View Full Version : Match Updates Heracles 3 v Hibernian 0 FT

15-07-2010, 09:56 PM
My first ever match updates thread, quite excited. :greengrin

So, who's all going?

15-07-2010, 10:20 PM
Flying out early Friday. Should get there early afternoon in time for a few beers before the game.

16-07-2010, 01:33 PM
What times kick-off?

16-07-2010, 01:41 PM
What times kick-off?

Found it, 7pm local time so 6pm here.

16-07-2010, 04:37 PM
Any news on the starting line up?

16-07-2010, 04:53 PM
Quoted post edited

Any news on the starting line up?

Is this £3 on top of our yearly subscription?

16-07-2010, 04:54 PM
Mmm...paid the £3, logged in, and the same as v QOS it is asking for ID and password for a licence ??? Help :grr:

hibernian tv
16-07-2010, 04:57 PM
try leaving it blank

16-07-2010, 05:02 PM
Nope, no joy. B***ocks :boo hoo:

16-07-2010, 05:03 PM

Try entering through the Hibernian TV site (as a novelty!) - I'm connected :confused: to a live stream "Preseason Opponent" (too early I guess though for any commentary)??

No idea. I've merely posted the link.

Try putting in the same details as you used to log in.

16-07-2010, 05:06 PM
There's no audio folks. See other thread for confirmation.

Try entering through the Hibernian TV site (as a novelty!) - I'm connected :confused: to a live stream "Preseason Opponent" (too early I guess though for any commentary)??

Nothing for me, apart from the paypal screen. It must mean i have to pay? Who knows??????

sunshine1875
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100716/heracles-0-hibernian-0_2262950_2094409

Team on attached link. It also says match commentary is not available.

houston1875
16-07-2010, 05:07 PM

That's what I did,but can't hear anything?

sunshine1875
16-07-2010, 05:08 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100716/heracles-0-hibernian-0_2262950_2094409

Just noticed that we are playing with no strikers and with two John Rankins.:cool2:

16-07-2010, 05:08 PM

Playing with no strikers :confused:

Supraninja
16-07-2010, 05:09 PM
Just noticed that we are playing with no strikers and with two John Rankins.:cool2:

TWO?!? :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

John Rankin should do well tonight.

Could it be possible that the game hasn't started yet, and it's actually on at 7 our time?

sundo1875
16-07-2010, 05:10 PM
Who is up front

houston1875
16-07-2010, 05:10 PM
John Rankin should do well tonight.

John rankin should be allover the pitch the night?

16-07-2010, 05:11 PM
And number 1 is John Rankin :greengrin....

16-07-2010, 05:12 PM
Who is up front
Rankin and Rankin :agree:

Supraninja
16-07-2010, 05:12 PM
Which Rankin will play in midfield, and which one up front?

16-07-2010, 05:13 PM
is there 2 rankins so both sides of the stadium can give him abuse even when he's playing well?

16-07-2010, 05:14 PM
I'm guessing Riordan, Stokes and Bamba have Whittakeritis then. Fantastic.

16-07-2010, 05:15 PM
Yogi must go, bad enough picking one of them, but 2. :grr:

16-07-2010, 05:16 PM

Naw ya plumb. :wink: Riordans bird has just dropped one, stokes is injured and bamba reports back next tuesday.

16-07-2010, 05:16 PM

Either that or Riordan has been left at home so he could be with his missus when there first kid was being born, Stokes is carrying a small injury, although he is on the tour and Bamba has been given time off becuase of his injury and the world cup

16-07-2010, 05:17 PM

Presumably Mark Brown does too then?

1-0 to Heracles after 5 minutes

1-0 down according to livescore.com

16-07-2010, 05:18 PM

...............and we criticise the BBC for mince reporting. :greengrin

boooooooooooooooo

1-0 to Heracles after 5 minutes

Thats it, i have had enough. Yogi GTF.

Cleared that up. Apologies. :wink:

16-07-2010, 05:19 PM
Either that or Riordan has been left at home so he could be with his missus when there first kid was being born, Stokes is carrying a small injury, although he is on the tour and Bamba has been given time off becuase of his injury and the world cup

Isn't Stokes likely to be one of the Rankin's? Derek's probably at home and Bamba's still recovering from the World Cup.

Seems a much more likely scenario than them all being sold :cool2:

zosohibee
16-07-2010, 05:20 PM
Hibernian TV isnt covering, main site says technical difficulties.

Supraninja
16-07-2010, 05:21 PM
FS RANKIN GET IT TOGETHER. YOU TOO RANKIN. :grr:

16-07-2010, 05:26 PM
Riordan should be fined for that. Imagine having a sprog pre season. Not good enough!!!!

