View Full Version : Mental Seagulls

20-07-2010, 11:20 PM
I've just moved back to Edinburgh after about 3 years in Leeds, went to walk my dog and was getting dive bombed by psycho seagulls! I had to walk along the road backwards to make sure I could see them coming...

Who's been p*ssing the seagulls off in Edinburgh? They weren't like this when I left.

Shell7
21-07-2010, 10:52 AM
I can't think it's any worse than up here in Aberdeen. They seem to have multiplied rapidly in the last year or so :confused: There's sh*te everywhere and yet you still see people feeding the horrible things :grr:

HibeeB
21-07-2010, 11:46 AM
I can't think it's any worse than up here in Aberdeen. They seem to have multiplied rapidly in the last year or so :confused: There's sh*te everywhere and yet you still see people feeding the horrible things :grr:

That's no way to speak about the loons and quines fae bonny Aberdeen:bitchy:

As for the seagulls, they've been mental for years. I reckon that in a few years time they will have adapted their webbed feet to become mighty talons, stronger than the eagle's. This will allow them to cling to the edge of rubbish bins with ease, rip the lids off, take the bags into the middle of the street and tear them to shreds leaving a pile of rubbish scattered far and wide for people to walk and drive through on their way to work. All while screaching at the top of their voice at 3.30 in the morning.

Actually they manage that now without the talons in my street.

Woody70x2
21-07-2010, 08:11 PM
I've just moved back to Edinburgh after about 3 years in Leeds, went to walk my dog and was getting dive bombed by psycho seagulls! I had to walk along the road backwards to make sure I could see them coming...

Who's been p*ssing the seagulls off in Edinburgh? They weren't like this when I left.

They are like that when they are bringing up their young... protecting them I suppose.

bigstu
21-07-2010, 10:44 PM
i live in aberdeen city centre 2wards the beach & the seagulls are a nightmare & i honestly think they are now a problem, it's gone beyond a joke. I wash my flat windows & within a day they have been shat all over again. the car is worse though as it's a constant battle to keep it clean, i've not managed to keep it clear of crap for more than a day. Sometimes all you can see is white (no joke!). If there are any rubbish bags left on the street or any bins open then they rip everything apart & spread rubbish all along the street. they are also ruining the roofs of all the flats around me.
i know i sound like a right moan but it's just as bad as having rats, no other animal would get the protection birds do!

grrrrrr

Shell7
22-07-2010, 10:13 AM
i live in aberdeen city centre 2wards the beach & the seagulls are a nightmare & i honestly think they are now a problem, it's gone beyond a joke. I wash my flat windows & within a day they have been shat all over again. the car is worse though as it's a constant battle to keep it clean, i've not managed to keep it clear of crap for more than a day. Sometimes all you can see is white (no joke!). If there are any rubbish bags left on the street or any bins open then they rip everything apart & spread rubbish all along the street. they are also ruining the roofs of all the flats around me.
i know i sound like a right moan but it's just as bad as having rats, no other animal would get the protection birds do!

grrrrrr

Aye, it's really noticable walking up Union Street the sh*t all over the pavements and I've also been hit once :grr: I sometimes feel like giving people that feed them in the Castlegate a slap :grr: I suppose it's just a case of them coming 'in shore' as they're getting a better feed from all the takeaways cartons scattered about from the previous nights carnage :rolleyes:

22-07-2010, 11:53 AM
They're mental down here too!

I regularly see people getting dive bombed (and have been myself a few times) up the high street.

The funny thing about seagulls is that they have a special type of valve between their throat and stomach, which means they can't burp............

A crushed up gaviscone in a slice of bread can be devestating. :devil: :faf:

speedy_gonzales
23-07-2010, 12:12 PM
I work in the railway and was walking along the line behind the council depot at Russel Road, I started to get dive bombed by one particualr seagull and it started spitting some smelly green ***** at me. Apparently the council disturb their nests so they go for anyone that is nearby.

Also, 100% true story;
For my sins I used to live at Wheatfield and 1 day walking home from work I heard a commotion and looked up, seen 1 gulls chasing each other towards me, up wheatfield street then they took a right into wheatfield terrace. The lead seagull dropped something that landed on a car roof with an almighty bang. It was a fair sized stone like they use for railway ballast and it was dropped from around 40/50 feet. There's me looking at a dented car, stone at my feet and curtains starting to twitch! I just put my head down and walked on. Turns out, when there is a food shortage, gulls take to hitting other gulls nests with rocks so as to kill the chicks/eggs:confused:

HibeeB
23-07-2010, 12:56 PM
A friend of mine (ahem) when he was young played a wee prank on seagulls.

Realising that seagulls swallow small fish whole he tied two fish together with a long piece of string and threw them into a flock of birds all scavanging for whatever food they could get. Two different birds swallowed the two tied together fish and flew away. My, how he laughed when they reached the end of the string and pulled each other down. After a few times it wasn't funny any more so I went away. Kids can be cruel. *******

JE89
24-07-2010, 04:46 PM
:agree: Get me a sniper rifle, that'd do the trick