hurled abuse at Hearts players, and you know what, thats been when the atmosphere has been loud, when Ive been aware that what Im shouting is fine. If Ive been with my kids or theres been kids near me, ive shouted, but tempered my language. Its not hard to do - just a wee bit of self control.

Sitting or standing with 5000 people on a cold February night while some p!ssed up moron constantly calls, say, some Motherwell player a hun c*** for 90 minutes is just turgidly depressing, and only serves to make an already deeply unedifying experience even less pleasurable.

What you have just said is just being a hypocrite. So its ok to do this at the big games but not at the wee ones? :confused:

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 08:38 PM
:agree: I know, I heard you use it at least twice in BTG. And one of them was directed at me! Shocking behaviour ! :bitchy:

As an aside, I have found that I have never heard the use of the 'C' word more than I have in Edinbugh. Don't know why.

Usually ya ***!

08-08-2010, 08:48 PM
Usually ya ***!

:wtf:

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 08:49 PM
What you have just said is just being a hypocrite. So its ok to do this at the big games but not at the wee ones? :confused:

No its not hypocritical. Go back and read it again, all the way through, especially with reference to what you said in your earlier post. When the atmosphere is up because the game is exciting, then the shouting will obviosuly go up. Thats called atmosphere, but even then depending on who is there I will moderate what I say accordingly.

And you're still ignoring the point, aren't you?

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 08:53 PM
No its not hypocritical. Go back and read it again, all the way through, especially with reference to what you said in your earlier post. When the atmosphere is up because the game is exciting, then the shouting will obviosuly go up. Thats called atmosphere, but even then depending on who is there I will moderate what I say accordingly.

And you're still ignoring the point, aren't you?

Ive lost your point mate. All im reading is its not ok to shout abuse at a game if its against anyone but Hearts Celtic or Rangers incase someone gets offended.

08-08-2010, 08:55 PM
So to sum up, there is a minority of ‘supporters’ who think it’s OK to be abusive, to unsettle and make the majority of supporters in the stadium feel uncomfortable.

Look around, who is being an ******** just like you – no-one!

You so called ‘supporters’ think it’s OK that the next generation of supporters aren’t going to be there but you're doing this because it’s your right? Hundreds, possibly thousands, of supporters today are being put off going to Easter Road but your £22 gives you the right? So it’s your right to expose the rest of us to what is otherwise unacceptable in society, to destroy the future of the club.

Well in your own words … from the thousands that know you're wrong, ‘**** off ya ***** you're not ****ing wanted. Society doesn’t ****ing want you and neither do Hibs.

Do us all a favour and just piss off before you kill the Club you supposedly support! :bye:

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 09:08 PM
Ive lost your point mate. All im reading is its not ok to shout abuse at a game if its against anyone but Hearts Celtic or Rangers incase someone gets offended.

If thats what you're getting from this you may want to call someone with some basic level of interpretive reading skill to come and help you go through some of the posts on this thread.

Missing the point by a country mile old son.

Oh, and Jack got it spot on in his post above.

08-08-2010, 09:15 PM
Il just order you taxi under the name of A*** H***? :wink:

What am I needing a taxi for?:dunno:

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:17 PM
If thats what you're getting from this you may want to call someone with some basic level of interpretive reading skill to come and help you go through some of the posts on this thread.

Missing the point by a country mile old son.

Oh, and Jack got it spot on in his post above.

Listen, do you not realise, I couldnt care less what you or Jack thinks. As I said nobody has ever complained to me about using abusive language because anything I shout at the games are true. Everyone agrees because im not coming out and just shouting *** or **, I sont sit and abuse my own team but I also would shout at a player to get a ****** grip if they arent pulling their weight. Your argument is pathetic. Its the sort of thing id expect to hear from an old wifey. Jesus man, some people on this are an embarrassment to this club. What makes you this great perfect supporter? Should everyone just go to games and act like you? Thats would really fire the team up eh?

08-08-2010, 09:19 PM
Listen, do you not realise, I couldnt care less what you or Jack thinks. As I said nobody has ever complained to me about using abusive language because anything I shout at the games are true. Everyone agrees because im not coming out and just shouting *** or **, I sont sit and abuse my own team but I also would shout at a player to get a ****** grip if they arent pulling their weight. Your argument is pathetic. Its the sort of thing id expect to hear from an old wifey. Jesus man, some people on this are an embarrassment to this club. What makes you this great perfect supporter? Should everyone just go to games and act like you? Thats would really fire the team up eh?

I think you have finally said something we can all agree on.:greengrin

08-08-2010, 09:20 PM
Try and debate the point without the abuse guys.

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:21 PM
I think you have finally said something we can all agree on.:greengrin

I dont agree with you on anything pal except the team I support.

08-08-2010, 09:22 PM
I dont agree with you on anything pal except the team I support.

I ain't your pal.

ancienthibby
08-08-2010, 09:22 PM

Now, TC my friend, just how can a 'deeply unedifying experience' be pleasurable in the first instance??:devil:

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:23 PM
I ain't your pal.

Thank god for that, id have slit my wrists by know if I was.

08-08-2010, 09:24 PM

Sort it out yous pair or ill take yous both intae the spare room and kick shight of the pair aw yous :greengrin

Mon the Hibs guys :thumbsup:

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:28 PM
Sort it out yous pair or ill take yous both intae the spare room and kick shight of the pair aw yous :greengrin

Watch how loud your shouting mon the Hibs or he might have a another tantrum

08-08-2010, 09:29 PM

08-08-2010, 09:30 PM

Oi, away you go and continue yer Charlie Adam argument with the shiny fish and dinnae get involved with this one. :bye:

To get a bit of positivity in to the thread, I took my lad (3 next month) to what I hope will be the first of many Hibs games (poor sod) and he was welcomed to the 'Hibernian family' with open arms, he really enjoyed the colour and atmosphere and even joined in with the 'Deeko' chants - I'd been trying to get him to chant Hibees Hibees for the past fortnight and he finally managed it at the end of the game, a proud dad was I :thumbsup:

Thanks to all those who were sat on the very left hand side of the stand who helped to keep him entertained, even if he is still rolling about in bed because of the excitement of the day (and in his Hibs top that he is refusing to take off!)

:top marks:greengrin

Oi, away you go and continue yer Charlie Adam argument with the shiny fish and dinnae get involved with this one. :bye:

Awwww :boo hoo:

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:34 PM
To get a bit of positivity in to the thread, I took my lad (3 next month) to what I hope will be the first of many Hibs games (poor sod) and he was welcomed to the 'Hibernian family' with open arms, he really enjoyed the colour and atmosphere and even joined in with the 'Deeko' chants - I'd been trying to get him to chant Hibees Hibees for the past fortnight and he finally managed it at the end of the game, a proud dad was I :thumbsup:

Thanks to all those who were sat on the very left hand side of the stand who helped to keep him entertained, even if he is still rolling about in bed because of the excitement of the day (and in his Hibs top that he is refusing to take off!)

Great to hear, glad he had a good time. And was he put off by the language and horrific abuse?

7Hero
08-08-2010, 09:36 PM
Was this the Semi against United??? If so that was me and again, there appears to be a bit of paraphrasing going on.:agree: If this was the particular incident you refer to, I did turn round and shout "lets get behind them!!!" and I just got a good few quizical looks like I had 2 heads or something:confused:, decided it wasn't worth it and sat down shaking my head in disbelief.

If it was me, I aint going to apologise for it as it was the semi final of the Scottish cup and, again, it was like someone had just died.:bitchy:

mate i cannae mind when it was, it was probably a scotland game to be honest, just thought id say it as it was a tad rude.. and the words i used were pretty much exactly what the guy said which to be honest is pretty bad considering it was only 5 minutes into the game as i hadn't finished my prawn sandwich..

08-08-2010, 09:37 PM
Awwww :boo hoo:

Glad you've taken a telling for a change. :cool2:

08-08-2010, 09:38 PM
And was he put off by the language and horrific abuse?

There wasn't much to speak of, though I must admit that when he starts to come to ER with me then we will be going in the FF rather than the East as it lessens the chances of being next to some loon, which certainly would put him off, I'm sure. Away games will just have to go with the flow.

In summary for this thread, the family stand is there for a reason.

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:42 PM
There wasn't much to speak of, though I must admit that when he starts to come to ER with me then we will be going in the FF rather than the East as it lessens the chances of being next to some loon, which certainly would put him off, I'm sure. Away games will just have to go with the flow.

In summary for this thread, the family stand is there for a reason.

If I was taking my kid to a game I wouldnt go to the East either till they were alot older. Thats because I know for a fact she would hear things she shouldnt, so rather than sit there and moan, id go to the family section. Problem solved.

08-08-2010, 09:43 PM
If I was taking my kid to a game I wouldnt go to the East either till they were alot older. Thats because I know for a fact she would hear things she shouldnt, so rather than sit there and moan, id go to the family section. Problem solved.

Where is the family section? The club don't advertise one:confused:

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 09:44 PM
Listen, do you not realise, I couldnt care less what you or Jack thinks.
Abundantly clear. You dont care what anyone else thinks.

As I said nobody has ever complained to me about using abusive language because anything I shout at the games are true.
Font of all wisdom as well. Nowt like opinions here, eh?

Everyone agrees because im not coming out and just shouting *** or **, I sont sit and abuse my own team but I also would shout at a player to get a ****** grip if they arent pulling their weight.
Except of course you already have said that you do call players useless f****** c****, whcih would by most peoples reckoning constitute abusing your own team.

Your argument is pathetic.
Ten minutes ago you were telling me you couldnt understand my point. Make your mind up.

Its the sort of thing id expect to hear from an old wifey. Jesus man, some people on this are an embarrassment to this club.
Whoooosshhhhh....

What makes you this great perfect supporter? I've never clamed that i am a perfect supporter, but as you ask I would suggest it is probably my dashing good looks and urbane wit.

