View Full Version : Match Updates Vitesse Arnhem 1 v Hibernian 1 - FT

24-07-2010, 11:15 AM
Game starts in a couple hours, anyone there?

24-07-2010, 11:21 AM

what time in uk?

Petrie's Tache
24-07-2010, 11:27 AM
what time in uk?

In a couple of hours I would guess?:wink:

FT'J'Bo's
24-07-2010, 11:27 AM
what time in uk?

http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://www.vitesse.nl/&ei=ms1KTNLeIIKQjAe6y-DXDA&sa=X&oi=translate&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CDUQ7gEwAg&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dvitesse%2Barnhem%26hl%3Den%26prmd%3Dv

Gorebridge Hibb
24-07-2010, 11:32 AM

My mum and dad have been there for all 4 matches. Staying at the team hotel in Pappendal tonight and home tomorrow.

rebhar
24-07-2010, 11:45 AM
Can you watch this game on Hibernian TV?

7-Heaven
24-07-2010, 11:49 AM
Can you watch this game on Hibernian TV?

Was just checking, there is no coverage, not even a commentary :bitchy:

24-07-2010, 11:53 AM
Was just checking, there is no coverage, not even a commentary :bitchy:

The venue doesn't have the necessary media facilities to allow coverage.

rebhar
24-07-2010, 12:33 PM
Hibernian: Graham Stack; David Wotherspoon, David Stephens, Steven Thicot, Lewis Stevenson; Danny Galbraith, Edwin de Graaf, John Rankin, Derek Riordan, Colin Nish, Anthony Stokes.

Subs: Graeme Smith, Michael Hart, Ian Murray, Liam Miller, Kevin McBride, Chris Hogg, Lee Currie, Paul Hanlon.

24-07-2010, 12:36 PM
Hibernian: Graham Stack; David Wotherspoon, David Stephens, Steven Thicot, Lewis Stevenson; Danny Galbraith, Edwin de Graaf, John Rankin, Derek Riordan, Colin Nish, Anthony Stokes.

Subs: Graeme Smith, Michael Hart, Ian Murray, Liam Miller, Kevin McBride, Chris Hogg, Lee Currie, Paul Hanlon.

I would have thought Yogi would have been near the starting line up for Thursday for today's game.
Seemingly not!

24-07-2010, 12:37 PM
The venue doesn't have the necessary media facilities to allow coverage.

I thought they were playing the game at the Gelredome (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GelreDome)? If not, where is it being held?

24-07-2010, 12:40 PM

Very attack minded side :agree:

I'd be happy with similar for next season..

Stack

Hart
Stephens
Hanlon
Murray

Wotherspoon
De Graaf
Miller
Galbraith

Stokes
Riordan

24-07-2010, 12:42 PM
I take it Mr "SolShinesOutMaarse" hasn't turned up yet. Any news on when he plans to honour the club with his presence?

24-07-2010, 12:42 PM
I would have thought Yogi would have been near the starting line up for Thursday for today's game.
Seemingly not!

I'm surprised by this too

24-07-2010, 12:44 PM
I thought they were playing the game at the Gelredome (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GelreDome)? If not, where is it being held?

At the Polis Direct Stadion, in Driel.

24-07-2010, 12:44 PM
I take it Mr "SolShinesOutMaarse" hasn't turned up yet. Any news on when he plans to honour the club with his presence?

SSN saying we'll hold talks with him next week.

Presumably thats dependant on him not being too tired to talk though after he played 400 games for us last season.

24-07-2010, 12:45 PM
Seemingly not!

I'm surprised by this too

Maribor have people at the game. Hughes won't want to give anything away.

24-07-2010, 12:45 PM

SSN saying we'll hold talks with him next week.

Presumably thats dependant on him not being too tired to talk though after he played 400 games for us last season.

24-07-2010, 12:47 PM

Or maybe one or two injuries as suggested on another thread.

24-07-2010, 12:52 PM
"I'm aware that Maribor are over here watching us and everything has been done for a reason. The heart rate monitors that the players wear every day in games and in training have told us that one or two of them are starting to fatigue.

"So we have taken that into account. But this is a game that we are looking forward to."

24-07-2010, 12:52 PM

I would have thought that making sure our team is properly prepared would have taken priority over that.

I trust Yogi though so hopefully he knows what he's doing, i'd have prefered us to treat this one like a competitive game though considering they've had 1 (possibly 2) league games and a 2 europa league games already this season and all we've had his low key bounce games.

24-07-2010, 12:55 PM

You answered my question before i even asked it, brilliant :greengrin

24-07-2010, 12:57 PM
Originally Posted by John Hughes
"I'm aware that Maribor are over here watching us and everything has been done for a reason. The heart rate monitors that the players wear every day in games and in training have told us that one or two of them are starting to fatigue.

"So we have taken that into account. But this is a game that we are looking forward to..

Anybody know what Bamba's reading was?
:stirrer:

Why can't he leave with a bit if style and respect a-la Murphy, Sproule, Thomson, etc?
;-)

24-07-2010, 01:03 PM
You answered my question before i even asked it, brilliant :greengrin

All part of the service :greengrin

24-07-2010, 01:07 PM
Anyone ken whats happening :dunno:

24-07-2010, 01:08 PM
The players aren't playing in the numbers shown on the team sheet.

All for the benefit of the spies from Maribor no doubt!

24-07-2010, 01:09 PM
Anyone ken whats happening :dunno:

Updates will be thin on the ground. We've got someone at the game though so we'll get goal updates at least.

24-07-2010, 01:10 PM
Updates will be thin on the ground. We've got someone at the game though so we'll get goal updates at least.

Nice one Mikey :aok:

24-07-2010, 01:16 PM
Slow start - de Graaf showing well, as is Stephens.

24-07-2010, 01:33 PM
Pretty tame stuff so far.

Matty Jack is at the game!

24-07-2010, 01:36 PM

Can you confirm what role he is fulfilling?:greengrin

24-07-2010, 01:36 PM

How old is he now? :hmmm:

Kevvy1875
24-07-2010, 01:37 PM
Does anyone think this game is 'A bridge too Far'?:rolleyes:

Mon' the Hibs:greengrin

24-07-2010, 01:43 PM
1-0.

Stack OG. Will try to find out more..............

blairwallace
24-07-2010, 01:45 PM
Whats the team for vitesse arnhem? As they are my dutch team and all?

Chuckie
24-07-2010, 01:46 PM
Hibernian give us a goooooooooooooooal.

24-07-2010, 01:47 PM
1-0.

Stack OG. Will try to find out more..............

typical goalkeepin as usael

24-07-2010, 01:49 PM
Wee bit more info on the goal. It seems he punched the ball into the net from a corner!

He's since made a brilliant save to stop them going 2 up.

24-07-2010, 01:50 PM
Half time.

nickwhibs
24-07-2010, 02:06 PM
Wee bit more info on the goal. It seems he punched the ball into the net from a corner!

He's since made a brilliant save to stop them going 2 up.

Mark Brown for Thursday night please

At The Edge
24-07-2010, 02:12 PM
According to the 'offical' site, the goal was scored by their no.40 Roy De Ruiter, (sounds like a Butlins holiday camp comedian) :greengrin

24-07-2010, 02:13 PM
Half time subs -Smith and Currie on for Stack and Nish.

24-07-2010, 02:14 PM
Guys and gals, can we keep this one on topic please :wink:

Ta.

Torto
24-07-2010, 02:15 PM
Just spoke with my mate who is at the game and he said wasn't at fault for the goal just before everyone jumps to conclusions

Ernie Cobra
24-07-2010, 02:18 PM
Just spoke with my mate who is at the game and he said wasn't at fault for the goal just before everyone jumps to conclusions

i doubt your mate could have done anything......tell him not to worry and not to let it get him down, tomorrows another day etc etc :wink:

24-07-2010, 02:19 PM
i doubt your mate could have done anything......tell him not to worry and not to let it get him down, tomorrows another day etc etc :wink:

:hilarious :hilarious :hilarious

24-07-2010, 02:20 PM
my laddie and wee nephew at game,waiting on some text info from them,but they may be pished:wink:

24-07-2010, 02:21 PM

:top marks:faf::faf:

24-07-2010, 02:22 PM

24-07-2010, 02:24 PM
my laddie and wee nephew at game,waiting on some text info from them,but they may be pished:wink:Quick update fi my son...........Da, never made it,Lambert took wrong directions,ended up at the wrang stadium! keep us updated wi news from .net!:boo hoo:

24-07-2010, 02:24 PM
Sounds like we are trying to confuse Maribor with our selection and tactics

I hope?

Ernie Cobra
24-07-2010, 02:25 PM
my laddie and wee nephew at game,waiting on some text info from them,but they may be pished:wink:

Aye not like you have any previous experience of being pished on a European adventure :wink:

I hope one of them has your t shirt on!:wink:

Torto
24-07-2010, 02:25 PM
Ha ha what a clown, that will teach me for doing updates from my phone

You knew what I meant tho

24-07-2010, 02:26 PM
The players aren't playing in the numbers shown on the team sheet.

All for the benefit of the spies from Maribor no doubt !

:faf: :cool2: Sly

Ernie Cobra
24-07-2010, 02:27 PM
Quick update fi my son...........Da, never made it,Lambert took wrong directions,ended up at the wrang stadium! keep us updated wi news from .net!:boo hoo:

typo? or has your laddie decided to adopt a weegie accent for the trip?

24-07-2010, 02:31 PM
75 minutes played incase anyone wanted to know.

edit: mate was spraffing *****.

24-07-2010, 02:35 PM
1-1, Riordan.

24-07-2010, 02:35 PM
1-1 :thumbsup:

24-07-2010, 02:36 PM
Go on DEEKS:thumbsup:

Clearly loving being a father...keep it up Deek :wink:

1-1, Riordan.

Deeko :cool2:

24-07-2010, 02:37 PM
Deeks again. :thumbsup:

C'mon the Cabbage.

24-07-2010, 02:41 PM
1-1, Riordan.tell yogi to get Deeks off,wrap him in cotton wool till next week

24-07-2010, 02:41 PM
Deeks is a lazy bassa though, all he does is score goals!

24-07-2010, 02:43 PM
Deeks is a lazy bassa though, all he does is score goals!

24-07-2010, 02:44 PM
Anyone know what formation Hibs are playing. 4-4-2 or 4-5-1. :thumbsup:

24-07-2010, 02:46 PM
There is one Derek Riordan - FACT - END OF! :thumbsup:

GET HIM SIGNED UP LONG TERM HIBS FFS! :agree:

Hibby D
24-07-2010, 02:46 PM
Anyone know what formation Hibs are playing. 4-4-2 or 4-5-1. :thumbsup:

I believe it's 4-5-scoringmachine :wink:

24-07-2010, 02:47 PM
Deeks is a lazy bassa though, all he does is score goals!:agree:useless,lazy skinny bassa,:rolleyes:

Danny_Hibee
24-07-2010, 02:47 PM
anyone know what the goal was like?

24-07-2010, 02:49 PM
tell yogi to get Deeks off,wrap him in cotton wool till next week

And a new improved contract for the lad. Petrie get it sorted. :greengrin

24-07-2010, 02:49 PM

24-07-2010, 02:50 PM

:greengrin :thumbsup: :agree:

The ball went over the white line below the crossbow and between the 2 posts, Hibs players raised their arms aloft and shouted GOAL..!!

