View Full Version : Match Updates NEC Nijmegen 0 v Hibs 1 FT

19-07-2010, 02:54 PM
Get yer updates here.

If there are any :greengrin

19-07-2010, 03:10 PM
Doesn't look like there'll be audio coverage........

Due to playing in a small stadium with limited communications it is unlikely HibernianTV will be able to broadcast audio or video of the game.

19-07-2010, 03:33 PM
Given what I have been told of the display in the first game it might be a blessing

19-07-2010, 03:35 PM
Get yer updates here.

If there are any :greengrin

Aye, and none of the 3-0 pish that we had last time. Hibs goals this time, please.:greengrin

19-07-2010, 03:39 PM
Anyone know the line up? Is Alan Gow in the team? How many John Rankins are playing?

19-07-2010, 03:42 PM
Just the both of them plus his cousin Ian is playing as a trialist

kevohfc
19-07-2010, 03:58 PM
not bothered about the result aslon as they get a gd workout n play half decent

19-07-2010, 04:00 PM
not bothered about the result aslon as they get a gd workout n play half decent

Yep, as nice as it would be to win tonight, friendlies are more about spotting your weaknesses and what you need to improve on for the coming season.

19-07-2010, 04:18 PM
Hibernian: Graham Stack; Michael Hart, Chris Hogg (captain), Paul Hanlon, Ian Murray; Edwin de Graaf, Liam Miller, Kevin McBride, John Rankin, David Wotherspoon, Colin Nish.

Subs: Mark Brown, Anthony Stokes, Lewis Stevenson, Lee Currie, Danny Galbraith, Derek Riordan, Steven Thicot, David Stephens.

19-07-2010, 04:19 PM
Hibernian: Graham Stack; Michael Hart, Chris Hogg (captain), Paul Hanlon, Ian Murray; Edwin de Graaf, Liam Miller, Kevin McBride, John Rankin, David Wotherspoon, Colin Nish.

Subs: Mark Brown, Anthony Stokes, Lewis Stevenson, Lee Currie, Danny Galbraith, Derek Riordan, Steven Thicot, David Stephens.

4-5-1 again then.....

19-07-2010, 04:20 PM

Is this Thicot's first game back from injury?

JoJo_07
19-07-2010, 04:23 PM

From Hibs (website): -

"Manager John Hughes has decided to select a 4-5-1/4-3-3 formation for the match against NEC with Edwin de Graaf featuring on the right and David Wotherspoon picked to start on the left while Kevin McBride occupies a holding role in midfield.

19-07-2010, 04:23 PM
4-5-1 again then.....

Yip, and I expect this is the way that we'll play in the away Euro fixture (s). Seems like a decent shout to me and quite right to use these games to get us in the mentaility of sitting deeper and hitting on counter attack.

Supraninja
19-07-2010, 04:24 PM
4-5-1 again then.....

Nah Rankin Mk.II can play alongside Nish and flick on all the long balls for him to run on to.

19-07-2010, 04:31 PM
From Hibs (website): -

"Manager John Hughes has decided to select a 4-5-1/4-3-3 formation for the match against NEC with Edwin de Graaf featuring on the right and David Wotherspoon picked to start on the left while Kevin McBride occupies a holding role in midfield.

you get match updates from website

sixtwo
19-07-2010, 04:31 PM
I reckon it'll be 0-0

Perhaps yogi is testing formations for the away leg in europe - obviously, stokes would replace nish and ideally deeks would be out wide

19-07-2010, 04:39 PM
I reckon it'll be 0-0

Perhaps yogi is testing formations for the away leg in europe - obviously, stokes would replace nish and ideally deeks would be out wide

I'm not sure if Deeks starting in the away leg would be the right option if he's played on the left. Wotherspoon has much more of an engine and has the enthusiasm to get back and forward.

sixtwo
19-07-2010, 04:41 PM
I'm not sure if Deeks starting in the away leg would be the right option if he's played on the left. Wotherspoon has much more of an engine and has the enthusiasm to get back and forward.

Spoony on the left?

19-07-2010, 04:41 PM
If updates are thin on the ground we'll at least get goal updates here......

http://www.livescore.com/

19-07-2010, 04:42 PM
Spoony on the left?

That's where he's playing today.

19-07-2010, 04:46 PM

has it kicked off yet because on website it says latesst from herpan

19-07-2010, 05:03 PM

all we need is deeks to get one chance or a free kick and it could make the difference though

19-07-2010, 05:09 PM
has it kicked off yet because on website it says latesst from herpan

match updates here

http://www.oleole.com/footballresults/matchreport/necnijmegen-hibernian190710/mla5j0.html

19-07-2010, 05:13 PM
match updates here

http://www.oleole.com/footballresults/matchreport/necnijmegen-hibernian190710/mla5j0.html

0-0 after 10 minutes is an improvement on the last game :greengrin

Supraninja
19-07-2010, 05:43 PM
Well this is exciting :greengrin

19-07-2010, 05:46 PM
:whistle:

Long suffering
19-07-2010, 05:47 PM
any news on how the boys are playing?

Spoony on the left?

That's were he played for the 19's, Boothy left back and Wotherspoon left mid was a formidable partnership!

Still 0-0. Don't know much more I'm afraid.

We had a player booked on 38 mins but I don't know who!

19-07-2010, 05:48 PM

Not alot of goals in that starting eleven, hope Stokes and Deeeks can come on in the second half and get a goal or two. :thumbsup:

19-07-2010, 05:49 PM
Still 0-0. Don't know much more I'm afraid.

We had a player booked on 38 mins but I don't know who!

My moneys on Murray.

19-07-2010, 05:50 PM
Things will pick up when we play 2 strikers.

19-07-2010, 05:50 PM
So where's Bamba then?

Purehibee_MYB
19-07-2010, 05:52 PM
So where's Bamba then?

He is probably still on his break after the World cup...and he had a bit of an injury

19-07-2010, 05:54 PM
Just a wee aside - I was getting my appendix oot the last time we played this lot...... and Harper got the lot in a 5-0 win :greengrin

euro Hibby
19-07-2010, 06:06 PM
in 2008 they got to the last 32 or the europa cup losing to Hamburg.

19-07-2010, 06:17 PM
1st hald and about ten minutes gone 0-0 and Hibs having the bulk of posession so far

:clapper::clapper:

19-07-2010, 06:20 PM
Bit surprised that stokes hasn't been getting more game time. Of all our players- along with deek- I would say that fitness could lag a bit over the close season, ie not putting in as much close season work as the rest

19-07-2010, 06:25 PM
Stokes was injured against the pars which is why he has not featured much.

19-07-2010, 06:36 PM
1-0 to Hibs

19-07-2010, 06:36 PM
1-0 Hibs
Dang you were too quick!

19-07-2010, 06:37 PM
who scored?

19-07-2010, 06:37 PM
Any news on the scorer?:rolleyes: haha

19-07-2010, 06:38 PM
Get in there!

Baw187
19-07-2010, 06:38 PM
1-0 to Hibs

Scorer?

19-07-2010, 06:39 PM
Sorry chaps, don't have the scorer!

Goal was scored in the 75th minute.

AJHibby
19-07-2010, 06:44 PM
Dad text me saying it was a Deeks free kick

19-07-2010, 06:45 PM
5 mins to go. NEC have just had a couple of corners in quick succession.

erin-go-bragh87
19-07-2010, 06:45 PM
Dad text me saying it was a Deeks free kick

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

madjock9
19-07-2010, 06:47 PM
according to the updates the goalscorer was Derek Ridan :notworthy:

19-07-2010, 06:50 PM
The official site is still at half time - top class!! :confused:

19-07-2010, 06:53 PM
FT

19-07-2010, 06:53 PM

Possibly the worst website for a major football team ever!

erin-go-bragh87
19-07-2010, 06:54 PM

19-07-2010, 06:56 PM
83' Hibernian komt op 0-1 door een goal van Derek Ridan

madjock9
19-07-2010, 06:56 PM
Hibs 1 - 0

:hnet:

big-mo
19-07-2010, 06:57 PM
Deek free kick from 25yrds, they played a lot better tonight. Good overall performance, the tempature is still in the 80s at 9pm over there.

Good result. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

19-07-2010, 06:59 PM

Still at 0-0 on official site. Maybe someone can take a look over here!!

However, well done the Hibees, excellent result!! Congrats to Daddy Deeks!

19-07-2010, 07:03 PM
Still at 0-0 on official site. Maybe someone can take a look over here!!

However, well done the Hibees, excellent result!! Congrats to Daddy Deeks!

It seems they view the website as unimportant and I've complained direct many a time about without any response but as you say a good result for us on the night

19-07-2010, 07:07 PM
Well done Yogi and Boys :thumbsup:

One Derek Riordan :thumbsup:

jonny
19-07-2010, 07:09 PM
Bit surprised that stokes hasn't been getting more game time. Of all our players- along with deek- I would say that fitness could lag a bit over the close season, ie not putting in as much close season work as the rest

Was at the Dunfermline game and Stokes picked up a knock. I thought he looked quite sharp, certainly a bit more lean.

hibee4life1983
19-07-2010, 07:10 PM
Riordan up front = goals

19-07-2010, 07:14 PM
Riordan up front = goals

Riordan at left wing = goals

Keep deeks at left wing, bring in another striker then we'll be getting goals from left wing and 2 strikers, move deeks up front then we'll be losing 17 goals from midfield

19-07-2010, 07:28 PM
Glorified training game, but a decent result on European soil against a decentish-level side. The defensive formation with a busy midfield and lone striker might be the way to go for at least part of the game against Marabor/Videoton, and credit to Yogi for trying it out.

Twiglet
19-07-2010, 07:28 PM
Jonny, totally agree about Stokes. Was a different kind of player - his first touch was much much better and he seemed to get around the pitch a wee bit more too which is what i want to see him do a bit more in some games.

19-07-2010, 07:34 PM
Did that Elton Welsby fella that we were linked with play for NEC tonight?

hibbie02
19-07-2010, 08:00 PM
I bet Deeks did that rocking the baby goal celebration.........:greengrin

19-07-2010, 08:12 PM
Thought Hartley did well, and Rob Jones as well when he came on

Alan gow was ok in flashes but needs mare games :greengrin

19-07-2010, 08:14 PM
Thought Hartley did well, and Rob Jones as well when he came on

Alan gow was ok in flashes but needs mare games :greengrin

O'Connor looked the part.

19-07-2010, 08:21 PM
:agree: Don't forget Sproule's run down the wing that lead to Riordans free kick

19-07-2010, 08:22 PM

Opinions eh

Thought he looked a bit rusty masel :greengrin

(((Fergus)))
19-07-2010, 08:24 PM
Matty jack excelled in the Matty Jack role :top marks

19-07-2010, 08:49 PM
not too bothered about result.....but hope that the game time will have increased sharpness and team bond etc...progress

19-07-2010, 08:53 PM
all we need is deeks to get one chance or a free kick and it could make the difference though

:agree: and a free kick or other such chance could happen in the first minute just as much as the last - besides which, I reckon last season saw a gradual improvement in Deeks' overall game - balancing the need to conserve energy for the main chance with the need to work and track back for the team to much better effect than I'd seen before - hoping for great things from Pa Riordan this season :greengrin

19-07-2010, 09:12 PM
Good result and a goal from Deek also, nice start to pre season so far. :thumbsup:

19-07-2010, 09:16 PM
Thank goodness for a win on Dutch soil. I was beginning to think Hibs should have had a word with Mr Blobby and toured Uganda instead!

19-07-2010, 09:18 PM
Rocastle was exceptional when he replaced him aswell :agree:

19-07-2010, 10:13 PM

and thats probably for the dunfy game

:agree: not looked at it for several months now

19-07-2010, 10:20 PM
Well done Yogi and Boys :thumbsup:

One Derek Riordan :thumbsup:er.........thought you thought he wiz leaving:wink:

Mad Ferret
19-07-2010, 10:32 PM
Possibly the worst website for a major football team ever! Surely not? When it the website was done "in house" it was the worst and most unprofessional website ever according to many. Moving to Premier World or Perform or whatever was gonna make it 100% better than it was
according to many. Like many things in life, you
only appreciate what you actually had when you
no longer have it? A case perhaps of we reap what we sow!

19-07-2010, 10:54 PM
When it the website was done "in house" it was the worst and most unprofessional website ever according to many.

Correct.

It's just as bad - only the layout has changed. Incompetent/lazy website staff don't magically become better because the site looks different.

I thought it was crap then and I still think it's crap now. I'd even go as far to say it's slightly worse.

proud_and_green
19-07-2010, 11:08 PM

How come Yogi didn't play Reilly though?

19-07-2010, 11:11 PM
How come Yogi didn't play Reilly though?

He's past it. :agree:

Mad Ferret
19-07-2010, 11:57 PM
Correct.

It's just as bad - only the layout has changed. Incompetent/lazy website staff don't magically become better because the site looks different.

I thought it was crap then and I still think it's crap now. I'd even go as far to say it's slightly worse.

I think you maybe missed my point? Perform are supposed to be that highly professional, skilled outfit. IMHO however the previous site, whilst yes lacking in such as layout etc, had much better content and kept us informed to a far greater degree. It was updated with stories maybe a couple of times a day and at least
appeared to be run by people who appeared to
care more for Hibs than they do for profit.

20-07-2010, 12:22 AM
So considering our defeat against Hercules had the Yams claiming we were relegation fodder no doubt they will now be hailing us potential Champions?

Good that we got a result however :agree:

20-07-2010, 07:39 AM
Good curling free kick fae Tortolano,its aboot time he goat oan the scoresheet.

20-07-2010, 11:14 AM
Who's our next game against in Holland and when is it?

blairwallace
20-07-2010, 11:38 AM
where about are these games being played?!
the picture on the official website looks like its being played in a park with a rope around it? :dunno:

20-07-2010, 12:02 PM
where about are these games being played?!
the picture on the official website looks like its being played in a park with a rope around it? :dunno:

Outwith the likes of Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord i think you'll find that a fair few of the teams grounds are worse than some of those in the SPL.:agree:

20-07-2010, 02:03 PM
Outwith the likes of Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord i think you'll find that a fair few of the teams grounds are worse than some of those in the SPL.:agree:

As far as I can tell both Dutch teams have invited Hibs to play at a stadium other than their own one (local club/training-ground perhaps?) - the websites for the first two clubs show them as having far better stadiums than the ones we've actually played on?

20-07-2010, 02:07 PM
As far as I can tell both Dutch teams have invited Hibs to play at a stadium other than their own one (local club/training-ground perhaps?) - the websites for the first two clubs show them as having far better stadiums than the ones we've actually played on?

Your right, but the stadiums are still only..

Heracles - 8,500
NEC Nijmegen - 12,500

Slightly bigger than some but not more than us, Hearts, Rangers, Celtic and Aberdeen by a long shot.

fife hfc
20-07-2010, 06:43 PM
its not unusual for dutch teams to play games at pitches like last night. In 1989 I saw Ajax play on no more than a public park in a friendly.

proud_and_green
20-07-2010, 09:46 PM
He's past it. :agree:

Yogi's still got something left! But maybe your're right.