View Full Version : Match Updates Carlisle 1 V Hibs 0 - FT
01-08-2010, 06:26 PM
Ah the usual two scapoegoats get the blame........
11 team players yet Nish and Rankin get singled out every time, that is the sad thing IMO
Bottom line is that we are pish all over the park at the moment.
archiebald
01-08-2010, 06:28 PM
still need a loud support for thursday :thumbsup:
01-08-2010, 06:29 PM
I thought i was a real supporter by being at Maribor on Thur and Belinda today. I still think 2.7/1 on Betfair is a great price for Maribor on Thur tho!
woody47
01-08-2010, 06:30 PM
11 team players yet Nish and Rankin get singled out every time, that is the sad thing IMO
Whats with the love in with these two clowns. They are absolutely garbage and maybe people need to take their green tinted glasses off and actually look to see what they bring to the team other than the usual pesh "gives 100%", "never stops running" blah blah blah. They also need to be able to play a bit of football or am I missing something by watching Hibernian FOOTBALL Club..
I would be surprised if Nish can control his bladder as he certainly doesn't know how to control the ball. Rankin needs glasses so that he see what colour jerseys he is passing to.
Sooner they are dropped the better. IMHO
01-08-2010, 06:31 PM
Whats with the love in with these two clowns. They are absolutely garbage and maybe people need to take their green tinted glasses off and actually look to see what they bring to the team other than the usual pesh "gives 100%", "never stops running" blah blah blah. They also need to be able to play a bit of football or am I missing something by watching Hibernian FOOTBALL Club..
I would be surprised if Nish can control his bladder as he certainly doesn't know how to control the ball. Rankin needs glasses so that he see what colour jerseys he is passing to.
Sooner they are dropped the better. IMHO
So what about the other 9 today, do you give them all passmarks then?
And calling our own players clowns??? Quality
Gala Foxes
01-08-2010, 06:32 PM
why does Thicot insist on cutting inside when he is clear on the right with acres of space ahead of him ?
Is it lack of confidence / lack of pace / managerial tactics ? - whatever it was it was frustrating to watch this afternoon
woody47
01-08-2010, 06:34 PM
So what about the other 9 today, do you give them all passmarks then?
And calling our own players clowns??? Quality
Did you read my first post or is it selective reading? And when \ watch someone making a fool of themselves I would assume I was at the circus watching clowns - good enough for you?
01-08-2010, 06:37 PM
Did you read my first post or is it selective reading? And when \ watch someone making a fool of themselves I would assume I was at the circus watching clowns - good enough for you?
Never reade whole thread, just saw the one about Nish and Rankin and thought it was completely unfair
woody47
01-08-2010, 06:42 PM
Never reade whole thread, just saw the one about Nish and Rankin and thought it was completely unfair
You have your opinions I have mine and I do not think the criticism is unfair.
I will give credit where credit is due but with these two: Nish has maybe one half decent game in 10 and Rankin, well he is just a number on the park most games.
01-08-2010, 06:44 PM
We were *****, Carlisle are *****, Carlisle is *****, a big *****y day all round :thumbsup:
01-08-2010, 06:45 PM
Although I am sure there is plenty of justification for ripping into those commentators I think people are missing the real point here. We were pretty poor today, again trying a lot of passes in front of them but no real intent. Also, I think we should have played the team that will be featuring on thrusday not letting everyone have a chance. If Yogi doesnt know his strongest team, or roughly the strongest team yet its no wonder we are heading out of Europe.
Yogi wants us to start passing from the back, but the players dont know who to pass to, the movement doesnt seem that great and players didnt look that interested, however, I have been told that there are a few players that are annoyed that getting subbed?!?!
Reading this thread looked as if we were looking at trying to find something worse than the teams performances and people chose the comentators! I feel a long hard season ahead with not much to cheer about!
01-08-2010, 06:47 PM
You have your opinions I have mine and I do not think the criticism is unfair.
I will give credit where credit is due but with these two: Nish has maybe one half decent game in 10 and Rankin, well he is just a number on the park most games.
Ask any Hibs player and they will tell you that Rankin is a player's player, who does all the spade work, and Nish can do nothing right, his five goals in the last two matches of last season, were down to being totally lucky, because the boy has no talent whatsoever
01-08-2010, 06:55 PM
Woeful, yet again. The defence is shocking, any team who really press them will take goals off us. Both Brown and Stack looked shaky. Never even looked like scoring. Midfield was extremely poor, no real presence whatsoever and created nothing. Got a feeling it's gonna be a long and hard season.
