View Full Version : Match Updates Engerland Vs U.S. of A

12-06-2010, 05:49 PM
I can't stand the Yanks, but I'll make an exception over the next couple of hours.

USA. USA. USA.

12-06-2010, 05:52 PM
Quite fancy Heskey to score first at 7/1 :greengrin

12-06-2010, 05:55 PM
USA USA USA:thumbsup:

https://michaelbay.com/newsblog/files/USA-flag.jpg

WarringtonHibee
12-06-2010, 06:00 PM
This one really had tested my ABE resolve, as I can't stand the yanks, but come on YOU ESSS AAAYYYY :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 06:02 PM
U S A
U S A
U S A

Get stuck right intae thum and get it RIGHT UP Robbie Williams, James Corden, Chris Moyles and the rest of the fat ***** I've had to put up with on TV/radio:take that:take that:take that

Hanny
12-06-2010, 06:02 PM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs631.snc3/31650_695529880991_61006463_41636825_3048062_n.jpg

houston1875
12-06-2010, 06:06 PM
Cmon the yanks!!!!!!

Am a half yank so giruy smelly English!

Dinae like engerlands team like! They gonna get caught out,milner to sit deep
when lamp and gerrard go forward??
Plus led kings a cripple,Rooney ain't fit if you ask me?
Heskey couldnae hit water if he fell off a boat? Where's crouch?
Dempsey and USA win 20/1!!!

12-06-2010, 06:12 PM
No David james...its Rob Green in goals:clown:

Silversand
12-06-2010, 06:13 PM
Go America!

12-06-2010, 06:14 PM
2-1 USA

Donovan and Dempsey to score.

12-06-2010, 06:18 PM
1-0 USA Donovan.

12-06-2010, 06:19 PM
Heart - 1-0 USA. Head - 2-0 Them

12-06-2010, 06:26 PM
http://www.thefoxnation.com/assets/imagecache/fox-nation-large/fox-nation/415_US_flag_5.jpg

12-06-2010, 06:27 PM
2-0 to England.

12-06-2010, 06:28 PM
I see the huns have turned up in their masses...

Hank Schrader
12-06-2010, 06:32 PM
Clive Tyldsley is an insufferable twat.

"Now, THEE national anthem"

Erse

heidtheba
12-06-2010, 06:33 PM
Christ -less than a minute and they're banging on about Bobby Moore:grr:

12-06-2010, 06:34 PM
Christ -less than a minute and they're banging on about Bobby Moore:grr:

The tw@ts managed to compare Rooney to Messi earlier on. :yawn:

1-0 :grr:

heidtheba
12-06-2010, 06:35 PM
Balls - cue all round Engerlund commentary team boners

bollocks

**** sake :grr:

1-0 FFS:grr:

Hibeebob
12-06-2010, 06:36 PM
Plenty time yanks. Keep calm.

WarringtonHibee
12-06-2010, 06:37 PM
ITV North West went to adverts by mistake when they scored haha

12-06-2010, 06:38 PM
I can't stand the Yanks, but I'll make an exception over the next couple of hours.

USA. USA. USA.

comentatar saying this will be fun

12-06-2010, 06:40 PM
C'mon USA come back and get into this ****!

hibernian36
12-06-2010, 06:46 PM
I'm watching it on STV HD on Virgin and it cut to adverts just before the England goal - done on purpose I think !!! :wink:

12-06-2010, 06:55 PM
even since the goal in terms of possesion and both had a good chance..if England score a second they will run away with it I think however

12-06-2010, 06:58 PM
USA winning all the high balls into box.....

12-06-2010, 06:59 PM
I think USA stands for Utter Pish Footballers

Ingerlund haven't been any better so far

12-06-2010, 07:00 PM
Heskey should have been sent off for that :greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:01 PM
USA dominating but looking ropey at the back, c'mon Altidore learn to head the ball!

12-06-2010, 07:01 PM
I wonder if they would still be replaying the goal if USA had scored :grr:

12-06-2010, 07:02 PM
Milner off already, waiting to be sent-off really.

12-06-2010, 07:02 PM
I wonder if they would still be replaying the goal if USA had scored :grr:

You will probably find that it's a FIFA feed and itv don't control the replays

12-06-2010, 07:03 PM
Must admit that its good management getting Milner off...not many would do it even although you know he will struggle to tackle for an hour and remain on the pitch

12-06-2010, 07:04 PM
You will probably find that it's a FIFA feed and itv don't control the replays

:agree: it is...first match had almost as much minutes of replays as the actual action :grr::grr:

12-06-2010, 07:07 PM
Oh well then, I stand corrected.
I'm moaning about nothing :agree:

12-06-2010, 07:11 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

GIRFUY :bye:

YES :thumbsup:

So much for ENGERLAND keepers USA USA USA:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greeng rin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

YAAAAAAASSS!!!!:thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 07:12 PM
Green doing it again..no more than USA deserve for not folding and England not pressing for second

Hibeebob
Yeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaasssss! Brilliant rob green!

Another class act in the world cup by an England goalie. :hilarious

English goalkeepers are ******.:greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:13 PM
In a shocking twist Fabio Capello reveals his No1 keeper as Arthur Boruc :faf:

No David james...its Rob Green in goals:clown:

:cool2:

Personally I would have had James every time....I know he has had his moments...but he can make saves no one else can and has more experience...

1-1 fair reflection so far....

WarringtonHibee
12-06-2010, 07:14 PM
Zibi in disguise? LOL :thumbsup::thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 07:14 PM
Beckhams face. :thumbsup:

MoscowHibs
12-06-2010, 07:15 PM
Yes ye dancer::greengrin:hyper::cheers:

12-06-2010, 07:15 PM
I thought it was Scottish goalies that were rank? The English keepers are dodgy as **** and here is to them having clangers for however long they remain in the World cup.

12-06-2010, 07:16 PM
:cool2:

Yeh Yeh smarty pants...what odds didi you get on a Green Howler:wink:

Even if England win it's a consolation that they are terrible and will get humped by Spain, Brazil etc. :thumbsup:

HFC_NYC
Rob Green is my new hero!!!!

12-06-2010, 07:18 PM
If I was into spread betting then i would stick a wedge on a Rooney red after frustrated lash out tackle........:agree:

12-06-2010, 07:18 PM
I love Robert Green.:shhhsh!:

12-06-2010, 07:20 PM
I knew they said that this could be fun, but I never knew they mean't on our part. :wink:

12-06-2010, 07:22 PM
Yeh Yeh smarty pants...what odds didi you get on a Green Howler:wink:

You will note I posted the Rob Green:clown: clown face PRIOR to kickoff:cool2::smug::partyhibb

12-06-2010, 07:24 PM
I thought it was Scottish goalies that were rank? The English keepers are dodgy as **** and here is to them having clangers for however long they remain in the World cup.

Would be interesting to hear Jimmy Greaves opinion.:greengrin

TBH Craig Gordon would walk into that team.

12-06-2010, 07:25 PM
'By far the better side':bye:.....that will be why your not a manager anymore

hibeesliam94
12-06-2010, 07:27 PM
Jeez that England goalies jersey is more cursed than the hibs one!!!

12-06-2010, 07:28 PM
Southgate: "I don't think you can blame the ball" :faf:

12-06-2010, 07:28 PM
:faf: :faf: :faf:

Look at them :boo hoo:

12-06-2010, 07:29 PM
Just about to open another GREEN can of Carlsberg......'If Carlsberg did world cup matches for your rivals.......':greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:29 PM
Southgate: "I don't think you can blame the ball" :faf:

But they'll try anyway. :agree:

First it was the cricket conspiracy, now its the football. :wink:

12-06-2010, 07:30 PM
Patrick was trying not to laugh, im sure of it:greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:30 PM
Aidrian Chiles, what a tit .

Hibeebob
12-06-2010, 07:32 PM
They seem to think they have been the better team?
Not much in it but I think it's pretty even. Alitdore should have scored with the header and not that many chances at the other end.
Or am I just biased?

I must say the world best player Rooney has been fantastic so far.

Capt Mainwaring
They just showed a clip from the troops in Afganistan watching the games as the USA equalised - said there were American troops cheering in the background as English troops held heads in hands. I don't think they were yanks - I saw a few boys from Dreghorn Barracks cheering!

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:33 PM
'By far the better side':bye:.....that will be why your not a manager anymore

Before the goal it showed 55% possession for the US, the Americans had a couple of great chances to score before the did. England do seem to play better 2nd half but against one of the better sides they'll get pumped.

12-06-2010, 07:34 PM
Yet another name to be added to the long list of clown English goalkeepers

:bye:

12-06-2010, 07:34 PM
England 41% Usa 59% what the hell they are playing counter attacking football which is hilarious considering they are 'one of the best teams in the world' there so like the yams

12-06-2010, 07:35 PM
whe did Gordon Marshall get a job working with England:wink:

12-06-2010, 07:37 PM
Surprise Surprise......one of the most injury prone players in the EPL (if talented) off after 45 mins...they now can't make a tactical sub....what a mess...

I'm feeling almost glad Scotland are not there.......:rolleyes:

12-06-2010, 07:39 PM
All the pre-game faff about the greatest stage in the world and concentrating for 90 minutes? Engerland went to sleep after their opener. 1-1 is a fair half time score.

Hibeebob
12-06-2010, 07:42 PM
Isn't it also ironic that the man they didn't want has been their best player?

Untill now.... Sitter heskey.

Silversand
12-06-2010, 07:43 PM
Another crap England keeper ruining Englands chances.......

:greengrin:thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 07:46 PM
Three lions on their shirts, one donkey in their goals :greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:49 PM
Colin Nish must be Emil Heskey's idol , but Heskey has perfected being off side , falling down and missing chances to a fine art form , so maybe its the other way round . Also both their managers love them WHY WHY WHY?:dunno:

12-06-2010, 07:49 PM
Carragher should be off, disgraceful challenge.:grr:

12-06-2010, 07:50 PM
Carragher should have walked there. Durty bassa.

Had you put Nade in Heskeys position it would be 2-1 now.:agree:

England players beginning to lose the place.

There could be a red card for them shortly.

WarringtonHibee
12-06-2010, 07:52 PM
http://i50.tinypic.com/nqces.jpg

The look on his face. :greengrin

12-06-2010, 07:53 PM
Good save green :faf::faf::faf:

12-06-2010, 07:54 PM
Jammy *******s :grr:

12-06-2010, 07:55 PM
I am starting to get the feeling USA could get a win, i'll keep my trap shut though till it happens.:greengrin

Hibeebob
12-06-2010, 07:56 PM
The "best striker in the world" has been pretty quiet too.

12-06-2010, 07:56 PM
Colin Nish must be Emil Heskey's idol , but Heskey has perfected being off side , falling down and missing chances to a fine art form , so maybe its the other way round . Also both their managers love them WHY WHY WHY?:dunno:

I must be watching a different game...I think Heskey has been thei best player:rolleyes:

12-06-2010, 07:57 PM
Green evens it up. One missed and one saved.

12-06-2010, 07:57 PM
Great conversion there from Lampard :faf:

12-06-2010, 07:59 PM
"Green redeems himself" :faf:

Aye, he really done well to stand where he was and let the ball hit him. :wink:

Great conversion there from Lampard :faf:

It was the balls fault.:rolleyes:

And isn't it wierd nobody is moaning about the horns tonight :wink:

12-06-2010, 08:00 PM
Hahahaahaha, Best striker in the world my arse :faf::faf:

12-06-2010, 08:01 PM
I must be watching a different game...I think Heskey has been thei best player:rolleyes:

Heskey has done well holding the ball up and with knock downs but 1 on 1 with the whole goal to aim at he hit it straight at the goalkeeper. No wonder he's went so long without scoring.

12-06-2010, 08:03 PM
Heskey has done well holding the ball up and with knock downs but 1 on 1 with the whole goal to aim at he hit it straight at the goalkeeper. No wonder he's went so long without scoring.
I am not surprised is he not Tiger Woods' coach?:confused: :greengrin
edit- swift edit ya bassa :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 08:04 PM
Sean Wright Phillips straight at the keeper :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 08:08 PM
Crouch coming on, no doubt he'll score.

I am not surprised is he not Tiger Woods' coach?:confused: :greengrin
edit- swift edit ya bassa :thumbsup:

A combination of my iPod touch and my 8th bottle of Carlsberg Export.:wink:

Crouch coming on, no doubt he'll score.

:boo hoo:

12-06-2010, 08:10 PM
A combination of my iPod touch and my 8th bottle of Carlsberg Export.:wink:

12-06-2010, 08:11 PM
Rooney has been gash.......why can so many great club players be so lillian when put together :rolleyes:

12-06-2010, 08:13 PM
10 minutes to go and the damage limitation starts already....one point would not be a disaster? What from a game that they were going to skoosh? This is a game betwen the two group favourites....yeah right. Let's be honest this is the best performance for weeks?

12-06-2010, 08:14 PM
Rooney has been gash.......why can so many great club players be so lillian when put together :rolleyes:

It's all to do with chemistry IMO, teams like England don't play well together as they are full of over-active ego's trying to out-compete each other to prove they're the best.

12-06-2010, 08:14 PM
Now he has been subbed I can honestly say I agree with you but he does not score and is offside too often , but is a good leader of the line NUFF SAID , Yogi look at this Nish can do this.

12-06-2010, 08:15 PM
Ok I know there is a few minutes to go...but lets play pundit bingo (a version of mixu / yogi bingo...where we have to guse the headline / excuse) :greengrin

I'll start

The weight of expectation affected the players

Come on Holden, representing USA and Scotland :thumbsup:

Come on Stuart son, ram it up them!

Didn't you just hear the commentator though? He's getting better and better apparently...

12-06-2010, 08:16 PM
Stuart Holden.. come on son get the winner.:pray:

Come on Stuart son, ram it up them!

:agree: :thumbsup:

Ok I know there is a few minutes to go...but lets play pundit bingo (a version of mixu / yogi bingo...where we have to guse the headline / excuse) :greengrin

I'll start

............a game we looked like winning........ :rolleyes:

12-06-2010, 08:17 PM

I'll start

Short and simple "Cheated" :dunno:

12-06-2010, 08:18 PM
ball
ref
heat
altitude
vuvuzelas

12-06-2010, 08:18 PM
England don't get the Rub of the Green.

12-06-2010, 08:19 PM
USA!!!
USA!!!
USA!!!

12-06-2010, 08:19 PM
Cappello has some decisions to make regards goalkeeper.

Gus
12-06-2010, 08:20 PM
honestly sad jealous people

12-06-2010, 08:21 PM

Yup, you bet! :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 08:22 PM

:faf: This is way better than Scotland being in

12-06-2010, 08:23 PM
Well Brian, when we won it in 1966 we started with a draw, so let's hope that is an omen.

12-06-2010, 08:23 PM
USA USA USA :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 08:24 PM
Well Brian, when we won it in 1966 we started with a draw, so let's hope that is an omen.
oooooooooooooooooo almost. :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 08:24 PM
FT 1-1 great result and heaps more pressure on England now in their second game.

Oh but guys back in 1966 England started with a draw.:agree:

12-06-2010, 08:25 PM
England have proved tonight they are not good enough to win the World Cup. Rooney, hardly touched the ball. A decent team would have wiped the floor with them.

12-06-2010, 08:26 PM
quick pee and back to see the glum faces :greengrin......

I hope they don't fall apart totally...they need to get through and get beat by the Germans on penalties.......its not a proper international tourny otherwise :cool2:

I'll start

HOUSE!!!!!!!

See my post about drawing the first game in 1966!!!:thumbsup:

Rangers and Hearts fans must be raging...

12-06-2010, 08:27 PM
And they have slagged Scottish keepers in the past...

Carson, Foster, and Robert ' ***** I dropped the all, honest it hit a bump, its slipped, butterfingers' Green.

Woeful...o and happened to that forearm challenge by Carragher.

Wonder if the planning to parade the world cup working group will be working OT tonight to unplan the parade.

GIRFUY.

USA, USA :greengrin

12-06-2010, 08:28 PM
HOUSE!!!!!!!

Play on they didnt mention an Omen. :greengrin

Gus
12-06-2010, 08:28 PM

12-06-2010, 08:29 PM

The daftys on my Facebook are still coming out with their pish like 'God Save the Queen'.. they can come out with their pish as much as they want... GIRFUY cocky English *****!:greengrin

12-06-2010, 08:30 PM
HOUSE!!!!!!!

:notworthy:

Don't be silly, I know plenty Huns & Yams who want them to get pumped

ball
- check (thanks Steven Gerrard!)

Great to see that Keegan predicted a 4-1 win. What a bawbag. :greengrin

Edit, what a double bawbag. USA MIGHT just go through with England in this group.

"Only one teams gonna win this game" eh Kevin. :wink:

12-06-2010, 08:31 PM
Interviewer has to ask Stevie G why the England team could not pick the USA's pockets with so many Liverpool players in the team.

12-06-2010, 08:31 PM
Gerard mentioned Ball :greengrin

EDIT...beaten to tick

12-06-2010, 08:32 PM
Don't be silly, I know plenty Huns & Yams who want them to get pumped

I know plenty of yams that don't.

And maybe you didn't notice, but there were plenty of Rangers FC flags around the crowd tonight.

They can all GTF.

12-06-2010, 08:32 PM
Gerard mentioned Ball :greengrin

that quote was offside.:greengrin:greengrin

12-06-2010, 08:34 PM
Can I get Ball Twice..Keegan just mentioned also:greengrin

MoscowHibs
12-06-2010, 08:37 PM
Altogether now:God save our gracious Green.....England are pish!!!
And that Patrick Viera is a lying bassa...he's dying tae laff.

12-06-2010, 08:38 PM
Altogether now:God save our gracious Green.....England are pish!!!
And that Patrick Viera is a lying bassa...he's dying tae laff.

He's getting paid by a British TV station so has to toe the line. :wink:

Silversand
12-06-2010, 08:38 PM
GIRUY Englandshire.

12-06-2010, 08:43 PM
Phil Thompson saying on SSN that the USA game is their hardest game of the group?
Before kick off, they were saying that there were no hard games in this group.

"A performance good enough to win any football game". :rolleyes:

hibeesliam94
606 on 5live is making for some enjoyable listening :greengrin

12-06-2010, 08:47 PM
Phil Thompson saying on SSN that the USA game is their hardest game of the group?
Before kick off, they were saying that there were no hard games in this group.

If England had hand picked the group, it couldn't have been easier.

Still think they'll defo qualify from their group, but finishing 2nd would put them into the harder end of the draw. No danger on that performance would they beat even one of the decent sides, never mind the top teams like Spain, Brazil, Argentina or Holland.

Hibbie_Cameron
12-06-2010, 08:49 PM
"A performance good enough to win any football game". :rolleyes:

Thats what i found staggering. FWIW England were by far the better team imo. Hwoever they are going on about all the chances England had to win the game. Out of all these chances only one forced a save out of Howard, that from Hesky.

In actual fact the team that came closest to winning were the USA

12-06-2010, 08:54 PM
with scotland beating argentina in the rugby, not a bad carlsberg saturday night :applause:

think i'l watch meet the fockers on BBC1 now :greengrin

12-06-2010, 08:55 PM
Thats what i found staggering. FWIW England were by far the better team imo. Hwoever they are going on about all the chances England had to win the game. Out of all these chances only one forced a save out of Howard, that from Hesky.

Their final ball was for the most part *****. As good as Heskey was in the donkey work, he could be relied upon to miss 2/3 sitters (one clean through, one header off a good cross by Gerrard).

Argentina were better than them, apart from Maradona's mental decision to play Gutierrez at right back.

King going off will also be a concern, because Carragher struggles at that level nowadays. He was on toast a couple of times under minimal pressure - even Tyldesley thought he might have been sent off at one point.

12-06-2010, 08:57 PM
Let's face it this was a pretty average USA team. Engerlund created a couple of chances, maybe 3.

Heskey superb? By his standards aye, but he put a one-on-one straight into the keeper's arms - this is the World Cup Engerlish pundits, err, you have to take these chances.

LALthehibeeGAL

I agree with that and fwiw you can blame the goalie howler all you want really the so called better team should have been up by at least two goals but made no impact and did not really trouble their goalie except for Heskey's effort which was really pretty much straight at him - engerland should have put the game beyond doubt right after captain Gerrard scored but they did not so all need to take the blame really - fwiw they will still get another 6 points but will need to play better cos they weren't that good - i need to see them go out in the QF or SF in penalties - it's the norm!!

Lal:wink:

606 on 5live is making for some enjoyable listening :greengrin

Shan Lawson on now.....

....prick of the highest order!

They were garbage and their flair players, Rooney, Lampard etc were guff and their defence looked shaky against Findley who can't much other than run. And nobody wants to see them get pumped more than me.

But no team has set the tournament alight in the first game and none probably will. I'm sure they'll do the usual, scab top spot in the group, then start to play well and get beaten by a superiour team after a plucky fight.

12-06-2010, 08:58 PM
King going off will also be a concern, because Carragher struggles at that level nowadays. He was on toast a couple of times under minimal pressure - even Tyldesley thought he might have been sent off at one point.

Did you see Altidore making Carragher look like he was running in sand? No pace in the middle of defence, will be exposed the first time they come up against world class attackers.

12-06-2010, 09:02 PM
Did you see Altidore making Carragher look like he was running in sand? No pace in the middle of defence, will be exposed the first time they come up against world class attackers.

Carragher and Terry up against Messi or Tevez, Torres or Xavi, Van Persie or Robben etc. That should be fun to watch. :greengrin

chorley_fm
12-06-2010, 09:07 PM
BP issue statement thanking England goalkeeper Robert Green for selflessly doing his bit to repair strained Anglo-US relations.

12-06-2010, 09:07 PM
Carragher and Terry up against Messi or Tevez, Torres or Xavi, Van Persie or Robben etc. That should be fun to watch. :greengrin

Same old Engerlund, nothing has changed, the manager has a bit more savvy then the last one but the same old failings continue. They haven't much pace at the back, can't keep the ball and don't have that bit of magic that top nations have. They could still get to the semis mind you.

12-06-2010, 09:09 PM
BP issue statement thanking England goalkeeper Robert Green for selflessly doing his bit to repair strained Anglo-US relations.

USA are grateful for spill.

12-06-2010, 09:13 PM

Same old Engerlund, nothing has changed, the manager has a bit more savvy then the last one but the same old failings continue. They haven't much pace at the back, can't keep the ball and don't have that bit of magic that top nations have. They could still get to the semis mind you.

:agree: If they win their group, they probably will get to the semis as they have the jammiest of draws tbh. IF they finish runners up, they'll get pumped in the quarters by the Argies.

12-06-2010, 09:44 PM
I wouldn't be reading too much into anything I've seen so far of the tournament. It's only the first games...players and teams are finding their feet and adjusting.I've not really seen any team play well so far. France and Argentina have looked average so far.
I also think people laughing/being mad at England only drawing are being a little disrespectful to the USA. They're no world beaters but they're a tough team and can give anyone a game. They're definately more than the sum of their parts and I maintain a draw isn't really a bad result.

As for the game I thought Heskey was fantastic and Gerrard and Lampard played OK without exerting themselves. Where they might have problems is the lack of pace in central defence.
I think Capello has to have a serious think about his formation if Ledley King is going to be out at the drop of a hat like that. Maybe playing with three centre halves is the way to go...numbers having to make up for the lack of pace but it would leave them short in other areas.
Who'd be a manager?:greengrin

p.s. I think there's definately something up with that ball. I've seen too many weird passes, ballooned shots and last minute swerves to think there isn't. It's happened in every game and it must have played a part in the USA''s goal. If Lampard didn't play in Adidas boots the first thing he would have probably done after the match is rip into the ball.
I was going to say I hope it doesn't start making some of the worlds best players look like fools but I'm afraid it might already have done.

12-06-2010, 09:51 PM
I wouldn't be reading too much into anything I've seen so far of the tournament. It's only the first games...players and teams are finding their feet and adjusting.I've not really seen any team play well so far. France and Argentina have looked average so far.
I also think people laughing/being mad at England only drawing are being a little disrespectful to the USA. They're no world beaters but they're a tough team and can give anyone a game. They're definately more than the sum of their parts and I maintain a draw isn't really a bad result.

As for the game I thought Heskey was fantastic and Gerrard and Lampard played OK without exerting themselves. Where they might have problems is the lack of pace in central defence.
I think Capello has to have a serious think about his formation if Ledley King is going to be out at the drop of a hat like that. Maybe playing with three centre halves is the way to go...numbers having to make up for the lack of pace but it would leave them short in other areas.
Who'd be a manager?:greengrin

p.s. I think there's definately something up with that ball. I've seen too many weird passes, ballooned shots and last minute swerves to think there isn't. It's happened in every game and it must have played a part in the USA''s goal. If Lampard didn't play in Adidas boots the first thing he would have probably done after the match is rip into the ball.
I was going to say I hope it doesn't start making some of the worlds best players look like fools but I'm afraid it might already have done.

TBH Peter, I think the laughter is when you see 'expert' pundits like Kevin Keegan predicting 4-1 wins for England, it's folk like him that put non English people off supporting them in the World Cup, arrogant pricks. You would think the guy would remember his past history in predicting England victories and shut up. :greengrin

FWIW, I fully expect England to reach the semis (if they finish top of their group) or quarter finalists if they finish 2nd. But they are simply not good enough to win the competition, tonight proved that.

12-06-2010, 09:59 PM
TalkSH111TE is suicide watch! :faf:

GIR up them! :thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 10:19 PM
TBH Peter, I think the laughter is when you see 'expert' pundits like Kevin Keegan predicting 4-1 wins for England, it's folk like him that put non English people off supporting them in the World Cup, arrogant pricks. You would think the guy would remember his past history in predicting England victories and shut up. :greengrin

Have to agree about the expectation/arrogance of the fans/pundits. Given their previous results in the group stages of major tournaments you would expect supposedly knowledgeable people to be a little more conservative in their expectations and predictions.
I'm not sure if this helps the players either...this mentality that the English fans and media seem to have. They have the weight of the world on their shoulders going into these tournaments and it's brought on by this attitude that England expects. They're human beings and it must have an effect. Maybe if they went into to tournaments expecting nothing it might help the team in some way.

FWIW, I fully expect England to reach the semis (if they finish top of their group) or quarter finalists if they finish 2nd. But they are simply not good enough to win the competition, tonight proved that.

I don't know how you can come to that conclusion after one game. Holland swept all before them in Euro 2008 and the only question was who was going to lose to them in the final.
Germany are always mince but always somehow get to the final/semi...and Italy didn't show me that they looked liked winners in the group stages of the last world cup. They should have went out to Australia FFS!
They probably won't win and your prediction sounds about right but stranger things have happened.

edit: On a side note...why are some of the above posts in bold and some aren't???

12-06-2010, 10:55 PM

Am I right in thinking that if Germany win their group, and England finish 2nd in theirs, they play each other in the next round?

12-06-2010, 11:13 PM
:faf: :faf: :faf:

Just finished scraping myself off the ceiling after that American goal. Trully orgasmic material:thumbsup:

England will get through the easiest group in the World Cup however if any of them actually believe they have a chance of winning the thing after tonight when the likes of Spain, Argentina, Brazil, Germany, and their owners Portugal are in the tournament, they should get their doctor to pump up the medication.

All in all a fantastic day in sport. Well done Scotland in the egg chasing:thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 11:53 PM
Am I right in thinking that if Germany win their group, and England finish 2nd in theirs, they play each other in the next round?

I do believe that to be the case; the reverse is also true. But Fabs boys are goanny win dontchaknow!

seanshow
13-06-2010, 12:29 AM
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/standings/index.html

What's the script with the double goal difference.....have i missed something.

13-06-2010, 04:49 AM
Reports linking Robert Green with a new pizza advert

As for the game England have no chance going on first game form

But thanks to the captian for scoring 1st goal £45 better off this morning :greengrin

SidBurns
13-06-2010, 08:59 AM
I need somebody to make me feel better, was a draw a fair result? The stats say E**land should've won but I feel if Altidore has scored that would've been Game Over. Just feel like it is a bit of a missed opportunity. Saying that, I'd imagine they'll beat Slovenia and Algeria meaning they'd qualify anyway as would go down to the results between both teams no?

13-06-2010, 09:02 AM
I watched the first 20 mins and got bored of it, for the rest of the game I ate sausage butties at the bbq much better idea.

I think England are boring to watch, infact all the games I have seen so far have been poor to average.

The Silver Fox
13-06-2010, 09:07 AM
I can see the headline coming in the News of the World.

Robert Green in Draw Fix Betting Scandal.

I'd wager that he had not let one in like that since he was 15 years old. I actually felt sorry for him when I stopped laughing. Oops a Daisy!!

13-06-2010, 09:52 AM
Some of the gloating on this thread is quite reprehensible.
It shows a juvenile and jealous attitude, which is unbecoming of us Scots.

To all my English friends and family I, at least, would like to say "bad luck chaps".

Aye, that'll be right.

GIRFUY. :greengrin

13-06-2010, 10:01 AM
I'm pretty chilled about the whole WC after last night. No team can win it without a world class keeper. When you consider that they are praying for "Calamity" James to get fit it shows that is one department they are clearly short in.

Of course, James could do a real Roy of the Rovers, and play 6 or 7 outstanding games. I don't really think he will though.

SidBurns
13-06-2010, 11:15 AM
I'm pretty chilled about the whole WC after last night. No team can win it without a world class keeper. When you consider that they are praying for "Calamity" James to get fit it shows that is one department they are clearly short in.

Of course, James could do a real Roy of the Rovers, and play 6 or 7 outstanding games. I don't really think he will though.

I'm the same as you. Almost can't relax/start enjoying it until they get pumped out! Wasn't overly worried beforehand, defo ain't now! Quarter Finals MAX! :thumbsup:

13-06-2010, 11:53 AM
Had a great night in St Andrews watching the game with a few American friends and a few English friends as well. The pub was pretty full and the atmosphere was very friendly, with both sides engaging in some good hearted banter.

I must admit, that after the 1st goal went in, I thought it was going to be a long night, but we rallied well and put them under some real pressure.

It was a good end to end game with both sides creating good openings. We deserved our equaliser - granted, it was indeed lucky, I've no arguments, but the way these balls move, you have to give it a go, and Dempsey did.

Thought we were really unlucky not to go in front when Altidore hit the post, but Green got a good hand to it. The last half hour was indeed nail-biting stuff, but I'm glad we held out, as our defense was awesome all night. Cherundolo had a brilliant game!

I'm sure both teams should still qualify.

I can understand why a lot of the Scottish/Non-English fans are "gloating" this morning. Since they drew England into that group, the general concensus was summed up by the Sun, with the following:

England
Algeria
Slovenia
Yanks

I'm glad we tossed a spanner into their suggestions of getting out of the group with 3 wins!