View Full Version : NHC World cup bets

07-06-2010, 10:17 AM
I'll probably get slated but my bets so far are

England 7/1 £5
Spain 4/1 £5

anyone got a tip on a golden boot winner??

RoscoHibby
07-06-2010, 10:27 AM
For me its between; Rooney, Villa and Luis Fabiano barring someone doing a Selenko at some point.

07-06-2010, 10:27 AM
My bets:

Brazil to win (9/2)
Brazil to win/Fabiano top scorer (25/1)
Spain to win/ Villa top scorer (18/1)
David Villa top scorer (8/1)
Brazil/Spain final (11/1)

Ryan69
07-06-2010, 10:32 AM
Go with the Germany/podolski,Villa/Spain,Van Persie/Netherlands!

Best todo a few of them, but for picking spain and villa its about 25-30s,so great prices for others!

Last Euros I had Villa/Spain and Podolski/Germany! Went to watch it knowing I had a winner!

07-06-2010, 10:36 AM

Best todo a few of them, but for picking spain and villa its about 25-30s,so great prices for others!

Last Euros I had Villa/Spain and Podolski/Germany! Went to watch it knowing I had a winner!

I had villa and Spain in the euros as well

I'm liking the thought of podolski though :hmmm:

HenryMonk
07-06-2010, 10:42 AM

England 7/1 £5
Spain 4/1 £5

Tevez @ 33/1 great each way bet:thumbsup:

i have £10e\w @33's wi bet365

miniboco
07-06-2010, 10:52 AM
29/1 on argentina, spain and holland all gettin 9 points in their group games

steviecarnie
07-06-2010, 11:02 AM

Quite fancying Van Persie, seems to be on fire in the warm ups. he's 12/1 @hills

07-06-2010, 11:05 AM

Podolski (each way) on his own would be a better bet imo, less return but safer.

He's 50/1 with Sky bet and they pay each way for the first 5.

I've got quite a few bets on, most of which I placed a while ago:

£20.00 Brazil to win world cup
£5.00 Germany to win world cup
£5.00 Netherlands to win world cup
£4 ew Fabiano top scorer(12/1, first 5 place)
£1 ew Klose top scorer(28/1, first 5 place)
£20.00 Rooney - Top English Scorer(11/4)
£25.00 USA to beat Slovenia 13/10
£5.00 Algeria to beat Slovenia 12/5
£20.00 Paraguay to beat Slovakia Evens
£5.00 Denmark to beat Cameroon 2/1

07-06-2010, 11:33 AM
Golden Boot - Gerrard @ 140/1 :cool2:

Last WC top scorer had 5 so its certainly a possibility.

houston1875
07-06-2010, 01:11 PM

thats worth a punt? only thing that worries me is the argies,there team selection could be key,ie who mara leaves out and who starts,especially up front? hopefully not milito!!

what bookie that with the 29/1?

07-06-2010, 01:16 PM
Anyone know how much a Holland/Van Persie double would be?

steviecarnie
07-06-2010, 01:22 PM
Anyone know how much a Holland/Van Persie double would be?

33/1

miniboco
07-06-2010, 01:38 PM
thats worth a punt? only thing that worries me is the argies,there team selection could be key,ie who mara leaves out and who starts,especially up front? hopefully not milito!!

ladbrokes online but my mate picked up a coupon and said his return was about twice that at 60/1

agree with you about the tartan argie's but after the debacle that was qualifying i think they're gonna raise their game inspite of auld diego's tactics.

Cant wait to see how the '4 centre backs' work out...

Kerrplunk
07-06-2010, 02:42 PM

England 7/1 £5
Spain 4/1 £5

I've had a wee e/w bet on Landon Donovan at 200/1.
USA could go maybe as far as semi final i reckon so if he bags a few goals seems a decent e/w bet at a big price:thumbsup:

TonyStokeprano
07-06-2010, 02:56 PM

Why wouldn't you want Milito to start?

07-06-2010, 02:57 PM
33/1

Cheers, that's not bad at all.:thumbsup:

sammy7
07-06-2010, 03:25 PM

ladbrokes online but my mate picked up a coupon and said his return was about twice that at 60/1

agree with you about the tartan argie's but after the debacle that was qualifying i think they're gonna raise their game inspite of auld diego's tactics.

Cant wait to see how the '4 centre backs' work out...

can i do that bet on bet365, dont see a bit where they are doing specials? its just i have funds in there!

TonyStokeprano
07-06-2010, 03:33 PM
can i do that bet on bet365, dont see a bit where they are doing specials? its just i have funds in there!

They probably have a list off all the group fixtures with odds, just back these teams to win their 3 group games,one big accumulator.

TonyStokeprano
07-06-2010, 03:37 PM
They probably have a list off all the group fixtures with odds, just back these teams to win their 3 group games,one big accumulator.

It works out about 26/1, I dont believe the post that says someone got 60/1!

houston1875
07-06-2010, 04:43 PM
Why wouldn't you want Milito to start?

his record for argies aint the best in qualifying i think,who's place is he taking? Tevez? Higuain? Aguero? Messi?
Spoilt for choice like,plus they play 442,only 2 strikers?

I might maybe start him coz he a target man,physical presence like?

TonyStokeprano
07-06-2010, 04:58 PM
his record for argies aint the best in qualifying i think,who's place is he taking? Tevez? Higuain? Aguero? Messi?
Spoilt for choice like,plus they play 442,only 2 strikers?

I might maybe start him coz he a target man,physical presence like?

His record is still better than tevez tho who has 9 goals in 53 games for argentina, Im not saying he should definitely start, I just wondered why you singled him out as one you didn't want to play.

Makaveli
07-06-2010, 05:11 PM
Bet of the tournament for me is France not to qualify from their group.

Not looked around for prices yet (only seen 9/4 at wills) but I would have been tempted @ evens TBH! South Africa could pull a few surprises, Mexico are always decent and Uruguay are certs to go through. France don't have any decent strikers with them and are managed by a rather foolish old chap.

edit: might even jump on Uruguay/S.Africa forecast at 18s...

07-06-2010, 05:37 PM
Van Persie top goalscorer 15/1

07-06-2010, 05:41 PM
I've had a wee e/w bet on Landon Donovan at 200/1.
USA could go maybe as far as semi final i reckon so if he bags a few goals seems a decent e/w bet at a big price:thumbsup:

He's 11/4 as an anytime scorer for Saturday night with Billy Hill. Good value I'd say.

07-06-2010, 05:53 PM
I've got Fabiano top scorer and Brazil to win it as singles.

I've also got 25 attempts at picking 1st and 2nd in every group :greengrin

TheGreenMan
07-06-2010, 05:57 PM

Not looked around for prices yet (only seen 9/4 at wills) but I would have been tempted @ evens TBH! South Africa could pull a few surprises, Mexico are always decent and Uruguay are certs to go through. France don't have any decent strikers with them and are managed by a rather foolish old chap.

3/1 Single on Uruguay to beat France is great odds IMO.

Double it with Mexico to beat S.Africa for 14/1

Add in USA for a treble @ 69/1 :greengrin

07-06-2010, 05:58 PM

What are south Africa like?

I've gone on the assumption that they're pish as i don't know many of there players but i've heard a few people fancy them to get through, is that just based on them being the home nation? Can understand that logic TBF, just want to know if there was more to them than i knew about.

IMO all african teams will bomb at the group stages, the standard of the african nations cup was dreadfull and it's the more defensive teams that have been doing well at major tournaments recently and thats where i thought they were extremely poor.

TheGreenMan
07-06-2010, 06:02 PM
I fancy Uruguay/Mexico to qualify from that group, maybe Uruguay/France.

Dont think S.Africa are up to much TBH, only home advantage gives them an outside chance.

07-06-2010, 06:09 PM
Does anyone know of any online bookies doing any sort of "put £x on, get a £x free bet" or somesuch.

If not, I'll just make my mind up more or less in the shop!!

Just through sheer bloody mindedness, I'm going to put £2 on France to win it, just for ****s and giggles!!

07-06-2010, 06:16 PM
Does anyone know of any online bookies doing any sort of "put £x on, get a £x free bet" or somesuch.

Just through sheer bloody mindedness, I'm going to put £2 on France to win it, just for ****s and giggles!!

bet365 are matching your initial deposit with a free bet

I don't think the French are the worst bet in the world, they're nowhere near as bad as they're made out, i think they struggle to break teams down so oddly enough the biggest challenge for them is getting out of the group stages, if they can do that then player for player they're as good as most so have got a chance.

They convincingly outplayed England not so long ago for starters, can't remember the score though.

07-06-2010, 07:13 PM
If I'm Reading it right, you can get 12/1 on germany finishing in the top 4! That's a top bet I think

Makaveli
07-06-2010, 07:15 PM
Had a proper look at all of the odds now and I've picked out 6 matches that scream value.

Uruguay to beat France @ 11/4
Greece to beat Nigeria @ 15/8
USA to beat Algeria @ 4/5
Germany to beat Ghana @ 8/13
Serbia to beat Ghana @ 11/10
Paraguay to beat Slovakia @ 19/20

127/1 @ Hills, although always be wary of betting early on 3rd stage games as teams may have already qualified/be playing for a draw etc.

07-06-2010, 07:16 PM
If I'm Reading it right, you can get 12/1 on germany finishing in the top 4! That's a top bet I think

Ahem, with whom??

I'll be all over that like a fat kid over a cupcake if true :agree:

07-06-2010, 07:37 PM
Robin Van Persie at 15's is very decent.

07-06-2010, 07:46 PM
Ahem, with whom??

I'll be all over that like a fat kid over a cupcake if true :agree:

Sorry, I knew i had it wrong. More like 3/1

08-06-2010, 10:32 AM
South Korea to win their group, 9/1. Dont fancy Nigeria or Greece much and with Maradona in charge of Argentina they could lose all their games, you just never know. I also got 7/1 on Argentina to win the whole thing (contradicting myself slightly:greengrin)

houston1875
08-06-2010, 12:22 PM
His record is still better than tevez tho who has 9 goals in 53 games for argentina, Im not saying he should definitely start, I just wondered why you singled him out as one you didn't want to play.

I've been reading up bout argies qualifying etc etc,everybody has a opinion,milito is good but who aint good in that team,look who they left out?? Riquelme,Zanetti,cambiasso? Plus couple of others?
Just read a article in BBC.sport/football bout mara and messi their relationship,interesting reading!!
Some albiceleste native quoted a think maradona is not argentine Diego Maradona is Argentina

plus ill leave my WC bets till friday morning coz players still pulling out? Nani-portugal is the latest?

but id lump on the yanks on sat,6/1 usa for that game!!!

08-06-2010, 01:39 PM
Robin Van Persie at 15's is very decent.

Got a tenner on it, fingers crossed

09-06-2010, 10:44 PM
£40 Spain 9/2. £10ew Villa top scorer & 2 x £10 Brazil v Spain or Holland v Spain finalists.

Hamilton_Hibs
10-06-2010, 06:37 PM

Great deal if you sign up for an online account with Ladbrokes. Place a single bet on football at £5 and receive 4 free £5 bets PLUS another £5 sent out to your house to use in a ladbrokes shop.

Just placed my world cup bets there and all seems legit

Lucky_Jim
10-06-2010, 07:30 PM
Very open WC this time round and no single team/player stands out above others, so hard one to call at the bookies. I've got a sneaky feeling about Holland but haven't backed them cos I don't reckon there's much value at 10/11s. After much deliberation this is what I've settled on so far...

Nigeria to be top African team - £50 @ 9/2
Holland to be top scoring team - £20 @ 9/1
Klose (Ger) to be top scorer - £10 @ 33/1
Pantelic (Serbia) to be top scorer - £10 @ 200/1

Cannae wait for it all to kick off!

Jimbo

10-06-2010, 09:53 PM
£5 0n 2 . 2 @16/1 in the 1st game
£5 acc on the 8 group winners
brazil argentina italy spain
england germany holland france= £172

12-06-2010, 11:24 AM
Top Goalscorer

Nilmar (Bra) - 50p e/w - 33s
Huntelaar - 50p e/w - 50s I think
Di Natale - 50p e/w - 50s
Gilardino - 50p e/w - 40s
Villa - £1! - 8s

Got one other at 50p e/w but can't remember.

I need both teams to score in the South Korea vs Greece for my 7/1 to come in today.

12-06-2010, 11:38 AM
Germany 12/1
Italy 16/1

Will lay them to recover stake when/if they get to half those odds.

12-06-2010, 11:38 AM
went for villa £5 @ 8/1
Rooney £5 @ 9/1

magnificent_seven
12-06-2010, 12:06 PM
Sky Bet are offering 6/5 on 1.5 goals or more being scored in the first half for Brazil vs North Korea. Free money?

houston1875
12-06-2010, 12:20 PM
Uruguay to qualify evens
Nigeria to qualify evens-tho looked at huge priced sou Korea?
Serbia to qualify 4/5
denmark to qualify evens

£20 accumulator?

I'll indulge in more bets when knockout stages start?

houston1875
12-06-2010, 12:40 PM
Odins Fury!! South Korea get 3 points,not good!!

houston1875
12-06-2010, 12:47 PM
South Korea to win their group, 9/1. Dont fancy Nigeria or Greece much and with Maradona in charge of Argentina they could lose all their games, you just never know. I also got 7/1 on Argentina to win the whole thing (contradicting myself slightly:greengrin)

Lol did u take that bet? 9/1?

12-06-2010, 12:48 PM
Sky Bet are offering 6/5 on 1.5 goals or more being scored in the first half for Brazil vs North Korea. Free money?

Looks like it!

12-06-2010, 01:04 PM
Lol did u take that bet? 9/1?

Yep:greengrin

houston1875
12-06-2010, 01:24 PM
Yep:greengrin

aye was at ma local turf accountant yesterday and they were giving out a tidy price for Sk to qualify?

9/1 got a chance like?

3pm game could be good,a got nigeria evens to qualify,id take a point from la celeste like!

TheGreenMan
19-06-2010, 08:37 AM
I fancy Uruguay/Mexico to qualify from that group, maybe Uruguay/France.

Dont think S.Africa are up to much TBH, only home advantage gives them an outside chance.

Looks like I might be right :thumbsup::smug:

Anyone else lumped on a draw between Uruguay/Mexico next Tuesday?

I've got £110 on @ 10/11 on Betfair straight after the France/Mexico game. A draw puts both of them through so hopefully they will both settle for a draw :pray: :worried:

sammy7
19-06-2010, 10:36 AM

looked at this bet when you posted it, and never done it... wish i had gone with my gut feeling when i read it.. 9/4 was a great price. hope you bet it! :agree: