View Full Version : Yams Scale down!!

20-06-2010, 09:53 PM
Sorry if its been posted today's gossip column on BBC website.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/8750199.stm

here

Hearts director Sergejus Fedotovas has denied suggestions that the club cannot afford a new stand, saying they just have to scale down the size and cost of the development.

20-06-2010, 10:23 PM
Does installing a new light bulb count as 'development'?

20-06-2010, 10:27 PM
Hmmm 60watt instead of 100 then :greengrin

20-06-2010, 10:52 PM
Its a bit odd that we find the time is right to build but nothing but promises from our best pals.
Its a bit odd that new hotels are being created all over Edinburgh but nothing but excuses from our best pals.
Its a bit odd that they are £35 million in debt and dont have World Cup stars to show for it, just players hoovered up from the bottom 6 of the SPL and below.
Its just a bit odd.

20-06-2010, 11:18 PM
The jealousy, anger and down right hatred that oozed out of them when we got our new stand under way was just a master class in prime time comedy.

A part of me hopes that a new stand at Gorgie is built, just to compare the brand new pink bus shelter stand to the galactic £51 million stand with a hotel, theme park, casino and the museums featuring 5 floors on the Heart of Midlothian victory in WW1 and WW2 that was planned.

21-06-2010, 12:00 AM
It'll be a mirror image of the Wheatfield plus dugout.

Or nothing at all.

Take your pick.

Archie70
21-06-2010, 12:23 AM
The problem they have is still one of space. They're over there spouting about their great atmosphere and how any new stand will only improve that and how our stands are too far from the pitch. Well, there's a reason we've left space and that's to make the stadium fully EUFA compliant. So presumably if they do build a stand they'll have to move the pitch away from the Wheatfield stand and leave the required distance between the pitch and the new stand, thus losing part of the atmosphere.

They're also going on about how their new main stand will be better than our new one. What they seem to overlook is that our new stand isn't our main stand, the west is, and even we're sometimes guilty of overlooking how good that stand looks.

If they ever do get round to building a new stand it'll need to go some to offer the space and facilites that are available in the south, FF and west (our main) and they'll also be faced with the same issues we had, size of the pitch, run off space, distance between dugouts and touchline etc.

I'm not very good with computers but when our stand is finished I'd love to see four comparison photos our main v their main, FF v Gorgie stand etc. This would surely end any debate!

Finally if you're ever looking for a way to wind them up, ask where they go for a beer before their home games then drop in that you go to our 'in stadium' bar capable of holding 800 patrons. See how quick they'll change the subject.

Glory Glory.

21-06-2010, 07:28 AM
Finally if you're ever looking for a way to wind them up, ask where they go for a beer before their home games then drop in that you go to our 'in stadium' bar capable of holding 800 patrons. See how quick they'll change the subject.

Glory Glory.

Is that why the pubs around the ground are empty before the games, cos everyones in the Stadium bar? Shame for the local traders...could be the reason why pubs are shutting?

21-06-2010, 07:30 AM
Sorry if its been posted today's gossip column on BBC website.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/8750199.stm

here

Hearts director Sergejus Fedotovas has denied suggestions that the club cannot afford a new stand, saying they just have to scale down the size and cost of the development.

Thon muppet cant really come out and say anything else

He has to keep the 400,000 pink twirlers believing

I'll be very surprised if this goes ahead during Vlad's tyranny :agree:

21-06-2010, 07:34 AM
What empty pubs?

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

21-06-2010, 07:47 AM
Is that why the pubs around the ground are empty before the games, cos everyones in the Stadium bar? Shame for the local traders...could be the reason why pubs are shutting?

TBF the two pubs (The Coopers and Tamson’s) I pass on the way to the ground are normally quite busy before and after the games at the time BTG is open. I cant say for the other pubs around ER but have no reason to think they are much different.

The most obvious hit on the local bars are early Sunday, even Saturday, kick offs, scheduled (and unscheduled) mid week games. It’s a bit of a piss take that the TV companies charge these pubs so much while at the same time taking away their income on big match days.

