View Full Version : Cumbria Police

01-08-2010, 06:52 PM
Having tasted English style treatment of away supporters today I’m grateful that we don’t have to put up with that for every away game. There is not an away game in Scotland where you are met off the train, searched, told where you can drink, then escorted to the game. Then came the after-match antics, with Hibs fans being escorted aggressively to the town centre, before forced into the station regardless of whether they were travelling home by train, and threatened with arrest if making any protest, etc.

01-08-2010, 06:58 PM
Having tasted English style treatment of away supporters today I’m grateful that we don’t have to put up with that for every away game. There is not an away game in Scotland where you are met off the train, searched, told where you can drink, then escorted to the game. Then came the after-match antics, with Hibs fans being escorted aggressively to the town centre, before forced into the station regardless of whether they were travelling home by train, and threatened with arrest if making any protest, etc.
8 wagons were following us from The Griffin to Brunton Park, along with what seemed like hundreds of polis. Filmed all the way too.

01-08-2010, 06:58 PM
I arrived at the ground 10 mins before KO and I couldn't believe the number of Police around. I travelled by car and didn't see many until I hit the Stadium. We were held up after the game, but to be fair most of the Police were good natured and were having a bit of banter. One Hibs fan asked why so many Police and was told that intelligence told them that some violence was planned.
Like the OP there were far more Police today than at a Hibs v Hearts/Old Firm game.

01-08-2010, 07:01 PM
Notice one guy got a bit of a beating by 3 of them after the game for some reason which nearly sparked a riot when the Hibs fans noticed. Disgrace tbh.

fife hfc
01-08-2010, 07:03 PM
I had no problems at all with the police. I got off the train and was allowed to leave by the main entrance had lunch and a few pints in Wetherspoons. got directions from a kind PC to the ground and came out the ground and walked past the wagons and walked without escort to the station where a kind PC told me the Edinburgh train was being held back for 5 minutes and I thanked him and caught it. So I had no problems with the Cumbrian police.

My secret?

take your seven year old son and they know you'll not cause any trouble. By the way I say a number of well known faces that did not escorted back to the station.

01-08-2010, 07:03 PM
Notice one guy got a bit of a beating by 3 of them after the game for some reason which nearly sparked a riot when the Hibs fans noticed. Disgrace tbh.

Was that the one that ended up in someone's front garden?
A lot of the police were right up for some aggro at that point, couldn't wait to draw the batons.

01-08-2010, 07:07 PM
Was that the one that ended up in someone's front garden?
A lot of the police were right up for some aggro at that point, couldn't wait to draw the batons.

Yup that was the one.

01-08-2010, 07:29 PM
I think we can put the blame for all this fairly and squarely on our casual friends. The police and even the door staff of the pubs had been briefed and were expecting trouble.

01-08-2010, 07:33 PM
I think we can put the blame for all this fairly and squarely on our casual friends. The police and even the door staff of the pubs had been briefed and were expecting trouble.

Didn't see what they did wrong to be fair, they went to the game, had a bevvy, bit of banter and they were met with all that crap.

01-08-2010, 07:35 PM
The doorstaff at the griffin were telling us that apparently the Carlisle and Leeds casuals had teamed up to meet the hibs casuals, hence the heavy police presence.
We left the game early and went back to the griffin.
Our train wasn't till 8 but at about half five the doorstaff came and told us that we'd have to drink up and leave at the police's request, as they wanted all hibs fans out the town. 2 minutes later they came back and said we could stay as they'd spoke to the police and told them we were no trouble. Thank goodness!!

01-08-2010, 07:51 PM
Like the OP there were far more Police today than at a Hibs v Hearts/Old Firm game.

A 'crowd' of 3,043 yet there must have been many more police utilised today than will be the case at any game this season, including Derbies, trips to the OF, or Cup Finals (in the unlikely event of us reaching one). Totally over the top and unnecessary, there were no confrontations between supporters, only between the police and the Hibs fans. If as has been claimed the police had intelligence, it was as usual wide of the mark, and in any case we shouldn't all have been made to suffer.

01-08-2010, 07:54 PM
A 'crowd' of 3,043 yet there must have been many more police utilised today than will be the case at any game this season, including Derbies, trips to the OF, or Cup Finals (in the unlikely event of us reaching one). Totally over the top and unnecessary, there were no confrontations between supporters, only between the police and the Hibs fans. If as has been claimed the police had intelligence, it was as usual wide of the mark, and in any case we shouldn't all have been made to suffer.

Not in my lifetime.

01-08-2010, 07:55 PM

Must have been a copper for every 10 fans easily

01-08-2010, 07:58 PM
The police were up for it today. I spoke to a cop on our escort back to the railway station. he informed that they were told we were on a par with Leeds and Millwall so they were taking no chance.

The guy that lifted/beaten in the garden was pull by a cop as he ran back down the road to wards his mates. He did struggle but ensuing assault on him by 3 police and 1 orange bibbed (is that a word) steward was way over the top. I never saw any trouble accept from the police.

JIm
01-08-2010, 08:09 PM
Never seen anything like it before! funny times!

and alot of boys who came out to play clearly were not getting the opportunity!

01-08-2010, 08:37 PM
I think generally the police are **** and don't have any trust or faith in them, multiply that tenfold when it comes to them policing the football, they are liberty taking bullies who marginalise all fans as thugs, the way some of them treat ordinary fans for being at a game of football is a disgrace and actually creates a more sinister and angry atmosphere amongst normal supporters.. Although it wasn't football, look at the way they treated that guy who died in london at that big protest.. They aint even held accountable when they are breaking the law themselves...

01-08-2010, 08:40 PM
nakedmanoncrack you have an interesting take on this almost like you are shocked :confused: our club is being tarred based on a section of our supports antics in bolton last year. a club that really made an effort for the day putting on all sorts of family fun type stuff in an effort to have the fans mix. Hardly any police there that day

01-08-2010, 08:41 PM
I think generally the police are **** and don't have any trust or faith in them, multiply that tenfold when it comes to them policing the football, they are liberty taking bullies who marginalise all fans as thugs, the way some of them treat ordinary fans for being at a game of football is a disgrace and actually creates a more sinister and angry atmosphere amongst normal supporters.. .

My perception is that policing of football matches in Scotland has become much better in recent seasons. Perhaps the Polis down there should have spent more time talking to Lothian and Borders.

01-08-2010, 08:42 PM
I think generally the police are **** and don't have any trust or faith in them, multiply that tenfold when it comes to them policing the football, they are liberty taking bullies who marginalise all fans as thugs, the way some of them treat ordinary fans for being at a game of football is a disgrace and actually creates a more sinister and angry atmosphere amongst normal supporters.. Although it wasn't football, look at the way they treated that guy who died in london at that big protest.. They aint even held accountable when they are breaking the law themselves...
Well said :agree:

01-08-2010, 08:46 PM
The guy that lifted/beaten in the garden was pull by a cop as he ran back down the road to wards his mates. He did struggle but ensuing assault on him by 3 police and 1 orange bibbed (is that a word) steward was way over the top. I never saw any trouble accept from the police.

Must have gave the householder a bit of a shock too, looking out the window to see several policemen diving over his garden fence, scattering the carefully tended flower pots & hanging baskets as they grappled on the doorstep.:wink:

01-08-2010, 08:56 PM

You speak as if you know English police well.. Tell me this , do you attend EPL matches on a regular basis ?? You have no idea what the polis down there have to go through week in , week out... Trouble up here is mainly kept to the OF matches but in some laces with some teams , the police has to deal with this type of thing EVERY week... Do you blame them for being a little '' heavy handed '' ???

Flo1898
01-08-2010, 08:59 PM

Treatment of away supporters by the local police is quiet normal in any division over here in germany. The first round of the dfb-pokal starts in a few days. One match, Halle Fc vs. Union Berlin Fc was replaced from Halle to the 2006 Wolrd cup stadium in Leipzig by the police. The next step is to regulate the numbers of visitors of each club, which means only 3500 supporters of each club, tickets only available in the pre-selling at your club and personalized tickets.
Normally 43.500 supporters could take place there.

http://www.sportforum-leipzig.com/red_tools/bildzoom.php?css_id=9&tbl_bildlink=&artikel_id=1204&sprache=DE&bild_id=129

01-08-2010, 09:01 PM
Marinello59.. I'd agree that lothian an borders are one of the better ones, they are however one of the better ones of a bad bunch.. I think what sums them up is how they come down all heavy handed and in force at silly wee things, yet the majority of the time they are conspicuous by their absence from real trouble.. Lothian borders police always give me the impression that they are scared to alienate the old firm fans at easter rd an would rather give it to us an sook up their geers.. Imagine the opposite happening in glasgow? Nae chance..

01-08-2010, 09:06 PM
I got off the train just after 12, jumped on the 2104 still sitting on it now, bevvied, no police involvement! been pished since monday, the only person i've upset was my mate in croatia/slovenia for snoring too much!

01-08-2010, 09:06 PM
You speak as if you know English police well.. Tell me this , do you attend EPL matches on a regular basis ?? You have no idea what the polis down there have to go through week in , week out... Trouble up here is mainly kept to the OF matches but in some laces with some teams , the police has to deal with this type of thing EVERY week... Do you blame them for being a little '' heavy handed '' ???

Have been to goodison quite a few times and there was more police there today than I've ever seen at an everton game

01-08-2010, 09:07 PM
Yes I have attended maine road and eastlands for the past 12 years, probs been to in the region of 30-40 english games, including, st james pk, anfield, molineaux, preston, blackpool, maine rd, eastlands, saw man utd , spurs etc etc ... So are u saying its acceptable to treat all fans like **** because of the minority? Did thay guy in london deserve what he got when walking away from police line with his hands in his pockets just because the police had a lot to deal with?

HONG KONG PHOOEY
01-08-2010, 09:28 PM
Had a good day. the police were great to us from the minute we left waverley to the minute we got home !!!!!!!!!!!! well done the police

darwenhibby
01-08-2010, 09:33 PM
Agree with Fife on this one thought the policewere spot on.
You must have been infront of me when the police told us of the early train.
My oldest boy got the train back to Edinburgh and was in Corstorphine at the same time as I drove back to Darwen.
Police were fine, pity about the teams committment.

Lets hope Thursday is better.

Leith_Hibee
01-08-2010, 10:24 PM
I'm sorry but we deserve all we get, anyone remember the idiots in Bolton? That day we were pretty much left alone by the police and look what happened after the game.

01-08-2010, 10:40 PM
Whats the problem? The police had intelligence that led to the numbers. What would have happened if the police presence was minimal and people got stomped on?

I know I would much rather have an escort if there was potential for serious bother.

I'm not a keyboard hardman though :cool2:

Cal 7-0
01-08-2010, 10:59 PM
Just thought I'd come in here, the lad in the garden was my mates son in law at his first away game who turned backed to see where my mate had got to (He'd had a couple of pints but in no way a trouble maker) was wrestled and manhandled like he was out for bother. They where geared up to arrest people and I feel they had to justify their presence with a few arrests he became one, I waited on him getting back to Waverly, he is now banned from footie until his case where he's is charged with using foul and abusive language likely to cause offence.

Hibs On Tour
02-08-2010, 12:26 AM
Not in my lifetime.

Think their intelligence dossiers come from the same providers as those that did the Iraqi WMD files... Leeds weren't with Carlisle and were never gonna be, for example.

Think a lot of times the OB get a fixed idea in their head then just trot out whatever pish they think will justify whatever they are demanding happens and dress this up as 'intelligence'.

02-08-2010, 12:41 AM
Just thought I'd come in here, the lad in the garden was my mates son in law at his first away game who turned backed to see where my mate had got to (He'd had a couple of pints but in no way a trouble maker) was wrestled and manhandled like he was out for bother. They where geared up to arrest people and I feel they had to justify their presence with a few arrests he became one, I waited on him getting back to Waverly, he is now banned from footie until his case where he's is charged with using foul and abusive language likely to cause offence.

Lucky so and so.

blairwallace
02-08-2010, 12:49 AM
being my first away game to england i thought that it was common for the police to have such a presence, even stepping of the train to see loads of police i thought was ok but when i saw they were recording, taking pictures and searching people i knew something was up and i felt like i was involved in something the way they all stood around. if they thought something big was going to kick off why were there no police in riot gear thought? :confused: have to say the highlight was by far the guy on the train coming home that got lifted for shouting out "f*** the rangers" as the train fell silent for that brief second. priceless. :top marks

02-08-2010, 01:03 AM
being my first away game to england i thought that it was common for the police to have such a presence, even stepping of the train to see loads of police i thought was ok but when i saw they were recording, taking pictures and searching people i knew something was up and i felt like i was involved in something the way they all stood around. if they thought something big was going to kick off why were there no police in riot gear thought? :confused: have to say the highlight was by far the guy on the train coming home that got lifted for shouting out "f*** the rangers" as the train fell silent for that brief second. priceless. :top marks

Was there huns on the train I take it? Or did he just randomly blurt this out?

02-08-2010, 05:21 AM
I was in Carlisle on a Thursday night in June, had a meal in the Indian restaurant opposite the Wetherspoons and a coupleof drinks in the Griffin. The thing that struck me about a Thursday night in Carlisle was the numbers of police about. there were constant patrols in vans with riot shields. Strange place, a bit like a border outpost.

02-08-2010, 06:46 AM
1. Due to better policing/intelligence/boredom of going to the same grounds and fighting with the same mobs every year, domestic-season hooliganism is practically dead in Scotland and has been for well over a decade. It's the pre-season/European ties that now function as a hoolie Woodstock.

2. Hibs have a reputation, much of it nonsense and generated by lazy journalism, but nonetheless, like Cardiff, Leeds and Millwall, they've become a media hooligan brand.

3. Coppers love overtime, Sunday double-time in particular. Nobody is going to query OT applications when a brand-name hoolie mob come into town. It has to be justified though, thus the heavy-handed, provocative policing by the local constabulary. I'm sure they would have loved it had supporters reacted to this.

All these factors ensure that pre-season/Europe will never be completely free of the odd violent skirmish or subject to oppressive, bullying policing.

02-08-2010, 07:44 AM
1. Due to better policing/intelligence/boredom of going to the same grounds and fighting with the same mobs every year, domestic-season hooliganism is practically dead in Scotland and has been for well over a decade. It's the pre-season/European ties that now function as a hoolie Woodstock.

2. Hibs have a reputation, much of it nonsense and generated by lazy journalism, but nonetheless, like Cardiff, Leeds and Millwall, they've become a media hooligan brand.

3. Coppers love overtime, Sunday double-time in particular. Nobody is going to query OT applications when a brand-name hoolie mob come into town. It has to be justified though, thus the heavy-handed, provocative policing by the local constabulary. I'm sure they would have loved it had supporters reacted to this.

All these factors ensure that pre-season/Europe will never be completely free of the odd violent skirmish or subject to oppressive, bullying policing.

Excellent post and sums up our club reputation.

Aubenas
02-08-2010, 07:48 AM
Whats the problem? The police had intelligence that led to the numbers. What would have happened if the police presence was minimal and people got stomped on?

I know I would much rather have an escort if there was potential for serious bother.

I'm not a keyboard hardman though :cool2:

02-08-2010, 08:00 AM

Must have been on the same bit as me. He was bladdered. :greengrin

02-08-2010, 08:18 AM
Unfortunately, the Hibs casual reputation goes before them and we must expect this kind of over the top reaction sometimes.

It's a result of the glamorisation of thugs by the media and, sadly, by supporters' websites.

Ferryhibby
02-08-2010, 08:38 AM

Does that include us who were wearing hibs tops not casuals! i was grabbed quite hard by one of these so called PCs and thrown onto the pavement when i turned round and told him to watch what he was doin he told me to 'move on right F****n now or get nicked jock' seen all the casuals behind me and the cops being pretty OTT they werent doin anythin except walkin along the road they may have a heavy rep but there are better ways of dealing with things

02-08-2010, 08:45 AM
Didn't see what they did wrong to be fair, they went to the game, had a bevvy, bit of banter and they were met with all that crap.

Well it seems the police are more aware of our casuals history than you are and were prepared to deal with it.

Besides the ancient history included in books glorifying the violence of years gone by there's the small matter of what happened in Bolton last year. That is what the majority of decent, law abiding supporters are tagged with when we travel outside our comfort zone of Scotland. There was apparently also some police intelligence :confused: in which it has been implied there was casual related trouble ahead.

The Cumbria Police, who had a fair contingent of L&Bs finest amongst their ranks, would have known the known casuals were on there way, long before they ever arrived in Carlisle.

I was chatting to a couple of police, one from each force, and in the chat I asked which way to the ground. That was not long after we arrived, well before midday i.e. before the well kent faces arrived in the pub. The conversation was along the lines of we would be ‘free’ to make our own way, wander to the ground in our own time. It was also implied that if there were trouble makers [casuals] about then the support would be escorted to and from the ground.

I left the pub a wee while after the well kent faces and watched the ‘escort’ from about 3/400 yards, just in front and behind me were two sets of Hibs fans trying to out sing each other. Funny how when we passed the police it was all smiles.

I think yesterday was an example of how 25 or so folk can make it an uncomfortable day out for the other 100s that went there for a good time.

blairwallace
02-08-2010, 04:29 PM
Was there huns on the train I take it? Or did he just randomly blurt this out?

just randomly shouted it out, i was in tears :faf:

02-08-2010, 04:43 PM

I was standing near enough directly across the road from the incident. I didnt see what caused it to kick off, but a couple of minutes later I saw a guy in a white top getting shoved into a police van in almost exactly the same circumstances.

It looked to me like the police actions at some points were way out of proportion to the situation at hand. Though I have to say we didnt have any bother with them.

02-08-2010, 05:11 PM
I recall at full time the casuals all standing on ther grassy slope outside Carlisle's 'new stand - Were they waiting for Carlisle or had the police escorted them there? I'm positive they left a good bit before the full time whistle.

The police were certainly not messing about yesterday. Me and my pals walked to the ground amongst the casuals (not intentionally) and there must easily have been 8 wagons and numerous officers filming us.

02-08-2010, 06:54 PM
...have to say the highlight was by far the guy on the train coming home that got lifted for shouting out "f*** the rangers" as the train fell silent for that brief second. priceless. :top marks

I guess that's what drinking vodka straight from the bottle like it is water, leads to.

02-08-2010, 08:13 PM
I guess that's what drinking vodka straight from the bottle like it is water, leads to.

He was banging it back right enough...

We must have all been in the same carriage :wink:

Hope the very accommaditing transport polis (aye right!) let him away once the train got into the station.

jakki
02-08-2010, 09:41 PM
The so called Hibs causals spoil it for the normal Hibs supporter.

And to the poster that says to me "forget we have all heard it before" I will repeat it for any new posters on here who have not heard it as its important.

I went to the Bolton game game last year with my daughter and 5 grandkids aged 5 to 14. There had been a lot of news of casual gang fights before the game but well away from the ground and I felt safe taking my family to the game

I got a mini bus from Manchester where we were staying and met up with the Hibs in a Pub close to the ground. and after a wee drink.we went up to the ground where they were having a family day. Face Painting, rock climbing , fire eaters etc. The kids loved it. When we went to get our seats, having wheelchair seats at the front row, the steward arranged that the kids were moved from further up the stand and to the row bewind us. During the game, there was a lot of hatred banter between the two sets of supporters.

After the game, a fight occurred beetwen the two sets of supporters at our exit point.We were lead track side away from the fight but the only way we knew to get back to our pick up point was where the fight had occurred.

By this point the so called Hibs supporters were up that road and causing damage to shops in the centre.The gates were closed and while I was explaining to the police that our Minibus was colectting us at the end of that road, my 13 year old was asked for a fair do from a grown man that had his nose busted by one of the Hibees. His excuse was that my grandson had a Hibes top. Lucky enough the police heard him and led him away and we had a police escort up to our minibus.

The decent Bolton supporters were so sorry about what had happened but will I take my grandkids to another friendly? only time will tell

02-08-2010, 09:45 PM
The so called Hibs causals spoil it for the normal Hibs supporter.

And to the poster that says to me "forget we have all heard it before" I will repeat it for any new posters on here who have not heard it as its important.

I went to the Bolton game game last year with my daughter and 5 grandkids aged 5 to 14. There had been a lot of news of casual gang fights before the game but well away from the ground and I felt safe taking my family to the game

I got a mini bus from Manchester where we were staying and met up with the Hibs in a Pub close to the ground. and after a wee drink.we went up to the ground where they were having a family day. Face Painting, rock climbing , fire eaters etc. The kids loved it. When we went to get our seats, having wheelchair seats at the front row, the steward arranged that the kids were moved from further up the stand and to the row bewind us. During the game, there was a lot of hatred banter between the two sets of supporters.

After the game, a fight occurred beetwen the two sets of supporters at our exit point.We were lead track side away from the fight but the only way we knew to get back to our pick up point was where the fight had occurred.

By this point the so called Hibs supporters were up that road and causing damage to shops in the centre.The gates were closed and while I was explaining to the police that our Minibus was colectting us at the end of that road, my 13 year old was asked for a fair do from a grown man that had his nose busted by one of the Hibees. His excuse was that my grandson had a Hibes top. Lucky enough the police heard him and led him away and we had a police escort up to our minibus.

The decent Bolton supporters were so sorry about what had happened but will I take my grandkids to another friendly? only time will tell

:yawn:

Sorry Jakki but even your apology at the start for repeating yourself doesn't help. Honestly I'm sick reading about something that could've happened, you've repeated this now seven or eight times on various threads.

02-08-2010, 09:48 PM

Sorry Jakki but even your apology at the start for repeating yourself doesn't help. Honestly I'm sick reading about something that could've happened, you've repeated this now seven or eight times on various threads.

I was thinking that but I see the guy asked her grandson for a fair do. You can't sink much lower than that IMO.

Gus
02-08-2010, 10:20 PM
lots of people repeating themselves imo

jakki
02-08-2010, 10:26 PM

Paul, I don't know what age you are but you sound very immature. Who wants their 13 year old grandson beaten up up by an adult because the adult had been beaten up by a so callked Hibs casual; I think were not so near the Police , can you guarantee that it mightn't have happened. We were only 2 women, one in a wheel chair and 5 kids betwteen 5 and 14. True Hibs supporters deplore those casual that we cannot take our families to England without this threa.t
Yes I will repeat this as often as I care to as I am a Hibs supporter and want to
save guard other families going to Hibs games when there are theats of Casual fights

Are you a casual or revel in their exploits.:confused:

03-08-2010, 02:26 PM
had a good day out In Carlisle on Sunday. Lots of potential for trouble, yes. But seen none and we just kept ourselves to ourselves. Spoke to locals pre and post game and no hassle at all. Cops were fine too. We stayed on for a good bevvy after game and had a right good time.:greengrin