View Full Version : Maribor - Planes, Trains, Automobiles & Hotels

Zondervan
23-07-2010, 08:59 AM
Thought it would be handy/interesting to consolidate in one thread showing how everyone is getting there, and where they are staying. I'll start:

Flying to/from Vienna with KLM via Amsterdam (going out at a 1250 Wed/returning 1750)
Wednesday Night - Vienna in Hotel Atlantis
Thursday - train from Vienna to Maribor (1003/1338)
Thursday night - Maribor in Hotel Vila Emei
Friday - Train back to Vienna (1022/1358) for 1750 flight

Cannae wait!!

scott7_0(Prague)
23-07-2010, 09:07 AM
Thought it would be handy/interesting to consolidate in one thread showing how everyone is getting there, and where they are staying. I'll start:

Flying to/from Vienna with KLM via Amsterdam (going out at a 1250 Wed/returning 1750)

Cannae wait!!

If i can get the time off and permission from the other half this is my plan.

Thursday,6 hour drive from Prague
Hotel - Grand Hotel Ocean
Friday return to Prague

23-07-2010, 09:21 AM
Drive to East Midlands
16.50 Ryanair flight to Treviso Wed
Car hire at Treviso to Maribor
Staying at Uni Hotel
Return to Treviso for 20.30 or something flight back to East Midlands on Sat
Drive home for about 3am Sunday

Total cost seems to be about £270

HibbyDave
23-07-2010, 12:32 PM

Cannae wait!!
Have you got costings? I had a look and the best flights were £463, add train £104 return, add hotels £106! Total£673!!!!

If you can provide lower costs I'd be interested.

hibsboy90
23-07-2010, 12:52 PM
Tuesday:
Evening Edinburgh - Munich Easyjet
Stay in Eurostars Hotel Munich
Wednesday:
Train from Munich to Graz - Maribor
Stay in Hotel Parimida
Thursday:
All day session - game at night, Hotel Paramida again.
Friday:
Train Maribor - Graz - Munich
Late flight Munich - Edinburgh Easyjet.

TOTAL COST = £340 ish

green with envy
23-07-2010, 01:11 PM
HI Alan, It's Bomber BTW.

Posted this on a earlier thread - flying out weds, hiring a car on Thursday staying one night in Maribor, back up to Bratislava Friday Lunch time for 3 more nights and plane back early Monday evening.

My itinerary is, Edinburgh to Bratislava at £160.00 rtn and 4 nights B&B at £18.00 pp is looking like a snip. (still to book our hotel for the game) will do that tonight.

Also, just confirmed is our 7 seater car hire for 200 euros split between 6 with petrol will work out something in the region of £250.00.

The total package for a 5 night holiday should work out at around £300.00 pp.

erin-go-bragh87
23-07-2010, 01:11 PM
Need help. Whats the airport that you would fly into if you flew from edinburgh? Am I right in thinking it would be Ljubljana? And that you can fly there from edinburgh on KLM??

23-07-2010, 01:41 PM
Mon & Fri night - Ljubljana
Tues & Wed night - Zagreb
Thurs night - Hotel Uni
Cannae wait!

green with envy
23-07-2010, 02:27 PM
Mon & Fri night - Ljubljana
Tues & Wed night - Zagreb
Thurs night - Hotel Uni
Cannae wait!

Also 6 of us staying at the hotel Uni on the Thursday.

Bonnyrigg H.F.C
23-07-2010, 02:34 PM
does anyone know if inter rail passes are ok to buy at the station. notice on the website that you can only purchase a week in advance. dont fancy being stranded in munich!

Lix
23-07-2010, 02:36 PM
This morning - drove from London to Arnhem via the Eurotunnel.

Currently in Best Western Haarhuis in Arnhem until Sunday.

Between Sunday and Wednesday - somewhere in Europe :cool2:

Wednesday and Thursday nights - Hotel Orel in Maribor

Friday - Verona I think

Sat/Sunday - somewhere in France

Sun - Eurotunnel back to London.

:scarf::party::partyhibb

HenryMonk
23-07-2010, 02:43 PM
as above, but i've no got a chauffeur:cool2:

i just get the pleasure off racing subaru imprezas:devil:

aazza91
23-07-2010, 02:48 PM
Bus to London on tuesday night,
Flying to Zagreb from Luton on wed morning
Train from Zagreb to Maribor. Not sure what hotels called.
Total cost for travel and 2 nights stay = £350ish

squire
23-07-2010, 02:49 PM
Im booked up in Villa Mira in Maribor but interesting tidbit - there is a hostel in Lake Bled called 'The George Best Hostel' :thumbsup:

Im viewing that as a sign!

23-07-2010, 02:55 PM
Im gutted & jealous...i will just have tae make do wi Blackpool ..may stop off at Porty for a candy floss & donkey ride on the way back ...:boo hoo:

STRAIGHT 2 HELL
23-07-2010, 03:49 PM
wed: edin-heathrow-budapest-maribor(car hire)
wed and thurs night: hotel uni
friday: maribor-budapest-heathrow-edinburgh

23-07-2010, 04:44 PM

Cannae wait!!

Oh dear! What can I say except, have fun :wink:

Please, for your own sake, don't go for a drink near the hotel. Head a bit further into town. If you like non-themed Irish Pubs, try the 'Backbone' halfway down Burg-gasse. You can get the bus if you want, 48A and only 2 stops, but it's not actually that far to walk.

23-07-2010, 05:25 PM
Please, for your own sake, don't go for a drink near the hotel.

For the locals sake, dont go drinking beside Zondervan's mob...............

bandylegs_jLeighton
23-07-2010, 06:05 PM
Im booked up in Villa Mira in Maribor but interesting tidbit - there is a hostel in Lake Bled called 'The George Best Hostel' :thumbsup:

Im viewing that as a sign!

http://i27.tinypic.com/vdegg.jpg

That was my snapshot prior to sinking a few pints in said establishment. I'll keep the photo's from later that evening to myself.

Lake Bled was cracking.

Has anyone looked into flying to Trieste? I got the bus to from there into Slovenia. It cost pennies and did not take long at all. You could then get a one country inter-rail ticket for Slovenia which £25 for 12-25yr olds and £39 for adults and train your way across the country. In my experience it was none of these keep the windows closed for air conditioning numbers either, it's proper open the windows and get a blast of fresh air in your face and enjoy the scenery.

I don't know how that stacks up against the other options, but maybe some of you lucky folks that are going should look into that.

KirkyHibs
23-07-2010, 07:01 PM
Flight from Gatwick to Vienna Wed 0725 2 and a bit hours
Train from Vienna - Maribor 1403 3 1/2 hours
Wed & Thu night at Hotel Uni

All in for £340

Absolutely buzzin'!! missed Athens due to being on tour in Kosovo, was on honeymoon for Dnipro so first 'proper' trip abroad with the Hibs

james62
23-07-2010, 11:20 PM

Cannae wait!!

On the same trains thursday & friday but flying Aberdeen-Heathrow-Vienna at 14.00 on wednesday and Vienna-Heathrow-Aberdeen at 11.20 on Saturday.

Zondervan
24-07-2010, 12:12 AM
Have you got costings? I had a look and the best flights were £463, add train £104 return, add hotels £106! Total£673!!!!

If you can provide lower costs I'd be interested.

Guten Morgen from Arnhem (Tekno Kapital of Der Nederlandos).

We got lucky Dave - flight was £377, hotels £50 each, and return train £58. So all in under £500 and that was booked about 1630 on Thursday.

Train fare is based on a group of 6, which is discounted,

Anyway, gotta go as Der Tekno Musik is bleeding my brain and "The Man From Frankfurt with the Massive Schnitzel" is due to arrive at 1000 hour!

Hopefully see you in Slovenia, tag!

24-07-2010, 09:39 AM
Wed - Perth-Edinburgh-Luton-Budapest
Thur - Budapest-Maribor
Fri - Maribor-Budapest-Luton-Edinburgh-Perth

24-07-2010, 09:48 AM
Wednesday Musselburgh - Manchester - Munich.
Thursday Munich - Maribor
Friday Maribor - Munich - Manchester - Musselburgh

Think I forgot something

Oh aye Money

deek1875
24-07-2010, 10:03 AM
Wednesday Musselburgh - Manchester - Munich.
Thursday Munich - Maribor
Friday Maribor - Munich - Manchester - Musselburgh

Think I forgot something

Oh aye Money

dito

Josh 01
24-07-2010, 10:49 AM
Wed - Perth-Edinburgh-Luton-Budapest
Thur - Budapest-Maribor
Fri - Maribor-Budapest-Luton-Edinburgh-Perth

same way as me, my old boy and my mate except we are heathrow -budapest
Whats your plans for getting from budapest to maribor?

Russian Hibs Fan
24-07-2010, 11:00 AM
I hope Hibs will beat Maribor and will play against Russian or Ukranian team next round.

s2hart
24-07-2010, 07:50 PM
Weds

Heathrow 7.10am - Berlin - Graz £250
Train Graz To Maribor ???
Hotel Orel 2 nights Maribor £86

Thursday

Match Ticket £19(including special delivery royal mail, thats if it gets to me on time!!!)

Friday

train Maribor - Ljubljana £££
Ljubljana 19.10 - Stanstead £78

Beer Tokens ??????????

Watching Hibs in Europe for the first time, absolutely priceless!!

24-07-2010, 08:13 PM
Wed

Glasgow - Budapest
Train Budapest to Maribor
Staying in Vila Pekre. Not heard of any other hibbys stayin there :dunno:

Fri

Ljubljana - Stansted, Friday night
Stay in London overnight

Sat

Stansted - Edinburgh.

Comes in at around 300ish. Sorted :greengrin

HibbyDave
24-07-2010, 09:18 PM
After ITA farce...

Edin -Manchester by car
Manchester- Lljlubljana & pick up hire car (included in cost)
LlJubljiana- Maribor
Hotel Piramida

Fri (Very Early) Maribor-Llubljana
LljLubljiana- Manchester arrive back UK 13.00
Drive to Home
Cost £409

BS44
24-07-2010, 11:42 PM
Wed. Edin to Bratislava 17.05-21.05
Thurs. Bratislava to Vienna to Maribor (same train as the OP)
Fri. Back to Bratislava
Sat. Fly home to Edin 14.55-16.35

TrueHibbee
25-07-2010, 10:03 AM
Sorry I have not been able to get on sooner but have had technical issues ( I'm in Spain at the moment)

My son and I are going to the game so I have had to arrange transport from Edinburgh on his behalf. It's reasonably straight forward to get there.

I got him a flight to Memmingem ( west of Munich) for £36. Looks like they have now gone up to £60 but still reasonable.

German Railways do a great deal for mini groups ( up to five people) . This means five can travel to Salzburg for 28 euros ( £5 a head)

We will have lunch in Salxburg and then get a train to Graz ( about 3.5 hours). Austrian railways do they same deal. Five travel for 28 euros. Should get to Graz for tea time and we will stay overnight and get a train over to Maribor around midday on the Thursday.

I'm getting him there for around £46. I would suggest this to any others not yet booked.

El Gubbz
25-07-2010, 10:28 AM
You got a link to the websites? and what airline is it with?

TrueHibbee
25-07-2010, 10:44 AM
Ryanair

Gorebridge Hibb
25-07-2010, 10:49 AM
After ITA farce...

Edin -Manchester by car
Manchester- Lljlubljana & pick up hire car (included in cost)
LlJubljiana- Maribor
Hotel Piramida

Fri (Very Early) Maribor-Llubljana
LljLubljiana- Manchester arrive back UK 13.00
Drive to Home
Cost £409

i'm just about to book similar flights but the train from Maribor gets in to Ljubljana Railway Station at 06:07 and the flight back to Manxchester leaves at 07:45!!! Too tight I think. Is there a bus that would get me to the airport in time?

epperstonehibby
25-07-2010, 11:07 AM
Flight from manchester to munich on wednesday meet up with my big buddy hot shot hamish and jim, overnight stay car hire and drive to maribor about 4hrs, overnight stay and return to munich on friday and flight back to manchester all for about £260.+£3.57 spending money.cant wait.

Hibby D
25-07-2010, 11:20 AM
I'm flying Edinburgh to Munich on Wednesday night - drive to Maribor. Two nights in a hotel. Flying back to Manchester on the Friday from Munich and getting a lift back up the road

So far £310 for hotel and flights and still to find out my share of the car hire - all in I should spend no more that £400 and that will reduce if I can get a room mate :greengrin

Plus beer money of course :thumbsup:

james62
25-07-2010, 02:45 PM
i'm just about to book similar flights but the train from Maribor gets in to Ljubljana Railway Station at 06:07 and the flight back to Manxchester leaves at 07:45!!! Too tight I think. Is there a bus that would get me to the airport in time?

You might be struggling there as the airport is about 20 miles away from Ljubljana.

25-07-2010, 03:04 PM
One way I looked at was drive to Hull Tue overnight ferry to Zebrugger. Train to Maribor on Wed. Two nights Maribor. Train back to Zebrugger Friday for overnight ferry back to Hull. Was working out reasonable price wise. Alternative is to take the car on the ferry and drive to Maribor about 13 hours.

dhmf
25-07-2010, 05:03 PM
edinburgh to zadar
zadar to zagreb
zagreb to maribor then the other way round. Coming to about £300 for travel and accomodation.

leithboy
25-07-2010, 06:34 PM
Three of us arrive at Graz Airport from Munich at around 8.30pm on Tuesday. If anyone is looking to 'bunk up' for a taxi to Maribor around that time let me know. I can get an 8 seater for 95 Euros (12 Euros each), alternatively we can haggle at the airport....:agree: Staying at the Hotel Bajt Garni, Maribor till Friday.

25-07-2010, 07:29 PM
same way as me, my old boy and my mate except we are heathrow -budapest
Whats your plans for getting from budapest to maribor?

Hire a car.

:cool2:

Luna Landing
26-07-2010, 11:50 AM
The wife and I just hit the jackpot . We were on the doomed charter and was busy over w/e so couldnt book anything . I had assumed we had no chance of getting to Maribor but I had a quick look at scheduled flights and it seems like some prices have come down now . We have booked Edinburgh to Vienna through Amsterdam - out Wednesday back Saturday . Flights are £390 , train to Maribor €58 return plus £150 each for 3 nights accomodation ( 2 nights in Vienna and 1 in Maribor) so that wasnt too bad . But it got better - I thought I would see if I could use KLM miles and lo and behold I could so I got the flights for the tax €398 ( not exactly cheap but hey it gets us to the game) for 2 tickets - Result .

If anyones still looking they had 3 seats left at the £390 price.

See you all in Maribor :cool2:

wazoo1875
26-07-2010, 12:01 PM
Anyone needing to get back to ljubljana for early in the morning of friday ? Looks like me an the mate are gonna have to shell out for a taxi as the train times leave it a bit tight for us. Just seeing if anyone was in the same boat and maybe wanted to share to split the costs cheers.

HenryMonk
26-07-2010, 03:14 PM
just arrived in Bled, slov:agree: drove down from nurenburg this afternoon, took 4.5 hrs. staying here for 2nights before setting of to maribor on wed for 2nights.

so far done 994miles since leaving london on friday, 6 country's in 4 days :greengrin

nurenburg was lovely yest. well surprised

Zondervan
26-07-2010, 07:02 PM
Oh dear! What can I say except, have fun :wink:

Please, for your own sake, don't go for a drink near the hotel. Head a bit further into town. If you like non-themed Irish Pubs, try the 'Backbone' halfway down Burg-gasse. You can get the bus if you want, 48A and only 2 stops, but it's not actually that far to walk.

Take it the area is a bit dodgy? :paranoid:

Think we will be taking it easy in Austria, save ourself for the following day. We get the train from Vienna Meidling to Maribor, and it looks like there is a metro link near the hotel direct to the station. Either that or a 30 minute walk.

26-07-2010, 07:30 PM
just arrived in Bled, slov:agree: drove down from nurenburg this afternoon, took 4.5 hrs. staying here for 2nights before setting of to maribor on wed for 2nights.

so far done 994miles since leaving london on friday, 6 country's in 4 days :greengrin

nurenburg was lovely yest. well surprised

Lake Bled is beautiful I was there a few years ago with Scotland, its so tranquil :agree:

wazoo1875
26-07-2010, 07:34 PM
Gorebridge Hibb , you have a pm

26-07-2010, 07:44 PM
Lake Bled is beautiful I was there a few years ago with Scotland

I must have missed that, how the hell did you manage to get 10,000 square miles of lowland peat and 20,000 square miles of highland heather over there without anyone noticing???

26-07-2010, 08:05 PM
I must have missed that, how the hell did you manage to get 10,000 square miles of lowland peat and 20,000 square miles of highland heather over there without anyone noticing???

:shhhsh!::shhhsh!: done it when everybody was sleeping :wink:

Russian Hibs Fan
26-07-2010, 09:31 PM
Good luck to all of you in Maribor! Fingers crossed you will be there not only for a good beer but for a good game of football!

28-07-2010, 07:47 AM
D Day:greengrin

Up with the lark, and going out to get a few last minute things...Money.

Cleared the voice for a good sing song down the road in the car to Manchester.

I'll start. There is a bonny fitba team at Easter road the play:partyhibb

28-07-2010, 08:54 AM
I GO ALONG TO SEE THEM EVERY OTHER SATURDAY.:thumbsup:

squire
28-07-2010, 09:31 AM
when you go will you send back a letter from Maribor
take a look up the Autobahn. From Munich to Sloveniaaaaaa :thumbsup:

28-07-2010, 10:48 AM
I'm on my way
from munich down to maribor today aha aha. :singing: