View Full Version : Edwin De Graaf signs for Hibernian

15-06-2010, 01:13 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100615/edwin-de-graaf-signs-for-hibernian_2262950_2071334

Nice work - hopefully he can play at right back too :greengrin

15-06-2010, 01:15 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100615/edwin-de-graaf-signs-for-hibernian_2262950_2071334

Am in school at the moment and came on to check Hibs.net during study, good timing :thumbsup:

JE89
15-06-2010, 01:16 PM
Looks like the experience we need. The fact Feyenoord signed him (although he didn't play very often) shows he clearly has something.

Does this spell the end of Zemmama's Hibs career?

Edit : Aahhhh so this is the 'Dutch Sauzee' somebody mentioned...!

15-06-2010, 01:17 PM
What a quality sounding exotic name an-aw :agree::thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 01:18 PM
Looks like the experience we need. The fact Feyenoord signed him (although he didn't play very often) shows he clearly has something.

Thats what I was thinking, though Zouma would need to get fit before anyone will be signing him.

His track record looks very good given he has been playing in Holland's top league for a good number of years. Good age with the experience we need. Well done Yogi.

15-06-2010, 01:19 PM
Okay, I will start...

I hope he can GENERATE some excitement.

15-06-2010, 01:20 PM
Great rhyming slang possibilities as in " You're having an Ed de Graaf " !! Wots his website like?? :wink:
Seriously, sounds good, the experience we need.

Jim Herriot
15-06-2010, 01:20 PM
Clearly, de Graaf can be translated as 'The Earl' or 'The Count'.

http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://www.omroepbrabant.nl/%3Fnews/138031522/Edwin%2Bde%2BGraaf%2Bnaar%2BHibernian.aspx

BREDA - Footballer Edwin de Graaf traded in NAC Breda in the Scottish Hibernian. The 30-year-old midfielder signing a contract in Edinburgh for two years.

Edwin de Graaf played four seasons for NAC Breda. His contract ran this season, so he can leave without compensation to Scotland. A new offer made by NAC De Graaf ignored.

The Earl played in 86 games in the Premiership for NAC in which he scored eighteen times. De Graaf previously played for ADO Den Haag, Feyenoord and RBC Roosendaal.

http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nusport.nl%2Feredivis ie%2F2270052%2Fde-graaf-twee-jaar-hibernian.html&sl=nl&tl=en&hl=&ie=UTF-8

"The count for two years at Hibernian '

Uitgegeven: Released:
15 juni 2010 10:43 June 15, 2010 10:43
Laatst gewijzigd: Last edited:
15 juni 2010 11:40 June 15, 2010 11:40
LONDON - Edwin de Graaf leaves almost certain to Hibernian. The midfielder, who is out of contract at NAC Breda, hopes today is the last wrinkles to iron out with chairman Rod Petrie and manager John Hughes.

http://media.nu.nl/m/m1dz7l6ap3bp.jpg
"The Count was impressed by the organization of the team, says agent Frank Schouten to NUsport. "But the new training complex and the structure of the club he was never told."
The count could be three years ending commitment to extend NAC, but he wanted a foreign adventure. The American DC United, the English and German MSV Duisburg Barnsley FC angled to its services, and some Dutch clubs.

In the winter were "The Hibees' already in the market for the Count. Manager Hughes sees the 30-year-old a new leader for his team.
The Count is a contract for two seasons at Hibernian sign that next season participating in the Europa League.
He previously played for RBC Roosendaal, Feyenoord and ADO Den Haag. The Earl played four seasons with NAC.

vahibbie
15-06-2010, 01:21 PM

and/or left back, central defence:wink:

I'm sure we will be seeing a new defender in soon:agree:

lEXO
15-06-2010, 01:21 PM
Sounds like a good signing.

GreenPJ
15-06-2010, 01:22 PM
Not just Zouma but I also wanted Wotherspoon to get moved back to right midfield.

Hopefully this guy can play in the centre as well and we can keep Zouma/Wotherspoon on the right.

15-06-2010, 01:22 PM
Looks a very decent signing:agree: More of the same please and welcome to the Leith San Siro Edwin:thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 01:23 PM

I don't see why that has to be the case - Zouma is perfectly comfortable playing through the middle and I bet this guy can play one or two positions as well.

Regardless though - this guy sounds like a quality player and I can't wait to see him in action - welcome to the Hibees Ed! :thumbsup:

Engels74
15-06-2010, 01:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_-_H3XM48o&feature=related

looks a great attacking player! Scores goals as well!!!:agree:

Borders Hibby
15-06-2010, 01:27 PM
Okay, I will start...

That was his twin brother Van.:wink:

HibeeMG
15-06-2010, 01:27 PM
Sounds quality!

The fact that Yogi describes him as a box to box player might suggest he is mainly a central midfielder rather than stuck on the right wing.

15-06-2010, 01:28 PM
Clearly, de Graaf can be translated as 'The Earl' or 'The Count'.

http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://www.omroepbrabant.nl/%3Fnews/138031522/Edwin%2Bde%2BGraaf%2Bnaar%2BHibernian.aspx

BREDA - Footballer Edwin de Graaf traded in NAC Breda in the Scottish Hibernian. The 30-year-old midfielder signing a contract in Edinburgh for two years.

Edwin de Graaf played four seasons for NAC Breda. His contract ran this season, so he can leave without compensation to Scotland. A new offer made by NAC De Graaf ignored.

The Earl played in 86 games in the Premiership for NAC in which he scored eighteen times. De Graaf previously played for ADO Den Haag, Feyenoord and RBC Roosendaal.

http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nusport.nl%2Feredivis ie%2F2270052%2Fde-graaf-twee-jaar-hibernian.html&sl=nl&tl=en&hl=&ie=UTF-8

"The count for two years at Hibernian '

Uitgegeven: Released:
15 juni 2010 10:43 June 15, 2010 10:43
Laatst gewijzigd: Last edited:
15 juni 2010 11:40 June 15, 2010 11:40
LONDON - Edwin de Graaf leaves almost certain to Hibernian. The midfielder, who is out of contract at NAC Breda, hopes today is the last wrinkles to iron out with chairman Rod Petrie and manager John Hughes.

http://media.nu.nl/m/m1dz7l6ap3bp.jpg
"The Count was impressed by the organization of the team, says agent Frank Schouten to NUsport. "But the new training complex and the structure of the club he was never told."
The count could be three years ending commitment to extend NAC, but he wanted a foreign adventure. The American DC United, the English and German MSV Duisburg Barnsley FC angled to its services, and some Dutch clubs.

In the winter were "The Hibees' already in the market for the Count. Manager Hughes sees the 30-year-old a new leader for his team.
The Count is a contract for two seasons at Hibernian sign that next season participating in the Europa League.
He previously played for RBC Roosendaal, Feyenoord and ADO Den Haag. The Earl played four seasons with NAC.

Wonder if this means he will captain the team?

erin-go-bragh87
15-06-2010, 01:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_-_H3XM48o&feature=related

Looks a good player, great pace and not scared o a tackle.:thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 01:29 PM
Okay, I will start...

I think playing against The Count could be a hair-raising experience for other teams.

aberhibsfc
15-06-2010, 01:30 PM
Welcome to the club Edwin.

Looks to have a decent playing pedigree. Hopefully more like that to come.

HibeeMG
15-06-2010, 01:32 PM
And going by the YouTube videos it looks like he's a player who'll get in about them and I can see him becoming a fans favourite.

15-06-2010, 01:33 PM

We also signed Zibi from them :grr:

Big-Si-1875
The Earl played in 86 games in the Premiership for NAC in which he scored eighteen times.

Sounds like a good return to me.

Welcome to the Hibs buddy

Looks like this guy is the strong midfielder we've been crying out for the past few seasons.

Excellent. :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 01:37 PM
Well done Yogi ...:thumbsup:

Big-Si-1875
15-06-2010, 01:37 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxqX-C8xYsg

Check this one out

Hibee_Lisa
15-06-2010, 01:38 PM
Welcome Edwin :thumbsup:

sunshine1875
Why are we signing this clog-dancer when we could have signed Craig Bryson?

Good signing. Six foot one, "box-to-box" type player with good experience. Well done, Hibs.

I am also very impressed that the first we usually hear about such signings is via the Hibs website. Not from the back page of the Record or Scotsman. Well done, Hibs.

EuanH78
Okay, I will start...

I hear he's a midfield dynamo and charges up and down the field.

:agree: With hair raising results.

M11BMO
15-06-2010, 01:39 PM
Looks promising...Just the sort of player we need. Looking forward to seeing him in action!

Dr Jimmy
15-06-2010, 01:39 PM
Could mean that Yogi is sticking with Wotherspoon at right back......:dunno:

15-06-2010, 01:42 PM

Dinnae worry about a right back.

We will have one in for 1st July at East Mains.

Welcome to the Cabbage Edwin

Looks like a good solid signing, well done the Hibees.

NAC Breda qualified for the Europa last season but got stuffed by Villarreal at the final qualification stage. Edwin de Graaf scored 4 in that competition, including the consolation away goal at Villarreal.

Almost an ever present feature in the league campaign, seems to have missed one game, he scored 6 times.

Seems to have been substituted a few times at the start of last season but completed more games at the end of the season. In the first 25 games he only played the full 90 minutes about half a dozen times, in the final 15 he completed all but 3.

Picked up 5 yellow cards, 1 in the Europa and 4 in the league.

We wore #7.

NAC Breda finished 10th in the league, 1 point short of Europa qualification but a considerable distance from top.

Chuckie
15-06-2010, 01:43 PM

Welcome to Hibernian Edwin...

15-06-2010, 01:46 PM
Hibs sign a player named The Count or The Earl. Now thats Hibs class :thumbsup::thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 01:48 PM
Looks like a good signing and one I look forward to seeing. Hopefully he can match expectation.

It would seem that the training facility and the stadium are now a real draw for players and that can only be a good thing for the club. European qualification probably helped as well.

Chuckie
15-06-2010, 01:50 PM
Could mean that Yogi is sticking with Wotherspoon at right back......:dunno:

Hart to tell. :rolleyes:

15-06-2010, 01:53 PM
Welcome to Hibees Edwin.

His Wiki page has him at 6' 1" at last a big man in midfield, hope he can play a bit as well.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwin_de_graaf

15-06-2010, 01:53 PM
Looks a good signing from the (albeit limited) info and YouTube clips.

Welcome to Hibernian, Edwin.:thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 01:54 PM
6 ft 1!!

Is that not too tall for Yogi!?

15-06-2010, 01:55 PM
Anyone been on to ask what the Falkirk fans thought of him :dunno: :wink:

certainly looks the part, can play on the left too, also scores with his heid
will this put the hartley thing to bed
hb

Im sorry this is a utter useless signing. We need real quality signings such as Craig Bryson or Burton o'brien. These guys have played at a great level with two respectable clubs known for their free flowing football and bursting trophy cabinet.

De Graaf also played a key role in NAC Breda's UEFA Cup campaigns in seasons 2008/9 and 2009/10 scoring 5 goals which makes him the club's all time top scorer in European competition.

IS THAT ALL YOU CAN GET YOGI :grr::grr:

:wink: . Great signing.

15-06-2010, 01:56 PM
Looks a good signing going by the clips from youtube that are posted on this thread. If you take Cregg out for this player in then we have improved the squad and with a right back to be signed soon I feel our squad has improved sufficiently enough to believe we can match last season in terms of points and league position.

CapitalHibs
15-06-2010, 01:58 PM
Sounds like a great signing! (Jambos must be sick:brokenyam:) Hopefully this will help get more season tickets sold.:notworthy:

hibees59
15-06-2010, 01:58 PM
What's going on? We've got the tallest midfield in Scotland and he goes and signs a midget at only 6'1". :grr:

Think he's gonna be an earl of a signing, count me in (don't worry I can find my own coat!)

15-06-2010, 01:59 PM

15-06-2010, 02:00 PM
Well done to Yogi and RP. I would imagine other clubs would have been interested in him so it seems to me they deserve praise and well done to the Count for picking the right club. If this keeps up then I'll be hoping I can get along to most if not all games.

15-06-2010, 02:01 PM
I believe he's a heavy-tackling, progressive type ......:not worth

15-06-2010, 02:02 PM
Great news, I was kinda thinking that the Hibs website was being a bit quiet of late, then I read earlier on here that Yogi was back from holiday then BAM, we get hit by this new signing. Roll on next season.

15-06-2010, 02:07 PM
Welcome to the Hibees!

ionahibby
15-06-2010, 02:11 PM
Sounds like a good signing in a yogi we trust:thumbsup: well done to hibs for keeping all card close to their chest stops these west coast papers reporting rubbish!

15-06-2010, 02:12 PM
This will be the Dutch central midfielder I posted I heard we had signed about 2 weeks ago .. :wink:

15-06-2010, 02:13 PM

Hart or someone else?

15-06-2010, 02:13 PM
Yams are a bit quiet over at ****back.

Worried that we have a bit of a gem here are they compared to Craig Bryson mibbe? :wink:

15-06-2010, 02:15 PM
What's going on? We've got the tallest midfield in Scotland and he goes and signs a midget at only 6'1". :grr:

Think he's gonna be an earl of a signing, count me in (don't worry I can find my own coat!)

Viscount on anyone else to find it for you? :dunno:

shamo9
15-06-2010, 02:19 PM
Let's hope he doesn't turn into another J.J: decent pedigree but nae legs anymore :wink:

15-06-2010, 02:22 PM

Great signing on paper, well done to Yogi and everyone.

The prospect of Michael Hart (hopefully), Wotherspoon and de Graaf making triangles down our right hand side really is exciting :thumbsup:

CapitalHibs
15-06-2010, 02:23 PM
Let's hope he doesn't turn into another J.J: decent pedigree but nae legs anymore :wink:

30 Years old? Should have a bit left in the tank, shurely!

15-06-2010, 02:30 PM
Anybody got a Photie Graffe:rolleyes:

Welcome to the club edwin

excellent and about time Hibernian signed some experienced players. I know they can cost more but Hibs badly lack experience (and height!)

Looks a good one. V impressed :greengrin

15-06-2010, 02:34 PM
Edwin's gonna be a Starr. :thumbsup:

CapitalHibs
15-06-2010, 02:38 PM
Edwin's gonna be a Starr. :thumbsup:

Our best right half since Edwin Turnbull:greengrin

15-06-2010, 02:40 PM
Am I to late to say he should generate some excitement, he could be a midfield powerhouse even.

15-06-2010, 02:45 PM
This wont be the last one either, welcome Ed. :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 02:52 PM
Sounds a real find, a bit of grit and determination in our midfield......

Well done Yogi, more of the same please.....

15-06-2010, 02:55 PM
He must be terrible TBH.

How can we sign a player without it being relentless trailed on rubbish football rumour websites, certain private members on hibs.net, the Daily Record, The Sun and the Sunday Post?

Petrie is taking the Jarkko if he thinks we are going to fall for this!!!!!!!!

15-06-2010, 02:59 PM
I had high hopes for pre-season but at no point did I think that we'd sign a tall, experienced midfielder with European pedigree who's also a club captain...

Impressed.

15-06-2010, 03:00 PM
Does this mean Yogi will start speaking Leith Dutch? :greengrin

15-06-2010, 03:03 PM
Anybody got a Photie Graffe:rolleyes:
http://nacblog.nl/media/4/20080516-graaf.JPG

15-06-2010, 03:05 PM
What they saying on the Breda forums about it?

Postiga
15-06-2010, 03:08 PM
Sounds promising. Some more of the same please Yogi!:thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 03:09 PM
I'm not sure about this signing. How did it get past Salford Hibs' radar. :greengrin

euro Hibby
15-06-2010, 03:10 PM
prefer craig Bryson .........:greengrin:

15-06-2010, 03:11 PM
I'm not sure about this signing. How did it get past Salford Hibs' radar. :greengrin

You wont here from him for days, Qaulity signing? Nahh this is not his type of thread.

Godsahibby
15-06-2010, 03:14 PM
From the videos available on youtube he looks a very similar type of player to Scotty Brown (The Hibs player not the one in a Celtc "Tap")

15-06-2010, 03:15 PM
You wont here from him for days, Quality signing? Nahh this is not his type of thread.

Yip a positive thread, he will be elsewhere.

15-06-2010, 03:17 PM
:agree: With hair raising results.
As long as he isn't too static!

15-06-2010, 03:20 PM
From the videos available on youtube he looks a very similar type of player to Scotty Brown (The Hibs player not the one in a Celtc "Tap")

Thought the very same thing, one of the runs in the video was very similar to one of Browns in the Sproule hat-trick game at Ibrox.

I'm also wondering if as he gets older and he starts to lose his pace he might start to alter his position to come more infield like what has happened with Giggs over the last few years at Man Utd.

15-06-2010, 03:20 PM
That will be the boy in the picture that was posted at the end of the season, standing in or around the tunnel/dugouts.

Lets hope he does the business for us. Hopefully a few more being brought into the club in the coming weeks.

15-06-2010, 03:24 PM
That will be the boy in the picture that was posted at the end of the season, standing in or around the tunnel/dugouts.
Lets hope he does the business for us. Hopefully a few more being brought into the club in the coming weeks.

Right enough forgot all about that.

joejoefaemexico
15-06-2010, 03:30 PM

pretty sure zibi played with feyenoord........

15-06-2010, 03:37 PM
pretty sure zibi played with feyenoord........

Yip, and Colin slower than the QE2 turning Murdoch played for Man United, as did Rankin. It means diddly.

15-06-2010, 03:39 PM
Should hopefully keep quiet those who were using the apparently imminent signing of Burton O'Brien as yet another stick to beat Yogi with too.

15-06-2010, 03:41 PM
Over on ourstadiumispinkback they are spewing!! All trying to playdown he's a decent player, Asking the question why he would sign for Hibs..Hmm , Let me take a few guesses :hmmm:

We have a state of the art academy?

A bran spanking new stand to take us upto 20 thousand?

Our club is run well and the manager and chairmen sold him on hibs without promising false facts and lies?

Brilliantly run club with fans that arent ersholes?

Poential Eurpean football at Easter RD. ?

Yip, Ive absolutley no idea why he opted for Hibernian.

Could you imagine FJK trying to sell Hearts to him :hilarious

Em, Were 8676898069869069 Million quid in debt. :Ummm:

Our owner is 2 peas short of a pod :Ummm:

Our stadium is pink and have a crumbling main stand that is gonna be a new 50 million pound stand with ensuite facilities and a bar a restaraunt etc etc...Eh, actually we decided on a new 15 Million pound stand instead :Ummm:

We have no danger of european football, But the Lads have a playstation 2 :Ummm:

Our club is the worst run in Scotland FACT.

So i ask our fellow pinkers looking in, Why the hell wouldnt you pick Hibernian?

:cool2::cool2::cool2:

hibee4life1983
15-06-2010, 03:59 PM
Top notch signing and
HIBBY ANDY I just about pissed masel reading that

Well done rod yogi and the ricer, great signing.
Giruy hertz

15-06-2010, 04:02 PM

"aye the boysh got shtuck right in the day.............shmoke and a pancake anyone?" :greengrin

Sounds like a good player and a lot of the qualities we were missing in the squad :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 04:04 PM

Defo looks like him. I got into trouble for posting them. Glad it didn't mess anything up

15-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Without knowing anything about the guy, a player who has spent his career in the Dutch top division and captained Breda will be no mug.

More like this please, Messrs Hughes and Petrie. A right back and central defender next please.

15-06-2010, 04:13 PM
Defo looks like him. I got into trouble for posting them. Glad it didn't mess anything up

From whom may i ask?

JE89
15-06-2010, 04:14 PM
Yip, and Colin slower than the QE2 turning Murdoch played for Man United, as did Rankin. It means diddly.

When they were youth players. Feyenoord signed De Graaf at 25 - completely different.

As for the Zibby comments - never thought of that but fair enough.

15-06-2010, 04:18 PM
Without knowing anything about the guy, a player who has spent his career in the Dutch top division and captained Breda will be no mug.

More like this please, Messrs Hughes and Petrie. A right back and central defender next please.

Michael Hart is odds on to be a Hibs player very soon.

I love it when Hughes does exactly as he said he would do, I.e sign an experienced, physical presence into the midfield.

Looking forward to a couple more players that haven't been mentioned coming in over the next 8 weeks that will be a better calibre than we currently have.

15-06-2010, 04:20 PM
He must be terrible TBH.

How can we sign a player without it being relentless trailed on rubbish football rumour websites, certain private members on hibs.net, the Daily Record, The Sun and the Sunday Post?

Petrie is taking the Jarkko if he thinks we are going to fall for this!!!!!!!!

It beggars belief. :agree:

Edwin de Graaf verruilt NAC voor het Schotse hibernian. De aanbieding die NAC had weggelegd was onvoldoende voor de hagenaar, waarna hij besloot om een tweejarig contract te tekenen voor de ploeg uit edinburgh.

Eerder stond de Graaf al in de belangstelling van msv duisburg en het amerikaanse dc united. Edwin speelde 86 wedstrijden voor de Parel, waarin hij 18 keer het net wist te vinden.

Bedankt Edwin, en veel plezier op Easter Road!

Well, I don't speak Dutch, but I get the impression that he was wanted by Duisburg and DC United as well.

The last paragraph seems to say "thank you and have a good time at Easter Road".

I also notice that he was fourth in the player of the year votes at Breda.

sunshine1875
15-06-2010, 04:20 PM
As reported by the media.............."Skysports.com understands the Dutchman turned down a number of clubs from the Championship before agreeing to move to Easter Road"

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11781_6208003,00.html

In a Hibs strip in the link below and translation below the link:

http://www.voetbalprimeur.nl/site/nieuws/134699/De_Graaf_Het_most_Hibernian_worden.html
Edwin the Count set its career forward in the Scottish competition. The middenvelder of NAC Breda reached Tuesday an agreement with Hibernian. Do not Dig "this chance want I let walk", according to De.
The Counts, in the possession of an ending agreement, is a happy man. The thirty-year middenvelder set in on a foreign adventure and gets this now in the form of an employment by Hibernian. "This is fantastic", rings Dig the first reaction of De opposite VoetbalPrimeur.

While the ink had been dried on the contract not yet, spoke want to be 'droomtransfer' De from the administration room of Hibernian its satisfaction from over the rounding off of. "I have want to play all eager in the foreign country always. Now I that chance get, want to let walk these not. I am now thirty year. That I now yet a few year in the foreign country can play is quite beautiful."

The middenvelder might know self in the interest of a robust number of clubs. Among many from Germany, England and the United States came Dig there offers within furrow De, that a new contract offer of NAC Breda put down next to self. The choice for Hibernian had been made however fast.

"From the first moment that I by this club am orphans look have I a quite good feeling by Hibernian. The stadium, Easter Road, is a typical stadium that you in England and Scotland well often see. The training complex is fantastic. The fields lie there besides as billiards sheet by. Since my first visit I was sold. This moést the becoming."

The Count let self have been informed of before good over the Scottish football. Naturally clubs as a Celtic know and Glasgow Rangers little secrets, the power of the remaining clubs in the Scottish prime Minister League is many strange. "You must Hibernian a little bit see as the third club of Scotland", knowledge De Dig.
"They want to play football gladly. I is present self by Motherwell – Hibernian. That duel went the books in for it ended then in a 6-6 right game. Immediately was to be seen that the tempo tremendously high lies. That is a challenge for me. I think that I here well pace. I must have it after all also largely of my course fortune."

http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/voetbal/6957775/__De_Graaf_naar_het_Schotse_Hibernian__.html?sn=vo etbal

15-06-2010, 04:25 PM
Cheers Filled Rolls :aok:..

If Hibs can persuade guys like him to sign for us when Championship clubs are after him speaks volumes:agree:

The infrastructure in place here must count alot for some players instead of seeing ££ signs.

Great capture by all acounts.

Nice one Yogi and Rod :aok:

15-06-2010, 04:26 PM

I can just hear it now, yogi talking like Steve Mclaren in 2-3 weeks time.:wink:

15-06-2010, 04:27 PM
As reported by the media.............."Skysports.com understands the Dutchman turned down a number of clubs from the Championship before agreeing to move to Easter Road"

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11781_6208003,00.html

http://www.voetbalprimeur.nl/site/nieuws/134699/De_Graaf_Het_most_Hibernian_worden.html
Edwin the Count set its career forward in the Scottish competition. The middenvelder of NAC Breda reached Tuesday an agreement with Hibernian. Do not Dig "this chance want I let walk", according to De.
The Counts, in the possession of an ending agreement, is a happy man. The thirty-year middenvelder set in on a foreign adventure and gets this now in the form of an employment by Hibernian. "This is fantastic", rings Dig the first reaction of De opposite VoetbalPrimeur.

While the ink had been dried on the contract not yet, spoke want to be 'droomtransfer' De from the administration room of Hibernian its satisfaction from over the rounding off of. "I have want to play all eager in the foreign country always. Now I that chance get, want to let walk these not. I am now thirty year. That I now yet a few year in the foreign country can play is quite beautiful."

The middenvelder might know self in the interest of a robust number of clubs. Among many from Germany, England and the United States came Dig there offers within furrow De, that a new contract offer of NAC Breda put down next to self. The choice for Hibernian had been made however fast.

"From the first moment that I by this club am orphans look have I a quite good feeling by Hibernian. The stadium, Easter Road, is a typical stadium that you in England and Scotland well often see. The training complex is fantastic. The fields lie there besides as billiards sheet by. Since my first visit I was sold. This moést the becoming."

The Count let self have been informed of before good over the Scottish football. Naturally clubs as a Celtic know and Glasgow Rangers little secrets, the power of the remaining clubs in the Scottish prime Minister League is many strange. "You must Hibernian a little bit see as the third club of Scotland", knowledge De Dig.
"They want to play football gladly. I is present self by Motherwell – Hibernian. That duel went the books in for it ended then in a 6-6 right game. Immediately was to be seen that the tempo tremendously high lies. That is a challenge for me. I think that I here well pace. I must have it after all also largely of my course fortune."

http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/voetbal/6957775/__De_Graaf_naar_het_Schotse_Hibernian__.html?sn=vo etbal

that'll be the new strip then :greengrin

15-06-2010, 04:27 PM

Nice wee sneak preview of the new home strip.........looks ace :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 04:28 PM
It beggars belief. :agree:

Well, I don't speak Dutch, but I get the impression that he was wanted by Duisburg and DC United as well.

The last paragraph seems to say "thank you and have a good time at Easter Road".

I also notice that he was fourth in the player of the year votes at Breda.

The Dutch passage says (from Google Translate).....

Edwin de Graaf traded in NAC Hibernian in the Scottish. The offer that NAC had to play was enough for the Hague, and he decided to sign a two year contract for the team from Edinburgh.

Before the count was already in the interest of MSV Duisburg and the American DC United. Edwin played 86 games for the Pearl, which he did 18 times the net to find.

Thanks Edwin, and have fun at Easter Road!

15-06-2010, 04:30 PM
This chap seems a decent player in a league which is of a higher standard than the SPL. He also plays in a key position for us. Well done to Yogi and RP for going about our business discreetly and professionally. And not to be all parochial about it but after Hearts signing the ******, it's good to get the Count on our books.

15-06-2010, 04:31 PM
They want to play football gladly

For any Jambos looking in, you need trouble yourself no further. There is no way he'd sign for you.

"They want to play football gladly".:agree:

15-06-2010, 04:32 PM
Nice wee sneak preview of the new home strip.........looks ace :thumbsup:OG or a marketing ploy ...:thumbsup:

The Dutch passage says (from Google Translate).....

Edwin de Graaf traded in NAC Hibernian in the Scottish. The offer that NAC had to play was enough for the Hague, and he decided to sign a two year contract for the team from Edinburgh.

Before the count was already in the interest of MSV Duisburg and the American DC United. Edwin played 86 games for the Pearl, which he did 18 times the net to find.

Of these dodgy translations, up I am fed!

Big-Si-1875

From that pic i really like the new top

15-06-2010, 04:33 PM

Looks like the club forgot this in all the excitement!

http://www.voetbalprimeur.nl/photo/450x225/135342.jpg

Riordans Boots
15-06-2010, 04:33 PM
Over on ourstadiumispinkback they are spewing!! All trying to playdown he's a decent player, Asking the question why he would sign for Hibs..Hmm , Let me take a few guesses

We have a state of the art academy?

A bran spanking new stand to take us upto 20 thousand?

Our club is run well and the manager and chairmen sold him on hibs without promising false facts and lies?

Brilliantly run club with fans that arent ersholes?

Poential Eurpean football at Easter RD. ?

Yip, Ive absolutley no idea why he opted for Hibernian.

Could you imagine FJK trying to sell Hearts to him :hilarious

Em, Were 8676898069869069 Million quid in debt. :Ummm:

Our owner is 2 peas short of a pod :Ummm:

Our stadium is pink and have a crumbling main stand that is gonna be a new 50 million pound stand with ensuite facilities and a bar a restaraunt etc etc...Eh, actually we decided on a new 15 Million pound stand instead :Ummm:

We have no danger of european football, But the Lads have a playstation 2 :Ummm:

Our club is the worst run in Scotland FACT.

So i ask our fellow pinkers looking in, Why the hell wouldnt you pick Hibernian?

:cool2::cool2::cool2:

:applause: And welcome to Hibernian Edwin son :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 04:45 PM
Would have much preferred Darren Barr or Kevin Kyle to be honest.

:cool2:

:top marks to Yogi and Rod on this one - being Breda's captain he won't have had diddly wage demands either, although probably not wild riches either.

15-06-2010, 04:52 PM

Indeed, we have some youtube clips and a very decent club career, certainly on paper this is a high quality signing, we know the game isnt played on paper thats all we have now and for me its a very good bit of business.

15-06-2010, 05:01 PM
Should be a good signing, lets hope he can produce the goods. P.S New Home Top looks tidy. :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 05:17 PM
Sounds like a very shrewd signing. Well done to King Rodders and Yogi, it looks like a real hidden gem has been unearthed :agree:

Looking at his Youtube videos, he's scored a few crackers. Excellent to have a proper midfielder at the club who seems to be good for around ten goals a season. I've only seen clips but he bursts forward like a young Scotty Brown!

We beat Barnsley to his signing. Barnsley are a smaller club than us but with them being a Championship outfit, it's likely they offered more in wages than us. Is this a clear sign that the Stadium and East Mains are now paying dividends when it comes to new signings?

Great to see the Club isn't folowing the recent trend of the big teams and limiting the search for talent to the pits of the SPL, the lower reaches of the Scottish senior leagues, Spanish sunday league and Lithuania :agree:

Anyway, enough rambling from me and welcome to the club Edwin!!!!!! :thumbsup:

Ooooh to, ooh to be...

15-06-2010, 05:48 PM

15-06-2010, 05:59 PM
some good stuff on this one, well apart from the music :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFRcrjspwi0

HIBERNIAN 1875
15-06-2010, 06:00 PM
Care to elaborate?, Michael Hart? :greengrin

15-06-2010, 06:03 PM
Good stuff Hibernian.:top marks

Nice top aswell:top marks

15-06-2010, 06:12 PM

he looks like a very hard working player judging by the clips :thumbsup:

Chuckie

Something a bit different eh..

Tell ye what from that clip it looks like we got one cracking player:agree:

Seems to have a fair bit of pace too, Reads the game well and his awareness is 2nd to none..And chips in with a few goals, Excellent addition.

WestEndHibee
15-06-2010, 06:16 PM
Great signing Yogi. At 6 ft 1 he's bound to be very PHYSIC(s)al. I gather that he makes many HAIR RAISING, POSITIVE CHARGES from box to box. Just hope that yogi doesn't ruin his potential by EXPERIMENTING too much.

Right that's the coat on...

sixtwo
15-06-2010, 06:22 PM
I am very pleased with this signing. The boy looks like the ideal player for us. :thumbsup:

Very impressed with the standard we have set! Well done yogi and the board!:agree:

15-06-2010, 06:22 PM
Anode all along that this would descend into jokes about electricity.

(too hot for a coat)

Comiston Hibee
15-06-2010, 06:33 PM
5 pages of congratulations - it seems to me that most are happy with this signing. But at over 6 foot
has Yogi gone mad? I thought we preferred midgets - he's toooooo big

and hardly in the class of Bryson, Barr or Kyle - oh wait a minute, 86 games, circa 20 goals

So, Cregg (squad player at best) replaced with this sort of signing, makes Comiston a Happy Hibee

15-06-2010, 06:36 PM
I've had enough, there's just no chemistry in this humour.

15-06-2010, 06:43 PM
Looks the business and just what our squad needs right now. Some good news on the signing front. :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 07:00 PM
Intersesting that when we sign a player and people criticise him here immediately on this board they are pillioried and told "FFS at least wait till we've seen him play."

Surely the same applies with excessive praise of new signings. The signs are good but let's see the boy play first before getting carried away.

15-06-2010, 07:04 PM
Ah love the way Hibernian Football Club go about there business. :agree:

Judging by the clips on this thread he will certainly enhance our squad.

Welcome to Edinburghs best run football club Edwin. :greengrin

15-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Ah love the way Hibernian Football Club go about there business. :agree:

Judging by the clips on this thread he will certainly enhance our squad.

Welcome to Edinburghs best run football club Edwin. :greengrin

15-06-2010, 07:29 PM
Sure he will make the sparks fly

15-06-2010, 07:34 PM
Looks like a decent signing.

Now, lets get right back sorted!!!!!

HibeeMcGinn1
15-06-2010, 07:54 PM
Great signing Hibees. Bring on Juve :greengrin

Dr_Regal
15-06-2010, 08:43 PM
Looks like an excellent addition. very exciting, like the fact he is announced and then paraded in the new strip, hibs certainly know how to get the juices flowing.

Looks like a good partner for miller in the middle of the park with a spot for a fit zemmama on the right.

15-06-2010, 08:43 PM

The prospect of Michael Hart (hopefully), Wotherspoon and de Graaf making triangles down our right hand side really is exciting :thumbsup:

Christ have we signed a geometry teacher?

15-06-2010, 08:50 PM
Looks like a great signing, although i'd much rather have a big lanky SPL reject who will score 10 goals a season max.

15-06-2010, 09:05 PM
Edwin de Graaf verruilt NAC voor het Schotse hibernian. De aanbieding die NAC had weggelegd was onvoldoende voor de hagenaar, waarna hij besloot om een tweejarig contract te tekenen voor de ploeg uit edinburgh.

Eerder stond de Graaf al in de belangstelling van msv duisburg en het amerikaanse dc united. Edwin speelde 86 wedstrijden voor de Parel, waarin hij 18 keer het net wist te vinden.

Bedankt Edwin, en veel plezier op Easter Road!

Using google translate

Thanks Edwin, and have fun at Easter Road!

15-06-2010, 09:19 PM
Saw a pic of him wearing number 8 :thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 10:06 PM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/06/15/article-1286568-0A082CA1000005DC-249_634x533.jpg

15-06-2010, 10:09 PM
Looks like a good player. A goalscoring midfielder with a bit of height which is good.

Welcome to Hibernain Football Club Edwin

legends of 73
15-06-2010, 10:19 PM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/06/15/article-1286568-0A082CA1000005DC-249_634x533.jpg

:top marks:thumbsup:

15-06-2010, 10:19 PM
Really, really impressed.

Could he be made captain?

15-06-2010, 10:23 PM

I get the impression from the various quotes i have read today that may be the idea!

15-06-2010, 10:25 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100615/new-home-kit-unveiled_2262950_2071502

Seems like they coordinated his signing with the new kit, which is now officially launched...can be pre-ordered from Friday.

erin-go-bragh87
15-06-2010, 10:36 PM

I hope not. Ian Murray is our natural captain and hopefully he will get the armband next season.

Long suffering
15-06-2010, 10:59 PM
Sounds like an excellent edition certainly has an impressive CV:
1 Has played in the dutch eredivisie for almost 10 years
2 Was signed by feyenoord and was brought up in their academy
3 Was captain at Breda for the last 4 years
4 Has a decent strike rate for a midfielder 1 in 6ish
5 And has featured for the Holland B team

Also at 30 you would hope that he still has plenty left in the tank

15-06-2010, 11:00 PM
I hope not. Ian Murray is our natural captain and hopefully he will get the armband next season.

Yogi mentioned De Graafs 'leadership qualities' on the official website. I think he'll be given the armband.

15-06-2010, 11:07 PM
Intersesting that when we sign a player and people criticise him here immediately on this board they are pillioried and told "FFS at least wait till we've seen him play."

Surely the same applies with excessive praise of new signings. The signs are good but let's see the boy play first before getting carried away.

:bitchy: Not at all - the guy plainly has electric ball skills :cool2:

15-06-2010, 11:19 PM
"I am delighted to be joining a club with such a great set-up and fantastic history.
"I had a lot of options available to me this summer, but having seen the training centre, the stadium and having spoken to the manager, I was really excited about the prospect of coming to play in Edinburgh (http://topics.skysports.com/edinburgh/?section=football)http://static.lingospot.com/spot/image/spacer.gif with Hibernian"

This is a great quote - :top marksto Yogi and the rest of the staff who must have done a great job of selling the club to "the Count" in the face of stern competition.

Also shows that the training centre (yes that old £4M chestnut) can and does play a part in attracting quality players to the club.

16-06-2010, 12:04 AM
Good to see the info proved correct (see Hemdani thread 03/06/10) :greengrin Better news is still to come my Hibee chums and chumettes, trust me.......another quality signing is en route to Hibernian in the next week I am led to believe :agree: You have to gloat when it all comes together (it so often doesn't after all)

MrHibs1982
16-06-2010, 12:56 AM
Looks a good quality player.
Surprised nobody has picked up on the "86 games in 4 years" part, has he had injury problems because if he was captain you would think he'd be an automatic pick which would equate to double that amount of games??

16-06-2010, 01:47 AM
Surprised nobody has picked up on the "86 games in 4 years" part, has he had injury problems because if he was captain you would think he'd be an automatic pick which would equate to double that amount of games??

He played in 30 of the 34 games last season. http://www.eredivisie.nl/statistieken/clubs/nac

MrHibs1982
16-06-2010, 01:57 AM
Just found on a site he played 12/34 games in the league in the 08-09 season but couldnt find any other stats or news for him.
Good amount of games this season so lets hope if there was an issue it wont be a factor for him now and we can get 50 games out him this season ;)

16-06-2010, 04:33 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100615/new-home-kit-unveiled_2262950_2071502

Seems like they coordinated his signing with the new kit, which is now officially launched...can be pre-ordered from Friday.

there was a club meeting last night when the pic of the strip came out i happened to text someone at the meeting about the pic and hey presto the club announce it officially :greengrin

i know how the dutch press got it and its a quite funny.

Edwin went round the club yesterday, ticket office, club shop etc etc and introduced him self to everyone. not one player had ever done that, well not atleast in the last 5 years

16-06-2010, 06:32 AM
welcome to edinburghs finnest, edwin. :thumbsup:

M8UDB
16-06-2010, 07:08 AM
Looking forward to seeing him play, exactly what we need in the midfield a big guy for a change :thumbsup: Get the right back sorted now and roll on next season!!

16-06-2010, 07:20 AM

I think Murray is too quiet to be captain. We lacked real leadership when things went tits up last season.

I must say that was a concern of mine:

Years Team Apps† (Gls)†
2001–2004 RBC Roosendaal 89 (19)
2004–2006 Feyenoord 6 (0)
2005 → RBC Roosendaal (loan) 10 (2)
2005–2006 ADO Den Haag (loan) 23 (3)
2006–2010 NAC Breda 86 (16)
2010– Hibernian 0 (0)

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwin_de_Graaf)

It looks like if you allow for limited appearances in his first season, as a callow youth, and a tough spell when he was in Rotterdam, his appearances average a bit better. That said I would want to see a higher average than 21.5 games a season during the last four years. Was this due to a major injury like a leg break, or was it a succession of recurring injuries?

16-06-2010, 07:40 AM
Looking forward to seeing him play, exactly what we need in the midfield a big guy for a change :thumbsup: Get the right back sorted now and roll on next season!!

There has been a lot of hints on here that Michael Hart will be signing on 1st July, heres hoping.

holyrood hibbie
16-06-2010, 08:01 AM
He looks like the sort of player we've missed, tall, strong and forign. Now he does look very good in the youtube videos.

Just one we side note, can anyone imagen Yogi or Rice trying to learn dutch? They can hardly speak English.

16-06-2010, 08:22 AM
He looks like the sort of player we've missed, tall, strong and forign. Now he does look very good in the youtube videos.

Just one we side note, can anyone imagen Yogi or Rice trying to learn dutch? They can hardly speak English.

Fortunately the majority of Dutch speak very good English. :agree:

16-06-2010, 08:23 AM

Kan niet geloven dat ze hem gepakt. Ik had het uit een goede bron dat ze had ondertekend Craig Bryson

So that was the boy in the burgundy sweater.

Agree with that but what it fair enough to say is that the fact that Yogi knows enough to have spotted the boy (as I believe it was him) and Rod's gone and done the business despite competition and managed to keep everyone out of the loop, even on here; is very impressive and deserves credit immediately.

16-06-2010, 08:32 AM
Kan niet geloven dat ze hem gepakt. Ik had het uit een goede bron dat ze had ondertekend Craig Bryson

Ik heb Tynecastle stadion seen en ik heb seen alles. Ik in de stadion winkel was en mijn telefon heb bel! Surprise groot, Vladimir Romanov sprak "kom in Tynecastle, Nederlandse, ik heb in lucht bulb gebrokken, u van Phillips is, nee?"

16-06-2010, 09:24 AM

You should teach them.:agree:

16-06-2010, 09:38 AM
Surely he's too tall to be Hibs Class?

16-06-2010, 09:41 AM

Has Rod completed another shrewd swoop by taking unsold seats from the old East and using them for the dug outs this season?

aberhibsfc
16-06-2010, 09:50 AM
Checked out a few Youtube videos, some showing him rattling in the goals, some just general play. One thing for sure he looked a real powerhouse/dynamo. Looks like he covers some amount of ground and at a fair rate.

16-06-2010, 09:51 AM
there was a club meeting last night when the pic of the strip came out i happened to text someone at the meeting about the pic and hey presto the club announce it officially :greengrin

Edwin went round the club yesterday, ticket office, club shop etc etc and introduced him self to everyone. not one player had ever done that, well not atleast in the last 5 years

What a class thing to do. Well done Edwin. :thumbsup:

16-06-2010, 09:59 AM
he looks fast AND strong. If he's still got all that, I have no doubt he'll be a success at us!

Sandy
16-06-2010, 10:01 AM
A bit of a physical presence in the midfield and also a goal threat, can only be good for us.

16-06-2010, 10:37 AM
If Michael Hart signs that will explain the grin on Yogis face when I chinned him about a big midfielder and a right back last week. He gave nothing away. Didn't say anything just grinned.

16-06-2010, 11:37 AM
Ali Baba,15/06/2010 15:28:23 in the Scotsman

NAC Breda qualified for the Europa last season but got stuffed by Villarreal at the final qualification stage. Edwin de Graaf scored 4 in that competition, including the consolation away goal at Villarreal.

I read that and thought, that’s familiar ...

This is me Yesterday 02:42 PM

Who is Ali Baba? :confused:

Its not me! Just interested.

16-06-2010, 11:50 AM

I am Ali Baba.
http://skrivadur.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/spartacus.jpg

16-06-2010, 12:53 PM

I was going to post this yesterday but I didn't want to as I was biased and we'd been ribbing driver about 100 games in 4 years. :LOL:

16-06-2010, 01:00 PM
I was going to post this yesterday but I didn't want to as I was biased and we'd been ribbing driver about 100 games in 4 years. :LOL:

'Fans Fury as Hibs Sign Sicknote' doesnt have the same enthusiastic tone though:greengrin

Maybe he was just doing 'unseen work' at the time...

therealgavmac
16-06-2010, 01:09 PM
You should teach them.:agree:

:top marks:faf:

therealgavmac
16-06-2010, 01:12 PM
I am Ali Baba.
http://skrivadur.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/spartacus.jpg

I'm Ali Baba - and so's me wife!

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/telegraph/multimedia/archive/01358/life_of_brian_1358087c.jpg

CapitalHibs
16-06-2010, 01:12 PM

There was something about De Graaf being signed by Feyenoord and only getting 4 first team games for them.:dunno:

16-06-2010, 01:31 PM
There was something about De Graaf being signed by Feyenoord and only getting 4 first team games for them.:dunno:

He was loaned out to Roosendaal, I take it he had a spell languishing in the reserves at De Kuip first.

ionahibby
16-06-2010, 01:49 PM
Yogi mentioned De Graafs 'leadership qualities' on the official website. I think he'll be given the armband.

Would be surprised if yogi dropped hogg as captain tbh, might be proved wrong though.

Velma Dinkley
16-06-2010, 01:53 PM
I found this from Feb 12 2009....

NAC Breda’s right-sided attacking midfielder Edwin de Graaf has been ruled out for the rest of the season due to a foot injury.

The 28-year-old played his last game on January 17, 2009, in the 1-1 draw with FC Utrecht, but picked up the injury a couple of days later in training. De Graaf is due for an operation today and is expected to be out for several months.

De Graaf has been affected by injury during the past couple of seasons, he played just 12 times last season due to a succession of injuries and played the same number of times during 2008/2009.

16-06-2010, 01:57 PM

NAC Breda’s right-sided attacking midfielder Edwin de Graaf has been ruled out for the rest of the season due to a foot injury.

The 28-year-old played his last game on January 17, 2009, in the 1-1 draw with FC Utrecht, but picked up the injury a couple of days later in training. De Graaf is due for an operation today and is expected to be out for several months.

De Graaf has been affected by injury during the past couple of seasons, he played just 12 times last season due to a succession of injuries and played the same number of times during 2008/2009.

You see? another Chris Killen:duck:

ionahibby
16-06-2010, 01:58 PM

Lets hope he is'nt an injury prone player, its a wasted signing otherwise!

Velma Dinkley
16-06-2010, 02:03 PM
I imagine the operation sorted him out otherwise he wouldn't have passed a medical. In any case, Chris Killen is a World Cup star:greengrin

16-06-2010, 02:16 PM
If he is a more robust, physical type player he is always more likely to get injured than some of our less combative players.

16-06-2010, 02:26 PM
He looks like a good signing. Three more of his quality and I would be a happy camper

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

hibsboy90
16-06-2010, 03:10 PM

How then :wink:

sadtom
16-06-2010, 03:24 PM
Welcome to the Hibs, I'm sure you'll be a star Edwin. :cool2:

16-06-2010, 03:36 PM
If he does well, he'll be the toast of Edwinburgh.

16-06-2010, 04:24 PM
If he is a more robust, physical type player he is always more likely to get injured than some of our sh*tebags

:agree: :greengrin

16-06-2010, 04:37 PM
Looks to be a very good signing on paper, although he could be past his prime.

Need to wait and see what he is like in pre-season.

I remember I felt a similar way when we signed JJ...

16-06-2010, 06:16 PM

Dunno but he is a thieving barsteward apparently. :agree:

Woody70x2
16-06-2010, 07:54 PM
I am surprised someone hasn't suggested a song for him... maybe E D G (repeated) to the simpe tune of U S A :yawn:

16-06-2010, 07:57 PM
Sproule tune,

:singing: He's here, he's there, he's every *****g where Ed de graff ed de graff :singing:

Ill get my jaiket :bye::bye::bye:

SalfordHibs
16-06-2010, 08:39 PM

Didn't see anyone else in the know come up with this one either mate, Marcel Seip was mentioned though, not by me :wink:

16-06-2010, 09:01 PM
Sproule tune,

:singing: He's here, he's there, he's every *****g where Ed de graff ed de graff :singing:

Ill get my jaiket :bye::bye::bye:

So you get texts from Macar as well then :faf:

Didn't see anyone else in the know come up with this one either mate, Marcel Seip was mentioned though, not by me :wink:

He was taking the piss :faf:

".....anyone else in the know......" you believe your own hype don't you :faf:

17-06-2010, 07:23 AM
Edwin , welkom op Hibernian fc.

Asked a few dutch friends best about him sent them sun link from two days ago . Here is a response

"Alles goed man, hoe is het met jou??

Funny story about Edwin de Graaf, that is the guy on the picture is not
Edwin de Graaf!
I think he's quite good, a typical Scottish player, he's known for his
enthusiasm and yellow cards ;-)"

Baw187
17-06-2010, 07:48 AM
Edwin , welkom op Hibernian fc.

Asked a few dutch friends best about him sent them sun link from two days ago . Here is a response

"Alles goed man, hoe is het met jou??

Funny story about Edwin de Graaf, that is the guy on the picture is not
Edwin de Graaf!
I think he's quite good, a typical Scottish player, he's known for his
enthusiasm and yellow cards ;-)"

I also asked a couple of Dutch colleagues in our Amsterdam office and, after sending me a photo of Ronald McDonald (which I took as a joke... !) they said he was known for working really hard and having endless energy. A bit like saying a girl has a good personality!

They said Breda hadn't offered him a new contract and although he used to be half decent, his best days were behind him and he wasn't the most skillful.

So - works hard -loads of energy - nae skill. Just a big John Rankin then!!

Seriously tho, I'm hopeful that he'll suit Scottish football and he maybe just got a bit stale in the Netherlands.

17-06-2010, 08:24 AM
Welcome to the Hibs, I'm sure you'll be a star Edwin. :cool2:

Hmmmm... don't think a lot of people will get that one mate :wink:

Anyway it's two R's :greengrin :wink:

17-06-2010, 08:26 AM
Hmmmm... don't think a lot of people will get that one mate :wink:

Anyway it's two R's :greengrin :wink:

On another topic, War, what is it good for?

17-06-2010, 08:43 AM
On another topic, War, what is it good for?

I heard about it on H.A.P.P.Y. Radio.
(this is getting tenuous)

Perhaps their would be more humour in other famous Edwins?

Like Edwin van der Saar, or, er, Edwin Morgan.

17-06-2010, 08:51 AM
I heard about it on H.A.P.P.Y. Radio.
(this is getting tenuous)

Perhaps their would be more humour in other famous Edwins?

Like Edwin van der Saar, or, er, Edwin Morgan.

:agree: Rip it up and start again. :wink: (y not?)

17-06-2010, 09:39 AM
:agree: Rip it up and start again. :wink: (y not?)

Well hopefully, Edwyn will be the source of Three Cheers for Our Side. (Wiki dontcha luv it?)

17-06-2010, 07:25 PM
How then :wink:

he got someone to take a picture on his iphone and he sent it onwards. Id like to point out he didnt know/even think about the strip:agree:

but im sure we will all thank him :thumbsup:

Thigh ar la
19-06-2010, 11:48 AM
From a friend who´s cousin is dutch and a big Breda fan - "Think you´ve got yourself a hard working midfielder at the end of his career though. Played for Feyennord before NAC. Would have liked him to stay but too bad. We call him ´The Running Miracle´..

So perhaps he´s the man to add a bit of strength and solidity to the team for a season or two?

19-06-2010, 12:46 PM
From a friend who´s cousin is dutch and a big Breda fan - "Think you´ve got yourself a hard working midfielder at the end of his career though. Played for Feyennord before NAC. Would have liked him to stay but too bad. We call him ´The Running Miracle´..

So perhaps he´s the man to add a bit of strength and solidity to the team for a season or two?

Do they mean it's a miracle he's still running? :bitchy:

19-06-2010, 01:07 PM
as long as he is better than hartley

19-06-2010, 03:27 PM
http://nacblog.nl/media/4/20080516-graaf.JPG

Just what we needed :bitchy: Another sash wearing Orangeman :wink:

tam4hibs
20-04-2018, 08:23 PM
What a waste he was.

Never been so excited about a player to go so flat - Maybe stokes mk 3. May be riordan second spell. Maybe even Alan O'Brien...

But this was a serious waste...

20-04-2018, 08:30 PM

It seems funny to look back on this time, blissfully unaware that our right back woes were soon to be banished by the arrival of Michael Hart.....

20-04-2018, 08:31 PM

Stevie, to think I usually call you out in the PM awards each year as one of the best posters....Ha! :o)

Also can’t believe it was 8 years ago!

Ryan69
20-04-2018, 08:31 PM
What a waste he was.

Never been so excited about a player to go so flat - Maybe stokes mk 3. May be riordan second spell. Maybe even Alan O'Brien...

When he signed I was living in Amsterdam and all I got was rave reviews about him.
I was working with an ex Ajax player too...who was full of praise about the guy.

Don't understand what happened really.

20-04-2018, 08:33 PM
Apparently Doctor football is interested in signing him now as he definitely can't run and won't cost any money.

20-04-2018, 08:34 PM
Jeezy peeps. Saw the thread title and I was scrambling for my therapist’s phone number there!!

Then I saw date of first post. I’m breathing normally now. The paper bag no longer needed!!

20-04-2018, 08:34 PM
What a waste he was.

Amazing trawling of an ancient thread.

Yes he was pish. Also that embarrassing photoshop kit launch that Edwin was the star of.

20-04-2018, 08:38 PM

Yes he was pish. Also that embarrassing photoshop kit launch that Edwin was the star of.

Just read the 7 old pages. A few posters will be hiding under their duvets tonight reading this🤣
Also so little posts for a so called major signing

20-04-2018, 09:04 PM
Just read the 7 old pages. A few posters will be hiding under their duvets tonight reading this🤣
Also so little posts for a so called major signing

Not so many smart phones then. My post count went up massively when I got an iPhone.
There is no post from me on this thread which means I probably realised he was going to be mince. [emoji6]

tam4hibs
20-04-2018, 09:06 PM
Scored 2 on his competitive debut....

Next pat McGinlay- box to box definition of a midfielder...

tam4hibs
20-04-2018, 09:09 PM
Apologies for the fright I gave people... was trying to prove a point about excitement over a bad player; albeit with a strong debut.

When I found this thread I couldn't help but hit reply...

Now, kukabi, let's not drag that one up. (Or Brian kerr)

20-04-2018, 09:11 PM
We also signed Zibi from them :grr:

I think this was an early warning sign 😂

20-04-2018, 09:39 PM
I see Stokes is back to his usual antics.

21-04-2018, 07:03 AM

Please tell me the headline was Edwin Star...?

21-04-2018, 07:18 AM

Found it.

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/images/hibs-10-11-puma-home-1.jpg

21-04-2018, 07:27 AM
I'm always surprised how much less I posted in these days. A major signing and I didn't say anything.

I really need to get a life again......

21-04-2018, 07:34 AM
I'm always surprised how much less I posted in these days. A major signing and I didn't say anything.

I really need to get a life again......

Me too, but think as Ozy says, so easy now. In 2010 probably had to go and switch on my PC
Wonder how many post/view on here from their PC nowadays?

21-04-2018, 10:11 AM
File him under the same category as Freddy Arpignon. Both were good players but way past it by the time they arrived at Easter Road.

It’s amazing how some players seem to lose it at 39 while others can carry on a a high level fir years.

21-04-2018, 10:56 AM
I thought he was going to be a very decent signing and exactly what we should've been looking for, sadly didn't turn out that way!

Maybe if some of the numerous sitters he produced had actually went in things would've been different

21-04-2018, 10:58 AM
Apologies for the fright I gave people... was trying to prove a point about excitement over a bad player; albeit with a strong debut.

When I found this thread I couldn't help but hit reply...

Now, kukabi, let's not drag that one up. (Or Brian kerr)

I looked for the thread on Brian Kerr but couldn’t see it.

21-04-2018, 11:00 AM
Found it.

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/images/hibs-10-11-puma-home-1.jpg

Those puma kits and the majority of the players who wore them were truly disgusting, what an awful time. Miles and miles from where we are now.