11-06-2010, 11:31 AM
England
Germany -
If neither of them win it - then South Africa

Quite looking forward to some football ... may the best team win

11-06-2010, 11:31 AM
England, Spain and the Ivory Cost although not necessarily in that order.

Spain to beat England in the final. :agree:

11-06-2010, 11:34 AM
Germany, Brazil and IC

andrew_dundee
11-06-2010, 11:35 AM
http://blackberrybanter.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/why-im-supporting-england/

i recently wrote a blog about this exact issue :-)

11-06-2010, 11:40 AM
France
Mexico
Ivory Coast.

In that order :agree: :agree:

11-06-2010, 11:44 AM
http://blackberrybanter.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/why-im-supporting-england/

i recently wrote a blog about this exact issue :-)

Who's Emile Hesckey?? :greengrin

It's just like us not wanting Hearts to win the League or Cup. People are always too keen to dress up England vs Scotland at football as some sort of great political/sociological/economic issue, whereas the truth - for me -couldn't be farther from the truth.

I read some rot recently that people in favour of economic Union are more likely to want England to win the World Cup, and patriotic, independence-favouring Scots are more likely to be in the ABE camp.

Absolute, unadulterated *****e - IMO :agree:

stu in nottingham
11-06-2010, 11:48 AM
The Azzurri.

I'm also hoping for good things for the host country as my pal is South African and her country really needs it.

11-06-2010, 11:56 AM
Holland - they almost always play great football and I think it would be nice to see the Oranje win something for once!

Chille - My (very bad) random selection for the sweep at work - I think the only prize I could possibly win is the £12 for first own goal :faf:

Nae chance of Chille comming 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th :boo hoo:

11-06-2010, 11:58 AM
Ivory coast, Spain, USA, and South Africa.

11-06-2010, 12:01 PM
As Andy Murray would say, Anyone bar England.

11-06-2010, 12:11 PM
Anybody but England. The hoose will be draped in the stars and stripes tomorrow.

Argentina also.

Lmc2105
11-06-2010, 12:17 PM
Germany for me :thumbsup:

11-06-2010, 12:18 PM
Scotland ain't in it so I won't be supporting anybody. I'd like to see Chile do well due to family connections. I would like to see England have a good World Cup, again for family reasons and because my wee lad wants them to do well. It will be interesting to see how Rooney deals with the task of inspiring the rest of that team to perform above expectations.
What I would really love is to see though is Messi leaving South Africa as a World Cup winner and cementing his place in history as a true all time great.

Chuckie
11-06-2010, 12:25 PM
Anyone but Scotland.

11-06-2010, 12:27 PM
What does A.B.E mean :confused:

I'm assuming it means A.N. Other so that's what I voted.

My group of no-hopers would include Greece (In-Laws), Australia (hold a passport) and Ivory Coast ( Go on the Bamba!). I was thinking about backing Engerlund as apparently them doing well would be good for the economy. But then I came to my senses and thought **** it - GO ON THE RECESSION !!!

11-06-2010, 12:29 PM
What does A.B.E mean :confused:

I'm assuming it means A.N. Other so that's what I voted.

My group of no-hopers would include Greece (In-Laws), Australia (hold a passport) and Ivory Coast ( Go on the Bamba!). I was thinking about backing Engerlund as apparently them doing well would be good for the economy. But then I came to my senses and thought **** it - GO ON THE RECESSION !!!

Anybody But Englanders :wink:

11-06-2010, 12:57 PM
I'll be supporting our boys as always - come on USA!

erin-go-bragh87
11-06-2010, 01:09 PM
Sol Bamba!!

Pheona
11-06-2010, 01:15 PM
Bafana Bafana!!!

11-06-2010, 01:25 PM
Holland, Ivory Coast and of course, ANYONE BUT ENGLAND!!

11-06-2010, 01:29 PM
Mrs Beefster is English so rather than be openly hostile, I'm going to try mild indifference to England for this World Cup. Whether it lasts beyond tomorrow night is debatable.

11-06-2010, 01:32 PM
I'll be supporting our boys as always - come on USA!

Me too - at least for the first game. Let's kick some Limey ass!

11-06-2010, 02:08 PM
Who's the 5 Mini Huns in disguise on this that want England to win?:wink:

11-06-2010, 02:48 PM
Who's the 5 Mini Huns in disguise on this that want England to win?:wink:

Mini-Hins? I thought it was only the Huns who equated being a Hun with supporting England. Maybe those who voted for that are actually English.
Or Scots without a chip on their shoulder.:devil:

11-06-2010, 02:52 PM
Mini-Hins? I thought it was only the Huns who equated being a Hun with supporting England. Maybe those who voted for that are actually English.

I'm sure Hearts fans will push themselves to the limit in trying to be Huns.

I have quite a few immature guys in my year at school supporting England and their Hearts fans.

11-06-2010, 06:06 PM
Whoever plays England.....I'd love to see Spain or Ivory Coast win it.

Chibs
11-06-2010, 06:08 PM
usa, algeria, and slovenia in that order.

11-06-2010, 06:13 PM
ABI- that's anyone but Italy.

I couldn't stand another defensive minded winner like last time or like this years Champions League.

Also have a real dislike for The Netherlands for some reason.

Would like to see Spain win it so the English media would be forced to accept they are now 100% the biggest underacheivers in world football. Despite that dig i wouldn't mind England doing well although i'd love to see them lose their first game as a bit of a reality check. Not keen on Brazil this time as they are just too unbrazillian although i think they will do well. Most likely to get behind Argentina as i'd love to see Messi play as many game as possible.

11-06-2010, 06:17 PM
Spain and England for no other reason than my punt on them

and ivory coast for big sol

Sumner
11-06-2010, 07:14 PM
Italy

WarringtonHibee
11-06-2010, 07:18 PM
A.B.E / Ivory Coast :agree:

11-06-2010, 07:50 PM
Got South Africa and Germany in the draw, so will be supporting them.

Aside from that Spain, Ivory Coast, and ABE. Living in england i get the how they are going to win it 24/7. :grr::grr:

11-06-2010, 08:02 PM
Germany for me! :agree:

11-06-2010, 08:22 PM
Who's Emile Hesckey?? :greengrin

It's just like us not wanting Hearts to win the League or Cup. People are always too keen to dress up England vs Scotland at football as some sort of great political/sociological/economic issue, whereas the truth - for me -couldn't be farther from the truth.

I read some rot recently that people in favour of economic Union are more likely to want England to win the World Cup, and patriotic, independence-favouring Scots are more likely to be in the ABE camp.

Absolute, unadulterated *****e - IMO :agree:

I don't have any problem in describing myself as British (although I would say that I am Scottish first) and I would personally favour Scotland remaining as part of the UK but there is one thing that I am absolutely not and that is English.

All this "you are racist if you want England to lose, just because they're England" is utter nonsense in my view and really annoys me.

I have absolutely nothing against English people and if I disliked a particular English person, it wouldn't be down to where they come from. I just don't want their football team to win any matches, that's all, because I'm Scottish and when it comes down things like sport, there is a rivalry between Scotland and England. By the same token, I know a Jambo that I am fairly friendly with but any time Hearts are playing, I want them to lose, just because they're Hearts and I support Hearts' rivals.

Leicester Fan
11-06-2010, 08:39 PM
Engerland Engerland Engerland:thumbsup:

11-06-2010, 08:42 PM

Or the ones who believe they are better than everyone else by supporting England and love to take the moral high ground to look good:greengrin:devil:

11-06-2010, 08:45 PM
I have Spain and Argentina in the works sweepstake, so either of them will get my support. :greengrin

alan gordon
11-06-2010, 09:17 PM
Although I am Scottish born, I spent my early childhood in England and as I am married to a former Miss England, its England for me. In fact, we are setting off Sat. morning for Staffordshire to take in the game.

11-06-2010, 09:34 PM
Realmente espero que España gane. Nosotros jugamos el mejor fútbol.

In ma genes

11-06-2010, 09:40 PM
got a £10 on argentina to win it . 7/1
would be good to see the ivory coast doing well

11-06-2010, 10:44 PM
Or the ones who believe they are better than everyone else by supporting England and love to take the moral high ground to look good:greengrin:devil:
Isn't the moral high ground already occupied by those who sneer at Scots who don't have a default hatred of England and all things English? It's gonna be tight for space up there.:greengrin

11-06-2010, 11:23 PM
A.B.E. and...New Zealand.

http://scrapetv.com/News/News%20Pages/Everyone%20Else/images-3/maori-warrior-2.jpg

DrSpaceMonkey
11-06-2010, 11:30 PM
Denmark :aok:

12-06-2010, 12:00 AM
I'll not be supporting anyone in the world cup because I'm Scottish...I support Scotland and couldn't really care what any other nation does.

When it comes to particular matches I'll want the underdog to win to keep things interesting.

I understand this "Anyone but England" attitude but I don't buy into it. It smacks of insecurity on our part. Why should we care if they win the world cup?

If they win they will forever go on about it but if they lose they will still go on about 1966 etc..
The actual players involved are a lot closer to us because of the blanket coverage of the premiership so it's not as if it would be any different to a team like France or Portugal winning it.

However, if they do win they might actually stop talking about 1966.

HibeesLA
12-06-2010, 12:29 AM
Will be supporting USA in their matches as it's the adopted home. Do fancy the Netherlands to finally do something in the WC, so will probably be looking out for them in their games.

However, I don't have an overall favourite to win it. Any team that plays like the French or Uruguay deserve to be knocked out at the group stages.

12-06-2010, 12:40 AM
south africa, just becuase they see mto enjoy it so much, i really enjoyed tem during the confederations cup. i'd love it if we signed big booooooooth, he could be the new rob jones

wouldnt mind ivory coast doing well either for the bamba connection

booooooooooooooooooooooooooooth

Leicester Fan
12-06-2010, 11:25 AM
I'll not be supporting anyone in the world cup because I'm Scottish...I support Scotland and couldn't really care what any other nation does.

I know exactly what you mean. I refused to watch a single match in the Euros because England hadn't qualified.

MacTheRat
12-06-2010, 11:30 AM
Holland, also Argentina for obvious reasons.

Dan Sarf
12-06-2010, 11:57 AM
A good piece on this very subject...

http://www.kennyharrisblog.blogspot.com/

12-06-2010, 11:59 AM
I am married to a former Miss England.

Linkage. :greengrin

12-06-2010, 12:10 PM
Linkage. :greengrin

Linkage? - I'd blummin hope so :wink: mind you English wummin can be a bit horsey - e.g. Princess Anne.:duck:

WarringtonHibee
12-06-2010, 12:13 PM
Part of me is a tempted to feel a bit dirty let my half English side take control and want England to beat the USA, as they just annoy me with their constant "USA vs UK" pish. :bitchy:

12-06-2010, 12:14 PM
Holland, also Argentina for obvious reasons.

You want to see Diego naked? :confused:

12-06-2010, 01:50 PM
Argentina for me, would be good to see Côte d'Ivoire do well also.

renato
12-06-2010, 07:41 PM
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_eosGkndaIFM/SFJxtd3d4uI/AAAAAAAAC4o/B2nAAWgk2Ec/s400/31244_Elena_Santarelli_21_123_417lo.jpg

Forza Azzurri :greengrin