View Full Version : Match Updates Stokes

yogibear1975
25-05-2010, 08:32 PM
I cant believe stokes never got a chance tonight to prove what he can do for Ireland.:confused:

Sloppy
25-05-2010, 08:33 PM
exactly and that celtic fud sheridan gets 25 odd mins

****ing disgrace :grr::grr:

HibeeMcGinn1
25-05-2010, 08:33 PM
I cant believe stokes never got a chance tonight to prove what he can do for Ireland.:confused:

your spot on

25-05-2010, 08:43 PM

I also thought he would get his chance tonight after scoring the only goal in a match involving the Ireland fringe players a week ago.

yogibear1975
25-05-2010, 08:44 PM
well here's hoping he gets a chance on Friday night against Algeria.

Aubenas
25-05-2010, 08:44 PM
Could well be used on Friday v Algeria.

25-05-2010, 08:46 PM
well here's hoping he gets a chance on Friday night against Algeria.

Is the game being shown on TV?

yogibear1975
25-05-2010, 08:47 PM
it's on sky on Friday night.

25-05-2010, 08:48 PM
it's on sky on Friday night.

Cheers.

26-05-2010, 07:44 AM
exactly and that celtic fud sheridan gets 25 odd mins

****ing disgrace :grr::grr:

this confuzzled me also.

26-05-2010, 07:55 AM
He's probably been sampling the local brew and declared unfit for purpose at the moment.

:devil:

26-05-2010, 09:28 AM
Even the report for the game on the BBC Sport website, the quote was "Why is Sheridan coming on ahead of Stokes".. everyone can see it.:grr:

M11BMO
26-05-2010, 09:35 AM
That's a totaly joke! Obviously because Sheridan has the Celtic tag on him he jumps ahead of the queue. :bitchy:

26-05-2010, 09:39 AM
That's a totaly joke! Obviously because Sheridan has the Celtic tag on him he jumps ahead of the queue. :bitchy:

I'm not sure Trapattoni really cares what club his players play for.

I think that that some people are getting all worked up over nothing. Stokes has been in squads and played for Ireland before, he got a decent run out in the 'b' game last week and will probably feature on Friday against Algeria. Sheridan is a decent young player, uncapped and in and around a full international squad for the first time. What's the harm in giving him a run out?

mayo hibee
28-05-2010, 08:29 PM
He's done it again.

Stokes on the bench doing nothing.

Sheridan on the pitch doing nothing.

Algeria are awful, really really awful, and they're going to the world cup.

28-05-2010, 08:42 PM
Hopefully a lesson for Stokesy that he needs to work a bit harder on his fitness levels....

HibeeMcGinn1
28-05-2010, 08:52 PM
Hopefully a lesson for Stokesy that he needs to work a bit harder on his fitness levels....

you think?

PiemanP
28-05-2010, 09:04 PM
whats the point of trapatoni calling him into the Ireland squad when he has no intention of playing him?

If i was stokes id be mighty pi**ed off thata guy like sheriden - who scored a third of the amount of goals in the SPL - was getting a chance and not him.

28-05-2010, 09:04 PM
Maybe it's based on performances in training rather than Trapp being biased against Hibs!!!

Stokes bangs them in but his general play is rank. Not a team player, no real ability to link up play or hold ball up and his touch needs worked on.

Some scoring record though (in SPL) and much time to improve.

28-05-2010, 09:09 PM

Or mibbe the St Johnstone tag after his loan :dunno:

Do you really seriously believe what you posted?

I think it's nonsense tbh.

28-05-2010, 09:12 PM
whats the point of trapatoni calling him into the Ireland squad when he has no intention of playing him?

If i was stokes id be mighty pi**ed off thata guy like sheriden - who scored a third of the amount of goals in the SPL - was getting a chance and not him.

Aye, he should just do a Boyd and tell Trapatoni to gtf :devil:

29-05-2010, 07:23 AM
It doesn't matter how much of a team player they both are Stokes scored 21 SPL goals and Sheridan scored 6 therefore Stokes deserves to get a game infront of him.

29-05-2010, 09:13 AM

Agree with this. Stokes may not be the best technically in the world but he is a poaching wee bassa. I'd play him every week.