View Full Version : Question Footy trivia

27-05-2010, 02:39 AM
Owen Hargreaves was the second player in history to be capped by the English national team without previously playing in the country...

Who was the first?

TheUsualSuspect
27-05-2010, 03:11 AM
Would that be Joe Baker?

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 09:17 AM
aye it would be :top marks:thumbsup:

27-05-2010, 12:38 PM
Would that be Joe Baker?

That didn't take long :thumbsup:

27-05-2010, 01:13 PM
Name the 5 players who have played for 2 of the Premiership big 4 (inc Liverpool) and in Spain.

Oh, and using the internet is cheating!!!!

lylasmasterplan
27-05-2010, 01:28 PM
Nicolas Anelka - Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea - Real Madrid
Mark Hughes - Man Utd, Chelsea- Barcelona
Michael Owen - Liverpool, Man Utd - Real Madrid
Jermaine Pennant - Arsenal, Liverpool - Real Zaragoza

stumped for number 5 but i'll keep at it

lylasmasterplan
27-05-2010, 01:30 PM
number 5 Lassana Diarra - Chelsea, Arsenal- Real Madrid

also zenden- chelsea, liverpool - barca

27-05-2010, 01:38 PM

Barsteward - Jermaine Pennant and Diarra were the ones that had our group struggling.

Ok, this one is a well-known one.

Who is the only player to have played in all divisions of full time English football (i.e. League 2 - Premiership), has won the FA Cup, UEFA Cup, Champions League and played at the World Cup?

Godsahibby
27-05-2010, 02:07 PM
Ian Wright?

27-05-2010, 02:08 PM
danny murhpy

27-05-2010, 02:18 PM

Steve McManaman if you are going to include Liverpool in the 'big four' why not Man City?

HibeeMG
27-05-2010, 02:18 PM
Teddy Sheringham

GB6
27-05-2010, 02:23 PM
Barsteward - Jermaine Pennant and Diarra were the ones that had our group struggling.

Who is the only player to have played in all divisions of full time English football (i.e. League 2 - Premiership), has won the FA Cup, UEFA Cup, Champions League and played at the World Cup?

steve finnan ??

andrew70
27-05-2010, 02:29 PM

Paul Ince

27-05-2010, 02:32 PM

Kevin Keegan?

Gingertosser
27-05-2010, 02:33 PM

Roy of the Rovers :greengrin

27-05-2010, 02:59 PM
steve finnan ??

Bollocks!!

By that I mean Bollocks, someone got it!!!

Original question should have included the caveat "in the post-Premiership era" because I think Kevin Keegan is a good shout.

GB6
27-05-2010, 03:06 PM
steve finnan ??

Bollocks!!

By that I mean Bollocks, someone got it!!!

Original question should have included the caveat "in the post-Premiership era" because I think Kevin Keegan is a good shout.

27-05-2010, 03:13 PM
Who is the only Scottish player to appear on the winning side in a Champions' league final?

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:17 PM
Who is the only Scottish player to appear on the winning side in a Champions' league final?

paul lambert ?

27-05-2010, 03:19 PM

Paul Lambert with Borussia Dortmund.

27-05-2010, 03:19 PM
paul lambert ?
Correct.

Many say Darren Fletcher but I think he was an unused substitute in the CL final.

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:21 PM
what football team is closest to the river mersey ?

27-05-2010, 03:23 PM

Stockport?

27-05-2010, 03:23 PM
Tranmere?

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:24 PM
Stockport?

:thumbsup::top marks

27-05-2010, 03:26 PM
:thumbsup::top marks

Woohoo.:party:

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:28 PM
excluding uniteds, name 3 teams with 2 U's in their name ?

27-05-2010, 03:33 PM
excluding uniteds, name 3 teams with 2 U's in their name ?

Bournemouth

queen of the south

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:35 PM
Bournemouth

queen of the south

one more to get :greengrin

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:37 PM
Hull, Bournemouth, Southampton

hull and southampton only have 1 U :greengrin

27-05-2010, 03:39 PM
one more to get :greengrin

Stenhousemuir.:greengrin

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:40 PM
Stenhousemuir.:greengrin

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:41 PM
which british footballer scored in 3 consecutive world cups against teams from 3 different continents ?

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 03:44 PM
which british footballer scored in 3 consecutive world cups against teams from 3 different continents ?

Joe Jordan

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:45 PM
Joe Jordan

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:49 PM
last one for now lol, who is the only player to have scored in the manc derby, the scouse derby and the weegie derby ?

El Gubbz
27-05-2010, 03:56 PM
Andrei Kanchelskis

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 03:57 PM
Andrei Kanchelskis

27-05-2010, 04:14 PM
i loved reading through these :thumbsup: only knew my one and the paul lambert one though lol

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 04:24 PM
i loved reading through these :thumbsup: only knew my one and the paul lambert one though lol

post some more questions up, its a good bit of fun especially as there's no much happening fitba wise

Sloppy
27-05-2010, 05:02 PM
name the 5 teams in scotland that start and end with the same letter? excluding "football club"

27-05-2010, 05:11 PM
name the 5 teams in scotland that start and end with the same letter? excluding "football club"

Kilmarnock
Dundee United
Celtic
East Fife
East Stirlingshire

Sloppy
27-05-2010, 05:13 PM
Kilmarnock
Dundee United
Celtic
East Fife
East Stirlingshire
correct

27-05-2010, 05:15 PM
Name a Scottish player who scored hat-tricks in both legs of a European tie for a Scottish club?

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 05:24 PM
kenny dalgleish??

27-05-2010, 05:28 PM
kenny dalgleish??

My apologies. Should have made the question clearer. See edit - I meant for a Scottish club.

No idea if Dalglish got hat-tricks in both legs at Liverpool although I don't recall it.

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 05:38 PM
My apologies. Should have made the question clearer. See edit - I meant for a Scottish club.

No idea if Dalglish got hat-tricks in both legs at Liverpool although I don't recall it.

sound man. i havnt a clue then haha

27-05-2010, 05:41 PM
Name a Scottish player who scored hat-tricks in both legs of a European tie for a Scottish club?

Dixie Deans for Celtic?

Jimmy O'Rourke?

Just absolute shots in the dark there :greengrin

27-05-2010, 05:43 PM
Dixie Deans for Celtic?

Jimmy O'Rourke?

Just absolute shots in the dark there :greengrin

Neither, I'm afraid :greengrin

27-05-2010, 05:44 PM
sound man. i havnt a clue then haha

Had a wee look at Dalglish's record and he didn't score any hat-tricks in Europe from what I could see.

In fact, only ever scored two for Liverpool - one in the league and one in the League Cup............

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 05:51 PM

Had a wee look at Dalglish's record and he didn't score any hat-tricks in Europe from what I could see.

In fact, only ever scored two for Liverpool - one in the league and one in the League Cup............

aw kool, was just a random guess

27-05-2010, 05:55 PM
Ahem :cool2:

See here towards the bottom:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sportscotland/asportingnation/article/0043/print.shtml

"Helped by 2 hat tricks from Jimmy O'Rourke"

Not "a double hat trick" but 2 seperate ones, against Besa from Albania apparently.

27-05-2010, 06:05 PM
Name two Scottish players to hold club world champions medals.

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 06:10 PM

darren fletcher and dennis law??

27-05-2010, 06:14 PM
Ahem :cool2:

See here towards the bottom:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sportscotland/asportingnation/article/0043/print.shtml

"Helped by 2 hat tricks from Jimmy O'Rourke"

Not "a double hat trick" but 2 seperate ones, against Besa from Albania apparently.

Good grief!!!:rolleyes: :greengrin

The article's talking about two different ties - Sporting and Besa. O'Rourke scored a hat-trick in both rounds, one against either team.

I asked for a player who scored hat-tricks in both legs of the one tie.

27-05-2010, 06:17 PM

One in bold.

27-05-2010, 06:25 PM

Is it Alex Ferguson? :greengrin

27-05-2010, 06:31 PM
Is it Alex Ferguson? :greengrin

Good grief!!! :rolleyes: :greengrin

Naw. :greengrin

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 06:34 PM
joe jordan?

27-05-2010, 06:37 PM

That's good quizzing!

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 06:39 PM
who has scored a hat trick in every tier of english football?? (i.e league 2 up to premiership)

27-05-2010, 06:48 PM

Paul Lambert?

27-05-2010, 06:49 PM
who has scored a hat trick in every tier of english football?? (i.e league 2 up to premiership)

Micky Quinn?

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 06:51 PM
Micky Quinn?

its not micky quinn sorry man

27-05-2010, 06:53 PM

Robert Earnshaw?

Steve Bull?

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 06:57 PM
Robert Earnshaw?

grammyb111
27-05-2010, 07:35 PM
Steve McManaman if you are going to include Liverpool in the 'big four' why not Man City?

Manu Petit would work for the traditional big 4

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 07:50 PM
Name the 4 players to have scored in 2 world cup finals, bye that I mean the final game, not just the tournament.

JE89
27-05-2010, 07:54 PM
Who are the three sets of brothers to perform together in a Champions League final?

27-05-2010, 07:54 PM
Name the 4 players to have scored in 2 world cup finals, bye that I mean the final game, not just the tournament.

Zidane.

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 08:03 PM
Zidane.

27-05-2010, 08:06 PM

Pele

27-05-2010, 08:07 PM
Who are the three sets of brothers to perform together in a Champions League final?

De Boers

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 08:07 PM
Pele
2 down, 2 to go

JE89
27-05-2010, 08:08 PM
De Boers

:agree: 2 more....

West Upper
27-05-2010, 08:10 PM

The Nevilles and The De Boers dont know the other one

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 08:13 PM

Toure, arsenal v barca?

Leicester Fan
27-05-2010, 08:13 PM
Pele
Paul Breitner (spelling?)

Scored in 2 finals.

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 08:15 PM
Paul Breitner (spelling?)

Scored in 2 finals.

:thumbsup: no sure about the spelling though:greengrin

TariqE
27-05-2010, 08:15 PM

Inzaghi?

lumbo_hfc
27-05-2010, 08:20 PM

You said the answer was Steve Finnan but he ain't won the UEFA cup, i dont think, could be wrong

!

27-05-2010, 08:22 PM

So far we've had Kenny Dalglish, Dixie Deans and Jimmy O'Rourke.

All good guesses, especially the last one, but all wrong.

Any more? :greengrin

Ginger Gehagan
27-05-2010, 08:24 PM
So far we've had Kenny Dalglish, Dixie Deans and Jimmy O'Rourke.

All good guesses, especially the last one, but all wrong.

Any more? :greengrin

I'll have a couple, paull sturrock or colin stein

27-05-2010, 08:29 PM
I'll have a couple, paull sturrock or colin stein

Decent shouts.

Sturrock has scored a hat-trick in Europe and Stein got a brace in both legs of a tie for the Huns.

Both wrong though :greengrin

JE89
27-05-2010, 08:31 PM
The Nevilles and The De Boers dont know the other one

Toure, arsenal v barca?
Doesn't count as they were on opposing teams.

Inzaghi?

Not the one I have.

I'll give you a clue, it is a trick question and they performed when the Champions League final was at Hampden... :greengrin

27-05-2010, 09:31 PM
Paul Lambert?

Close, but no cigar. You're looking in the right direction though.

27-05-2010, 09:36 PM
The other brothers at a CL final.........The Proclaimers

JE89
27-05-2010, 09:50 PM
The other brothers at a CL final.........The Proclaimers

Banter
27-05-2010, 10:17 PM
Name the only proffesional british football club without a vowel in the first five letters of its name?

JE89
27-05-2010, 10:19 PM
Name the only proffesional british football club without a vowel in the first five letters of its name?

Crystal Palace

el capitano
27-05-2010, 10:24 PM
what former celtic and scotland captains dad was "jamaican"

JE89
27-05-2010, 10:24 PM
what former celtic and scotland captains dad was "jamaican"

Roy Aitkin :faf:

el capitano
27-05-2010, 10:34 PM
Roy Aitkin :faf:

haha

steviecarnie
27-05-2010, 10:43 PM
7 players have scored a hat-trick in the Euro Championships. Of those seven, only one player to have scored two hat-tricks

he is...........?

also At least one hat-trick has been scored in every World Cup Finals except the one tournament......it was?

steviecarnie
27-05-2010, 10:57 PM
Inzaghi?

laudrups?

Hibbie_Cameron
27-05-2010, 11:01 PM

The proclaimers:faf:

cheltenhamhibee
27-05-2010, 11:05 PM
Fill in the gap

1979 - Sunderland

1980 - ??????

1981 - Villa

27-05-2010, 11:42 PM
7 players have scored a hat-trick in the Euro Championships. Of those seven, only one player to have scored two hat-tricks

he is...........?

also At least one hat-trick has been scored in every World Cup Finals except the one tournament......it was?Platini and 2006 i think

Rory89
28-05-2010, 03:37 AM
Of the 92 clubs that make up the top four leagues in England and the 42 that make up the top four leagues in Scotland, just one football team's name contains none of the letters in the word football.

Which team is it?

28-05-2010, 04:37 AM
Of the 92 clubs that make up the top four leagues in England and the 42 that make up the top four leagues in Scotland, just one football team's name contains none of the letters in the word football.

Which team is it?

Dundee

28-05-2010, 05:28 AM

One in bold.

Paul Lambert?

Close, but no cigar. You're looking in the right direction though.

Anyone? :rolleyes:

28-05-2010, 06:40 AM
Fill in the gap

1979 - Sunderland

1980 - ??????

1981 - Villa

Brooking.

JE89
28-05-2010, 06:45 AM
Anyone? :rolleyes:

Gary McAllister?

Haggis Hibby
28-05-2010, 07:32 AM

Dundee :thumbsup:

cheltenhamhibee
28-05-2010, 09:07 AM
Brooking.

28-05-2010, 09:22 AM
Which former Scottish League manager travels around his hometown by Jetpack?

:cool2:

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 09:49 AM
Which player has been European and World Champion with their club and also European and World Champion with their country?

Hibs On Tour
28-05-2010, 09:51 AM

Kanu?

C'mon LyonHibs - don't keep me in suspenders! :-)

Hibs On Tour
28-05-2010, 09:56 AM
Name a Scottish International player who scored 6 goals in a cup tie down South and still ended up on the losing side? - no takers, I'll make it a little easier then? :-)

28-05-2010, 09:57 AM
Which player has been European and World Champion with their club and also European and World Champion with their country?

Anelka?

28-05-2010, 09:58 AM

Zidane?

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 10:01 AM
Anelka and Zidane are both incorrect...

28-05-2010, 10:25 AM
Which former Scottish League manager travels around his hometown by Jetpack?

:cool2:

millarco
28-05-2010, 10:29 AM

Thierry Henry?

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 10:33 AM
Thierry Henry?

Nope.

You're all spot on with the Nationality though...

green.oracle
28-05-2010, 11:04 AM

Robbie Winters:greengrin:greengrin

HibeeMG
28-05-2010, 12:25 PM

Barthez?

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 12:52 PM
Barthez?

Nope. :bitchy:

Neil4Hibs
28-05-2010, 01:15 PM
Christian Kerembau

The Sundance Kid
28-05-2010, 01:24 PM
Makelele

Leicester Fan
28-05-2010, 01:59 PM
Silvestre?

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 02:02 PM
Still no ones got it....

A clue is... One of the teams he played for, played in this years Champs League final.

Leicester Fan
28-05-2010, 02:09 PM
Viera?

The Sundance Kid
28-05-2010, 02:10 PM
Sagnol

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 02:13 PM
Sagnol

Opposite side of the defence... :wink:

The Sundance Kid
28-05-2010, 02:16 PM

Bixente Lizarazu. Good question

HibeeMG
28-05-2010, 02:16 PM

Lizarazu?

andudare2
28-05-2010, 02:17 PM
scott booth , darren fletcher

M11BMO
28-05-2010, 02:24 PM
Bixente Lizarazu. Good question

28-05-2010, 03:29 PM
So very nearly :-) but not the answer I'm looking for I'm afraid.

Winters did manage four in one leg and two in the other though.

29-05-2010, 07:16 AM
scott booth , darren fletcher

andyhibsboy
29-05-2010, 04:52 PM
heres a belter for ye's - this is valid for 09/10 season

name the 8 players who play in the premiership that have scored in the old firm derby

29-05-2010, 04:54 PM
Cuellar, Ferguson, Arteta, Vennegoor ov Hesseling.... the Hun that plays for Hull..... Kyrgiakos?... Caldwell

andyhibsboy
29-05-2010, 05:28 PM
Cuellar, Ferguson, Arteta, Vennegoor ov Hesseling.... the Hun that plays for Hull..... Kyrgiakos?

ferguson, arteta, vennegoor all right.

need a name of that hun who plays for hull?

kyrgiakos and cuellar both wrong

29-05-2010, 11:52 PM
Cousin.

30-05-2010, 12:19 AM
heres a belter for ye's - this is valid for 09/10 season

name the 8 players who play in the premiership that have scored in the old firm derby
Mikel Arteta (Everton and Rangers).

30-05-2010, 12:24 AM
Steven Thompson and Gregory Vignal

Craig Bellamy and Stilian Petrov

Is that us with all 8??

30-05-2010, 12:41 AM

Bannon for Dundee United?

30-05-2010, 01:20 AM
If it's not him it's either Mark McGhee or John Hewitt.

Hibs On Tour
30-05-2010, 01:33 AM

Could be wrong but don't think you confirmed one way or the other to this - Kanu?

31-05-2010, 11:39 AM
Bannon for Dundee United?

If it's not him it's either Mark McGhee or John Hewitt.

None of the above I'm afraid :greengrin

Still stands, Scottish player who scored a hat-trick in both legs of a European tie.

Wasn't Dixie Deans, Jimmy O'Rourke, Paul Sturrock, Robbie Winters, Eamonn Bannon, John Hewitt, Mark McGhee or Kenny Dalglish :greengrin

31-05-2010, 12:07 PM
Could be wrong but don't think you confirmed one way or the other to this - Kanu?

Apologies - the answer is - to my knowledge - Steve Finnan

Neil4Hibs
01-06-2010, 03:08 PM

Steve Finnan has never won the UEFA Cup, he has won the UEFA Super Cup at Liverpool and the UEFA Intertoto Cup at Fulham though!

On one of the other questions, Christian Karembeu won World and European Championships with France, Champions League and Intercontinental Cup with Real Madrid.

Hibs On Tour
01-06-2010, 09:55 PM

Doh! Yer right - got myself confused with this one:

I've won the European Super Cup, the European Cup, Uefa Cup, the Premiership and FA Cup, I've also been relegated from the Premiership but never played in the Championship but still play in the Premiership to this day...Who am I?

The answer is former Arsenal and West Brom and currently Portsmouth striker Kanu.

Here's another for you lot then! Maybe some answers this time as no-one got Denis Law from the cup-tie question! :greengrin

How many players can you name who have Premier League and Champions League winners medals but have never played for Man Utd? There are, I think, 8 of them...

steviecarnie
01-06-2010, 10:06 PM
How many players can you name who have Premier League and Champions League winners medals but have never played for Man Utd? There are, I think, 8 of them...

ballack, anelka, belletti, deco, carvallho, ferreiar, henry, kanu

and possibly anelka if he played in this years tournament before his loan move?

grammyb111
01-06-2010, 10:08 PM

I've won the European Super Cup, the European Cup, Uefa Cup, the Premiership and FA Cup, I've also been relegated from the Premiership but never played in the Championship but still play in the Premiership to this day...Who am I?

The answer is former Arsenal and West Brom and currently Portsmouth striker Kanu.

Here's another for you lot then! Maybe some answers this time as no-one got Denis Law from the cup-tie question! :greengrin

Anelka
Overmars?
Kanu
Henry
Sylvinho
Ballack?
Desailly?

I'll get the others I'm sure :greengrin

01-06-2010, 10:10 PM

Still stands, Scottish player who scored a hat-trick in both legs of a European tie.

Wasn't Dixie Deans, Jimmy O'Rourke, Paul Sturrock, Robbie Winters, Eamonn Bannon, John Hewitt, Mark McGhee or Kenny Dalglish :greengrin

This ones annoying me now. Feel like i should know it but just can't think.

grammyb111
01-06-2010, 10:11 PM
Anelka
Overmars?
Kanu
Henry
Sylvinho
Ballack?
Desailly?

Deco

grammyb111
01-06-2010, 10:13 PM
Deco

More of that Porto side too: Ferreira, Carvalho, Bosingwa?

micksoo
01-06-2010, 10:19 PM
Anelka
Overmars?
Kanu
Henry
Sylvinho
Ballack?
Desailly?

Belletti

grammyb111
01-06-2010, 10:20 PM
More of that Porto side too: Ferreira, Carvalho, Bosingwa?

Makalele, Shevchenko, maybe Maniche too?

grammyb111
01-06-2010, 10:21 PM
Belletti

Doh, missed one :greengrin

steviecarnie
01-06-2010, 10:27 PM
Shevchenko

nope did not win the premiership, joined 2006/07. maniche didnt win it either, makalele has both tho.

EskbankHibby
01-06-2010, 10:46 PM

John Wark?

EskbankHibby
02-06-2010, 11:54 AM

Ralph Milne?

C'mon man, ye cannae leave us hanging!:grr::greengrin

02-06-2010, 12:18 PM
John Wark?

Ralph Milne?

C'mon man, ye cannae leave us hanging!:grr::greengrin

Neither of those I'm afraid.

So, it wasn't Dixie Deans, Jimmy O'Rourke, Paul Sturrock, Robbie Winters, Eamonn Bannon, John Hewitt, Mark McGhee, Kenny Dalglish, John Wark or Ralph Milne.........

Hibs On Tour
02-06-2010, 12:22 PM

Aw bollocks - took the question from another site - that was pre-end of this season! Consider it cancelled! Sorry all! :grr:

02-06-2010, 12:27 PM

Neither of those I'm afraid.

So, it wasn't Dixie Deans, Jimmy O'Rourke, Paul Sturrock, Robbie Winters, Eamonn Bannon, John Hewitt, Mark McGhee, Kenny Dalglish, John Wark or Ralph Milne.........

Dennis Law?

02-06-2010, 12:44 PM
Dennis Law?

Sorry, it wasn't Denis Law (at least not with a Scottish club :greengrin)

04-06-2010, 11:00 PM
Sorry, it wasn't Denis Law (at least not with a Scottish club :greengrin)

So who was it then?

...Time to answer!

05-06-2010, 04:16 PM
So who was it then?

...Time to answer!

Only if no one else fancies a shot :devil:

Purple & Green
05-06-2010, 09:17 PM
My brother tells me it's Gary McSwegan against some Andorran team for Dundee United.

05-06-2010, 10:24 PM
My brother tells me it's Gary McSwegan against some Andorran team for Dundee United.

We have a winner :thumbsup:......

Many great Scottish players have taken the field against European opposition for Scottish clubs, but so far only one has managed the admittedly remarkable feat of scoring a hat-trick in both legs of a tie, and it was Gary ****ing McSwegan, against CE Principat of Andorra, in 1997. :greengrin