There is one Derek Riordan - FACT - END OF! :thumbsup:

GET HIM SIGNED UP LONG TERM HIBS FFS! :agree:seriously have been saying this for a long time,wonder what the management/boardroom think about his value.........to Hibernian fc,never mind in monetary value at this moment in time,if sold

vantango79
24-07-2010, 02:52 PM
And a new improved contract for the lad. Petrie get it sorted. :greengrin

and get shot of 'am a superstar' bamba

:bye:

24-07-2010, 02:52 PM
The ball went over the white line below the crossbow and between the 2 posts, Hibs players raised their arms aloft and shouted GOAL..!!

:confused: :wink:

24-07-2010, 02:53 PM

Sure you're no thinking about a crossbar or have we signed William Tell?. :wink:

24-07-2010, 02:54 PM
seriously have been saying this for a long time,wonder what the management/boardroom think about his value.........to Hibernian fc,never mind in monetary value at this moment in time,if sold

He's PRICELESS! :agree: Living the dream and banging them in for THE team! He's the man! :thumbsup:

1-1, full time.

How long to go.

24-07-2010, 02:57 PM
Sure you're no thinking about a crossbar or have we signed William Tell?. :wink:

Switzerland should have picked him for the World Cup, no wonder they struggled for goals without him.

Greenblood70
24-07-2010, 02:58 PM
There would probably be a school of thought from some people that Riordan shouldn't start in the away leg of the Euro games. It would be madness imo not to play him..if anyone is capable of getting a goal out of nothing it's him.

Decent result today tho' and we've accounted ourselves reasonably well all things considered over there.

24-07-2010, 02:59 PM
Sure you're no thinking about a crossbar or have we signed William Tell?. :wink:The crossbar canibal?

24-07-2010, 03:00 PM
Are the players coming back to Edinburgh before flying out to Slovenia or are we just training in Holland for another few days before making the shorter trip?

24-07-2010, 03:00 PM
Lots of positive signs as to us keeping deek long term:
1. Made captain against den haag
2. rejoined the squad in holland day after birth of his lassie.
3. Praised to hilt by yogi for above, esp in comparison with bamba.
4. Playung great and scoring goals galore.

24-07-2010, 03:02 PM
Bloody predictive text..! William Tell couldnae strike from 30 yards the way Deek can...

24-07-2010, 03:03 PM
I'm not 100% sure he does enough? Sure he can score lots of goals, some are wonderful to watch, but is that enough?

nickwhibs
24-07-2010, 03:04 PM
Would take this scoreline on Thursday :agree:. In fact, would take any scoreline that involves a Hibs goal for the fans at the game to celebrate :thumbsup:- and of course with us still being in the tie!

24-07-2010, 03:05 PM
I'm not 100% sure he does enough? Sure he can score lots of goals, some are wonderful to watch, but is that enough?

Possibly paraphrasing from every football commentator since the beginning of time, it's goals what win matches.

fife hfc
24-07-2010, 03:05 PM
Good result considering the side we put out. None of the back four will play on Thursday ( Wotherspoon likely into midfield). Miller and Mcbride to come in to the midfield and fringe players got a good run out, successful workout.

Stack to me has to start on Thursday even if he played his part in their goal today. He is the best communicator and organizer in the back five and we need that as Hogg or Murray do not fill this role imho.

24-07-2010, 03:06 PM
Bloody predictive text..! William Tell couldnae strike from 30 yards the way Deek can...

Yer persistent I'll give you that :greengrin

24-07-2010, 03:09 PM
Deeks is The Daddy, fact, end of etc etc!! :wink:

24-07-2010, 03:12 PM

fife hfc
24-07-2010, 03:13 PM
There would probably be a school of thought from some people that Riordan shouldn't start in the away leg of the Euro games. It would be madness imo not to play him..if anyone is capable of getting a goal out of nothing it's him.

Decent result today tho' and we've accounted ourselves reasonably well all things considered over there.

Play him upfront or a free role in behind Nish or stokes not in midfield as we expose Murray when he plays in that position (not deeks fault its just not his strong point). we may well find that our best chance of a goal is from a set piece and therefore we need our dead ball specialist on the pitch.

24-07-2010, 03:19 PM
Good result considering the side we put out. None of the back four will play on Thursday ( Wotherspoon likely into midfield). Miller and Mcbride to come in to the midfield and fringe players got a good run out, successful workout.

Stack to me has to start on Thursday even if he played his part in their goal today. He is the best communicator and organizer in the back five and we need that as Hogg or Murray do not fill this role imho.

Looking at the squad list for Vitesse it wasn't their strongest side either. The two Vitesse players mentioned in the half-time report on the official site are youngsters.

24-07-2010, 03:33 PM
Deeks is The Daddy, fact, end of etc etc!! :wink:

Captain as well for today. :thumbsup:

24-07-2010, 03:35 PM

And you call that a goal!! - tell that to Sepp Blatter! :wink:

24-07-2010, 03:37 PM
Captain as well for today. :thumbsup:

Again? This is becoming a regular occurrence :greengrin

Eaststand
24-07-2010, 07:24 PM

:top marksspot on and Yogi would have been daft to give Maribor any clue about how we play and who does what for the team ....keeping the spies guessing is fine by me :agree:

24-07-2010, 07:25 PM
Bit late in the day to tell you (am not long back from the match) but Deeks took a free kick from about 20 yards and it hit the wall. As it flew back towards him he leathered a cracking shot through a ruck of players and into the net

Quality stuff as usual :thumbsup:

24-07-2010, 07:54 PM

Seriously????

vahibbie
24-07-2010, 08:09 PM

Aye, it is.

24-07-2010, 08:15 PM
Aye, it is.

Seriously????

:fishin::na na:

24-07-2010, 08:21 PM
Bit late in the day to tell you (am not long back from the match) but Deeks took a free kick from about 20 yards and it hit the wall. As it flew back towards him he leathered a cracking shot through a ruck of players and into the net

that's where his deficiencies shine through though JC...did he run to meet the return ball or just sort of dawdle towards it...:wink:

Prof. Shaggy
24-07-2010, 08:39 PM

I think this was a mistake.
Now the Maribor spies will know he can do this.:confused:

24-07-2010, 09:09 PM
Seriously????

Aye, it is.

:fishin::na na:

Best ignored chaps. He may get bored if people stop biting.

24-07-2010, 09:12 PM
I think this was a mistake.
Now the Maribor spies will know he can do this.:confused:

Aye, but when they realise that they can't stop him doing it again they'll probably tell their team not to bother turning up. A yogi masterstroke:wink:.

25-07-2010, 12:28 AM

So does he get an assist for his own goal as well. :greengrin

25-07-2010, 12:34 AM
Two defeats, a win and a draw. Not bad playing 4 top division Dutch teams in a week. Apart from the game against Herclares, the other results would be decent/good away results in Europe.

I think it's been great preperation or the European games. :thumbsup:

wazoo1875
25-07-2010, 12:53 AM
Two defeats, a win and a draw. Not bad playing 4 top division Dutch teams in a week. Apart from the game against Herclares, the other results would be decent/good away results in Europe.

I think it's been great preperation or the European games. :thumbsup:
I agree mate , good preperation for what i think will be a very hard game against a team team who should be sharper than us at this stage of the new season. I would be happy with a narrow defeat if we could get a goal over there. C'mon Hibs , you can do this and set up a nice big tie in the next round:thumbsup:

25-07-2010, 01:36 AM
Naebody worried that the only way we are scoring is via Riordan free kicks either directly or indirectly? :confused:

Just to chuck in a bit of negativity, likes :wink:

25-07-2010, 08:15 AM
Naebody worried that the only way we are scoring is via Riordan free kicks either directly or indirectly? :confused:

Just to chuck in a bit of negativity, likes :wink:
Seeing as goals from free kicks are not less valuable than any other kind of goal, no, I'm not worried.:greengrin