21-06-2010, 08:20 AM
why not go for a 1:43 scale that way they can take it home at night for safe keeping

21-06-2010, 08:27 AM
I'm sure the jumbos still have to pay the cooncil for the nursery and land where they are going to build their soopa doopa new all-inclusive smoking gazeebo...however, is the planning forms in yet and consent given for their new development??

I think not!

The jumbo fans are pathetic and really aren't worth showing pity as they have all brought it upon themselves...

Interesting times ahead and I for one will watch events unfold with a big smile on my face...

21-06-2010, 08:34 AM
I wonder if these believers have ever asked themselves, why when steel and labour prices are at an all time low, and little Hibs are building a new stand, taking advantage of these low prices. Are none of them asking why they are not taking advantage too, especially as they only owe money to themselves?:confused:

Auckland Hibs
21-06-2010, 08:35 AM
Taken from oneflewoverthecuckoo'snestkickback relating to the PBS and their new stand.....

Hibs fans like to take the mickey out of Tynecastle with their Pink Bus Shelter nonsense but it is a very good stadium, the three new stands serve their purpose, provide seats and enhancing the atmosphere. Hibs may have seats but they have little else, they dont have that stadium 'x' factor that makes the place extra special at matches, that can make the opposition tremble and fear coming there. So many stadium fail to achieve this, but some do, Celtic Park does, Anfield does.

I like the Main stand, it is a classic stand. But the problem is that its a stand built for purpose in 1914 not for the 21st stadium. I think we could of got away with keeping it had it not been the main stand. Sadly we need a new stand to take Hearts further. But I think that when coming up with a new stand, it needs to be different and keep the cracking atmosphere in. If only we could also fill in the corners (someone mentioned we cant, well not easily, due to the floodlight towers holding up the stadium) that would create such a atmosphere for the Stadium, the echo effect would be devastating, if we could master that imagine the fear the opposistion fans and players would feel and the stirring it would have on Hearts (ignore the pun) of our players.

Anyway. From listening to the interview with Sergey (the good one©) it sounds like that just like any business who had planned a large capital intensive project and then the recession came along, they have to readjust as they cant afford the same level of investment. So they seem to scrap the hotel and conference building. Then readjust the stand plan to still bring in an increase of seats and also corporate facilities to create another revenue stream that Hearts have been missing before. Interestingly Sergey apart from things done in 2-3 years with the stand, he mentioned in 5 years time he wants to see the stadium upgraded as a whole, so obviously the main stand is not the only thing he wants do, personally I think it will be moving the Roseburn stand back to where the school so as to lengthen the stadium (the original main stand plans had the main stand overlapping the Roseburn and the tunnel nearer the Roseburn then on the center line.) It would also mean they would do something with the Wheatfield. Sergei mentioned that they want international football at Tynecastle. While at the momment it is just words, imagine in five years time these things happened, the future would be exciting, we will see what happens in five years time.

That lot are ****ing mental.

In 5 years they want to upgrade the whole stadium .i.e moving stands, etc. Don't they realise in 5 years they won't be here anymore?!

21-06-2010, 08:39 AM
We better watch out for Jumbo's signings though. He's got Barr, He's got Kyle and now he's reportedly on the verge this morning of signing USA international Don Kiddick

21-06-2010, 08:44 AM
I'm sure the jumbos still have to pay the cooncil for the nursery and land where they are going to build their soopa doopa new all-inclusive smoking gazeebo...however, is the planning forms in yet and consent given for their new development??

I think not!

The jumbo fans are pathetic and really aren't worth showing pity as they have all brought it upon themselves...

Interesting times ahead and I for one will watch events unfold with a big smile on my face...

You are indeed correct. £5.9million. See: No Land to Build (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Cash-row-puts-Hearts-expansion.5571929.jp)

21-06-2010, 08:45 AM
We better watch out for Jumbo's signings though. He's got Barr, He's got Kyle and now he's reportedly on the verge this morning of signing USA international Don Kiddick

I'm not signing for them *******s. :wink:

21-06-2010, 08:47 AM
give the yams a break, the papers have obviously got the numbers wrong. we all know its £51m and not £15m they have to spend.:jamboak:

hibhib7
21-06-2010, 09:02 AM
I've been told there was an article in the NOTW that Vlad's bank have been reported for money laundering by a Belgian company. A huge sum is involved, apparently.

21-06-2010, 09:30 AM

I don't normally go to the pub before a game but that's because I have my young son with me (although at 13 he is taller than me and would probably get served!!) BTG is a godsend for people with young families as they can enjoy a pint while the kids are entertained with games rather than standing outside with a can of juice and a packet of crisps. Extra money for the club as well from punters who would most likely not go for a pre match drink anyway.

21-06-2010, 09:40 AM
:wtf:

If only we could also fill in the corners (someone mentioned we cant, well not easily, due to the floodlight towers holding up the stadium)

Their floodlights must be a new kind of foundation floodlights if they can hold up the stadium :faf:

21-06-2010, 09:46 AM
:wtf:

If only we could also fill in the corners (someone mentioned we cant, well not easily, due to the floodlight towers holding up the stadium)

Their floodlights must be a new kind of foundation floodlights if they can hold up the stadium :faf:

There are columns/pylons at each corner which hold up the roofs. It just so happens that the floodlights are also fixed to them.

21-06-2010, 09:47 AM
Wouldnt it be funny if someone else came in and offered more than hertz are trying to renegotiate and they lost the land?

21-06-2010, 09:54 AM
Anyway. From listening to the interview with Sergey (the good one©) it sounds like that just like any business who had planned a large capital intensive project and then the recession came along, they have to readjust as they cant afford the same level of investment. So they seem to scrap the hotel and conference building. Then readjust the stand plan to still bring in an increase of seats and also corporate facilities to create another revenue stream that Hearts have been missing before. Interestingly Sergey apart from things done in 2-3 years with the stand, he mentioned in 5 years time he wants to see the stadium upgraded as a whole, so obviously the main stand is not the only thing he wants do, personally I think it will be moving the Roseburn stand back to where the school so as to lengthen the stadium (the original main stand plans had the main stand overlapping the Roseburn and the tunnel nearer the Roseburn then on the center line.) It would also mean they would do something with the Wheatfield. Sergei mentioned that they want international football at Tynecastle. While at the momment it is just words, imagine in five years time these things happened, the future would be exciting, we will see what happens in five years time.

That lot are ****ing mental.

In 5 years they want to upgrade the whole stadium .i.e moving stands, etc. Don't they realise in 5 years they won't be here anymore?!

So in 5 (plus as many as they can get away with) years its their ambition to be where we are just now? But with debt!

21-06-2010, 09:57 AM
I like the Main stand, it is a classic stand. But the problem is that its a stand built for purpose in 1914 not for the 21st stadium.
It's lasted well considering it was put up at a time when HOMFC had far more pressing matters to attend to, such as ensuring the very survival of Europe. The small matters of a bit too much asbestos, a bit too much combustible wood, etc, pale into insignificance when set against the singlehanded achievement of maintaining a free world.

21-06-2010, 09:58 AM
Wouldnt it be funny if someone else came in and offered more than hertz are trying to renegotiate and they lost the land?

What, and built something like a Franck Sauzee Statue or summit instead?:greengrin

21-06-2010, 10:01 AM
It's lasted well considering it was put up at a time when HOMFC had far more pressing matters to attend to, such as ensuring the very survival of Europe. The small matters of a bit too much asbestos, a bit too much combustible wood, etc, pale into insignificance when set against the singlehanded achievement of maintaining a free world.

Its a bit ironic that they managed to save the free world and now they answer to the dictatorship of vlad:greengrin

21-06-2010, 10:24 AM
They're no the brightest the jambos are they.

First off all dafties on KB are comparing the auld East with their current main stand... Weras they should be comparing the West with their Main stand, absulutely no contest their.

Then they are batting on about atmospheres. Easter Road will now be even more souless and pathetic than before blah blah blah now the pitch has been widened. Now this may well be the case, but coming from a Jambo..? They seem to think Tynie is like the Inonu Stadium (Besiktas), the fact is they can only create any noise when us are celtic are in town.

This qoute from KB just shows how jealous and obsessed they are with us, just reeks of pure and utter jealous :agree:

Joking mate? their ground is soulless, devoid of atmosphere, cheap looking and the stands are so far apart from each other and the pitch that even if they were to fill it -which they can't even get close to doing- it would still be one of the worst grounds in Scotland for atmosphere... can you not see all this? Honestly?

This one aswell, dry your eyes jambo

The Tramps new stand looks like it should be beside a Subbuteo pitch.

And then this made me laugh. I actually feel sorry for Hearts fans these days when this is the only thing they can slag us for :boo hoo:

Wonder if they'll have those rather embarrassing beer mat badges cut into their ****ty green steelwork.

And this qoute just for laughs

Tynecastle's three most recent stands were a masterstroke of building and design, i think it was more by accident than intended, they had to build something in a very limited space but... What a job Clydesdale did eh? However the steep tightly fitted stands came about, i totaly adore them and they have created an atmosphere like no other at our home... When that last piece does finaly get built it will be a steep, imposing, rousing and intimidating stadium that is built up rather than out and it will be like sitting inside a giant bass amplifier when the final stand is built to complete the project. B)

I am willing to wait when the end product will be like nothing else in Britain and toatally unique...

:lolyam:

Obsessed much? You better believe they are!

21-06-2010, 10:50 AM
They're no the brightest the jambos are they.

First off all dafties on KB are comparing the auld East with their current main stand... Weras they should be comparing the West with their Main stand, absulutely no contest their.

Then they are batting on about atmospheres. Easter Road will now be even more souless and pathetic than before blah blah blah now the pitch has been widened. Now this may well be the case, but coming from a Jambo..? They seem to think Tynie is like the Inonu Stadium (Besiktas), the fact is they can only create any noise when us are celtic are in town.

And ER doesn't have the 'x' factor either :faf:

.....they dont have that stadium 'x' factor that makes the place extra special at matches, that can make the opposition tremble and fear coming there. So many stadium fail to achieve this, but some do, Celtic Park does, Anfield does.

And obviously the PBS as well :faf:. They believe all the pish spouted by the media about the wonderful atmosphere at tynecastle :blah: :blah: :rolleyes:

21-06-2010, 11:37 AM

I've posted on this subject before - there are big questions to be asked on this.

Hearts currently aren't due the Council any money for the land as the sale was subject to planning approval. The application that was submitted (two and a half years ago) has yet to be either approved or refused - this has to be a record! Although HoMoFC have since stated that they are going to revise their plans, the initial planning process could be seen as slightly dodgy given that the Council has or had a vested interest in permission being granted

The land was deemed as surplus by the Council and offered to Vlad at what was reckoned by some to be a discount price. Surely then the land should be offered for sale on the open market at a similar price.

I see no wrong in the Council maybe wanting to lend a hand to local teams, but HoMoFC seem to do far better on this front than us, eg.

The "Lochend butterfly" - we were shafted big style. The Council invited offers for the site. The documents issued included a planning brief which stated that residential proposals would not be accepted. STF put in an offer based on a leisure/retail development (which was to ultimately fund the completion of the stadium) but was outbid by an offer for a housing development. STF then asked of he could resubmit a bid on the same basis but this was refused. A couple of years later, the winning partnership fell apart and STF asked to study the sale documents (which are public) to see if anything could be done - but by then they had been conveniently 'lost' by the Council.

The Gorgie end at Tynie. Hibs were forced to build the 'new' South stand when they did as the Council had said that they would no longer issue a safety certificate for the benches/cagoul set up at the Dunbar end. Hearts were given a further 2 seasons grace for the very similar Gorgie Road end at Tynecastle.

Rent. The Council rented (rents?) storage space under the Wheatfield for £60k per year IIRC.

Hardly a level playing field is it?

21-06-2010, 11:42 AM
No it isn't and it really bugs the effin **** outta me!

The council, at that point, where acting illegally and contrary to the competition laws and should have been shafted big style for this but again...nothing ever happens to the criminal element within our council!

heidtheba
21-06-2010, 08:47 PM
No it isn't and it really bugs the effin **** outta me!

The council, at that point, where acting illegally and contrary to the competition laws and should have been shafted big style for this but again...nothing ever happens to the criminal element within our council!

This wasn't all done when Milligan was the Lord Provost? He was as much a Yam as you can be wasn't/isn't he?

Sweep
21-06-2010, 09:45 PM
What, and built something like a Franck Sauzee Statue or summit instead?:greengrin

:thumbsup: lmao.

Hibs07p
22-06-2010, 04:27 AM
I've posted on this subject before - there are big questions to be asked on this.

The Council rented (rents?) storage space under the Wheatfield for £60k per year IIRC.

Hardly a level playing field is it?

Was it not the Roseburn Stand, basically directly underneath the concourse, as the council had easy access to it from the school?
I remember at the time the council agreed a minimum 10 year lease arrangement, and i'm sure that was enough to cover the cost of building it, as you say hardly a level playing field. I've tried a google search for more info but nothing is showing up.

22-06-2010, 07:01 AM
Was it not the Roseburn Stand, basically directly underneath the concourse, as the council had easy access to it from the school?
I remember at the time the council agreed a minimum 10 year lease arrangement, and i'm sure that was enough to cover the cost of building it, as you say hardly a level playing field. I've tried a google search for more info but nothing is showing up.

You could be right, though I'm pretty sure the £60k p.a. figure is correct.

jakedance
22-06-2010, 07:31 AM
The Lochend Butterfly deal was very dodgy. If someone could be bothered a Freedom of Information Act request may be interesting. Information could be requested on some of the Hearts deals with the Council too (that's the first I've heard about the Council renting storage space).

Hibs07p
22-06-2010, 07:48 AM
You could be right, though I'm pretty sure the £60k p.a. figure is correct.

The only information I could find was this

http://hearts-posse.tripod.com/id5.html

and claims it was built at a cost of £1.75M. That doesn't tie in with my thoughts at the time, but they still received a sizeable income for space under that stand that was going to be unused anyway, and for at least 10 years.

Hibs07p
22-06-2010, 07:49 AM
The Lochend Butterfly deal was very dodgy. If someone could be bothered a Freedom of Information Act request may be interesting. Information could be requested on some of the Hearts deals with the Council too (that's the first I've heard about the Council renting storage space).

Nothing more than an underhand subsidy IMO.

22-06-2010, 07:49 AM

STF tried and failed.

http://www.shieldsgazette.com/8363/Hibs-owner-in-demand-for.3344665.jp

I like this bit.

The then council leader Donald Anderson apologised after admitting the decision on the multi-million-pound development by Hibs was based on inaccurate information from officials.

Em, oops!

22-06-2010, 08:15 AM
I'm prepared to admit that i'll be very jealous when their new stand is up and their ground is finished, and any other Hibs fans who denies this is living in cloud-cuckoo land.

Cast your mind back to how you felt when they won the CL? Or when they signed those two World Cup stars? Or when we found out that they weren't in debt at all, because it was all owed to the parent company and therefore not a debt as such?

We were gutted then and we will be again.

So lets the stop this gloating and enjoy the modest incremental gains made by our club and not delude ourselves that we're up their with the Hearts and the Real Madrids of this world.

It can only end in tears (of laughter).

22-06-2010, 11:01 AM
That was not Edinburgh City Council but Lothian Region which ran the Schools at the time. Milligan was the leading light in that authority.

The deal was announced to pursuade the bankers to put up the cash for the Roseburn Stand.

The deal served its purpose and was never implemented.

Hibs07p
22-06-2010, 11:23 AM
That was not Edinburgh City Council but Lothian Region which ran the Schools at the time. Milligan was the leading light in that authority.

The deal was announced to pursuade the bankers to put up the cash for the Roseburn Stand.

The deal served its purpose and was never implemented.

I accept your version, but it was definitely spoken about and I had no reason to believe that Hearts didn't benefit from the local / regional authority at that time.

I assume that was the same Milligan that opened the Gorgie Suite a couple of years later as The Lord Provost of Edinburgh?

22-06-2010, 01:09 PM
I accept your version, but it was definitely spoken about and I had no reason to believe that Hearts didn't benefit from the local / regional authority at that time.

I assume that was the same Milligan that opened the Gorgie Suite a couple of years later as The Lord Provost of Edinburgh?
Yes indeed.

Milligan started out on Lothian Regional Council but migrated to the City of Edinburgh Council when the Regional Council was wound up.

You are right that Hearts benefited from the proposed arrangement as the Bank needed the assurance from the Council before lending Hearts money that they clearly could not repay.

The chickens came home to roost a few years later when the Pieman was forced to sell the stadium to Cala just before the Romanov takeover.

22-06-2010, 01:20 PM
I might be getting this wrong but the PBS is a tight ground precisely because it has a very small pitch and their stands are right on top of this very small pitch.

UEFA in their wisdom mandate that compliant pitches/stadia have larger pitches AND the stands must be a certain distance from the pitch.

So you can't have your cake and eat it.

You either have a tiny little pitch with the stands on top of the pitch (Tynecastle) or you have a big UEFA size pitch with sufficient run off round the pitch (Easter Road).

Quite what the advantages are of either are I don't know - but the Yams will have a very TOUGH choice to make - do they replace the main stand with one that complies to UEFA standards in terms of proximity etc or do they replace like with like...

My guess would be they won't be allowed to build something right on the pitch, if they want to play any European matches there.

22-06-2010, 01:26 PM
My guess would be they won't be allowed to build something right on the pitch, if they want to play any European matches there.

Why on earth would the Yams be concerned about European matches?!

22-06-2010, 02:45 PM
Help may be on hand:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/Capital39s-lottery-winners-off-to.6375684.jp

Hibs07p
22-06-2010, 03:49 PM
They better watch they don't get their pockets dipped on the way out. :greengrin

22-06-2010, 09:00 PM
My guess would be they won't be allowed to build something right on the pitch
HOMFC, no; Tesco, yes.

22-06-2010, 09:32 PM
PTBCAL on Kickback saying that an announcement will be made in August on the new stand at Gorgie. Someone even mentions thereafter that the planning application will be rushed through. :greengrin (how can you rush something that is already 2 years late in being approved?)

Frankly, I hope they do land themselves another £10m+ in debt and build it. However I think that PTCBAL is simply getting his freebie season ticket again.

22-06-2010, 09:47 PM
PTBCAL on Kickback saying that an announcement will be made in August on the new stand at Gorgie. Someone even mentions thereafter that the planning application will be rushed through. :greengrin (how can you rush something that is already 2 years late in being approved?)

Frankly, I hope they do land themselves another £10m+ in debt and build it. However I think that PTCBAL is simply getting his freebie season ticket again.

PTCBAL posts *****!!!! He has been spouting on and on about the new stand for years. He is without doubt on Vlads payroll.

Kyle A
22-06-2010, 10:16 PM
Bet ya they build another pink concrete and corrugated iron stand held up wi scaffolding at a cost of 200,000 grand (dalton are selling the corrugated iron cheap apparantly) the other 14.6 million is for romanovs money laundering scheme but shhh its a secret between him and mafia Ivan :wink: