View Full Version : Europa Cup draw - Videoton or Maribor v Hibs (merged)

15-07-2010, 09:37 PM
one of the following

1. Nordsjaelland (Denmark)

2. Slovan Bratislava (Slovakia)

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

4. Videoton (Hungary) or Maribor (Slovenia)

5. Valletta (Malta) or Ruch Chorzow (Poland).

15-07-2010, 09:39 PM
poland please :greengrin

gackohibs
15-07-2010, 09:41 PM
maribor please!!! slovenia looks really nice!

sixtwo
bratislava and maribor are good teams. I'd feel pretty confident if we avoid them. in fact, bring any of them on

one of the following

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

Should have added that options 4 and 5 both finished 1-1 in the first legs tonight.

15-07-2010, 09:42 PM
Valetta or Ruch Chorzow please. :agree:

15-07-2010, 09:42 PM
I'd choose the Finns.

james62
15-07-2010, 09:43 PM
maribor please!!! slovenia looks really nice!

:agree: It is, would love to go back there.

houston1875
15-07-2010, 09:44 PM
what's the easiest to get to and the cheapest?

15-07-2010, 09:44 PM
one of the following

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

Educated guessing?

15-07-2010, 09:47 PM
I'd choose the Finns.
:shocked:

You would need a second mortgage for a good night out there :wink:

15-07-2010, 09:47 PM
one of the following

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

Apologies for being thick but is the draw in sections or have you had a preminition? what about the other teams still in the tournament?

Out them i'd like us to get Videoton, i've always liked there name :greengrin

15-07-2010, 09:48 PM
Educated guessing?

nope.

Calvin
Videoton would be a nice rerun of yesteryear and I wouldn't forego a wee holiday in Malta but it would be nice to get booked up ASAP so one of the first 3 options please.

Nordsjaelland (Farum) is less than an hour by train away from Copenhagen airport and I'd like to go to Copenhagen.

I've heard very good reviews of Bratislava and I think it would be my preferred option.

Turku would be my last choice but would still go!

houston1875
:shocked:

You would need a second mortgage for a good night out there :wink:

wont a round of drinks there cost you like a couple of tonne?

chuff that!

15-07-2010, 09:50 PM
DTS - I was thinking of winning rather than a few beers!!!

15-07-2010, 09:51 PM
at the moment, its £175 for flights to Turku....the expensive nightlife will make up for cheap flight :greengrin

15-07-2010, 09:51 PM
one of the following

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

5. Valletta (Malta) or Ruch Chorzow (Poland). how does this work? can you explain further,for the benefit of thick people (like me) as to how you know?

15-07-2010, 09:52 PM

Apologies for being thick but is the draw in sections or have you had a preminition? what about the other teams still in the tournament?

Out them i'd like us to get Videoton, i've always liked there name :greengrin

I could claim a premonition and I would look clever tomorrow but I would be lying.

I posted earlier today(as did others) that the seventy teams would be split into 7 groups of 10.

UEFA have now done that and we are in group 3 for lack of a better description.

The five non seeded teams in group 3 are the ones I listed.

Malta.....YES PLEASE!

Where's the list of teams the Yams could get?

Anyone?

Anyone?

Champions League draw aint for a while yet.

Calvin
15-07-2010, 09:54 PM
As a guide, flying with BA from Edinburgh on the morning of the 29th and returning on the evening of the 30th: Copenhagen is £415 return.

Turku, flying on the 28th is £475.

Apparently they don't fly to Bratislava :confused:

Well, I'm off for a look on Ryanair! :greengrin

Chuckie
15-07-2010, 09:55 PM
Denmark please....

15-07-2010, 09:56 PM
how does this work? can you explain further,for the benefit of thick people (like me) as to how you know?

Not inferring anyone is thick mate, its just I'm a bit of an anorak and live to deliver this type of info to my fellow Hibbies.

15-07-2010, 09:57 PM

Anyone?

Not sure Matty, but last time they were seeded it had to be opposition from the pot that included Germany, Italy and Japan.

Calvin
15-07-2010, 09:58 PM
Ryanair fly straight to Bratislava from Edinburgh! Not on Fridays though and it's a late Thursday flight so it would have to be Wednesday to Saturday for £176 if we're away first or £97 if we're away second. That's before all the added garbage with Ryanair but not too bad.

houston1875
As a guide, flying with BA from Edinburgh on the morning of the 29th and returning on the evening of the 30th: Copenhagen is £415 return.

Turku, flying on the 28th is £475.

Apparently they don't fly to Bratislava :confused:

Well, I'm off for a look on Ryanair! :greengrin

:duck: :duck:

Be a lot of that when i inform the ball and chain im spending 5 ceni on a plane ticket?

Not inferring anyone is thick mate, its just I'm a bit of an anorak and live to deliver this type of info to my fellow Hibbies.
and its much appreciated,who have we got in the next round:wink:

15-07-2010, 09:59 PM
What times the draw? 12 oclock on eurosport yeah?

15-07-2010, 10:01 PM
Does anyone know what ones of those teams are mid season?

I'd assume the danish are so i'd like to avoid them

15-07-2010, 10:04 PM

I think it is Champions league draw at 12.

Ours starts at 12.30 and as I said earlier we are in pot 3 so we will be about 1240ish I would imagine.

Don't know about Eurosport but it is live on UEFA website.

15-07-2010, 10:06 PM

The Danish mob are the ones that QOTS played when they qualified, not one of the better Danish teams Bingo.

15-07-2010, 10:08 PM
The Danish mob are the ones that QOTS played when they qualified, not one of the better Danish teams Bingo.

cheers :aok:

Still want Videoton though :greengrin

Chuckie
15-07-2010, 10:11 PM
Ryanair fly straight to Bratislava from Edinburgh! Not on Fridays though and it's a late Thursday flight so it would have to be Wednesday to Saturday for £176 if we're away first or £97 if we're away second. That's before all the added garbage with Ryanair but not too bad.

If you're doing some flight checking Calvino, try Norwegian Airlines to Copenhagen from Edinburgh.

They are the cheapest.

I am flying there for a wedding in October, and it cost about 900dkk (about £80).

15-07-2010, 10:14 PM
DTS - I was thinking of winning rather than a few beers!!!

:faint: i'm not going all that way just for 90 minutes of blokes kicking a ball around

Chuckie
15-07-2010, 10:16 PM

Their season has not started yet..

Calvin
15-07-2010, 10:20 PM
If you're doing some flight checking Calvino, try Norwegian Airlines to Copenhagen from Edinburgh.

They are the cheapest.

I am flying there for a wedding in October, and it cost about 900dkk (about £80).

No flights out that suit but coming back on the 30th is £60, good shout!

15-07-2010, 10:42 PM
We want to avoid the teams that are part way through there season. I take it the scandanavian teams at least are well in to their season.

Edit.........Oops should read whole thread.

15-07-2010, 11:03 PM
Easiest team out the lot then fingers crossed for a cheaper trip in the next round please, touch wood.

Bohemian_Hibee
15-07-2010, 11:15 PM
As a slight aside, the CL draw will be made-up as follows..

http://en.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/draws/index.html

CallumHibs07
15-07-2010, 11:28 PM
We will play Inter Turku. You heard it here first. :agree:

15-07-2010, 11:49 PM
Good news, thanks scoopy. On a plane when the draws made so glad to have an idea.

Hoping Valetta make it through and I miss the away tie and back for 4th September to see the Cabbage rip them a new one in our brand spanking new stadium.

16-07-2010, 05:16 AM
Maybe overly pessimistic, but some of those options look far from ideal for the first competitive games of the season...

16-07-2010, 05:22 AM
one of the following

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

It'd better NOT be Bratislava!!!!! After just moving back from Vienna, which is only one and a half hours from there on the train, that would just kill me aff!

p.s. Bratislava City Centre is really nice but boy is the rest of it rough. If that is where we're going, take care not to go off the beaten track.

p.p.s Oh and don't expect much at the stadium, it's best described as 'Communist Era Sh*tehole' (see here (http://www.stadionwelt.de/sw_stadien/index.php?folder=sites&site=fotos&id=1527&page=1)).

16-07-2010, 06:06 AM
We really want to be avoiding Slovan Bratislava.

16-07-2010, 06:27 AM
Went to see Slovan Bratislava a couple of years ago. The stadium is where Celtic got pumped 5-0.
The team have a "ultras" element and were extremely noisy for the whole 90 mins.
They won 6-0 going on 10 that day.
Lubo Moravcik was their manager at the time I think.
Bratislava is a lovely city. Plenty pubs and cheap as chips, although that was before the euro came in there

16-07-2010, 06:54 AM
Games 4 & 5 in scoopyboys's list both finished 1-1 last night so could still go either way

bathhibby
16-07-2010, 07:00 AM
Bagor away 1st Leg Please

16-07-2010, 07:03 AM
Bagor away 1st Leg Please

1. Where are bagor on scoop's list?? :confused:

2. Who the **** are bagor?? :confused:

Answers on a postcard!! :wink:

jonny
16-07-2010, 07:06 AM

Unfortunately not - doesnt seem to be any live TV coverage, unsure about sky sports news. You can watch it live on this link though
http://video.uefa.com/video/Competitions/UefaCup/Season=2011/liveDraw_videoFlash.html

16-07-2010, 07:34 AM
ok,

Nordsjaelland - Finished last season 7th in the league, 5pts above relegation, but qualified for Europe by winning the Danish Cup.
Last season in the UEFA cup, they beat FC Tallinn 8-0agg, Queen of the south 4-2agg, then got beat 7-0agg by Olympiacos
They play in a 10,000 capacity stadium, but averaged 4,600 last season

Slovan Bratislava - Finished 2nd in their league last season, 3pts off the top, and 14pts ahead of 3rd place, with a plus 30 goal difference.
In last seasons Europa league they lost 2-1 at home to Ajax, before getting beat 5-0 in the away leg.
They play in a 30,000 capacity stadium, which doubles up as Slovakias international stadium

Inter Turku - Currently 13 games into their season, Turku are 7th with 5win and 5 defeats. Henry Lehtonen (a left back!) is their top scorer with 5 goals, followed by 19 year old Nigerian midfielder Kennedy Nwanganga on 4 goals. They seem to be coming in to form as they just got manager and player of the month awards for June.
They finished 5th last season, but qualified for Europe by winnin the Finnish cup.
They play in a 9,300 capacity stadium

Videoton - Finished 2nd in their league last season, 1pt off top, and 4 ahead of 3rd. They had the leagues top scorer last season in Nemanja Nikolic. They signed him halfway through the season, and he finished the season on 18 goals. Maccabi Haifa and Toulouse are rumoured to be interested in him. They play in a 15,000 capacitystadium.

No time to do the rest. Work calls :wink:
The danish team look the best bet out of those so far tho

16-07-2010, 07:58 AM
I'd choose the Finns.

Na, they'd finnish us off.

Hal Jordan
16-07-2010, 08:07 AM
Nordsjælland are at best, an average mid-table club.
A bit like the Kilmarnock of Denmark.
No outstanding players, almost entirely Danish, with the odd Swede. One or two of them have played for the national team. They do have an American (actually a Plastic Paddy) player who has played for the national side.

16-07-2010, 08:11 AM
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=1504191.html

surprised Motherwell are seedded should they get thru!!

UEFA Europa League third qualifying round drawNoSeededUnseeded

Group 11Liverpool FC (ENG)Stabæk IF (NOR) – FC Dnepr Mogilev (BLR)2Odense BK (DEN)PFC Beroe Stara Zagora (BUL)3FK Sūduva (LTU) – SK Rapid Wien (AUT)FK Rabotnicki (MKD) – FC Mika (ARM)4CS Marítimo (POR) – Sporting Fingal FC (IRL)FC Honka Espoo (FIN) – Bangor City FC (WAL)5FC WIT Georgia (GEO) – FC Baník Ostrava (CZE)NK Zrinjski (BIH) – SP Tre Penne (SMR)

Group 26Juventus (ITA)Shamrock Rovers FC (IRL) – Bnei Yehuda Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)7PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)FK Ventspils (LVA) – FK Teteks (MKD)8FC Timişoara (ROU)FC Zestafoni (GEO) – Dukla Banská Bystrica (SVK)9KR Reykjavík (ISL) – FC Karpaty Lviv (UKR)Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN) – UE Sant Julià (AND)10IF Elfsborg (SWE) – FC Iskra-Stali (MDA)Cliftonville FC (NIR) – HNK Cibalia (CRO)

Group 311Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)FC Nordsjælland (DEN)12FK Austria Wien (AUT) – NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)13FK Crvena Zvezda (SRB)FC International Turku (FIN)14KRC Genk (BEL)FC Videoton (HUN) – NK Maribor (SVN)15Hibernian FC (SCO)Valletta FC (MLT) – KS Ruch Chorzów (POL)

Group 416KS Besa (ALB) – Olympiacos FC (GRE)Cercle Brugge KSV (BEL) – FC TPS Turku (FIN)17Beşiktaş JK (TUR) – Vikingur (FRO)FC Viktoria Plzeň (CZE)18Anorthosis Famagusta FC (CYP) – HNK Šibenik (CRO)Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) – FK Mogren (MNE)19KFK Šiauliai (LTU) – Wisla Kraków (POL)Gefle IF (SWE) – FC Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)20SK Sturm Graz (AUT)Portadown FC (NIR) – FK Qarabağ (AZE)

Group 521VfB Stuttgart (GER)FC Luzern (SUI)22Maccabi Haifa FC (ISR)Molde FK (NOR) – FK Jelgava (LVA)23Brøndby IF (DEN) – FC Vaduz (LIE)Apollon Limassol FC (CYP)24FC Sibir Novosibirsk (RUS)FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR) – JK Sillamäe Kalev (EST)25FC Utrecht (NED) – KF Tirana (ALB)FK Bakı (AZE) – FK Budućnost Podgorica (MNE)

Group 6AZ Alkmaar (NED)FC Lausanne-Sport (SUI) – Borac Banja Luka (BIH)FC Olimpia Bălţi (MDA) – FC Dinamo 1948 Bucureşti (ROU)IFK Göteborg (SWE)FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)HNK Hajduk Split (CRO)Montpellier Hérault SC (FRA)FC Differdange 03 (LUX) – FK Spartak Zlatibor Voda (SRB)ND Gorica (SVN) – Randers FC (DEN)FK Atyrau (KAZ) – Gyõri ETO FC (HUN)

Group 7Galatasaray AŞ (TUR)Kalmar FF (SWE) – FC Dacia Chişinău (MDA)PFC Levski Sofia (BUL) – Dundalk FC (IRL)FK Jablonec 97 (CZE)Aris Thessaloniki FC (GRE)Aalesunds FK (NOR)FK Tauras (LTU) – APOEL FC (CYP)OFK Beograd (SRB) – FC Torpedo Zhodino (BLR)Motherwell FC (SCO) – Breidablik (ISL)Jagiellonia Bialystok (POL)

in-me-pocket
16-07-2010, 08:28 AM

this is where you're wrong. Real anoraks don't recognise the fact that they are anoraks.
The reason I know this is because I'm a pedant and not an anorak.

16-07-2010, 08:48 AM
Nordsjælland are at best, an average mid-table club.
A bit like the Kilmarnock of Denmark.
No outstanding players, almost entirely Danish, with the odd Swede. One or two of them have played for the national team. They do have an American (actually a Plastic Paddy) player who has played for the national side.

They would be a good draw. Not too much travelling at this stage for the players!

scott7_0(Prague)
16-07-2010, 08:53 AM
one of the following

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

Slovakia please - 3hour drive to Brata
Poland Second - 6hour drive to Chorzów
Slovenia at a push - 7 or 8hours.

tam4hibs
16-07-2010, 09:01 AM

Where arbouit in Denmark do they play - any ideas?

As I wouldve thought its easy enough to get to Denmark? Well copenhagen anyway.
Either straight there or flight to Germany / Holland etc & Train.

Uve attached a link which shows flight routes from the uk - useful for checking for cheap flights.

http://www.flightmapping.com/Europe/Denmark/Copenhagen/

And is there not a ferry to Denmark?

16-07-2010, 09:17 AM
I could claim a premonition and I would look clever tomorrow but I would be lying.

I posted earlier today(as did others) that the seventy teams would be split into 7 groups of 10.

UEFA have now done that and we are in group 3 for lack of a better description.

The five non seeded teams in group 3 are the ones I listed.

http://en.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/draws/index.html

16-07-2010, 09:20 AM

Uve attached a link which shows flight routes from the uk - useful for checking for cheap flights.

They play in a town called Farum.

16-07-2010, 09:22 AM
Malta would make a good holiday. Never get them though.

16-07-2010, 09:24 AM
Just back from holiday on Malta and wouldn't mind going back.

Was in Valetta last Saturday and its well worth a visit. Its easy to get about as the buses are frequent and cheap (although falling to bits) and you can find beer at a Euro a pint if you look hard enough.........,

Only thing is the heat - 40 degrees last week - so hope its a late evening kick off.

:cool2:

16-07-2010, 09:26 AM
Valletta for me please, cheap flights & hotels, beautiful interesting historic city & hot and sunny, tho' can't see them getting past the Polish team!

16-07-2010, 09:32 AM
Nordsjaelland or Videoton :pray:

Devine
16-07-2010, 09:34 AM
I think it is Champions league draw at 12.

Ours starts at 12.30 and as I said earlier we are in pot 3 so we will be about 1240ish I would imagine.

Don't know about Eurosport but it is live on UEFA website.

Official UEFA site says 13.30 CET for the Europa League Draw?? Does that not mean its 2.30pm our time?

16-07-2010, 09:36 AM
Official UEFA site says 13.30 CET for the Europa League Draw?? Does that not mean its 2.30pm our time?

12.30pm.

CET is an hour ahead of us.

16-07-2010, 09:36 AM

No, they're an hour ahead.

Devine
16-07-2010, 09:37 AM
12.30pm.

CET is an hour ahead of us.

Aye sorry my bad looking at it the wrong way round!

16-07-2010, 09:47 AM
Real anoraks

...they aren't even in our section....:greengrin

Chuckie
16-07-2010, 10:31 AM

They play in a town called Farum which is on the island of Sjaelland (the one furthest east closest to Sweden). It's about 20km NW of Copenhagen, a small friendly place that will be welcoming. Plenty bars.

Morten Wieghorst is their coach, and they are a big strong team.

Re the ferry. The ferry will take you to Jylland, the far west of Denmark, and leave you with a sizeable drive to Farum. Flying to Copenhagen is easiest.

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/DENMAR-W1.gif

The ferry leaves from Harwich in Essex and docks in Esbjerg.

the_ginger_hibee
16-07-2010, 11:08 AM
Live draw link

http://video.uefa.com/video/Competitions/UefaCup/Season=2011/liveDraw_videoFlash.html

Mikeystewart
16-07-2010, 11:09 AM
I just checked the list and im pretty sure we are in the same group as sporting lisbon

group 3

16-07-2010, 11:11 AM
I just checked the list and im pretty sure we are in the same group as sporting lisbon

group 3

Yes but are they not, like Hibs, seeded!

Mikeystewart
16-07-2010, 11:22 AM

i have no idea how this works :greengrin i just seen them in the same group

16-07-2010, 11:31 AM
Here we go!! :greengrin:greengrin http://video.uefa.com/video/Competitions/UefaCup/Season=2011/liveDraw_videoFlash.html

robinp
16-07-2010, 11:32 AM

Yes - 10 teams in Group or pot 3 which will be split into 2 bowls of 5 seeded and 5 unseeded. We, along with Sporting will be seeded. as mentioned on post 1 we will get 1 of:

3. Inter Turku (Finland)

i have no idea how this works :greengrin i just seen them in the same group

We can't play them.

Five options as listed in op.

They're seed number one?

16-07-2010, 11:33 AM
Blah blah bla.... Come on!!

16-07-2010, 11:34 AM
Am I missing something or has the stream not started on the UEFA website?

16-07-2010, 11:35 AM
i cant believe my work has the Uefa site banned :rolleyes:

persevere1875
16-07-2010, 11:35 AM
Am I missing something or has the stream not started on the UEFA website?

Do what Im doing, just keep hitting F5 then you wont have to worry about the long winded bollocks

16-07-2010, 11:37 AM
I'm on mobile. Are they doing their usual wanking over UEFA bollocks?

16-07-2010, 11:37 AM
Still too much blah!! Finally starting...

16-07-2010, 11:38 AM
Do what Im doing, just keep hitting F5 then you wont have to worry about the long winded bollocks

I'm getting any long winded bollocks...it is on this (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=1504191.html#pot+luck+awaits+liverpool+juve ) link, isn't it? :confused:

Chuckie
16-07-2010, 11:39 AM

Exciting stuff this...

Caaaaaam on...

HibeeMcGinn1
Liverpool got an easy tie

I'm getting any long winded bollocks...it is on this (http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=1504191.html#pot+luck+awaits+liverpool+juve ) link, isn't it? :confused:

Nope this one;

Quick!!

persevere1875

No mate link on post 76

16-07-2010, 11:40 AM
Awesome, thanks lads.

16-07-2010, 11:41 AM
Anybody know what group we are in

16-07-2010, 11:41 AM
SFL/SPL take note... This is how you draw teams from a pot. You MIX the balls first. :agree:

16-07-2010, 11:42 AM
Never thought I'd see the day when hibs were seeded in a european draw!!!!:greengrin

Glory glory

Ronaldo9
Decent draw! Happy with that!

GGTTH!!

wetting my pants now...

HibeeMcGinn1
16-07-2010, 11:43 AM
possibly Shamrock-Juve.... here we go

WellingtonHibby
16-07-2010, 11:44 AM
well.....who have we got?:grr:

videoton :thumbsup: away first leg

We've got Videoton

Erm... Can't spell it... :boo hoo:

Videoton again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1:rolleyes:

Purehibee_MYB
Videoton or Maribor!!

as its says

Videoton/Maribor

persevere1875
Videoton Get in :top marks

HibeeMcGinn1
videton/maribor

16-07-2010, 11:45 AM
Videoton or Maribor :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Or MX Maribor

rebhar
Videoton!:D:greengrin(maybe)

hibs away to malibor or videor

as its says

Videoton slopey, get it right:greengrin

note to self- edit function useful for typos.

Or MX Maribor

Kids and grown ups love it so.

micksoo
16-07-2010, 11:46 AM
Home or Away first?

how much do flights to these places cost?? :confused:

Hibby Gav
whaddayathink?

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

HibeeUnderwood
16-07-2010, 11:47 AM
Who? :cool2:

HibeeMcGinn1
Home or Away first?

Didn't catch my quick stealth Edit. :greengrin

Honestly though it was Haribor. Oops... :wink:

Chuckie
Great.

So we can't book **** all just now...

Jackpotty!

Videoton slopey, get it right:greengrin

note to self- edit function useful for typos.

OK chef :wink:

Twa Cairpets

I hear there is a crisis of supply of spreading butter there.

Its a Maribor Stork Nightmare

away first

Videoton!:D:greengrin(maybe)
videons groundhttp://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/hungary/szekesfehervar_videoton1.jpg

16-07-2010, 11:48 AM
Maribor will do for me.

Great.

That's what I thought - basically a week's notice to book things?

When are the home/away ties?

PiemanP
are they any good?

where are they from :faf:

yessssssssss!!! home for the second leg, was dreading us being at home first! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

videons groundhttp://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/europe/hungary/szekesfehervar_videoton1.jpg

malibors groundhttp://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d1/Maribor_-_Nafta_044.jpg/250px-Maribor_-_Nafta_044.jpg (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Maribor_-_Nafta_044.jpg)

16-07-2010, 11:49 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maribor

Maribor looks nice.

Hibby Gav
whaddayathink?

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Hibs have been drawn against either Maribor (Slovenia) or Videoton (Hungary). Maribor have the away goal, have drawn 1-1 in Hungary on Thursday night

So this (thanks for the info Callum);

Videoton - Finished 2nd in their league last season, 1pt off top, and 4 ahead of 3rd. They had the leagues top scorer last season in Nemanja Nikolic. They signed him halfway through the season, and he finished the season on 18 goals. Maccabi Haifa and Toulouse are rumoured to be interested in him. They play in a 15,000 capacitystadium.

Or this;

NK Maribor (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NK_Maribor) - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NK_Maribor

Finished 2nd in their league last season. God knows how good that league is... or not.

bob12345

oh wait, they are

First leg between them finished 1-1 last night, with the Slovenians at home next week.

You've got to think Maribor is looking more likely.

16-07-2010, 11:50 AM
Videoton was an amazing trip back in the day but totally different place nowadays, access wise.

Get yourself booked for Budapest if you fancy it and they get though but I'd fancy Maribor to emerge victorious now...:thumbsup:

I'll not be there....passport needs renewed and too much on for the early stages.....:wink:

1-1 from first leg so can't book

Live draw link

these are malibors fans--http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hCfLUDDwNw

hibs1989
Have hibs not played FC Videoton before?

Purehibee_MYB
Just talked about Maribor on SSN...They sound dangerous!

Hibernian vs Videoton/Maribor

Could have been worse I suppose :wink:

Mon the Hibs! :hnet:

16-07-2010, 11:51 AM
cheap beer which ever:greengrin

16-07-2010, 11:53 AM
Just talked about Maribor on SSN...They sound dangerous!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NK_Maribor

16-07-2010, 11:54 AM
http://www.maribor-pohorje.si/default.aspx?stran=priporocamo&str=284&id_pod=18&jezik=2

Mutts Nutts...hoep its here...can book rooms through this site

16-07-2010, 11:54 AM
With the away goal Maribor seem favourites.

Won more titles than any other Slovenian team, beat Villareal in the 2006 Intertoto Cup, have had a few rough years due to debt problems.

Not going to be easy.

Second leg at home = stadium opening???

jonny
16-07-2010, 11:55 AM

1-0 at ER, 3-0 away. Comfortable victory in the 1990 season. A long time ago.....

16-07-2010, 11:55 AM
Is this a good draw then? I'm no expert on Hungarian or Slovakian (or Slovenian?) football. :greengrin

16-07-2010, 11:56 AM
if motherwell get through they will play allesunds(sp) norway ? i think :greengrin

Bo'ness Hibee
16-07-2010, 11:57 AM
Have been on hols to Slovenia a couple of times. Nearest airport to Maribor is Graz in Austria which is less than an hour away by car. See http://www.maribor-slovenia-travel-guide.com/air-travel.html for more details.

In 1989. 1-0 Hibs at ER, Graham Mitchell header, 3-0 Hibs in Hungary. Great trip. Ohhh the Houchy Houchy, oh the Houchy Houchy.:thumbsup:

thefamousfive
What are the fixture dates??

16-07-2010, 11:58 AM
1-0 at ER, 3-0 away. Comfortable victory in the 1990 season. A long time ago.....

Have been on hols to Slovenia a couple of times. Nearest airport to Maribor is Graz in Austria which is less than an hour away by car. See http://www.maribor-slovenia-travel-guide.com/air-travel.html for more details.

Maribor has it's own airport, but the only flights from the UK are from Stansted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awm38lguJI4 look good there, nice 3rd goal

16-07-2010, 12:01 PM
Maribor has it's own airport, but the only flights from the UK are from Stansted.

Charter job then EDIN direct...can only be couple of hours....PETRIE...get it sorted:grr:

16-07-2010, 12:01 PM
Hibs v Videoton 1989
http://video.stv.tv/bc/sport-football-20081211-videoton-hibs-19890927/

Let's hope for a repeat if we play them again.

16-07-2010, 12:03 PM
Is it the home or away leg first?

Do we know, for example all seeded teams will be away first leg, or is it still to be decided? If so who decides, etc?

16-07-2010, 12:03 PM
Home or Away first?

away whats the weather like in hungary or sloveina

16-07-2010, 12:04 PM
FAO ADMIN

perhaps the meged thread title should be retyped to show the tie in the correct order, ie we're away in the 1st leg - just incase people book up in error...:wink:

16-07-2010, 12:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awm38lguJI4 look good there, nice 3rd goal

Dangerous from set pieces.

16-07-2010, 12:05 PM
Is this a good draw then? I'm no expert on Hungarian or Slovakian (or Slovenian?) football. :greengrin

Not if Maribor get through it's not (as looks likely)

They've been in the Champions League Group stage before (beating Dynamo Kiev) and have been narrow losers to Parma and Villarreal in the UEFA Cup recently.

They're about as dangerous a team as we could have got at this stage.

john18722
I reckon you could book now if you wanted as Maribor and Székesfehérvár (where Videoton play) are only 2 hours 50 mins apart by car. See link

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Sz%C3%A9kesfeh%C3%A9rv%C3%A1r,+Hungary&daddr=Maribor&hl=en&geocode=&mra=ls&sll=46.320378,17.446289&sspn=2.864186,4.927368&ie=UTF8&ll=46.800059,17.039795&spn=2.838985,4.927368&z=8

You could therefore get a flight to either Budapest , Graz or maybe Zagreb and still be relatively close to either ground depending on who gets through?

Lush 4* in Maribo £95 a night twin room with Brekki:greengrin

Is it the home or away leg first?

Do we know, for example all seeded teams will be away first leg, or is it still to be decided? If so who decides, etc?

we are away 1st leg

Hibeescott
16-07-2010, 12:06 PM
difficult draw, was hoping to avoid them. do not go taking this one for granted by any means!

16-07-2010, 12:07 PM
Not if Maribor get through it's not (as looks likely)

They've been in the Champions League Group stage before (beating Dynamo Kiev) and have been narrow losers to Parma and Villarreal in the UEFA Cup recently.

They're about as dangerous a team as we could have got at this stage.

Cheers - Sky Sports News made them sound dangerous.

Then I read this thread and a few folk seemed to be happy with the draw so wasn't sure if it was SSN or the hibs.net massive that were talking out their arse. :greengrin

I reckon you could book now if you wanted as Maribor and Székesfehérvár (where Videoton play) are only 2 hours 50 mins apart by car. See link

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Sz%C3%A9kesfeh%C3%A9rv%C3%A1r,+Hungary&daddr=Maribor&hl=en&geocode=&mra=ls&sll=46.320378,17.446289&sspn=2.864186,4.927368&ie=UTF8&ll=46.800059,17.039795&spn=2.838985,4.927368&z=8

You could therefore get a flight to either Budapest , Graz or maybe Zagreb and still be relatively close to either ground depending on who gets through?

now thats a cunning plan

we are away 1st leg

How do you know? Looking to get flights up to Edinburgh, need to know for certain. On holibubs for the Away leg so no chance there.

16-07-2010, 12:08 PM
Is the first leg definitely away then? Need to book train tickets for the home leg (5th August?)

16-07-2010, 12:09 PM
How do you know? Looking to get flights up to Edinburgh, need to know for certain. On holibubs for the Away leg so no chance there.

coz i watched the draw :greengrin videoton/maribor will be the home team in the 1st leg :agree:

unless it's done in reverse order :boo hoo:

16-07-2010, 12:09 PM
a well versed traveller :wink: might save a few quid and book up the best 'option' now...

http://www.geographicguide.net/europe/maps-europe/maps/europe-political.jpg

16-07-2010, 12:10 PM
Is the first leg definitely away then? Need to book train tickets for the home leg (5th August?)

The first leg is away.

16-07-2010, 12:14 PM
The first leg is away.

Its official.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100716/hungary-or-slovenia-awaits_2262950_2093973

Away leg first!

16-07-2010, 12:18 PM
if we get Videoton i wonder if shabby laslo will be a guest pundit:wink:

16-07-2010, 12:22 PM
Lush 4* in Maribo £95 a night twin room with Brekki:greengrin

oh do tell us more:greengrin

scott7_0(Prague)
16-07-2010, 12:25 PM

Hot, currently central Europe is averaging around 35+ we have had nearly 40c for the last week.

16-07-2010, 12:28 PM
oh do tell us more:greengrin

PM me (by the way thats not an offer to share my bed:wink:)don't want it full till i'm sorted

16-07-2010, 12:28 PM
What are the fixture dates??

1st leg we are away from home on 29th July, the 2nd leg were at home on 5th August.

Would like to get Videoton but it's looking likely that Maribor will get through.

16-07-2010, 12:31 PM
at the moment the chaepest i can manage for 3 nights flights and accomodation is about £500+....so the club should be able to better this with a charter :rolleyes:

16-07-2010, 12:31 PM
Its official.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100716/hungary-or-slovenia-awaits_2262950_2093973

Away leg first!

''As a result, the home leg will take place at the new-look Easter Road on Thursday 5 August - it promises to be a night to remember.''

a hint that the new east will be ready for the game?? :thumbsup:

16-07-2010, 12:36 PM
''As a result, the home leg will take place at the new-look Easter Road on Thursday 5 August - it promises to be a night to remember.''

I can say for sure it won't be ready!

16-07-2010, 12:37 PM

:agree: Sounds like it :greengrin

I bet rodders has just been on to the contractors and given the new deadline.........

big-mo
16-07-2010, 12:42 PM
I have spoken to the club and there is a meeting on Monday to discuss the possibilty of putting on a charter for the fans.

If you would be intrested email rsmith@hibernianfc.co.uk (rsmith@hibernianfc.co.uk) indicating the numbers involved, the more travelling the more likely they will do it. Of course, no prices yet.
There will also be a number away with the club on tour that would also want to go.

houston1875
16-07-2010, 12:46 PM
I have spoken to the club and there is a meeting on Monday to discuss the possibilty of putting on a charter for the fans.

If you would be intrested email rsmith@hibernianfc.co.uk (rsmith@hibernianfc.co.uk) indicating the numbers involved, the more travelling the more likely they will do it. Of course, no prices yet.
There will also be a number away with the club on tour that would also want to go.

sounds good?

(((Fergus)))
16-07-2010, 12:50 PM

Szekesfehervar (Videoton) is in the middle of the Hungarian plain, no mountains, no sea (although not too far from Lake Balaton), and therefore bloody sweltering the last time I was there in July.

Maribor I've never been to but it is built on a river in amongst hills, so should hopefully be a bit cooler.

There's pictures of the stadium here with some landscape visible:

http://www.nkmaribor.com//DOKUMENTI/DOKUMENT.ASP?ID=342
http://en.stadioni.org/maribor/ljudski_vrt

Here's pictures of the Videoton ground, although hopefully we won't have to go there...

http://www.magyarfutball.hu/en/stadion/10

persevere1875
16-07-2010, 12:51 PM
Ahh I can just see the conversation when I get home tonight now.... Dear, you know we haven't booked our holidays yet, well......:greengrin

16-07-2010, 12:54 PM
at the moment the chaepest i can manage for 3 nights flights and accomodation is about £500+....so the club should be able to better this with a charter :rolleyes:

i hope the club do a charter, even a one night, even a day trip.

just spoke to a friend who arranges sporting travel packagea and he estimated a package could be £370 for one night and staying in a 2 star hotel. tbh the accommodation doesnt really matter, its only a place to have a few hours kip and leave a bag.

16-07-2010, 02:25 PM
I am on holiday, so miss the match and the new stand :grr: I am not trying to be on a downer, but Maribor came 2nd in Slovenia and from what i have heard, the best footballing team in Slovenia, so not overly confident :cool2:

hibbydog
16-07-2010, 02:36 PM
Videoton has got me thinking .....Wasnt it against Videoton at Easter Road 20 odd years ago that Allan Sneddon fainted during the game? WTF was that all about...:confused:

16-07-2010, 02:39 PM
Videoton has got me thinking .....Wasnt it against Videoton at Easter Road 20 odd years ago that Allan Sneddon fainted during the game? WTF was that all about...:confused:

In behind the goals there is a Hibs v Videoton programme on the wall.

Frogga
16-07-2010, 02:44 PM
I'm in Slovenia right now (Ljubljana) and its bloody roasting at around 35degrees. I was telling a mate before the draw that its quite a similar country to Scotland here in the sense that its very hilly, there's trees everywhere (57% of the country is forest) and they love their alcohol and cafes. I've never seen so many bars and coffee establishments in such a small area before!

16-07-2010, 02:48 PM
Great.

Chuckles by name....

...eh, naw, that's it.

16-07-2010, 02:50 PM
I'm in Slovenia right now (Ljubljana) and its bloody roasting at around 35degrees. I was telling a mate before the draw that its quite a similar country to Scotland here in the sense that its very hilly, there's trees everywhere (57% of the country is forest) and they love their alcohol and cafes. I've never seen so many bars and coffee establishments in such a small area before!

How much for a pint? :greengrin

Frogga
16-07-2010, 03:07 PM
How much for a pint? :greengrin

Think its a bit cheaper here, I mean last night we got 0.5L for 2.70euros and that was right in the most expensive bit of the old town. Reckon its generally about 1.50-2.50euros for a half litre if you stick to the local stuff :agree:

16-07-2010, 03:19 PM
Just booked train tickets and hotel for the home leg, job's a good 'un :agree: