View Full Version : Alternative name for new East Stand

08-07-2010, 12:29 PM
OK, I'd first like to make it clear I'm not talking about sponsorship deals or such like.

I feel a bit uninspired by the new stand being called the 'East Stand'. I wondered if anybody felt the same and thought we should come up with an alternative name, something maybe specific to Hibs and not just a point of the compass.

I always fondly remember 'The Cave' from when I was really young (though I realise that wasn't a universally used name). That's what you call a distinctive name for part of your stadium. Celtic Park had 'The Jungle' and you have the likes of 'The Kop' at Liverpool.

Any ideas?

A couple of possibilities from me:

The Hawkhill Stand.
Use the name 'The Cave' again for this part of the ground.

08-07-2010, 12:32 PM
The We Like To Stand.

08-07-2010, 12:35 PM
The We Like To Stand.

I sense a serious standing debate coming on.....

08-07-2010, 12:37 PM
The I liked the old...

08-07-2010, 12:38 PM
Obvious really...

The Last Stand :greengrin

08-07-2010, 12:38 PM
I think it should be called Misunda.

08-07-2010, 12:39 PM
The If Carlsberg Built Stands.

08-07-2010, 12:41 PM
I'd like it if the club asked the fans what they would like to call it. Perhaps gave us a list of past heroes, and we had some sort of vote. The Pat stanton stand, or Joe Baker stand would be my preference, but it does need named imho.

08-07-2010, 12:43 PM
The "counted be and up" stand.

Riordans Boots
08-07-2010, 12:45 PM
I'd like it if the club asked the fans what they would like to call it. Perhaps gave us a list of past heroes, and we had some sort of vote. The Pat stanton stand, or Joe Baker stand would be my preference, but it does need named imho.

That would get my vote :agree:

08-07-2010, 12:45 PM
We've got the Famous Five stand, would anybody like to see "The Turnbull's Tornadoes Stand"?

Riordans Boots
08-07-2010, 12:47 PM
OK, I'd first like to make it clear I'm not talking about sponsorship deals or such like.

I feel a bit uninspired by the new stand being called the 'East Stand'. I wondered if anybody felt the same and thought we should come up with an alternative name, something maybe specific to Hibs and not just a point of the compass.

I always fondly remember 'The Cave' from when I was really young (though I realise that wasn't a universally used name). That's what you call a distinctive name for part of your stadium. Celtic Park had 'The Jungle' and you have the likes of 'The Kop' at Liverpool.

Any ideas?

The Hawkhill Stand.

Why don't you do a poll??

08-07-2010, 12:48 PM
Why don't you do a poll??

The "why don't you do a poll" stand? :wtf: :bitchy:

08-07-2010, 12:55 PM
The Free From Asbestos Stand. :cool2:

08-07-2010, 12:58 PM
The "why don't you do a poll" stand? :wtf: :bitchy:

Sure Hibs said they'll be selling the naming rights for it, poor taste, still if it brings in enough cash...

It'll still be the east terracing :agree:

08-07-2010, 01:02 PM
Obvious choice would be

Pegs R Us Stand

Godsahibby
08-07-2010, 01:03 PM
I still call it the terracing!

08-07-2010, 01:04 PM

Sure Hibs said they'll be selling the naming rights for it, poor taste, still if it brings in enough cash...

It'll still be the east terracing :agree:

Never knew that.

08-07-2010, 01:09 PM
No matter what we call it most fans will still call it 'the east' or 'the terracing' or some other variant on the many things it has been called over the years.

If it was up to me i'd go for 'The Sir Tom Farmer Stand'. I know that probably won't be universally popular and Sir Toms' not likely to approve but i feel he deserves some recognition for what he has done/continues to do for the club.

08-07-2010, 01:09 PM
Get Radio Forth to sponsor it – The Forth Stand :confused:

Pun intended :greengrin

08-07-2010, 01:10 PM
The Boooooooooooooo stand.

08-07-2010, 01:22 PM
No matter what we call it most fans will still call it 'the east' or 'the terracing' or some other variant on the many things it has been called over the years.

If it was up to me i'd go for 'The Sir Tom Farmer Stand'. I know that probably won't be universally popular and Sir Toms' not likely to approve but i feel he deserves some recognition for what he has done/continues to do for the club.

Is that true? I used to call it the cave, but now its the famous 5. I still call the dunbar end, the dunbar end as its not been renamed. The pat stanton stand does sound good to me, thats my preference.

El Gubbz
08-07-2010, 01:22 PM
The Shed

08-07-2010, 01:28 PM
The singing stand ?

08-07-2010, 01:33 PM
The We Like To Stand.

The Can't Stand?

