View Full Version : Greggs Bayo Akinfenwa

TheBall'sRound
12-07-2010, 05:23 PM
Working down south for a few weeks, I've heard from some Northampton fans that we're one of the clubs in for this chap. Aberdeen have already expressed an interest and Sky reckon he's going to head to Southend. The guys I work with reckon we're his first preference though.

Anyone else heard about this?

And before anyone says it, no it's not Cobblers :greengrin

12-07-2010, 05:26 PM
Where does he play?..................and dont say Northampton:cool2:

TheBall'sRound
12-07-2010, 05:28 PM
Where does he play?..................and dont say Northampton:cool2:

Have to admit I'm not an expert - never heard of him before last week. He's a big burly forward apparently.

GreenPJ
12-07-2010, 05:34 PM
Have to admit I'm not an expert - never heard of him before last week. He's a big burly forward apparently.

Started his career in Lithuania seemingly :devil:

12-07-2010, 05:37 PM
Started his career in Lithuania seemingly :devil:

Cannae be any good then as the Yams have all the world class Liths :agree:

12-07-2010, 05:38 PM

Sounds worryingly like Eduardo "The Tank" Hurtado!! :bitchy: :greengrin

RamblingJack
12-07-2010, 05:43 PM
He's out of contract and Millwall are looking at him as well,we does score goals but he is injury prone.

12-07-2010, 05:48 PM
A comment from a Northampton fan -

Bayo needs to sack his Agent. Where else is an injury prone, overweight striker going to get a 2yr deal in these hard times? Hopefully, the release of Bayo's huge salary could mean improved offers to Holt & Guttridge.

12-07-2010, 05:52 PM
Sounds like a load of cobblers!

12-07-2010, 05:57 PM
Here's another to balance it out tho -

I hope not. With no Bayo,we will need to sign someone who can score. I would have loved it if he'd decided to stay. However,there is a silver lining - next season we may have a Plan B. So thanks and good luck Bayo, Holt and Guttridge.

12-07-2010, 05:58 PM
A comment from a Northampton fan -

Bayo needs to sack his Agent. Where else is an injury prone, overweight striker going to get a 2yr deal in these hard times? Hopefully, the release of Bayo's huge salary could mean improved offers to Holt & Guttridge.Nade ..?

Im worried, theres a pattern emerging here, ..De Graaf ..history of injury ..Hart..history of injury ..Mark Brown ..injured for a while ...this chav ..history of injury...:rolleyes:

Im only joking before all ye serious folks start scudding me wi yer serious cudgies !!! ..:wink:

12-07-2010, 06:04 PM
Age 28

Last season 43 matches; 17 goals; 12 assists

Came on as a sub 5 times was subbed 20 times

Been with 9 clubs.

12-07-2010, 06:10 PM
Age 28

Been with 9 clubs.

Seems a bit of a mercenary, i'd prefer if we went for that lad courier at Hamilton.

12-07-2010, 06:14 PM
Age 28

Been with 9 clubs.No bad ...:agree:

12-07-2010, 06:38 PM
He is not Hibs Class :greengrin :wink:

12-07-2010, 06:40 PM
Seems a bit of a mercenary, i'd prefer if we went for that lad courier at Hamilton.

Yup. MAC would be a handy lad to have back on our books indeed. :agree:

12-07-2010, 06:41 PM
Once seen, never forgotten

He makes Nade look like weighwatcher of the month :greengrin

12-07-2010, 06:51 PM
Our very own Christian Nade. Except he scores goals. :greengrin

If we sign I'll happily join in with a chorus of "ten men couldnae carry Ade." :wink:

12-07-2010, 08:55 PM
Our very own Christian Nade. Except he scores goals. :greengrin

If we sign I'll happily join in with a chorus of "ten men couldnae carry Ade." :wink:

we might have to go upto 50 men...

http://images.teamtalk.com/08/09/800x600/AdebayoAkinfenwa2Northam_1204947.jpg

12-07-2010, 09:01 PM

FFS has he eaten Nade?

12-07-2010, 09:08 PM

HOLY ****!!!!!!