16-07-2010, 05:30 PM
Anybody find a stream?

16-07-2010, 05:32 PM
Anybody find a stream?

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://www.brookie.org/atf/cf/%257BCFA4686E-CDCA-4399-9907-BBA7EC2507AB%257D/EnergyinStreams_Image1.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.tu.org/conservation/eastern-conservation/brook-trout/education/energy-in-stream-ecosystems&usg=__gjAncWxB7_3Jy0tNj5iZiOgClI8=&h=1228&w=1818&sz=1114&hl=en&start=1&sig2=Q-EIYop7qvvufa_pZUCA_Q&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=rGzf9akTPU3mxM:&tbnh=101&tbnw=150&prev=/images%3Fq%3DSTREAMS%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3 Dopera%26sa%3DX%26rls%3Den%26tbs%3Disch:1&ei=iZdATLeNKaeI4gbUtfmZDw

16-07-2010, 05:32 PM
Riordan should be fined for that. Imagine having a sprog pre season. Not good enough!!!!

To be fair, it was one of the rare occasions that he scored last season :wink:

Thomson1875
16-07-2010, 05:33 PM
are heracles a good side in holland? dont know much about dutch football teams, will playing over there get us ready for europe?

16-07-2010, 05:34 PM
are heracles a good side in holland? dont know much about dutch football teams, will playing over there get us ready for europe?

They finished sixth last season, only six points off qualifying for Europe so they can't be too shabby.

16-07-2010, 05:35 PM
http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://www.brookie.org/atf/cf/%257BCFA4686E-CDCA-4399-9907-BBA7EC2507AB%257D/EnergyinStreams_Image1.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.tu.org/conservation/eastern-conservation/brook-trout/education/energy-in-stream-ecosystems&usg=__gjAncWxB7_3Jy0tNj5iZiOgClI8=&h=1228&w=1818&sz=1114&hl=en&start=1&sig2=Q-EIYop7qvvufa_pZUCA_Q&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=rGzf9akTPU3mxM:&tbnh=101&tbnw=150&prev=/images%3Fq%3DSTREAMS%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3 Dopera%26sa%3DX%26rls%3Den%26tbs%3Disch:1&ei=iZdATLeNKaeI4gbUtfmZDw

You ken what I mean!!

16-07-2010, 05:37 PM
Isn't Stokes likely to be one of the Rankin's? Derek's probably at home and Bamba's still recovering from the World Cup.

Seems a much more likely scenario than them all being sold :cool2:

Could be, sure i read though that Stokes was carrying a small knock though.

16-07-2010, 05:40 PM

All Wikipedia tells you is that they were promoted to the Eredivisie in 2004/05 and in their first season after being promoted finished 13th.

16-07-2010, 05:40 PM
All Wikipedia tells you is that they were promoted to the Eredivisie in 2004/05 and in their first season after being promoted finished 13th.

Or you can look on the Eredivisie pages on there :wink:

16-07-2010, 05:41 PM
At least Everton scored...:offski:

Gala Foxes
16-07-2010, 05:42 PM
I was at Ajax Heracles at end of season 2 years ago, Ajax pumped them 7-0

16-07-2010, 05:44 PM

9th at the moment, with a decent goal average.
http://www.soccerway.com/national/netherlands/eredivisie/2010-2011/regular-season/

16-07-2010, 05:45 PM
Or you can look on the Eredivisie pages on there :wink:

Oh.:greengrin

16-07-2010, 05:47 PM
http://www.soccerway.com/national/netherlands/eredivisie/2010-2011/regular-season/

Joint top too.

16-07-2010, 05:48 PM
Joint top too.

They dont concede too many, but dont score much either.

16-07-2010, 05:49 PM
They dont concede too many, but dont score much either.

Yep, maybe our two Rankins will be too much to handle for their solid defence though.

16-07-2010, 05:50 PM
2-0 Heracles, oh dear.

16-07-2010, 05:51 PM
Yep, maybe our two Rankins will be too much to handle for their solid defence though.

If its still 0-1 at half time, i'd imagine Yogi would unleash rankin in the 2nd half. Only one winner should that happen.

16-07-2010, 05:51 PM
HT.. Yogi should just quit now.

16-07-2010, 05:52 PM
If its still 0-1 at half time, i'd imagine Yogi would unleash rankin in the 2nd half. Only one winner should that happen.

Read my last post before you said that.:wink:

16-07-2010, 05:54 PM
HT.. Yogi should just quit now.

Exactly. Ah'm no going back this season. FACT

16-07-2010, 05:55 PM

Same, Yogi can have my ST.

16-07-2010, 05:55 PM
Read my last post before you said that.:wink:

:agree: We need 3 Rankins.

Mikeystewart
16-07-2010, 05:56 PM

Its funny that we're joking now give it 4 weeks :cool2:

16-07-2010, 05:56 PM

Is there a collective noun for Rankins?

16-07-2010, 05:57 PM

Ach we only need the one, i'm sure he'll score 3 squigglers.:agree:

houston1875
16-07-2010, 05:59 PM

Bahahaha

Jim_in_Canada
16-07-2010, 05:59 PM

A squiggler of Rankins ????

16-07-2010, 06:00 PM

Rankette :dunno:

sh00byd00
16-07-2010, 06:00 PM
But... but we trounced the mighty Dunfermline (double European Cup champions and EPL champs for the last 3 seasons) 4-0 and all was well again, so why the sudden get Yogi tae ****** chat?

sh00byd00
16-07-2010, 06:02 PM
Rankette :dunno:

More female than collective i'd say. Chavs and chavettes and all that.

16-07-2010, 06:07 PM
But... but we trounced the mighty Dunfermline (double European Cup champions and EPL champs for the last 3 seasons) 4-0 and all was well again, so why the sudden get Yogi tae ****** chat?

I blame Makalamby.

16-07-2010, 06:08 PM
Rankii, surely

16-07-2010, 06:09 PM
Mixu GTF. :grr:

16-07-2010, 06:09 PM
Sorry if it has been said, but what is the actual team?

16-07-2010, 06:12 PM
Yogi, GTF :grr::grr:

You can't manage a team at all, when everything goes wrong you've no back up plan whatsover.

The player's clearly think their to good for this club. Playing for the money rather than the fan's

**** the new stand, My season tickets going back :grr::grr:

sh00byd00
16-07-2010, 06:12 PM
Sorry if it has been said, but what is the actual team?

Nobody knows, mate as they've mostly been hiding all game.

16-07-2010, 06:18 PM
According to the our official site it's still 1-0.:rolleyes:

16-07-2010, 06:19 PM
The Official Site must go. Not good enough. :grr:

16-07-2010, 06:20 PM
thats a river, no a stream :rolleyes:

yogibear1975
16-07-2010, 06:20 PM
Yogi, GTF :grr::grr:

You can't manage a team at all, when everything goes wrong you've no back up plan whatsover.

The player's clearly think their to good for this club. Playing for the money rather than the fan's

**** the new stand, My season tickets going back :grr::grr:

You need to **** right of mate, its only a bloody friendly and the dutch team are ahead of us in term of fitness and game time...

why dont you jump ship and support the yams as i think a fan like you would fit in very well with them.:grr:

16-07-2010, 06:21 PM
You need to **** right of mate, its only a bloody friendly and the dutch team are ahead of us in term of fitness and game time...

why dont you jump ship and support the yams as i think a fan like you would fit in very well with them.:grr:

I think he was joking :wink:

16-07-2010, 06:23 PM

Woooooooooooooooosh

Ehm, are you being serious? Or do you just have so bad eyesight you didn't see the smiley at the bottom? :dunno:

Amsterdam
16-07-2010, 06:24 PM

should you not be on the touchline yogi, instead of the interweb.
try reading the smiley at the end of his post, doh!

16-07-2010, 06:24 PM

It's a joke mate :greengrin

I know very well it's a friendly.

yogibear1975
16-07-2010, 06:25 PM
I think he was joking :wink:

The thing is i hate fans like him, i can't be arsed with guy's like that at this time of the season when the manager is trying to find his best team and formation etc..

16-07-2010, 06:25 PM
It's all Gordon Marshall's fault! :agree:

16-07-2010, 06:26 PM

Do you need any help getting that great big hook out?:greengrin

Heracles
heracles
heracles

The thing is i hate fans like him, i can't be arsed with guy's like that at this time of the season when the manager is trying to find his best team and formation etc..
Please tell me you're taking the piss now :confused:

Amsterdam

think you better get a sense of humour transplant or thicker skin then, cause thats what its like on here, ok dokey yogi

His post was taking the piss out of people like that so you actually probably quite like fans like him :greengrin

Stop digging. :faf:

16-07-2010, 06:27 PM

0 is the worst possible goal average. :wink:

It's a joke mate :greengrin

I know very well it's a friendly.

I thought it was our Europa League tie? :confused:

I'll take the window instead of the door.....

Any chance we can calm down folks.

And those who think they're funny may want to review their sense of humour :wink:

16-07-2010, 06:30 PM
I thought it was our Europa League tie? :confused:

I'll take the window instead of the door.....
I hope it's not our Europa League tie :agree:

16-07-2010, 06:32 PM
Sure thing.

I think we will win the Champions League. And the World Cup 2014. And World War 3. :wink:

16-07-2010, 06:33 PM
Any chance we can calm down folks.

And those who think they're funny may want to review their sense of humour :wink:

Well i have had enough, i'm off out to get blootered. Perhaps the result wont seem so bad in the morning. I was getting blootered anyway. :greengrin We will win 3-2.

hibeemad
16-07-2010, 06:33 PM

Get a Grip

Amsterdam
16-07-2010, 06:34 PM
Sure thing.

I think we will win the Champions League. And the World Cup 2014. And World War 3. :wink:

surely the sparryheids will reform Macraes Battalion for the winning of WW3, but agree with the others

16-07-2010, 06:34 PM
Sure thing.

Nah the yams will have WW3 and 4 sewn up before they've even started.

Amsterdam
16-07-2010, 06:36 PM

oh Jebus, im on the same wavelength as Meeko, ahm doomed:devil:

16-07-2010, 06:38 PM
absolute joke , we should win every game no matter what. Yogi must go:grr:

16-07-2010, 06:40 PM
They've corrected the line-up, Stokes is playing..

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100716/heracles-2-hibernian-0_2262950_2094409

16-07-2010, 06:42 PM
Not to mention returning home to their brand new £51 million mega stand with a 5 star hotel built into it :thumbsup:

Edit: According to the Official Website. A lapse at the back for the first goal and the second goal was a set piece.

Good old Hibs :thumbsup:

Hopefully this will get us in the right state of mind for the Europa legue game

16-07-2010, 06:42 PM
3-0 now

Chuckie
16-07-2010, 06:43 PM
We're going down...

16-07-2010, 06:44 PM
Very poor tonight by all accounts.

Playing Stokes up front on his own.

16-07-2010, 06:46 PM
3-0 now

Sounds like a tonking.

16-07-2010, 06:48 PM
The're pretty ahead of us in fitness mind you. Not to mention being a pretty solid dutch team. Not to worry, We'll hammer Ado den Hag :agree:

16-07-2010, 06:49 PM
its only 2:grr::grr:

Not according to someone who's at the game it's not

Mind you, if they've been on the bevvy all day ..............:greengrin

At The Edge
16-07-2010, 06:50 PM
Sounds like a tonking.

16-07-2010, 06:52 PM
The're pretty ahead of us in fitness mind you. Not to mention being a pretty solid dutch team. Not to worry, We'll hammer Ado den Hag :agree:

Given that the squad only travelled out yesterday, they probably just need a little more time to acclimatise.

KdyHby
16-07-2010, 06:54 PM
Given that the squad only travelled out yesterday, they probably just need a little more time to acclimatise.

Not enough time to get used to the altitude.....

16-07-2010, 06:55 PM
Not enough time to get used to the altitude.....

...Jet-lag...

xyz23jc
16-07-2010, 06:55 PM
Yeh...especially with the altitude in the netherlands! :greengrin:devil:

Rory89
16-07-2010, 06:57 PM
The ball's too light, moving around like a mad *******.

What we need is goal-line technology.

At The Edge
16-07-2010, 06:58 PM

Probably still getting used to the bongs, rather than the cooncil soap bar they're used to back home!:faf:

Cabbage1875
16-07-2010, 07:01 PM
Ouch.

Not the best idea to read too much into pre season games, but losing 3-0 at any point is never ideal.

Any idea how the team shaped up?

16-07-2010, 07:02 PM
Ah well, can only get better...

Chuckie
16-07-2010, 07:03 PM
Yogi must go.

xyz23jc
16-07-2010, 07:08 PM
Exchange Rate

The ball's too light, moving around like a mad *******.

What we need is goal-line technology.

Probably still getting used to the bongs, rather than the cooncil soap bar they're used to back home!:faf:

:greengrin:thumbsup::faf::top marksKwality! Dulls the pain o' the result!

hibsboy90
16-07-2010, 07:12 PM
Pre season is more about fitness, and testing possible systems. Maybe today was trying a 4-5-1 with Stokes leading the line.

Newcastle got pumped 7-0 by Leyton Orient last pre season, look at the season they had.

16-07-2010, 07:19 PM
Pre season is more about fitness, and testing possible systems. Maybe today was trying a 4-5-1 with Stokes leading the line.

Newcastle got pumped 7-0 by Leyton Orient last pre season, look at the season they had.
Exactly. As long as Yogi stays away from whatever tactic he used tonight when the season starts we'll be fine. It's all about finding the right tactic.

Chuckie
16-07-2010, 07:23 PM
Stokes must go.

16-07-2010, 07:24 PM
Shape up or ship out Yogi. :wink:

16-07-2010, 07:27 PM
Unnacceptable.

Bad result and a cheapo stand. What next?

Rory89
16-07-2010, 07:51 PM
:greengrin:thumbsup::faf::top marksKwality! Dulls the pain o' the result!

"Pain of the result". :confused:

It means **** all mate, don't worry it's ony pre season. Did you get the good china out and invite everyone round after the Dunfermline and QOS games?

16-07-2010, 07:52 PM
See what happens when Deeks not in the squad, don't you dare get rid of him Petrie! :grr: :greengrin

16-07-2010, 08:08 PM
Good job that humble pie is in the freezer!:greengrin

down the slope
16-07-2010, 08:49 PM
pussy cats away from home as usual.

16-07-2010, 08:57 PM
Sure thing.

:bitchy: Too late Yammish are already bidding for that one to go with their win in WW1 and they have got a memorial designed into the Supermegahotelstadium planning application as well.

Are there maybe any minor skirmishes in the offing that we could single handedly claim / win and then have our own ceremonies for?:wink:

16-07-2010, 09:15 PM
Huge wake up call for anyone getting too carried away by the 4-0 gubbings of our 1st div neighbours - also for the players re the sort of challenge that awaits on the continent. Early doors though - fitness etc being the main priority. Hope to see more positive results from this tour yet though!

Anyone any idea of team lineups etc by the way???

16-07-2010, 09:49 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100716/heracles-2-hibernian-0_2262950_2094409

Seems a bit unfair to be playing Heracles and Everton, FFS.

16-07-2010, 10:14 PM
good to get the wind out the sails.....don't want the players getting complacent..

I couldn't care less about the results..its about fitness / team shape / giving players game time...i'd rather the mistakes and learning was done when nothing at stake

remember when we won previous games Yogi said QOS were better team until we scored...and that there were 'some' good performances...so he was saying there was work to do...

we will be well prepared come start of the real action

16-07-2010, 11:05 PM
I'm taking the advice of one of the posters and switching to Hearts. I want to be part of a world war winning outfit. I won't be jumping ship though as there's one of these on the Hibs crest and I don't want to be associated with you Hobos in any way shape or form.

17-07-2010, 03:19 AM
Piss poor.

Farmer OUT! :grr:

17-07-2010, 04:27 PM
Silly question but why did yogi play the hardest game of the tour first and also with only half a team who we would expect to play in the europa games.The other 3 teams we play on tour look far weaker from their league positions from last season.I would have thought it better to start from the bottom up and as fitness improved play the better teams last.Just a thought.

Baldy
17-07-2010, 08:15 PM
players trained hard yesterday morning and then played ... actually no they didn't play they just sauntered around a football pitch last night .. it was embarrassing and yes they were a better team.

However as a veteran of many preseason jaunts around europe I can accept us losing preseason games to better teams and fitter teams etc etc .. what I can not accept was the attitude of some players last night who quite clearly could not be ersed.

also the formation with one up front does not work, the heracles fans were telling us de Graff was one of the best players in Holland last night and to use their words "he should play in the middle he can run 3 marathons in one game but he is looking lost today"

also we did not test their keeper once, 2 saves all game and well I call them saves but they were not hard, just stood there and caught the ball twice

Baldy
17-07-2010, 08:17 PM
They've corrected the line-up, Stokes is playing..

not sure about that .. he was on the park anyway but Playing .... :rolleyes:

as for McBride I genuinely did not realise he was still on the park until about 75 mins.

18-07-2010, 09:48 AM
players trained hard yesterday morning and then played ... actually no they didn't play they just sauntered around a football pitch last night .. it was embarrassing and yes they were a better team.

However as a veteran of many preseason jaunts around europe I can accept us losing preseason games to better teams and fitter teams etc etc .. what I can not accept was the attitude of some players last night who quite clearly could not be ersed.

also the formation with one up front does not work, the heracles fans were telling us de Graff was one of the best players in Holland last night and to use their words "he should play in the middle he can run 3 marathons in one game but he is looking lost today"

also we did not test their keeper once, 2 saves all game and well I call them saves but they were not hard, just stood there and caught the ball twice

i hear sean welsh got a bad knee injury in training and is having to have injections to get the swelling down so the laddie can fly home.shame for the boy as it looked like this could be his breakthrough season:boo hoo:

18-07-2010, 09:50 AM
Well i wisnae there, but i thought they were ****in brilliant.