View Full Version : First Hibs game after you were born

06-07-2010, 02:04 PM
Mine was:

Hibernian 2-2 Chelsea, Friendly, 3rd August 1991.

06-07-2010, 02:07 PM
Mine was:

Before anyone comes in with a clever suggestion :greengrin

Motherwell 3 Hibs 7 27 September 1952

Reilly (4), Johnstone (2) & Turnbull

06-07-2010, 02:08 PM
1st January 1969

Hearts v Hibs (I think I read somewhere it was 1-1 but that's open to correction)

Just learned it was an even less inspiring 0-0

06-07-2010, 02:10 PM
Mine was:

This thread has led me to a discovery which has rather spooked me:shocked:

The game before I was born was an 11-2 victory over Alloa, which is where I now live and the game after was a 5-1 victory over Falkirk, which is where I effectively work.

Can Hibs decide your fate?:confused::cool2:

06-07-2010, 02:11 PM
13/10/1990 - Dundee Utd 1-0 Hibernian

06-07-2010, 02:40 PM
Hibs 1-1 Celtic, 30th November 1994.

dirtydirk
06-07-2010, 02:48 PM
bit of help needed here. I have vague memories of my first game but I'm sure it was a midweek cup game gainst aberdeen in either the late 80s or early 90s. Sat in the north stand with my dad and I think we got hammered about 4-0 and I think there was trouble at it. I have memories of loads of police horses marching people up easter road after it but thats about all.

Can anyone confirm anymore details about this match - if it actually happened ha ha

06-07-2010, 02:53 PM
Born August 20th, 1990

August 22nd, 1990: Scottish League Cup Round Two, Livingston 0-1 HIbernian (AET)

August 25th, 1990: Scottish Premier Division, Aberdeen 2-0 Hibernian

mglancy23
06-07-2010, 03:13 PM
Born 1st April 1983

02.04.1983 Kilmarnock home W8-1

not sure the scorers, and apparantly it was nil nil at half time :dunno:

06-07-2010, 03:16 PM
where would someone go to find out such info?????

EDIT - found info

15/12/1984 Hibs 0 - 1 Celtic

06-07-2010, 03:21 PM
I can't find the date but I'm guessing that the first game after I was born was probably the first game of the 88/89 season. If that is the case, it was a 3-1 win over Celtic at Easter Road. :thumbsup:

Just found out that the above is garbage.

According to the results database on the Hibs website, Hibs beat Motherwell 1-0 at Easter Road on 13th August 1988.

06-07-2010, 03:26 PM

The game before I was born was an 11-2 victory over Alloa, which is where I now live and the game after was a 5-1 victory over Falkirk, which is where I effectively work.

Okay .. I'm seriously freaked out!

First game after my birth was a 3-1 win over St Johnstone in PERTH!

I have lived in Perth for the last 20 years!

Maybe Hibs CAN decide your fate?

:eek:

06-07-2010, 03:33 PM

hhhhmmmmm.... we played celtic 3 days after i was born..... and i had salt & vinegar on a fish supper once!! :dizzy:

SPOOKY!:devil:

06-07-2010, 03:44 PM
Born - 02-02-1993

06-02-1993 - Cowdenbeath - (A) - 0-0 - Scottish Cup

Lang Toun Hibs
06-07-2010, 03:46 PM
I was born on an afternoon when Hibs lifted a cup!

Drybrough Cup Final 1972
Hibernian 5 Celtic 3 (AET)

06-07-2010, 03:56 PM
03-10-1953 Born at midday Elsie Inglis

Away to Q of South in the afternoon and a 3-2 defeat. Dobbie snr got a hat trick.....only joking.

Mary Hinge
06-07-2010, 04:30 PM
Born 11th January 1959 in the Eastern General.

21st January 1959 Hibs beat Raith Rovers 4-2 :thumbsup:

rabcp1
06-07-2010, 04:40 PM

Rather spookily the first game after my birth was a 3-1 defeat to Dundee at Dens Park

I now live in Dundee!:hmmm:

David_D
06-07-2010, 04:42 PM
born 7 october 84

first game after was a 3-0 defeat at celtic

06-07-2010, 04:47 PM
born 20th jan 1960, no idea who we played next?:confused:

06-07-2010, 04:58 PM
born 20th jan 1960, no idea who we played next?:confused:

FFS it was Blackpool...................................only kidding:wink:

A 5-5 draw with Clyde believe it or not:agree:

capi
06-07-2010, 05:04 PM
Saturday 5th of September 1953

gubbed 4 nil at Raith:boo hoo:

06-07-2010, 05:17 PM
Where are you folk getting this info? The Hibs site only goes back to 2000/2001?

Argylehibby
06-07-2010, 05:19 PM
:boo hoo: lost 6-1 to Rangers at ER in the League Cup, start of the 1959/60 season ..... Why dont they show the friendly mathes results we might have won that!

We must have put the boys team out in the cup though, in the 6 game mini league we managed to lose all 6 and the aggregate was 25 - 9!

Argylehibby
06-07-2010, 05:21 PM
Where are you folk getting this info? The Hibs site only goes back to 2000/2001?

On main site under history, has a search facility as well allws you to put the year in and then scroll down for the date.

06-07-2010, 05:22 PM

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TimelineDetail/0,,10290~1794732,00.html

Argylehibby
06-07-2010, 05:28 PM
First game after the kids were born wasnt much better.

Eldest was a 1-0 defeat to Dundee Utd at ER that night. George McCluskey got sent off and I'm sure we ended up with 9 men but cant remember who the other player was that got their marching orders.

Youngest was born the day before a game at Tynie when we lost 3-1

06-07-2010, 05:29 PM
12th December 1970 - Lost 1-0 to Liverpool in the Fairs Cup

06-07-2010, 05:30 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TimelineDetail/0,,10290~1794732,00.html (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TimelineDetail/0,,10290%7E1794732,00.html)

Cheers :thumbsup:

An inspiring 2-1 away defeat to St Mirren on the 23rd of February 1985.

Should have been enough of an omen, but sadly not........................ :grr::greengrin

Mark79
06-07-2010, 05:39 PM
Where do I find the info? I'm 31st December 1972?

RigRoars
06-07-2010, 05:47 PM
Born 30/09/1968

Game -02/10/1968 Fairs cup 2-1 home win against Ljubljana :greengrin

06-07-2010, 06:17 PM
Where do I find the info? I'm 31st December 1972?

See posts 25 & 26 :wink:

Edit: Mine is a 2-2 draw at home with Aberdeen.

06-07-2010, 06:26 PM
Born 02.11.1991
Game that day was Hibs -v- Hearts in the league, at ER we drew 1-1. Then on the 5th we played Airdrie again at ER drew 2-2. What I find curious is that if I had been born on time (due on 22nd October), I would have been able to claim that the first game after I was born as being the League Cup final, but I was there 'in spirit' for the celebrations in town after we won the cup.

SmokieJoe
06-07-2010, 06:32 PM
Unfortunately for me it took until 1988 to see my first game at ER, my folks moved away from Edinburgh when i was 6, but was worth waiting for, 3 nil up at half time against Celtic, Stevie Archibald got 2 that day.

Mark79
06-07-2010, 07:18 PM
See posts 25 & 26 :wink:

Edit: Mine is a 2-2 draw at home with Aberdeen.

Look at the date:wink:

West Upper
06-07-2010, 07:19 PM
Born 10/02/94

2-0 away defeat to Rangers :boo hoo:

06-07-2010, 07:24 PM
1-1 v Dunfermline having just lost 4-0 to Juventus a few days before. We went about 8 games unbeaten after I was born.

06-07-2010, 07:50 PM
Born 29.09.1967

Next day we bt Partick 5-1 and ER :thumbsup:

06-07-2010, 08:01 PM
Look at the date:wink:

:a bite: :tee hee: Fair do's :thumbsup:

06-07-2010, 08:05 PM
Born 12.07.1967

12.08.1967 League Cup, Dundee away, 0-0 :tumble:

HibbyRod
06-07-2010, 08:15 PM
Born 24/06/52.....

....Cannae remember my first game! .... but remember my dad palming a ball-shot away from my face from literally behind the goals!!....perhaps "1960"?
Also remember Joe Baker missing a penalty ..... although I think we still won the East of Scotland Shield!!!!

Well sure my first game was before this.....carried over the turnstile, BTW....For Sure !!!!! :cool2:

06-07-2010, 08:50 PM
14th August 1948 Hibs 5 East Fife 2. Kicking off the 48-49 season as CHAMPIONS.:flag:

down the slope
06-07-2010, 09:04 PM
4th March 1950-btn 1-0 by third lanark, what's new. maybe that's why the glass is always half empty wi the Hibbies !, it's good that at least Malcolm Bogie is older than me !, come on you older Hibbies you can beat that.

06-07-2010, 09:05 PM
Don't know about the first match, but I do know about the first big match. Exactly one month old, I was.

Us 0 Clyde 1... the final of the Wee Cup, 1958.

Marty-Hibee
06-07-2010, 09:10 PM
Born 6/9/91 so the next game was 7/9/91 against Airdrie away, with an uninspiring, yet useful 1-0 win:agree:

HibeeDave
06-07-2010, 09:16 PM
Born at 26/01/71 Elsie Inglis
we got gubbed 3-1 away to St Mirren.
spookily, to this day I hate Paisley.

06-07-2010, 11:11 PM

Must be something in this. First game after my birth was in March 1968 and we beat Stirling Albion 5-2. Yep. I was born in Stirling.

Mixu62
07-07-2010, 12:25 AM
Born 30 Dec 1972. No. I'm not kidding!:thumbsup:

The theory of Hibs deciding your fate seems to be true. WE played Hearts 2 days later and I lived in Edinburgh for most of my life! Spooky.

The Big No.9
07-07-2010, 11:34 AM
9th of February 1976

First game was on the 14th in a 1-1 draw at home against dundee utd in the scottish cup.

My sister in law got me the program from the game for my 30th and she got it signed by Pat Stanton.

07-07-2010, 11:39 AM
Born Edinburgh

First game after my birth was a 3-1 defeat at the hands of the Sheep on 14/1/56.

Petrie needs to rewrite the history books. Get it sorted man. :grr:

07-07-2010, 12:20 PM
2 - 2 away to Dunfermline.

This site (http://www.statto.com/football/stats/results/1960-01-23) is easier to navigate than the Hibs one.

jakki
07-07-2010, 12:42 PM
Born 25.01.1948 @ Western General

Next game Hibs 1 Rangers 0

07-07-2010, 12:42 PM
http://www.soccerbase.com/results2.sd

Sauzee07
07-07-2010, 12:52 PM
I was born on 7th May 1979. The next three games will live long in the memory of many Hibs fans, no doubt!

12th May 1979, 0-0 draw against Rangers in Scottish Cup Final
16th May 1979, 0-0 draw against Rangers in Scottish Cup Final Replay
28th May 1979, 3-2 defeat to Rangers in Scottish Cup Final Second Replay! :boo hoo:

Owain_1987
07-07-2010, 01:13 PM
First league game anyway was Hibernian 0-1 Celtic

WarringtonHibee
07-07-2010, 01:25 PM
28th September 1985 (Born on 27th)
Hibernian 1 - 0 Motherwell (League)

Checked my sister's birthday, too...
3rd February 1990 (Born on 2nd)
Hibernian 1 - 2 Motherwell (League)

...Bit weird we were both born before a day before we played Motherwell.

stowhibby
07-07-2010, 01:35 PM
born 12/01/1986 the next game was a 2-2 draw with Celtic on the 18/01

M8UDB
07-07-2010, 02:24 PM
born 16/08/1985 and got pumped of der Hun 3-1 on 17/08/1985 :furious:

07-07-2010, 03:24 PM
1st game after my birthday was a 2-0 win over Raith in the League cup. 10.10.73 2 days after I arrived :greengrin

lEXO
07-07-2010, 03:38 PM
Born 21-12-66

Boxing day 66 : Hibs 2 St Johnstone 5

B******s spoiled my first christmas.

bournehibby
07-07-2010, 04:30 PM
Born 21-12-66

Boxing day 66 : Hibs 2 St Johnstone 5

B******s spoiled my first christmas.

Think it was Christmas Eve Lexo. Got my jotters that morning, and then had to watch that in the afternoon. Fair b*ggered my Christmas too.:boo hoo:

bh

lEXO
07-07-2010, 04:49 PM
Think it was Christmas Eve Lexo. Got my jotters that morning, and then had to watch that in the afternoon. Fair b*ggered my Christmas too.:boo hoo:

bh
Your right man.That,s a bad day and a half.

Sandy
08-07-2010, 06:52 AM
Born 1st December 1967, 2nd December 1967 Hibs 0 Morton 1 Petrie :grr:

Hibby Hippy
08-07-2010, 07:10 AM
19th Feb 1972 Falkirk Away in the league, 3-2 win for the Cabbage.:thumbsup:

DAZ86
08-07-2010, 07:17 AM
I was at St Johnstone in 1992 , mince game and im sure at one point I fell down the old terrace...

08-07-2010, 07:34 AM
Cup Winners Cup

Besa at ER

Won 7 - 1 :thumbsup:

I must have been a lucky omen!!!

CabbageFan
08-07-2010, 08:48 AM
On the day I was born Hibs lost 0.1 to Motherwell at Home. 20/12/1986, The game after Hibs lost 2.0 away to Dundee. 27/12/1986. :grr:

Hillsidehibby
08-07-2010, 09:42 AM
8-11-1958, 4-4 draw with Third Lanark.

08-07-2010, 02:10 PM

We got pumped 5-0 at Parkhead 5 days after I was born and I hate Glasgow.

Hibs On Tour
09-07-2010, 10:16 AM
Born 6th August 1970 [anniversary of Hiroshima or Nagasaki I believe]

29th August 1970 we drew 1-1 away to Dundee Utd
Hearts did get pumped 1-3 at home by St Johnstone however

No idea what the first game I actually attended was - would have been sometime around '82 or thereabouts...

PS - good site this for old info: http://www.statto.com/football/stats/results/1970-08-29

09-07-2010, 10:26 AM
I was at St Johnstone in 1992 , mince game and im sure at one point I fell down the old terrace...

I doubt it .. they moved to McDiarmid Park in 1989.

The nearest you'd come to falling down the old terrace that year would be a stumble in the bakery aisle at ASDA.

tbfhibs
09-07-2010, 07:21 PM
Born 24th March 1966 beaten 3-2 Dunfermline away,early April 1966.

09-07-2010, 07:35 PM
Beat QOS 9-1 at ER. :greengrin

The Famous Five et al. :thumbsup:

09-07-2010, 07:46 PM

Yes they can, I've been a miserable git since a very early age! Day before I was born we lost to St J 2-1 in the league.:grr: Week after we beat Hearts 1-0 on EoS shield:thumbsup:

PapillonVert
09-07-2010, 09:13 PM
According to the stats, on the day I was born, we lost 4-3 in an East of Scotland match.

As I was born at 4.15 pm and as games kicked off at 3.00pm normally then and, therefore, finished at around 4.45pm, I take this as a game which finished AFTER I was born. :wink:

09-07-2010, 09:42 PM
2-1 win over falkirk
24/2/96

10-07-2010, 06:24 AM
lost 4 nil at well [checked the laddies and we also got beat 3 nil at hunbrox]
going to check the grandsons now[if that is more defeats ill check the dogs

10-07-2010, 06:30 AM
lost 4 nil at well [checked the laddies and we also got beat 3 nil at hunbrox]
going to check the grandsons now[if that is more defeats ill check the dogs
:thumbsup:2 nil at the leith san siro against the pink unwashed [1st grandson]

10-07-2010, 09:35 PM
Born 28/02/1960 at Western General

According to Hibs site we beat Dundee 3 - 0 in the Scottish Cup at ER on the 29th which would be right coz it was a leap year. The 29th was a Monday so I guess it must have been a replay.

According to the same site we played a league game on the 27th ?

11-07-2010, 10:25 AM
0 - 2 at home to Rangers, and I ended up living in Glasgow for two years.

So, Hibs do decide your fate!

11-07-2010, 10:26 AM
:thumbsup:2 nil at the leith san siro against the pink unwashed [1st grandson]

RU sure you're only 39?

BullbreedHFC
11-07-2010, 10:44 AM
first game after I was born was a home match against st johnstone, we won 3-0 :agree: GGTTH

hibees59
11-07-2010, 01:42 PM
Just checked the official site and the first game after I was born, we beat Partick Thistle 10-2 away from home.:wink: