View Full Version : Bank Charges

Grizz
25-05-2010, 12:20 PM
Just got humped to the tune of £25 by the Clydesdale bank for accidently going 59p (for an iTunes app) into the red in my current account last month for 2 days - absolutely raging!!!! :bitchy:

Phoned their customer service dept but there was no remorse for a 17 year+ customer from that shower of shte! :grr:

Wrote an email to their complaints dept, but fear they'll do **** all and that'll be the most expensive iTunes app I've ever bought :grr:

Anybody had a similar charge over a trivial sum like that? Seemed mega excessive to me!

25-05-2010, 12:30 PM
This happened to me about 8 years ago i had no overdraft at all and i bought something small and daft and went past 0 to about - £1.86 and i didnt notice for a few days and i got ravaged by the bank.

Now i have an agreed overdraft that is complete overkill but it means i never get those charges and it does not affect my credit rating.

Ideally the bank want you to have a large overdraft so that you spend but if you have the willpower not to spend it then its good.

Grizz
25-05-2010, 12:45 PM
I had actually just jumped ship to another bank at that time and thought I'd moved everything over to my new account. Paid aff the 59p (:rolleyes:) within 2 working days, but still got pumped - there's loyality for ye, grrrrrrrr!

Thing is, I'd actually been swithering too in the past week about whether to keep my account open & go back to the Clydesdale, but not now - they can stick that right up their hoop!!

Ps - For anyone wondering: Yup, I'm a tight moaning faced bassa!!

£25!!!! :greengrin

25-05-2010, 12:50 PM
I had actually just jumped ship to another bank at that time and thought I'd moved everything over to my new account. Paid aff the 59p (:rolleyes:) within 2 working days, but still got pumped - there's loyality for ye, grrrrrrrr!

So you left them and you wanted them to show loyaty to you? :hilarious

They'd have probably written it off if you hadn't just transferred your business.

millarco
25-05-2010, 12:56 PM
Just got humped to the tune of £25 by the Clydesdale bank for accidently going 59p (for an iTunes app) into the red in my current account last month for 2 days - absolutely raging!!!! :bitchy:

Phoned their customer service dept but there was no remorse for a 17 year+ customer from that shower of shte! :grr:

Wrote an email to their complaints dept, but fear they'll do **** all and that'll be the most expensive iTunes app I've ever bought :grr:

Anybody had a similar charge over a trivial sum like that? Seemed mega excessive to me!

Try going into the branch you opened the account with, it is normally at their discretion as to whether to refund the charge. If this is the only one you've had, especially given the amount you were overdrawn, they would likely give you it back.

Grizz
25-05-2010, 12:58 PM
So you left them and you wanted them to show loyaty to you? :hilarious

They'd have probably written it off if you hadn't just transferred your business.

:greengrin That would've been a fair comment, but I've not left them yet - My 17 + year old account is still open and they've no idea I've plans to jump ship. Bloody deffo will be now though!

Anyway, that's my lesson learned for today I guess...

25-05-2010, 01:07 PM
The fact of the matter is that they know your more likely to have a divorce than split from the bank and they play the role of the abusive partner very well. That’s the loyalty they enjoy.

They’ve even got their wee cartel set up so that if you move banks too often your credit rating could be affected.

Shafted if you do and shafted if you don’t.

25-05-2010, 01:21 PM
Ive posted something about this before but try the financial services ombudsman if you dont get any joy at the branch involved.

25-05-2010, 02:49 PM
Try spending your own money next time. I'm sure they won't charge you for that.

Gus
25-05-2010, 04:57 PM

brilliant insight:bye:

IF the bank is Royal Bank of Scotland then it is OUR money as those crooks are 84% owned by the UK taxpayer.

I have an Rbs royalties gold account, i get charged £12.95 for the honour, this month the money wasn't in said account & I get charged £20 for using an overdraft that i didnt have..........now they are saying that I will get charged another £15 for an unpaid item.............ITS THERE BLOODY £12.95 thats done it

:grr::grr::grr:

25-05-2010, 04:58 PM

25-05-2010, 04:59 PM

IF the bank is Royal Bank of Scotland then it is OUR money as those crooks are 84% owned by the UK taxpayer.

I have an Rbs royalties gold account, i get charged £12.95 for the honour, this month the money wasn't in said account & I get charged £20 for using an overdraft that i didnt have..........now they are saying that I will get charged another £15 for an unpaid item.............ITS THERE BLOODY £12.95 thats done it

Royalties is optional - that's why you pay a fee. If you forgot about the fee and went over your limit it's not their fault.

25-05-2010, 04:59 PM

Why have you got a Royalties Gold then :confused: Change it to a free current account

Gus
25-05-2010, 05:05 PM
Royalties is optional - that's why you pay a fee. If you forgot about the fee and went over your limit it's not their fault.

Why have you got a Royalties Gold then :confused: Change it to a free current account

i know this & on the first charge i was willing to take the hit as it was my oversight, but then a letter came in about the 2nd one.......

But you are right the royalties gold is by choice & now i think about it the perks are pretty ***** for the £160 a year, for me anyway, wee trip 2moro to see them

25-05-2010, 05:10 PM
i know this & on the first charge i was willing to take the hit as it was my oversight, but then a letter came in about the 2nd one.......

But you are right the royalties gold is by choice & now i think about it the perks are pretty ***** for the £160 a year, for me anyway, wee trip 2moro to see them

I don't think it's worth the money, it sometimes gets you a better rate on a mortgage deal or personal loan, just take it out at the time of the loan and then cancel it after a month or 2 though.

I think you could probably cancel it by phone.

Gus
25-05-2010, 05:18 PM
I don't think it's worth the money, it sometimes gets you a better rate on a mortgage deal or personal loan, just take it out at the time of the loan and then cancel it after a month or 2 though.

nice one, thats what i will do:thumbsup:

25-05-2010, 05:28 PM

just inform them you won't pay it, ask to close the account (which they won't) and open another with a different bank. might be worth looking into things like the co-op bank, don't think they're quite as brutal as others...:dunno:

25-05-2010, 05:33 PM

Because my missus works for HBOS we get their rewards account with Annual worldwide travel insurance, AA breakdown cover and mobile phone insurance for £7 a month.......they then give us £5 of it back for paying in over £1000 every month :smug: :greengrin

25-05-2010, 05:34 PM

Really, so what about the

Mobile phone insurance
Worldwide travel insurance
Travel Service – 10% of holidays and flights
Discounted hotel booking
Car breakdown cover
Discount on car insurance
Home emergency cover – 24 hour helpline
Extended warranty on electrical items bought with an RBS credit card
Substantial discount at selected UK restaurants
Discount for concert and theatre bookings

That’s in addition to the lower loan rates you quote plus you get improved credit card and savings account rates

25-05-2010, 05:38 PM

Mobile phone insurance
Discounted hotel booking
Car breakdown cover

That’s in addition to the lower loan rates you quote plus you get improved credit card and savings account rates

None of them really appeal to me or would save me much money. That's my circumstances though - I'm sure it's worth £13 a month to some folk.

If I worked in the Bank I'd take it for free like the employees do, although if I was running the Bank it'd probably be a perk I'd look to take away from the staff.

25-05-2010, 06:22 PM
I've only went over my limit once. I withdrew £10 about 1.30am and then a £20 cheque came out my account that morning which took me about £1.85 over my limit but I went into the branch that day and paid in money and they sorted it out for me. It was really unlucky timing because I wrote the cheque about 4 months before and if it came out the day before I wouldn't have been able to withdraw the tenner and if it came out the following day it would have been fine because that's when I got paid. They(RBS) were very understanding though.

25-05-2010, 06:30 PM
Yes the RBS is 84% owned by the taxpayer but that means we own 84% of the physical assets e.g. Buildings, fixtures, fittings, etc. The money you spent is owned by depositors who are in credit. That's how it works. You borrow somebody elses money and pay for the privilege.

25-05-2010, 07:08 PM

having a similar problem with my bank just now, started to work for them (not in a branch) so had to open a bank account with them for my wages to be paid into, probably best i don't say what bank though :wink:

I'm useless with managing my money so the first month when i had half a wage from my old job in one account and half a wage from my new job i was always going to make a dick of it, sure enough i paid for something with my new card when i should have used my old one, got a letter through telling me what happened, few days later i transfered money to bring account up to date.

Realise it was my mistake so expected a fine of some description, couldn't believe it when i got a charge in for £95 for being about £23 overdrawn for a week, talk about excessive :grr:

In fairness though, got an appointment with the branch, boy i spoke to agreed it was excessive and was going to speak to the manager to try and get them reduced or removed, still waiting on the guy calling me back to confirm though which is annoying.

25-05-2010, 07:23 PM
I was hit with a similar charge last year, I was 43 pence overdrawn.

What I was fuming about was that the direct debit that sent me into 'unplanned overdraft' territory as they call it was my Lloyds TSB (were i've always banked) £8-odd 'Silver Account' monthly charge.

What an erse eh!! :grr:

25-05-2010, 09:09 PM

Mobile phone insurance
Discounted hotel booking
Car breakdown cover

What a salesman! You should really think about working for a bank.........

No - wait. :cool2:

25-05-2010, 09:33 PM
Yes the RBS is 84% owned by the taxpayer but that means we own 84% of the physical assets e.g. Buildings, fixtures, fittings, etc. .

Is that all 22 billion buys these days? All the money would be lost if the arrogant bankers hadn't been bailed out by those they've fleeced for decades. The irony of the banks charging folk for financial irresponsibility is almost as funny as the bull****, condescending TV adverts about how they can teach us how to manage our money and how generous they are.

25-05-2010, 10:55 PM

Mobile phone insurance
Discounted hotel booking
Car breakdown cover

What good's that with a Bank that you cannae trust to look after your money though?:greengrin

25-05-2010, 11:06 PM
What good's that with a Bank that you cannae trust to look after your money though?:greengrin

I know that's a tongue firmly in cheek comment :greengrin but for the benefit of others who don't, I'm sure that you will agree that retail banking in the UK had hee haw to do with the banking crisis.

25-05-2010, 11:33 PM
I know that's a tongue firmly in cheek comment :greengrin but for the benefit of others who don't, I'm sure that you will agree that retail banking in the UK had hee haw to do with the banking crisis.

:greengrin Yep, I agree with that and well done for not biting!:thumbsup:

Green Mikey
27-05-2010, 11:30 AM

Your insight is also far from brilliant.

The banks may be majority owned by the government but does this justify customers not paying fines and having enough money in their account. This case may be a little extreme due to the small size of the infraction but the argument still holds that you shouldn't spend more money than you have. You are angry at the banks for financial mismanagement but in the same post you advocate it for individuals.

The Royal Mail is also owned by the government therefore your argument says that because 'we' own it then there is no need to pay for postage. Any logical analysis of your argument shows it to be completely redundant.