Should everyone just go to games and act like you? Thats would really fire the team up eh?

As you have absolutely no idea how I behave at games, you are making a massive assumption here, and a wrong one at that. I dont yell abuse, but I do shout, I do sing, I do stand up (much to the annoyance of some), but I would hope that I do it in a way that doesnt make me look or sound like I've had a lobotomy.

08-08-2010, 09:48 PM
Where is the family section? The club don't advertise one:confused:

I was always under the impression that the FF was the family stand, to the extent that you could only buy tickets in there if accompanied by a kid, but I could be wrong?

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 09:50 PM
Abundantly clear. You dont care what anyone else thinks.

Font of all wisdom as well. Nowt like opinions here, eh?

Except of course you already have said that you do call players useless f****** c****, whcih would by most peoples reckoning constitute abusing your own team.

Ten minutes ago you were telling me you couldnt understand my point. Make your mind up.

Whoooosshhhhh....

I've never clamed that i am a perfect supporter, but as you ask I would suggest it is probably my dashing good looks and urbane wit.

As you have absolutely no idea how I behave at games, you are making a massive assumption here, and a wrong one at that. I dont yell abuse, but I do shout, I do sing, I do stand up (much to the annoyance of some), but I would hope that I do it in a way that doesnt make me look or sound like I've had a lobotomy.

:yawn:

08-08-2010, 09:51 PM
I was always under the impression that the FF was the family stand, to the extent that you could only buy tickets in there if accompanied by a kid, but I could be wrong?

I think it was at one time but not now. I have certainly sat in both the Upper and Lower sections on my own in recent seasons. I think the West and the Lower FF offers the best family deals but I may be wrong.

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 09:54 PM
:yawn:

A smiley response? Marvellous.

Much better that than actually trying to make a point or in anyway defend yourself.

Well done. I look forward to your next rapier-like response.

08-08-2010, 09:54 PM

Yep FF lower was meant to be the family section but I can honestly say in the 4 years I had a season ticket there it was easily the worst stand I have ever seen bother in.

Fans fighting with each other, loud mouth idiots who havent got a clue, pitch invasions, stewards mouthing off at fans (even pushing kids off the wall) and the shocking bad language (some off it from me:wink:)........................

I'm glad I'm taking my kid back to the sanctuary of the east :agree:

08-08-2010, 09:55 PM
I find it quite funny that people are being told to piss off and/or stay away from the East because that's where most of the bad language and chants will come from.

As the east wasn't open on Thursday I'd hazard a guess that most of those fans would have been in the other parts of the stadium and therefore there was a greater chance of people being offended by the supporters from the east stand!

Chances are those who generally sit elsewhere won't have to mix it with the east stand fans so this should become less of an 'issue' when the season kicks off.

Gie yersels a break.

08-08-2010, 09:56 PM

I've bought a ticket for just myself on a number of occasions for the FF and know some season ticket holders (adults) in the FF who are "kidless"

Not sure it would be sensible from a financial aspect to only allow adults into FF on the condition that they must have a kid with them.

08-08-2010, 10:01 PM
I've never clamed that i am a perfect supporter, but as you ask I would suggest it is probably my dashing good looks and urbane wit.

I'm sorry TC but I can't let that one go. There is only one dashing person on this forum and his name is Bob. :wink:

I think it was at one time but not now. I have certainly sat in both the Upper and Lower sections on my own in recent seasons. I think the West and the Lower FF offers the best family deals but I may be wrong.

Certainly not the case anymore.

08-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Yep FF lower was meant to be the family section but I can honestly say in the 4 years I had a season ticket there it was easily the worst stand I have ever seen bother in.

Fans fighting with each other, loud mouth idiots who havent got a clue, pitch invasions, stewards mouthing off at fans (even pushing kids off the wall) and the shocking bad language (some off it from me:wink:)........................

I'm glad I'm taking my kid back to the sanctuary of the east :agree:
I remember that ! Right in front of me.
The steward was giving it "come ahead" to the whole stand:greengrin

I personally seen him pushing the laddie off the wall and about 25 gadgies ran down to confront him.
Bam

08-08-2010, 10:04 PM

I personally seen him pushing the laddie off the wall and about 25 gadgies ran down to confront him.
Bam

I remember that one too. One of the most bizarre ways to resign from your job I have ever seen.:greengrin

08-08-2010, 10:05 PM
The FF stand has the louts who want a cheaper ticket.

I have about 5 guys in the 30's sitting beside me and a complete muppet not far behind me (no , not 65bd:greengrin)

08-08-2010, 10:06 PM

Bam

Aye me being one of them :greengrin Think a couple of guys managed to get over the wall - my abiding memory was about half a dozen stewards pulling him away with the rest trying to stop folk gettin to him - erse should have been sacked for that.

08-08-2010, 10:06 PM
I remember that one too. One of the most bizarre ways to resign from your job I have ever seen.:greengrin

He seemed to be pulling at his own collar as if he was trying to show us what top he had on.
I'm sure he was a yam !

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 10:07 PM
I'm sorry TC but I can't let that one go. There is only one dashing person on this forum and his name is Bob. :wink:

I gladly defer to the Bobs stature in this regard, and would therefore change the reason for perfect fandom in regard of my good looks from "dashing" to "rugged"

08-08-2010, 10:10 PM
I gladly defer to the Bobs stature in this regard, and would therefore change the reason for perfect fandom in regard of my good looks from "dashing" to "rugged"

Bunter
08-08-2010, 10:11 PM
Don't forget your unerring flair for etymology TC. :agree:

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 10:16 PM

Much better that than actually trying to make a point or in anyway defend yourself.

The reason I put a smiley is because it pretty much sums up what I think of what your saying. If you dont like to hear bad language then dont go to the football. I dont particularly like bad language but if I was as offended as you clearly are, then id not go. Football clearly is not the sport for you. Why dont you go to amature football games as theres less chance of bad language for you to lose the rag about. Clearly you are just one of these supporters that likes to moan about stupid pointless things rather than actually concentrate on what you are actually at the games for. Instead of worrying about what the guy next to you is shouting just watch the game and dont worry about what other people think.

You remind me of a guy my mate was talking about, he was at a Hearts game and was told to sit down when they scored as the guy couldnt see. I really used to give him it tight that they had supporters as pathetic as that but we clearly also have our own ones too. You should be embarrassed and ashamed at being compared to an old moaning Jambo at Tynecastle. Now can we end this because your opinions are too boring for me to even think about anymore.:grr::grr::grr:

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 10:35 PM
The reason I put a smiley is because it pretty much sums up what I think of what your saying. If you dont like to hear bad language then dont go to the football. I dont particularly like bad language but if I was as offended as you clearly are, then id not go. Football clearly is not the sport for you. Why dont you go to amature football games as theres less chance of bad language for you to lose the rag about. Clearly you are just one of these supporters that likes to moan about stupid pointless things rather than actually concentrate on what you are actually at the games for. Instead of worrying about what the guy next to you is shouting just watch the game and dont worry about what other people think.

Staggering. At not one point have I ever said I was offended by bad language. I find it irritating and essentially dull when buffoons think it big and hard to use swearys, and I think it is deeply inconsiderate when there are kids about. Your seemingly pathological inability to understand this means you're arguing against something that just doesnt exist.

I'll take your "Football is clearly not the sport for me" under consideration. I'd hate to think my forty odd years following Hibs home and away, playing amateur football for ten years, running amateur teams and coaching football at youth,amateur and county level over the last fifteen years has been a waste of time.

You remind me of a guy my mate was talking about, he was at a Hearts game and was told to sit down when they scored as the guy couldnt see. I really used to give him it tight that they had supporters as pathetic as that but we clearly also have our own ones too. You should be embarrassed and ashamed at being compared to an old moaning Jambo at Tynecastle.
Thats quite funny, because you are assuming that I attach some value to your views. I can assure you that your opinion of me very closely matches mine of yours.

Now can we end this because your opinions are too intelligent for me to even think about
Fixed that last bit for you

MJN1875
08-08-2010, 10:53 PM
Staggering. At not one point have I ever said I was offended by bad language. I find it irritating and essentially dull when buffoons think it big and hard to use swearys, and I think it is deeply inconsiderate when there are kids about. Your seemingly pathological inability to understand this means you're arguing against something that just doesnt exist.

I'll take your "Football is clearly not the sport for me" under consideration. I'd hate to think my forty odd years following Hibs home and away, playing amateur football for ten years, running amateur teams and coaching football at youth,amateur and county level over the last fifteen years has been a waste of time.

Well whats your problem? I mean really, as you said you have followed us for 40 odd years, played amateur football for ten years, ran amateur teams and coached football at youth,amateur and county level over the last fifteen years, so wtf is wrong with you? Clearly the last 15 years has been a waste of time for you. Dont bother wasting anymore of it talking Colin Nish, please. Its pathetic, boring and embarrassing and I cant believe people like you actually support the same team as me.

Thats quite funny, because you are assuming that I attach some value to your views. I can assure you that your opinion of me very closely matches mine of yours.

No, thats where your wrong, I dont care what you think, there are nowt wrong with my views and I really dont know many who would agree with yours.

Fixed that last bit for you

What do you want? A medal?

08-08-2010, 10:59 PM
mate i cannae mind when it was, it was probably a scotland game to be honest, just thought id say it as it was a tad rude.. and the words i used were pretty much exactly what the guy said which to be honest is pretty bad considering it was only 5 minutes into the game as i hadn't finished my prawn sandwich..

Different incedent then buddy.:agree:

I lost it at the United Semi after about 80 minutes of deathly silence.:agree:

Twa Cairpets
08-08-2010, 11:04 PM

If you insist, that would be nice.

More likely to get that from you than any kind of reasoned argument

08-08-2010, 11:10 PM
One man's useless c*** is another man's hero dontcha know :wink:

Seriously, if you're happy to curse and swear at games then go ahead and fill your boots but at least acknowledge that there are occasions when it's inappropriate (e.g. shouting and swearing aggressively at a fellow fan or youngster sitting near you at a game)

Are you listening to this Delabooze. :greengrin :thumbsup: :wink:

08-08-2010, 11:16 PM

hibernator
09-08-2010, 04:19 AM

Not sure what you mean ArabHibee, what I was trying to put over to DeGraff without going into detail was being Catholic I've had some warped things said to me (mainly during the 60's+70's) so I know we can feel the need to react but you need to remember "don't let the side down" (one of old mans sayings), don't just think of yourself, and that is what I believe most of us putting forward, I apologise if my earlier post could be misconstrued.:lips seal

HibeesLA
09-08-2010, 05:01 AM
Hibernian FC - Ground Rules (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/GroundRules/0,,10290,00.html)

10. Unnecessary noise such as from the use of radio sets and behaviour likely to cause confusion, annoyance or nuisance of any kind, is not permitted in any part of the ground. Spectators persisting in the use of foul and abusive language will be liable to ejection and possible banning from the Stadium.

GhostofBolivar
09-08-2010, 05:17 AM
So now under 18s shouldn't hear swearing? :faf:

I imagine a lot of parents don't want their children exposed to it, yes.

I heard more swearing in the primary school playground (when I was at school...I don't hang around them these days :greengrin) than I do at a football match.

I hear things like this a lot at work when I ask people to mind their language. "Whit? We're aw adults here, ken?"

You know what I say?

"Aye. So their no need to behave like it's a playground then, is there?"

And there isn't at Easter Road either.

People are making something of nothing here IMO.

And before I get a tirade, or another 'surprised you can use a PC' style comment :rolleyes: , I've never said that I think you should be allowed to shout and swear all you want in the FAMILY section...that area of the stadium where parents can take their children if they don't want their ears polluted with words they'll hear on TV, at school, in music...etc.

Look, I'm not saying don't swear. It's going to happen. I do it myself. But I try to be aware of my surroundings and I try to keep it at a conversational level. There's no need to scream abuse at the the top of your lungs with no regard for who's around you and who might be offended by what you say. I don't mind it myself - if anything I find it absurd that people can lose their rag at a football match to that extent - but some people will.

No-one would behave like that if they were watching in a pub. Why does it suddenly become acceptable if they're actually at the game?

khib70
09-08-2010, 09:55 AM
So to sum up, there is a minority of ‘supporters’ who think it’s OK to be abusive, to unsettle and make the majority of supporters in the stadium feel uncomfortable.

You so called ‘supporters’ think it’s OK that the next generation of supporters aren’t going to be there but you're doing this because it’s your right? Hundreds, possibly thousands, of supporters today are being put off going to Easter Road but your £22 gives you the right? So it’s your right to expose the rest of us to what is otherwise unacceptable in society, to destroy the future of the club.

Well in your own words … from the thousands that know you're wrong, ‘**** off ya ***** you're not ****ing wanted. Society doesn’t ****ing want you and neither do Hibs.

Do us all a favour and just piss off before you kill the Club you supposedly support! :bye:

:top marks Well 20/10 actually. Nothing to add. Spot on. And well done Two Carpets for banging your head against a brick wall for so long:thumbsup:

09-08-2010, 10:12 AM
I imagine a lot of parents don't want their children exposed to it, yes.

I hear things like this a lot at work when I ask people to mind their language. "Whit? We're aw adults here, ken?"

You know what I say?

"Aye. So their no need to behave like it's a playground then, is there?"

And there isn't at Easter Road either.

Look, I'm not saying don't swear. It's going to happen. I do it myself. But I try to be aware of my surroundings and I try to keep it at a conversational level. There's no need to scream abuse at the the top of your lungs with no regard for who's around you and who might be offended by what you say. I don't mind it myself - if anything I find it absurd that people can lose their rag at a football match to that extent - but some people will.

No-one would behave like that if they were watching in a pub. Why does it suddenly become acceptable if they're actually at the game?

Wouldn't be so sure about that, to an extent :greengrin

Well, I think the workplace is a more civilised place than the East Stand at Easter Road to be honest so that's fair enough.

And I mentioned the playground because I was talking about kids and the idea that they somehow don't know what swearing is.

And your first point...I think 18 is pushing it a bit, don't you?

DCI Gene Hunt
09-08-2010, 10:24 AM
I've heard worse language in pubs than at Easter Road (even in the old East Stand). Football or no football.

Lost the rag myself at the Maribor game, Given the circumstances I found it hard not to.

09-08-2010, 10:26 AM

by 'know'?

He can't be expected to write a reasoned response TC, not when he's finishing his draft manuscript of 'How To Win Friends and Influence People...A Commentary'. Publishers have deadlines you know.

I'll give you a medal if you continue posting in this manner and are still here in 3 months. Earn your stripes.

09-08-2010, 10:32 AM
I have to say that I have sat 2 rows behind Delabooze for years (only just twigged it was him from this thread) and he has never been one to be excessivly abusive or over the top with his swearing. I've observed he's a passionate Hibby and him and his mate to his left give our section a bit of atmosphere.

If I was to sum him up, I'd say he's fair in his shouts ! Happy to challenge a fan that makes a loud shout against a player but also makes himself heard when a player (or manager) is clearly keek !

I didn't see or hear anything in the lead up to this event the other night but did see the guy leaving with his son. Given I hadn't heard anything (and you do tend to hear DB) I asumed the guy was overreacting. Obviously can't really comment but would like to defend his general character as he seems a decent lad and, if he was over the top and offensive, I can't say that's what he's like in general at games.

Thanks Baw 187

09-08-2010, 10:33 AM

no:greengrin

Jay
09-08-2010, 10:35 AM
no:greengrin

:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao:

Jack has a thread on the holy ground about complimenting someone every day - I like to do my bit :greengrin

09-08-2010, 10:38 AM
:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao:

Jack has a thread on the holy ground about complimenting someone every day - I like to do my bit :greengrin

Thanks Mrs S. What a wonderful lady you are :wink:

09-08-2010, 10:42 AM
no:greengrinNice "handle"...:greengrin..i can honestly say you didnt deserve the bashing you got on that other thread, i think it was a bit far fetched ..you were sat two up from me yest & i never heard any vitriol from you...or maybe it was the fact big Frank D was drowning you out, my lugs are still ringing !!! :greengrin

09-08-2010, 10:49 AM
Nice "handle"...:greengrin..i can honestly say you didnt deserve the bashing you got on that other thread, i think it was a bit far fetched ..you were sat two up from me yest & i never heard any vitriol from you...or maybe it was the fact big Frank D was drowning you out, my lugs are still ringing !!! :greengrin

Thanks happyhibbie, you should have introduced yourself.......

Big Frank was doing the shouting for me, as I was too tired:wink:

09-08-2010, 11:09 AM
Market the West and Famous five as family stands and the East as the radgy stand :agree:

09-08-2010, 11:20 AM
Thanks happyhibbie, you should have introduced yourself.......

Big Frank was doing the shouting for me, as I was too tired:wink:I was gonna but you prob wouldnt have understood Budweiser" speak ...best introducing myself when im less (much less) intoxicated....:greengrin

speedy_gonzales
09-08-2010, 05:07 PM
Why dont you go to amature football games as theres less chance of bad language for you to lose the rag about.

Methinks not, 'amateur' football has just as many sweary words as the pro's and most of that is from the players never mind the fans!

I have the fortune/misfortune to live next door to a rather large park that must have 6 or so full size pitches, it will never stop me from using the park but I do have to bite my lip quite a bit when I'm over there and the Jnr/Snr games are on. I must have missed that english grammar lesson where virtually the whole english language can be condensed down to 3 words ref/c***/f*** and they can be applied equally as noun, pronoun, verb & adjective! And don't get me started on the handbags at 5 paces!

Anyway, back to the main point, I can't possibly comment on last Thursday as I gave up my seat and was moved more centrally on the west lower, but in the past I have sat just down from Baldy Foghorn (Leghorn) and been on a few of his bus's and although without question he can be loud and sometimes over enthusiastic about the drama that unfolds on the pitch, he has never been aggressive!

Turnip
09-08-2010, 07:34 PM
"Working mans playground"? What a load of unadulterated keech. I think the fifties are looking for you.

This is the kind of pathetic inverted snobbery I loathe. If you actually took the time to read the posts, rather than pre-judge with this kind of arrant garbage you might actually realise people want atmosphere, want shouting, want singing. They just don't want the dull and never-ending stream of humourless abuse.

Oh, by the way, well done on the positive parenting. I'm sure that you arent giving mixed messages or double standards out at all on the language front.

Who's talking about humourless abuse, i dont abuse Hibs players but i do on occassion swear during my shouting and singing. I have many times taken issue with the increasing number of morons who seem to go mainly to hurl abuse at the team they're supposedly there to support. I take my children to the east because we all enjoy the atmosphere and banter that happens there, they've turned out all right despite the swearing they've heard thank you very much. If i were the type who didn't like it, i would go to the family section, theres no need to get personal mate, we're all entitled to an opinion.

lEXO
09-08-2010, 07:42 PM

Well said Jack.This is a point that a lot of selfish ***s are forgetting.There is a fine line, but some seem to think it is their right to do whatever thay want at ER.Well it,s not, and if more and more of our future support are reluctant to come to games the long term future of our club wont be healthy.

Twa Cairpets
09-08-2010, 08:18 PM
Who's talking about humourless abuse, i dont abuse Hibs players but i do on occassion swear during my shouting and singing. I have many times taken issue with the increasing number of morons who seem to go mainly to hurl abuse at the team they're supposedly there to support. I take my children to the east because we all enjoy the atmosphere and banter that happens there, they've turned out all right despite the swearing they've heard thank you very much. If i were the type who didn't like it, i would go to the family section, theres no need to get personal mate, we're all entitled to an opinion.

When someone come out with - and I quote: "To those poor wee souls that cannae take the banter, i ask you one question, what the **** are you doin there in the first place, its a workin mans playground and always has been, take yoursels and yer ****in nonsense away tae the ballet or some **** like that, this is Leith, this is Hibernian, and we dont need yer pish. Theres a family section in the FF, **** right off the lot o ye's, bams , and it is at least obliquely directed at one of my posts, I think I can take it somewhat personally and can reply likewise.

Its great that you do front up to the "increasing number of morons" - I'm with you 100% on that, and that's basically what my point has been from the outset. I'm repeating myself, for which apologies, but I've absolutley no quibble with shouting, standing, yelling, singing and all the rest of it. I've no particular issue with swearing either - football is a passionate game and when passions run high, that's what happens. What I have a major beef with is the incessant, turgid, pointless and absolutely humourless stupidity that dribbles ceaselessly out of perpetually angry men who think it is their inalienable right to demonstrate to the world just what a complete dickhead they are for 90 minutes.

So it looks like we agree

speedy_gonzales
09-08-2010, 08:33 PM
So it looks like we agree

Hey, less o' that keech, this thread has got plenty mileage left in it!:wink:

MJN1875
09-08-2010, 09:10 PM
:top marks Well 20/10 actually. Nothing to add. Spot on. And well done Two Carpets for banging your head against a brick wall for so long:thumbsup:

20/10 :confused:

MJN1875
09-08-2010, 09:12 PM
[QUOTE=Speedway;2539635]by 'know'?

Simple mistake in the heat of an argument, dont be smart.

09-08-2010, 10:28 PM
I think the days of the drama queen who refuses to control himself are numbered at Easter Road

The not-so-silent supporter is making a comeback and he wont be putting up with that bollox any longer.

Once the signing window closes there will be a squad of players wearing Green and White. They will be known as Hibs players.

When they are on the park they will receive our support. No-one will be swearing abuse at them for the whole game, spitting and slobbering over their fellow supporters. Childish tantrums with lots of big nasty sweary words - nae style, nae class, nae place here

If you are one of these drama queens and attention-seekers - wise up and grow a pair of balls! It's a mans game - it's no fer Jessies!!

09-08-2010, 11:00 PM
Swearing openly during a football match.... somebody call the judge. :rolleyes:

I swear freely at football games and will continue to do so.

You lot swore when I was a kid, so quit complaining about your kids hearing me swear.

Its a football game FFS. They are going to learn the "curse words" sometime down the line.

Twa Cairpets
09-08-2010, 11:06 PM

You lot swore when I was a kid, so quit complaining about your kids hearing me swear.

Its a football game FFS. They are going to learn the "curse words" sometime down the line.

Oh jeez here we go again...
IT. IS. NOT. ABOUT. SWEARING.
Gonnae read the thread before you get all angry about something that no-one is seriously suggesting.

Also, your argument that "you did it" is not really that great. It was acceptable to call black people "darkies" and asians "Pakis" when I was kid. Doesnt mean its right to do it now.

Turnip
10-08-2010, 06:33 AM
It was said with tongue placed firmly in cheek, a bit of east stand banter for the uninitiated. A sense of humour is a must for Easter Road imho, better to laugh at the clowns who occassionaly pretend to be players than wish them harm, i cant believe anyone who follows Hibs has never said o4***sake Nish at least once.

10-08-2010, 07:01 AM
It was said with tongue placed firmly in cheek, a bit of east stand banter for the uninitiated. A sense of humour is a must for Easter Road imho, better to laugh at the clowns who occassionaly pretend to be players than wish them harm, i cant believe anyone who follows Hibs has never said o4***sake Nish at least once.

I can hand-on-heart say that I've never said that before. I'd be surprised if anyone has said it, tbh.

10-08-2010, 07:09 AM

As much as I hate to admit it...

10-08-2010, 07:39 AM

It's no about you or I mate - passionate Hibbies who swear - it's about those prats that lack self control and have to be the centre of attention.

We want this small minority to screw the nut and not spoiling everyone elses fun. Not asking too much is it?

10-08-2010, 07:48 AM
It's no about you or I mate - passionate Hibbies who swear - it's about those prats that lack self control and have to be the centre of attention.

We want this small minority to screw the nut and not spoiling everyone elses fun. Not asking too much is it?

What about a dedicated area for attention-seeking, narcissistic indviduals who lack self-control? I'd pay extra to sit there...but wait...there would be nobody to annoy or show off to, and the competition from my fellow prats would be too much. :boo hoo:No, on second thought, keep us dispersed throughout the stadium where others can best 'appreciate' our sterling efforts.:wink:

hibbymac
10-08-2010, 07:51 AM

:grr: ****! I get charged 50p every time, ...... Petrie!!!!!!

10-08-2010, 07:57 AM
What about a dedicated area for attention-seeking, narcissistic indviduals who lack self-control? I'd pay extra to sit there...but wait...there would be nobody to annoy or show off to, and the competition from my fellow prats would be too much. :boo hoo:No, on second thought, keep us dispersed throughout the stadium where others can best 'appreciate' our sterling efforts.:wink:

Bob sir - you would need two areas

In the first area we could round up the few dozen having the fits. If the one or two beside me in the South on Thursday are anything to go by most are drunken, inarticulate sociopaths with no sartorial elegance and a poor body odour.

The second area would offer a select seating area high in the West Stand where you could present your one-man drama in 3 acts, building up to a crescendo of player and manager abuse by the 90th minute - ending with a highly charged scene where you commit hari kari with a silver sword.

10-08-2010, 08:00 AM
Bob sir - you would need two areas

In the first area we could round up the few dozen having the fits. If the one or two beside me in the South on Thursday are anything to go by most are drunken, inarticulate sociopaths with no sartorial elegance and a poor body odour.

The second area would offer a select seating area high in the West Stand where you could present your one-man drama in 3 acts, building up to a crescendo of player and manager abuse by the 90th minute - ending with a highly charged scene where you commit hari kari with a silver sword.

The club have relaxed the rule on weapons in the ground, fantastic. :top marks

10-08-2010, 08:10 AM

I worked in the shipyards as a boy where every second word was a swear word it was part of the culture of the place .
There were men there who used words like "Interf'ingresting" and " absof'inglutely" as normal vocabulary
However , these same guys when they were with their wives never "dared" use the F/C words - why was that ?
Lack of thought for other people/self control is the problem .
I once read that anyone who continually swears shows a lack of command of his native language ( English)
A few weeks ago was on a bus where the language on the "top deck" was dreadful and the driver called the polis .
The four guys were ejected .
If the use of BAD language in a public place , a bus, is not acceptable why then should I have to suffer some pratt continually using bad language at a football match ?

10-08-2010, 08:17 AM

It's not asking too much, however not sure how you manage it properly to avoid passionate fans and bampots not getting labelled the same??

10-08-2010, 10:44 AM

10-08-2010, 10:45 AM

10-08-2010, 11:13 AM
Efter 12 pages, ah take it its NO alright to just say:

Nobody is saying you canny swear, shout and even go "radge" sometimes
If you dae the above, just DINNY be a fanny and terrorise anyone - we ALL ken where the line is
Equally, dinny be a big racist fanny cause naebody likes that, particularly with oor AIN players

What that no be a fair compromise? As aboot 90+% of the time that's what happens anyway?

Simple?

Nah. **** that. Lets ****ing well have another ****ing 12 ****ing pages of ****ing silly debates all saying the same ****ing thing. :devil: :greengrin#

END****INGOFF

10-08-2010, 01:46 PM
Took my 7 year old to his first game tonight, but left at half time because of another fan screaming abuse during the first half. Myself and another parent asked the guy if he could tone the language down for the kids and we were met by more abuse and aggression. Then went and told one of the security folk and they just shrugged their shoulders and ignored the complaint. Just wondered what folk feel about this sort of thing; is it unreasonable to ask supporters to cut out the swearing and abuse with the younger supporters in mind or is it, as the guy tried to defend his actions, his right at a match. As for the security staff, what the hell are they there for?
Don't get me wrong I'm not expecting not to hear a bit of colourful language, but guys screaming you f*****g c**** every couple of minutes, no thanks.
Don't think I'll be taking my son back after tonights experience and given the lack of support given by other fans around us and the ground staff.

That is a shame machhibby, I have two young boys myself.

Fortunately the tide of time is slowly washing this out of our game (it was a lot worse 20 years ago).

Unfortunately it can't happen soon enough for us.

A small minority on here will seek to defend the mindless, angry and bitter. But I think the game is slowly moving toward being a better event for the whole family.

hibernator
10-08-2010, 04:59 PM

a specific section eh? I think it's a good idea, how would you prove you're worth though :hmmm: what if to qualify you had to be an asbo holder in the past, or present even better, or maybe been convicted for GBH or 3 lesser offences, if a person has served time in a young offenders deal they could get tickets free and be sent on experience days and such (after all they are used to this kind of treatment) the do gooders can pay for it! :scarf:

Turnip
10-08-2010, 06:27 PM
I can hand-on-heart say that I've never said that before. I'd be surprised if anyone has said it, tbh.

:wink: Sorry to hear about your speech impedement mate. Try these ones then, O4forfoxsake Rankin, or O'Brian, Zibi, surely a little sweary at Simon (the ball looked like it was going past the post to me ) Brown, or further in the past i could name many more as most of us could, i do agree about the angry erses though, but as i said previously i don't tolerate them, maybe if more of the support took the same approach it would help solve the problem, or we could just type our fury on here and maybe they will read this and see the error of their ways :rolleyes:

10-08-2010, 07:48 PM
The club have relaxed the rule on weapons in the ground, fantastic. :top marks

I think if you can establish that the weapons are purely for your own personal use, as in the case mentioned above, then they'll be inclined to turn a blind eye.