View Full Version : Hibs sign Welsh youngster Calum Antell

FatPat
02-06-2010, 08:26 PM
Don't know if this has been posted yet - but we have signed another Keeper

We have beaten off Hearts and Motherwell to sign this guy -

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/sports/grassroots/blaenau-gwent-sport/2010/06/03/football-calum-joins-hibs-for-keeps-after-a-scottish-tug-o-war-91466-26563295/

One for the future?

02-06-2010, 08:31 PM

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/sports/grassroots/blaenau-gwent-sport/2010/06/03/football-calum-joins-hibs-for-keeps-after-a-scottish-tug-o-war-91466-26563295/

One for the future?

Well spotted mate.

Yep hopefully one for the future, that will give us a couple of years to make one of our keepers half decent before he starts to breakthrough into the first-team.:greengrin

02-06-2010, 08:38 PM
:singing:We all dream of a team of Alan Roughs....:singing:

02-06-2010, 08:39 PM
Good spot pal.

As usual a youngster chooses the classy side who could offer him more. Maybe he was chucked off the treadmill early like Danny Boy :devil:

02-06-2010, 08:40 PM
Well spotted mate.

Yep hopefully one for the future, that will give us a couple of years to make one of our keepers half decent before he starts to breakthrough into the first-team.:greengrin

And then we can start on this goal-keeper!

02-06-2010, 08:45 PM
Does he know what he's in for?

02-06-2010, 08:45 PM
And then we can start on this goal-keeper!

With a few tips and advice from Maka, Brown won't need any help.:greengrin

02-06-2010, 08:46 PM
Looks like yet another case of these hawrts tramps trying to gazump us - I'm delighted they failed on this occasion.

Why can't they just find their own players ffs.?

gackohibs
02-06-2010, 08:57 PM
but stevie frail said that hearts had a better youth academy cos theyre the big team....

elias wagner who?....

hopefully a good one for the future. GGTTH

sixtwo
02-06-2010, 09:09 PM
but stevie frail said that hearts had a better youth academy cos theyre the big team....

elias wagner who?....

hopefully a good one for the future. GGTTH

:greengrin Elias wagner just got released. lucky escape for hibs as he obviously turned out to be a poor player. He must have been rotten if the pub team let him go!

02-06-2010, 09:30 PM

One for the future?

Fingers crossed he'll be a real find - I particularly liked this bit from the article:

"After two days, Hibs also offered him a contract only for Motherwell to come back with a better offer. In the meantime, Hearts said they would more than match anything the other two put forward for his services.
With all three clubs now chasing Calum’s signature Hibs put an improved two-year deal on the table and the teenager accepted"

I wonder what made his mind up for him? Probably a combination of things but I'd bet the superior training facilities have been an influence - who says it was a waste of money now then eh? :bitchy::grr::cool2:

02-06-2010, 09:32 PM
We have beaten off Hearts and Motherwell

I know Rod is a sex god, but..... plllllease.....

02-06-2010, 09:35 PM
Great wee story :thumbsup:

He only started keeper training 4 years ago :thumbsup:

Mon the keepers

02-06-2010, 10:01 PM
well done to the young lad,bet his family are chuffed to bits for him. a young boyo fae the valleys,making a go of it, I'd be delirious if my young Welsh grandson ever wore the green:greengrin

Aubenas
02-06-2010, 10:15 PM
Contacts from Yogi's time at Swansea, no doubt. Welcome - Croeso, bach!:thumbsup:

02-06-2010, 10:38 PM
Great wee story :thumbsup:

He only started keeper training 4 years ago :thumbsup:

Mon the keepers

Does that mean if I start training now, I could be making a catalogue of errors for Hibs when I'm 26? :cool2:

04-06-2010, 08:23 AM
Sorry if it's already been posted but it's on SSN and also Hibernian-mad and not seen it mentioned on here yet. 17 year old keeper released by Swindon.

Like the bit about the light bulbs :thumbsup:

http://www.hibernian-mad.co.uk/news/tmnw/hibs_sign_young_welsh_keeper_calum_antell_530283/index.shtml

04-06-2010, 08:38 AM
Must...buy...more...keepers.

Keep...buying...keepers.

http://luisaribeiro.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/self-portrait-or-desperate-man-gustave-courbet.jpg

04-06-2010, 08:39 AM
I reckon Yogi has got a discount on keepers for buying in bulk.

04-06-2010, 08:41 AM
Have we not signed him because his name is Calum and there was a huge number of Calum's on the list that has been kicking around for ages?

04-06-2010, 10:29 AM
Probably already a thread, we signed this GK for the U19s, on SSN there.

04-06-2010, 02:01 PM
Must...buy...more...keepers.

Keep...buying...keepers.

http://luisaribeiro.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/self-portrait-or-desperate-man-gustave-courbet.jpg

Bit negative that Mr Radge

He's only 17 and obviously one for the future for RP to make loads-a-wonga for the club :agree:

Riordans Boots
04-06-2010, 02:13 PM
Sorry if it's already been posted but it's on SSN and also Hibernian-mad and not seen it mentioned on here yet. 17 year old keeper released by Swindon.

Like the bit about the light bulbs :thumbsup:

http://www.hibernian-mad.co.uk/news/tmnw/hibs_sign_young_welsh_keeper_calum_antell_530283/index.shtml

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?184570-We-have-signed-a-new-goalie-(Welsh-17-y-o-for-the-u-19-team)

04-06-2010, 02:13 PM
Nowt wrong signnig the laddie,Obviously has potential and is one for the future.

davemcbain
04-06-2010, 02:47 PM
Maybe when Yogi decided to set up a goalkeeping academy, he based the keeper count on the pupil count at Leith Academy?

04-06-2010, 11:11 PM
Bit negative that Mr Radge

He's only 17 and obviously one for the future for RP to make loads-a-wonga for the club :agree:help ma boab,football club grooms top class young goalkeeper,to develope him for future,with sell on clauses.what will they think of next.:yawn:

05-06-2010, 07:53 AM
:singing:We all dream of a team of Alan Roughs....:singing:

:greengrin not far away now, I just hope we can pick up another couple of keepers in the next few weeks, ideally at least one who can play right back