12-07-2010, 09:09 PM

Your missing the opportunity that the Tache has spotted....as leaders in all kinds of shirt and short sponsorship...The Tache has recognised the chance to test shirt 'side' sponsorship (left and right)..and spotted that someone with large love handles was going to have greater space to sell :agree:

12-07-2010, 09:27 PM
Here's another to balance it out tho -

I hope not. With no Bayo,we will need to sign someone who can score. I would have loved it if he'd decided to stay. However,there is a silver lining - next season we may have a Plan B. So thanks and good luck Bayo, Holt and Guttridge.
http://img.skysports.com/09/12/218x298/akinfenwa-800_2399589.jpg
he looks like this-

hibernator
12-07-2010, 10:28 PM

Built like the side of a hoose, Sponsored by an Estate Agent:sofa:

Musselbound
12-07-2010, 11:03 PM
Age 28

Been with 9 clubs.

Was thinking when I looked at his stats earlier that, whatever else is said about him, his scoring record is actually pretty decent. Certainly a lot better than Nade's - that's for sure.

12-07-2010, 11:22 PM
Was thinking when I looked at his stats earlier that, whatever else is said about him, his scoring record is actually pretty decent. Certainly a lot better than Nade's - that's for sure.

Prof Stephen Hawking has a better scoring rate than Nade.:agree:

Musselbound
12-07-2010, 11:47 PM
Prof Stephen Hawking has a better scoring rate than Nade.:agree:

:agree: True, but I did mean his scoring record is actually half decent. The level may not be that high though and I can't comment any more than that since I've never seen him play.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adebayo_Akinfenwa

Ernie Cobra
12-07-2010, 11:51 PM
http://img.skysports.com/09/12/218x298/akinfenwa-800_2399589.jpg
he looks like this-

is it just me or does that colour really suit him......does Fat Jim read .net??? hope so the boy is hertz class all day long!

12-07-2010, 11:58 PM
FFS has he eaten Nade?

13-07-2010, 12:02 AM
Your missing the opportunity that the Tache has spotted....as leaders in all kinds of shirt and short sponsorship...The Tache has recognised the chance to test shirt 'side' sponsorship (left and right)..and spotted that someone with large love handles was going to have greater space to sell :agree:

:agree: Whe he's injured we could still fly him above the stadium as a blimp.

13-07-2010, 12:32 AM
:agree: True, but I did mean his scoring record is actually half decent. The level may not be that high though and I can't comment any more than that since I've never seen him play.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adebayo_Akinfenwa

Having had a look at his Wiki page his scoring record doesn't look too bad right enough - yet to be proven at SPL-ish standard though. One thing that strikes me is he seems an ambitious lad with consierable belief in his own abilities having refused contracts with a couple of clubs - presumably thinking he could do better.
like yourself I've no idea if he's got the qualities required to cut it at SPL level.

deeks01
13-07-2010, 12:49 AM
could be a decent signing imo , if its no a load of old tom kite , someone up top who can pose teams like rangers/hearts/d.utd some problems with his physical presence , what we've been needing against those teams imho :) *colin nish doesn't count* ;) lol

13-07-2010, 01:35 AM
This guy actually looks decent as the battering ram option when we need a goal. Would be a good option if we can get him signed up. :agree:

HibeesLA
13-07-2010, 03:12 AM

Or someone to help roll the new pitch?

Maybe we could have halftime sumo wrestling at the derby games.

13-07-2010, 06:17 AM
It looks like he's a bit too fond of the Jambalaya, crawfish pie and fillet gumbo. :wink:

13-07-2010, 06:27 AM
Gary O'Connor is slimmer - no?

13-07-2010, 07:07 AM

Or use him as a stadium roof like wembley

13-07-2010, 08:27 AM
Would give us an option we currently do not have - regardless of what level you play football at, big guys who can win balls in the air can win you/save you games. How often did Craig Levein chuck Kevin McKenna up front to great effect (sometimes against us, unfortunately)?

Even Sir Alex tried to sign Mick Harford from Luton once so Man Utd would have a plan B when heavy pitches meant playing it on the deck wasn't productive.

aberhibsfc
13-07-2010, 08:43 AM

All the Helium on the Planet ain't gonna get him off the ground.

Owain_1987
13-07-2010, 08:52 AM
From what a remember of this guy which is not much is he should not be coming anywhere near our club.

Ernie Cobra
13-07-2010, 09:21 AM
12 Jul 2010 21:58:14
HIBERNIAN RUMOURS

IN

Ivan sproule (Bristol city)
Erton Fejzullahu (nec Nijimen will sign after pre season friendly)
Foster (Aberdeen)
Danny Swanson (Dundee United)

OUT
Bamba (Stoke)
lewis Stevenson ( Raith Rovers)

no mention of Messi or Ronaldo :grr:

13-07-2010, 10:32 AM
HIBERNIAN RUMOURS

IN

Foster (Aberdeen)

OUT
Bamba (Stoke)

I think that they could be right with Lewis but they have missed us being in for Kiki Musampa's brother Kris who i think will be available in the January window.

13-07-2010, 10:35 AM
HIBERNIAN RUMOURS

IN

Foster (Aberdeen)

OUT
Bamba (Stoke)

What's interesting about that name is that not only does the player actually exist but Yogi's looking to strengthen the attack, Byrne's away and check his wikipedia entry under 'current club'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erton_Fejzullahu

Still, three years of his deal outstanding suggests something's not right.

M11BMO
13-07-2010, 10:44 AM
What's interesting about that name is that not only does the player actually exist but Yogi's looking to strengthen the attack, Byrne's away and check his wikipedia entry under 'current club'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erton_Fejzullahu

Still, three years of his deal outstanding suggests something's not right.

Someone may know something we don't.

13-07-2010, 12:25 PM
All the Helium on the Planet ain't gonna get him off the ground.

Ha Ha - you underestimate the power of Petrie! Isn't it obvious from the way he supports that supersized tache from that relatively normal sized face that he has already mastered the art of levitation?!?

Disc O'Dave
13-07-2010, 12:30 PM
I think that they could be right with Lewis but they have missed us being in for Kiki Musampa's brother Kris who i think will be available in the January window.

He'll be past his best by then though.......

Ernie Cobra
13-07-2010, 12:48 PM

He'll be going cheap then, need to be moved on quickly before his contract expires

At The Edge
13-07-2010, 03:25 PM
HIBERNIAN RUMOURS

IN

Foster (Aberdeen)

OUT
Bamba (Stoke)

that'll be another wrong piece of news re. Swanson
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11781_6258673,00.html

13-07-2010, 04:22 PM
I spoke to a friend of mine about this guy, he was at Northampton last season in the reserves.

Says the bloke is a huge unit, good player, and is a general lump. He seemed to suggest though that he wasnt very mobile, but came out with "he is the strongest man ever!!" He informs me that it would be wise not to start on the bloke and that hes got a funny story to tell me on that front when i next see him.

**He is most definately NOT a fat Nade-esque bloke**, hes an absolute unit, would love to see Kurchaski and Davie Wear in a physical battle. Saying that whether i think he would be useful or not :rolleyes:...

Trust me though the guy has seen him in the gym and he is not fat :wink:

13-07-2010, 04:48 PM
I hope this is not true. I just can't imagine singing a song about a player called Adebayo Akinfenwa. Especially after a few beers.

13-07-2010, 06:51 PM
that'll be another wrong piece of news re. Swanson
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11781_6258673,00.html

seems so, he was at East End Park on saturday,

would like to see him at hibs but hes done the right thing for united.

magnificent_seven
13-07-2010, 07:34 PM

Deaaaary me! Drier than Ghandi's sandal!

Will David Eggnogg (Liverpool) and Evander Snowman both be joining the January window too?

RamblingJack
13-07-2010, 11:01 PM
According to tonights local evening news Bayo is currently training with Leyton Orient while he considers contract offers from 3 SPL clubs.

TheBall'sRound
13-07-2010, 11:49 PM
According to tonights local evening news Bayo is currently training with Leyton Orient while he considers contract offers from 3 SPL clubs.

I really hope he signs for no other reason than I can retire with a 100% Greggs record. :greengrin

14-07-2010, 08:27 AM
We appear to be going down the african route again here as this morning's metro is reporting Yogi having an interest in Zekondande Huhkelele who was released by Nimes this summer.

Caversham Green
14-07-2010, 09:56 AM
I hope this is not true. I just can't imagine singing a song about a player called Adebayo Akinfenwa. Especially after a few beers.

Fits the "Pompey Chimes" perfectly.

Ernie Cobra
14-07-2010, 10:03 AM
We appear to be going down the african route again here as this morning's metro is reporting Yogi having an interest in Zekondande Huhkelele who was released by Nimes this summer.

I think i prefer his cousin georges form by the looks of things. :wink:

hibee4life1983
15-07-2010, 11:57 AM
This erton lad has to be a wind up, his middle name is 'yam slayer'

Cmon, own up!

15-07-2010, 12:04 PM
This erton lad has to be a wind up, his middle name is 'yam slayer'

Cmon, own up!

:faf::faf: