View Full Version : Tattoos

steve75
03-07-2010, 12:12 AM
I've always wanted a Tattoo, or many, but I didn't want to just get one. I wanted each to have a story or a meaning of some sort because I figured I might come to regret something that doesn't really mean much to me.

I think I've decided I want 'i believe in yesterday' from Yesterday handwritten across my my chest/shoulder

similar to this(only close example i could find)

http://www.pollsb.com/photos/o/364154-new_rihanna_tattoo_never_failure_always_lesson_wri tten_backwards_chest_read_mirror.jpg

I'm not plannin to rush into it, just wondered what people genuinly thought?

also, what have others got? Anyone regret theirs?

03-07-2010, 12:52 AM
I've always wanted a Tattoo, or many, but I didn't want to just get one. I wanted each to have a story or a meaning of some sort because I figured I might come to regret something that doesn't really mean much to me.

I think I've decided I want 'i believe in yesterday' from Yesterday handwritten across my my chest/shoulder

http://www.pollsb.com/photos/o/364154-new_rihanna_tattoo_never_failure_always_lesson_wri tten_backwards_chest_read_mirror.jpg

When I was 20 I wanted similar tatoos but I shat myself when it came to it and never went to get them.

The best decision I ever made. When you're 34 you will not want non-removable stories or statements on your body that you thought were important enough when you were 20.

If you do decide to get a tatoo get something hibs related such as a harp or the badge. You'll never regret that.

steve75
03-07-2010, 01:07 AM
When I was 20 I wanted similar tatoos but I shat myself when it came to it and never went to get them.

The best decision I ever made. When you're 34 you will not want non-removable stories or statements on your body that you thought were important enough when you were 20.

If you do decide to get a tatoo get something hibs related such as a harp or the badge. You'll never regret that.

I see your point, but this is the song my dad would sing to me when I was a baby (I know great choice of lyrics to sing to ur son...) It's the first song I remember, so it's actually ment more to me, and for longer, than hibs have.

03-07-2010, 09:54 AM

The one in the photo doesn't look too bad (other than the writing's back to front :greengrin - photo must have been taken in a mirror). It sounds like you've thought about it and the words do have meaning for you - just go for it.

I really do think that a lot of people just don't think before they get a tattoo, especially females. I've seen a few in my work with unbelievably tacky tattoos. One that springs to mind is a lassie who has chinese writing tattooed across the back of her neck, how classy is that? :bitchy: And don't get me started on tramp stamps! :grr: Have some originality FFS!

03-07-2010, 11:52 AM
The one in the photo doesn't look too bad (other than the writing's back to front :greengrin - photo must have been taken in a mirror). It sounds like you've thought about it and the words do have meaning for you - just go for it.

I really do think that a lot of people just don't think before they get a tattoo, especially females. I've seen a few in my work with unbelievably tacky tattoos. One that springs to mind is a lassie who has chinese writing tattooed across the back of her neck, how classy is that? :bitchy: And don't get me started on tramp stamps! :grr: Have some originality FFS!

You think thats bad, I was in Tesco last week and this young lassie only late teens at a guess had fc uk me on her neck but the c and u were the other way round, now thats a classy lassie. :bitchy:

04-07-2010, 12:20 PM
You think thats bad, I was in Tesco last week and this young lassie only late teens at a guess had fc uk me on her neck but the c and u were the other way round, now thats a classy lassie. :bitchy:

Why didn't you say hello to me? :cool2:

Sweep
04-07-2010, 10:02 PM
Heres one of my tattoos. No regrets.

04-07-2010, 10:43 PM
Why didn't you say hello to me? :cool2:

He said in her late teens, no her mother :rolleyes:

05-07-2010, 11:03 AM

Oh dear. I fear the worst. :greengrin

Teo10
05-07-2010, 11:09 AM
I've got a cross on the top left of my shoulder with "A Cruce Salus" written above it which in english means "From the cross comes salvation". Also along my lower back..(Not a tramp stamp!) I have Sogno. Credere. Ottenere. Which is Italian for Dream. Believe. Achieve.

Both have very personal reasons behind them and I don't regret them one bit! I forget I have them as they are on my back and never really get seen!

05-07-2010, 11:41 AM
I'm booked into Atomic tattoo's in Kirkcudbright for the beginning of august (few days after I'm back fae Tunisia!).

I've given them the design I want which is a Lion Rampant with a Scotland flag (slightly torn) between it's claws.

Getting it on the top of my right arm (hidden for work/interview purposes).

My line of thinking behind it was that I'm never not going to be Scottish (or not support Hibs :greengrin) so why don't I get one in keeping with being Scottish or a Hibee.

If I get another one at some point in my life it will definately be a Hibs one - possibly the badge or harp on my chest :thumbsup:

05-07-2010, 12:29 PM

You should be on the stage - really. :dizzy:

I've got a cross on the top left of my shoulder with "A Cruce Salus" written above it which in english means "From the cross comes salvation". Also along my lower back..(Not a tramp stamp!) I have Sogno. Credere. Ottenere. Which is Italian for Dream. Believe. Achieve.

Both have very personal reasons behind them and I don't regret them one bit! I forget I have them as they are on my back and never really get seen!

TRAMP STAMP ALERT!!!

Marabou Stork
10-07-2010, 11:04 PM
I saw a guy on a bus with a tattoo on his arm that read 'Only God can judge me'.

I judged him to be a complete wan*er.

11-07-2010, 08:11 AM
Is it sore? :boo hoo:

11-07-2010, 08:44 AM

Not sore more uncomfortable :agree:

11-07-2010, 09:20 AM
Not sore more uncomfortable :agree:

I've often thought about getting one, but I wouldn't know the best place to go, what to ask for, what it costs etc.

Would I be able to get one done from a sketch that I provided rather than one from their off the shelf collection?

11-07-2010, 09:35 AM
I've often thought about getting one, but I wouldn't know the best place to go, what to ask for, what it costs etc.

Would I be able to get one done from a sketch that I provided rather than one from their off the shelf collection?Yes...:agree: ...im gonna design my own for my left arm to cover a couple o "embarassing" home made efforts ...i want a thistle on my upper arm with 3 scrolls coming out of it with my Wife & 2 Daughters names on them, hopefully i can design it so that it goes the length of my arm ..

I have the ball & crown badge on my right fore arm & i want a harp on my right upper..that will complete my "hibs" arm ...:greengrin

Ps- im gonna try rock n roll tattoo London rd...thats where my bro got his tats ..:agree:

.Louise.
11-07-2010, 02:12 PM
I've not found any of my tattoos sore! Going for my 4th on Friday and I've been told where I'm getting it is the most painful place to get a tattoo so we will see!

11-07-2010, 02:30 PM

Would I be able to get one done from a sketch that I provided rather than one from their off the shelf collection?

Yes you can provide artwork, Ace Tattoos in Gorgay RD are great my nephew took a Hibs badge in and they copied it on to his back, http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#!/pages/Edinburgh-United-Kingdom/Ace-Tattoo-Studio-Edinburgh/262075554674?ref=ts&__a=12&ajaxpipe=1 :wink: tell him I sent you, a good mate of mine dispite being a hun

11-07-2010, 03:29 PM
Yes you can provide artwork, Ace Tattoos in Gorgay RD are great my nephew took a Hibs badge in and they copied it on to his back, http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#!/pages/Edinburgh-United-Kingdom/Ace-Tattoo-Studio-Edinburgh/262075554674?ref=ts&__a=12&ajaxpipe=1 :wink: tell him I sent you, a good mate of mine dispite being a hunSod going there for a tat ..the guy cannae bloody spell !!!!!

Ace Tattoo Studio - Edinburgh. mostly black but with red and white writting.
June 16 at 8:36pm

:no way:....:paranoid:......:greengrin

11-07-2010, 03:33 PM
Anyone know if Bill's in Leith Walk is still going ..?...i kinda trust that guy as he done the one i currently have ...albeit 27 years ago ...:rolleyes:

11-07-2010, 04:08 PM

Yes, depending on where about on your body you get it dictates just how sore..

I love how 99% of women say "Aww, tattoos dinnae hurt!"

That's cos 99% of womens tattoos are tiny and take 10-30 mins to complete..

Try a 3 hour sitting then get back to us with your opinion..

.Louise.
13-07-2010, 08:43 PM

I'll report back on Friday afternoon as getting one down my side! :wink:

13-07-2010, 08:45 PM
I'll report back on Friday afternoon as getting one down my back side! :wink:

:shocked:

Green Man
13-07-2010, 09:12 PM
Anyone know if Bill's in Leith Walk is still going ..?...i kinda trust that guy as he done the one i currently have ...albeit 27 years ago ...:rolleyes:

Yep he's still there - got my first and only (so far) done there last year. The studio's not as flash as the ones that have appeared recently (of which there seem to be hundreds!) but he's been doing tattoos for longer than I've been alive so trusted him to do a good job. I got a straightforward design (3 stars on my leg) but he did a great job, had no problems with it at all.

13-07-2010, 09:17 PM
I'll report back on Friday afternoon as getting one down my side! :wink:

Cool!

Who does your tats?

Any pics of what your getting this week?

ginger_rice
16-07-2010, 03:06 PM
I asked in Stirling the other day about getting mine re-inked as they are fading, was told £90 for one of them and £150 for the other.

They cost me £1.50 and £7 when I got them!

One thing that get's me about modern tats especially on the Girls is when they tell you "it's tribal" oh aye and what tribe do you belong to then?

I'm also not a fan of tats on hands, necks and faces, wasn't that against the law at one time?

.Louise.
17-07-2010, 06:13 PM
Got the new tattoo done yesterday. Took over an hour to complete it. Again I didn't find it sore, I must have a high pain threshold! Only felt slightly uncomfortable on my ribs.
Time to start planning the next one! :wink:

20-07-2010, 02:10 PM

I once stupidly went for a four hour sitting so i could get a large part of my sleeve outlined and shaded in one go. I wont do that again, just after the 3 hour mark i got very light headed and had to guzzle a massive bottle of lucozade to make it to the end. I think 2 hours is a sensible sitting and from now on that will be the longest i will go in a oner.

Sorest part for me so far was the chest when he got up near the collar bone, ouch!

Darth Hibbie
20-07-2010, 02:22 PM
I once stupidly went for a four hour sitting so i could get a large part of my sleeve outlined and shaded in one go. I wont do that again, just after the 3 hour mark i got very light headed and had to guzzle a massive bottle of lucozade to make it to the end. I think 2 hours is a sensible sitting and from now on that will be the longest i will go in a oner.

Sorest part for me so far was the chest when he got up near the collar bone, ouch!

My arm took 7hrs in total, done in two 3 1/2 hr sittings. That was def long enough. The only part that was sore was when it got up to the collar bone.

Without a doubt the sorest area was round about the ankle when I had my leg done.

20-07-2010, 02:23 PM
Yes...:agree: ...im gonna design my own for my left arm to cover a couple o "embarassing" home made efforts ...i want a thistle on my upper arm with 3 scrolls coming out of it with my Wife & 2 Daughters names on them, hopefully i can design it so that it goes the length of my arm ..

I have the ball & crown badge on my right fore arm & i want a harp on my right upper..that will complete my "hibs" arm ...:greengrin

Ps- im gonna try rock n roll tattoo London rd...thats where my bro got his tats ..:agree:

They are very good but also very expensive. I got the last of my three tats done there and would go back. They are worth the extra cost IMO. Tattoos seem to be a bit of a Polish art, there are loads of Polish palours these days.

I have a harp with 1875 on one calf (done at Ace in Gorgie whilst Hearts were playing in the '98 cup final), a Scotland flag on the other calf (done at the place beside The Fit o' the Walk pub) and a Depeche Mode symbol on my wrist (done at Rock n Roll). Of the three parlours I'd rate Rock n Roll the best.

Teo10
20-07-2010, 02:39 PM
I had my ones done at Studio XIII, never had any complaints and did a good job on mine!

20-07-2010, 02:56 PM
They are very good but also very expensive. I got the last of my three tats done there and would go back. They are worth the extra cost IMO. Tattoos seem to be a bit of a Polish art, there are loads of Polish palours these days.

I have a harp with 1875 on one calf (done at Ace in Gorgie whilst Hearts were playing in the '98 cup final), a Scotland flag on the other calf (done at the place beside The Fit o' the Walk pub) and a Depeche Mode symbol on my wrist (done at Rock n Roll). Of the three parlours I'd rate Rock n Roll the best.Cheers for the info mate, what sort of prices are we talking about, (at Rock n Roll) say for a harp on the upper arm with a wee bit writing, "1875" or "hibernian 1875" ?

Bearing in mind my hibs crest on my fore arm was a Billy's Leith Walk effort many moons ago at £15...:greengrin

I wouldnt mind paying over the odds at a place like Rock n Roll esp as it is rated by yourself & others i know ...:agree:

21-07-2010, 08:45 AM
Cheers for the info mate, what sort of prices are we talking about, (at Rock n Roll) say for a harp on the upper arm with a wee bit writing, "1875" or "hibernian 1875" ?

Bearing in mind my hibs crest on my fore arm was a Billy's Leith Walk effort many moons ago at £15...:greengrin

I wouldnt mind paying over the odds at a place like Rock n Roll esp as it is rated by yourself & others i know ...:agree:

Depends on the size and the detail on the harp. I'd imagine £70 o £100.

21-07-2010, 09:01 AM
Depends on the size and the detail on the harp. I'd imagine £70 o £100.Cheers, that doesnt sound too bad actually, dont really want much detail on the harp as i think it may spoil it ..:agree:.......and it might be sair ...:greengrin

Magnifique
24-07-2010, 07:02 PM
I got a wee one done at Bizzare Ink in Grassmarket about a year ago (simple name on inner wrist) not too happy as last letters in name are not quite in line with rest wouldnt go back there IMO......I am thinking of getting something bigger maybe a coloured tiger inside some tribal stuff im thinking of using ACE in Gorgie anybody any opinions over and above whats been said already

24-07-2010, 07:55 PM
I got a wee one done at Bizzare Ink in Grassmarket about a year ago (simple name on inner wrist) not too happy as last letters in name are not quite in line with rest wouldnt go back there IMO......I am thinking of getting something bigger maybe a coloured tiger inside some tribal stuff im thinking of using ACE in Gorgie anybody any opinions over and above whats been said already

I liked Ace but my mate swears by them. He has a few self designed tats that have all been done by Ace and wopuldn't go anywhere else. I still prefer Rock 'n' Roll but Ace are close 2nd.

Chuckie
26-07-2010, 09:30 PM

I have a harp with 1875 on one calf (done at Ace in Gorgie whilst Hearts were playing in the '98 cup final), a Scotland flag on the other calf (done at the place beside The Fit o' the Walk pub) and a Depeche Mode symbol on my wrist (done at Rock n Roll). Of the three parlours I'd rate Rock n Roll the best.

I had my tattoos done at Rock n Roll last year from the big quiet guy called Marcin, and one from Jarek.

These guys moved to their own premises in Dalry earlier this year, called 'Independent'. They are both excellent artists. Rock N Roll has new guys and I don't know if they are any good.

Keep this in mind Kenny.

27-07-2010, 03:42 AM
I had my tattoos done at Rock n Roll last year from the big quiet guy called Marcin, and one from Jarek.

These guys moved to their own premises in Dalry earlier this year, called 'Independent'. They are both excellent artists. Rock N Roll has new guys and I don't know if they are any good.

Keep this in mind Kenny.Will do Chuckie, ta for that ...:aok:

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 07:59 PM

Bit tacky the old fitbaw badge lets be honest...anytime you see someone with a tattoo of their teams crest it always looks a bit naff IMO...Harp maybe no to much but still...a no no :bitchy:

27-07-2010, 08:20 PM
Bit tacky the old fitbaw badge lets be honest...anytime you see someone with a tattoo of their teams crest it always looks a bit naff IMO...Harp maybe no to much but still...a no no :bitchy:

Is a butterfly more to your taste?

27-07-2010, 08:32 PM
My last 7 tattoos have been done by Rob, a Dutch gentleman who works in Tribe on West Nicholson Street..

I've been tattooed in a fair few places in Edinburgh, ACE, Bizarre Ink, Urban etc but Rob is EXCELLENT!

I will not go anywhere else to be tattooed now, booked back in at the end of August for another few hours :thumbsup:

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 08:41 PM

Haha aye...i suppose when i see a hibs one i dinnae think its as bad but still wouldnae get the badge, isthat awrite wi you!!? Must surely get ye into unwanted bother sometimes as well.

You dinnae even ken what team ye support so if i were you i'd avoid tattoos at all costs...you'll only change yer mind after ye get it :bye:

27-07-2010, 08:54 PM
Bit tacky the old fitbaw badge lets be honest[/B[B]]...anytime you see someone with a tattoo of their teams crest it always looks a bit naff IMO...Harp maybe no to much but still...a no no :bitchy:

Haha aye...i suppose when i see a hibs one i dinnae think its as bad but still wouldnae get the badge, isthat awrite wi you!!? Must surely get ye into unwanted bother sometimes as well.

You dinnae even ken what team ye support so if i were you i'd avoid tattoos at all costs...you'll only change yer mind after ye get it :bye:
You get what you are comfortable with mate eh ..ive got the hibs crest on my arm & many fans ..Rangers Celtic etc think its brill ...its never caused me bother either ..never ..but hey its about opinions ..i dont like your music ..its pish ..but ...

27-07-2010, 08:59 PM

:yawn:
That's why I got 'LOVE' and 'HATE' tattooed on my knuckles. Would you like to see them close up?

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 09:02 PM
You get what you are comfortable with mate eh ..ive got the hibs crest on my arm & many fans ..Rangers Celtic etc think its brill ...its never caused me bother either ..never ..but hey its about opinions ..i dont like your music ..its pish ..but ...

Haha very good mate, glad you like the opinions of old firm fans, but as you say it's what your comfortable with.

Like the personal insult as well adds abit of class, so is it a rangers badge or celtic one you have!?:wink:

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 09:04 PM
:yawn:
That's why I got 'LOVE' and 'HATE' tattooed on my knuckles. Would you like to see them close up?
:faf: kawality!

27-07-2010, 09:17 PM
:faf: kawality!

Photo of me from a few years ago -

27-07-2010, 09:37 PM
Haha very good mate, glad you like the opinions of old firm fans, but as you say it's what your comfortable with.

Like the personal insult as well adds abit of class, so is it a rangers badge or celtic one you have!?:wink:Old firm fans as an example ...try no be too much o an erse mate ...your getting a free reign on here ..dinnae bite the hand that feeds ye ..:wink:

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 09:55 PM
Old firm fans as an example ...try no be too much o an erse mate ...your getting a free reign on here ..dinnae bite the hand that feeds ye ..:wink:

I was having a laugh and you didnae like my opinion!!!! dunno how you thought i was bein ersy:confused: free reign??Im a hibby!!

You came out with the personal insults, anyway i'll no take it personal if you dont chief:thumbsup:

27-07-2010, 09:55 PM
Sorry Biff ..that was a bit ott ..apologies ..:aok:

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 09:59 PM
Photo of me from a few years ago -

Haha!!:top marks

Biff Tannen
27-07-2010, 10:04 PM
Sorry Biff ..that was a bit ott ..apologies ..:aok:

No worries!me tae:agree: always think people can get wrong interpretation when reading stuff rather than talking...me included! GGTTH oan ma foreheed is my next (and only) tattoo!:wink::notworthy:

27-07-2010, 10:09 PM
No worries!me tae:agree: always think people can get wrong interpretation when reading stuff rather than talking...me included! GGTTH oan ma foreheed is my next (and only) tattoo!:wink::notworthy:Yer still ***** though .....only kiddin ..:greengrin

I will endevour tae listen tae yer stuff though ...:wink:

Chuckie
27-07-2010, 10:09 PM
The 10:04's are pish though...

Chuckie
27-07-2010, 10:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxFvEAA1kF8

Seriously, they are pure barry...

Check the drummer oot...

Pure rockin !!

Stage Invaders are the highlight though..

Oh and did you know.... did you know....

They are to be the first band to headline the Liquid Rooms when it reopens...

http://www.list.co.uk/event/204686-the-1004s-underclass-hagana-marner-brown-and-a-fight-you-cant-win/

I'll post a few photos of my tatts later..
In fact.. See that wee angel gadgie in my sig doon there ..
I've got one of him on each wrist..

Calvin
27-07-2010, 11:16 PM
I love Hibs and am addicted to them, but I wouldn't get a tattoo related to them. I just feel that I wouldn't want a football team to become a physical part of me.

What I do want is this (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/83/Arms_of_Macdonald_of_Macdonald.svg) on my back, with a roman numeral IV built in, I'm not quite sure how yet. It's mainly because I'm proud to be a McDonald, and because since I was really wee I've always got 'McDonald 4' on the back of my football shirts. With the Coat of Arms and the IV, I'll always have McDonald 4 on my back!

Going to wait a few years though.

Chuckie
28-07-2010, 12:14 PM
I think the difficult thing about tattoos is always the first one.

You sit there chewing your nails worrying, and worrying and worrying.

Thoughts go round your head like -'What if I look like a **** when I'm older? What will it look like when I grow up? Do tattoos look ok on an old man?'

That's why my first tattoo at 19 was - 'WORLDS SEXIEST GRANDDAD'

28-07-2010, 12:32 PM
I think the difficult thing about tattoos is always the first one.

You sit there chewing your nails worrying, and worrying and worrying.

Thoughts go round your head like -'What if I look like a **** when I'm older? What will it look like when I grow up? Do tattoos look ok on an old man?'

That's why my first tattoo at 19 was - 'WORLDS SEXIEST GRANDDAD':greengrin

Like i say ..you get what you are comfortable with ...i love the hibs crest on my arm ..even though i got it when i was 15 i have never regretted it one bit ..my main concern though is that there are loads of tattoo parlours nowadays some good some not so good ..when i got mines in nineteen canteen i think there was only one or two tattooists in Edinburgh ...:agree:

Chuckie
28-07-2010, 12:46 PM

Like i say ..you get what you are comfortable with ...i love the hibs crest on my arm ..even though i got it when i was 15 i have never regretted it one bit ..my main concern though is that there are loads of tattoo parlours nowadays some good some not so good ..when i got mines in nineteen canteen i think there was only one or two tattooists in Edinburgh ...:agree:

That's it brother.

A tattoo is a personal thing, not for some other dizzy mother****er to turn around and say - 'oh that's ****' or 'that's tacky'.

If you like it - get it inked.

I've got a Morrissey tattoo that some people openly s****** at. Equally I have had birds frothing at the gusset when they see it, and taking photos of it.

I saw a guy in a club bog once who had the word 'BECAUSE' inked on his arm. Some punter said to him - 'Here mate, why have you got that?', and the dude went 'Because'.

28-07-2010, 01:25 PM
That's it brother.

A tattoo is a personal thing, not for some other dizzy mother****er to turn around and say - 'oh that's ****' or 'that's tacky'.

If you like it - get it inked.

I've got a Morrissey tattoo that some people openly s****** at. Equally I have had birds frothing at the gusset when they see it, and taking photos of it.

I saw a guy in a club bog once who had the word 'BECAUSE' inked on his arm. Some punter said to him - 'Here mate, why have you got that?', and the dude went 'Because'.

:top marks:greengrin...one of my mates got a black panther tattooed on his arm a few years ago ...the outline was fine, however when colouring the "artist" attempted a poor inking of the cats "sheen"..this resulted in the tat looking like it had a white streak going through it & it resembled a badger as opposed to a black "cat" panther ...even guys in the pub asked him why he had a badger inked onto his arm ...think he got it re-done after one too many ribbings ...:greengrin

Chuckie
28-07-2010, 02:51 PM
:greengrin...one of my mates got a black panther tattooed on his arm a few years ago ...the outline was fine, however when colouring the "artist" attempted a poor inking of the cats "sheen"..this resulted in the tat looking like it had a white streak going through it & it resembled a badger as opposed to a black "cat" panther ...even guys in the pub asked him why he had a badger inked onto his arm ...think he got it re-done after one too many ribbings ...:greengrin

HaHa. Brilliant.

I went with my pal when we were about 19 to get his first tattoo, actually it was in that ACE gaff in Gorgie.

Well, he was really in to the band Rage Against The Machine at the time and he wanted a tattoo, on his upper arm, that went something like this:

Rage Against The Machine
(Image of a bullet)
Bullet In The Head

The tattooist started doing the picture of the bullet first, and my boy promptly passed out after about a minute. When he came to, he was about greeting saying 'I just want to go home, just forget it', but the big tattoist was having none of it, and he held him down and carried on. He managed to finish the 'bullet', which by the way ended up looking like a big yellow lollipop, and a bit of the writing before my pal got up and said 'that's it, I can't take it any more', paid him for the work he had done, and bolted.

He was left with this:

Rage
(image of a bullet which actually looked like a lollipop)

Still has it to this day I believe.

Jambo tae - soft *****e.

29-07-2010, 05:42 AM

I have both:greengrin

Never got me into trouble either:wink:

05-08-2010, 01:30 PM

Aye a bit, but it gets better after the initial shock :greengrin

Got my first one yesterday, took just over two hours and I definately wouldn't be for sitting in a parlour, getting work done for much longer than that! :boo hoo:

I actually started to feel quite light headed and a wee bit sick towards the end although a baked tattie and a can of coke sorted that out at the Cafe round the corner afterwards.

Especially since I had to drive home fae Krikcudbright afterwards....

Is it normal for the tattoo to kinda "leak" ink on the day after (this was my first)....?

Mines has alot of red in it (since it is a Lion Rampant), someone I think once told me that the red ink tends to take the longest to heal. :confused:

Chuckie
05-08-2010, 01:37 PM
Aye a bit, but it gets better after the initial shock :greengrin

Got my first one yesterday, took just over two hours and I definately wouldn't be for sitting in a parlour, getting work done for much longer than that! :boo hoo:

I actually started to feel quite light headed and a wee bit sick towards the end although a baked tattie and a can of coke sorted that out at the Cafe round the corner afterwards.

Especially since I had to drive home fae Krikcudbright afterwards....

Is it normal for the tattoo to kinda "leak" ink on the day after (this was my first)....? Yes

Mines has alot of red in it (since it is a Lion Rampant), someone I think once told me that the red ink tends to take the longest to heal. :confused: Not true

05-08-2010, 01:40 PM
Not true

Good, it's stopped now and started to scab ever so slightly. Tried to phone the shop but got no answer earlier this morning - to be fair the phone rang a gid few times when I was in yesterday and he ignored it as well.

Take it the healing process altogether just depends on a lot of things then....nowt much to do with the ink.

Chuckie
05-08-2010, 01:44 PM
Good, it's stopped now and started to scab ever so slightly. Tried to phone the shop but got no answer earlier this morning - to be fair the phone rang a gid few times when I was in yesterday and he ignored it as well.

Take it the healing process altogether just depends on a lot of things then....nowt much to do with the ink.

Nothing to do with the colour of the ink.. :greengrin

Keep it protected and lubed up with bepanthen, or whatever your boy gave you and it will heal quickly.

05-08-2010, 01:48 PM
Nothing to do with the colour of the ink.. :greengrin

Keep it protected and lubed up with bepanthen, or whatever your boy gave you and it will heal quickly.

Will do, cheers mate

05-08-2010, 02:01 PM
Will do, cheers mateSound advive from Chuckie ...:agree:..i will also add ...DONT pick scabs..even if they itch !! :tsk tsk:

Chuckie
05-08-2010, 03:13 PM
Sound advive from Chuckie ...:agree:..i will also add ...DONT pick scabs..even if they itch !! :tsk tsk:

And if you must pick scabs, geez a shout man.

I love doing that.