29-07-2010, 07:51 PM
Sets it up nicely for a European night to remember at ER :thumbsup:

They are already on

:confused::confused::confused:

Great, I spent all day ripping the pish out of a celtc supporting colleague.....canny wait for work tomorrow now......jesus, should have kept my mouth shut....

KiddA
Yogi said Riorden would be our biggest threat :rolleyes: not on the bench he cant :bitchy: and now Deeks and Stokes are warming up :dunno:

individual mistakes and slips for 2 and ref error for other,,,shame the syatem was working

How can you possibly say the system is working.

We are pish.

Yogi has got it completely wrong..... AGAIN!

29-07-2010, 07:52 PM
Too early for the Yogi GTF shouts I guess?

and get abuse from the uber fans on here ?? :rolleyes:

here is a bit of perspective.

FC Inter1-5Genk

OK, it is not looking good, but it could be a lot worse (Happy Clappers unite :wink:)

:confused::confused::confused:

misread a previous post

Hal Jordan
Nish, just fæck off now. Cannæ even pass 10 yards ffs.

And Nish is showing his true capabilities again!!!

*****!!

Stokes and Deeks about to come on!

Woeful..

Same crappy passengers from this season causing us problems..

Play your best players..

Riordan & Stokes..

Ell_Chrisso
Too early to jump to conclusions, but this is absolute dire. Although there 2nd shouldn't have standed. Yet again ****** ref's cant spot a foul. 3rd was a dagger in the heart.

Cant see us scoring 3 and not conceding.

Bobo
29-07-2010, 07:53 PM
Hughes is a prize ****in plum, totally and utterly clueless.

His p!ss poor tactics and formation never worked in Holland yet he persists in throwing away tonights game by sending his players out to surrender the tie!!

The defence is horrendus, with nothing at fullback and to compound things Yogi chooses to play the poorest of our 3 keepers!!

Seriously pissed off with the @rse hole!

Does Yogi want the sack? One of the biggest games we have and he puts the 2 best goalscorers on the bench.

Damn well looks like it from where I'm sitting, why the fk does he not even try to change things!

He's a **** erse! :grr:

Hibby 2005
3-4 million's worth of attacking ability on the bench but Yogi knows best.

There will be a poor att next thurs and it will be a quiet night and probably get thumped again. cheers yogi!

waaaaaay stokes n deek r on

Nish off, Riordan on. Stokes on aswell.

29-07-2010, 07:54 PM
I'll be avoiding Yogi's 'full credit tae Marrybore - theyr a right gid side' slaverings.

Learn to kick the ball Stack....Hogg taking goal kick

Deeks and Stokes on. 70 mins later than they should have been

blairwallace
ant and deek on!

COME ON HIBS!!

I'll still be going to the home leg, although it will only be to admire the new stand :greengrin:

Cmon, now lets do some damage. We need 1. There's still a chance.

He must have heard me!, too late now ffs!

Let's see if stokes and deek can show the bawbag in charge what a goal looks like.....we'll see.

Nish off, Riordan on. Stokes on aswell.

McBride off.

Hibee_Rab
The cavalary have arrived. Late.

scottp1875
about time too we desperately need a goal

Men v boys here if ever there was an example

Glasgow Hibee
McBride and Nish off, Stokes and Deek on.

Come on Hibbbbbs.

steviecarnie
29-07-2010, 07:55 PM
why is stack not taking by kicks, is he injured? if so why is he on the park?

emmjayfox
I wish our players would start doing their talking on the park instead of the drivel they spout in the press about what they are gonna do.

Wilbur
Prime scratchcards.com!

I'll go ****ing nuts if we score:agree:

PiemanP
First two names on the team sheet every week, Stokes and Deeks.

not to yogi :bitchy:

wonder what must be going through both their heads....i certainly wouldnt be happy!

Right time too play for a FK outside the box. :agree:

Scottish football is dreadful.....we are worse than dreadful.

The truth doesn't even hurt anymore.

Sad state of affairs.

7Hero
29-07-2010, 07:56 PM
woeful

not surprising though

Greenblood70
Hughes has left himself wide open to the huge amount of criticism he'll receive for this.

The man is a tactical buffoon..same old aimless, careless passing outside our own penalty area..shocking absolutely shocking.

ionahibby
i just don't get yogi sometimes seems to have that mixu trait of being tactically inept :bitchy:

29-07-2010, 07:57 PM
Yogi's tactic was not to give the ball away too much, but their 3 goals have came from us giving the ball to them, when we were exposed! Terrible defensive mistakes!

:agree: take away errors and it would be fine :rolleyes:

29-07-2010, 07:58 PM
Maybe the players were to scared to win?

Glasgow Hibee
29-07-2010, 07:58 PM
Looking more threatening already !

The team obviously has a better balance now.

29-07-2010, 07:59 PM
Doesn't look good I agree but remember Hibs 5 Napoli 0 :wink:

<supreme optimist smiley>

It all starts in this country about the age of 7 or 8. And we see it in all its glory 15 or so years later with "professional" players who cannot comfortably deal with a ball at feet under pressure.

Not JH's fault.

But when you've got an error prone defence playing the ball with them in front of our own goal is suicide.

scott7_0(Prague)
This commentator is a cock

He is a bit of a smarmy cock, I can understand about 70% of what he is saying and he is a right smart prwck.

hibbydog
Hibs are jobbies

The new stand is nice though

7 Up
29-07-2010, 08:00 PM
What a gutless, confused performance. :bitchy:

Better!

mcfly
not good enough and the tie is over

Just tuned back in after losing my Broadband Access. I thought I was seeing things, first with the score and then that it was 70 min gone and Stokes and Riordan had just come one.

I can't believe neither of them has been on from the start

:bitchy:

Oh well, at least I've only wasted £5 on the ticket for the home leg.

Wont be filling new stand at this rate

29-07-2010, 08:01 PM
yogi lost us this game, why the **** did he leave our best players on the bench

Ian murray is a euro dud

OMG - a corner to Hibs !

Edit - it petered out to nothing (of course).

WHAM
John Hughes you're a ******in w***er!

Imagine leaving Riordan AND Stokes on the bench...get a grip

Eganov
I do see some improvement from last season. But no matter how we try denying it Hogg and Rankin still stick out from our lineup as being under par who generally have half decent games often. McBride is slowly falling into this category for me. Not convinced by Stack anymore either.