08-07-2010, 01:36 PM
It had a lot of derisory nicknames over the years, the 'cowshed', 'cave', and the 'scabby' spring to mind.

No longer appropriate now.

I think i'm going to start calling it 'the sexy'.

08-07-2010, 02:02 PM
The 'Don't So Close To Me' ?

08-07-2010, 02:08 PM
The 'Don't So Close To Me' ?

Or even the "I can't losing you"? :greengrin

davemcbain
08-07-2010, 02:13 PM
Custers

08-07-2010, 02:15 PM
:thumbsup: Michael Whelehan Stand :thumbsup:

1st captain of the cabbage...:applause:

08-07-2010, 02:40 PM
It had a lot of derisory nicknames over the years, the 'cowshed', 'cave', and the 'scabby' spring to mind.

No longer appropriate now.

I think i'm going to start calling it 'the sexy'.

How about the Stand Up Ya Boring Auld Farts Stand?

08-07-2010, 02:44 PM
The Caravan Stand

08-07-2010, 02:51 PM
The Caravan Stand
I'll raise you the Poofs, Hoores and Junkies stand?

First Derby, just for comic effect, all of us in the East should take along pegs and wave them at that mob.

They're so jelous i'm at the point when i'm beginning to cringe for them when I hear the garbage they spew about down the local.

08-07-2010, 03:35 PM

LeithBoozy
08-07-2010, 03:47 PM
the best fans in the world stand :agree:

08-07-2010, 04:30 PM
:thumbsup: Michael Whelehan Stand :thumbsup:

1st captain of the cabbage...:applause:

The Canon Hannan Stand.

are the naming rights no sold to someone already?

08-07-2010, 05:39 PM
a tune came on my MP3 player on my way home that has inspired me (even more than normal :wink: )

The Magnificent Seven Stand :greengrin

08-07-2010, 05:44 PM
For me it has to be named after Sir Tom Farmer. His family have saved Hibs twice from extinction and under his ownership we now are the model football club which all SPL clubs will aspire to copy. Except those owned by dodgey russian bankers.

Pete70
08-07-2010, 06:42 PM
The "You're not allowed to"

08-07-2010, 07:14 PM
The Uber Stand

francobaresi
08-07-2010, 07:21 PM

Any ideas?

The Hawkhill Stand.

The Kop was named after a battle [spion kop] in the 2nd Boer War where the British troops were defeated, for anyone that is interested, & many clubs in UK/world have a Kop end. Why not something respectful to the sacrifices made by local squaddies/bootnecks etc who have made the ultimate sacrifice. Must be a few good Hibbies to have paid that price? Not the Kop though...

tbfhibs
08-07-2010, 07:28 PM
The Kop was named after a battle [spion kop] in the 2nd Boer War where the British troops were defeated, for anyone that is interested, & many clubs in UK/world have a Kop end. Why not something respectful to the sacrifices made by local squaddies/bootnecks etc who have made the ultimate sacrifice. Must be a few good Hibbies to have paid that price? Not the Kop though...

Dunkirk end.

francobaresi
08-07-2010, 07:36 PM
Dunkirk end.

hmmm, not quite got that ring to it....

08-07-2010, 07:37 PM
the joe baker stand gets my vote and also 10 other people i have spoken to today about this

Mixu62
08-07-2010, 08:04 PM

What are you talking about? I thought Hearts won that one as well?:greengrin

TheBall'sRound
08-07-2010, 08:10 PM
Is that true? I used to call it the cave, but now its the famous 5. I still call the dunbar end, the dunbar end as its not been renamed. The pat stanton stand does sound good to me, thats my preference.

I'm sure the South/Dunbar end was called the White and McKay Stand until not too long ago.

7-Heaven
08-07-2010, 08:21 PM
The Lawrie Reilly Stand :notworthy:

08-07-2010, 08:24 PM
The Lawrie Reilly Stand :notworthy:
The Sir Tom Farmer Stand, The Cannon Hannan Stand or The Patrick Stanton Stand would all be fine by me.

Even a sponsors name would be okay, money for nothing basically.

Alteratively, the It's Called A Stand For A Reason Stand.

08-07-2010, 08:28 PM
Dunkirk end.

The "Will Our Quest for the Holy Grail Never" End?

08-07-2010, 08:56 PM
I'd stick with The East. Easter Rd, East Mains, The East....I like the continuity!

Bobo
08-07-2010, 09:22 PM
"The Dockside" :greengrin

08-07-2010, 09:25 PM
I'm sure the South/Dunbar end was called the White and McKay Stand until not too long ago.

Was it, i never knew that?

08-07-2010, 10:02 PM
The This stand will be called after the manager who wins us the Scottish cup .................... stand.

08-07-2010, 11:42 PM
Eddie Turnball Stand :dunno:

09-07-2010, 12:03 AM
The 'Erin Go Brach Republican Tricolour "stand? :dunno:

1875godsgift
09-07-2010, 01:14 AM
The "By Me" Stand?
:singing: :partyhibb :rockin:

drifter533814
09-07-2010, 01:29 AM
The booked for being ugly stand,
The Tortolano stand,
The East Terracing sounds fine to me.

blairwallace
09-07-2010, 02:22 AM
The 'food and drinks' stand

09-07-2010, 02:30 AM
The Scott Brown Stand. He effectively paid for it. :greengrin

On a serious note, the Sir Tom Farmer Stand sounds cracking to me. :agree:

Ernie Cobra
09-07-2010, 02:50 AM
Get Harp lager to sponsor it, then we could have the Erin Go Bragh

Tom Farmer stand sound good to me

09-07-2010, 08:25 AM
The "By Me" Stand?
:singing: :partyhibb :rockin:

Or maybe the "By your man" stand?

09-07-2010, 09:47 AM
Matty Jack Stand?

09-07-2010, 09:48 AM
Matty Jack Stand?

The Perpetual Semi Stand?

Billy McKirdy
09-07-2010, 10:00 AM
How about the Best Stand

09-07-2010, 10:11 AM
The This is how you build a stand you yam ***** Stand.

09-07-2010, 10:37 AM
If it goes the way of sponsorship, for me, that is fine. A name is only a name. It will always be the East.

I do however feel that STF should be honoured in some way by the suppoters and possibly the completion of the stadium is a fitting time to do it.

Stuarty27
09-07-2010, 12:27 PM
Simple but effective

"The East Terracing"

Petrie's Tache
09-07-2010, 12:30 PM
The wee team stand.

09-07-2010, 12:34 PM
If it goes the way of sponsorship, for me, that is fine. A name is only a name. It will always be the East.

I do however feel that STF should be honoured in some way by the suppoters and possibly the completion of the stadium is a fitting time to do it.

Spot on GT. Aye, we have had our heroes over the years but without STF we probably wouldn't even be having this new stand discussion.

STF for me :hnet:

Purehibee_MYB
09-07-2010, 12:41 PM
Joe Baker Stand, or Pat Stanton or FRANCK Sauzee stand...or for humorous effect call it the smaller teams stand

MrHibs1982
09-07-2010, 01:11 PM
How about, The Comedy Club ;)

09-07-2010, 01:41 PM
How about, The Comedy Club ;)Think that would be more suited to the tramps over in gorky park ...:wink:

McKenzie
09-07-2010, 02:42 PM
[/QUOTE]Hainan Hibs

The This is how you build a stand you yam ***** Stand. [QUOTE]

Gets my vote :thumbsup:

09-07-2010, 02:49 PM
the garry o'connor stand? might convince him to come home :wink: or the albert kidd stand if we want to honour past heroes :agree:

STF gets my vote

09-07-2010, 03:41 PM
The East Stand gets my vote ..:agree:

09-07-2010, 04:04 PM
Spot on GT. Aye, we have had our heroes over the years but without STF we probably wouldn't even be having this new stand discussion.

STF for me :hnet:

STF Stand for me too :top marks

09-07-2010, 06:37 PM
the garry o'connor stand? might convince him to come home :wink:

nah im holding out for 'the garry o'corner' :wink:

09-07-2010, 07:01 PM
If it really must be called something other than "The East" and unless a sponsor comes up with good money, IMO it should be called either "The Canon Edward Hannon Stand" or "The Sir Tom Farmer Stand". One of these men started thois great club and the other ensured that we are still here today. Although I am sure STF wouldn't really want it named after him.

10-07-2010, 07:59 AM
The Wallace Mercer Memorial Stand

10-07-2010, 09:01 AM

Any ideas?

The Hawkhill Stand.

i would like it to be the tom hart,eddie turnbull stand or similar.

each section could have a name of each of the famous five, ie lawrie reilly section, seat a07.

not sure how many different sections there are .some form of tribute to george best i think would be a good gesture as well even though he was with us for a short spell

10-07-2010, 10:09 AM
The Last Stand.

10-07-2010, 11:38 AM
The Last Stand.

oi! (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?187012-Alternative-name-for-new-East-Stand&p=2509734&viewfull=1#post2509734)

10-07-2010, 11:53 AM
We could make a clever statement about our performances in the Scottish cup and our sexuality by naming it 'Planet Out'.

Underdose
10-07-2010, 11:56 AM
nah im holding out for 'the garry o'corner' :wink:

nice one! :thumbsup: