View Full Version : Match Updates *** Hibs vs Maribor ***

04-08-2010, 11:03 PM
Let's roll.

What's the weather like in Leith? Has the Maribor fire alarm been scheduled yet? Has John Rankin been given his restraining order from half of hibs.net?

04-08-2010, 11:05 PM
Ok, I'm back to feeling positive after last weeks disaster.
Let's get right into these bams.

5-0 - Easy!

04-08-2010, 11:07 PM
How long will it be before thread is deleted? :wink:

04-08-2010, 11:13 PM
I hear from a reliable source that the fire alarm is scheduled for 4am.....

Welcome to Embra.

Don Giovanni
05-08-2010, 07:04 AM
C'mon the Hibbies. Lets get wired right into this lot and see what they're made of...

GGTTH.

05-08-2010, 07:13 AM
C'mon the Hibbies. Lets get wired right into this lot and see what they're made of...

GGTTH.

Yes, have a dash. If we get beaten by (again) by a better footballing side, then good luck to the Slovenian chaps. But FFS, test them. Let them know they've been in a battle, no tame, cagey dull capitulation, or the knives will really come out and we'll start the season on a big downer.

05-08-2010, 07:25 AM
I hear from a reliable source that the fire alarm is scheduled for 4am.....

Welcome to Embra.

Green_one
05-08-2010, 07:26 AM
The manager, players and fans all need a performance tonight.

We at least need to go down fighting. This is not Real Madrid we are playing.

Get stuck in.

Riordan and Stokes need to do the business. It is certainly not beyond them. I fancy big Bamba for a goal. Riordan + Stokes + Bamba = EXTRA TIME

Good warning from the Celtic game though about not losing another goal. Attack but keep some cover, unless its too late to matter.

Loved to see Maribor are moaning. Good sign. Arrogant ********. Building my hate :greengrin

Lets win our first game with the new stand :pray:

Tollhouse Hibee
05-08-2010, 12:37 PM
go for goals and glory!!!!!!!

CalgaryHibs
05-08-2010, 12:47 PM
Hibs tonight welcome Maribor to Easter Road , Hibs are looking to bebound from last weeks match hope i'll bring them some luck!

(if you are going tonight please the lads a cheer for me when they run out. thanx):greengrin

Any team news ??

Whats the weather like today in Edinburgh ??

:hnet::flag:

05-08-2010, 12:49 PM
Hibs tonight welcome Maribor to Easter Road , Hibs are looking to bebound from last weeks match hope i'll bring them some luck!

(if you are going tonight please the lads a cheer for me when they run out. thanx):greengrin

Any team news ??

Whats the weather like today in Edinburgh ??

:hnet::flag:

Welcome back Calgary. :thumbsup:

I take it this is the official match update thread. :greengrin

cwilliamson85
05-08-2010, 12:49 PM
:singing: MON THE CABBAGE

CalgaryHibs
05-08-2010, 12:52 PM
I guess:greengrin

i never looked to see there was another one started.

Nice to back :greengrin

MON THE HI-BEES!!

05-08-2010, 12:55 PM
I guess:greengrin

i never looked to see there was another one started.

Nice to back :greengrin

MON THE HI-BEES!!

In Calgary we trust :notworthy:

cwilliamson85
05-08-2010, 12:55 PM
In Calgary we trust :notworthy:

05-08-2010, 01:01 PM
Just started raining, looking dull, generally great conditions to wind up some cheeky, wideo, overrated and full of self importance Slovenians.

Technically and most other ways are better than us. That should rule us oot. IF the players, management and such like have read what they've said and GIVE A ****, we should expect some baws. IF we get beaten but show some baws (metaphorically as oppose to mass of being lifted on the pitch fi the polis), we could upset the bams.

MON THE HIBS

ENDOF :thumbsup:

05-08-2010, 01:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKIYL1B42uY

Rasta_Hibs
05-08-2010, 01:29 PM
OK im bursting with excitement!! 3-0 down but **** it!!!

C'mon the Hibeees, get into these arrogent tossers fae Slovenia!!!

05-08-2010, 01:29 PM

Cheers for that. Just learnt the moves although have to admit I fell over the coffee table once and the cat twice.

However I'm ready for tonight. BRING IT ON.

05-08-2010, 01:32 PM
Guys ..way too early for the update thread ..you know its gonna be well full of **** the time the game comes round ..someone please feel free to start another around 6.30pm...for the benefit of Calgary hibs ..6.00pm ...:wink:

HibsMax
05-08-2010, 01:34 PM
Two questions.
1. Is Oprah actually going to be there?
2. Does everyone plan on dancing like this during the game?

Cell phone video replies only please. :D

05-08-2010, 01:49 PM
Loving it. Only 800 tickets left, so long as there's one when I arrive. MON THE HIBEES!

05-08-2010, 04:02 PM
BBC are saying that Brown's not even quoted as being in the squad tonight. That's a surprise.

05-08-2010, 04:05 PM
It's 5:05pm here in Gilmerton, Edinburgh (About 10 mins by car to Easter Road) and it's decently hot (Not roasting but warmish ??).

05-08-2010, 04:07 PM
BBC are saying that Brown's not even quoted as being in the squad tonight. That's a surprise.

Brown may aswell leave if he isnt going to get a game. Total joke that we signed him and are wasting a wage on him. If Smith starts tonight then theres some seriously wrong.

Aside from that, 'mon the Hibees.

team(should be)

Brown
Hart Stephens Bamba Stevenson
Wotherspoon De Graaf Murray Galbraith
Stokes Riordan

Subs(is it only 5 ?)
Miller
Nish
Stack
Rankin
Hogg

Murray captain like the good old days.

05-08-2010, 04:07 PM
The crap weather never bothered them last week!

05-08-2010, 04:17 PM
Raining now dunno if that suits us or not

05-08-2010, 04:18 PM
Raining now dunno if that suits us or not

any news on the teams:confused:

05-08-2010, 04:19 PM
Brown may aswell leave if he isnt going to get a game. Total joke that we signed him and are wasting a wage on him. If Smith starts tonight then theres some seriously wrong.

team(should be)

Brown
Stokes Riordan

Subs(is it only 5 ?)
Miller
Nish
Stack
Rankin
Hogg

Think I'd replace Stevenson with Hanlon, and Murray with Miller.
Unfortunately though, I can see Yogi starting with the terrible trio...

05-08-2010, 04:24 PM
any news on the teams:confused:

The weather update was for calgaryhibs
Sorry

Spudster
05-08-2010, 04:30 PM

***** song with the most static crowd I've ever seen at a concert (other than the employed dancers at the front).

Edit - managed to get past the 1st 30secs, that must have taken some organising :rolleyes:

Wull
05-08-2010, 04:44 PM
greetings form SA what time is KOff 19:30 or 19:45

Oh ay, "Cummon the Hibees":greengrin

PS pretty cool (as in cold) here thi nite

Supraninja
05-08-2010, 04:58 PM
Give goal from Deek free kick pleez.

MountcastleHibs
05-08-2010, 05:08 PM
That's me leaving for the boozer now.... Mon the Hibeees :thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-08-2010, 05:21 PM
Just getting out of my bed now (it's only 9.20am here just now) :greengrin

C'mon the Hibs. I know you can do it :flag:

norhfc
05-08-2010, 05:29 PM
Greetings from Norway.
got my carry oot and already for the main event......mon the Hibees !!

Hibee_Lisa
05-08-2010, 05:30 PM
About to head soon, MON THE HIBS:thumbsup:

05-08-2010, 05:31 PM
Stream's up - picture's perfect, weather looks fine, pitch terrific - c'mon the Hibs! Remember Napoli!:thumbsup:

mmmmhibby
05-08-2010, 05:48 PM

team(should be)

Brown
Stokes Riordan

Subs(is it only 5 ?)
Miller
Nish
Stack
Rankin
Hogg

rankin on the bench!!! get him in the stand!!!

05-08-2010, 05:58 PM
45 mins to KO and no team news FFS, WTF!!!!

Bob Box Fish
05-08-2010, 06:03 PM
Is the game on the radio?

David_D
05-08-2010, 06:05 PM
game is only on bbc scotland online

Bob Box Fish
05-08-2010, 06:06 PM
game is only on bbc scotland online

Cant find the link?

05-08-2010, 06:07 PM
Hopefully 2 up front any more might be to risky, Deeks n Stokes for me.

(((Fergus)))
05-08-2010, 06:08 PM
Cant find the link?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359425.stm

05-08-2010, 06:10 PM
Just took my seat, the new stand, and the whole stadium look stunning :thumbsup:

Bob Box Fish
05-08-2010, 06:11 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359425.stm

cheers

05-08-2010, 06:12 PM
The segregation area is ridiculous w and a half setions - UEFA wasting rods revenue

05-08-2010, 06:13 PM
Any team news??

Just about to get in

05-08-2010, 06:15 PM
Just took my seat, the new stand, and the whole stadium look stunning :thumbsup:

So it doesn't look like a flat-pack, Ikea, sticklebrick arena then?:confused::wink:

05-08-2010, 06:16 PM
The segregation area is ridiculous w and a half setions - UEFA wasting rods revenue

Just noticed that, it is pretty big. Not sure what trouble 4 Maribor fans will cause :)

JoeT
05-08-2010, 06:20 PM
Smith, Bamba, Deeks and Stokes in

smith
bamba
hart
hogg
murray
mcbride
miller
de graff
riordan
stokes
nish

Smith

Murray
Bamba
Hart
Hogg

Miller
De Graff
Mcbride
Riordan

Stokes
Nish

05-08-2010, 06:21 PM
I have not been on Hibs.net, BBC or anything for a week due to being on holiday so can someone tell me, is the East Stand opening tonight or against the Huns?

Mon the Hibs from Malta :thumbsup: Anyone know anywhere in Malta that is showing the game, doubt it but there is a few more Hibees out here, Edinburgh Hibs that is, saw my first Malta Hibs fan today in Valletta.

Hal Jordan
"One Step Beyond" Quality.

Followed by The Pistols. This is gonnę be ****ING BRILLIANT.

smith
bamba
hart
hogg
murray
mcbride
miller
de graff
riordan
stokes
nish

Christ! No Rankin!!!!

4-3-3!

Prepare to be over-run for the umpteenth time:grr:

05-08-2010, 06:22 PM
Christ! No Rankin!!!!

4-3-3!

Prepare to be over-run for the umpteenth time:grr:

I think Deeks might be part of a 4 in middle, you never know.

05-08-2010, 06:24 PM
I think Deeks might be part of a 4 in middle, you never know.

Of course! My bad. :wink:

Just to report I am that glad Rankin is not starting I am off to crack one off on the scotrail train I'm currently on. Mon the hibees!

Nice to see we have our 3 strikers playing, shame we need to though, but i am going for 5-0. Riordan, Riordan, Bamba, Stokes, Riordan :greengrin

05-08-2010, 06:26 PM
think they will hit us on the counter attak tonite, not got much hope, and im a happy clapper!:greengrin

05-08-2010, 06:27 PM
Can we no get Brian Rice in the midfield, his passes are pinpoint

Bohemian_Hibee
05-08-2010, 06:32 PM
I'm a pessimist by nature. My motto is always expect the worst so you won't be dissappointed, so with that in mind, I'm going for 2-1 to Maribor :hide:

05-08-2010, 06:38 PM
I have not been on Hibs.net, BBC or anything for a week due to being on holiday so can someone tell me, is the East Stand opening tonight or against the Huns?

Anyone, just read it is sold out so i take it that it is with the 3 stands only?

05-08-2010, 06:39 PM
Anyone, just read it is sold out so i take it that it is with the 3 stands only?
Just the three stands tonight. The East is bedecked with large Hibs flags.

05-08-2010, 06:39 PM

3 stands only - 20 tickets left!

05-08-2010, 06:40 PM
Someone get images of the East with flags please. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-08-2010, 06:43 PM
I'm a pessimist by nature. My motto is always expect the worst so you won't be dissappointed, so with that in mind, I'm going for 2-1 to Maribor :hide:

no one cares what anyone thinks just do it hibs:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

05-08-2010, 06:44 PM
Cheers guys, off to see a local fireworks display in Malta so when i come back i expect a 5-0 win. Hope i don't get back and become suddenly depressed.

7Hero
05-08-2010, 06:44 PM
ispy link anyone please ?

05-08-2010, 06:45 PM
ispy link anyone please ?

http://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php

05-08-2010, 06:46 PM
7:45 your time so players should be coming out now, mon Hibs :notworthy:

05-08-2010, 06:46 PM
:singing: gie the baw tae reilly

05-08-2010, 06:47 PM
Lively start, Maribor look maybe nervy, if we get 1 early we have a shout here.

05-08-2010, 06:49 PM
Total chaos over 2000 people outside at kick off

05-08-2010, 06:50 PM
1.O motherwell

05-08-2010, 06:50 PM
http://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php

D man, Ispy is not automatically refreshing for me. Doing something wrong?

05-08-2010, 06:51 PM
Good for the Mothers, would be good to see them through.

05-08-2010, 06:52 PM
D man, Ispy is not automatically refreshing for me. Doing something wrong?

What browser you using G? IE has been causing me problems lately - its workin fine with Firefox.

05-08-2010, 06:54 PM
Good first 10 from Hibs, unsure as to how long we can keep up this tempo, a goal is needed when you are playing like this.

05-08-2010, 06:55 PM
The link won't play on my blackberry so can ppl keep the updates coming? Am havibg to listen to the motherwell game for info lol

vahibbie
05-08-2010, 06:57 PM
Good first 10 from Hibs, unsure as to how long we can keep up this tempo, a goal is needed when you are playing like this.

needs to be for 90 minutes....mibbes 120.

close one there. MON HIBS:thumbsup:

Grateful for updates too. Only got an iPad and iPhone and as they don't do flash, I'm snookered for commentary for the game :o(

We need to score soon. It's all good saying good start, played well first half etc but if it is still level by then....game over!

05-08-2010, 06:58 PM
We've had a shot! Hallelujah!

De Graaf from just outside the box, wide.

05-08-2010, 06:58 PM
2.O motherwell if anyone cares

05-08-2010, 06:59 PM
How are the fans taking to sol?

05-08-2010, 07:01 PM
De Graff playing very well

05-08-2010, 07:01 PM
3 stands only - 20 tickets left!

3 full sections empty in the lower south, do we have the same PR guy that hertz have

i wish this picture would stop freezing :grr: we got a better picture in slovenia jeeezo :bitchy:

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:02 PM
2.O motherwell if anyone cares

That's how to do it!

vahibbie
05-08-2010, 07:02 PM
Getting closer:agree:

These guys could crumble if we score soon.

Spudster
05-08-2010, 07:03 PM
BBC showing 68% possession to Maribor?! That right?:bitchy:

Ah well.

Let's roll.

What's the weather like in Leith? Has the Maribor fire alarm been scheduled yet? Has John Rankin been given his restraining order from half of hibs.net?

hibs out

05-08-2010, 07:04 PM
0-1

thats all folks

1-0 Maribor:grr:

TheEastTerrace
And it's good night from us

vahibbie
OH FFS......yir ******in jokin.

Another set piece:grr::grr::grr:

Hibby 2005
Nice one Yogi.

05-08-2010, 07:05 PM

ma pals saying people leaving???:confused:

magnificent_seven
Codswollop. It's going to be a long season.

JoeTortolanoFanClub

I wouldn't know. Picture dropped out. Not good enough Hibs. On or off the field. Sort it out Petrie ! :grr:

05-08-2010, 07:06 PM
Nice one Yogi.

game over. all we have to show for the last year gone. nice one.

I wouldn't know. Picture dropped out. Not good enough Hibs. On or off the field. Sort it out Petrie ! :grr:

:confused::confused::confused:

We should not be losing to this mob at home.

MontrealHibs
05-08-2010, 07:07 PM
Oh dear...

Wull
Ah wiz jist gonna complain aboot my HI tv no wurkin, but ah'll no bother:grr:

Hibby 2005

Blew it 1st game.

05-08-2010, 07:08 PM
Didnt even know they scored due to the ***** hibs tv coverage :grr::grr: ****ing raging

05-08-2010, 07:08 PM
This could get embarrassing.

05-08-2010, 07:09 PM
So much for "got to be a hibee"

05-08-2010, 07:09 PM
bbc scotland link not working for me at all and my pc is running slower that colon nish .....mind you probally not a bad thing

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:10 PM
It's all gone quiet.

That's how to do it!

Paw Broon is doing a good job at Motherwell. :agree:

A poor goal to lose.

05-08-2010, 07:11 PM
Lets be honest - Eddie Turnbull's right.

He ain't going to turn this or Hibs around, so - pains me to say it but - if they get another 2 or 3 it will hasten his departure, cos it can't come soon enough.

Meanwhile - Motherwell 2 up - ****** ground, ****** squad, ****** pitch, nae training centre and what.... a decent old hand, no frills, management team.

End of.

the_ginger_hibee
05-08-2010, 07:11 PM
10 frantic first minutes then its business as usual from Hibs.

bob12345
05-08-2010, 07:12 PM
If it stays how it is it will be one of Marlbor's biggest ever European wins and they have played some absolutely shocking sides.

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:12 PM
im not sure what is sadder, the complete ineptitude of this football club or the fact we all still bloody support them.....

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:13 PM
Petrie's obviously not giving Yogi any more money to spend as he's seen the writing on the wall.

Lets be honest - Eddie Turnbull's right.

He ain't going to turn this or Hibs around, so - pains me to say it but - if they get another 2 or 3 it will hasten his departure, cos it can't come soon enough.

Meanwhile - Motherwell 2 up - ****** ground, ****** squad, ****** pitch, nae training centre and what.... a decent old hand, no frills, management team.

End of.

I'm with you.

I feel that Hibs deserve a better manager.

Anyone want a game of Call of Duty?

euro Hibby
05-08-2010, 07:14 PM
case of grass greener on the other side. Said last year that Yogi was limited but a lucky last game win against Dun utd just painted over the cracks. Having said that just 2 additions to the squad not enough. Give him to Christmas.........

Hanlon is warming up...

Picture keeps freezing, the commentary is ludicrously biased, and Hibs are never gonna score 5 without reply.

What a pile of ****.

Maribor will be on easy street now. Massive advantage and the home crowd silenced with no need whatsoever to attack. Motherwell and Paw Broon showing how to do it.

05-08-2010, 07:15 PM
Petrie's obviously not giving Yogi any more money to spend as he's seen the writing on the wall.

Correct.

Worked with Collins and Mixu.

Not a case of if but when now.

Northfield Hibby
I'm with you.

I feel that Hibs deserve a better manager.

Ok, who would you go for then?

Yip, I'm, starting to think Hughes will get the same treatment Mixu and Collins got, ie , "no money left" as a way of maybe pushing him out the door. The new manager will get some, just depends whether he arrives in time to spend it before 31st August.

When was the last time we had a top manager?

Tony was unknown as a manager when we signed him so he does not count.

Richard Scott
05-08-2010, 07:16 PM
Losing the first leg 3-0 was unacceptable. But losing the second leg in front of our own support is down right ridiculous and I'd like to see some ***** kicked in the morning :/

Get Rankin on:rolleyes:

Losing the first leg 3-0 was unacceptable. But losing the second leg in front of our own support is down right ridiculous and I'd like to see some ***** kicked in the morning :/

Lets start with the guy 'in charge' shall we?

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:17 PM
When was the last time we had a top manager?

Tony was unknown as a manager when we signed him so he does not count.

i liked collins, he won us something....

Northfield Hibby
05-08-2010, 07:17 PM

Ah ken, cause were a top european side eh!:yawn:

05-08-2010, 07:18 PM
in a nutshell. This team has been steeped in this malaise since February. This is no knee-jerk reaction. Yogi seems utterly unable to turn this round, and the problems have remained more or less constant. I await the post-match interview with my usual, curious dose of schadenfraude. Wonder what total patronising pish we'll get treated to this time?!

An experienced manager rather than a rookie, McParland ex-Notts County for example.

Yogi is a balloon, what's the use of a "footballing philosophy" if you don't understand how to put it into practice yourself.

euro Hibby
bbc says 8 shots by them to our 4..............

05-08-2010, 07:19 PM
They should've scored again there.

Hibby 2005
No width or speed, Riordan looking lost, Smith in goal, Hogg still getting a game, same old.

Yeah but he was unknown as a manager too. When was the last time we signed a manager who was a proven spl manager?

Northfield Hibby
i liked collins, he won us something....

Wi Mowbray's team!!!

05-08-2010, 07:20 PM
Bobby Williamson?

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:20 PM
Wi Mowbray's team!!!

which mowbray won nothing with

05-08-2010, 07:21 PM
Bobby williamson

alanhall69
give the job to Michael O'Neill :notworthy:

Yeah but he was unknown as a manager too. When was the last time we signed a manager who was a proven spl manager?

Fat Boaby! :wink:

McLeish came with a reputation as a bright young manager.

Would Derek Innes come to ER? Doubt it.

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:22 PM
i akways liked wee craig brown give him the job.

Loving the commentators optimism.

Richard Scott
Why the board agreed to pump millions into a new stand, and completely ignore the fact that the squad we have is abysmal, is completely beyond me. Let's face facts, a new
stand could've waited, it's not a priority and it most definitely isn't needed at this moment in time. The squad however NEEDS attention, and lots of it.

05-08-2010, 07:23 PM
I guess so he did do no bad wi killie but I still not think he was a big manager in a sence o he can turn us around

05-08-2010, 07:23 PM

I'm not sure mate, but I always believed that Craig Brown would be able to make the good use of Hibs training facilities and would bring good man management into the bargain.

I just feel his proffesionalism would suit our set up.

Hibs have a top class stadium, the training facility of a club four times our size, a strong balance sheet and shrewd staff, but a manager who is simply not up to such standards.

We need to look at our set up and ask 'can we do better'? I've been watching hibs for 25 years and I really do think we are in a good position to do something now, but not with Yogi at the helm.

Niffy
05-08-2010, 07:24 PM
I'm not sure mate, but I always believed that Craig Brown would be able to make the good use of Hibs training facilities and would bring good man management into the bargain.

Hibs have a top class stadium, the training facility of a club four times our size, a strong balance sheet and shrewd staff, but a manager who is simply not up to such standards.

We need to look at our set up and ask 'can we do better'? I've been watching hibs for 25 years and I really do think we are in a good position to do something now, but not with Yogi at the helm.

Spot on

This is mince

No width or speed, Riordan looking lost, Smith in goal, Hogg still getting a game, same old.

No Rankin though?

(((Fergus)))
i akways liked wee craig brown give him the job.

1) Craig Brown
2) Derek McInnes
3) Billy Reid

There's three SPL managers who would step up to Hibs.

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:25 PM

id agree with that... some of the signings and lack of signings have just been ludicrous as for the tactics its a complete joke...

05-08-2010, 07:25 PM
HFC are fit-for-purpose and will most likely be put up for sale...the team is gutless and *****, no even mediocre p!sh just utter spineless keek!

(((Fergus)))
05-08-2010, 07:26 PM

Brown would be a very safe pair of hands. He's thorough in his preparation and NOT a slaver

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:26 PM
7 years with Falkirk and never acheived top 6.

05-08-2010, 07:27 PM
"I have a feeling a comeback is round the corner???" WTF theres optimism and theres :bitchy:

euro Hibby
no money never relegated !

TheEastTerrace

Says it all. He's fckin mince and tactically way out of his depth.

norhfc
I have a feeling a comeback is just around the corner.....who is this guy? :bitchy:

05-08-2010, 07:28 PM
HFC are fit-for-purpose and will most likely be put up for sale...the team is gutless and *****, no even mediocre p!sh just utter spineless keek!

And yet - the good thing is - it wouldn't take millions or even hundreds of thousands to fix...

For all Rod's positive points picking managers isn't one of them, in fact he's a total cheapskate; buy cheap pay twice as they say...

(((Fergus)))
Don't we look good in our new purple away kit? :3wise smi

WarringtonHibee
As someone with 20Mb broadband I expect a picture that's better than 1 frame per minute, this is gash. :bitchy:

Richard Scott
Ah ken, cause were a top european side eh!:yawn:

Compared to Maribor, yes!

05-08-2010, 07:29 PM
"I have a feeling a comeback is round the corner???" WTF theres optimism and theres :bitchy:

Honestly i would love a glass of whatever he is drinking !!!!

How many times has he said something special is round the corner???????

Eh sorry no, its not going to happen.

BTW....Smith is rank !!!!!!

no money never relegated !

Aye- good point. We hired a manager cos he managed to avoid getting Falkirk relegated. Rod's a genius...

xyz23jc
Loving the commentators optimism.

F****** Jinx! :grr::bitchy:

:agree: Absolute drivel.

Would he leave to come to hibs tho? We are a team that does turn on managers quickly and utd are a better team than us.

Latapy1911
05-08-2010, 07:31 PM
Smith is such a ***** keeper

need to get rid of him asap

05-08-2010, 07:32 PM
F****** Jinx! :grr::bitchy:
I think I might just listen to the audio with the sound turned off for the second half

Hibby 2005
Pure *****, have we had a shot on target?

Northfield Hibby

Fair enough, but lets be honest, when the job was up for grabs, a bet the majority of fans would have picked Yogi over Brown!!

Whose to say that Brown would take the job and do a better job than Yogi?

Your last para sums up Hibs for me. I've been watching Hibs for over 40 years and in that time I think I've seen a handful of really good Hibs sides. Yogi isn't the first and wont be the last manager that Hibs fans want rid off. Hibs fans are like any other fans in that respect, but I've felt over the last couple of years, the expectation of our fans is ridiculous. We've got the training ground, stadium and debt under control, but that doesn't mean we all of a sudden become the 3rd force in Scotland!!! For me, and I expect stick for it, we should be sticking by Yogi, and the board have to back him this season or they are as culpable as Yogi and the players. A mean we lose a goal to Maribor and someone says, 'well done Yogi'. Come on eh, the players can't escape criticism and it can't all be labelled at Yogi!

Bob Box Fish
05-08-2010, 07:33 PM
Half time, a chance for Yogi to get his 'boys to put on their boiler suits' and come out fighting . . . . .

Wull
05-08-2010, 07:33 PM
cummon in fur half time and a worder team talk fi th gaffer and the games as good as won n:wink:o!

05-08-2010, 07:34 PM
Fat Boaby! :wink:

McLeish came with a reputation as a bright young manager.

Would Derek Innes come to ER? Doubt it.

If you mean McInnes from St Johnstone, then yes, he would come to ER, in a shot.

paul_hfc3
Diny start Yogi must go threads and posts ffs Marbior are a good side if people had watched the away game they were class. We are an average SPL side and got beat in a tournament we shouldn't have got in. Still time for Yogi to get 1 or 2 players in

Hope we're kicking doon the slope the 2nd half - are we?

Niffy
A goal every 9 minutes in the 2nd half will do it.

Easy.

Northfield Hibby
05-08-2010, 07:35 PM
Compared to Maribor, yes!

Are we?

Lets give them credit, they are better than us!

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:36 PM
Half time, a chance for Yogi to get his 'boys to put on their boiler suits' and come out fighting . . . . .

...and give it a right good go!

05-08-2010, 07:37 PM
I think paw broon at this stage of his career would prefer the job at motherwell, but then again maybe he would be tempted by one more challenge before retirement?

With the situation Hibs are in now, stadium, training facilities, bank sheet, we are in the position to push ahead of the spl outside the old firm.

I fear we will return to the days that making the top six (finishing 6th) is spun by the club as some sort of success come the end of the season

My Half Time view which I am sure you are all waiting on :greengrin

I think we have played ok, the 3-0 scoreline must have been in the head of players and that for me has dulled them a bit. If it had not been such a poor score in 1st leg I think we would have been playing with more vigour.

A simple goal to lose and I saw a few more communication issues with keeper and defence, De graff might be a player for us seems to be able to pass further than 20yds.

the best we can get is to try and get the win on the night that is what they should be trying to go for so at least we know we can win against this team. Losing a goal from a set piece is hard to take and it really eneded the contest. I want to see if they can play some football and go for a few goals here.

We have played better than most of last season had several really good chances and are still down to a set play

Northfield Hibby
05-08-2010, 07:38 PM
If you mean McInnes from St Johnstone, then yes, he would come to ER, in a shot.

Aye right, give him half a season and the usual suspects will be on his back!

Whose to say he'll do a job for us. What if he ends up like Yogi, who would we go for then?

05-08-2010, 07:38 PM

I'm definitely not a Hughes fan, but that is hardly a crime - just getting into and staying in the SPL is a fairly good achievement.

What gets me is that there were loads of better managers available - I'd have taken at least half of the other SPL managers over him, and there's plenty others in England and abroad I'd have considered.

Petrie just wanted to please the fans with a "Hibby", but he should have put other criteria ahead of being an ex-player (and quite a poor one at that).

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:39 PM
My Half Time view which I am sure you are all waiting on :greengrin

I think we have played ok, the 3-0 scoreline must have been in the head of players and that for me has dulled them a bit. If it had not been such a poor score in 1st leg I think we would have been playing with more vigour.

A simple goal to lose and I saw a few more communication issues with keeper and defence, De graff might be a player for us seems to be able to pass further than 20yds.

the best we can get is to try and get the win on the night that is what they should be trying to go for so at least we know we can win against this team. Losing a goal from a set piece is hard to take and it really eneded the contest. I want to see if they can play some football and go for a few goals here.

thanks carlsberg as i am a) oversees and b) a mac user i only have your post to see hiw the game is going

05-08-2010, 07:39 PM

Yes, that old gambit.

I don't know if the "roll up the sleeves" (presumably once the boiler suits are on?) banter is designed to impress the fans, or if this genuinely is the great tactical plan.

I worry it's the latter - no wonder just about every club we play has us worked out.

05-08-2010, 07:41 PM
Also, how come no half time patter from Hibs TV?

Sorry to say, but the quality is just dreadful. £6 is robbery for this.

05-08-2010, 07:41 PM
Fair enough, but lets be honest, when the job was up for grabs, a bet the majority of fans would have picked Yogi over Brown!!

Your last para sums up Hibs for me. I've been watching Hibs for over 40 years and in that time I think I've seen a handful of really good Hibs sides. Yogi isn't the first and wont be the last manager that Hibs fans want rid off. Hibs fans are like any other fans in that respect, but I've felt over the last couple of years, the expectation of our fans is ridiculous. We've got the training ground, stadium and debt under control, but that doesn't mean we all of a sudden become the 3rd force in Scotland!!! For me, and I expect stick for it, we should be sticking by Yogi, and the board have to back him this season or they are as culpable as Yogi and the players. A mean we lose a goal to Maribor and someone says, 'well done Yogi'. Come on eh, the players can't escape criticism and it can't all be labelled at Yogi!

As some on here will tell you, I've never been the most optimistic of Hibbies and TBH I see where you're coming from with some of that, but for the first time in a long time, I can't think of any good reason why we should not be competing in the top 3.

There isn't a club outside the OF with a set up that is a patch on ours.

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:42 PM
I'm definitely not a Hughes fan, but that is hardly a crime - just getting into and staying in the SPL is a fairly good achievement.

What gets me is that there were loads of better managers available - I'd have taken at least half of the other SPL managers over him, and there's plenty others in England and abroad I'd have considered.

Petrie just wanted to please the fans with a "Hibby", but he should have put other criteria ahead of being an ex-player (and quite a poor one at that).

Petrie's in a class of his own when it comes to player sales. Mowbray aside, the same cannot be said for his ability to broker a good deal when it comes to Managers.

Im nae big fan of Hughes...my last posts prove that.

But, fair is ****in fair. We were setup right, we chased every ball, we were playing well, hungry, fired up - everyone in position. Bottom line' we got kicked in the baws where it hurts, AGAINST teh run of play.

Save for that ****ing goal, we've done little wrong.

The trouble and damage was done first leg. Now, we're ****ed unless we bury 5 and that wont happen I do not think. However, I take the positives that Yogi CAN do the right thing when he tries; IF we'd been setup like this from the off in Maribo, these dafties would have had a much harder time of it, better than us or NOT !

Celtic and Rangers are "better" than us (and Maribo) yet we turned both those showers of tossers over.

Anyway, Im off for mair beer and to pray to the God of miracles, goals and ****ing mair miracles.

ENDOF

alanhall69
i just hope deek & stokes dont leave after this ...:confused:

05-08-2010, 07:43 PM
I think this is our comeuppance for mocking the ****bos when they were getting humped by Zagreb last year.
This is an embarrassing score though. I mean, Zagreb were a fairly competent side, compared to this mob who we should be humping.

05-08-2010, 07:44 PM
Keep plating like this we can keep that flags in the East

05-08-2010, 07:44 PM
i just hope deek & stokes dont leave after this ...:confused:

It might be hard to attract any decent new players now that we don't have Europe as a bonus.

05-08-2010, 07:45 PM
I think this is our comeuppance for mocking the ****bos when they were getting humped by Zagreb last year.
This is an embarrassing score though. I mean, Zagreb were a fairly competent side, compared to this mob who we should be humping.

Why should we be humping them?

paul_hfc3

How should we be humping them? You never seen them play :grr:

Wull

Ah'll second that:grr:

05-08-2010, 07:46 PM
Aye right, give him half a season and the usual suspects will be on his back!

Whose to say he'll do a job for us. What if he ends up like Yogi, who would we go for then?

what if anyone we got ended up like Yogi...then what would we do? What if McInnes took us on a 15 game unbeaten run, is he then the messiah?

05-08-2010, 07:46 PM
Im nae big fan of Hughes...my last posts prove that.

But, fair is ****in fair. We were setup right, we chased every ball, we were playing well, hungry, fired up - everyone in position. Bottom line' we got kicked in the baws where it hurts, AGAINST teh run of play.

Save for that ****ing goal, we've done little wrong.

The trouble and damage was done first leg. Now, we're ****ed unless we bury 5 and that wont happen I do not think. However, I take the positives that Yogi CAN do the right thing when he tries; IF we'd been setup like this from the off in Maribo, these dafties would have had a much harder time of it, better than us or NOT !

Celtic and Rangers are "better" than us (and Maribo) yet we turned both those showers of tossers over.

Anyway, Im off for mair beer and to pray to the God of miracles, goals and ****ing mair miracles.

ENDOF

Spot on, I totally blame Hughes for the 1st leg it was wrong for me and has cost us dear. tonight he set up IMO correctly and has been let down by somebody not marking a simple corner, whoever that was should have a swift boot in the balls.

05-08-2010, 07:48 PM
How should we be humping them? You never seen them play :grr:
Yes, I've seen them play, and they're a pretty average side.

We're a bigger club than them, and that's why we should be humping them...

05-08-2010, 07:48 PM
Bamba prob

jane_says
05-08-2010, 07:50 PM

and last week as well, hibs tv should have a word

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:51 PM
Nice use of subs at HT.

7Hero
05-08-2010, 07:51 PM

sound like a jambo mate

size means nothing

05-08-2010, 07:53 PM
Yes, I've seen them play, and they're a pretty average side.

How ever much I would love us to be more, at the moment we are pretty average..Hopefully things will kick on once we get into the season but still disagree we should be humping them..

On a side note Ive decided against my better judgement to listen to the commentary again.."Biggest comeback since Istanbul"..They boy is just doing himself no favours..

Wull
05-08-2010, 07:53 PM
english commentator this could be biggest comback in european history, goin yursel my man:thumbsup:

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:54 PM
What is that English sounding guy from HI on?

05-08-2010, 07:54 PM
sound like a jambo mate

size means nothing

And how exactly does the size and stature of our club mean 'nothing'?
We SHOULD Be beating a team like Maribor, no doubt about it.

They don't look particularly good, and I'd say we have a better squad than them. We pretty much handed the win to them in Maribor.

1-1. Only another 4 to go.:thumbsup:

05-08-2010, 07:55 PM
Stokes defelection 1-1

Come on!

magnificent_seven
Yass! Just need the 4 now!

and last week as well, hibs tv should have a word

I'm going to be having a word with them.

Anyhow, hurray! we've scored.

1-1 Stokes!

Maybe the English fella is right???? And maybe a second goal will get rid of the flat feeling in the ground :greengrin

Hibby 2005
We'll win 2-1, just like Celtic, freaky.

05-08-2010, 07:56 PM
The unwavering optimism of Liam MacLeod on Sportsound is priceless! :tee hee:

Wull
cummon you Hibees (in my best english):thumbsup:

Niffy
Ahead of schedule... it was only supposed to be every 9 minutes for a goal.

7Hero
And how exactly does the size and stature of our club mean 'nothing'?
We SHOULD Be beating a team like Maribor, no doubt about it.

They don't look particularly good, and I'd say we have a better squad than them. We pretty much handed the win to them in Maribor.

1-1. Only another 4 to go.:thumbsup:

there 4 goals better than us , stature and size mean nothing..

SalfordHibs
05-08-2010, 07:57 PM

Sorry mate but Hughes was never my first choice tbh, i was like others prepared for him to prove us wrong, Sorry but Hughes is not the man to take us forward.

05-08-2010, 07:57 PM
there 4 goals better than us , stature and size mean nothing..

And before the game, did you see Maribor as a team that we should be expecting to beat?

I certainly did...

jane_says
05-08-2010, 07:58 PM
I'm going to be having a word with them.

Anyhow, hurray! we've scored.

i did have last week and i got absolutely nothing back. poor show.
anyway come on hibs!

Spot on, I totally blame Hughes for the 1st leg it was wrong for me and has cost us dear. tonight he set up IMO correctly and has been let down by somebody not marking a simple corner, whoever that was should have a swift boot in the balls.

The happy clappers will love readings this :greengrin

Your point in blaming Yogi for the 1st leg is spot on

magnificent_seven
Nish missing a sitter? Doesn't sound like him!:greengrin

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 07:59 PM
Is Yogi animated yet?

(((Fergus)))
05-08-2010, 08:01 PM
Is Yogi animated yet?

not exactly - he's a muppet

05-08-2010, 08:02 PM
Is Yogi animated yet?

he is as a bear :wink:

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 08:03 PM
Throwing on subs?

05-08-2010, 08:04 PM
Lmao

05-08-2010, 08:06 PM
penalty maribor

05-08-2010, 08:07 PM
We're gonna win 6-2. :notworthy:

Pen to Maribor

Penalty........................aaaaaaaaand we're..............out.

2-1

05-08-2010, 08:08 PM
1-2 oh dear

05-08-2010, 08:08 PM
2-1

1-2

Hibby 2005
05-08-2010, 08:09 PM
I got the score the wrong way round!

Richard Scott
Embarassing.

Wull
some fans leavin already, that should start a good thread:wink:

Eire hibs
05-08-2010, 08:10 PM
That English dude on the Hibs TV commentary has to be the most positive guy i've ever heard.

PhoenixHibee
So how did the penalty occur?

Murray & Hart off Galbraith & Spoony on