View Full Version : Aegon british assests to be sold off!!!

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 07:28 PM
AMSTERDAM (Reuters) - Dutch insurer Aegon is preparing to sell its British life and pensions business, including Scottish Equitable, for 1.5 billion pounds, a British newspaper reported on Sunday.

An update on the plans to leave Britain will be given at an investor meeting on Tuesday, the Mail on Sunday quoted a company spokeswoman as saying. A spokesman for Aegon declined to comment on the report when contacted on Sunday.

The Dutch insurer has said it is aiming to focus more on high growth markets such as central and eastern Europe, Asia and Latin America.

Aegon tapped 3 billion euros of Dutch government funding during the financial crisis. Several groups who received state aid such as ING and KBC have agreed to sell assets to meet European Commission requirements.

Aegon's British operations, with headquarters in Edinburgh, provide services for over two million customers in areas such as pensions, investments and financial advice, manage about 53.6 billion pounds of assets and employ 4,900 staff.

In 2009, Aegon's UK operations contributed 5 million euros to total group net income of 204 million euros.

( As i work for the company i hope this isn't true!!)

20-06-2010, 07:38 PM
Seems a bit weird when "Aegon Scottish Equitable" is getting rebranded to just "Aegon" in the next week or so I think?

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 07:41 PM
Seems a bit weird when "Aegon Scottish Equitable" is getting rebranded to just "Aegon" in the next week or so I think?

yeah as from tomorrow or next monday i can't mind which one need to read the email again tomorrow
but yeah i hope it isn't true
maybe thats the sign when they put the drinks up to 15p (people who work for Aegon will no what am talking about :wink:)

20-06-2010, 07:45 PM
Is that everything in the article? If not can you link it?

Does it say who they're selling it to?

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 07:50 PM
Is that everything in the article? If not can you link it?

Does it say who they're selling it to?

that was everything in the article mate and they didn't say but am sure it will be dismissed tomorrow but here is the link anyways ...

http://www.iii.co.uk/news/?type=reutersnews&articleid=TRE65J18M&feed=Bus&action=article

20-06-2010, 07:56 PM
that was everything in the article mate and they didn't say but am sure it will be dismissed tomorrow but here is the link anyways ...

http://www.iii.co.uk/news/?type=reutersnews&articleid=TRE65J18M&feed=Bus&action=article

If the meeting's on Tuesday they won't be able or allowed to tell us much tomorrow.

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 07:57 PM
If the meeting's on Tuesday they won't be able or allowed to tell us much tomorrow.

true enough or they could even just dismiss it if it's only paper talk

20-06-2010, 08:01 PM
yeah as from tomorrow or next monday i can't mind which one need to read the email again tomorrow
but yeah i hope it isn't true
maybe thats the sign when they put the drinks up to 15p (people who work for Aegon will no what am talking about :wink:)

And 20p for a cup of hot water!!! :grr::grr:

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 08:04 PM

ino man it's brutal:grr::grr:

20-06-2010, 08:08 PM

Hot water's free out the machine.

I wonder if all this is the reason why the high-heid yins from Holland aren't coming over at the end of the month now.

20-06-2010, 08:08 PM

..........and the cup, and the electric to heat it up and the wages for the person serving you.

Bring in a flask :greengrin

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 08:10 PM
..........and the cup, and the electric to heat it up and the wages for the person serving you.

that's what i plan to do :thumbsup:

btw has any of you seen the Big Obama!!!

how kool is he
i sit right next to him :thumbsup:

MON the USA!:wink:

20-06-2010, 08:12 PM

how kool is he

I was told that when BP were in last week (or the week before) the folk taking them round the office were told to not go past the Obama picture?!

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 08:19 PM
I was told that when BP were in last week (or the week before) the folk taking them round the office were told to not go past the Obama picture?!

yeah that's true we got asked to take him down but they took the guys from BP past the Retirement Control instead
Big Contract seemingly

20-06-2010, 08:26 PM
Hot water's free out the machine.

I wonder if all this is the reason why the high-heid yins from Holland aren't coming over at the end of the month now.

Aye, but the cup is about the size of a thimble and you don't get milk out of the machine.

They've also cancelled another thing as well, can't remember off the top of my head, some charity day that is held every year?

We can't all get the perks you get working for a bank, can we now?

how kool is he

You're not the geezer who had his 21st birthday recently are you?

20-06-2010, 08:28 PM

:confused: Name me them then

20-06-2010, 08:28 PM
Aye, but the cup is about the size of a thimble and you don't get milk out of the machine.

It's about half the size of the one you pay for. You could get 2 free ones and pour them into a big cup?

If you need anything else give me a shout. :greengrin

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 08:32 PM

They've also cancelled another thing as well, can't remember off the top of my head, some charity day that is held every year?

that's me glad you noticed :greengrin

20-06-2010, 08:33 PM
:confused: Name me them then

Nice uniform for starters. :cool2:

It's about half the size of the one you pay for. You could get 2 free ones and pour them into a big cup?

Have you got a coo under your desk for the milk then?

20-06-2010, 08:41 PM
Nice uniform for starters. :cool2:

Never had a bank uniform.

Try again.

20-06-2010, 08:41 PM
[/U][/B]

that's me glad you noticed :greengrin

It was hard not to with the amount of photos of you plastered all over the place!:wink:

20-06-2010, 08:43 PM
Never had a bank uniform.

Try again.

You bought that suit yourself? :rolleyes: :greengrin

Check your PMs.

20-06-2010, 08:44 PM
Have you got a coo under your desk for the milk then?

While there are plenty cows nearby I'd probably just go to the shop and use the free milk!

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 08:44 PM
It was hard not to with the amount of photos of you plastered all over the place!:wink:

ino was prity embarrassed with that all wasn't good at all :boo hoo:

20-06-2010, 08:45 PM
You bought that suit yourself? :rolleyes: :greengrin

You are getting me confused with Matty :greengrin

20-06-2010, 08:51 PM

Something along these lines (http://loveylywedding.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/d-day-suit-1.jpg) wasn't it? But a bit more silver.

20-06-2010, 08:55 PM
Check your PMs.

:I'm waiti

20-06-2010, 08:57 PM
ino was prity embarrassed with that all wasn't good at all :boo hoo:

:thumbsup: I know exactly where you sit, I walk by there everyday. You are now being officially stalked.

20-06-2010, 08:58 PM
That's the Aegon way. Always has been.

20-06-2010, 09:06 PM
I know someone who is about to start work at Aegon. Sounds like it could be temporary!

20-06-2010, 09:09 PM

:I'm waiti

PM now sent. Sorry I was digging out my flask for work tomorrow.

20-06-2010, 09:21 PM
That's the Aegon way. Always has been.

:confused: What is?

Lmc2105
20-06-2010, 09:29 PM
:thumbsup: I know exactly where you sit, I walk by there everyday. You are now being officially stalked.

just come and say hiyaa and i will know who you are :wink::thumbsup:

20-06-2010, 09:48 PM

And the clutch - and the lid - and the stirrer - and the tray if you want one - and as much sugar as you like.

Nah your right 20p is an effin joke :tee hee:

They've also cancelled another thing as well, can't remember off the top of my head, some charity day that is held every year? Family fun day

Not the only thing thats been cancelled lately

That article that went out the other day signalled an end to that wee perk.

I know someone who is about to start work at Aegon. Sounds like it could be temporary!

Hope not - its a worry though.:confused:

20-06-2010, 09:57 PM

Something along these lines (http://loveylywedding.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/d-day-suit-1.jpg) wasn't it? But a bit more silver.

20-06-2010, 10:03 PM

You still up?

20-06-2010, 10:07 PM
You still up?

In bed, with the laptop on. Mrs F and sick baby asleep next to me.

20-06-2010, 10:14 PM
In bed, with the laptop on. Mrs F and sick baby asleep next to me.

Ok. Hadn't had my nite nite text :wink:

20-06-2010, 10:33 PM
Ok. Hadn't had my nite nite text :wink:

Get used to it.:greengrin

21-06-2010, 07:31 AM
That article that went out the other day signalled an end to that wee perk.

They're not charging for water from the machines - hot or cold. Read the article properly. :wink:

BTW how do your lot justify charging 50odd p for a cup of tea from the deli and 23p in the shop?

Teo10
21-06-2010, 08:33 AM

There is nothing wrong with that.... not that I have the same :wink:

I have just been sent a link to this aswell.. seems very interesting to say the least! Manager is keeping tight lipped claiming she does not know anything about it!

Teo10
21-06-2010, 08:34 AM

Poor poor person :boo hoo:

21-06-2010, 09:06 AM
There is nothing wrong with that.... not that I have the same :wink:

I have just been sent a link to this aswell.. seems very interesting to say the least! Manager is keeping tight lipped claiming she does not know anything about it!

She won't know anything.

PiemanP
21-06-2010, 11:47 AM
My last day at aegon tomorrow....might have got out at just the right time :greengrin

for what its worth i would think the large majority of jobs should be fine, most likely be the same work just under a different name, may even be a change for the good!

Teo10
21-06-2010, 12:17 PM
My last day at aegon tomorrow....might have got out at just the right time :greengrin

for what its worth i would think the large majority of jobs should be fine, most likely be the same work just under a different name, may even be a change for the good!

I wish it was mine :boo hoo:

Lmc2105
21-06-2010, 12:21 PM
I wish it was mine :boo hoo:

snap :boo hoo:

it's liek they have turned the air con off the day it's so hot in the office!!!

anyways at our 10 @10 they said they didn't know anything but our department manager Ross is trying to find out from Karen Grant

PiemanP
21-06-2010, 12:25 PM
snap :boo hoo:

it's liek they have turned the air con off the day it's so hot in the office!!!

anyways at our 10 @10 they said they didn't know anything but our department manager Ross is trying to find out from Karen Grant

part of the cost cutting :wink:

Lmc2105
21-06-2010, 12:26 PM

:faf::faf:
you no what mate really wouldn't surprise me!

Teo10
21-06-2010, 01:04 PM

It probably is!

21-06-2010, 03:37 PM
:confused: What is?

Aegon have always stated that their business strategy is to only hold onto overseas acquisitions if they make a return in line with what is expected.

21-06-2010, 03:50 PM
Aegon have always stated that their business strategy is to only hold onto overseas acquisitions if they make a return in line with what is expected.

Based on that response, I still find your previous post very strange. You said "that's the aegon way, always has been".

Why would that strategy be any different to any other financial services company?

21-06-2010, 04:00 PM
Based on that response, I still find your previous post very strange. You said "that's the aegon way, always has been".

Why would that strategy be any different to any other financial services company?

I haven't worked there for 8 years, so obviously my information is not up to date. Certainly when Kees Storm was chief exec of Aegon, he stated that as long as a company contributed x% to the overall group then they could basically do as they liked.

He felt that local knowledge and culture was the best way to run a company. So he kept it simple - give us the cash we want, or you are sold. I don't know much about other multinationals, but Aegon made it a stated business strategy. It was how they did things.

So it certainly was the Aegon way, and by the sound of things it still is.

21-06-2010, 08:01 PM
I haven't worked there for 8 years, so obviously my information is not up to date. Certainly when Kees Storm was chief exec of Aegon, he stated that as long as a company contributed x% to the overall group then they could basically do as they liked.

He felt that local knowledge and culture was the best way to run a company. So he kept it simple - give us the cash we want, or you are sold. I don't know much about other multinationals, but Aegon made it a stated business strategy. It was how they did things.

So it certainly was the Aegon way, and by the sound of things it still is.

If only you still worked there. :greengrin

22-06-2010, 07:26 AM
Announcement today.
Aegon NOT pulling out of uk. But there will be 'streamlining' of the business by end of 2011.

22-06-2010, 07:57 PM
They're not charging for water from the machines - hot or cold. Read the article properly. :wink:

BTW how do your lot justify charging 50odd p for a cup of tea from the deli and 23p in the shop?

:I'm waiti Mon then Broxburn, answer the question.

22-06-2010, 08:03 PM

Don't know why you are moaning. I work at the bank with "all the perks" and we pay more than 53p for a cup of tea.

22-06-2010, 08:13 PM
Announcement today.
Aegon NOT pulling out of uk. But there will be 'streamlining' of the business by end of 2011.

I had a great time working for that company, I left it for personal reasons nothing to do with work. The thing is I departed with a big wedge because they were "streamlining" it in 2003. Eh, so how come they are "streamlining it again"? :confused:

22-06-2010, 08:18 PM
I had a great time working for that company, I left it for personal reasons nothing to do with work. The thing is I departed with a big wedge because they were "streamlining" it in 2003. Eh, so how come they are "streamlining it again"? :confused:

Streamlining it then was getting rid of the section managers/middle management, streamlining this time is "getting rid" of the parts of the business that aren't making money or are going to make money anytime soon.

I worked there in 2003 - who are you/where did you work?

22-06-2010, 08:23 PM
Streamlining it then was getting rid of the section managers/middle management, streamlining this time is "getting rid" of the parts of the business that aren't making money or are going to make money anytime soon.

I worked there in 2003 - who are you/where did you work?

Fair enough. My name is Kees Storm. :wink:

22-06-2010, 08:56 PM

and thats not a good thing....:wink:

22-06-2010, 08:59 PM
and thats not a good thing....:wink:

Gramo, you are gutted that I am not stalking you on Facebook at present.

And FYI, I went over and spoke to Lee (Green Giant) today, and a very nice lad he is too. At least I didn't get any cheek off him like I do from you!

Lmc2105
22-06-2010, 11:53 PM

And FYI, I went over and spoke to Lee (Green Giant) today, and a very nice lad he is too. At least I didn't get any cheek off him like I do from you!

Oi Gramo leave her alone jealousy does not get you anywhere!!!:wink:

i don't mind being stalked:wink::greengrin but yes came over and gave me a row for being on hibs.net and introduced herself very nice of you indeed ArabHibee:thumbsup::top marks

23-06-2010, 05:59 AM
Wee question for those that post on the Bounce. Has anyone ever come across the term Taliban.net?

If so what is it?

23-06-2010, 09:21 AM

I don't set the prices :greengrin

Seriously - if you want a proper answer then go through the proper channels.

23-06-2010, 09:22 AM

Don't want to ask officially in case they realise and start charging 50odd in the shop as well. :greengrin

Teo10
23-06-2010, 10:10 AM

Have you seen me about the place?

Tanned, stupid hair, depressed?!

23-06-2010, 10:39 AM
Wee question for those that post on the Bounce. Has anyone ever come across the term Taliban.net?

If so what is it?

Taliban.net IIRC was used by a poster, whose name I cant recall, who had been bumped from here and was expressing dissatisfaction with the dotnet admin. :rolleyes:

Usual huffy stuff that goes on from time to time. Nothing to worry about.

23-06-2010, 10:42 AM
Taliban.net IIRC was used by a poster, whose name I cant recall, who had been bumped from here and was expressing dissatisfaction with the dotnet admin. :rolleyes:

Usual huffy stuff that goes on from time to time. Nothing to worry about.

Who was that poster? I don't suppose they'd be stupid enough to come back over here after that, but it's always interesting to know who they were and why they were emptied in the first place :agree:

23-06-2010, 11:43 AM

Your gonna have to narrow it down a bit, you've just described the majority of the male Aegon workforce under the age of 25 there :greengrin

Lmc2105
23-06-2010, 12:17 PM
Your gonna have to narrow it down a bit, you've just described the majority of the male Aegon workforce under the age of 25 there :greengrin

to be honest the Woman has a point :greengrin

must be out style attracts attention :wink:

23-06-2010, 12:27 PM

If so what is it?

Sorry, but what does the above have to do with this thread? Pretty sure FR has been :fishin: for the answer to this before.

23-06-2010, 12:30 PM

Don't want to ask officially in case they realise and start charging 50odd in the shop as well. :greengrin
:agree: Me too - what's the unofficial reason?

No, but tell me where you sit and I'll come stalking past. :wink:

:faf:Don't think MyJo will appreciate being called a woman!

23-06-2010, 12:39 PM

:bitchy: just remember i know where you sit now......i've still got 20 minutes of my lunch hour left to come down and kick your ass :greengrin

:faf:Don't think MyJo will appreciate being called a woman!

I'm still trying to figure out if "the woman has a point" is a contradiction or an oxymoron :hmmm:

23-06-2010, 08:41 PM
:hmmm: All quiet tonight - I can safely wrap that towel round my head and think about killing infidels. :wink:

23-06-2010, 08:56 PM
:hmmm: All quiet tonight - I can safely wrap that towel round my head and think about killing infidels. :wink:

You must be one of the few people I know that could start a fight in an empty room.

23-06-2010, 09:00 PM
You must be one of the few people I know that could start a fight in an empty room.

23-06-2010, 09:34 PM
hope that nobody loses their jobs that want to stay, used to work for gre so know quite a few that moved to scot eq.

23-06-2010, 10:07 PM

That's what I thought, too :faf:

Lmc2105
23-06-2010, 10:34 PM
:bitchy: just remember i know where you sit now......i've still got 20 minutes of my lunch hour left to come down and kick your ass :greengrin

I'm still trying to figure out if "the woman has a point" is a contradiction or an oxymoron :hmmm:

MyJo i do apologise :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

Just please come down and say hello some time if i still have a job :wink::thumbsup:

24-06-2010, 05:22 AM
hope that nobody loses their jobs that want to stay, used to work for gre so know quite a few that moved to scot eq.

When I started with GRE in 1979, I thought "OK, it's not rock n roll but at least its a job for life with a pension at the end". I moved around a bit for career advancement, but always trading off the boredom of working in insurance for the safety it brought.

About ten years ago I was struck by the realisation that although still mind numbingly boring it was also as risky as any other sector. I feel for people who have had to move through forced redundancy, especially those who have been loyal to one company - that was never part of the deal.

24-06-2010, 07:29 AM
I think one of the ways you can avoid such fights is to stay out of things that don't concern you. I cant see what me calling the monkey who is palsy walsy over here and slags off Hibs.net on the Bounce has to do with you.

Unless you are friends with this person, in which case you surely realise that they have enough brains to fight their own corner rather than sit back and let others do their talking for them. Or maybe they don't.

:there must be an appropriate smiley:

Please drop this one, you have already had a thread dedicated to it. It's looks like a personal vendetta and is nothing to do with the thread topic.

24-06-2010, 11:56 AM
MyJo i do apologise :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

Just please come down and say hello some time if i still have a job :wink::thumbsup:

He's got til September I suppose.:wink:

24-06-2010, 03:20 PM
Please drop this one, you have already had a thread dedicated to it. It's looks like a personal vendetta and is nothing to do with the thread topic.

Fair enough, it's just the thread was straying off topic anyway, with a whole load of irrelevant posts.

Apologies for any offence caused, especially to those Aegon employees who might be worrying about their jobs at the moment.