I was speaking to a mate today who said Yogi is seriously looking to offload either Stokes or Riordan. He was told this by somebody who is indeed in the know and wouldn't have any real reason to be taking the piss.
fife hfc
01-08-2010, 06:55 PM
What a waste of a journey!!
We hardly created a decent chance and rarely ventured out our own half for most of the game.
The defence is chronic, we are too square, too slow and too soft. Add to that the fact that we have no width and very little movement up front and any remaining optimisim I may have had for Thursday night has just gone right out the window. :bitchy:
:agree: Exactly how I feel. This was the first time i've seen us in pre season and I got bored midway through the second half. most of the team was dire and to single out nish and rankin is totally unfair as the rest, especially our more experienced players, looked totally lost.
If you want to play a pasing game you need players to make angles for the passer and give them options. We are passing the ball while playing a game of statues so it looks dreadful. Pass and move seems like it has never entered a Hibs players head as they pass then stay till. to me the problem is that nobody at present is willing to take responsibility and grab the game by the scruff of the kneck. We just pass the ball and the responsibility at the same time. Until this is rectified we are in for a dire season.
Just a thought they asked us fans to stand up and be counted now it is the turn of the players to do just that or they have to go, no matter who it it.
Pete70
01-08-2010, 06:59 PM
Woeful, yet again. The defence is shocking, any team who really press them will take goals off us. Both Brown and Stack looked shaky. Never even looked like scoring. Midfield was extremely poor, no real presence whatsoever and created nothing. Got a feeling it's gonna be a long and hard season.
I was speaking to a mate today who said Yogi is seriously looking to offload either Stokes or Riordan. He was told this by somebody who is indeed in the know and wouldn't have any real reason to be taking the piss.
I think you're being a bit harsh on Stack given that he didn't play today
01-08-2010, 07:02 PM
01-08-2010, 07:04 PM
Same as Thursday, no end product and we seem content to pass it between the back 4 for ages when we aren't actually winning.
Smith looked dodgy and i'd like to see Brown start in goals on Thursday.
Gutted with the performance today but i think we'll be far better on Thursday, i hope.
01-08-2010, 07:05 PM
Meant Smith. Bit bevvied!
01-08-2010, 07:15 PM
Absolutely dire. WTF yogi sees in nish and rankin is beyond comprehension. Even though there were no real plus marks today, these two went into minus.
I really did not see one thing today that gives me any confidence for the coning season.
how long does the coning season run nowadays ?:greengrin
Pete70
01-08-2010, 07:19 PM
Meant Smith. Bit bevvied!
Ahh beer. The cause off and solution to all lifes problems. © Homer Simpson
Penrith Hibee
01-08-2010, 08:33 PM
I'm trying to be positive and say it was only a friendly etc.... but maybe I'm getting old and can't remember all the previous dire performances in friendlies when we then went to have a good season!
That was mince of the highest order but I will reserve judgement until after Thursday. Pass marks from today's game to Hart, Deek, Stokes, Hanlon. I also thought Galbraith looked not bad on the right but needs to speak to Arjen Robben about cutting in onto the left foot and producing a decent shot.
As for young Stephens...hmmmm......there might be a footballer lurking in there but he hid it well today.
If Yogi keeps playing it Dutch style,count me out for many visits to ER as it was like watching paint dry whilst sitting in the dentist's waiting room.
01-08-2010, 08:36 PM
I'm trying to be positive and say it was only a friendly etc.... but maybe I'm getting old and can't remember all the previous dire performances in friendlies when we then went to have a good season!
That was mince of the highest order but I will reserve judgement until after Thursday. Pass marks from today's game to Hart, Deek, Stokes, Hanlon. I also thought Galbraith looked not bad on the right but needs to speak to Arjen Robben about cutting in onto the left foot and producing a decent shot.
As for young Stephens...hmmmm......there might be a footballer lurking in there but he hid it well today.
If Yogi keeps playing it Dutch style,count me out for many visits to ER as it was like watching paint dry whilst sitting in the dentist's waiting room.
01-08-2010, 08:47 PM
It's not their fault they keep on getting picked, buit I think their constant selection represents just how clueless John Hughes is. They've became symbols of his ineptness.
01-08-2010, 08:52 PM
Although I am sure there is plenty of justification for ripping into those commentators I think people are missing the real point here. We were pretty poor today, again trying a lot of passes in front of them but no real intent. Also, I think we should have played the team that will be featuring on thrusday not letting everyone have a chance. If Yogi doesnt know his strongest team, or roughly the strongest team yet its no wonder we are heading out of Europe.
Yogi wants us to start passing from the back, but the players dont know who to pass to, the movement doesnt seem that great and players didnt look that interested, however, I have been told that there are a few players that are annoyed that getting subbed?!?!
Reading this thread looked as if we were looking at trying to find something worse than the teams performances and people chose the comentators! I feel a long hard season ahead with not much to cheer about!
That is Hibs under Hughes.
01-08-2010, 10:54 PM
Drove down to the game today with 2 of my fellow ST holders and my 14 year old son for a first look at the Hibees in the flesh this season.
I'll keep it brief by saying it was absolutely dire and if that is going to be the level of performance then bottom 6 is a certainty. No creativity in midfield, Galbraith played on the right (WTF) and no width. Hart and Murray never crossed the half way line from the full back position.
I can only hope that the players were at half pace with Thursday in mind. If so, why did Yogi not play the reserves with some of the youngsters? That was what I was quite happily expecting.
mcaitchi
01-08-2010, 11:22 PM
Nae sense in having yir goalscorers on the park if we cannae even pass the ball out of defence,were onto a hiding to nothing this season,which sucks cos we have good players and a manager who cannae see his style of fitba wont work at Hibs, i see where he is coming from though, but Dutch players are drilled from a very young age which position they will be playing and staying put for the rest of their footballing lives.You cant teach that to Scottish players cos they are used to getting fannied about all over the park,like Hughes does with his team.
He should concentrate on getting the youngsters from the age of 6 upwards trained on how he wants the game to be played,mibbe over 10-15 years he will see the results/fitba he craves. Until Scotland/Hibs gives their kids a proper fitba education in how the game (according to Hughes) should be played,then we will not see any change.
Until then the managers job should go to someone who has a tactical brain. Dont understand why he doesnt see what the most of us see, Scottish players need two touches to control a ball,so this passing game he is asking them to perform is alien to them.
Mind you Im still giving him until beginning October.
Drove down to the game today with 2 of my fellow ST holders and my 14 year old son for a first look at the Hibees in the flesh this season.
I'll keep it brief by saying it was absolutely dire and if that is going to be the level of performance then bottom 6 is a certainty. No creativity in midfield, Galbraith played on the right (WTF) and no width. Hart and Murray never crossed the half way line from the full back position.
I can only hope that the players were at half pace with Thursday in mind. If so, why did Yogi not play the reserves with some of the youngsters? That was what I was quite happily expecting.
SORRY - But Yogi Must GO !!!! the guy has no plan A never mind Plan B
02-08-2010, 09:05 AM
It seems Yogi wants them to play passing football, but has forgot to add on the 'moving' bit that usually comes after.
Another pish result and it's clear to me looking on from afar that the writing is on the wall for Yogi. He's clearly not got it, and half the team can GTF as well.
02-08-2010, 09:13 AM
Thought Stokes and Galbraith put in good shifts. Stokes nothing really pulled off for him and Galbraith had a few good runs but apart from that the team was *****.
02-08-2010, 09:35 AM
SORRY - But Yogi Must GO !!!! the guy has no plan A never mind Plan B
:yamlaugh: Nowhere in my post that you quoted did I say Yogi must go.
archiebald
02-08-2010, 09:59 AM
It seems Yogi wants them to play passing football, but has forgot to add on the 'moving' bit that usually comes after.
Another pish result and it's clear to me looking on from afar that the writing is on the wall for Yogi. He's clearly not got it, and half the team can GTF as well.
Were you there like ? :confused:
02-08-2010, 10:01 AM
Were you there like ? :confused:
Were you? :wink:
You know, it's only 3 competitive games ago that we scored 6 goals away from home. Forget the defensive frailties that night, & in particular the goalkeeping blunders & for an hour or so that performance was up there with Mowbray's wins at the OF & JC's team's 6 goals at the same ground.
All goals that night came from very fast breaks even though none of our players were/are particularly quick.
So what was different that night?
1. We had one grafter ( the much maligned Rankin ) & 2 footballers, Miller & Spoony in midfield.
2. We had one grafter ( the much maligned Nish ) & 2 footballers, Deeks/Stokes up front.
The front 3 scored all 6 of the goals & the midfield 3 all laid on at least one each with bursts to the bye-line. 6 outstanding goals really.
From memory it all went pear shaped at 6-3 when we brought McBride on, for Deeks I think.
Our strengths are in attack but we need to get the ball forward with creativity. I'm afraid I don't think we can have Rankin & McBride in same team & my vote would be for JR :wink:
archiebald
02-08-2010, 12:44 PM
You know, it's only 3 competitive games ago that we scored 6 goals away from home. Forget the defensive frailties that night, & in particular the goalkeeping blunders & for an hour or so that performance was up there with Mowbray's wins at the OF & JC's team's 6 goals at the same ground.
All goals that night came from very fast breaks even though none of our players were/are particularly quick.
1. We had one grafter ( the much maligned Rankin ) & 2 footballers, Miller & Spoony in midfield.
2. We had one grafter ( the much maligned Nish ) & 2 footballers, Deeks/Stokes up front.
The front 3 scored all 6 of the goals & the midfield 3 all laid on at least one each with bursts to the bye-line. 6 outstanding goals really.
From memory it all went pear shaped at 6-3 when we brought McBride on, for Deeks I think.
Our strengths are in attack but we need to get the ball forward with creativity. I'm afraid I don't think we can have Rankin & McBride in same team & my vote would be for JR
Can you remember last you were there,but its always moan moan moan :wink: ps We play in Green n White. ( Glory Glory )
02-08-2010, 12:50 PM
Our strengths are in attack but we need to get the ball forward with creativity. I'm afraid I don't think we can have Rankin & McBride in same team & my vote would be for JR :wink:
You mean when the manager intervened? :wink: :greengrin
Aye you're right but at least the manager chose the original attacking team which scored 6 goals in an hour away from home. I think any manager would try to shut up shop when 6-3 up away but with Smith in goal unfortunately the front door's always open.
My real point is we don't have the option of of an out ball to a real pacy forward & we lose a huge amount of creativity if we play both JR & KM in midfield. IMO JR is the better option & from memory KM also did not play when we won at Tannadice on the last game of last season. I don't know why he's suddenly back as a #1 choice but I'll be surprised ( & disappointed ) if he's in the line-up on Thursday.
02-08-2010, 02:58 PM
I am cautiously optimistic that the team will put in a much improved performance on Thursday, however 100% confident that we will concede a goal (or two). I would not put too much emphasis on the Carlisle result, but the fans who made it down deserved a more workmanlike showing. First half v Dunfermline we were very very poor yet 2-0 up. Second half, with a team of youth and pace (Galbraith, Currie, Welsh, Stokes, Horner) we were incisive, quick, alert and bright. Same in the first half v QOS. I struggle with Yogi's concept of giving these keepers 45 minutes here and there. You choose your first choice keeper, settle on it, and hey if the other two are disappointed that's life. I also cannot, simply cannot, agree with playing Hogg and especially giving him an armband. He is the poorest footballer in the side IMHO. No doubt the best "professional", but never in a million years a footballer. Colin Nish - the enigma. I am sorry Colin, but you have been in the game long enough to know the offside rule and play intelligently. You don't, and the team's impetus slows each and every time you fail to look up and play the line. We have no driving midfielder, no strapping, hard as nails centre half willing to bark around him, and a manager who steadfastly refuses to acknowledge the side is very very poor at the back. We also have no playmaker, no "bums off seats" type player when Zemmama has his usual 10 game break in a season. Failure to close down, and standing off players will always be the way to beat Hibs. A ball in the box is like a game of pinball, and there is no composure. People were complaining about the commentators yesterday.......they were only pointing out what we look like to non Hibs supporters and to be frank.......they were pretty spot on if we were all honest.
02-08-2010, 10:44 PM
That was my first look at Hibs this season and I have to say that was dire.
Shaky at the back. No drive in midfield. A total lack of movement in the final 3rd. Not one player able to play a telling pass. No width E.G. Murray and Hart hardly made a single overlapping run.
And finally far too slow moving the ball. Carlisle just closed down the midfield and we hadnt a clue how to get past them. No wonder the Hibs fans started booing with about 15 minutes to go when what should have been an attacking move yet again turned into a pass back to the centre half.
If Yogis idea of Dutch football is to pass the ball about in your own half for 2 thirds of the game while the other team use the time you are giving them to shut up shop then lord help us.
This has to get better or Thursday will be a waste of time.
:bitchy: