View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup Day 10 Slovakia/Paraguay, Italy/ N Zealand & Brazil/Ivory Coast

20-06-2010, 11:45 AM
Plenty empty seats at the Paraguay game.

Cannot understand why just before the match they don't give them away to the poorer local communities who will never get the chance to experience a top flight football match.

FIFA missing out on some good PR here. :agree:

20-06-2010, 11:49 AM
Plenty empty seats at the Paraguay game.

Cannot understand why just before the match they don't give them away to the poorer local communities who will never get the chance to experience a top flight football match.

FIFA missing out on some good PR here. :agree:

That wouldn't be fair on the people that had paid for a ticket and would make people think about buying a ticket for future games if they know they can hold out and maybe get one for free

20-06-2010, 11:54 AM
That wouldn't be fair on the people that had paid for a ticket and would make people think about buying a ticket for future games if they know they can hold out and maybe get one for free

Fair point but still think FIFA could have done more to enable more locals to see the games live, especially games like this one where both teams do not have a huge support.

Maybe they could have allocated a section of the ground for locals at much reduced ticket prices.

20-06-2010, 11:54 AM
they were saying on the radio only a handfull of games played so far actually sold out

20-06-2010, 11:57 AM
1-0 Paraguay, good goal. :thumbsup:

20-06-2010, 01:12 PM
Did i just hear the commentator say "what the f*** was that"?

20-06-2010, 01:54 PM
Although they won't win the World Cup, I was very impressed with Paraguay. 2 good goals, and their marking and closing down was superb. They never stopped trying to attack, even in the 4th minute of injury time. They look a good side, if not quite capable of winning the tournament outright.

20-06-2010, 02:08 PM
1-0 New Zealand :thumbsup:

7Hero
20-06-2010, 02:10 PM
1-0 New Zealand :thumbsup:

offside by a mile...:grr:

c'mon italy....

20-06-2010, 02:14 PM
Shane Smeltz! :greengrin

I can't find my old thread saying Hibs should sign him but I am sure most of you remember :cool2:

Cannavaro = cheating bassa!! :grr:

Hibby_Paul
20-06-2010, 02:18 PM
Shane Smeltz! :greengrin

I can't find my old thread saying Hibs should sign him but I am sure most of you remember :cool2:

Cannavaro = cheating bassa!! :grr:

Remember it well Steven! His value has just increased after that strike - you should dig you your previous communications to Hibs, saying 'told you so' and see if they will give you a scouting job !

20-06-2010, 02:19 PM

c'mon italy....

By a mile my arse, it took the TV folk about 8 replays to decide it should maybe have been offside and they expect the lino to spot that instantly, hard to tell who it even hit.

Italy should be able to pick NZ apart so i wouldnt worry.

20-06-2010, 02:22 PM

c'mon italy....

Thought it was onside as it looked to me it was an Italian head that flicked it on.

My eyesight's not what it used to be though. :wink:

20-06-2010, 02:23 PM
Remember it well Steven! His value has just increased after that strike - you should dig you your previous communications to Hibs, saying 'told you so' and see if they will give you a scouting job !

And don't forget his assist in the Slovakia game!

That was Mixu's scout who turned me down, I am sure Yogi will give me a job as Oceania scout! :agree:

20-06-2010, 02:24 PM
These cheating Italians are a disgrace. They are running scared and trying to get players sent off :grr:

20-06-2010, 02:29 PM
Never a Penalty.:grr:

20-06-2010, 02:31 PM
Shocking, it's like playing Rangers at Ibrox!

How do Italy get away with this pish time and time again?

20-06-2010, 02:34 PM

It was - the NZ defender clearly had a handful of his shirt.

Having said that, it's no worse than what goes on at practically every free kick or corner that gets taken, but in this case the guy got caught doing it.

20-06-2010, 02:34 PM

Seen that so many times in other games without a pen being given.

England were very guilty of it.

Ref helping the bigger country again. :grr:

20-06-2010, 02:37 PM
It was - the NZ defender clearly had a handful of his shirt.

Having said that, it's no worse than what goes on at practically every free kick or corner that gets taken, but in this case the guy got caught doing it.

I'm sure that handful of shirt caused the player to go flying to the ground :rolleyes:

20-06-2010, 02:39 PM
I'm sure that handful of shirt caused the player to go flying to the ground :rolleyes:

I'm sure that holding a player's shirt like that is an offence, regardless of whether it causes him to fall over :rolleyes:

It was soft, but it was a penalty.

20-06-2010, 02:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ACVKUV_z_8

Pretty sure diving is an offence as well though?

20-06-2010, 02:57 PM
This ref is giving the Italians everything...dodgy diving Italian at the penalty, any bit of contact they hit the deck like they've been flattened by a truck...same old Italians, about time some referee took action against them, bunch of big girls blouses :grr:

20-06-2010, 03:52 PM
Gaun the Kiwis! :thumbsup:

20-06-2010, 03:52 PM
Take that you dodgy diving Italians :greengrin :thumbsup:

Right am off to bed now, it's 3.50am here....:bye:

20-06-2010, 03:53 PM
Amazing! :thumbsup:

Wonder what the patronising BBC think now?? GIRUY! :bye:

Hibs On Tour
20-06-2010, 04:03 PM
Hi Five to me. Had it at 1-1 in the WC predictor! If Paraguay had got their fingers out and nailed a 3rd I would have been 100% today! Now I don't feel so bad about predicting that Paraguay will beat Brazil in the next round...! :wink:

20-06-2010, 04:31 PM
That's me finished betting on this world cup stuff. I must have lost about £200 so far. Luckilly it's been other punters money as I've won a bit on the nags but the world cup has been rank rotten for betting.

Titch
20-06-2010, 04:57 PM
whats the chances of the train getting a game tonight???

not staying up to watch it if he's got nae chance

GLORY GLORY

20-06-2010, 04:59 PM
He has just text me, He's on the bench but has been promised he will play a part towards the latter end of the match.

20-06-2010, 05:00 PM
Isnt he injured ..?

Hanny
20-06-2010, 05:35 PM
On the bench.

Brazil: 1-Julio Cesar; 2-Maicon, 3-Lucio, 4-Juan, 6-Michel Bastos, 5-Felipe Melo, 8-Gilberto Silva, 7-Elano, 10-Kaka, 11-Robinho, 9-Luis Fabiano.

Ivory Coast: 1-Boubacar Barry; 21-Emmanuel Eboue, 4-Kolo Toure, 20-Guy Demel, 17-Siaka Tiene, 5-Didier Zokora, 19-Yaya Toure, 9-Cheik Tiote, 8-Salomon Kalou, 11-Didier Drogba, 15-Aruna Dindane.
Referee: Stephane Lannoy (France)

20-06-2010, 06:25 PM
He has just text me, He's on the bench but has been promised he will play a part towards the latter end of the match.

that big daft lump cannae txt :greengrin

20-06-2010, 06:30 PM
If the regular centre half gets booked tonight, think he is out for the next match (Zokora).

Up steps sol for the north korea match?

:cool2:

Titch
20-06-2010, 06:30 PM
i hope zakora gets booked then he'll miss the next game:thumbsup:

20-06-2010, 06:31 PM
like the green IC strip :greengrin

20-06-2010, 06:34 PM
like the green IC strip :greengrin

but its a wee bit celticy,,,nice color tho
hb

20-06-2010, 06:38 PM
Kaka is just falling over and expecting a foul :bye:

20-06-2010, 06:42 PM
that big daft lump cannae txt :greengrin

HibbyAndy or Sol? :greengrin

20-06-2010, 06:42 PM
Nice top, not sure whether to get that or the home one though.

20-06-2010, 06:44 PM
Kaka is just falling over and expecting a foul :bye:

Seriously what is the big fuss about him?

I don't think i've ever seen him play really well.

20-06-2010, 06:47 PM
Nice top, not sure whether to get that or the home one though.

Green one :agree:.....orange is well...orange

Gus
20-06-2010, 06:55 PM
good finish btw:agree:

20-06-2010, 06:57 PM
See Bamba wouldn't have let Fabiano get into that position to shoot.:greengrin

20-06-2010, 07:01 PM
good finish btw:agree:

not using hyperbole then.....:wink:

20-06-2010, 07:01 PM
= Diving. Cheating. Girl's. Blouse.

20-06-2010, 07:02 PM
See Bamba wouldn't have let Fabiano get into that position to shoot.:greengrin

Sol would have bundled him over and left him in his wake as he rampaged up the park. FACT. :greengrin

20-06-2010, 07:02 PM
HibbyAndy or Sol? :greengrin

20-06-2010, 07:05 PM
= Diving. Cheating. Girl's. Blouse.

So is Lucio.

20-06-2010, 07:07 PM
Sol would have bundled him over and left him in his wake as he rampaged up the park. FACT. :greengrin

:agree:.. then after strolling past 8 or 9 players he'll take on a shot and sky it 30 yards over the bar. FACT.:greengrin

20-06-2010, 07:08 PM
zakora horlicks there

20-06-2010, 07:38 PM
The towering Bamba wouldn't have let Fabiano chip the ball over him like that.

EH6 Hibby
20-06-2010, 08:08 PM
On the bench.

Brazil: 1-Julio Cesar; 2-Maicon, 3-Lucio, 4-Juan, 6-Michel Bastos, 5-Felipe Melo, 8-Gilberto Silva, 7-Elano, 10-Kaka, 11-Robinho, 9-Luis Fabiano.

Ivory Coast: 1-Boubacar Barry; 21-Emmanuel Eboue, 4-Kolo Toure, 20-Guy Demel, 17-Siaka Tiene, 5-Didier Zokora, 19-Yaya Toure, 9-Cheik Tiote, 8-Salomon Kalou, 11-Didier Drogba, 15-Aruna Dindane.
Referee: Stephane Lannoy (France)

What's the deal with the subs in the world cup? Every game I look at has 11 or 12 subs listed, are they allowed to have the rest of the squad on the bench? :confused:

20-06-2010, 08:09 PM
Bamba's crap, thats why he doesnt get a game!

20-06-2010, 08:12 PM
good to see them pull a goal back. I think 2nd will come down to goal difference

20-06-2010, 08:14 PM
Kaka Sent Off

20-06-2010, 08:15 PM
Kaka Sent Off

What a disgraceful decision

20-06-2010, 08:16 PM
Kaka Sent Off

bamba should have got stuck into kaka:greengrin

20-06-2010, 08:16 PM
That's a joke! Ref is a fud!

Never a booking, kaka did nothing wrong.

20-06-2010, 08:17 PM
Ivory Coast are cheating bassa's!

Hope they get papped out!

Shocking play acting by the Ivory Coast player.:bitchy:

The Ivorian ran into him deliberately knowing he'd just been booked.

Cheat.

20-06-2010, 08:18 PM

Ivory Coast shooting themselves in the foot with that one. They need Brazil to beat Portugal so they can go through (assuming they and Portugal beat North Korea) so to get one of Brazil's top boys sent off was a wee bit silly!

That was Disgraceful, gets hit in the chest and goes down holding his face. Things like this turn football sour. There is absolutely no need to go down like that. Keita needs some action taken against him :grr:

The ivory coast are a bunch of cheating hackin gits, 11 drogbas :rolleyes:

Disgraceful cheating by Ivory Coast..Hang your *****g head in shame you cheating barsteward!!

That's a joke! Ref is a fud!

Never a booking, kaka did nothing wrong.

:agree: or whichever official told him if he didn't see it

Total shocker. The IC player should be banned after that

20-06-2010, 08:20 PM

The thing is, any official that saw that couldn't have justified a booking!

Complete joke.

'Mon the Hibs
20-06-2010, 08:20 PM

Shades of Rivaldo 2002

Brando7
20-06-2010, 08:22 PM
I'm sorry but that was nothing sort of shocking imo, should never have been sent off

Should defo get that 2nd yellow card banished from FIFA

I'm sorry but that was nothing sort of shocking imo, should never have been sent off

Shades of Rivaldo 2002

That's true.... Karma n all that :agree:

KiddA
20-06-2010, 08:24 PM
Keïta is a disgrace what an embarrassment :bitchy:

SalfordHibs
20-06-2010, 08:26 PM

Shocking decision mate, the ref didn't see it so it either came from the linesman or the 4th offical.

Should have gone to spec savers

Keïta is a disgrace what an embarrassment :bitchy:
same could be said for a couple of Brazilian players.
Shame the ref didnt have a good night.

Yeh i agree shocking diving.

On a side note that guy should have been off for the tackle on elano.

Riordans Boots
20-06-2010, 08:27 PM
That was a disgrace - he never even touched the guys face :grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

Never ever a sending off :bitchy:

HibeeUnderwood
20-06-2010, 08:29 PM
Keita GTF!!! :grr:

20-06-2010, 08:30 PM
same could be said for a couple of Brazilian players.
Shame the ref didnt have a good night.

Two wrongs dont make a right.

The ref IMO was influenced by the IC players.

Disgraceful decision by the IC player, They have lost my respect in this tourney, Bamba or not..I hate cheats/And will not condone cheats..Very sad indeed.

20-06-2010, 08:33 PM
I saw Kaka move his shoulder into the oncoming player, Yellow card.

If the IC player hadn't rolled about holding his face then nothing happens and it would never have resulted in a booking imo.

Blame the players by all means but the ref and his crew had a nightmare. Worst of the competition so far.

Brando7

Your havin a laugh m8

20-06-2010, 08:35 PM

Disgraceful decision by the IC player, They have lost my respect in this tourney, Bamba or not..I hate cheats/And will not condone cheats..Very sad indeed.

Sad thing is Andy, it happens with virtually all the countries.

Italy and New Zealand were both at it earlier on. :bitchy:

You could tap any of these lads in the nuts and they would go down holding their head.

In saying that, its probably where many of their nuts belong. :agree:

20-06-2010, 08:37 PM

Of course they don't, but one IC player takes a leaf out of the Brazlians book and it works out for him.

There's no way the ref saw the incident and so should have been looking for assistance from his assistants.

The whole diving, chasing the ref and waving hands asking for cards is piss poor from so-called professionals. Brazilians rolling around the park don't do themselves any favours.

Good first goal - forgettable after that.

HibsMax
20-06-2010, 08:39 PM
Blame the players by all means but the ref and his crew had a nightmare. Worst of the competition so far.

Didn't see the game so I am not doubting you but was it a worse refereeing performance that USA vs Slovenia?

20-06-2010, 08:41 PM
I'm kind of glad that Bamba wasn't involved in that fiasco tonight. No doubt he'll lose some of his value but that's life. The Ivorians have really plummeted in status after that tonight and their poor showing in the AfricaCup of Nations.

20-06-2010, 08:41 PM
Of course they don't, but one IC player takes a leaf out of the Brazlians book and it works out for him.

There's no way the ref saw the incident and so should have been looking for assistance from his assistants.

The whole diving, chasing the ref and waving hands asking for cards is piss poor from so-called professionals. Brazilians rolling around the park don't do themselves any favours.

It may work against IC..They will need Brazil to take care of Portugal if they want to progress,So hey, Lets get one of Brazil's Best players sent off:rolleyes:..Kids stuff.

IC Players rolling about the park dont do themselves any favours.

shagpile
20-06-2010, 08:42 PM

Cheats? This would mean they were cheating & in FIFA's book there is no such thing. It's 'simulation'.
If it wasn't so pathetic it would be funny. Time to get shot of Blatter & his cronies & get a grip on the game before these diving, cheating ****s ruin the game totally.

The Silver Fox
20-06-2010, 08:42 PM
If Kaka had not moved into the guy he would have been splattered to the deck, he was not even looking where he was going.

Double hand ball by Fabiano prior to his second goal and plenty of attempts at cheating on display. It really annoys me as they have loads of ability but seem to take on board the cheating aspect with ease.

1875godsgift
20-06-2010, 08:43 PM
He put his arm up to stop Keita running into him.
Basically, Keita did what is known as a Lafferty.

20-06-2010, 08:45 PM
It may work against IC..They will need Brazil to take care of Portugal if they want to progress,So hey, Lets get one of Brazil's Best players sent off:rolleyes:..Kids stuff.

IC Players rolling about the park dont do themselves any favours.
I'm not sticking up for them, I'm just pointing out Brazilian players were rolling about all night too :wink:

Brazil and Portugal to go through.

20-06-2010, 08:47 PM
Kaka will get that second yellow rescinded, no?

20-06-2010, 08:49 PM

If Kaka had not moved into the guy he would have been splattered to the deck, he was not even looking where he was going.

Double hand ball by Fabiano prior to his second goal and plenty of attempts at cheating on display. It really annoys me as they have loads of ability but seem to take on board the cheating aspect with ease.

Did you actually watch the game?

Hand ball in the lead up to the goal? Dont think so pal.

20-06-2010, 08:52 PM

What move his shoulder?

Never ever a yellow in a month of Sundays

Riordans Boots
20-06-2010, 08:53 PM
Here it is -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71qg8mTJTCo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oHSVSKxoGo

Brando7
20-06-2010, 08:53 PM

Sorry andy but that was a defo hand ball not once but twice for that goal :agree:

20-06-2010, 08:59 PM
Here it is -

Random pictures :confused:

20-06-2010, 09:02 PM
More breathtaking hypocrisy from the commetators. The guy handles twice before scoring, yet it gets wee shrug of the shoulders. Yet they still go on about Maradona and Henri.

Riordans Boots
20-06-2010, 09:03 PM
Random pictures :confused:

Added another link :greengrin

20-06-2010, 09:04 PM
Their was diving everywhere between Drogba, Lucio but Keita's was completely out of order and Lafferty standard. Absolute disgrace if i was Kaka i would have lost the plot no doubt, really hope Fifa do the right thing and rescind it to a yellow, no doubt they won't but. Despite Bamba being in their squad i shall not be supporting IC now as i can't stand cheats. Fair enough every team has their divers but all the IC players were at it and i just found it a joke to watch them. Also two Brazil players could have had their legs broken because of abysmal, shocking challenges from the IC players.

20-06-2010, 09:06 PM
I've seen the replay enough times now and it seems clear that Kaka raises his arm knowing it will result in contact with Keita. Whether that's to impede him, or protect himself is debatable.

Don't know the rules of the game well enough to know whether that's a yellow, or whether it depends on the context, nevertheless, it looks like a foul. And the ref has to respond to that appropriately. So there's a debate over whether it is a yellow or just a free kick.

Keita's reaction seems obviously well over the top and shameful TBH. It's harder to judge for various reasons, but the TV highlights caught what the match officials didn't seem to. There's a separate route for that sort of behaviour to be pursued and given how blatant it appears, most of us would be happy to see some sort of action against him I'm sure.

20-06-2010, 09:06 PM

Erm, yes it was...

20-06-2010, 09:07 PM
Added another link :greengrin

20-06-2010, 09:10 PM
Erm, yes it was...

Having reviewed it again -Yes it was. (Least ive got the baws to admitt)

Shoold Kaka have been sent off? Erm,No.

hereford-hibby
20-06-2010, 09:10 PM
Never a sending off,but you could say this was maybe some sort of payback for Rivaldo cheating in the 2002 world cup against Turkey. What goes around comes around.

20-06-2010, 09:12 PM
Never a sending off,but you could say this was maybe some sort of payback for Rivaldo cheating in the 2002 world cup against Turkey. What goes around comes around.

WOW...7 posts in 8 years :greengrin

What you been dane man!

20-06-2010, 09:12 PM

Totally agree with your post. Of course Kaka shouldn't have been sent off, but the Brazilians were at it the entire game. To me the ref was dreadful. For Brazil's second goal, there was some slo-mo of a conversation between the ref and Fabiano after it, God knows what that was about. I feel sorry for Elano, who scored a good goal, and it looked quite a bad injury. But a lot of the game was ruined for me, not by what was going on in the game, but by 2 people, that arrogant tosser Hansen, and Laurenson, who must be even more annoying than Mick McCarthy now. Maybe.

20-06-2010, 09:15 PM

you obviously didn't :greengrin

clear hand ball twice....the ref even joked with Fabiano asking if he'd handled it...

Riordans Boots
20-06-2010, 09:19 PM

clear hand ball twice....the ref even joked with Fabiano asking if he'd handled it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H409aCV8fWo

20-06-2010, 09:23 PM
why was the IVC player running into him in the first place?

20-06-2010, 09:24 PM

Awrite G.

We can mull it over the 696896898 pints your due me :greengrin

20-06-2010, 09:37 PM
Awrite G.

We can mull it over the 696896898 pints your due me :greengrin

You forgot the decimal point :cool2:

20-06-2010, 10:48 PM

Can't agree with that after what happened to us on Friday afternoon.

Bad decision though, as it was never a bookable offense. Ruined a good fantasy team night for me too, as he's one of my midfielders! :grr:

steviecarnie
20-06-2010, 10:54 PM
what happened to the guy who got sent off for rivaldo in 02 if he got his card recinded then so will kaka, otherwise fifa's ruling is cant appeal yellow's and reds will only be recinded if mistaken identity.

From Wiki:
His early performance at the tournament was marred by his play-acting in the group match against Turkey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkey_national_football_team).[10] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rivaldo#cite_note-9) In the closing stages of the match, with the ball out of play, Turkish defender Hakan Ünsal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hakan_%C3%9Cnsal) kicked a ball towards Rivaldo, who was waiting at the corner flag. The ball struck his thigh, but Rivaldo fell to the ground clutching his face. The referee sent the Turkish player off with a second yellow card. After a video review, Rivaldo was fined 11,670 Swiss Francs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swiss_Francs) by FIFA, 1,670 of which were for "costs".[11] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rivaldo#cite_note-10)

20-06-2010, 11:11 PM
Don't want to see that at any football match but especially at the World Cup, I don't like seeing anyone get sent off at the WC as a result of cheating.

The referee didn't see it so I hope one of his assistants got it completely wrong because if he has based his decision solely on the IC players he has lowered himself to a truly shocking level of professionalism.

21-06-2010, 12:06 AM
That was never ever a yellow card :bitchy: Another joke of a referee :bitchy:

21-06-2010, 02:03 AM
What's the deal with the subs in the world cup? Every game I look at has 11 or 12 subs listed, are they allowed to have the rest of the squad on the bench? :confused:

Aye!

21-06-2010, 07:04 AM
Sad thing is Andy, it happens with virtually all the countries.

Italy and New Zealand were both at it earlier on. :bitchy:

You could tap any of these lads in the nuts and they would go down holding their head.

In saying that, its probably where many of their nuts belong. :agree:

If you are on about the incident with Winston Reid going down (and staying down), he was clearly poked in the eye, which is quite painful.

To compare what Italy were up to (and have been for years) to anything New Zealand did is very unfair.

21-06-2010, 07:12 AM
Kaka,s card should be rescinded and the IC player a straight red for trying to get another player sent off.

21-06-2010, 07:52 AM
what happened to the guy who got sent off for rivaldo in 02 if he got his card recinded then so will kaka, otherwise fifa's ruling is cant appeal yellow's and reds will only be recinded if mistaken identity.

Presumably nothing, since kicking the ball at Rivaldo was worth a yellow, regardless of where it actually hit him and what Rivaldo did afterwards.

Provided Kaka only gets a one match ban (and surely even FIFA couldn't managed to find any violent conduct in the replay) then it doesn't really matter - they've won the group, so he'll be 'rested' for the last game.

21-06-2010, 08:01 AM
Seen that so many times in other games without a pen being given.
England were very guilty of it.

Ref helping the bigger country again. :grr:

For example, Zaliukas used to grab handfuls of Rob Jones's shirt and hold on at every corner or free kick and AFAIK was never penalised.