View Full Version : **Match Updates** Argentina vs Nigeria

12-06-2010, 01:58 PM
Just starting now, c'mon Argentina.:thumbsup:

houston1875
12-06-2010, 02:03 PM
433 for la celeste fae their usual 442,messi complained bout it and so they now 433,what a team!! hopefully they gel and we see total footy!!

1-1..eh make that 1-3 argies they look good faethe start

12-06-2010, 02:06 PM
1-0 Argentina:thumbsup:

houston1875
12-06-2010, 02:08 PM
happy days got Heinze in ma hibs.net dream team!

12-06-2010, 02:10 PM
I doubt Maradona's ability as a manager but at the moment it looks like this could end up 4 or 5-0.

houston1875
12-06-2010, 02:11 PM
I doubt Maradona's ability as a manager but at the moment it looks like this could end up 4 or 5-0.

does it take much with a team like that??
pick team,wee team talk and then go on boys bish bash bosh!!
nae need for coaching,they all ken the script?

12-06-2010, 02:14 PM
does it take much with a team like that??
pick team,wee team talk and then go on boys bish bash bosh!!
nae need for coaching,they all ken the script?

Good point you don't need to be a great manager to get Messi etc playing.

What i'm wondering though is why is Gutierrez playing RB?

houston1875
12-06-2010, 02:18 PM
Good point you don't need to be a great manager to get Messi etc playing.

What i'm wondering though is why is Gutierrez playing RB?

lol coz hes a attacking defender?? where does he play for newc,he is the guy fae newcastle,yes?

argies if they stay solid during harder games in this world cup,they should win it,nae probs,brazil the danger tho

who got the assist?

12-06-2010, 02:32 PM
Is Di Maria playing?

12-06-2010, 02:38 PM
Is Di Maria playing?

Capt Mainwaring
12-06-2010, 02:39 PM
Brilliant set play fron the Argies. Messi unlucky - great wee player:thumbsup:

12-06-2010, 02:40 PM
Is Di Maria playing?

Yeah on left side of midfield.

And yes its the same Jonas that plays for Newcastle, where if i mind rightly he plays on the left hand side????

12-06-2010, 02:44 PM

Nice one. Picked him for my fantasy football based on hype alone. :LOL:

12-06-2010, 02:52 PM
Yeah Guttieriez has been picked to add a bit of width and attacking threat from the back. Maradona was getting criticised for basically picking centre halves at the back. By having him at right back (and to a lesser extent heinze) it allows the wider men to drift inwards.

It looks as if Argentina have an extra man, their setup is working really well, Messi, Tevez and Veron all getting plenty time on the ball and involvement. Higuain has had a poor half tho.

houston1875
Yeah on left side of midfield.

And yes its the same Jonas that plays for Newcastle, where if i mind rightly he plays on the left hand side????

ahh ok
i thought he got the assist,veron got the assist,trip to spec savers plz

he plays wide left for newc??
now at right back,surely argies got a rb?

stu in nottingham
Mick McCarthy: a more irritating drone than the vuvuzela.

12-06-2010, 03:24 PM
lol coz hes a attacking defender?? where does he play for newc,he is the guy fae newcastle,yes?

he got a assist,cannae complain like?
argies if they stay solid during harder games in this world cup,they should win it,nae probs,brazil the danger tho

I'm a Newcastle fan and he's never ever played in a defensive position, he always plays left wing and rarely comes back into our own half.

I just think it's a bit odd, he left Zanetti out the squad and plays Gutierrez at RB, seems a bit strange to me.

Hibeebob
12-06-2010, 03:41 PM
This is all set for a last min nigera equaliser.

Should be 7-0 arg by now.

12-06-2010, 03:48 PM
Mick McCarthy: a more irritating drone than the vuvuzela.

12-06-2010, 03:55 PM
FT Argentina 1-0 Nigeria.

Thoroughly deserved and really should have been more than a one goal margin.

houston1875
12-06-2010, 04:01 PM
a was waiting for a equaliser like,thought the script for that was written,1 nil early doors,miss after miss then Nig come strong late in game?

12-06-2010, 04:18 PM
Interesting game in many ways. Going forward Argentina look awesome, but because of their back line I'm not sure if I really fancy them to win the World cup, although I certainly wouldn't mind being proved wrong. Although Argentina were clearly the better side, Nigeria didn't help themselves by some woeful finishing when they did get the chance. Guttierrez is never a right back, and that will need to be addressed, because Argentina will come up against better teams than Nigeria, but they're still a joy to watch going forward. To me Spain, Brazil and possibly England are the best all round sides, maybe we'll get a better idea of just how good Argentina are if they come up against one of them.