View Full Version : Edinburgh Nightclub Advice

Rory89
04-06-2010, 12:51 PM
I need some advice on nightclubs on a Saturday night in Edinburgh, hopefully some of you will know your stuff.

Basically, I'm going out tommorow in Edinburgh for a last night out before a friend goes away for a few months. She wants to go to Lulu, but me plus a few other people have pointed out thats £10 entry but pricey drinks is more than we can afford. Obviously I don't want to drag everyone to some dump like The Hive just because I'm skint, ***** and expensive clubs are the order of the day.

Because I'm from Edinburgh I've been assigned the task of finding a classy, up-market (up it's own arse, full of tanned wonders) club that is a bit less expensive, problem is I haven't lived in Edinburgh for a year and when I did live here I didn't really go to to these places.

Any reccomendations would be very much appreciated, mods please ban anyone who suggests Mood or Mad Dogs. :wink:

derekHFC
04-06-2010, 12:57 PM
The Hibs Club :faf:

MountcastleHibs
04-06-2010, 01:18 PM
Anywhere on George Street on a Saturday night is quite expensive to be honest. Why Not is the cheaper of the more expensive clubs though.

I think Cabaret Voltaire is quite good on a Saturday night, but may not be the upper range of the market you're looking for.

04-06-2010, 01:21 PM
Seem to remember being in Opal Lounge on a Sat night without paying an entry fee and IIRC the drinks deals aren't outrageous (managed to buy two drinks with a tenner and got change) so that might be an option. Course, it might've changed since I was last there :rolleyes:

Can anyone else confirm this/rectify my vague recollections?

04-06-2010, 01:23 PM
Do you mean Opal Lounge on George St Leitrim, or Opium at the cowage?

Opium is a dive as far as I can remember. Not my type of crowd though.

04-06-2010, 01:29 PM
Seem to remember being in Opium Lounge on a Sat night without paying an entry fee and IIRC the drinks deals aren't outrageous (managed to buy two drinks with a tenner and got change) so that might be an option. Course, it might've changed since I was last there :rolleyes:

Opium is disgustingly bad. You must be thinking of the Opal?

04-06-2010, 01:43 PM
Opal's decent but it's something like a fiver for a drink on a Saturday night. Why Nae is cheaper and usually hosts a pretty good crowd (mostly 16-20). Of course there's City....:greengrin...but unless you want an U18s night out then I'd advise you to stay clear no matter how cheap it is.

El Barrios is usually ok, not too expensive but a complete dive sometimes (Rose St.) £5 entry.

04-06-2010, 02:06 PM
Yep, meant Opal Lounge - for some reason my iPhone auto-corrected it to Opium. :cool2:

04-06-2010, 02:36 PM
Opal's decent but it's something like a fiver for a drink on a Saturday night. Why Nae is cheaper and usually hosts a pretty good crowd (mostly 16-20). Of course there's City....:greengrin...but unless you want an U18s night out then I'd advise you to stay clear no matter how cheap it is.

El Barrios is usually ok, not too expensive but a complete dive sometimes (Rose St.) £5 entry.

I went to City last friday. Did feel a bit old but really you can't complain when it's £1 a drink on a friday night.:agree:

04-06-2010, 02:39 PM
Burke and Hare also has tanned windows :greengrin

04-06-2010, 02:39 PM
What about Espionage? It's not cheap or classy but it's free to get in and isn't a 'dive'.

n.b. Personally I hate the place

Edit: Maybe Frankenstein's or Oddfellows before hand?

MountcastleHibs
04-06-2010, 03:32 PM
Seem to remember being in Opal Lounge on a Sat night without paying an entry fee and IIRC the drinks deals aren't outrageous (managed to buy two drinks with a tenner and got change) so that might be an option. Course, it might've changed since I was last there :rolleyes:

I was in Opal Lounge on Saturday night about 6 months ago... £6 for a vodka and red bull. Never been back on a Saturday.

City is expensive on a Saturday night, unless you want to drink Jagerbombs (which are only £1)... Everything else £3.80 :bitchy:. Totally irrelevant, but Friday's are brilliant in City :agree:

Why Not is your best bet I think.

Liam_Hibs
04-06-2010, 04:08 PM
I was up at Opal afw weeks ago. Opal is £8 to get in on a Saturday and usually everyone is crammed in with no room to move. Expensive drinks too. I tend to avoid town on a saturday, but just thought I would let you know. :wink:

04-06-2010, 05:40 PM
I went to City last friday. Did feel a bit old but really you can't complain when it's £1 a drink on a friday night.:agree:

Yeah I love City it has to be said. It's so cheap and easy for mates to get into if they're U18.

BigKev
05-06-2010, 07:11 AM
Old Faith has had a tart up and is now known as Sin. £1.99 for all drinks as well. Opens 10-3 but don't think it busy's up until midnightish.

If it's pish you could wander across to Cab Vol.

Rory89
05-06-2010, 12:56 PM
Cheers guys.

Places like Cab Vol etc wouldn't really cut the mustard, I'm to find an up-market George Street type place unfortunately. Why Not would do but I googled the place and the first bit of info I found said it was £8 entry on a Saturday and over 21's only. I hope that isn't the case as we're all 19 or 20.

Could give it a bash I suppose and if it fails it'll just have to be another George Street club.

stevensons-fan
05-06-2010, 04:59 PM
Cheers guys.

Places like Cab Vol etc wouldn't really cut the mustard, I'm to find an up-market George Street type place unfortunately. Why Not would do but I googled the place and the first bit of info I found said it was £8 entry on a Saturday and over 21's only. I hope that isn't the case as we're all 19 or 20.

Could give it a bash I suppose and if it fails it'll just have to be another George Street club.

I went to why not a few weeks back and got in fine on a saturday, only 19. So i don't actually think its an over 21 night!

JE89
05-06-2010, 06:29 PM
Why not isn't over 21s on a saturday. Everyone there is about 12. My advice, go somewhere that isn't Edinburgh. For a capital city, edinburgh nightlife is shocking. All the clubs are the same and pure pish.

Calvin
05-06-2010, 11:12 PM
How No? is definitely the best bet and definitely isn't over-21s.

Not very good though, but £2.50 a Tiger is as good as you'll get on George Street.

Rory89
06-06-2010, 04:26 PM
Ended up in Lulu, it was actually a fiver before 11. Not bad I guess, but the bouncers were even bigger bawbags than I expected. Also, maybe I've been in Glasgow too long, but £4.10 for a pint is shocking.

Btw Jevitt, I agree about Edinburgh. Since Liquid Rooms shut down when people ask me what clubs in Edinburgh are good it's a bit embarrasing because I genuinely don't have a clue what to say and it makes me look like I have no social life.

Storar
06-06-2010, 05:07 PM
Am I the only one that loves george street?

06-06-2010, 05:26 PM
Am I the only one that loves george street?

You are not. I've taken a bit of a fancy to the Living Room, the Opal Lounge etc. And there's always the Standing Order if you want to mix with the hoi polloi :cool2::greengrin

06-06-2010, 06:57 PM
I'd rather goto Subway than any club on George Street. Horrible little place full of wannabe fitba players and WAG ****s!

Regarding Edinburgh nightlife, i'm not its biggest fans but it now seems the stag/hen capital of Britian just now. Been up town talking to Geordies and Weegies who think Edinburgh is a top night out, wereas we/I think Edinburgh is ****** and that Glasgow and Newcastle are cracking for clubs and pubs....