View Full Version : Flying to munich on the wednesday.

22-07-2010, 12:23 PM
How many are doing this, and would you be interested in hiring a minibus if there is enough of us?
£220 for a 7 seater £33 each plus petrol

scott7_0(Prague)
22-07-2010, 12:28 PM
How many are doing this, and would you be interested in hiring a minibus if there is enough of us?

The train times to both Hungry and Slovenia are decent form Munich - http://www.bahn.com/i/view/GBR/en/index.shtml

have a wee look, might be quicker and cheaper depend on how many you wold get for the van!

hibees707070
22-07-2010, 12:43 PM
Blackpool hibs there are 3 of us going to Munich and 6 others that may be going see other thread. It's quicker and cheaper if we hire a minibus so our group of 3 would def be up for that!

22-07-2010, 12:48 PM
There's 4 of us looking at doing this, but none of us have experience of driving abroad so wouldn't want to drive a minibus, looking at just getting a wee car for ourselves.

22-07-2010, 12:50 PM
Blackpool hibs there are 3 of us going to Munich and 6 others that may be going see other thread. It's quicker and cheaper if we hire a minibus so our group of 3 would def be up for that!

I cant seem to find any self drive minibuses for hire, but can find a 7 seater espace. there could be 4 of us, and as you say this would make sence if we can do this. Can anyone put a link up for a self drive minibus hire company in munich please.

22-07-2010, 12:52 PM
There's 4 of us looking at doing this, but none of us have experience of driving abroad so wouldn't want to drive a minibus, looking at just getting a wee car for ourselves.

I'm willing to drive, i have driven abroad and actually lived abroad for a while.

22-07-2010, 12:53 PM
What time are you leaving Munich airport?

22-07-2010, 12:54 PM
I'm willing to drive, i have driven abroad and actually lived abroad for a while.

Cool, I'm sure one of the other boys (squire on here) will see this thread at some point today and give you his thoughts.

22-07-2010, 01:01 PM
What time are you leaving Munich airport?

About 10pm dave.

scott7_0(Prague)
22-07-2010, 01:03 PM
I cant seem to find any self drive minibuses for hire, but can find a 7 seater espace. there could be 4 of us, and as you say this would make sence if we can do this. Can anyone put a link up for a self drive minibus hire company in munich please.

http://www.carhire3000.com they do a Merc minivan

also consider the premiums for the insurance traveling from German, Austria into either Slovenia or Hungry, they could be high as you move from Central Europe classification into eastern Europe!

hibees707070
22-07-2010, 02:39 PM
Aye well def 3 of us be up for that. If there is going to be a
lot of us any idea what the prices for a coach would be? We will be in Munich from 10am Wednesday morning if we hve to wait until 10pm for everyone else I'm sure we could find a boozer to hang about in for a bit!

Hibs On Tour
22-07-2010, 02:40 PM

I know it might seem like it at times, but Blackpool isn't technically 'abroad'... :greengrin

Luna Landing
22-07-2010, 02:53 PM
Munich Airport is a long way out of the city but the train service into the city is fast. I'm sure you could find a Beer Garden to quench your thirst:greengrin Only problem is you might not be capable of making it back to the airport after 4 or 5 hours of drinking in Munich .

The other alternative is the micro brewery that they have right in the airport itself between T1 and T2. At least you'll only need to crawl to the car hire area from there . Beers pretty good too and not very expensive - last time I was there it was €2.50 a pint

bigross7
22-07-2010, 02:58 PM

I could not find a minibus or a people carrier for hire at Munich airport so i have booked a large family
car as there are 5 of us traveling. Will probably spend the night in Munich then head for Hungary or
Slovinia on the Thursday morning as i would prefer to drive in daylight hours anyone who wishes to
head off in a convoy let me know. If you are not sure about driving abroad it may be easier to follow
someone else.

McGrawzy
22-07-2010, 04:04 PM
how long from Munich to Slovenia? i'm thinking about this route aswell now..

bigross7
22-07-2010, 04:07 PM
how long from Munich to Slovenia? i'm thinking about this route aswell now..

About 4 hours Slovenia 6 hours to Hungary

22-07-2010, 04:13 PM
I could not find a minibus or a people carrier for hire at Munich airport so i have booked a large family
car as there are 5 of us traveling. Will probably spend the night in Munich then head for Hungary or
Slovinia on the Thursday morning as i would prefer to drive in daylight hours anyone who wishes to
head off in a convoy let me know. If you are not sure about driving abroad it may be easier to follow
someone else.

Looks like there's 4 of us doing this, but we are just waiting until the game finishes tonight to make sure. So i will get in touch later.

McGrawzy
22-07-2010, 04:23 PM
a mini bus or coach would be perfect, me and 1 of my mates will be arriving in munich just after 10am Wednesday morning.. coach would be a great laugh...

flight back to Edinburgh on the Friday night..

bigross7
22-07-2010, 04:26 PM
Looks like there's 4 of us doing this, but we are just waiting until the game finishes tonight to make sure. So i will get in touch later.

Ok. Definate arrangements can be made later on tonight/tomorrow

22-07-2010, 04:59 PM
£220 for a 7 seater £33 each plus petrol
Profiteering out of Hibbies in need! :grr: :wink:

hibees707070
22-07-2010, 05:00 PM
a mini bus or coach would be perfect, me and 1 of my mates will be arriving in munich just after 10am Wednesday morning.. coach would be a great laugh...

flight back to Edinburgh on the Friday night..

You must be the same flight as us mate. Once we know where we are going we can get something sortd for all the Munich travellers!

Darth Hibbie
22-07-2010, 05:18 PM
I'm considering it looking at ryanair flights from edinburgh Wed leaving at 0650 returning Friday 14:05. Anybody already on these ones? Working out £202.41 return.

Leitherhibs
22-07-2010, 05:36 PM
There are 3 of us flying out to Munich arriving 10 oclock as well. We dont know how we're getting to Maribor/Videoton yet so a coach would be perfect, or minibuses? Are people booking them or getting them over there?

Bonnyrigg H.F.C
22-07-2010, 05:38 PM
I'm considering it looking at ryanair flights from edinburgh Wed leaving at 0650 returning Friday 14:05. Anybody already on these ones? Working out £202.41 return.

3 of us on the morning one but a later flight coming back, with easyjet. Would you not be cutting it a bit fine on the way back?

Darth Hibbie
22-07-2010, 05:41 PM
3 of us on the morning one but a later flight coming back, with easyjet. Would you not be cutting it a bit fine on the way back?

I need to be back at work for 9 that night with no way of getting it off so the easyjet was to late getting back. Might be cutting it a bit fine. Looks like I am going to miss out on this trip :boo hoo:

22-07-2010, 05:54 PM
Word of warning for anybody booking Ryanair flights to Munich, the destination airport is Memmingen which is 90 miles from Munich Airport.

Easyjet fly to Munich (MUC) 85399 Oberding, Germany which is to the east of Munich about 24 miles from the city center and is the official airport for Munich.

22-07-2010, 05:56 PM
Word of warning for anybody booking Ryanair flights to Munich, the destination airport is Memmingen which is 90 miles from Munich Airport.

What about easyjet, does that go to munich?

hibees707070
22-07-2010, 06:21 PM
Aye we are memmingen on the way out and Munich centre on the way back. Surely can't be that hard to get into Munich from memmingen?

Jumbo
22-07-2010, 06:27 PM
What about easyjet, does that go to munich?

Yes, Easy Jet use the main Munich airport

22-07-2010, 08:20 PM
We're booked! :thumbsup:

scott7_0(Prague)
22-07-2010, 08:22 PM
We're booked! :thumbsup:

Simple really, wasnt it :greengrin:wink:

Maybe see you down there, if so i'll by you a pint for the crap i gave you earlier.

22-07-2010, 08:25 PM
Simple really, wasnt it :greengrin:wink:

Maybe see you down there, if so i'll by you a pint for the crap i gave you earlier.

That was 3 pints worth.

scott7_0(Prague)
22-07-2010, 08:28 PM
That was 3 pints worth.

a pint and a nip then,

time is your flight, you did get that info, yeah?:greengrin

Allgood in love and war, now you need to get to slovenia.... the drive is a good one, you drive aling some nice scenic roads northern alps etc... enjoy!

22-07-2010, 08:34 PM
Booked.

From Manchester at 18:05 on Wednesday.

Space in the car for two more people from Auld Reekie if anyone requires a lift:cool2:

deek1875
22-07-2010, 08:37 PM
Booked.

Space in the car for two more people from Auld Reekie if anyone requires a lift:cool2:

when`s your flight back ?

22-07-2010, 08:40 PM
Booked.

I thought you were going to nip off at the 55 and pick neil and me up on the way?:wink:

22-07-2010, 09:19 PM
I thought you were going to nip off at the 55 and pick neil and me up on the way?:wink:

You bumped me for the Hotel so consider yourself BUMPED:greengrin

22-07-2010, 09:45 PM
when`s your flight back ?

Friday night.

Leave Munich at 21:40 and get into Manchester at 22:50

hibees707070
22-07-2010, 09:45 PM
So who is up for driving a minibus to Maribor from Munich? Could do with getting something sorted asap!

22-07-2010, 09:49 PM
So who is up for driving a minibus to Maribor from Munich? Could do with getting something sorted asap!

Have you found anywhere which hires mini-buses?

hibees707070
22-07-2010, 10:07 PM
There is the 7 seater which someone mentioned earlier. Sure we could find a minibus hire some where?

22-07-2010, 10:25 PM
Make it happen then!

I'm hiring a car for blackpool and me tomorrow if there are no better offers.

22-07-2010, 10:28 PM
Make it happen then!

I'm hiring a car for blackpool and me tomorrow if there are no better offers.

Oi:grr:

22-07-2010, 10:31 PM
What's up, R?

22-07-2010, 10:53 PM
What's up, R?

Got a quote for a seven seat Espace for £213.

Is this any good

Also got a quote for a 9 seater at £284

Bonnyrigg H.F.C
22-07-2010, 11:11 PM
who plans on leaving munich on wednesday morning? people on different flights and all that.

23-07-2010, 06:23 AM
who plans on leaving munich on wednesday morning? people on different flights and all that.

We land at 2200.

hibeejen01
26-07-2010, 11:13 PM
You must be the same flight as us mate. Once we know where we are going we can get something sortd for all the Munich travellers!

Me + 1 on ur flight can you help us find our way to graz haha

hibeejen01
26-07-2010, 11:14 PM
We land at 2200.

U going to maribor when u land or munich?

TrueHibbee
27-07-2010, 11:22 AM
Me + 1 on ur flight can you help us find our way to graz haha

I think I sent a reply to your message but god knows as I am hopeless with technology.

I think there is a few coming in on the Ryanair flight tomorrow to Memmingen. I am meeting my son there so happy to help you on your way to Graz.

hibees707070
27-07-2010, 12:37 PM
Aye Jen that's cool. Think you spoke to garry about this last night?