Looking more threatening already !

The team obviously has a better balance now.
Yep, of course if we played Stokes and Deeks from the start I might not be so pissed off, Of course bringing them on late was all part of Yogi's "master plan"

TheBall'sRound

Totally agree - but players aren't good enough to keep the ball under pressure. We're certainly not good enough to leave quality players on the bench.
Errors are going to happen but we do ours deep in our own half leaving us short and running towards our own goal.

We need to play football 10 yards further up the park and we'd mitigate a lot of the suicidal nonsense.

29-07-2010, 08:02 PM
Commentator is spot on. We look more dangerous since the subs were made.

**** knows why 2 of our best players were benched to start with.....

this is dull

It all starts in this country about the age of 7 or 8. And we see it in all its glory 15 or so years later with "professional" players who cannot comfortably deal with a ball at feet under pressure.

Not JH's fault.

And we'd all be complaining if the team was packed with cheap/expensive foreigners at the expense of the Scottish game.

At least there seems to be a bit more desire and urgency in the team to get forward now.

7Hero
a catastrophic 4th goal ? whos the commentator he doesn't have a scooby doo...

Col_0762
Too early for the Yogi GTF shouts I guess?

Nope, should have been away after the dismal 5 months last season.

29-07-2010, 08:03 PM
Argh! Seriously, why the hell can Hughes still not have grasped the concept behind changing tactics / players etc once it's obvious things aren't working??!! We endured this crap since January while he claimed he needed more players. Yet low and behold here we are, and his tactics are still hopeless and he can't change a game to save himself.

In all seriousness, considering our horrific form last season the pressure is well on truly on for Hughes, massive improvement is needed and soon, none of this we'll wait till January and see crap.

And if he says anything along the lines of 'some of the boys just need a wee hug, they always try for me' he can stay in f*&^%$g Slovenia!!

Hal Jordan
Yogi is lucky I'm not likely to be doon Leith for a while, otherwise he'd be getting a sair yin in baws fæ me. Clueless bawbag.

Spoony off Galbraith on

Galbraith on for Wotherspoon

That is being kind.

Galbraith on for Wotherspoon

haha im sure im hearing the maribor fans singing a song to the tune of "he wont be home for tea"

29-07-2010, 08:04 PM
Any one who saw hibs pre season in holland will not be surprised by this.

Please get a goal to give at least a chance but not good enough.

29-07-2010, 08:04 PM
How many ****ing times has Rankin gave te ball away :grr:

He's soooo bad

29-07-2010, 08:05 PM
We're starting to play hoofball, great.. :rolleyes:

Hibs certainly know how to make an evening.

declan macmanus

Aye but it is the manager that asks the team to pap it about at the edge of our box....

How does Yogi not realise that if you are going to play 1 up front that player must have some pace and be able to stretch the game to bring the team up the park? He plays Nish who has the mobility of a ****ing fridge freezer.

This is gonna be a long season

KiddA
29-07-2010, 08:06 PM
Same issues as last year Hogg, Rankin and Nish are up there with the likes of Tosh, Elliot and Mccuilken.

Keep persisting with them Yogi and you will loose your job by Christmas :agree:

I agree though nice Stand pity it will be empty

Supraninja
I feel like : :grr: <- that

Ilicic off now. 2 great finishes. We leave our only players capable of something like that on the bench.

TheBall'sRound
We're starting to play hoofball, great.. :rolleyes:

Hibs certainly know how to make an evening.

As soon as Nish goes off.

It actually beggars belief :yawn:

29-07-2010, 08:07 PM
Commentator is spot on. We look more dangerous since the subs were made.

**** knows why 2 of our best players were benched to start with.....

Stokes has better movement than Nish and is fitter. Not to mention TWENTY GOALS. Riordan gives you a goal when you don't look remotely capable of scoring one. My screen's stopped buffering enough tonight to see Nish able to turn twice in decent positions and play passes that verged on embarrassing. Gutted that he hasn't played either of them. Senseless. It's almost sabotage.

I'm optimistic, with the right people on the pitch we can easily pull this back at ER.:agree:

Atrocious pass from Murray almost sets up the 4th!

worth a pop from deeks, at least its an attempt

cockneymike
have we even created a proper chance?

29-07-2010, 08:08 PM
Same issues as last year Hogg, Rankin and Nish are up there with the likes of Tosh, Elliot and Mccuilken.

True I am afraid. :grr:

Murray has had a complete stinker. Where was he for the 3rd goal?

Shouldn't be at left back.

TheEastTerrace
This is absolutely humpty. Disgrace. Scottish football RIP.

BTW. Might want to punt the near 3000 'guests' on here suddenly, jambo *****s. :bye:

Now we don't have 5 in midfield we are being cut open in last 10 more than whole match:bitchy:

Tactics were correct....errors / execution was wrong

Eganov

totally agree, McBride slipping into this category for me too

How does Yogi not realise that if you are going to play 1 up front that player must have some pace and be able to stretch the game to bring the team up the park? He plays Nish who has the mobility of a ****ing fridge freezer.

Who would you suggest plays that role? Nish is not alone in having a lack of pace. Riordan and Stokes have the mobility of a microwave oven, to extend your analogy :wink:

cwilliamson85
cancel the Carlislie and get the boys doing basics.

cant string a 2 yard pass together!!!

disgrace:grr:

Glasgow Hibee
29-07-2010, 08:09 PM
Ha Ha ! we have had 62% possesion and are three goals down.....so much for possesion football:bitchy:

Ryan69
I think its unfair though that Murray seems tobe the only one playing on an icerink.....is this allowed?

Tollhouse Hibee
terrible hibs

its not even worth travelling to leith from aberdeen next week now

Now we don't have 5 in midfield we are being cut open in last 10 more than whole match:bitchy:

7Hero
how long to go, he keeps thanking us for logging in yet doesnt say how long to go..

churchie16
29-07-2010, 08:10 PM
lets be honest when you leave your two best strikers and goal scorers on the bench youve got no chance well done yogi CLOWN !! :grr:

7Hero
ive no seen rankin have a decent pass yet..

Expect no more signings being attracted to ER for the european football!

TheBall'sRound

And sadly the personnel.

So the right tactics but with absolutely no chance of playing them well. Which surely the pre-season games must have given us a small indication about??

how long to go, he keeps thanking us for logging in yet doesnt say how long to go..

less than 5

29-07-2010, 08:11 PM
Who would you suggest plays that role? Nish is not alone in having a lack of pace. Riordan and Stokes have the mobility of a microwave oven, to extend your analogy :wink:

Nish makes Stokes look like Samuel E'too in terms of pace and mobility.

cwilliamson85
I think its unfair though that Murray seems tobe the only one playing on an icerink.....is this allowed?

They seem to be doing fine. Also Hibs play week in week out in Scotland and one thing Scotland is famous for is raining all the time.

jacques_b

and he's been here for a few years...

hiberactive
29-07-2010, 08:12 PM
Is anybody really surprised??? Hughes has done nothing with the defence-sorry,he signed a right back who has hardly played in the last 6 months-im afraid we are going to be the same as last season.

Hal Jordan
4 mins plus stoppage to go.
Torture.

We were dire in Holland,aye it was only friendlies but FFS anyone with a brain could see our type of fitba wisnae working,if he persists in this we will be relegation fodder,I for one dont want to be waiting another 3-4 years on Yogi turning us into the best thing since sliced bread,infront of 4-5 thousand fans.

Imagine the reaction if this pash was actually on the BBC
Last season we lost a lot of goals
Unless there's a few more coming in
It will be the same this season
How come yogi can't see what the proble m is

Not JH's fault.

All the best managers only ask their players to do what they are capable of. We should be playing to our strengths not trying to pass the ball around the back like Barca. Great if you have the players that can play that game but how many times did that nonsense cost us last season? Yogi has been found out big style once again.

29-07-2010, 08:13 PM
Nish makes Stokes look like Samuel E'too in terms of pace and mobility.

Stokes has no pace either though. We need a pacy striker in our team.

Lots of doom and gloom and 'I'm no' gaun on Thursday' comments on this thread when what we need for the return is a full and noisy house and lets see if the Slovenians travel well :agree:

ackeygraham
29-07-2010, 08:14 PM
I say sacked by Xmas - we're crap and the season ain't started yet.

Joke personnel tonight, where the new boy at the back, midgets again in midfield...where it the matty jack role...

Nish - If he was a decent target man i'd understand...boy is no pro - Latapy smoked the fags but could get away with it....Nish - you are a joke of a striker.

Yogi - can i get my fiver back for next week......

PotsyHibee

I'd agree, right tactics but maybe not the right personnel. Stokes should have started in place of Nish

steviecarnie
passing to a man in green is it really that hard???

shamo9
Is anybody really surprised??? Hughes has done nothing with the defence-sorry,he signed a right back who has hardly played in the last 6 months-im afraid we are going to be the same as last season.

Who has also been the only defender not making basic errors.

We need Murphy and Bamba (or sell him and get a replacement) back.

Sumner
Hughes, clueless tactics ... again :rolleyes:

29-07-2010, 08:15 PM

I have, it was against St Johnstone last season

Hal Jordan
If I had a fiver for every time I've heard the commentator say 'another mis-hit pass', I wouldnæ need to bother wi a lottery ticket at the weekend.

clueless tactics ... again :rolleyes:

lets be honest when you leave your two best strikers and goal scorers on the bench youve got no chance well done yogi CLOWN !! :grr:

tata yogi

:bye:

Why use 5 across middle :bitchy:

fair doos agree it was right but at 2-0 change it yogi

de graff looks of the pace

TheBall'sRound
The number of times we have passed to absolutely noone in the middle of our own half is astonishing.

You don't need to look any further than that to see our major malfunction in this match.

29-07-2010, 08:16 PM
De Graff almost scores!!

If I had a fiver for every time I've heard the commentator say 'another mis-hit pass', I wouldnæ need to bother wi a lottery ticket at the weekend.

You'd have made even more if they were paying out on 'Thanks for logging in' or 'european adventure'

Wow....we just had a potentially useful attack.

Hal Jordan
de Graff trying a Sauzee there.....

PhoenixHibee
Look a shot!!

Unless things are really dire I'll support Yogi thru this season but some things leave you baffled. We scored 3 in Holland, none from open play, Deeks scored 2 & set the other up so lets leave him on the bench. Also everyone knows defence is weakest part of our team so lets play a formation where the defence have more of the ball than anyone.
Crazy!!

29-07-2010, 08:17 PM
I say sacked by Xmas - we're crap and the season ain't started yet.

Joke personnel tonight, where the new boy at the back, midgets again in midfield...where it the matty jack role...

Nish - If he was a decent target man i'd understand...boy is no pro - Latapy smoked the fags but could get away with it....Nish - you are a joke of a striker.

Yogi - can i get my fiver back for next week......

I wouldn't bet on it. Mixu got away with much worse and he kept him til the end of the season

Lots of doom and gloom and 'I'm no' gaun on Thursday' comments on this thread when what we need for the return is a full and noisy house and lets see if the Slovenians travel well :agree:

Tie is over.

Correct. Anyone who watched Maribor last week could see we were going to struggle big time. They basically have technically better players.

Early goal next week though and it MIGHT be interesting.

declan macmanus

Unless we score early it's going to be a quiet night though...forget AEK type atmos

Unless things are really dire I'll support Yogi thru this season but some things leave you baffled. We scored 3 in Holland, none from open play, Deeks scored 2 & set the other up so lets leave him on the bench. Also everyone knows defence is weakest part of our team so lets play a formation where the defence have more of the ball than anyone.
Crazy!!

Spot on. :agree:

DirtyDeeds
When is this @rse going to come out and say how utterly ashamed he is of the performance of his players, his backroom team, and himself. Sick of these ****in clowns being baby sat and protected.

He backed them over those pitiful 4-5 months, he backed them after the Motherwell debacle. Have some dignity for yourself, and a little respect for the supporters.

Absolutely disgusted with what this man seems to be getting away with in some fans eyes based on the fact he's a 'good Hibbie'. The resources he's had at his disposal should be producing much much more than we've seen in the last 7 months. Please please please walk away you moron, you dont have it.

blairwallace
how many subs can you use? :confused:

29-07-2010, 08:18 PM
why play defensive football if you are a goal or more down try n match them change the shape .... says it all with deeks and stokes on bench :grr:

Hal Jordan
Føcksake Hanlon, are you trying to get Stack injured?

Riordan is the only player out there who gives a ****.

...where it the matty jack role...

...sadly he couldnae be arsed coming back for training....hope everyone remembers that next week rather than sucking up his backside as will likely happen.

Tie is over.

Maybe J but maybe not

A big and noisy ER crowd plus an early goal and you never know

El Gubbz
29-07-2010, 08:19 PM
Just need some **** players to gamble a red and break some legs:wink:

29-07-2010, 08:19 PM
Riordan just kicked out, could have been off.

Wull
29-07-2010, 08:20 PM
If we had started with the attitude we have played the last 10 mins we would still be in this tie, But I'm affraid out tactical guru's stuffed up

Stack limping again.......is he the most injury prone keeper EVER ?!?

What a joke Hibs. Thank christ I never went over.....I pity the poor souls who did. It is unlikely that Maribor (those Giants of European football) will have an easier game this season.

Overpaid t&ssers, the lot of them.

Ft yogi gtf

HibeEC

Didn't Maribor go out of Europe last season by winning 2-3 away in the first leg then getting gubbed 0-3 in their home leg? Think we've missed our chance.

Hal Jordan
Predictions for the attendance at ER?

Supraninja
OH WELL.

Can't really say I'm surprised.

Maybe J but maybe not

And when was the last time anyone saw and experienced that I wonder? :confused:

Russian Hibs Fan
To lose 3-0 to such a small teammm.... I

FT. We are out, don't care what anyone says.

burtis97
Tie is over.

I'm sure Hibs fans would have said when we were 6-2 up at Motherwell, look we've still got 90 mins to play at ER lets get behind the team even though we're all fuming!Lets see if this mob travel and see how they can cope when we throw everything at them(Riordan and Stokes from the start!!)

29-07-2010, 08:21 PM
We can't play defensively when our midfield aren't strong enough to protect our defence.
The third goal was a prime example. Lose the ball softly in midfield, the defence are left exposed and they waltz through and it's easy pickings.

I said that it'd be suicidal to start with the formation we did although I can see why it'd be sensible to play the way we did. Unfortunately we don't have the players or perhaps they don't have the mental focus to pull it off.

I'm feeling very pessimistic right now. I'd love to think that we can play an attacking formation next week, score a quick goal and stun them but I'm more feeling as though they'll just turn up and put 10 men behind the ball for 90 minutes.

Predictions for the attendance at ER?-1

Well that was pish, almost as pish as the HI stream.

Supraninja

Zorro
that was dreadful. really have to hope for a miracle next Thursday - an early goal and all that - but we looked extremely ineffective.

PotsyHibee
Think it's just a tad early for the Yogi must go brigade...seriously! :yawn:

Meh, ive got hee-haw else to do.
Bring it on.

11,000?

TheEastTerrace
FT. *****ing BOOOOOOO! :grr:

steviecarnie
Maybe J but maybe not

aek springs to mind

colmac
We need a manager who understands about tactics. That was a joke. Why play defensive with players who cant fxxkin defend WHY!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe J but maybe not

We're gash J, it's just a continuation of what we saw in the pre-season games. There is no creativity in the team and the centre of defence is an open wound.

Hughes will get ripped for leaving our best players off the pitch, and rightly so.

Glasgow Hibee

Me and my three kids will be there (wish I had not wasted £45 on tickets now :grr:)

cwilliamson85
29-07-2010, 08:22 PM
Maybe J but maybe not

Nots going to help with a big empty stand in the east... PETRIE!!!

Jazza

Hope he goes before Xmas mate, this is still the same crap from last year. Stevie wonder could see our defence is a joke, but any of our managers cant see this,

I am all for giving people a chance however I have run out of faith with him and his stupid tactics. Not go a clue

Not one Hibs fan clapping. says it all really :grr:

aek springs to mind

We got knocked out.

:thumbsup::top marks:rockin::applause: Absolutely spot on Jonnyboy, but unfortunately we'll see/hear the usual booing/abusing/greeting efter about 5 minutes at ER. :confused:

lobster
Bosveldt big time

Correct. Anyone who watched Maribor last week could see we were going to struggle big time. They basically have technically better players.

Russian Hibs Fan
29-07-2010, 08:23 PM
That is a real shame Hibs are worse tnen the amateur team!!!!

29-07-2010, 08:24 PM

It's still Hibs in Europe.
I imagine a lot of people will have their tickets already and will still go.
I refer you to the AEK game. Many said we were dead and buried after losing 2-0. I know we lost 3-0 tonight but football's a funny old game.

From what I saw, I think we'll give this team a doing at ER.
If they score at ER, 5-1 will probably be beyond us, but 3-0 is not out of the question and I'm looking forward to it................
....assuming we actually start with some forwards on the park. :wink:

Awful result - no need for it to have been that way! 3x individual errors cost us the game - Yogis tactics were OK to start with but at 2-0 he really should have introduced Deeks and Stokes. We can beat them at ER I'm sure so no need to despair yet.

While the Maribor team celebrates with their fans the HIbs team has rushed into the dressing room - no real thanks to the Hibs fans who made the long journey - think the team could at least have got that bit right.

Too ****in negative. I can see why he wanted to keep it tight but having no attacking players on the pitch meant no outlet for the full backs which just invited pressure. Riordan and Stokes on the bench, the two most dangerous players in Scotland arguably.

****in nonsense.

Should Bamba be included for next week?

So your quite happy to leave two of Scotland's best strikers on the bench for an important Euro game?

:wtf:

And when was the last time anyone saw and experienced that I wonder? :confused:

Athens game

6-2 game

to name but two

FT. We are out, don't care what anyone says.

Can't wait for next Thursday, we're going to win 16-0 and Eric Schaedler is going to get all 17 of them, I don't care what anyone says.

Tollhouse Hibee
tonight shows hogg is his true class. drop him.

we need a 4-4-2 with natural width and then we stand a chance

smith
hart stephens hanlon murray
spoons de graff miller galbraith
nish riordan

Hal Jordan
29-07-2010, 08:25 PM
The wife just asked if I wanted to go to bed...
"I want to go back in time" was my reply.

