View Full Version : Summer Signings?

since90plustwo
21-05-2010, 05:26 PM
Who would you like to see in the hibs shirt, and who would you want to see leave?

Gus Fring
21-05-2010, 05:34 PM
If all these rumours are to be believed then it would seem we'll end up with most of our old squad back again

KiddA
22-05-2010, 05:16 AM
Who would you like to see in the hibs shirt, and who would you want to see leave?

Chris Hogg OUT Rob Jones IN :agree:

22-05-2010, 05:38 AM
Nae idea who is coming in, but think Bamba will be away after the world cup, Riordan might be away if we get an offer in excess of 1.5million, stokes will surely attract a bid.

Think Nish might be away as well, suspect a few teams might try and nick him.

Unfortunately I just don't see anyone bidding for rankin:grr:

Hope to see more youngsters getting a chance next season, hopefully we will sign two experienced defenders and a good holding central midfielder. Hopefully hughes is in madrid tonight looking for fresh faces:greengrin

22-05-2010, 06:17 AM
Nae idea who is coming in, but think Bamba will be away after the world cup, Riordan might be away if we get an offer in excess of 1.5million, stokes will surely attract a bid.

Hope to see more youngsters getting a chance next season, hopefully we will sign two experienced defenders and a good holding central midfielder. Hopefully hughes is in madrid tonight looking for fresh faces:greengrin

Just to manage your expectations, there's no chance of us getting anywhere near that for Riordan.

22-05-2010, 08:04 AM
Just to manage your expectations, there's no chance of us getting anywhere near that for Riordan.

Then we shouldn't sell him :wink:

22-05-2010, 09:14 AM
Its ridiculous we have not signed anyone yet.:grr: And if we dont get them in order of preference, i will be spitting mad.

22-05-2010, 09:19 AM

Keep Rankin!

22-05-2010, 09:37 AM
Keep Rankin!

you keep him!

jiggerman
22-05-2010, 09:39 AM
Its ridiculous we have not signed anyone yet.

Firstly, do you know we have not?

Secondly, even if we have not, why is it ridiculous?

22-05-2010, 09:57 AM

22-05-2010, 10:02 AM
I was told we'd signed Garry O'Connor on Thursday.

Quite clearly, a loadypish :agree:

22-05-2010, 10:12 AM
ryan flyann (falkirk)
garry o,conner (free)
allan walker (raith rovers)
barak obama(usa):thumbsup:

22-05-2010, 11:11 AM
It would appear we are back in for Michael Hart.

22-05-2010, 11:39 AM
Chris Hogg OUT Rob Jones IN :agree:

Never. If you believe these things, Jones was the centre of creating ructions at Hibs and most recently, Scunthorpe. I would be very disappointed if we brought him back to ER. He's an average footballer who has a good day now and then. Nothing more than that.

22-05-2010, 01:13 PM
It would appear we are back in for Michael Hart.

Yep according to the EEN.

Didn't he start getting his game once the new manager came in though?

22-05-2010, 01:27 PM
I was told we'd signed Garry O'Connor on Thursday.

Quite clearly, a loadypish :agree:

Yeah, it was Wednesday. :wink:

22-05-2010, 01:35 PM

Unfortunately, it's been some time since blackpoolhibs has posted up anything sensible. He's best ignored :wink:

22-05-2010, 01:41 PM
Yep according to the EEN.

Didn't he start getting his game once the new manager came in though?

You got a link bud?

22-05-2010, 01:47 PM
You got a link bud?

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/-Hibs-set-to-renew.6313201.jp

There you go mate.

22-05-2010, 01:47 PM
You got a link bud?

It's in the News Forum......

http://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php?34-Hibs-News

22-05-2010, 01:56 PM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/-Hibs-set-to-renew.6313201.jp

There you go mate.

Cheers mate :aok:

It's in the News Forum......

http://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php?34-Hibs-News

Ok thanks Mikey :aok:

22-05-2010, 03:25 PM
Never. If you believe these things, Jones was the centre of creating ructions at Hibs and most recently, Scunthorpe. I would be very disappointed if we brought him back to ER. He's an average footballer who has a good day now and then. Nothing more than that.

:agree::agree::agree::agree::agree:

KiddA
22-05-2010, 04:15 PM

What did he do at Scunthrope? Either way he is a much better leader and captain than Chris Hogg will ever be. I know there is no smoke without fire with the big John Collins fall out but there was other players involved too including Scott Brown. To be honest though there is always a bigger picture. I would take him back and think he would be a good addition :agree:

22-05-2010, 04:32 PM
Charlie Adam :devil:

23-05-2010, 10:23 AM

Yet is still better than Hogg IMO.:cool2:

HibeeUnderwood
23-05-2010, 11:59 AM
Ivan Sproule? :dunno:

He certainly didn't play as much this season as he did the previous two, and it was mostly sub appearences. And I guess it also depends if Steve Coppell wants a clearout to bring in the players he wants. Because if he does and Ivan is one of the unlucky ones, we'd be foolish not to try and re-sign him. :agree:

23-05-2010, 07:08 PM

:top marks:faf:

23-05-2010, 07:14 PM

In: Bauben, Swanson and Gomis for midfield. Murphy and Whittaker at full back. (well i can dream).

Out:Nish, Hogg and Rankin

23-05-2010, 08:22 PM
Paul Hartley in on a 2 year deal - absolute certainty.

23-05-2010, 08:28 PM
Paul Hartley in on a 2 year deal - absolute certainty.

Sauce?

23-05-2010, 08:31 PM

Merked. I suspect BH was being mildly facetious.

I just want a RB, a Centre back and a big, bad central midfielder. Who they are matters not one jot as long as they're good enough - I'll leave that bit up to Yogi, what with it being his job :greengrin

23-05-2010, 08:34 PM
Sauce?

He was taking the pish.

23-05-2010, 08:48 PM
He was taking the pish.

Really? He shouldn't play with people's emotions like that. :boo hoo:

23-05-2010, 08:50 PM
Really? He shouldn't play with people's emotions like that. :boo hoo:

But did you like Shiels 1st time round:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Saying nowt :greengrin

23-05-2010, 09:05 PM
He was taking the pish.

You sure? :cool2:

23-05-2010, 09:13 PM

But did you like Shiels 1st time round:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Saying nowt :greengrin

Dunno. Is he nice looking too?

23-05-2010, 09:19 PM
Mark my words.

23-05-2010, 09:23 PM
Mark my words.

You're usually right with this stuff too. Not sure how I'd feel about that, my heart says he can gtf but my head says we could do with a player like him.

24-05-2010, 01:05 AM
You're usually right with this stuff too. Not sure how I'd feel about that, my heart says he can gtf but my head says we could do with a player like him.

Great, the return of the new Tam McManus...fantastic... :grr: :wink:

24-05-2010, 07:29 AM
Out of all the rumours so far, I can see Michael Hart being brought in. No chance of either O'Connor or Hartley being back.

Ronaldo9
24-05-2010, 08:52 AM
Also heard that Hartley was a done deal, 2 year contract. IMO would be a good addition but cant see many Hibs fans taking to this deal.

24-05-2010, 09:25 AM
Also heard that Hartley was a done deal, 2 year contract. IMO would be a good addition but cant see many Hibs fans taking to this deal.

I dont want him, can i make this clear right from the start. I wont support him, even if he leads us to a league and cup double.:stirrer:

24-05-2010, 09:27 AM
Paul Hartley would be a tremendous signing IMO but don't think there's much in it TBH.

For all those who don't want him back then two words might help you reconsider - Iain Murray.

Rossco442
24-05-2010, 09:34 AM
Paul Hartley would be a tremendous signing IMO but don't think there's much in it TBH.

For all those who don't want him back then two words might help you reconsider - Iain Murray.

Nothing to do with his Hearts connection but he is an average overrated player. One good season in which he scored a few goals (most from the penalty spot). I've never seen him get his shirt dirty for the Yams or Scotland for that matter.

We need a hard tackling no-nonsense midfielder not another lightweight pushover.

Step forward Yaya Toure. :greengrin

Auckland Hibs
24-05-2010, 09:38 AM
I dont want him, can i make this clear right from the start. I wont support him, even if he leads us to a league and cup double.:stirrer:

I hate the little Rat faced James Blunt.

But, he can come back for one season - a league and cup double but he's out the door next May.

24-05-2010, 09:46 AM
I hate the little Rat faced James Blunt.

But, he can come back for one season - a league and cup double but he's out the door next May.

Not for me, I'd rather get a rusty blade and cut my nose off.

24-05-2010, 09:58 AM
Got to be said Hartley would be a great signing in this current team given his experience.
He better have a thick skin though as he will be taking stick from all quarters.
The sort of player we should be looking at though IMO.

mike1875
24-05-2010, 11:20 AM
Birmingham City manager Alex McLeish expects Garry O'Connor to sign a new contract on reduced terms following the striker's hip surgery. (Daily Record)

Hibernian are back on the trail of out-of-favour Preston North End right-back Michael Hart, who will make a decision about his future when he returns from holiday. (Various)

since90plustwo
26-05-2010, 08:32 AM
Great, the return of the new Tam McManus...fantastic... :grr: :wink:

what do you mean by that sorry?

27-05-2010, 09:08 AM
Hart? - Hartley? Yogi scouting in Hertfordshire and Midlothian?

I don't like where this is going.

hibsforeurope
27-05-2010, 12:24 PM
Heard we are in for a player from St Johnstone, anyone else heard this?

Ell_Chrisso
27-05-2010, 12:27 PM

Being up in Perth, not heard anything rumoured.

But il see if one of my mates has any info on the Saints forum

Ell_Chrisso
27-05-2010, 12:31 PM
I hear it could possibly be the return of Fillipe Morais

27-05-2010, 12:37 PM
I hear it could possibly be the return of Fillipe Morais

**** right off:grr:

Duberry anyone?

27-05-2010, 12:39 PM
**** right off:grr:

Duberry anyone?

Yep, replacement for Bamba.

bandylegs_jLeighton
27-05-2010, 12:41 PM
From St. Johnstone I would say Murray Davidson would be the type of player we would look at - simply because he is someone with the physical presence Yogi said we needed, and someone with potential to sell on in the future.

hibsforeurope
27-05-2010, 12:44 PM
From St. Johnstone I would say Murray Davidson would be the type of player we would look at - simply because he is someone with the physical presence Yogi said we needed, and someone with potential to sell on in the future.

That is who I had heard we have bid for.

27-05-2010, 12:52 PM
That is who I had heard we have bid for.

Fingers crossed that this rumour is true. He's a great "box to box" player with the physical presence we need.

Did I read somewhere that he was actually on our books prior to going to Livvy (then on to St Johnstone)?

27-05-2010, 01:00 PM

Steve Maskrey.

27-05-2010, 01:09 PM
Fingers crossed that this rumour is true. He's a great "box to box" player with the physical presence we need.

Did I read somewhere that he was actually on our books prior to going to Livvy (then on to St Johnstone)?

Think he is a good player however personally think he lacks a bit of physical presence. Tall but a bit lightweight.

27-05-2010, 01:10 PM
Steve Maskrey.

Hee, hee. What about Henry Hall?

27-05-2010, 01:16 PM
Murray Davidson just signed a 2 year contract extension last week

hibsforeurope
27-05-2010, 01:24 PM

That would not stop a bid coming in for him though.

27-05-2010, 01:50 PM

That was so the Saints would get a transfer fee for him.

27-05-2010, 02:56 PM

would they not have got one anyway as he had a year left to run?

27-05-2010, 03:23 PM

No chance.

If Hibs wanted him he would know it. There is no way he would sign a new deal knowing that his prospective new club would have to fork out even more for him.

Petrie would tell him to get tae!!

Duberry is out of contract is he not? I'd take him in a second.

27-05-2010, 03:23 PM

Roddy Grant?

27-05-2010, 03:27 PM

Roddy Grant?

They also have a young forward knocking a few goals in for them, McCoist or something like that. :greengrin

27-05-2010, 03:29 PM
They also have a young forward knocking a few goals in for them, McCoist or something like that. :greengrin

Cannae wait to get back to Muirton next season, Always a gid day out:cool2:

27-05-2010, 03:30 PM

Nah, John Connolly was better, although we got him after Everton & Birmingham. What about the left winger Aitken, seem to remember him being similar to Andy Lynch, or put in other terms, as crap as.

I remember around the same time as our Cup Winners Cup adventure, ST Johnstone, with the same said players were also playing in Europe and they started to call themselves Perth ST Johnstone, they explained that the reason was because their opponents could never find ST Johnstone on the map of Scotland, clearly they never had the same problem finding Hibernian:notworthy:

27-05-2010, 03:42 PM
No chance.

If Hibs wanted him he would know it. There is no way he would sign a new deal knowing that his prospective new club would have to fork out even more for him.

Petrie would tell him to get tae!!

Duberry is out of contract is he not? I'd take him in a second.

Duberry wants to go back down South: -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/st_johnstone/8641715.stm

27-05-2010, 03:46 PM
Think he is a good player however personally think he lacks a bit of physical presence. Tall but a bit lightweight.

He gets stuck in though and has an eye for goal as well.

Sign him I say!

:pray:

27-05-2010, 03:46 PM
Duberry wants to go back down South: -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/s/st_johnstone/8641715.stm

Good, Cause i believe we can get better CH's than him.

Has he not lost a yard of pace since his Chelsea days?.

27-05-2010, 03:53 PM
What we really want is to get the best out of our existing squad, ie: form a Mott The Hoople tribute band and cruise the autobahns of Europe with dirty girls and a black American guy constantly high-fiving me and going 'you is de man, Bobby' and me taking the praise with a self-effacing shrug before saying, 'loved Rankin's guitar work on Roll Away The Stone but expected more from Nish on Whiz Kid.'

If Carlsberg made holidays...

27-05-2010, 04:00 PM
Good, Cause i believe we can get better CH's than him.

Has he not lost a yard of pace since his Chelsea days?.

Yes but when we played them at McDairmid Park earlier this year he dictated the game, looks miles better than Hogg that's for sure.

27-05-2010, 04:03 PM

Cannae wait to get back to Muirton next season, Always a gid day out:cool2:

Yep but the walk from the train station is always a nightmare. :greengrin

27-05-2010, 04:04 PM
Nah, John Connolly was better, although we got him after Everton & Birmingham. What about the left winger Aitken, seem to remember him being similar to Andy Lynch, or put in other terms, as crap as.

I remember around the same time as our Cup Winners Cup adventure, ST Johnstone, with the same said players were also playing in Europe and they started to call themselves Perth ST Johnstone, they explained that the reason was because their opponents could never find ST Johnstone on the map of Scotland, clearly they never had the same problem finding Hibernian:notworthy:

Yeah but Henry's baldness was legendary. :greengrin

27-05-2010, 04:08 PM

And allegedly he only had one ball.

Hallelujah.

:singing:

27-05-2010, 04:08 PM
Liam Craig :wink:

JF-Hibee4Eva
27-05-2010, 05:04 PM
willo flood anyone??

27-05-2010, 05:16 PM

Yeah But!! How old are you? :greengrin

Henry's baldness wasn't as legendary as Drew Jarvie's, we always seemed to be linked with him & then he signed for the sheep:grr:

hibsforeurope
28-05-2010, 08:19 AM
Liam Craig :wink:

He would be a good signing, seemed to play well anytime I seen him play against Hibs last season.

28-05-2010, 09:25 AM
Duberry has signed a 12 month extension. Hibs and Aberdeen had been monitoring but St Johnstone have allowed him a deal to ensure he spends time in London. I doubt Hibs would have allowed him too much of that.

28-05-2010, 10:02 AM
What about Simon Ford of Killie? Out of contract and could be decent back-up.

28-05-2010, 11:01 AM
Yes but when we played them at McDairmid Park earlier this year he dictated the game, looks miles better than Hogg that's for sure.

Not surprised. Hoggy played right back in that game and he was murder.

28-05-2010, 11:27 AM
I think this is what you meant to type.

Not surprised. Hoggy played and he was murder as usual.