View Full Version : would you welcome vuvuzelas to ER?

blairwallace
11-07-2010, 09:41 PM
personally i'm now use to the sound of them and i would buy one and bring it to easter road.
what do you now think about them?

11-07-2010, 09:42 PM
personally i'm now use to the sound of them and i would buy one and bring it to easter road.
what do you now think about them?:grr::grr:

WarringtonHibee
11-07-2010, 09:43 PM
No way, they're bollocks. They don't create atmosphere, at all.

11-07-2010, 09:46 PM
I would buy one ! :confused: Don't know why ? :dunno:

I've got used to them too and suprisingly I would buy one ! :greengrin

11-07-2010, 09:48 PM
:grr::grr:

DD spot on mate.

11-07-2010, 09:48 PM

You'll probably get it wrapped roond yer napper:wink:

Why don't you join the Sally army if you want to blow yer:trumpet:

11-07-2010, 09:49 PM
would you welcome vuvuzelas to ER?

What position does he play?

11-07-2010, 09:51 PM

Drat, you beat me too it :greengrin

blairwallace
11-07-2010, 09:51 PM

12th man mate :thumbsup:

woody47
11-07-2010, 09:52 PM
No :grr: No :grr: No :grr:.

As we sang to the one fan who brought one to the game yesterday, "you can shove ur vuvuzuela up yer ar$e" and I will gladly help it on its way to anyone who sits close to me with one.

11-07-2010, 09:53 PM
If you do can I grab it off you and bat you 'roond the melt wi it? :greengrin

11-07-2010, 09:53 PM
This years fad. It won't last.
See sweetie tobacco, the Bazooka Joe Club, klackers, The Bay City Rollers, Punk Rock, New Romantics, pop sox (wtf?) Space Dust, Football Casuals , Eastenders, New Labour and Susan Boyle.

Riordans Boots
11-07-2010, 09:56 PM
My son has just bought a green one - and he will be bringing it to Easter Road :agree:

11-07-2010, 09:56 PM

They are South African culture and should remain in South Africa in consequence IMO! :wink: :confused:

11-07-2010, 09:57 PM
I wouldn't have thought people would be allowed to take vuvuzelas through the turnstiles in case they are used for battering opposition fans.

There might be one or two at the start of the season but pretty soon the police and fellow fans will be telling vuvublowers to put a sock in it.

blairwallace
11-07-2010, 10:07 PM
what about if:
a) they were mini vuvus, more like horns (i have 2 from the cis final)
b) they were only blown when we scored?

11-07-2010, 10:07 PM
My son has just bought a green one - and he will be bringing it to Easter Road :agree:

Are you a West lower RB:pray::greengrin

Ross4356
11-07-2010, 10:11 PM
No!!!! they can GTF!!!!

11-07-2010, 10:13 PM
No :grr: No :grr: No :grr:.

As we sang to the one fan who brought one to the game yesterday, "you can shove ur vuvuzuela up yer ar$e" and I will gladly help it on its way to anyone who sits close to me with one.

:top marks will supply the vaseline !!!!!!!!!!

11-07-2010, 10:15 PM

Have you practiced playing one out yer erse? Cos that's where you'd be blowing it from if you brought it anywhere near me.

Riordans Boots
11-07-2010, 10:16 PM
Are you a West lower RB:pray::greengrin

My son isnae though :greengrin

11-07-2010, 10:22 PM
My son isnae though :greengrin

12-07-2010, 01:43 AM
No way, they kill the atmosphere never mind create it.

A good atmosphere is loads of chanting, not a drone of a noise the whole game that would go right through my head. They are only in SA and should stay put, it's their culture and it should stay that way.

Storar
12-07-2010, 02:03 AM
No way, they kill the atmosphere never mind create it.

A good atmosphere is loads of chanting, not a drone of a noise the whole game that would go right through my head. They are only in SA and should stay put, it's their culture and it should stay that way.

How many games have you been to in South Africa to make that kind of judgement?!

Anybody who thinks that Vuvuzelas kill the atmosphere at a football game is very mistaken.
The noise when Ghana took the field against Uruguay was incredible and was much more atmospheric than anything I've every experienced at any Hibs game.

I'd expect that most other people who were lucky enough to make it to any World Cup games would agree that you're talking crap.

I'm definitely bringing tonnes of them to Easter Road next year.

12-07-2010, 02:29 AM
How many games have you been to in South Africa to make that kind of judgement?!

Anybody who thinks that Vuvuzelas kill the atmosphere at a football game is very mistaken.
The noise when Ghana took the field against Uruguay was incredible and was much more atmospheric than anything I've every experienced at any Hibs game.

I'd expect that most other people who were lucky enough to make it to any World Cup games would agree that you're talking crap.

It gives me a headache listening to it on the TV, i'm sure it would only be worse if i was actually at a game surrounded by them. I think the noise of them just cuts out any singing, which IMO is ruining the atmosphere in a way.

Sandy
12-07-2010, 06:18 AM

If I was standing/seated next to you I would shove it up yer erse, does that answer your question ? :greengrin

Sandy
12-07-2010, 06:19 AM
See sweetie tobacco, the Bazooka Joe Club, klackers, The Bay City Rollers, Punk Rock, New Romantics, pop sox (wtf?) Space Dust, Football Casuals , Eastenders, New Labour and Susan Boyle.

Oi :grr: :grr:

12-07-2010, 06:36 AM
Any at ER will be more a toot toot rather than a constant drone so there will be plenty opportunity for clapping and singing as well.

12-07-2010, 06:43 AM

You can rant all you like but you have to move on and stop dressing like a member of Visage. It's just wrong.:agree:

12-07-2010, 07:01 AM

Please can we start a campaign to stop this man :grr:

down the slope
12-07-2010, 07:10 AM
If they blow these things at ER i would never cross the threshold again nor would plenty of others, the idea of watching football with that constant racket in the background is just not on.

12-07-2010, 07:33 AM
You'll probably get it wrapped roond yer napper:wink:

Why don't you join the Sally army if you want to blow yer:trumpet:

:agree::agree::agree::agree:

they didnt annoy me at the world cup because i accepted them solely because its an african thing and the world cup was in africa.....

HOWEVER... if i hear them at scottish games it will definately piss me right off.

vuvuzelas in african football culture :thumbsup:
songs and chants in european football culture :thumbsup:

unfortunately, i think we'll hear a lot of them this season though.

hope they get banned! :agree:

12-07-2010, 07:47 AM
I emailed the club and enquired about setting up a vuvuzela section in the new East Stand. I didn't really understand the reply though. What is a proctologist?:confused:

jax67
12-07-2010, 07:52 AM
MY MATE IS DYSLEXIC AND HE'S JUST BEEN ARRESTED IN SOUTH AFRICA FOR BLOWING ON A ZULUS VULVA, SO I DONT THINK BRINGING THE VUVUZELA TO SCOTTISH FOOTBALL IS A GREAT IDEA, ACCIDENTS CAN HAPPEN.:greengrin

12-07-2010, 08:16 AM

Also see, ripping up lots of pieces of paper and throwing them at football matches.

This fad briefly transferred itself from the 78 world cup to league grounds around the world, but soon faded out.

The Mexican wave from 86 however, is still on the go.

I think we'll see/hear a few vuvuzelas at the start of the season, then they'll end up in people's cupboards out of the way.

Having said that, the annoying Livi drummer might fancy some musical accompaniment.

12-07-2010, 08:16 AM
I emailed the club and enquired about setting up a vuvuzela section in the new East Stand. I didn't really understand the reply though. What is a proctologist?:confused:

khib70
12-07-2010, 08:17 AM
Ask Storar - it sounds like he's going to need a good one sometime soon:greengrin

12-07-2010, 08:22 AM
"Vuvuzelas kill the atmosphere at matches".

Er, what atmosphere?

A few hundred vuvuzelas in the stadium during matches over the last 4 months last season would have helped!

12-07-2010, 08:24 AM
No thank you ..if i want to suffer 90 minutes of ear drum bashing i will just switch the Wife on !!!! :grr:

WellingtonHibby
12-07-2010, 08:26 AM
Vuvezelas.....Pipe Down. :agree:

.SeventyFive
12-07-2010, 08:27 AM
I would seriously struggle to cope with them at Easter Road. I actually think they went a long way to ruining this World Cup.

12-07-2010, 08:32 AM
No thank you ..if i want to suffer 90 minutes of ear drum bashing i will just switch the Wife on !!!! :grr:

This is the thing though.

As long as they are blown with the intent of starting up chants etc, i.e. instead of banging on the side walls/old cage then I don't see any problem with them.

I doubt some individuals are going to bring them to the match and blow on them... :rolleyes: ...for the full 90mins.

12-07-2010, 08:35 AM
This is the thing though.

As long as they are blown with the intent of starting up chants etc, i.e. instead of banging on the side walls/old cage then I don't see any problem with them.

I doubt some individuals are going to bring them to the match and blow on them... :rolleyes: ...for the full 90mins.Obviously no ...:rolleyes:

aberhibsfc
12-07-2010, 09:33 AM
I would much rather that the club brought in people strategically placed around the home sections to bang a drum to lift the tempo and encourage the home support into some serious vocals.

However when the old firm come to the ground maybe some vuvuzelas to drown out each time they
inflict their bile.

Joking aside I much prefer the European tradition of vocal backing with some drums if necessary.

12-07-2010, 09:38 AM

It was more the BCRs I was going to complain about!!!! They are alive and well in my hoose. Every time the missus gets bevvied they get blasted oot!!!!!:grr::grr:

12-07-2010, 09:41 AM
If we are talking about the four-foot long monsters that drowned out all the singing at the World Cup - then no

However I counted 4 mini-versions at East End Park on Saturday. The odd toot now and again. The first Hibs Kids game of the season you will probably see/hear about 40. They sell/sold them at the Hibs Shop - no?

It won't spoil the atmosphere 'cos they won't be blown continuously. We wouldnae let this happen

Storm in a tea-cup if you ask me

12-07-2010, 10:35 AM

Be handy to drown out the sectarian chants when the OF and the Yams come to ER. Besides that definitely no.

ionahibby
12-07-2010, 11:33 AM
Be handy to drown out the sectarian chants when the OF and the Yams come to ER. Besides that definitely no.

Very good idea :agree:

HibeeB
12-07-2010, 11:39 AM
I hate them.

If somebody was blowing one close to me I would hunt him down and root it oot :grr:

12-07-2010, 11:45 AM
No to the Vuvuzela.

Look how many trumpets at Tynecastle spoil the atmosphere.

12-07-2010, 12:09 PM
No way!!!! How am I meant to get my snooze in the lower west with that racket going on FFS?

12-07-2010, 12:34 PM
It was more the BCRs I was going to complain about!!!! They are alive and well in my hoose. Every time the missus gets bevvied they get blasted oot!!!!!:grr::grr:
I think you protest too much. . Any excuse to throw on the old tartan trimmed shirt and trousers I bet.:greengrin

12-07-2010, 12:43 PM
I don't want to hear that nonsense at games! :bitchy:

Chanting, singing & swearing is what the game is all about. :agree: :greengrin

12-07-2010, 12:46 PM
I don't want to hear that nonsense at games! :bitchy:

Chanting, singing & swearing is what the game is all about. :agree: :greengrin

And booing our own players. :agree: That's the best bit for me.

12-07-2010, 12:51 PM
They'll be banned, precisely due to their divisive and trouble-making potential. A nutter of my aquaintence has already set out his intentions should one be blown in his immediate vacinty and I'm sure there are others of the same ilk.

I'd keep them, along with rattles and drums out of football. Our culture is singing one in this country and I'd hate that to be replaced by what are essentially kids toys.

12-07-2010, 12:58 PM
If it drowns out all the moaners....then i'm all for them being at ER :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Celtic have apparently got them in their club store....

12-07-2010, 01:05 PM
And booing our own players. :agree: That's the best bit for me.

Don't forget missing the last 15 minutes of the first half so you can be first in line for the pies, oh and bringing in a paper to keep yourself entertained. :agree:

12-07-2010, 01:05 PM
Doesn't worry me as it'll be a passing fad. Hibs should get them in the club shop as they did with those rubber wristbands that were all the rage a few years ago and make a few quid out of them.

I'm looking forward to seeing a few launched in Hartley's direction if he rejoins the yams.

12-07-2010, 01:29 PM
please no . :grr:nippy anoying things

12-07-2010, 03:09 PM
The Livingston drummers were annoying enough but they pale into insignificance when compared with these *loody trumpets.

Ye can stick them where the sun don't shine and let's all hope they never see the light of day at ER!

12-07-2010, 03:13 PM
Doesn't worry me as it'll be a passing fad. Hibs should get them in the club shop as they did with those rubber wristbands that were all the rage a few years ago and make a few quid out of them.
I'm looking forward to seeing a few launched in Hartley's direction if he rejoins the yams.Aye ..but at least the rubber wrist bands only gave a gentle "twanging" sound ...:rolleyes:

12-07-2010, 03:24 PM

Proctology is that branch of astronomy devoted to the specialised study of Uranus.

Or so I've been told. :rolleyes:

12-07-2010, 03:47 PM
No no no no no no.

I agree that last season the atmosphere at ER was mostly crap, but surely we can do more to improve it than by drowning out any singing or chanting with a bloody mindless racket.

these Voo Voo thingys make Ooh Ooh to be a Hibby sound like it was written by George Gershwin.