View Full Version : Match Updates England vs Slovenia, USA vs Algeria, Ghana vs Germany, Australia vs Serbia

23-06-2010, 01:33 PM
England game live on BBC 1 with coverage of the USA vs Algeria on the Red Button.

England MUST win, or they're out, unless Algeria can beat the USA.

Have to say, I've never felt so nervous preparing to watch the US!

23-06-2010, 01:39 PM

Engerlund could still go through with a high-scoring draw.

23-06-2010, 01:49 PM
Engerlund could still go through with a high-scoring draw.

I really hope we're going to put them into a "must-win" position...

23-06-2010, 01:51 PM
I hope England get absolutely pumped. Absolute ***** the lot of them.

23-06-2010, 01:53 PM
I really hope we're going to put them into a "must-win" position...

:bitchy: Gotta disagree with you again there. I hope you put them into a "must win by plenty" position.

23-06-2010, 01:54 PM
C'mon England - hope the US gets through as well!

Twa Cairpets
23-06-2010, 01:54 PM
England game live on BBC 1 with coverage of the USA vs Algeria on the Red Button.

Have to say, I've never felt so nervous preparing to watch the US!

If they dont win theyre still out if Algeria win. Bascially they must win or draw with 3 more goals than the US draw with Algeria. 'Mon the Slovenia

23-06-2010, 01:58 PM
If England win at all no matter what the other score they are through are they not?

Twa Cairpets
23-06-2010, 02:03 PM
If England win at all no matter what the other score they are through are they not?

aye

Hibbie_Cameron
23-06-2010, 02:03 PM
I would be amazed if England dont win this

23-06-2010, 02:09 PM
I would be amazed if England dont win this

the whole tourney like??:confused::confused:

Hibbie_Cameron
23-06-2010, 02:13 PM
the whole tourney like??:confused::confused:

No this match, hope they dont though. Just got a bad feeling

23-06-2010, 02:16 PM

aye

:confused: At start of play Engerlund and USA have same points and same goal difference.

Shirley if Engerlund will 4-0 and USA win 5-0, USA go through? :confused:

Hibbie_Cameron
23-06-2010, 02:17 PM
:confused: At start of play Engerlund and USA have same points and same goal difference.

Shirley if Engerlund will 4-0 and USA win 5-0, USA go through? :confused:

Aye but both will finish above Slovenia

23-06-2010, 02:18 PM
England will walk this. Slovenia are honking.

anybody know of any radio/video sites that will get thru the big corporate security? cant do anything with this as i cant install Flashplyer 10 without administrative settings

NYHibby
Can anyone get the US game to work on the BBC's website? I can watch the England game but not the US one.

23-06-2010, 02:22 PM
Milner looks like the weak link in the England team.

EDIT: Just as I post that he whips in that ball for their goal.

grammyb111
I've got the US game to work on the BBC website and they've had another goal incorrectly ruled offside. I've got money on the States too.

Goal England, Defoe

Hibbie_Cameron
There we go. Thats them won it again

1-0 England

Twa Cairpets
23-06-2010, 02:23 PM
Bollocky p!sh

23-06-2010, 02:23 PM
:greengrin 1-0!

TheMentalHibees
23-06-2010, 02:25 PM
Who's the dick of a commentator on the england game? It's actually unbearable.

Hibbie_Cameron
23-06-2010, 02:26 PM
If Hansen is a turn coat then god knows what Lawro is

ionahibby
23-06-2010, 02:28 PM
Cant bear to listen to those commentators, think i will watch the tennis instead!

23-06-2010, 02:28 PM
Aye but both will finish above Slovenia

Ah. :doh:

grammyb111
23-06-2010, 02:37 PM
How are the US not winning?! Missed a hatful of chances

23-06-2010, 02:38 PM
USA to win, England to win. Classic heartbreak. :thumbsup:

23-06-2010, 02:42 PM
USA to win, England to win. Classic heartbreak. :thumbsup:

how?

23-06-2010, 02:45 PM
Slovenia are honking.

They've been really poor so far.

England are, however, being ably assisted by the referee who's given them every decision in the first half.

23-06-2010, 02:47 PM
Another shocking officiating decision is going to cost us! :grr::grr::grr:

Belgian *******s!

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 02:55 PM
USA have had a perfectly good goal chalked off for offside. Which it wasn't.:grr:

23-06-2010, 02:57 PM
how?

Apologies, hadn't done my maths properly. Whoops. Still, need the Yanks to get in front to make things twitchy.

23-06-2010, 02:59 PM
Going by the replay on the bbc, the US goal was offside by a fraction...

23-06-2010, 03:01 PM

The replay from the linesman's position is clear as day.

23-06-2010, 03:04 PM
Glen Johnson booked for diving but commentators find nothing wrong in it :grr:

vahibbie
23-06-2010, 03:04 PM

No on American TV:bitchy:
At least even which makes it a good goal:grr:

Anyway, C'MON Slovenia:agree:

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:05 PM
The replay from the linesman's position is clear as day.

Optical illusion. Run a line across the pitch and they are even. Honest.:greengrin

HibbyRod
23-06-2010, 03:06 PM

The guy who is commentating with Lawrenson is an absolute nauseating walloper! :bitchy:

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:08 PM
Aw piss. Not getting any better for Slovenia. Algeria coming back into it too....

23-06-2010, 03:09 PM
Optical illusion. Run a line across the pitch and they are even. Honest.:greengrin

Still onside then :grr:

23-06-2010, 03:10 PM
Please come on Slovenia, this is painful being surrounded by numpties who know nowt about football but are suddenly an expert.

23-06-2010, 03:11 PM

Guy Mowbray. First class welt.

23-06-2010, 03:14 PM
This Belgian linesman is a joke - how on EARTH did these clowns get invited to the WC?!

Ball deflects off a USA player right in front of him, and we get the throw.

Not complaining, but dear God he's appalling!

We're not going to score. How the **** that stayed out is beyond me.

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:14 PM
USA off the post, Dempsey misses with the rebound

23-06-2010, 03:21 PM
FINALLY Buddle is about to get a chance - Edu coming off - thank f***!

This is unbearable to watch!

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:23 PM
USA :grr: Straight at the keeper near post with a man free in the middle:grr:
And another wasted corner

23-06-2010, 03:25 PM
Someone needs to put a bullet in this keepers' forehead!

He's having a great game!!!

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:26 PM
Header straight at the keeper from 8 yards:bitchy:
USA couldnę score a barrel o' fannies

23-06-2010, 03:27 PM
Does it look like the US are going to get a win?

23-06-2010, 03:27 PM
Does it look like the US are going to get a win?

Not at this rate.

Twa Cairpets
23-06-2010, 03:30 PM
Lawrenson and Guy Mowbray are seriously giving me the heaving boak.

23-06-2010, 03:31 PM
Lawrenson and Guy Mowbray are seriously giving me the heaving boak.

I'm with you on that one 'Carpets.
I know I shouldn't let little things irritate me but I'm heartily sick of the two of them.

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:37 PM
I used to laugh at my dad having the black and white portable set up next to the colour telly in the living room in 82, 86, and 90, but here I am with the England game on a laptop and the USA game on the living room telly...:thumbsup::agree:

23-06-2010, 03:40 PM
Cheating Algerian c***s!

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:41 PM
USA waste a free kick, but at least Heskey is on, think Slovenia:greengrin

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:42 PM
Cheating Algerian c***s!

Well, they are practically French, after all:wink:

23-06-2010, 03:42 PM
It's the only way we're going to get through.

Algeria are holding us very well indeed.

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:44 PM
USA gane running 2 minutes later than England....

Hal Jordan
23-06-2010, 03:46 PM
Slovenia and USA both just threw it away there...

23-06-2010, 03:47 PM
We've been cheated out of the last 16.

No question about it.

Best referee's in the world? My f***ing arse.

23-06-2010, 03:48 PM
We've been cheated out of the last 16.

No question about it.

Best referee's in the world? My f***ing arse.

if you canny score goals...................................

:boo hoo: but time to look ahead. Ghana to draw and Australia to win :agree:

Edit: Late USA goal, so Germany to win and Australia to draw/win :agree:

YYYYYEEEESSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Hal Jordan
1-0 usa!!!

23-06-2010, 03:49 PM
if you canny score goals...................................

:bye:

USA score :greengrin

Thoroughly deserved goal for the States :agree:

23-06-2010, 03:51 PM
:thumbsup: Mon the US, best team in the group imo. Should have been through with a game to go but some dodgy decisions nearly cost them. Also stuck a £5 on them at 4/1 with 5 minutes left and had them on my coupon:top marks

houston1875
Had ma cash on yanks to win group :-))))

plus lumped aw ma vbuttons in yank group win!

I wanted your lot to go thru I have pounds on them :wink:

23-06-2010, 03:52 PM
Love how they've beaten Slovenia 1-0 and they'll now win the World Cup. Glad Germany will put them out.

Group winners!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hal Jordan
My TV in Denmark is 30 seconds ahead of the BBC......

Leicester Fan
23-06-2010, 03:54 PM
:thumbsup:Come on England!!!:thumbsup:

Leicester Fan
23-06-2010, 03:54 PM
Love how they've beaten Slovenia 1-0 and they'll now win the World Cup. Glad Germany will put them out.
:bye:Keep on telling yourself that.

23-06-2010, 03:55 PM

Big Ears the Crisp Salesman already talking about them having to play Argentina in the quarters.

23-06-2010, 03:57 PM
England will rue not scoring more goals in this match. IF they get through next round, Messi and Co will rip them apart in the Quarters.

23-06-2010, 04:01 PM
Can't wait to see Germany tadger England in the next round now! :thumbsup:

23-06-2010, 04:06 PM
Can't wait to see Germany tadger England in the next round now! :thumbsup:

Germany have to beat Ghana yet - it'll be an interesting game, expect "us" to go through though.

houston1875
23-06-2010, 04:11 PM
Germany have to beat Ghana yet - it'll be an interesting game, expect "us" to go through though.

Germany due to make changes a think? Fancy a wee sneaky for Ghana?

23-06-2010, 04:16 PM
Germany due to make changes a think? Fancy a wee sneaky for Ghana?

I wouldn't bet any money on Germany losing this evening, you never know of course - I'm not sure about Ghana. The German mind set however usually locks in for crunch games like this ...

Do you guys back home have any public viewing - well, in the England part? Berlin is having a huge party this evening - assuming everything goes well?

23-06-2010, 04:17 PM
Germany v England. Just imagine all the Sun headlines. :rolleyes:

I think I'll emigrate.

23-06-2010, 04:46 PM
Well done the USA :thumbsup:

As The Sun rag said it would be E.A.S.Y

And it was :bye:

Mingland out next round

PS..just how pesh were the Slovs? :shocked:

23-06-2010, 04:59 PM
Germany v England. Just imagine all the Sun headlines. :rolleyes:

I think I'll emigrate.

Aye, let's see how many references to Fritz and the war we get between now and Sunday :grr:

At yet we're bigots for not supporting them :greengrin

23-06-2010, 05:43 PM
England will rue not scoring more goals in this match. IF they get through next round, Messi and Co will rip them apart in the Quarters.

That's what I was just thinking (having switched off the internet before the USA goal). A lot of the "England have a piss easy draw" patter was based on them winning the group.

If Germany win the group tonight, England's route to the final could be Germany - Argentina - Spain or Brazil. Fair play to them if they win it through that lot.

23-06-2010, 05:49 PM
That's what I was just thinking (having switched off the internet before the USA goal). A lot of the "England have a piss easy draw" patter was based on them winning the group.

If Germany win the group tonight, England's route to the final could be Germany - Argentina - Spain or Brazil. Fair play to them if they win it through that lot.

Don't worry mate, they won't, they're arrogance is staggering, yet another commentator this time on ITV saying they will get Argentina in the quarters, EH? you got to get past Germany first, no wonder the whole world hates them :bitchy:

23-06-2010, 05:55 PM
England at best are 6th best of the teams left in the competition and will be out either in the next round if not the qtr finals.I know its hard to suffer their arrogance but it will make the pain of them getting knocked out even more enjoyable hopefully on a controversial decision or even better penalties.

23-06-2010, 07:20 PM
England at best are 6th best of the teams left in the competition and will be out either in the next round if not the qtr finals.I know its hard to suffer their arrogance but it will make the pain of them getting knocked out even more enjoyable hopefully on a controversial decision or even better penalties.

23-06-2010, 07:48 PM
Lovely strike from ozil! 1-0 Germany!:agree:

23-06-2010, 08:22 PM
:confused: Can't understand why Germany tried so hard to qualfy when there's so little or no chance of them getting through the next tie.:confused:

Posh Swanny
23-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Jesus guys, calm down. I don't normally get bothered by the "arrogant English tossers" bollocks that gets spouted on here becasue Lineker etc bring it on themselves normally, but this one has got under my skin (maybe the booze?!). The reason the pundits were saying England would meet Argentina in the quarter finals is because England failing to win the group means they will meet Argentina in the quarter finals, should they get this far, thus making their task to win the World Cup much more difficult than it would have been had they won the group. They didn't talk about the second round as the consequences of England not winning the group wasn't significant to round two until about 10 minutes ago.

23-06-2010, 08:39 PM
Jesus guys, calm down. I don't normally get bothered by the "arrogant English tossers" bollocks that gets spouted on here becasue Lineker etc bring it on themselves normally, but this one has got under my skin (maybe the booze?!). The reason the pundits were saying England would meet Argentina in the quarter finals is because England failing to win the group means they will meet Argentina in the quarter finals, should they get this far, thus making their task to win the World Cup much more difficult than it would have been had they won the group. They didn't talk about the second round as the consequences of England not winning the group wasn't significant to round two until about 10 minutes ago.
Nah. They've so far talked much more about the Quarter Finals than the next round because they're assuming they'll fairly easily beat everyone except Brasil, The Argentine and possibly Espain.

23-06-2010, 08:39 PM
Having watched Ghana against Germany I'm pleased that they both got through. It was a great game. The tournament will take off now that teams have to win.

England's chances in the next round improved near the end. Schweinsteiger went off injured and Ozil was limping at the end.

23-06-2010, 09:24 PM
Having watched Ghana against Germany I'm pleased that they both got through. It was a great game. The tournament will take off now that teams have to win.

England's chances in the next round improved near the end. Schweinsteiger went off injured and Ozil was limping at the end.

It's could turn out to be a classic. Too close to call for me although on Qualifying group form Germany should edge it. It is possible though that England's victory today could have kick started their campaign. I am really looking forward to this game.:thumbsup:

Posh Swanny
23-06-2010, 09:31 PM
It's could turn out to be a classic. Too close to call for me although on Qualifying group form Germany should edge it. It is possible though that England's victory today could have kick started their campaign. I am really looking forward to this game.:thumbsup:

Agreed. And I reckon I could even take a defeat if the game lived up to its potential, but only if there were no controversial circumstances - since I got interested in 1990 there has only been one time (Euro 2000) where our exit from a major tournament hasn't involved a dodgy red card, a dodgy disallowed goal or a ****ing penalty shoot-out.

23-06-2010, 09:33 PM
Agreed. And I reckon I could even take a defeat if the game lived up to its potential, but only if there were no controversial circumstances - since I got interested in 1990 there has only been one time (Euro 2000) where our exit from a major tournament hasn't involved a dodgy red card, a dodgy disallowed goal or a ****ing penalty shoot-out.

Don't look for sympathy here if that happens again.:greengrin

23-06-2010, 09:38 PM

Thats funny because i've been watching football for about the same time and can't remember many 'dodgy' red cards, couple of stupid ones but can't think of the dodgy ones :wink:

I think this game could be a cracker on sunday, i'm not getting the hype behind Englands performance today, i thought they were poor again, while they deserved the victory i thought they looked vulnrable at the back when Slovenia went forward and they're no great shakes.

That said though, England will almost definately raise there game and have more experience than the germans, i think any chance of winning the tournament was blown when they didn't win the group though

HibeeB
23-06-2010, 09:46 PM
According to Kevin Keegan 'England have nothing to fear from this German side'. :yawn:

23-06-2010, 09:52 PM
According to Kevin Keegan 'England have nothing to fear from this German side'. :yawn:

Kevin Keegan thought England would beat USA 4-1 :wink:

23-06-2010, 09:54 PM

If Keegan said that then he is wrong, Germany have players capable of doing something spectacular. I can only assume that he meant England were capable of getting a result if they apply themselves properly in which case he may be right.
Anybody know the average age of the England team and the German team? I might be wrong but could be a case of experienced English players taking their last shot at the World Cup against a rather more youthful yet confident German side.

PapillonVert
23-06-2010, 09:56 PM

Based on the form of this World Cup not an extreme assessment IMO.

You would put your money on Germany but it ain't a sure thing!

Hibbie_Cameron
23-06-2010, 10:00 PM
Thats funny because i've been watching football for about the same time and can't remember many 'dodgy' red cards, couple of stupid ones but can't think of the dodgy ones :wink:

I think this game could be a cracker on sunday, i'm not getting the hype behind Englands performance today, i thought they were poor again, while they deserved the victory i thought they looked vulnrable at the back when Slovenia went forward and they're no great shakes.

That said though, England will almost definately raise there game and have more experience than the germans, i think any chance of winning the tournament was blown when they didn't win the group though

I think it will be a cracker too. I think England have a decent chance to be honest due to the younger Germans inexperience at this level.

I do agree with you though, on Sky etc they are saying England were exceptional etc. They were good imo and should have won by more. As you said a better team than Slovenia would have scored imo

23-06-2010, 10:04 PM
If Keegan said that then he is wrong, Germany have players capable of doing something spectacular. I can only assume that he meant England were capable of getting a result if they apply themselves properly in which case he may be right.
Anybody know the average age of the England team and the German team? I might be wrong but could be a case of experienced English players taking their last shot at the World Cup against a rather more youthful yet confident German side.

the average age of the German team is 24 and a half, i remembered wondering why the commentator mentioned 'the half', i stopped referring to my age in halves when i was about 5 and a half :greengrin

Although i know what he meant i think they do have something to fear, the fact that Germans star player so far this tournament plays a lot of his best football in the hole (:tee hee:) between the midfield and attack and IMO thats exactly where England struggle, Lampard and Gerrard can't play there and Gareth Barry is extremely average at this level.

Also Wayne Rooney clearly isn't fit which has to be a worry for them

23-06-2010, 10:08 PM
I'm really looking forward to it. You have to hand it to England. They played with purpose and got back at the tossers in the media who are waiting with sharpened knives.

And yet they were only a goal away from disaster! It's a funny old game.

HibeeB
23-06-2010, 10:22 PM
Based on the form of this World Cup not an extreme assessment IMO.

You would put your money on Germany but it ain't a sure thing!

I would say based on the quality of the players in each team before the world cup England would be clear favourites.

But based on what I have seen in the tournament Germany are favourites.

Not a banker by any means, but favourites.

Hope it goes to penalties :greengrin

23-06-2010, 10:46 PM
I think it will be a cracker too. I think England have a decent chance to be honest due to the younger Germans inexperience at this level.

I do agree with you though, on Sky etc they are saying England were exceptional etc. They were good imo and should have won by more. As you said a better team than Slovenia would have scored imo

I thought the Germans were very impressive tonight against a decent Ghana side. They were also without their talisman in Klose. On WC form at least, the English are in for a tough 90 minutes on Sunday, although as we know it doesn't always work out that way.

The pundits will try their best to convince everyone that England are going to win but it's what happens on the park that matters. Slovenia are a country 1/25 the size of England in population terms and have 3000 registered players and if England are foaming at the mouth about beating them then it is a sign that their expectations have crumbled.

23-06-2010, 11:19 PM

Are you English or German?

mickki40
24-06-2010, 05:46 AM
I personally as an Englishman, would rather see England get beat in 90 minutes than go to penalties.

24-06-2010, 05:46 AM

Apart from the two times England didn't even qualify. Or Euro 92, where England were crap. Or, as you mention, Euro 2000, where they were even worse and were lucky to beat Scotland in the qualifying playoff. That's four of the 10 tournaments played since and including 1990.

24-06-2010, 05:49 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/3026341/Ghana-0-Germany-1.html

"Lahms to the slaughter"

FFS

Comparing Lahm to Glen Johnson

Posh Swanny
24-06-2010, 07:59 AM
Apart from the two times England didn't even qualify. Or Euro 92, where England were crap. Or, as you mention, Euro 2000, where they were even worse and were lucky to beat Scotland in the qualifying playoff. That's four of the 10 tournaments played since and including 1990.

Fair enough, I'd forgotten about 1992, thanks for reminding me - *shudder*. And I was thinking of exits from the finals of a major tournament so hadn't included the other two.

khib70
24-06-2010, 08:33 AM
I'm really looking forward to it. You have to hand it to England. They played with purpose and got back at the tossers in the media who are waiting with sharpened knives.

And yet they were only a goal away from disaster! It's a funny old game.
Yeah, the media's been really hard on them - especially the BBC.:boo hoo::cool2:

This would be the same media that induced mass projectile vomiting with an endlessly repeated video of crazed luvvy Brian Blessed bellowing Shakespeare over helicopter shots of the white cliffs of Dover prior to yesterday's game?

The same media that were having huge shuddering orgasms after England eventually managed to beat a country the size of Tyne and Wear by a single shinned goal thanks to five minutes of massing round the corner flag in blind panic because their defence was determined to let in an equaliser.

And we can look forward to a really emetic build up to the Germany game. Cheryl Cole reciting Churchill's "beaches" speech over stock footage oif Dunkirk and the Queen Mother visiting the East End during the Blitz, no doubt.

Why can't the media get behind Our Boys properly!!!!:grr:

24-06-2010, 09:07 AM
Yeah, the media's been really hard on them - especially the BBC.:boo hoo::cool2:

This would be the same media that induced mass projectile vomiting with an endlessly repeated video of crazed luvvy Brian Blessed bellowing Shakespeare over helicopter shots of the white cliffs of Dover prior to yesterday's game?

The same media that were having huge shuddering orgasms after England eventually managed to beat a country the size of Tyne and Wear by a single shinned goal thanks to five minutes of massing round the corner flag in blind panic because their defence was determined to let in an equaliser.

And we can look forward to a really emetic build up to the Germany game. Cheryl Cole reciting Churchill's "beaches" speech over stock footage oif Dunkirk and the Queen Mother visiting the East End during the Blitz, no doubt.

Why can't the media get behind Our Boys properly!!!!:grr:

I found the Brian Blessed stuff pretty funny. If it was us I would love the Krankies to recite Burns whilst showing aerial shots of Edinburgh Castle. It wasn't meant to be serious, have we all lost our sense of humour?
If we had qualified for the next round of the World Cup wouldn't we all be celebrating like lunatics.................even if we had only managed it by beating the President of Andorra's Granny and all her chums?

Sergio sledge
24-06-2010, 09:19 AM
I found the Brian Blessed stuff pretty funny. If it was us I would love the Krankies to recite Burns whilst showing aerial shots of Edinburgh Castle. It wasn't meant to be serious, have we all lost our sense of humour?
If we had qualified for the next round of the World Cup wouldn't we all be celebrating like lunatics.................even if we had only managed it by beating the President of Andorra's Granny and all her chums?

:agree: Seems we have all lost our sense of humour.....

Also, if we were even in the world cup, the whole of Scotland would be gripped with world cup fever and we wouldn't hear the end of it, but because its England, Scottish people seem to get really annoyed. I would put a lot of it down to jealousy IMHO. (Oh, and I am not English, before anyone asks....)

24-06-2010, 09:32 AM
It's not jealousy. If Scotland made the World Cup and English people had to put up with Euan Cameron every time they put on their radio, or had to listen to Rob Maclean talk about our route to the Final on Tv, or had to put up with some really unfunny person from River City making some cringy Tv show with the Scotland squad I can't imagine they would be behind us.

24-06-2010, 09:37 AM
It's not jealousy. If Scotland made the World Cup and English people had to put up with Euan Cameron every time they put on their radio, or had to listen to Rob Maclean talk about our route to the Final on Tv, or had to put up with some really unfunny person from River City making some cringy Tv show with the Scotland squad I can't imagine they would be behind us.

I suppose we'll find out if it ever happens.

24-06-2010, 09:41 AM
I suppose we'll find out if it ever happens.

For the sake of us all I hope not with the quality of Rob Maclean and Euan Cameron:greengrin

24-06-2010, 10:26 AM
Little bit worried about facing the Ghanians - they put up a good fight against Germany and created a lot of good chances to score one of their own.

Our defense has too many holes right now, though we did play yesterday without Onyewu, but I reckon our World Cup will end on Saturday.

Real shame too, as we'd face either Uruguay/South Korea should we progress!

24-06-2010, 10:34 AM
Little bit worried about facing the Ghanians - they put up a good fight against Germany and created a lot of good chances to score one of their own.

Our defense has too many holes right now, though we did play yesterday without Onyewu, but I reckon our World Cup will end on Saturday.

Real shame too, as we'd face either Uruguay/South Korea should we progress!

The general opinion here in Germany is that Ghana are a good team that play some excellent football, but they seem unable to score (m)any goals - can see the US going through.

24-06-2010, 12:23 PM

Surely England aspire to a bit more than that though? I don't recall ever seeing Brazil or Germany jumping for joy at, erm, scraping into the last 16.

24-06-2010, 04:55 PM
:agree: Seems we have all lost our sense of humour.....

Also, if we were even in the world cup, the whole of Scotland would be gripped with world cup fever and we wouldn't hear the end of it, but because its England, Scottish people seem to get really annoyed. I would put a lot of it down to jealousy IMHO. (Oh, and I am not English, before anyone asks....)

Hear Hear!

24-06-2010, 05:21 PM
Surely England aspire to a bit more than that though? I don't recall ever seeing Brazil or Germany jumping for joy at, erm, scraping into the last 16.

You should have been here in Berlin yesterday then to see how Germany jumped for joy after shakily managing to make the last 16. To be honest it's like that everytime "we" slither though, even if "we" make it all the way to the final.:cool2:

24-06-2010, 08:28 PM
And of course they are laughing at italy when england scraped through against slovenia.England were as usual workmanlike and busy for about 55 mins but seemed to run out of steam something the germans if not the argentinians will have spotted and exploit.England really are an average side and as i said before arent in the top 5 sides on what we have seen before even though as their unbiased commentators said this afternoon most of them now think they could win it.Jambos and england supporters,deluded and just waiting for the fall.Marvellous when it comes and the backstabbing begins.