View Full Version : Media Some Hibs vintage here

15-07-2010, 02:41 PM
Those of a certain vintage will recall some of these games .. Old British Pathe footage of the Hibees - enjoy! (http://www.britishpathe.com/results.php?search=Hibernian) :thumbsup:

15-07-2010, 08:01 PM
quality mate :agree: :grr:nothing wrong wi our goal v clyde [just ask diego]

15-07-2010, 08:07 PM
Those of a certain vintage will recall some of these games .. Old British Pathe footage of the Hibees - enjoy! (http://www.britishpathe.com/results.php?search=Hibernian) :thumbsup:

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=29657

Think I've just spotted Doddie at 1 min 24 seconds. :greengrin

15-07-2010, 08:20 PM
http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=29657

Think I've just spotted Doddie at 1 min 24 seconds. :greengrin

That's me right enough, guys - a right wee sunbeam I was too.

It's being so cheerful that keeps me going, you know..... :greengrin

Oscar Lomax
15-07-2010, 08:23 PM
Great post mate....My Dad is loving this, as he was at all these games....:thumbsup:

15-07-2010, 08:25 PM
Great post mate....My Dad is loving this, as he was at all these games....:thumbsup:

Aye - he was the guy who stole my lollipop at Stark's Park. :grr:

That was why I was so grumpy. :rolleyes:

15-07-2010, 08:29 PM

The days of when men were men. :agree:

Can you imagine some of those modern day nancy boys running about with boots as heavy as hoose and a ball heavier than the wife. :greengrin

15-07-2010, 08:35 PM
Easter Road of old in this one.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=40292

wazoo1875
15-07-2010, 08:37 PM

Quality find TQM, that put a proper smile on ma coupon, watching them training at ER with Tam McCourt flying up and down the park in his ride on mower was a sight to behold !

15-07-2010, 08:45 PM
http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=13552

2mins 15secs to 3mins 04 secs The Cabbage pumping the Huns 2-0 at Easter Road in 3rd round replay of Scottish Cup.

15-07-2010, 08:47 PM
Quality find TQM, that put a proper smile on ma coupon, watching them training at ER with Tam McCourt flying up and down the park in his ride on mower was a sight to behold !

just watched that one......black and white......nae sound.........and Jonnyboy STILL thinks it's the cutting edge of technology :grr:

as an aside,could anybody put a rough approximisation,of what is being said(or thought),in subtitles to that clip :greengrin

15-07-2010, 09:13 PM
just watched that one......black and white......nae sound.........and Jonnyboy STILL thinks it's the cutting edge of technology :grr:

as an aside,could anybody put a rough approximisation,of what is being said(or thought),in subtitles to that clip :greengrin

Which of course it was/is :greengrin

Black and white so no need for away strips and nae sound means you don't have to listen to the drivel coming out of BBC?ITV?SKY/ESPN commentators' gobs :agree:

15-07-2010, 09:57 PM
Which of course it was/is :greengrin

Black and white so no need for away strips and nae sound means you don't have to listen to the drivel coming out of BBC?ITV?SKY/ESPN commentators' gobs :agree:

Absolutely right, John.

This is a nice one I found on the same site:

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=39372

Tommy Younger in goal, and a couple of sprightly young Hibees scoring, one in each half - even if the Austrian cameraman almost manages to miss the header at the end....

15-07-2010, 10:03 PM
Absolutely right, John.

This is a nice one I found on the same site:

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=39372

Tommy Younger in goal, and a couple of sprightly young Hibees scoring, one in each half - even if the Austrian cameraman almost manages to miss the header at the end....

Fabulous stuff :thumbsup:

15-07-2010, 10:09 PM
Fabulous stuff :thumbsup:

Commentaries were different class in those days: "It seemed as if the Scotland players themselves were about to be attacked as the crowd turns ugly..."

Pardon me, mate, but from what I could see the crowd was pretty ugly to start with... :greengrin

Really convincing bit of simulation from the Austrian inside-forward, too. :rolleyes:

Gordon Smith (7) captaining Scotland, too.