View Full Version : Speed cams

01-06-2010, 11:13 AM
Do buses and taxis have special dispensation when it comes to speed cameras on major roads?

Every day I crawl past the ones on Corstorphine Road like my fellow private motorists. Meanwhile buses and taxis are hammering past on the inside doing well over 30 mph!

Do they pay an annual waiver or something? Or is it that the cameras just don't work?

01-06-2010, 11:24 AM
Do buses and taxis have special dispensation when it comes to speed cameras on major roads?

Every day I crawl past the ones on Corstorphine Road like my fellow private motorists. Meanwhile buses and taxis are hammering past on the inside doing well over 30 mph!

Do they pay an annual waiver or something? Or is it that the cameras just don't work?

When they were first installed, quite a few LRT drivers had their erchies kicked after being flashed.

I've no idea about now.

01-06-2010, 11:29 AM

I've made a similar observation down here, the Dumfries Whitesands (to the best of my knowledge) has two speed camera's at each end and one opposite the Bank of Scotland. This was to combat quite a big 'boy racer' issue (and to be fair, it seems to have worked). However whilst myself and other drivers are making suire not to go over that 32 MPH mark, taxis seem to be content with going at around 40mph. I don't know exactly what speed they're doing but considering I'm usually on 30 along the sands and taxis are pulling away from me up ahead it would suggest that they are going at least 5mph (or so) faster.

So, I can't answer the question but would also be interested to know if anyone has any knowledge surrounding this.

01-06-2010, 11:44 AM
For buses would it not be really difficult to prove who was actually driving at a specific time and place :dunno: or do bus drivers have to clock in and clock off before swapping buses so they have a record of who has each bus at any time.

01-06-2010, 11:46 AM
For buses would it not be really difficult to prove who was actually driving at a specific time and place :dunno: or do bus drivers have to clock in and clock off before swapping buses so they have a record of who has each bus at any time.

:agree: They know exactly who's driving which bus.

01-06-2010, 12:36 PM
Simples really!

Not all cameras are working all the time, in fact I think the average is about 25%. With the number of taxis and buses on the road word gets around which are live.

This used to be easy to spot because those that were ‘live’ needed good ventilation, but said ventilation could let the elements in and bugger the kit. 2 round holes at the back of the box gave the game away, open, the camera was active; closed, it wasn’t.

Not sure what deal is now that digital cameras are being used but I suspect someone is in the know and you'd expect professional drivers to make sure they were in the know.

01-06-2010, 03:04 PM

I wish it true but no they don't. Most drivers reduse their speed below the limit to be extra safe, as most don't realise that the camera's only go off if you go over 5mph above the actual limit, so then they'll look like they're zooming past but infact they're not.

I enjoy going west wards along Corstorphine road and build up my speed at the camera at the top of Balgreen Rd, get above 40-45mph and this sets of the sensor on the camera on the other side and watch all the drivers heading into town panic applying the brakes thinking they've set it off.:greengrin

01-06-2010, 04:10 PM
I thought it was simply because the limits on them are set to something like 38/39mph. Therefore, if you don't pay the fine and you take it to court there's not really any justification for 'I was just a little over' and there's less room to question it's accuracy.

Also, they don't have the resources to chase up everyone who speeds at 34/35mph so if they set the limit higher people are more likely just to pay up and get it over and done with. That was from a traffic cop.

KdyHby
01-06-2010, 05:03 PM
http://www.lbsafetycameras.co.uk/index.php/cameras/edinburgh_cameras

speedy_gonzales
02-06-2010, 09:56 AM
I enjoy going west wards along Corstorphine road and build up my speed at the camera at the top of Balgreen Rd, get above 40-45mph and this sets of the sensor on the camera on the other side and watch all the drivers heading into town panic applying the brakes thinking they've set it off.:greengrin:

Not exactly responsible driving from a professional driver is it JC:agree: Just a matter of time before the Gatso's are changed over for the types they use down south, which enable forward facing capture, then we're all doomed, with the exception of 2 wheeled riders(no forward facing reg mark).

02-06-2010, 10:34 AM
I'm told these buses and taxis are only appearing to go faster than 35 or whatever.

The Airport bus is zooming past. Well over the limit. Trust me!

Andy Bee
02-06-2010, 06:56 PM

Corstorphine Rd is a 40 limit :wink:

02-06-2010, 07:03 PM
Corstorphine Rd is a 40 limit :wink:

No it's not it's a 50:greengrin

02-06-2010, 08:43 PM
I wish it true but no they don't. Most drivers reduse their speed below the limit to be extra safe, as most don't realise that the camera's only go off if you go over 5mph above the actual limit, so then they'll look like they're zooming past but infact they're not.

I enjoy going west wards along Corstorphine road and build up my speed at the camera at the top of Balgreen Rd, get above 40-45mph and this sets of the sensor on the camera on the other side and watch all the drivers heading into town panic applying the brakes thinking they've set it off.:greengrin

they are set at 10% above the speed limit aparently

02-06-2010, 11:33 PM
Not exactly responsible driving from a professional driver is it JC:agree: Just a matter of time before the Gatso's are changed over for the types they use down south, which enable forward facing capture, then we're all doomed, with the exception of 2 wheeled riders(no forward facing reg mark).

It's the wee bit of devilment inside me, reminds me that even at my age I can still have a bit of fun.:devil:

There are forward facing camera's, at the Zoo, St John's Rd, Broomhouse Rd, Gilmerton Rd and Niddrie Mains Rd.

02-06-2010, 11:49 PM

I love the run down to Stranraer on the bike. Must be :grr: in a car :greengrin

All cameras are a ****in joke imo. Safety my :asshole: At least with the traffic boys they know bad driving when they see it and you can have some decent banter with them as most are bikers and they know the score. I've been out with class 1 police motorcyclists for assessments and they are the best drivers out there :not worth Observation and roadcraft is unbelievable.

When though are the cops really gonny clamp down on dicks/fannys talking on mobiles and texting? Way more dangerous than a bit of speed imo. Built up areas - no exception for either though, defo NO excuse. In the car now I don't drive anywhere without my road angel on :agree: Licence saver as sometime you are just not sure of the limit or you can be caught unaware of mobile zones. Also warns of blackspots and schools so actually prompts you to slow down and be more aware and therefore more safer than any camera could. More time watching the road not looking for cameras.

03-06-2010, 08:42 AM
It's the wee bit of devilment inside me, reminds me that even at my age I can still have a bit of fun.:devil:

There are forward facing camera's, at the Zoo, St John's Rd, Broomhouse Rd, Gilmerton Rd and Niddrie Mains Rd.

Which one? The one at the top or bottom?

The one at the top flashes when you go through facing it but I've not had anything through the door and I've been through it a few times.

03-06-2010, 11:56 AM

All cameras are a ****in joke imo. Safety my :asshole: At least with the traffic boys they know bad driving when they see it and you can have some decent banter with them as most are bikers and they know the score. I've been out with class 1 police motorcyclists for assessments and they are the best drivers out there :not worth Observation and roadcraft is unbelievable.

When though are the cops really gonny clamp down on dicks/fannys talking on mobiles and texting? Way more dangerous than a bit of speed imo. Built up areas - no exception for either though, defo NO excuse. In the car now I don't drive anywhere without my road angel on :agree: Licence saver as sometime you are just not sure of the limit or you can be caught unaware of mobile zones. Also warns of blackspots and schools so actually prompts you to slow down and be more aware and therefore more safer than any camera could. More time watching the road not looking for cameras.

I used to really enjoy those average speed cameras that were on the stretch of road between Sheriffhall Roundabout and Musselburgh....they faced the right way for the hypothetical motorcylist to "make progress" past the hypothetical tosser in the Ferrari who had contortions on his face being limited to 50mph as the hypothetical motorcyclist ambles past quite happily paying no regard for afforementioned cameras given proximity of said hypothetical licence plate on the vehicle i.e. at the REAR :devil:

Note: speeding is not big, or clever, or legal. It is, however, funny as **** passing someone with more money than brains and around £95,000 more invested in their vehicle but unable to unleash it..........that said, even giving them an even starting point it's still not enough for said hypothetical average ferrari driver with the motorcyclist ambling up to 60 in 3's :cool2:

03-06-2010, 03:03 PM
Which one? The one at the top or bottom?

The one at the top flashes when you go through facing it but I've not had anything through the door and I've been through it a few times.

Oh aye! forgot about the one at the top of Gilmerton rd.

03-06-2010, 03:13 PM

I've nothing against cameras, to be honest. Bottom line is if folk stick to the legal limit going past them then nobody has to worry. They're all (in my experience) signposted at some point on the road to warn that they're in operation, and they're bright enough to see.

I read a report recently that sat nav had brought down the number of speeding convictions brought about from cameras, and some twat said it was because people went other routes, rather than conceding that people might just slow down to go through the camera (which is the whole point of them!).

03-06-2010, 09:33 PM
I've nothing against cameras, to be honest. Bottom line is if folk stick to the legal limit going past them then nobody has to worry. They're all (in my experience) signposted at some point on the road to warn that they're in operation, and they're bright enough to see.

I've got nothing against SAFETY ... but, safety cameras aren't stick in the middle of nowhere, on a hill on the A9 where you pick up speed naturally and the road accomodates 3 cars wide at least just to keep us all safe.........my big issue with "safety" cameras is, they are to make money in a lot of cases and any "safety" benefits are secondary to the income these fekers rake in from the motorist.

Dont get me wrong, in built up areas where ********s speed and endanger kids etc - spot on, do the lot of them and fine them hefty. Open roads/motorways/big stretches of **** all in the middle of nowhere - get the cameras tae **** and let us do what God intended :greengrin:thumbsup:

ENDOF

03-06-2010, 09:52 PM
Folk should just move to central Scotland, there's no cameras here!

The only thing is, the police probably do more random spot checks in their vans.

03-06-2010, 10:10 PM
They're all (in my experience) signposted at some point on the road to warn that they're in operation, and they're bright enough to see.

However there are plenty stuck behind big sign posts, trees etc where they can't be seen. You never driven the A68 recently?

And mobile cameras on motorways, statistically the safest roads - modern equivalent of shooting fish in a barrel. And bright enough to see - not much help when it's dark and you're on an empty dual carriageway that's got a 50 limit!!!

See more below.

I've got nothing against SAFETY ... but, safety cameras aren't stick in the middle of nowhere, on a hill on the A9 where you pick up speed naturally and the road accomodates 3 cars wide at least just to keep us all safe.........my big issue with "safety" cameras is, they are to make money in a lot of cases and any "safety" benefits are secondary to the income these fekers rake in from the motorist.

Dont get me wrong, in built up areas where ********s speed and endanger kids etc - spot on, do the lot of them and fine them hefty. Open roads/motorways/big stretches of **** all in the middle of nowhere - get the cameras tae **** and let us do what God intended :greengrin:thumbsup:

ENDOF

MCN have done a lot of research where cameras are situated and the activities of the safety camera partnerships and regional police forces (there are widely varying approaches to cameras by local chief constables) and there is quite a lot of misinformation, and in some cases downright lying, from the authorities. I wonder why?

This extract below is a few years old but I suspect the detail contained within it hasn't changed much:

A recent survey appears to cast doubt on the Government’s claims that speed cameras are situated only on accident blackspots.
It was carried out on by Autocar magazine and Morpheus, manufacturers of the Gatso-beating Geodesy device.
Using the Morpheus database of speed camera locations cross referenced with data from the AA on Britain’s most dangerous roads, the investigation reveals that there are just 18 cameras monitoring more than 500 miles of the country’s most hazardous roads, compared to 24 on the 50 safest.
And despite the fact that motorways are statistically the UK’s safest place to be on the move, add in the 49 overhead camera sites on the low-risk M25 and the total number of cameras on the safest roads becomes 73. More than four times as many as those used on the most dangerous roads.
Steve Fowler, editor of Autocar, said: " Transport Minister John Spellar outlined new plans last December for cameras to be more visible and sited only at accident blackspots by those forces that are ploughing speeding fine cash back into enforcement.
" He stated that cameras are sited to save lives where there is a history of speed-related accidents and that they are not there as a means of raising money. This research does not support that statement. "

03-06-2010, 10:12 PM
Folk should just move to central Scotland, there's no cameras here!

The only thing is, the police probably do more random spot checks in their vans.

That is what they should be doing. Catching unlicensed and uninsured drivers. Mibbe over the drink limit or on drugs. Mibbe vehicles not roadworthy. Catching drivers on their mobiles.

Show me a camera that can do that.

07-06-2010, 11:46 AM
That is what they should be doing. Catching unlicensed and uninsured drivers. Mibbe over the drink limit or on drugs. Mibbe vehicles not roadworthy. Catching drivers on their mobiles.

Show me a camera that can do that.

Big time on the mobiles, drugs, drink and folk who frankly are unroadworthy in every sense of the world.

We live in a country whereby it takes a number of years from legal age to potential 4 years experience before an individual can operate a motorcycle of more BHP than a good strong 80's super-powered-2-stroke lawnmower, they need a certificate just to LEARN (CBT), they do theory and practical (on/off) road, they must wear and conform to lots of rules and regs then get screwed on insurance if they DO get on the fricking road ... and cannot get on anything half remotely decent until being 21.............

But at 17...they can hop into an Impreza, an Evo or if rich enough, a Veyron and hit stupid MPH in stupid 0-60.....................

And throughout the driving world we have this issue.

The facts are, most folks on powered 2 wheeled cycles (read as "motorbikes" or "motorcycles") have more road skills, driving ability and REAL WORLD experience (mostly through HAVING TO avoid ********s hell bent on road-murder) than most folk in cars will ever aquire....

The balance is all wrong.

The bloke who recently got done doing 172 on a Gixxer on a straight in the countryside - 9 months. Some bampot runs someone down in a car - a fine and a ban if you're lucky.

If cars could go as fast as bikes we'd see more jailings because clearly riding fast is much worse than driving like a homicidal maniac.......................

Its aw wrong.

ENDOF

07-06-2010, 02:44 PM

I think they must, I drove a cab for four years and never got a single point on my licence. Or maybe it was just because I was careful about how I drove in case I lost my job.

(The messages from other drivers about "black ice" and "hairdriers" were also invaluable.)

07-06-2010, 04:56 PM

I gather when you say 'forward facing cameras' you are reffering to camera's you can set off when travelling on the other side of the road...my understanding its that it is technically illegal for cameras to be positioned in advance of the car (i.e you speed taken before you actually reach the camera) and that you must be able to clearly see the camera as you approach.

speedy_gonzales
07-06-2010, 08:14 PM
I gather when you say 'forward facing cameras' you are reffering to camera's you can set off when travelling on the other side of the road...my understanding its that it is technically illegal for cameras to be positioned in advance of the car (i.e you speed taken before you actually reach the camera) and that you must be able to clearly see the camera as you approach.

mmm, not terribly sure about this. In englandshire they have forward facing cameras. They are not gatso's(which is like saying hoover for vacuum cleaner)and they are not specs(average speed cams).

07-06-2010, 08:29 PM
JC50 is talking about camera's that take your pic from the rear but they are dead easy to get to flash from the opposite carriageway.

Speedy - you are talking about truvelo which are forward facing but use strips in the road to trigger - and more importantly because they face you they don't flash

speedy_gonzales
07-06-2010, 09:31 PM
Speedy - you are talking about truvelo which are forward facing but use strips in the road to trigger - and more importantly because they face you they don't flash

That's the very fellows! I think my post @ #10 and JC50's @ #15 is what is causing the confusion :confused:

07-06-2010, 10:00 PM
As I understand you cannot be charged for speeding while driving towards a camera that flashes - the old ones.
The new ones are digital, dont flash, and you can get done as you drive towards them.

07-06-2010, 10:27 PM
As I understand you cannot be charged for speeding while driving towards a camera that flashes - the old ones.
The new ones are digital, dont flash, and you can get done as you drive towards them.

If by "new" you mean front facing truvelo (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Truvelo_Combi) cameras, they actually do flash but have a red filter so you can't see it. These aren't "new" - they've actually been around for 13 years. Not sure if we have any in Scotland though :dunno: Anyone know? (Proper front facing Truvelo please not rear facing Gatso)

Apologies if you mean another camera type I'm not aware of.

All you folks who are brainwashed into thinking that the police play fair try this (http://www.speedcam.co.uk/index2.htm)

07-06-2010, 11:32 PM

Why do we still have them then, there are about 6 in Edinburgh which will flash at you if you go too fast while driving towards it, the 2 in Corstorphines are good examples and the 1 on Broomhouse Rd.

07-06-2010, 11:56 PM
Why do we still have them then, there are about 6 in Edinburgh which will flash at you if you go too fast while driving towards it, the 2 in Corstorphines are good examples and the 1 on Broomhouse Rd.

Old technology ..The gatso is not supposed to flash oncoming traffic.

There are ones that swivel and can be set so they can be multi directional and turn to monitor traffic going away from them on opposite sides of the road - like they used to have at Sighthill by the fire station. That went ages ago though - probably not making enough money.

There are cameras that activate on you driving towards them and going away from them, but they won't be cameras with the dazzling white flash. Not sure if we have any here like that but one of the newest types is on the A71 on the approach to Lizzie Bryce. It is infra red and works from strips in the road and could actually be used for traffic both ways. I'm sure at the moment you'd only get prosecuted from the rear as the strips are only on that side (I stopped and checked when it was first put in :wink:)

Permanent gatso sites do have lines on both sides of the road, that is to catch speeding overtakers or people that think swerving to the other side of the road will escape the camera.

If a gatso flashes you going towards it, forget about it .......but you are speeding and probably in a built up area so :tsk tsk:

08-06-2010, 08:37 AM

There are ones that swivel and can be set so they can be multi directional and turn to monitor traffic going away from them on opposite sides of the road - like they used to have at Sighthill by the fire station. That went ages ago though - probably not making enough money.

There are cameras that activate on you driving towards them and going away from them, but they won't be cameras with the dazzling white flash. Not sure if we have any here like that but one of the newest types is on the A71 on the approach to Lizzie Bryce. It is infra red and works from strips in the road and could actually be used for traffic both ways. I'm sure at the moment you'd only get prosecuted from the rear as the strips are only on that side (I stopped and checked when it was first put in :wink:)

Permanent gatso sites do have lines on both sides of the road, that is to catch speeding overtakers or people that think swerving to the other side of the road will escape the camera.

If a gatso flashes you going towards it, forget about it .......but you are speeding and probably in a built up area so :tsk tsk:

Thanks for clearing that up, so back to the boy racer stuff for me then. :greengrin

speedy_gonzales
08-06-2010, 08:55 AM

Actually, this one 'went' because the authorities couldn't maintain it as there was no safe refuge from the passing traffic.
Planning at its best!

08-06-2010, 11:25 AM

Cheers - info noted and stored for future use :thumbsup:

As for how one beat's the camera - simply travel faster than the shutter speed of the thing. Easy when you can fly by at anywhere between 158-187mph, depending on how many cubic centimetres you have at your disposal :devil: (however, if you run out of road, you will end up dead so perhaps best not to eh :devil:)

ENDOF :devil:

08-06-2010, 11:45 AM
Can anyone tell me how much money the Police would make on a speed camera that people went through at the legal speed limit (i.e. the maximum speed legally allowed in the vehicle they are in control of)?

08-06-2010, 12:15 PM
Can anyone tell me how much money the Police would make on a speed camera that people went through at the legal speed limit (i.e. the maximum speed legally allowed in the vehicle they are in control of)?

30's and 40's I have no argument with you whatsoever and I don't think anyone else will either.

But the governments own statistics say that speed only accounts for about 5% of accidents so why don't they listen to their own research? I want to see MORE traffic cops on the road and less reliance on cameras and the ridiculous tactics they use for mobile vans on dual carriageways & motorways - which in many cases are illegal themselves. Have you looked at the quiz I linked to earlier?

There is actually no excuse for getting caught these days - because of the easily available electronic aids, but there are an estimated 5 million uninsured drivers out there who statistically have a much higher chance of having no valid licence, an unroadworthy car or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs - where is the lobby to get more cops on the roads catching them driving illegally?

08-06-2010, 06:20 PM
30's and 40's I have no argument with you whatsoever and I don't think anyone else will either.

But the governments own statistics say that speed only accounts for about 5% of accidents so why don't they listen to their own research? I want to see MORE traffic cops on the road and less reliance on cameras and the ridiculous tactics they use for mobile vans on dual carriageways & motorways - which in many cases are illegal themselves. Have you looked at the quiz I linked to earlier?

There is actually no excuse for getting caught these days - because of the easily available electronic aids, but there are an estimated 5 million uninsured drivers out there who statistically have a much higher chance of having no valid licence, an unroadworthy car or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs - where is the lobby to get more cops on the roads catching them driving illegally?

Those things should be dealt with as well, but the law applies to the speed limit regardless of the accident frequency on the road, or what type of road it is.

I haven't looked at the quiz mate, I'll look when I have time tonight.

My point is simply that instead of whinging about how unjust speed cameras are, and how they're only there to make money, folk should consider that they have a responsibility whilst behind the wheel of a car (or on their motorcycles) to drive within the parameters of the law.

08-06-2010, 06:49 PM

I can confirm that it works, and flashes. :grr:

Sumner
12-06-2010, 04:41 PM

The police don't "make" money on speed cameras, the money doesn't go to police coffers, and they are not run for financial gain, they actually lose money, but do reduce instances of speeding at their location.

But the governments own statistics say that speed only accounts for about 5% of accidents so why don't they listen to their own research? I want to see MORE traffic cops on the road and less reliance on cameras and the ridiculous tactics they use for mobile vans on dual carriageways & motorways - which in many cases are illegal themselves.

Got a link to the "government's own statistics"
on speed causing only 5% of accidents ? :confused:

12-06-2010, 10:29 PM
The police don't "make" money on speed cameras, the money doesn't go to police coffers, and they are not run for financial gain, they actually lose money, but do reduce instances of speeding at their location.

Got a link to the "government's own statistics"
on speed causing only 5% of accidents ? :confused:

I was just trying to point out that there would be no money made if folk didn't speed through the cameras, to counter the claim that they're there to make money.

Sumner
13-06-2010, 06:12 PM
I was just trying to point out that there would be no money made if folk didn't speed through the cameras, to counter the claim that they're there to make money.

indeed, spoken like a gentleman :agree:

14-06-2010, 01:56 PM
Take the wummin and auldies aff the road and let the rest of us drive like maddies! :agree:

ginger_rice
14-06-2010, 05:57 PM
If by "new" you mean front facing truvelo (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Truvelo_Combi) cameras, they actually do flash but have a red filter so you can't see it. These aren't "new" - they've actually been around for 13 years. Not sure if we have any in Scotland though :dunno: Anyone know? (Proper front facing Truvelo please not rear facing Gatso)
[/URL]

Aye I got caught heading into Manchester by one of them mounted in an unmarked van on top of a motorway bridge in 1999, I'd never come across them before and thought whats that prat doing taking photos of the motorway from a van :grr:

ginger_rice
14-06-2010, 06:26 PM

My understanding is that there's a speed limit + 10% on cameras. Also the speedo in your car usually is not accurate and will probably read something like 10% more than the speed you are actually traveling. I've also heard that the Tachographs fitted to HGVs are very accuarate and that's why you get hassle from behind by lorries through the average speed cams on the A80 and A77. Someone also told me that if you have a satnav then the speed given by that is also vey accurate, don't have one myself so perhaps someone can enlighten me?

Don't know if busses are fitted with tachos? but I would expect that nearly all cabs now use satnav, so perhaps that could be the reason??

14-06-2010, 06:41 PM
My understanding is that there's a speed limit + 10% on cameras. Also the speedo in your car usually is not accurate and will probably read something like 10% more than the speed you are actually traveling. I've also heard that the Tachographs fitted to HGVs are very accuarate and that's why you get hassle from behind by lorries through the average speed cams on the A80 and A77. Someone also told me that if you have a satnav then the speed given by that is also vey accurate, don't have one myself so perhaps someone can enlighten me?

Don't know if busses are fitted with tachos? but I would expect that nearly all cabs now use satnav, so perhaps that could be the reason??

All very well but I wouldn't rely on it - I got a NIP for 72 on the M6 and a guy at my work got one for 31 in a 30 :bitchy:

And you are correct about car speedos and satellite devices. My car speedo is always higher than my Road Angel and the faster you go the bigger the difference.

Don't know about tachos in buses though.