View Full Version : Match Updates Maribor 2 v Videoton 0 FT (3-1 Agg)

22-07-2010, 03:55 PM
Who do you want to qualify tonight. The temperatures in Maribor are 36 Degrees and in the mid/late 20's in Hungary. Videoton might be a better bet for the players.
Any thoughts?

HibeeMcGinn1
22-07-2010, 03:58 PM
I think with the games in Holland just now the players could be ok in the heat in Maribor.

sixtwo
22-07-2010, 03:59 PM
Who do you want to qualify tonight. The temperatures in Maribor are 36 Degrees and in the mid/late 20's in Hungary. Videoton might be a better bet for the players.
Any thoughts?

I'd prefer us to get videoton. Either team will be tough oposition but I think maribor have the most experience in europe.

22-07-2010, 04:03 PM
I should also have asked. Where is easier/cheaper for the Charter and Independent fans to visit?

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 04:10 PM
Any thoughts?

i was enjoying 34 - 39 degrees in ibiza last week, but balls playing football in it. Even at night it was in the 30's id say Hungary is best bet for us.

22-07-2010, 04:17 PM
Temperature to be a fair bit lower in Slovenia next week!

22-07-2010, 04:18 PM
Is there any way to watch this game tonight online..?

22-07-2010, 04:21 PM
Maribor far better for my travel plans!

22-07-2010, 04:22 PM
Quite right Andy74!

Sandy
22-07-2010, 04:37 PM
i was enjoying 34 - 39 degrees in ibiza last week, but balls playing football in it. Even at night it was in the 30's id say Hungary is best bet for us.

I played a 5 aside game here 4 weeks ago in 42 degrees, sod that, knackered after 30 seconds, and mouth as dry as a camels armpit.

22-07-2010, 05:09 PM
Going by the BBC forecasts for Budapest and Ljubljana, it looks like it will be considerably cooler in both places by the start of next week, with temperatures around the 20 degrees mark.

22-07-2010, 05:13 PM
Videoton will be easier but Maribor will bring cracking fans.

sixtwo
22-07-2010, 05:21 PM

I'm not sure if you can post links or no so I won't bother. however, you can find a link easily if you type 'videoton v maribor' into google.

Chuckie
22-07-2010, 06:09 PM
Is it a 7.30 kick off ?

Can someone pm me a direct link please?

cockneymike
22-07-2010, 06:09 PM
730KO UK time - so only a few more hours till we know

22-07-2010, 06:33 PM
like the Maribor purple strip..

22-07-2010, 06:35 PM
Maribor playing keep ball...good in possesion...Videoton more direct

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 06:38 PM
Is it a 7.30 kick off ?

Can someone pm me a direct link please?

ive got a great stream on p2p4u

maribor look decent, free kick specialist in there team just rattled the bar.

22-07-2010, 06:39 PM
maribor strike off the bar

22-07-2010, 06:40 PM
Maribor hit the bar with a great free kick, although videoton have slightly shaded it so far.

22-07-2010, 06:43 PM
Maribor pass pass pass....Yogi must expect them to go through

Videoton had couple of chances though

22-07-2010, 06:44 PM
Maribor starting to look dangerous, and getting a grip of the game now.

22-07-2010, 06:46 PM
Maribor pretty handy down right hand side..the Brazilian Captain skipping through tackles

suavegav
22-07-2010, 06:47 PM
Its on ATDHE.fr Maribor V Videoton

22-07-2010, 06:47 PM
Videoton not shy to stick a foot in

22-07-2010, 06:52 PM
Nice tidy modern stadium..with decent enough crowd

22-07-2010, 06:54 PM
Maribor look a very decent team indeed! If they get through we will most certainly have to be at our very best to beat them! :worried:

22-07-2010, 06:56 PM
Its on ATDHE.fr Maribor V Videoton

firefox blocked that site? cant see the game listed on the usual places?

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 06:56 PM
maribor look decent, number 8 seems to be the play maker

22-07-2010, 06:58 PM
If Maribor get through and play anything like this, I have to say we will struggle:cool2:

22-07-2010, 07:05 PM
If Maribor get through and play anything like this, I have to say we will struggle:cool2:

I agree, i'm not liking the look of them at all!!

pentlando
22-07-2010, 07:07 PM
Maribor do look a good side but only look good going forward when they have some space, when videoton have 8 or 9 behind the ball they look a bit short of ideas imo. Also defence looks like it could be got at a bit!

Maribor look a very decent team indeed! If they get through we will most certainly have to be at our very best to beat them! :worried:

:agree: good in possesion and GOAL

1-0 Maribor, good goal.

pentlando
1-0 maribor

22-07-2010, 07:08 PM
Looking at some of their fans, Ross Kemp could be soon heading to Slovenia to make a programme for Sky

22-07-2010, 07:08 PM
Maribor do look a good side but only look good going forward when they have some space, when videoton have 8 or 9 behind the ball they look a bit short of ideas imo. Also defence looks like it could be got at a bit!

agreed

poor defending at the goal as well

Chuckie
22-07-2010, 07:09 PM
We can beat these easy...

Good movement there for the goal, 1-0 Maribor

Very good goal, and Maribor are in complete control of this game now.

At The Edge
Split the defence in two, look a good side and with our defence at present....

22-07-2010, 07:10 PM
Good!

22-07-2010, 07:10 PM
Does anyone know if Hibs have a scout at the game.
Hopefully Hughes/Rice have made the journey from Holland!

22-07-2010, 07:11 PM
**** they look bloody good. Certainly more mobile in midfield than our slow paced build up of last year.

Why do we never get easy teams:grr:

Not Good!

Maribor look better than Videoton so will be tougher to beat.

sixtwo
Maribor look very decent indeed. They look very sharp and their passing is superb. They just scored an excellent goal. I doubt videoton have it in them to get back into the game but i sincerely hope the get a bit of luck and knock maribor out.

We'll have to be at our very best to beat them

22-07-2010, 07:13 PM

:agree: ....but with width.....which we are not blessed with

22-07-2010, 07:14 PM
Tougher but we'll still have them! They didn't beat videoton away. We'll take them at ER.

And the travel is easier for maribor!

At The Edge
Looking at some of their fans, Ross Kemp could be soon heading to Slovenia to make a programme for Sky

should maybe tell them to pack a jumper or 2 for the Edinburgh Summer :wink: could be a tad cold and most probably wet :greengrin

That should have been 2 - great movement and passing - and then other end could have been 1-1, good shot just over

HT 1-0

They do look very good going forward - Videoton though are not out of this, they are half decent as well.

22-07-2010, 07:15 PM
Lovely turn their by the Maribor player! They look like they have plently of technically good players. Having Zemmama against them would have been a great boost for us :boo hoo:

22-07-2010, 07:15 PM
They're showboating now as well! Anyone else see that boy's turn there?

Assuming they go through, if they play like that next week, we might be in for a long evening. :boo hoo:

Half time:1-0

22-07-2010, 07:16 PM
Nearly an equalizer on the stroke of half time.

22-07-2010, 07:16 PM
What a miserable bunch of defeatists! We are a decent team!

22-07-2010, 07:18 PM

steviecarnie
22-07-2010, 07:21 PM
:agree: ....but with width.....which we are not blessed with

galbraith and deek would give us the width needed. if yogi had the balls to play an attacking. 4 - 5 - 1

stokes up front, galbraith pace, deeks close control, should keep the maribor defence occupied.

bandylegs_jLeighton
22-07-2010, 07:22 PM
Having watched our friendly last night and then this game tonight - we are going to have to perform exceptionally well to progress here.

It is a worry that our first competitive game is going to be against a team looking looking so sharp and technically good.

Hopefully we can keep the back door closed over there, and get at them at Easter Road.

22-07-2010, 07:24 PM
I'm glad to see why Yogi insisted on the pre-season being against passing / oossesion / technical teams....hope they are learning....

Still repeat we need width..almost every move that has been good for Videoton has been long diagonal left to right and attacking wide right...getting several dangerous crosees in....without Zemamma we need Spoony on a blinder out there and we will get chances

22-07-2010, 07:25 PM
The 451 thing is flexible. It can be 433 or all sorts of other shapes throughout the game. Plenty complaining about it being negative but I don't think playing 3 attacking players ahead of 3 midfielders should be boring at all.

fife hfc
22-07-2010, 07:26 PM
cannae see us avoiding a heavy defeat in the first leg if we defend like we usually do and maribor move and pass like they have. not a defeatest just looking at reality, look at Hearts last year in Croatia and they had a better defence than us.

22-07-2010, 07:31 PM
Hearts were playing a team in Croatia who were a much higher standard than this. I'm not sure they are up against much and look decent for it. It's also two legs!

Let's not write ourselves out of this just yet!

22-07-2010, 07:32 PM
well 0-0 after 15 mins.

fife hfc
22-07-2010, 07:33 PM
its the movement and pace with the ball which I'm afraid will cause us problems.

Chuckie
22-07-2010, 07:34 PM
cannae see us avoiding a heavy defeat in the first leg if we defend like we usually do and maribor move and pass like they have. not a defeatest just looking at reality, look at Hearts last year in Croatia and they had a better defence than us.

:bye:

We can beat anyone on our day, and we will beat them easily.

Probably 3-0.

22-07-2010, 07:35 PM
The way some people are going on you wonder why there is such an onus on Hibs qualifying for Europe if we will only ever get beat at the first hurdle!

22-07-2010, 07:39 PM
Sitter missed for 2-0

We are only commenting on what we are watching. Yes we are a decent team at times, all we are saying is that it looks like we will have to be at our best next week

22-07-2010, 07:39 PM
For all the fact that Maribor have looked very good coming forward, Videoton have been rank rotten at the back

fife hfc
22-07-2010, 07:40 PM
Though if they keep shooting like they are we may get a result. The one difference between us and videoton is that they have to attack as they need a goal we can stay compact and frustrate.

22-07-2010, 07:41 PM
Imagine videoton at parkhead. It would be a walkover and I'm sure Celtic would look devastating going forward.

We've done okay at parkhead recently so let's keep Maribor in perspective!

22-07-2010, 07:43 PM

Nobody's being defeatist, maybe just not ridiculously over confident.

We will have to show this very competent team plenty of respect and play at the top of our game to ensure a win and hopefully Yogi will have the team organised to this aim.

22-07-2010, 07:44 PM
Videoton would give the green bigots a game, wouldn't be a walkover in my opinion

22-07-2010, 07:44 PM
Nobody's being defeatist, maybe just not ridiculously over confident.

We will have to show this very competent team plenty of respect and play at the top of our game to ensure a win and hopefully Yogi will have the team organised to this aim.

What he said.:top marks

micksoo
22-07-2010, 07:45 PM
maribor look OK but nothing to be afraid of. Videoton are rotten, poor and slow at the back and no one is showing for a pass when they are in possession.

I think we will beat either!

22-07-2010, 07:47 PM
nice stadium, was expecting more of a shed:greengrin

pentlando
22-07-2010, 07:48 PM
Also did anyone notice the atmosphere drop significantly after 15, 20 mins. If it is Maribor we're up against next week i think we need to be tight at the start. Sounds like it could get quite noisy with an early goal

22-07-2010, 07:49 PM
Videoton should have scored. Both teams look like they could hold their own in the SPL.

22-07-2010, 07:50 PM
What a save from the Maribor keeper!!

Videoton almost equalise, good strike but an equally good save.

Good game now.:agree:

very stretched game now...Videoton being more adventurus

micksoo
22-07-2010, 07:53 PM
Hibs getting plenty mentions in the commentary now

22-07-2010, 07:53 PM
What a save from the Maribor keeper!!

I wonder what was being said there? They said 'Hibernian' about 8 times in the space of a minute! :greengrin

Juice-Terry
22-07-2010, 07:54 PM
Who are these Highberrrrnian the commentators keep mentioning? They sound like a cracking club....

'Mon the Cabbage!

22-07-2010, 07:54 PM
Just started watching just now, what colours Maribor in?

22-07-2010, 07:55 PM
Just started watching just now, what colours Maribor in?

Purple

22-07-2010, 07:56 PM
Purple

22-07-2010, 08:00 PM
1-0 Motherwell, if anyone's interested. 2-0 on aggregate, so their opponents have to score three now in order to go through.

22-07-2010, 08:05 PM
Surprised their using the Jabulani after the amount of critisism it had during the world cup. That is the Jabulani isnt it?

22-07-2010, 08:07 PM
Neither team look special, i'm not worried.

tbfhibs
22-07-2010, 08:08 PM
1-1

2-0 Maribor, tie over.

2-0 Maribor now. Hibs v Maribor it is then..

i bet the interweb is getting blootered with Hibbys trying to get to Maribor.......:greengrin

At The Edge
2-0 Maribor here we come :thumbsup:

Thomson1875
22-07-2010, 08:09 PM
2-0 they look pretty good, we will need to get it right over there and be on top of our game, not going to be a walk over at all.

wazoo1875
22-07-2010, 08:10 PM
Slovenia here we come :thumbsup:

If that bloody charter gets off the ground that is :boo hoo:

Owain_1987
22-07-2010, 08:10 PM
Going be hard but we can beat them nice wee ground also look forward to the trip :greengrin:greengrin

tbfhibs
22-07-2010, 08:11 PM
1-1
Blackpool v Kilmarnock

micksoo
22-07-2010, 08:11 PM
Neither team look special, i'm not worried.

CallumHibs07
22-07-2010, 08:14 PM
How are you all watching it, is it on tv? :greengrin

22-07-2010, 08:15 PM
How are you all watching it, is it on tv? :greengrin
Sky Sports 3 mate!

Juice-Terry
22-07-2010, 08:15 PM
Decent pitch, no?

Owain_1987
22-07-2010, 08:16 PM
BBC1 Hungry :greengrin Also Motherwell are winning 1 nil.

Chuckie
22-07-2010, 08:17 PM
There'll be harder games on the way to the final.

These Slovenian mugs show me nowt.

22-07-2010, 08:18 PM
Just been on Maribor.net and they are sh*tting themselves.

pentlando
22-07-2010, 08:18 PM
Sky Sports 3 mate!

Looks even better in 3D at the local :greengrin

CallumHibs07
22-07-2010, 08:19 PM
Sky Sports 3 mate!
Funny guy :grr:

Had me for a minute :wink:

22-07-2010, 08:20 PM
Funny guy :grr:

Had me for a minute :wink:

22-07-2010, 08:21 PM
They are handy like! The Dutch tour should have helped and pretty sure Easter road will be okay if we get through next week in good shape.

Juice-Terry
22-07-2010, 08:21 PM
Best team on the night won - no question.

'Mon the Cabbage!

dhmf
22-07-2010, 08:24 PM
Hi there,

If anyone is stuck for ideas about how to get to the game, we have booked direct flights from Edinburgh to Zadar with Ryanair. Zadar is about 250 miles from Maribor. We got our flights for £190 return but I think they've gone up a bit.

twiceinathens
22-07-2010, 08:32 PM
This is going to be a tough tie. Videton were poor and gave Maribor far too much room. This does not alter the fact that they are a skilful team with a lot of pace. Thought Volas was very dangerous and the other two players subbed late on Mezga and Ilecic were also class and being allowed to get their personal recognition from the crowd. Tavares also made a major contribution. If we allow them to play their quick passing will tear us apart.
On the other hand on the few occasions they were put under pressure from set peices and corners they did not appear that impressive and they are a bit suspect in the left back area.
If we get through this we will have done well.

22-07-2010, 08:41 PM
Hi there,

If anyone is stuck for ideas about how to get to the game, we have booked direct flights from Edinburgh to Zadar with Ryanair. Zadar is about 250 miles from Maribor. We got our flights for £190 return but I think they've gone up a bit.

£178 now! How would i get from Zadar to Maribor though? And how much would that cost?

woodythehibee
22-07-2010, 08:50 PM
Has the Slovenian league started yet or will they be in a similar situation to us?

1875godsgift
22-07-2010, 08:53 PM
Has the Slovenian league started yet or will they be in a similar situation to us?
They just played their first game mate, and won it 5-0!

22-07-2010, 08:54 PM

Going by wikipedia, it looks as if they've only played one match of their new season.

dhmf
22-07-2010, 09:01 PM
£178 now! How would i get from Zadar to Maribor though? And how much would that cost?

The £178 is before the famous Ryanair add-ons! But shouldn't be too bad if you only take hand luggage (10 kg) and pay by credit card.

Re travelling onwards, you can get a bus from Zadar to Zagreb (3-4 hours) and a train from Zagreb to Maribor (about 2 and a half hours). Both are pretty cheap from what I can gather. We are getting the bus the same night we fly (Wed), and the train the next day.

crash
22-07-2010, 09:02 PM
This is going to be a tough tie. Videton were poor and gave Maribor far too much room. This does not alter the fact that they are a skilful team with a lot of pace. Thought Volas was very dangerous and the other two players subbed late on Mezga and Ilecic were also class and being allowed to get their personal recognition from the crowd. Tavares also made a major contribution. If we allow them to play their quick passing will tear us apart.
On the other hand on the few occasions they were put under pressure from set peices and corners they did not appear that impressive and they are a bit suspect in the left back area.

:agree: A good assessment. The whole team can pass the ball. :worried:

Hibs On Tour
22-07-2010, 11:36 PM

:confused: **** me! He must be getting on now eh? Still can see how his quick feet and rhythm would come in useful and he must have a wealth of experience now. Here's some footage of him when he was just getting started out...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VAtRF4US8k&feature=related

cheltenhamhibee
22-07-2010, 11:45 PM
maribor look OK but nothing to be afraid of. Videoton are rotten, poor and slow at the back and no one is showing for a pass when they are in possession.

I think we will beat either!

i'm no getting my hopes up, a lot of folk thought we'd just have tae turn up against Dnipro on our last european excursion and how they were wrong, but fingers crossed we'll be ok

Ken
23-07-2010, 07:40 AM
Hi there,

If anyone is stuck for ideas about how to get to the game, we have booked direct flights th Edinburgh to Zadar with Ryanair. Zadar is about 250 miles from Maribor. We got our flights for £190 return but I think they've gone up a bit.

Few of mates got these flights last Sat morning for £80 return, I checked on Sunday and it was £170 (based on 5)

23-07-2010, 09:02 AM
Few of mates got these flights last Sat morning for £80 return, I checked on Sunday and it was £170 (based on 5)

I wasn't going to book up for this but I am as I don't anticipate any more European ties this season.