Hughes has been given enough time now, it's pretty clear he loves Hibs, but he is NOT a good manager. Even Blobby started with his best players. (In the wrong position, granted, but hey, what's new?)

Hibbie_Cameron
That was a disgraceful performance.

I cant say anything else right now other than we are the masters of our on downfall

We need a manager who understands about tactics. That was a joke. Why play defensive with players who cant fxxkin defend WHY!!!!!!!!!!

What would you ken about it yam fud.

Should Bamba be included for next week?

I'd play him. We missed him big time.:agree:

sparkiehibs
smith
hart hogg stephens murray
de graff mcbride miller galbraith
stokes deek

Stack limping again.......is he the most injury prone keeper EVER ?!?

I recall posting that someone who knows a thing or two about backs suggested that when Stack took his leave of absence at half time, he was possibly finished if it impacted that way with no apparent sign.

Yes he has played again but how many dodgy strains is that he's had since then?

....see the back can impact in many other areas ..:wink:

BullbreedHFC
:confused: WTF was that all about ......... absolutely raging :grr:

scottp1875
When is this @rse going to come out and say how utterly ashamed he is of the performance of his players, his backroom team, and himself. Sick of these ****in clowns being baby sat and protected.

He backed them over those pitiful 4-5 months, he backed them after the Motherwell debacle. Have some dignity for yourself, and a little respect for the supporters.

Absolutely disgusted with what this man seems to be getting away with in some fans eyes based on the fact he's a 'good Hibbie'. The resources he's had at his disposal should be producing much much more than we've seen in the last 7 months. Please please please walk away you moron, you dont have it.

a bit harse, is it not the managers job to back his players. If i remember right did we not get the result we needed in the next game after the motherwell debacle. in terms of resources i dont think he's had much more than any other manager. lets not start writing him and the team off after 1 match. last season was last season, we all start fresh and in terms of producing much much more, we finished 4th in the SPL which im sure most of us would have accepted at the start of last season. hope your going on thurs thou and be a true hibby sticking by the lads

Oscar Lomax
29-07-2010, 08:26 PM
Yep, of course if we played Stokes and Deeks from the start I might not be so pissed off, Of course bringing them on late was all part of Yogi's "master plan"

It baffles me why he leave's our best players on the bench and goes with Nish !!! WTF WTF .....man is a brainless inept bafoon. This is going to be a long hard season guys !!! He was on about Deeks and the world cup ball !!! Why wasnt Deek playing ??? Why didnt he put Stokes up front on his own ???

MarkMc
Well that was pish, almost as pish as the HI stream.

Iraq goals was ok and £6 cheaper :wink: Although Slovenia Tv kept going back to some Slovenian Javelin thrower at the Euro games !!

Thigh ar la
Yes totally pathetic and Hughes has failed again.
But... the fact that some of these guys cant pass the ball, and in any way look bothered, does not help!
They seem to have no direction, shape or objective...

OxoHibby
will be there next week but with a lot less hope and anticipation than 2 hours ago.
that was very poor

29-07-2010, 08:28 PM
Maybe J but maybe not

I think we'll be lucky to get 10,000. Can't see any way back for us here.

Yogi had us beat before we started with some of his comments in the press. Shocking team selection, how he thought we could hold out with that defence is beyond me. At least I assume that's what he was trying to do with Stokes and Riordan benched.

:thumbsup::top marks:rockin::applause: Absolutely spot on Jonnyboy, but unfortunately we'll see/hear the usual booing/abusing/greeting efter about 5 minutes at ER. :confused:

Interesting that folk are saying we looked better in the last ten minutes with Riordan and Stokes on the park.

Tonight Yogi got it badly wrong and he'll need to take the flak for that but at ER he has to go for it and with Riordan and Stokes in the starting eleven we can probably cause some problems for Maribor :agree:

Take the two mistakes out of the match that led to goals and there was not that much between the sides imho. For all the critics of Hughes I can see why he went with the formation he did and personel. It is quite ironic that those slating Hughes forget he was the one in charge that seen us qualify for Europe in the first place. Hopefully all the moaners stay away from ER next week and we have a noisy crowd fully behind the team from the off and just enjoy the game for what it is.

29-07-2010, 08:29 PM
In the second half with stokes and riordan we had a purpose, why start with nish, he's ****ing crap!!!

Hibstrooper
Unfortunately the defence looks just as vunerable as it was in the second half of last season. Far too many silly mistakes. Can't see them not scoring next week.

Stephens looks a real prospect however he is too young to be the answer, we need another CH now!

Gerard
If the Hibs players accept that they are out of the next round of the Europe then they should accept that they are not going to be paid for the home game. The Hibs players have a duty to try and win that game and try and get the club to the next games in Europe.

It will be very difficult but it can be done. It is obvious that JH is only at the beginning of his managerial career with Hibs and he needs at least another season before judgement can me made about his long term suitability for the manager's job at Hibs.

Gerard

bathhibby
I'm coming up for next weeks game but what really hacks me off is some of the passes we made and our inability to control a ball
What do these guys do every day at training ?

Greenway
I'm just waiting for the same old Yogi lines.

"the boys gave me everything", "very unlucky", "played some nice stuff", "they're a right gid side" and they old favorite "you've got tae keep raising the bar".

Give me strength......

jonny
29-07-2010, 08:30 PM
I am not a Hughes hater and am certainly not shouting for his head on a plate but he has to take responsibility for that tonight.
We don't go to Glasgow and drop our 2 best players (Stokes & Deek) Surely, regardless of the situation you have to play to your strengths. Yes by all means try and keep it tight but Yogi left 45 goals last season on the bench and then gave them a go for 10 minutes when we were 3-0 down. They did liven it up though.....

Anyway, Ive got my ticket for the home leg and think we can beat this lot. Whether we can do it by 3 goals is another matter. I'll be staying positive about it and going to ER next week and making as much noise as I possibly can.

Glory Glory

Glasgow Hibee

I agree, better passers, better at protecting the ball, better finishers !

The question should really be - why can a poor country with less than half our population produce significantly better football players than us ?

I don't know the answer but I remember thirty years ago Ernie Walker was put in charge of finding out........ never did hear the outcome of that........ and every year when Scottish teams get embarrased in Europe we say the same things, and we obviously still don't have an answer. :bitchy:

kevohfc
Take the two mistakes out of the match that led to goals and there was not that much between the sides imho. For all the critics of Hughes I can see why he went with the formation he did and personel. It is quite ironic that those slating Hughes forget he was the one in charge that seen us qualify for Europe in the first place. Hopefully all the moaners stay away from ER next week and we have a noisy crowd fully behind the team from the off and just enjoy the game for what it is.

u havin a laff?
we r away in europe n he plays nish upfront himself joke!
should have started riordan n stokes wld have maybe got a goal ayee we mite have got beet 3-1 but leats wld have had a away goal, we tried to b defensive n tht didnt work so hughes has to take the blame

I'd play him. We missed him big time.:agree:

Agree. Got a lot to prove, to the manager, his teammates and the fans.

Plus Maribor won't know much about him

aye qualified after 16 games without a win. I'll be cheering next week, but lets not do the yamish and hide from the truth

bob12345

Why should it have ever went away to be fair? One win against a Dundee United second string. And now right back to where we were when the like of Hamilton and St Johnstone were putting goals past us for fun. The tactics and persistence with certain personnel are just so naive. No, I couldn't do a better job, but so many managers out there could. Maybe Yogi is great on the training park, I couldn't say without seeing, but in that case he should be the first team coach - not a manager who's main jobs include tactics and team selection.

I really think he is trying his best, just doesn't have the brain for it.

Greenblood70
One word...WOEFUL.

Tollhouse Hibee
29-07-2010, 08:31 PM
In the second half with stokes and riordan we had a purpose, why start with nish, he's ****ing crap!!!

piss off with the nish bashing. he always gives 100% and today was a thankless task

Emerald
The thing that annoys me about yogi is that when things are obviously not working and we look like its only time before we loose another, he does nothing until it happens. Waiting until we were 3 down before having a bit of a go is way too late. We needed to give them something to think about instead of this pass about in your own half until you loose the ball stuff. We needed to give them some real pressure to get them rattled. The tie is over as they will score at ER I fear. Really pathetic :bitchy:

jonny
u havin a laff?
we r away in europe n he plays nish upfront himself joke!
should have started riordan n stokes wld have maybe got a goal ayee we mite have got beet 3-1 but leats wld have had a away goal, we tried to b defensive n tht didnt work so hughes has to take the blame

:agree::agree:

As I said, 45 goals last season on the bench....

29-07-2010, 08:33 PM
Perhaps, but if it wasn't for his 5 goals in two at the end of last season, we'd be moaning about something not footy related right now..... :agree:

kevohfc
29-07-2010, 08:34 PM
piss off with the nish bashing. he always gives 100% and today was a thankless task

he gives 100%? i cld doo that, it isnt gd enuf for europe

Ferryhibby
29-07-2010, 08:34 PM
I thought they looked a bit sharper than us suppose it all goes down to playing more games than us also thought the 2nd was a fouls on Mcbride but still it wouldnt be hibs if we didnt do things the hard way

euro Hibby
29-07-2010, 08:35 PM
not too surprised , Slovenian football is currently a better standard than in Scotland. When I saw the line up decided not to stuggle to pick up the link or waste 6 quid !
People forget Yogi was lucky last year so this year is a big one for him. The fact that he picked that team and set them out suggests he knew they were in for hammering. NO shame guys just understand that Scottish football is third rate.

Hal Jordan
29-07-2010, 08:37 PM
My stream was fine. Unfortunately.

Speaking as someone who used to occasionally play in goals and has a føcked back now at the age of 37, if Stack has anything like my injury, he's finished.
I have a small 'lump' of bone on the L1 (lumbar 1, the first bone in your back)
It can occasional tweak the muscle and nerve tissue surrounding it, and this causes a muscle spasm which results in a lock. Accompanied by severe agonizing pain.

This came about after I landed on the base of my back after being bumped into when I was up in the air reaching for a cross, when I was 21. My back was never the same again, and I even had to quit playing fives shortly after. I can only run for a few kilometres now before the pain kicks in.

29-07-2010, 08:37 PM
Hibs and Celtic have proved that Scottish football is well and truly pi5h !:agree:

no wonder so many sweaty socks follow english clubs

29-07-2010, 08:39 PM
Interesting that folk are saying we looked better in the last ten minutes with Riordan and Stokes on the park.

Tonight Yogi got it badly wrong and he'll need to take the flak for that but at ER he has to go for it and with Riordan and Stokes in the starting eleven we can probably cause some problems for Maribor :agree:

That comment sums things up for me and illustrates how bad we really are. We should be doing better than "probably causing them problems".

We STILL have no pace in the team and we are not strong enough. We also have an injury prone 1st choice keeper who is sh*te to boot.

Dreadful stuff yet again from Hibs.

T&ssers.

Hibs and Celtic have proved that Scottish football is well and truly pi5h !:agree:

no wonder so many sweaty socks follow english clubs

Least we had shots on goal, unlike Celtc.
:cool2:

woody47

I couldn't give a flying ferk how much percent nish gives. 100% ****** is 100% ******:grr:
Why defend the indefensible. All this cr@p about how much he loves Hibs blah blah blah. So what? I really wish him and Rankin would share a taxi as far away from ER as possible unless they want to buy ST and watch from the stand.

Glasgow Hibee
The fact that he picked that team and set them out suggests he knew they were in for hammering. NO shame guys just understand that Scottish football is third rate.

Sad but true....:boo hoo:

khib70
29-07-2010, 08:40 PM
Eh? It's just a continuation of the fiasco that was the end of last season FFS. It's the "Yogi is the man because we scraped past Dundee United reserves after 16 winless games" brigade who should be having a word with themselves.

Hopeless team selection, hopeless tactics, hopeless manager.

I feel really sorry for the fans who made so much effort to get there, and were magnificent. They deserve better - much better.

29-07-2010, 08:40 PM
Chin up lads; we might get Sproule and Murphy by next Thursday.

erin-go-bragh87
29-07-2010, 08:41 PM
I couldn't give a flying ferk how much percent nish gives. 100% ****** is 100% ******:grr:
Why defend the indefensible. All this cr@p about how much he loves Hibs blah blah blah. So what? I really wish him and Rankin would share a taxi as far away from ER as possible unless they want to buy ST and watch from the stand.

29-07-2010, 08:42 PM
What a lot of pish that was :grr:. Another £6 ($10) down the drain. He has to start with Ant and Deek next week.

colmac
29-07-2010, 08:43 PM
What would you ken about it yam fud.

Yam Fud cos my post count is low get a ***xin grip you sad prick!

29-07-2010, 08:43 PM

Surely you have got to play to your strengths. We are a disaster defensively so why try and play a defensive game? We are strong up front and as everyone knows ( except Yogi)European football is all about scoring away from home. As for next weeks game it is now a damp squib and thankfully I will be sunning myself in Tenerife and not wasting more precious time watching that bunch of losers.

Glasgow Hibee
29-07-2010, 08:44 PM

The point is, if he is giving 100% then he's doing all he can. It's not his fault if it's not good enough. If he's not good enough then the manager should not play him. What's he supposed to do - refuse to play ?

29-07-2010, 08:44 PM
Eh? It's just a continuation of the fiasco that was the end of last season FFS. It's the "Yogi is the man because we scraped past Dundee United reserves after 16 winless games" brigade who should be having a word with themselves.

Hopeless team selection, hopeless tactics, hopeless manager.

Would you rather have Mixu or Williamson, or a disinterested Mowbray?
As another poster said, without the two mistakes, they probably would've beaten us 1-0 which would be an entirely different story.

Personal errors cost us tonight. I suppose you think it's Yogi's fault for picking those particular players, but how many of us would say Murray shouldn't play, for example?

Yogi can't predict these things. He can't predict what errors people will make. With the exception of Stokes and Riordan, who else should've started that game?

29-07-2010, 08:45 PM
I'm not too surprised by that result, to be honest.

I saw a bit of their match against Videoton last week so I knew that they are a good side. I thought Hughes was correct to start with the team that he did although it has to be said that we looked much more of a threat once Riordan and Stokes came on.

I think we need to start with all our attacking players next week. The tie is probably beyond us now but we just have to hope for the best, try to get an early goal and take it from there.

If we lose a goal next week, we can forget it.

delbert
29-07-2010, 08:47 PM
2 weeks ago I posted about Hogg's limitations as both a captain and a player, wholehearted, but nothing more than a journeyman, and suggested that a big dominating CH and a midfield general were priorities. Could not believe that Yogi went into the press today before the game saying our squad is a bit threadbare!! Is it not Your job John to sort that out by, oh I dont know, signing players!! And before anybody says good players dont grow on trees, if somebody is actually going to say that there are no options out there better than what we have in our first team, then they are seriously out to lunch. The deficiencies in our team have been utterly apparent to all except our current management team since before Christmas, and have not been addressed. We got rid of one manager, with the main charge being he was tactically inept. Well ladies and gentlemen tonight I present Exhibit A, I await those who say there is much of a difference between 2 good Hibbies, Mixu and John, whose tactical abilities as far as I can see are non existent. We are now in a scenario where pre-season is almost finished, the real stuff has started (and in European terms finished) and we have to get guys in to replace the duds in our side, and instead of having done some work together with the players we keep, they will be going into the competitive games blind, way to go Yogi, way togo.

khib70
29-07-2010, 08:50 PM
As another poster said, without the two mistakes, they probably would've beaten us 1-0 which would be an entirely different story.

Personal errors cost us tonight. I suppose you think it's Yogi's fault for picking those particular players, but how many of us would say Murray shouldn't play, for example?

Yogi can't predict these things. He can't predict what errors people will make. With the exception of Stokes and Riordan, who else should've started that game?
Answered your own question there. With the exception of our two top goalscorers???

Personal errors will happen when a suspect defence is constantly on the back foot. Scoring away from home is critical in Europe. It's much easier to defend on your own turf.

And criticising Yogi is not defending WIlliamson or Mixu. That's a sloppy argument. We were outplayed in every department and the buck stops at the manager's desk.

29-07-2010, 08:50 PM

:agree:....Jim MacLean played such tactics but with a hard, tough, well drilled team that knew each others regular positioning and likely movements over a few seasons.

What puzzles me is did we have a plan from Brian Rice based on a hot, stifling night in the dry with the plans geared towards that but the heavy rained has thrown that all out the window and they were too scared to change it on the day or thereafter.

If so, it's plain managerial weakness that will never be taken on board.

29-07-2010, 08:53 PM
I can just imagine their managers face when he was scanning through the team sheets. Right biys we need to watch out for Stokes and Riordan, 2 top scorers for them last season, wait a minute they arent playing.

Sounds like great tactics! 2 top scorers, lets leave them on the bench. All last season hibs never played so negative regardless of who the opposition was. Yogi goes to Holland plays a couple of bounce matches and thinks he has it figured out. heres a thought, why not play the type of football that got us into Europe in the first place.

Yogi's tactics = try to pass the ball 47 times before going forward, if going forward and you have an option of passing the ball forward or passing the ball backwards choose backwards. If 1 or 2 down continue to pass the ball around without any sort of urgency to move forward.

Does Yogi know the impact of an away goal? If not, here it is for you yogi. If Maribor score at ER next week we will need to score 5!

sparkiehibs
29-07-2010, 08:56 PM

Murray made one mistake which he doesnt do any other time

Nish however was absent the whole game like he always is

Rankin was constantly giving the ball away

As was spoony as was Hanlon

We have no width, have no crosses and no one who drives forward from midfield

Our two best players are Deek and Stokes yet we leave them on the bench

Danny is a left footed winger so why are we playing spoony there out of position.

Bring big stephens in at CH as he looks comfortable

Bring in Danny and tell him to attack the sideline to give us something different.

Play Deek and Stokes up front and drop Rankin

Play Miller and mcbride in middle and allow de graff to work in from the right and hart will overlap.

As Murray and Hart push forward, Mcbride drops back to make a 3 man D

Stack looks to be unfit so put in Smith

I would play

Smith
Hart Hogg Stephens Murray
De Graff Miller McBride Galbraith
Stokes Riordan

29-07-2010, 08:57 PM
My stream was fine. Unfortunately.

Speaking as someone who used to occasionally play in goals and has a føcked back now at the age of 37, if Stack has anything like my injury, he's finished.
I have a small 'lump' of bone on the L1 (lumbar 1, the first bone in your back)
It can occasional tweak the muscle and nerve tissue surrounding it, and this causes a muscle spasm which results in a lock. Accompanied by severe agonizing pain.

This came about after I landed on the base of my back after being bumped into when I was up in the air reaching for a cross, when I was 21. My back was never the same again, and I even had to quit playing fives shortly after. I can only run for a few kilometres now before the pain kicks in.

a few km, I cannae run up the stairs ya lucky barsteward:greengrin

fair enough, I'm a fat *******:wink:

29-07-2010, 08:57 PM

You have to ask why there was mistakes! They pushed us, if they made mistakes it would be miles away from goal with no risk. Yogi needed to look at the weather today and expect there would be some mistakes. Simply ignoring the style of play that got us into Europe and adopting such play that requires every player to be very comfortable on the ball and know each others game well is not the answer. The fact is, they could have taken a good few more goals off us tonight.

29-07-2010, 08:59 PM
Answered your own question there. With the exception of our two top goalscorers???

Personal errors will happen when a suspect defence is constantly on the back foot. Scoring away from home is critical in Europe. It's much easier to defend on your own turf.

And criticising Yogi is not defending WIlliamson or Mixu. That's a sloppy argument. We were outplayed in every department and the buck stops at the manager's desk.

I can see this just running in circles. Never mind. :rolleyes:

29-07-2010, 09:00 PM
I would play

Smith
Stokes Riordan

Probably agree with that. No room for the return of the prodigal Bamba? :cool2:

29-07-2010, 09:02 PM
You have to ask why there was mistakes! They pushed us, if they made mistakes it would be miles away from goal with no risk. Yogi needed to look at the weather today and expect there would be some mistakes. Simply ignoring the style of play that got us into Europe and adopting such play that requires every player to be very comfortable on the ball and know each others game well is not the answer. The fact is, they could have taken a good few more goals off us tonight.

Can't argue with that really. On the subject of mistakes, I expect, as you say, the conditions played a part, maybe nerves too?

sparkiehibs
29-07-2010, 09:05 PM
Probably agree with that. No room for the return of the prodigal Bamba? :cool2:

If he had had more training/games etc. I might have thought about it.

Depends which of the two bambas we get

Bamba before the cup of nations or bamba after??

Also, need to know that hughes and the team can trust him

RMQ1967
29-07-2010, 09:06 PM

Agree with this - thought we looked sharp & some nice passages of play - it's not quite there yet but it's in the post.

Silly mistakes by the youngsters cost us big time. I've criticised Yogi big time in the past some people need to get a grip - he cant do much about individual errors like those.

To me it looks like we're back on the right track - we lost a few goals tonight but there was never 3 in it!!

Never fails to amaze me how little some of out "supporters" know about how the game should be played.

29-07-2010, 09:10 PM
Can't argue with that really. On the subject of mistakes, I expect, as you say, the conditions played a part, maybe nerves too?

I think nerves and conditions made a great deal of difference today. Playing the way Yogi wanted today where we try and keep the ball off a team on their own turf when we hadnt played a competative game and it was pouring rain was the main culprit. Asking the players to try and keep the ball for a long time when they must havbe been nervy just puts a lot of pressure on the players.

Spoony was out of position and against their best player in those conditions is a strange one too. I think Yogi got the tactics wrong based on the players and match practice we have had.

If you are a manager at a club the size of hibs you need to play a system that sounds the squad you have, you cant try fitting players into a system you think is correct if the players are not capable of playing it.

Our squad is designed for attacking, quick passing in the forward direction. Make them defend because we are going forward.

I just cant get over Yogi leaving the 2 best goalscoring threats on the bench when there is such an importance for an away goal. Nish will get the odd goal but only when another forward is playing as Nish is rubbish at creating his own chances.

I would sum today up as a total tactical meltdown where it looks like a manager doesnt have a clue of his squads abilities and best attributes.

29-07-2010, 09:14 PM
Agree with this - thought we looked sharp & some nice passages of play - it's not quite there yet but it's in the post.

Silly mistakes by the youngsters cost us big time. I've criticised Yogi big time in the past some people need to get a grip - he cant do much about individual errors like those.

To me it looks like we're back on the right track - we lost a few goals tonight but there was never 3 in it!!

Never fails to amaze me how little some of out "supporters" know about how the game should be played.

Sharp? Yeah they looked sharp when they were playing passy on the edge of their own box whith the opposition players about 20 yards away! If we were sharp we wouldnt have given the ball away so much!

I agree with you, there was never 3 in it, there should have been more, they had plenty oportunities to get more, not to mention the couple of very good chances they had before they scored.

It never amazes me how some "supporters" cant see when things are wrong because they wont have a bad word said about anything to do with their team. IMO its people being realistic and not people just putting it down to another bad day at the office!

29-07-2010, 09:14 PM
Murray made one mistake which he doesnt do any other time

Nish however was absent the whole game like he always is

Rankin was constantly giving the ball away

As was spoony as was Hanlon

We have no width, have no crosses and no one who drives forward from midfield

Our two best players are Deek and Stokes yet we leave them on the bench

Danny is a left footed winger so why are we playing spoony there out of position.

Bring big stephens in at CH as he looks comfortable

Bring in Danny and tell him to attack the sideline to give us something different.

Play Deek and Stokes up front and drop Rankin

Play Miller and mcbride in middle and allow de graff to work in from the right and hart will overlap.

As Murray and Hart push forward, Mcbride drops back to make a 3 man D

Stack looks to be unfit so put in Smith

I would play

Smith
Stokes Riordan

Ace post m8. :agree:

I would rather see Murray in midfield in place of McBride, and a new LB brought in. Perhaps even Stevenson filling in.

I don't think Murray has the pace anymore to be a left back. Perhaps a more sitting midfield role would suit him.

The fact remains though how is it that we as supporters can see the obvious yet the management team can't?

*EDIT*

I should mention that I understand and agree with the method of football Hughes had decided on, but I just don't think our current squad are up to it. This is what I meant in terms of what the management team couldn't see.