View Full Version : A bit worried about this new east stand

Hakim Sar
20-05-2010, 05:35 PM
looks decent but massive spaces in the corners. i hope that there is further work in the pipeline to minimise this but i am beginning to worry this is gonna look like a big green version of falkirk's stadium.

what you think?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100518/hibernian-family-home_2262950_2054925

20-05-2010, 05:38 PM
looks decent but massive spaces in the corners. i hope that there is further work in the pipeline to minimise this but i am beginning to worry this is gonna look like a big green version of falkirk's stadium.

what you think?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100518/hibernian-family-home_2262950_2054925

think the stadium will look pretty good when the stand is finished, have you ever been to falkirks stadium, will look nothing like it

20-05-2010, 05:41 PM

what you think?

I think we should maybe let them get it built first before we decide it's no good. :wink:

There may well be slightly bigger gaps between the East and the North/South stands than there are on the West.

But the Falkirk Stadium's half the size and has only three stands - in no way comparable to what ER will be in three months time.

Relax, man - she'll be right.

20-05-2010, 05:43 PM

what you think?

never
hibs stands are twice the size of the falkirk staduim:agree:

20-05-2010, 05:44 PM
i hope that there is further work in the pipeline to minimise this

There is. There's stuff being put in place to fill in the corners half way up between the FF and South stands.

Hakim Sar
20-05-2010, 05:46 PM
yes i have been to falkirk

still think its a very big gap - maybe the rear concourse will need extra space for queues at turnstiles running up the stand from north to south rather than the old east to west terracing gate

or we will have an improved media box for the telly people

Hakim Sar
20-05-2010, 05:48 PM
never
hibs stands are twice the size of the falkirk staduim:agree:

''big green version of falkirk's stadium. '' would allude to this
:cool2:

20-05-2010, 05:49 PM

what you think?

Tend to agree . Think it will look a bit lop sided and feel an oppurtunity has been lost to improve the atmosphere at matches by creating a more enclosed ground. Hopefully they will fill the corners in with something to give it a more enclosed feel.

I would compare it more to a bigger Mcdiarmid Park rather than Falkirk.

20-05-2010, 06:10 PM
There is. There's stuff being put in place to fill in the corners half way up between the FF and South stands.

And what stuff do you mean by this then? I tried to look at the drawings for the corner infills but i didnt really understand what they all meant. :confused:

Lets just say architecture isnt my strong point.

Enlighten if you would please fine sir?

20-05-2010, 06:14 PM
I think the space will look less once the side wall of the stand goes up. Just now you see the steep seating deck which essentailly takes your eye away from the South stand which makes the gap look bigger than it is.

Once the wall is in place it will look much more in line with the rest of the ground.

20-05-2010, 06:17 PM
I think theres some sort of cladding going in those gaps, plus the gable ends of the east will disguise most of the empty space. Look at the gables on the North in your picture, the east will have the same I presume. :wink:

20-05-2010, 06:18 PM
I think the space will look less once the side wall of the stand goes up. Just now you see the steep seating deck which essentailly takes your eye away from the South stand which makes the gap look bigger than it is.

Once the wall is in place it will look much more in line with the rest of the ground.

Exactly, cannae believe folk are moaning and its nowhere near finished yet.

Perhaps we should wait to see what the finished article looks like before compaining.:cool2:

20-05-2010, 06:27 PM
Read this off the report "DECISION NOTICE + REPORT "

http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/submissions.do?action=ViewPublicCaseDetails&applicationRef=04/03230/VAR2

The proposed infill wall, as identified, rises to some 10.0 metres above ground level extending for a distance of some 8.1 metres between the screen ends of the two stands.

Does this mean they are just building a big wall? Will that not look a bit rubbish? :confused:

EH.

20-05-2010, 06:36 PM

what you think?

Relax man! :rolleyes:

Imagine the roof and side on and the size of the gap will be much smaller!

20-05-2010, 06:44 PM
We could use all those big gaps for the Hearts / Rangers / Celtic fans while the Hibs fans are seated/standing in the proper stands?? :wink:

20-05-2010, 06:47 PM

what you think?

Wummin, fools and Hearts fans should never see a job half done...I'll let you choose which category your in :greengrin

WarringtonHibee
20-05-2010, 06:53 PM
When the cladding goes up on each side the gap doesn't seem wider than the gaps between the existing stands.

http://i49.tinypic.com/142cxuu.jpg

20-05-2010, 07:10 PM
When the cladding goes up on each side the gap doesn't seem wider than the gaps between the existing stands.

http://i49.tinypic.com/142cxuu.jpg
I think in this position we can see that the new stand WON'T be the same height as the other three...

The roof isn't placed on top of the struts. It's fixed to the steel running horizontally beneath the struts. Hard to explain, but if you look at the other three stands the struts appear to prostrude from the roof, ie they are 'above' the roof level. In WarringtonHibee's drawing this isn't the case.

Not too easy to explain but if you have a think you'll understand. This picture kinda illustrates what I mean... http://www.easterroad.com/images/EasterRoad444.jpg

Ross4356
20-05-2010, 07:14 PM
Remember the planing permission we have states that the stand must be the same hight and width as the west

20-05-2010, 07:17 PM
Remember the planing permission we have states that the stand must be the same hight and width as the west
My point suggests otherwise.

IF i'm right :cool2:

marleyhib
20-05-2010, 07:19 PM
I heard from someone at hibs that there will be a 4 meter gap between the new east and the other 2 stands, there will be cladding half way up between them too

I think it will look class

HibeesLA
20-05-2010, 07:20 PM
My point suggests otherwise.

IF i'm right :cool2:

I don't believe the roof is at a 90degree angle to the stand though, I believe it actually rises as it extends out over the stand, therefore the front should be the same height as the other stands.

Again, not 100% on that, but that was what I seem to remember.

WarringtonHibee
20-05-2010, 07:26 PM
I think in this position we can see that the new stand WON'T be the same height as the other three...

The roof isn't placed on top of the struts. It's fixed to the steel running horizontally beneath the struts. Hard to explain, but if you look at the other three stands the struts appear to prostrude from the roof, ie they are 'above' the roof level. In WarringtonHibee's drawing this isn't the case.

It will, it's planned to be and you're forgetting about the other stands, the roof slopes upwards as illustrated by the huge red arrow. Rip the roof off the other stands and it'll look the exact same.

http://i47.tinypic.com/2hzh0r4.jpg

livi hibby
20-05-2010, 07:26 PM
did i not read years ago that easter road stadium was designed to resemble anderlechts stadium corners and all if they ever fill it in

Hakim Sar
20-05-2010, 07:29 PM
its easy to say ''ach yer just complaining''

but i think it is natural to be inquisitive when something doesnt look right - and to me it doesnt

i take the point on board though that it shouldnt be judged when half complete. we'll see in august

random sub
20-05-2010, 07:29 PM
Talking about being worried......I think the access/egress arrangements look pretty suspect. Basically, one tiny entrance per block and really low down in the stand. It will be take ages to get out....worse than getting out of the north stand, which I found pretty rubbish in the time the east standers spent there (for those that stayed to the end of the games:wink:). The north felt a really low spec stand.

20-05-2010, 07:32 PM
I heard from someone at hibs that there will be a 4 meter gap between the new east and the other 2 stands, there will be cladding half way up between them too

What you mean cladding? Just like a big ajoining wall between the two stands half way up?

Chuckie
20-05-2010, 07:37 PM
Even at the current stage of building it still looks better than ....

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/th_hehehe.jpg (http://s396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/?action=view&current=hehehe.jpg)

marleyhib
20-05-2010, 07:38 PM
What you mean cladding? Just like a big ajoining wall between the two stands half way up?

think so, from the ground tho :)

20-05-2010, 07:39 PM
Talking about being worried......I think the access/egress arrangements look pretty suspect. Basically, one tiny entrance per block and really low down in the stand. It will be take ages to get out....worse than getting out of the north stand, which I found pretty rubbish in the time the east standers spent there (for those that stayed to the end of the games:wink:). The north felt a really low spec stand.

Its OK only BH stays till the end!

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

B'Briggs Hibee
20-05-2010, 07:46 PM
It will, it's planned to be and you're forgetting about the other stands, the roof slopes upwards as illustrated by the huge red arrow. Rip the roof off the other stands and it'll look the exact same.

Much much better looking at that . Stick a white PUMA sign in there and it will look the dog's danglies

HibeesLA
20-05-2010, 07:46 PM

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/th_hehehe.jpg (http://s396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/?action=view&current=hehehe.jpg)

I'm not so sure. They do have new state of the art press boxes.

http://easycaptures.com/fs/uploaded/303/5320264809.jpg

20-05-2010, 07:51 PM

http://www.groundhopping.se/res/Hibernian/southstand.jpg

Look at that. The part you've highlighted isn't the slope of the roof, its metal attached to the cladding. The picture shows there's hardly any slope on the roof.

20-05-2010, 07:54 PM
ifyou look on the picture on the website then you'll see to the right ofthe stand there is pillars erected maybe-don't know why- they still have to add to the end

20-05-2010, 08:09 PM

what you think?

It'll look much less open when the side bits are on.

20-05-2010, 08:10 PM

what you think?

:bitchy:Jeez, some folk are never happy....

20-05-2010, 08:11 PM
yes i have been to falkirk

still think its a very big gap - maybe the rear concourse will need extra space for queues at turnstiles running up the stand from north to south rather than the old east to west terracing gate

or we will have an improved media box for the telly people

Did you ever notice the huge gap above the old East stand?

20-05-2010, 08:13 PM
I don't believe the roof is at a 90degree angle to the stand though, I believe it actually rises as it extends out over the stand, therefore the front should be the same height as the other stands.
Again, not 100% on that, but that was what I seem to remember.

100% correct sir

20-05-2010, 08:21 PM

Look at that. The part you've highlighted isn't the slope of the roof, its metal attached to the cladding. The picture shows there's hardly any slope on the roof.

Take a look at the picture you posted at No 18 and look specifically at the West Stand and then tell me their's no slope on the roof.

Tell you what Sean. I'll wager a wee bet with you that the Height of the new stand is the same as the others. Winning cash goes to Dnipro Kids.

I think it's only fair to tell you that I have some lovely drawings of the New Stand:greengrin

20-05-2010, 08:23 PM

I dont think its going to be a problem. If you look at other stadiums down south that are bigger than ours they probably have the same number of rows exiting to the same number of exits. Some of the massive 2 tier stadiums down south only have exits/entrances at the front of each tier and each tier maybe has more rows than out single.

20-05-2010, 08:27 PM

Not too easy to explain but if you have a think you'll understand. This picture kinda illustrates what I mean... http://www.easterroad.com/images/EasterRoad444.jpg

correct

WarringtonHibee
20-05-2010, 08:33 PM
Take a look at the picture you posted at No 18 and look specifically at the West Stand and then tell me their's no slope on the roof.

Tell you what Sean. I'll wager a wee bet with you that the Height of the new stand is the same as the others. Winning cash goes to Dnipro Kids.

I think it's only fair to tell you that I have some lovely drawings of the New Stand:greengrin

http://i49.tinypic.com/f3f0qp.jpg
Not quite as steep as the slope I incorrectly illustrated, but still a slope.

http://i47.tinypic.com/33agexh.jpg
Also, judging by this picture, the West Stand is a tad shorter than the South Stand.

I knew I'd find a use for Google Street View some day :greengrin

20-05-2010, 08:39 PM

Of course, coming straight from the old east you would have been totally acustomed to 5 star luxury accomodation and facilities :cool2:

Seriously though - I think the entrance/exit arrangements are just a feature of that particular one teired design - there was a debate on here ages ago about all the pros and cons of the various designs, with the club going to a lot of trouble to gather the views of the fans before making their decision.
In the end a clear majority of supporters favoured this design as it will save the club a million quid or so as well as theoretically generating more atmosphere.

hibsdaft
20-05-2010, 08:41 PM

correct. as shown in these approved Planning drawings:
http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=56766552

yup thats pretty much it.

folk need to stop worrying, its going to be the same height as the other stands just take the time to look at the Planning drawings if your really concerned rather than posting stuff which is getting folk worried !!

20-05-2010, 08:52 PM
One question if I may; will it be the same height as the other three? :greengrin

Austinho
20-05-2010, 09:02 PM

http://i47.tinypic.com/2hzh0r4.jpgAny chance you could do a mock up with the cladding?

20-05-2010, 09:03 PM

from the planning permission drawings:

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a179/jma5984/untitled-3.jpg

now can we all agree that stand is the same F***ING height as the other three once and for all :rolleyes:

20-05-2010, 09:06 PM
Think from now I'll stear clear of the 'how high is the stand going to be' threads.

We've been over this a few times now! ;)

Most of the photos will have optical illusions. Page 2 post 71 of the east stand pics thread shows the height of the steels and is totally conclusive.

20-05-2010, 09:06 PM
its easy to say ''ach yer just complaining''

but i think it is natural to be inquisitive when something doesnt look right - and to me it doesnt

i take the point on board though that it shouldnt be judged when half complete. we'll see in august

:blah: Methinks you just like moaning for the sake of moaning.

Loving your work! :thumbsup:

20-05-2010, 09:09 PM
One question if I may; will it be the same height as the other three? :greengrin

I've heard it's going to be bigger than the others, in fact it's going to be high enough to block any vantage point from the flats behind.

The tache strikes again:wink:

ChrissyG1875
20-05-2010, 09:19 PM

That picture has just got me buzzing for the new stand.

20-05-2010, 09:21 PM

Have a look at this (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/FeaturedContent/0,,10290%7E1973122,00.html) from the official website. You'll see that there is indeed a considerable slope on the new roof.

WarringtonHibee's second drawing looks about right to me.

20-05-2010, 09:24 PM

I hope they put guardrails around the holes in the concrete. :rules::bitchy:

20-05-2010, 09:27 PM

I was actually of a similar view to the OP but having seen that picture, I think it will look good when it's finished.

I would have definitely preferred a two-tiered stand but I don't think it will look anywhere near as odd as I thought it might.

20-05-2010, 09:31 PM

http://i47.tinypic.com/33agexh.jpg
Also, judging by this picture, the West Stand is a tad shorter than the South Stand.

I knew I'd find a use for Google Street View some day :greengrin

That's an optical illusion, I'm afraid. It's kind of along the lines of the Father Ted small or far away sketch. If you extend the metal bars along the side panels (which are horizontal), you'll see that the eventually meet there exact equivalents in the West Stand.

20-05-2010, 09:32 PM
Good well I'm glad that's that sorted....

I'll give it 36 hours before the next thread starts on the exact same topic ;)

20-05-2010, 09:35 PM
we should have an "New East stand for Dummies" thread so if anyone starts this again it can be cleared up by posting a link :agree:

SidBurns
20-05-2010, 09:40 PM
The cladding is gonna be similar to the link here:-

http://www.waterrail.co.uk/images/services/smImage84.jpg

20-05-2010, 09:50 PM

what you think?

Given its not going to be finished for a few months yet, I think your worries are very premature.

20-05-2010, 09:53 PM
The cladding is gonna be similar to the link here:-

http://www.waterrail.co.uk/images/services/smImage84.jpg

It'll probably be used as advertising space if rodders has any sense :agree:

Archie70
20-05-2010, 10:46 PM
http://i47.tinypic.com/2hzh0r4.jpg[/QUOTE]

I'm not sure about the red arrow, will we have one on every stand and if so will they all be the same height?

steviecarnie
20-05-2010, 10:56 PM
WHY does the question of is the east going to be the same size as the 3 other stands keep coming up?? how many times do people need to explain that it is before it sinks in????:grr:

EuanH78
20-05-2010, 10:57 PM

I'm not sure about the red arrow, will we have one on every stand and if so will they all be the same height?[/QUOTE]

I know what you mean, you would have expected the arrow to at least be green. :boo hoo:

Aubenas
20-05-2010, 11:01 PM
WHY does the question of is the east going to be the same size as the 3 other stands keep coming up?? how many times do people need to explain that it is before it sinks in????:grr:

Oh sh**. It may start off the same height as the others, but if it then sinks in, it will be shorter!!!!! Petrie, get it sorted! Don't let it sink in!!!!!:confused:

21-05-2010, 07:06 AM
did i not read years ago that easter road stadium was designed to resemble anderlechts stadium corners and all if they ever fill it in

I can't seee how you can ever fill in the corners, with seats , between a one tier and a two tiered stand. :confused:

Mon_the_cabbage
21-05-2010, 07:26 AM
I can't seee how you can ever fill in the corners, with seats , between a one tier and a two tiered stand. :confused:

Like Hampden?

21-05-2010, 07:29 AM

Ma hoose looks better than that

http://i50.tinypic.com/2yxf5fn.jpg

Hakim Sar
21-05-2010, 07:30 AM
:bitchy:Jeez, some folk are never happy....

no i think it is natural to look at things critically when a lot of money is being spent on it - it's human nature and i want the best for our club.

wembley has plenty of detractors over the state of it's pitch... but ah well the english should just be happy with their lot rather than being progressive

dunno what john terry was moaning about - some folk are never happy eh

21-05-2010, 07:38 AM
I'm not sure about the red arrow, will we have one on every stand and if so will they all be the same height?

I know what you mean, you would have expected the arrow to at least be green. :boo hoo:[/QUOTE]

Its going to be a bit off putting if there is a big red arrow and red sun in the corner of only the South Stand.

Can we not have one at every corner to make it symmetrical?

Presuming we could I would have to insist the following:

That it was the exact same shade of red

That they were placed in exactly the same position, so that the their appearance would be the same to everyone within the stadium, regardless of where they sat.

That they were of exactly the same dimensions.

That the pointy bit of the arrows were sharpened to the same extent.

I would probably also want to set up a designated website so folk would have an easy way to criticise these "improvements" through every step of their construction.

Its far more representative to do it as you go along rather than make a judgement when its finished.

After all in a piss easy project like construction its easy to change the plans minute by minute.

FFS

mglancy23
21-05-2010, 07:42 AM

think you posted this in the wrong thread! the east stand opening celebrations thread is here http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?183632-New-stand-opening :greengrin

i hope we get more than just the one though :wink:

21-05-2010, 07:45 AM
I know what you mean, you would have expected the arrow to at least be green. :boo hoo:

Its going to be a bit off putting if there is a big red arrow and red sun in the corner of only the South Stand.

Can we not have one at every corner to make it symmetrical?

Presuming we could I would have to insist the following:

That it was the exact same shade of red

That they were placed in exactly the same position, so that the their appearance would be the same to everyone within the stadium, regardless of where they sat.

That they were of exactly the same dimensions.

That the pointy bit of the arrows were sharpened to the same extent.

I would probably also want to set up a designated website so folk would have an easy way to criticise these "improvements" through every step of their construction.

Its far more representative to do it as you go along rather than make a judgement when its finished.

After all in a piss easy project like construction its easy to change the plans minute by minute.

FFS

21-05-2010, 07:45 AM
think you posted this in the wrong thread! the east stand opening celebrations thread is here http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?183632-New-stand-opening :greengrin

i hope we get more than just the one though :wink:

:whistle:

21-05-2010, 08:02 AM
no i think it is natural to look at things critically when a lot of money is being spent on it - it's human nature and i want the best for our club.

wembley has plenty of detractors over the state of it's pitch... but ah well the english should just be happy with their lot rather than being progressive

It would appear, however, that people are getting really worked up
when, one : they haven't looked at the pics that have been getting posted and listened to the resulting discussion, or, two: have a real prob with perspective and the fact many of the pics will create an optical illusion.

JoJo_07
21-05-2010, 08:09 AM

Dnipro getting some money from Sean then? See here (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=53013372&ext=pdf). The section for the FF and South (Seating Deck Elevation) AND the North Elevation does show the roof slope. I can see why Sean thinks this isn't the case (see the East Elevation on same drawing).

21-05-2010, 08:15 AM
Dnipro getting some money from Sean then? See here (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=53013372&ext=pdf). The section for the FF and South (Seating Deck Elevation) AND the North Elevation does show the roof slope. I can see why Sean thinks this isn't the case (see the East Elevation on same drawing).

I think he seen the error of his ways/opened his eyes:greengrin

He never took the bet so Dnipro will have to wait for another opperchancity:wink:

21-05-2010, 08:28 AM
Fitba fans ( like mother nature ) abhore a vaccume which is why there is ongoing discussion regarding the gaps.

Due to the hight of the stand it probably wont be too bad, unlike for instance St Mirren which appears to have been constructed with no thought whatsoever to the atmosphere the ground will generate. Hibs were out on a limb coz of the pitch widening issue.

As far as cladding between the East and South I am sure there was something mentioned in the planning regarding loss if light to the bowling green behind that corner, so perhaps filling that gap will be something of a problem and would account for it being missing from the updated plan.

As for the East being different from the other stands IMO thats a good thing coz the last thing we want is to have one of these cloned grounds like the have in England. Too many of them look like they were bought off the shelf,as it were.

Anyway, if you want the gaps filled why not erect 4 massive floodlight pylons. I have noticed a few players mention that they have lost the ball in the floodlights, so perhaps having them on the stand roof aint such a good idea.

As a footnote.

They had the Yam gaff on the telly last night. What a dump it looks with half of the seats having lost their colour over time. Get it sorted Vlad :bitchy:

21-05-2010, 08:31 AM
Even if it does look ******, which it won't. It is hardly Hibs's fault that the pitch needs to be widened 4m. I'm sure the board, builders, architects etc would've liked the stand to be on top of the pitch and make the ground enclosed but it wasn't possible.

Some people also need to remember we are Hibs, not the FA with a billion to spend, or Arsenal with a few hundred million at our disposal for stadiums.

Even in its current state Easter Road is still better than here (http://stadiums.football.co.uk/Images/Photos/Large/180-0.jpg), here (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/jimspence/tannadice_595_sns.jpg) and here (http://www.ticket4football.com/venueimages/105_large.jpg).

Ok it may not be as good as this (http://www.photo-pimp.com/stu/new_tynie/Tynecastle2.jpg) (:lolyam:) but imagine how good ER will look when complete. There won't be a fan outside of Glasgow that isn't jealous of the cabbage.

paxtonhibby
21-05-2010, 09:10 AM
Slightly off topic here but I was listening to Radio Newcastles sport show last night at work(no my fault,only decent signal we can get,well apart from Radio Boredom,but thats another story).Anyway they were discussing the best and worse grounds for atmosphere,facilities,etc and one of them mentioned Easter Road being from the dark ages,years gone by,admittedly.Then made some snidey remark about how its now a pile of rubble,which has made an improvement.I shall be sending them a wee photie of the completed stadium.Arrogant tossers.
Thanks for reading,had to get that off ma chest......................and relax.

21-05-2010, 09:20 AM
Slightly off topic here but I was listening to Radio Newcastles sport show last night at work(no my fault,only decent signal we can get,well apart from Radio Boredom,but thats another story).Anyway they were discussing the best and worse grounds for atmosphere,facilities,etc and one of them mentioned Easter Road being from the dark ages,years gone by,admittedly.Then made some snidey remark about how its now a pile of rubble,which has made an improvement.I shall be sending them a wee photie of the completed stadium.Arrogant tossers.
Thanks for reading,had to get that off ma chest......................and relax.

St James Park is a fantastic stadium, but those grey seats dont half make the inside of the ground look depressing. Perhaps they should install nice red and white ones.

:devil:

21-05-2010, 09:38 AM

Perhaps we should wait to see what the finished article looks like before compaining.:cool2:

Another thought - we've been complaining for four years now about the state of the pitch. Grass needs sunlight and wind to grow healthy. If we have four stands looming over the pitch as close as some folks seem to want, we could simply be storing up more pitch problems for the next few years.

Besides, we won't be able to judge the width of the gap between the ends of the North and South and the ends of the East until the roof and vertical end screens on the East are complete and in place.

Plus, if we want to stage European matches and international games, we need to widen the pitch and improve the run-off areas down each touchline. This wasn't a requirement when we built the North and South stands; it is now.

For the record, this stand will be the same height at roof level as the other three, and it will be as close to the others as the new widened pitch and UEFA/FIFA regulations allow for a stadium hosting European ties and international matches.

As one of our colleagues said a few days back - only a fool and a woman judges a job half-done. :rolleyes:

21-05-2010, 09:59 AM

Thank you
B....y building isn't even half constructed and the whingers are out and about !!
" Perhaps we should wait to see what the finished article looks like before compaining "
says it all for me

:yawn::rolleyes:

21-05-2010, 10:16 AM

now can we all agree that stand is the same F***ING height as the other three once and for all :rolleyes:

case closed! :agree:

21-05-2010, 10:40 AM
I like how hibs have had a trainspotting moment in their report on the link the OP posted.

It means excitement and elation. It means celebrating and commiserating. It means innovation. It means creativity. It's about character. It's about being founded by the community, for the community. It's about doing the Bounce. It's about being part of something unique. It's about building a new contituency in the East. It's about building a future together.

21-05-2010, 11:01 AM
I like how hibs have had a trainspotting moment in their report on the link the OP posted.

Was just about to say that would make a great sig. but then spotted 'contituency'. What is this :confused: Have they missed out a 's' or is this a new word :greengrin?

21-05-2010, 11:14 AM

But are you REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY sure? :devil:

SidBurns
21-05-2010, 11:36 AM
Could we get away with something like this!?!

http://www.fsf.org.uk/media/uploaded/image/stadium.jpg

21-05-2010, 11:41 AM
Could we get away with something like this!?!

http://www.fsf.org.uk/media/uploaded/image/stadium.jpg

Nah, it'll be more like this.

21-05-2010, 12:22 PM
Will the cladding in the corners be stone or pebbledash?

21-05-2010, 12:32 PM
Will the cladding in the corners be stone or pebbledash?

Dark grey marble overlaid with the Hibs crest in greenstone and alabaster. :agree:

But I'm worried it wont be high enough. :wink:

21-05-2010, 12:35 PM
Dark grey marble overlaid with the Hibs crest in greenstone and alabaster. :agree:

But I'm worried it wont be high enough. :wink:

That's what I don't get about the East Stand. Why is it so much smaller than the other stands?

CabbageFan
21-05-2010, 12:44 PM
Just enough space in the corner for a nice big television!!

21-05-2010, 01:53 PM
That's what I don't get about the East Stand. Why is it so much smaller than the other stands?

And so far away from the pitch? :confused:

And the wrong colour? :confused:

21-05-2010, 03:42 PM
Never mind the height, will we still be able to stand up while watching the game? Or have a smoke at half-time? Or go for a slash at the back of the stand? Or touch the exit gate on the way out?

If any of these criteria are NOT met, then I'm burning my Season Ticket?

21-05-2010, 05:42 PM
Never mind the height, will we still be able to stand up while watching the game? Or have a smoke at half-time? Or go for a slash at the back of the stand? Or touch the exit gate on the way out?

No, maybe, definitely not, it's been demolished.

Can I have your ticket, please? :wink:

21-05-2010, 06:03 PM
That little cladding wall if thats what it is going to be like looks pants :grr::grr:

its barley even that tall.

21-05-2010, 06:25 PM
Like Hampden?

I see you taper it down to meet.

21-05-2010, 06:51 PM
This threads a ***in hoot.

The new East stand will be the same size as the other 3 stands. If not ill shave my baws for 2 weeks on the trot.

21-05-2010, 06:58 PM

The new East stand will be the same size as the other 3 stands. If not ill shave my baws for 2 weeks on the trot.

Boy, that certainly beats a bath of Beans.

21-05-2010, 07:00 PM

No, maybe, definitely not, it's been demolished.

Can I have your ticket, please? :wink:

Nope, sorry, when I tried to light it, it all melted and is currently stuck to my hand....

....which is with the rest of me in Casualty.

21-05-2010, 07:03 PM
Nope, sorry, when I tried to light it, it all melted and is currently stuck to my hand....

....which is with the rest of me in Casualty.

OOOOH! That must smart! :cool2:

21-05-2010, 07:56 PM

I wonder if we could get BBC Alba down to film it? :greengrin Maybe best to start with Eurotrash?

BTW I think we should knock the stand down and start again. Imagine not making it the same size and colour as the other stands. :rolleyes:

21-05-2010, 07:57 PM

I know what you mean, you would have expected the arrow to at least be green. :boo hoo:[/QUOTE]

I quite like it. If it topples off - and assuming it's just going on top of the East facing into the South - it's only going to hit the away support. Would be good if it toppled off against Hertz or Rantic. That could be fun :agree:

21-05-2010, 08:02 PM

You came across as a bit of a whinger. There have been a few threads on here with links to the plans. These clearly show infills in the corners. Just wait til the job's done eh? And the comparison to Falkirk was imo quite ridiculous.

21-05-2010, 11:12 PM
Even if it does look ******, which it won't. It is hardly Hibs's fault that the pitch needs to be widened 4m. I'm sure the board, builders, architects etc would've liked the stand to be on top of the pitch and make the ground enclosed but it wasn't possible.

Some people also need to remember we are Hibs, not the FA with a billion to spend, or Arsenal with a few hundred million at our disposal for stadiums.

Even in its current state Easter Road is still better than here (http://stadiums.football.co.uk/Images/Photos/Large/180-0.jpg), here (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/jimspence/tannadice_595_sns.jpg) and here (http://www.ticket4football.com/venueimages/105_large.jpg).

Ok it may not be as good as this (http://www.photo-pimp.com/stu/new_tynie/Tynecastle2.jpg) (:lolyam:) but imagine how good ER will look when complete. There won't be a fan outside of Glasgow that isn't jealous of the cabbage.

I love this pic, nothing to do with the new super stand. What tickles me the most is that they seem to have filled the corners in on the opposite side of the stadium with seats :faf: This will be the same corners that are currently filled in with one stinking pink, almost bulbless floodlight?!?! Like seriously, do none of these idiots question these sort of things?!?!!? Its a human impossibility for that to happen, why even put it in the drawing?! U could not swing a cat in the area that they have drawn an in filled corner in! Absolutely bonkers. I know they need hundreds of thousands of seats but this aint the way to go about it. There is nothing the average Hearts fan wont believe.

steviecarnie
21-05-2010, 11:18 PM
I love this pic, nothing to do with the new super stand. What tickles me the most is that they seem to have filled the corners in on the opposite side of the stadium with seats :faf: This will be the same corners that are currently filled in with one stinking pink, almost bulbless floodlight?!?! Like seriously, do none of these idiots question these sort of things?!?!!? Its a human impossibility for that to happen, why even put it in the drawing?! U could not swing a cat in the area that they have drawn an in filled corner in! Absolutely bonkers. I know they need hundreds of thousands of seats but this aint the way to go about it. There is nothing the average Hearts fan wont believe.

in a word - No.

21-05-2010, 11:50 PM
When are people going to learn that you can't compare angles on 3D objects using 2D images? :rolleyes:

The East will be the same height as all the other stands. It's all in the design, therefore thats what it will be.

22-05-2010, 12:33 AM
I'd actually prefer the East to be slightly lower than the rest. Where's the problem if it is?

As long as there's no major gaps in between the stands for Hearts to hoof the ball out the park.

22-05-2010, 12:39 AM
I'd actually prefer the East to be slightly lower than the rest. Where's the problem if it is?

As long as there's no major gaps in between the stands for Hearts to hoof the ball out the park.

I dunno. But some folk are quite concerned.

All I ask is that there's a place for me where I can sit comfortably to watch the game, and a loo and a place where I can get my half-time cuppa. And a roof over my head.

And it seems that that's what I'm going to get.

So I'm happy - or at least not quite as miserable and grumpy as I usually am....

22-05-2010, 01:17 AM
I'd be more worried about the big hole in the middle of the stand. Someone could fall through it and it looks pretty crap, almost as if it's not finished.

22-05-2010, 05:13 AM
I'd be more worry about the big hole in the middle of the stand. Someone could fall through it and it looks pretty crap, almost as if it's not finished.

I agree, the first hibee bounce will just be carnage. Bad enough we are building a short arse stand but to not bother with railings is just plain dangerous:grr:

22-05-2010, 08:28 AM
I agree, the first hibee bounce will just be carnage. Bad enough we are building a short arse stand but to not bother with railings is just plain dangerous:grr:

I share your concerns, and I'd like to add that I think the new pitch is a disgrace - look at it! No grass whatsoever. At least last season there were patches.:grr:

22-05-2010, 08:36 AM
I dont think enough thought has been given to the filling in of the corners.
When we get a full house I'm worried that without the draft though the spaces there wont be enough air to breathe.
Has anyone seen if there are oxygen stations in the plans?

22-05-2010, 09:35 AM
When we get a full house I'm worried that without the draft though the spaces there wont be enough air to breathe.

22-05-2010, 10:45 AM

I was also under the impression that all stadia had to be all seated these days after Hillsborough etc... :dunno: It would appear that we jst have concrete steps? Don't get me wrong, im delighted coz it means the stewards technically cant tell us to sit down next season. Surprised we got permission tho tbh. Bit less pleased at the lack of a roof, be brilliant on a day like today but wont be much fun come the rainy winter days.

HibeeMG
22-05-2010, 10:57 AM
I was also under the impression that all stadia had to be all seated these days after Hillsborough etc... :dunno: It would appear that we jst have concrete steps? Don't get me wrong, im delighted coz it means the stewards technically cant tell us to sit down next season. Surprised we got permission tho tbh. Bit less pleased at the lack of a roof, be brilliant on a day like today but wont be much fun come the rainy winter days.

Yep, I agree with your concerns.

I don't think much thought has gone into access though.

I mean, we are supposed to climb over a whole lot of rubble to get to the stand!

I take it they're going to use the cherry pickers to help put the fans into their seats. That'll be very time consuming I'd have thought!

Wouldn't it have been easier to just build some internal stairs?!

22-05-2010, 11:23 AM

http://www.stadiumguide.com/constantvandenstock.htm

very nice, but Easter Road will not be like that. IMHO

random sub
22-05-2010, 11:27 AM

Hope they are not filling in the corners. I like a wee look out when the game gets boring.

22-05-2010, 11:28 AM
Was it maybe the straiton one that was supposed to resemble it?

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

BullbreedHFC
22-05-2010, 11:39 AM
Hope they are not filling in the corners. I like a wee look out when the game gets boring.

:agree: .................. :greengrin good yin :faf:

EuanH78
22-05-2010, 12:12 PM

I quite like it. If it topples off - and assuming it's just going on top of the East facing into the South - it's only going to hit the away support. Would be good if it toppled off against Hertz or Rantic. That could be fun :agree:

Even more reason for it to be green....:boo hoo::bitchy: Petrie :grr:

Deek01
01-06-2010, 12:24 PM
The wall to fill the gap from the East to the South and North stands will make a difference to the swirl of the wind and make it much more comfortable and give a more enclosed feel helping the atmossphere. A big Hibs crest or picture of Stanton or a Puma sign for more cash would look fine. I can't imagine that there will ever be a need to fill in the corners for more capacity. Maybe a police control or media room, having said that I think the 20ft wall is likely to be the final outcome.

The reason there is a slight slope on the roof is to allow water to drain away, I would have thought that one was obvious.

It is shaping up really well and will make Easter Road an ideal candidate for Scotland games. With the ground complete it really will be a showpiece stadium.

01-06-2010, 01:42 PM
The wall to fill the gap from the East to the South and North stands will make a difference to the swirl of the wind and make it much more comfortable and give a more enclosed feel helping the atmossphere. A big Hibs crest or picture of Stanton or a Puma sign for more cash would look fine. I can't imagine that there will ever be a need to fill in the corners for more capacity. Maybe a police control or media room, having said that I think the 20ft wall is likely to be the final outcome.

The reason there is a slight slope on the roof is to allow water to drain away, I would have thought that one was obvious.

It is shaping up really well and will make Easter Road an ideal candidate for Scotland games. With the ground complete it really will be a showpiece stadium.I would imagine those "gap fillers" due to their size will be perfect for our new sponsors which are to be announced soon (not the main strip sponsors) but the additional ones that were mentioned last week ..:agree:

01-06-2010, 01:50 PM
I would imagine those "gap fillers" due to their size will be perfect for our new sponsors which are to be announced soon (not the main strip sponsors) but the additional ones that were mentioned last week ..:agree:

"The contracts will see Hibs enjoy a new official car partner, a new sponsor for the players' shorts, a new beer supplier for the stadium bars and hospitality lounges, a betting partner and a "media rights" deal for Easter Road"

Would need to be Media rights which doesnt seem to cover that.

01-06-2010, 01:52 PM
"The contracts will see Hibs enjoy a new official car partner, a new sponsor for the players' shorts, a new beer supplier for the stadium bars and hospitality lounges, a betting partner and a "media rights" deal for Easter Road"

Would need to be Media rights which doesnt seem to cover that.

http://www.footballtradedirectory.com/news/2010/june/hibernian-fc-agree-multi-year.html

What, you mean like big tellys in the corners?

01-06-2010, 01:54 PM

Would need to be Media rights which doesnt seem to cover that.I wonder who the new beer supplier is ....i wonder if its its Belhaven ...:hmmm:

01-06-2010, 01:54 PM
http://www.footballtradedirectory.com/news/2010/june/hibernian-fc-agree-multi-year.html

What, you mean like big tellys in the corners?

Is that the framed adverts you get in pub loos?

01-06-2010, 02:13 PM
Is that the framed adverts you get in pub loos?

Sounds like it to me