View Full Version : The Scheme - BBC last night.

19-05-2010, 07:58 AM
did anyone watch the scheme on telly last night??

didnt know whether to laugh or cry at it! :dizzy:

couldnt help feel sorry for some of the people in it, what a waste of a life!

glad i stay in a well respected posh area of midlothian..... :devil:

19-05-2010, 08:32 AM
Yep i watched it, and i was torn between complete and utter RAGE and laughing at some of the situations.

Felt sorry for the wee 5 year old lassie and the dog that the druggie guy had, they were the real victims.

As someone who has worked since i was 16 its soul destroying seeing these folk with there houses, big tellys, PS3s and that just gettin along with free stuff. I am currently trying to rent a house out and its made more difficult because my wife and i have a dog but now im crapping myself i dont end up in an area as shocking as that one.

The amount of smoking they done was worrying too, must go through some amount of cigarettes a day, woman wouldnt even stop smoking in her bed to get her daughter ready for school.

All they seemed to do was commit crime, smoke, drink, take drugs, reproduce at alarming levels.

khib70
19-05-2010, 08:45 AM
Yep i watched it, and i was torn between complete and utter RAGE and laughing at some of the situations.

Felt sorry for the wee 5 year old lassie and the dog that the druggie guy had, they were the real victims.

As someone who has worked since i was 16 its soul destroying seeing these folk with there houses, big tellys, PS3s and that just gettin along with free stuff. I am currently trying to rent a house out and its made more difficult because my wife and i have a dog but now im crapping myself i dont end up in an area as shocking as that one.

The amount of smoking they done was worrying too, must go through some amount of cigarettes a day, woman wouldnt even stop smoking in her bed to get her daughter ready for school.

All they seemed to do was commit crime, smoke, drink, take drugs, reproduce at alarming levels.
I watched this and I had the same reaction as yourself. The people you describe are a burden on the rest of us, and quite happy to continue to be through the generations.

However, having lived in housing schemes for a long time, it has to be said that the majority of people there are just trying to get on with their lives, go to work, bring up their kids decently. They don't make good television, though.

19-05-2010, 09:16 AM
I watched this and I had the same reaction as yourself. The people you describe are a burden on the rest of us, and quite happy to continue to be through the generations.

However, having lived in housing schemes for a long time, it has to be said that the majority of people there are just trying to get on with their lives, go to work, bring up their kids decently. They don't make good television, though.

Aye my boss knows someone living there and said that aye there are shockingly bad folk like this there but the other 75% of the folk in the scheme are just normal.

The only thing that pleased me was that all the psychos on the show all seemed to attack, steal, and impregnate eachother there was very little involvement of anyone else in the scheme.

Twa Cairpets
19-05-2010, 10:52 AM
Depressing beyond belief.

Monstrously unpleasant little scrotes displaying olympic levels of fundamental stupidity. Nubile teens without the wit to think about birth control. People without the ability, seemingly, to speak in anything above an incoherent mumble.

But above all these things, and most shocking to my liberal and by comparison very privileged background, was the sullen acceptance of squalor and the mundane acceptance of petty thuggery, drugs and Jeremy Kylesque relationships as being absolutely the norm.

The classic example was the woman held up as a paragon of virtue for taking in the needy "it wiz a cry fur help, ken". As SlickShoes pointed out, she could not being ersed to get out of bed to get her daughter (5) ready for school, as she screamed that "some ****** has the phone", and another daughter is lying in bed with her boyfriend claims to be ill to get out of doing her French exam, all this shortly before the police arrive for some other misdemeanour.

Very, very depressing

19-05-2010, 01:01 PM

Having had a go at living on a scheme myself, (won't tell you which one but it ends with "house"). I am coming close to the end of my tether. The majority of people are good hearted, but there are just too many things going on around to keep me here longer than I have to.

No number of wide screen tellies and designer leisure wear would ever make me feel at home here. Too many people who just let life happen to them, and then go looking for someone else to sort it when things go wrong. Far too much pettiness and bitterness, far too much ignorance and racism.

The irony is a lot of the people around here think they are the dogs bolloclks because of the material possessions they have. And of course everyone still lives close to mammy, daddy, aunties, uncles, cousins, and school chums.

I'll be off, as soon as I'm earning again.

magpie1892
19-05-2010, 01:34 PM
I saw it and it was fascinating/appalling.

Does anyone know how many episodes there are?

I can't wait for next week - compulsive viewing.

19-05-2010, 01:39 PM

Having had a go at living on a scheme myself, (won't tell you which one but it ends with "house"). I am coming close to the end of my tether. The majority of people are good hearted, but there are just too many things going on around to keep me here longer than I have to.

No number of wide screen tellies and designer leisure wear would ever make me feel at home here. Too many people who just let life happen to them, and then go looking for someone else to sort it when things go wrong. Far too much pettiness and bitterness, far too much ignorance and racism.

The irony is a lot of the people around here think they are the dogs bolloclks because of the material possessions they have. And of course everyone still lives close to mammy, daddy, aunties, uncles, cousins, and school chums.

I'll be off, as soon as I'm earning again.

You should've went on something like this. I heard this morning that they all got £2500 each for taking part. Sad people living sad lives paid for by us.

19-05-2010, 01:40 PM
I saw it and it was fascinating/appalling.

Does anyone know how many episodes there are?

I can't wait for next week - compulsive viewing.I think it's in 4 parts.

19-05-2010, 02:12 PM
I saw this and actually in the end felt sorry for most of them....the guy with the dog was a junkie by 17 and had clearly h his life destroyed before he even had a chance, the Dad of the nutter family was in 'care' from age 6 before going straight into prison when 16 or so, again what opportunity was presented to these people to break the cycle.

Of course there is individual responsibility and that mother lying in her bed smoking shouting and swearing all over the all over the house and not bothering her ass about her kid getting to school while presenting herself as some sort of good samaritan is nothing to do with cycles but all to do with being pathetic.

What struck me most was just how the hell could this be improved/resolved as it was clear that current iinterventions from government was to simply bang them up or give them social payments...neither of which were doing anything to improve anything.

19-05-2010, 02:24 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00sj713/The_Scheme_Episode_1/

Its on 'watch again' if, like me, you missed it.

19-05-2010, 02:27 PM
You should've went on something like this. I heard this morning that they all got £2500 each for taking part. Sad people living sad lives paid for by us.

I suppose the cost is justified to most people in that it keeps them in ghettos where they don't bother everyone else. Don't feel sorry for them, they will see appearing on telly as putting them into the celebrity bracket, and will be ringing up the likes of Hello as we speak to broker a deal.

The greatest sadness is the way they weigh others down from fulfilling their own lives. It's very hard to make an effort keeping your garden nice, for example, when your neighbour's is like a jungle with old fridges and rusting prams in it.

Your morale soon starts to go. I feel sorry for kids growing up in places like this.

19-05-2010, 02:41 PM
glad i stay in a well respected posh area of midlothian..... :devil:

magpie1892
19-05-2010, 02:50 PM
I think it's in 4 parts.

Ta.

19-05-2010, 02:56 PM
Honestly why cant we just shoot most of these people. They are parasites and give nothing and take plenty from normal society.

19-05-2010, 03:03 PM
I suppose the cost is justified to most people in that it keeps them in ghettos where they don't bother everyone else. Don't feel sorry for them, they will see appearing on telly as putting them into the celebrity bracket, and will be ringing up the likes of Hello as we speak to broker a deal.

The greatest sadness is the way they weigh others down from fulfilling their own lives. It's very hard to make an effort keeping your garden nice, for example, when your neighbour's is like a jungle with old fridges and rusting prams in it.

Your morale soon starts to go. I feel sorry for kids growing up in places like this.
It wouldn't be so bad if they stayed in their ghetto but the town centre resembles Zombies Dawn Of The Dead most days. I know a lot of people who jump in the car and go elsewhere to avoid all the junkies that hang about doing their business all day.
They portray this scheme as being Onthank but it is in fact the 4 schemes that make up North West Kilmarnock where these people live. Think of it as Muirhouse, Pilton, West Granton and Drylaw all close but not one scheme.

magpie1892
19-05-2010, 03:03 PM
Honestly why cant we just shoot most of these people. They are parasites and give nothing and take plenty from normal society.

Careful, you'll have resident sixth-form debater Liverpool Hibs along to chastise/patronise you using the benefit of each one of his 24 years.

19-05-2010, 03:34 PM

Who do you mean by 'we'? Why don't you get a gun and do it, if you feel that strongly about it? Or are you just posturing from behind a keyboard? One can only hope so.

19-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Who do you mean by 'we'? Why don't you get a gun and do it, if you feel that strongly about it? Or are you just posturing from behind a keyboard? One can only hope so.

I dont want to get my hands dirty and in retrospect these people keep jeremy kyle in a job. I suppose the taxes that he and indeed itv pay due to its workforce on the show outweigh the benefits that they scrounge on

19-05-2010, 04:03 PM
Careful, you'll have resident sixth-form debater Liverpool Hibs along to chastise/patronise you using the benefit of each one of his 24 years.

No, I think pretty much everyone with any decency would think he was being a twat as well:rolleyes:

magpie1892
19-05-2010, 04:13 PM
No, I think pretty much everyone with any decency would think he was being a twat as well:rolleyes:

I wasn't defending him, rather pointing out what was on the cards if the lunacy of LH was stirred...

Hibbie_Cameron
19-05-2010, 04:14 PM
It was hilarious for all the wrong reasons

Marvin "I wanna change ma life aroond, get aff tha drugs, fin a burd un hae bairns" A month later he finds out the lass is pregnant but knees her in the stomach "Marvin just kneed es in the stummick, hink it wiz a' accident tho"

Other lines such as "cot for the rashul again" "Awbody kens ma dug, even fok i dinne ken, ken ma dug" You just could not help but laugh

The sad stories are that of the wee girl Kendal. She must be about 6 years old and by the looks of it will never have a chance in life. She was like an old woman and i felt terrible thinking what might come of her in the future. Her stories about what goes on in the area and calling her sister a "*****" were sad but you could not help but s****** all the same. Her mother should spend more time looking after her own rather than inviting jakies to stay with her.

The other star of the show was the dog. Everytime the guy opened the door the dog was offski, probably trying to escpae his owner never to return

19-05-2010, 04:16 PM
It wouldn't be so bad if they stayed in their ghetto but the town centre resembles Zombies Dawn Of The Dead most days. I know a lot of people who jump in the car and go elsewhere to avoid all the junkies that hang about doing their business all day.
They portray this scheme as being Onthank but it is in fact the 4 schemes that make up North West Kilmarnock where these people live. Think of it as Muirhouse, Pilton, West Granton and Drylaw all close but not one scheme.

Kilmarnock may like to consider Edinburgh's approach to apartheid. Schemes located far from the city centre, and the new approach which involves building on land reclaimed from the sea and resticting access to one road that can easily be sealed in the event of any unrest.

19-05-2010, 04:22 PM

Seriously?

Can we talk?

Signed, Hitler, A.

Number69
19-05-2010, 04:22 PM
Hark at the ****in snobs!:bye:

19-05-2010, 04:41 PM

Are you saying we should all aspire to live like these people?

Twa Cairpets
19-05-2010, 05:07 PM

So. Because I can string a few words together, am relatively fortunate, and view the lifestyle and attitudes of the vast majority of the people in the programme as appalling, I'm a snob? (Which I assume you mean as a pejorative term).

Its a fair cop if that is the case. Rather that than the alternative. Now away and enjoy your buckfast and chain-smoked Regals.

19-05-2010, 05:25 PM
If you are brought up and surrounded by people and parents who are like that , what chance do you have ?

Anybody on here could be like that if they were brought up in that manner.

I also think that the bairns in these situations don't waken up mentally ,and see themselves as others see them, until a much later age compared to kids brought up to respect others.

Plenty decent folk live in these areas. Plenty !
Most of them hate living there but have no other option.

Twa Cairpets
19-05-2010, 05:37 PM
If you are brought up and surrounded by people and parents who are like that , what chance do you have ?

Anybody on here could be like that if they were brought up in that manner.

I also think that the bairns in these situations don't waken up mentally ,and see themselves as others see them, until a much later age compared to kids brought up to respect others.

Plenty decent folk live in these areas. Plenty !
Most of them hate living there but have no other option.

Of course - not disputing that for a minute. The people chosen were doubtless chosen in order to start discussions such as this and to keep you going back for more.

I do think though that the "what chance" argument is a bit of a cop-out, and is defeatist. Not so many years ago poverty was much worse and squalor appalling. Within living memory people had no electricity, none of the appliances we take for granted, and none of the social support mechanisms provided by the Government. Whilst there were ****bags, criminals and scroungers around then, there was at least, I think, more of an understanding that there was at a basic level a need to provide and work, if only to survive.

The most depressing thing for me was the hopelessness portrayed as bravado and a lifestyle choice.
"What do you do all day?"
"Hing aboot,huv a laff, get p!ssed".
With not the faintest thought that they could/should do anything different.

19-05-2010, 05:52 PM
Their lives may be horrendous but they all have fantastic TV's:agree:

19-05-2010, 05:57 PM
Of course - not disputing that for a minute. The people chosen were doubtless chosen in order to start discussions such as this and to keep you going back for more.

I do think though that the "what chance" argument is a bit of a cop-out, and is defeatist. Not so many years ago poverty was much worse and squalor appalling. Within living memory people had no electricity, none of the appliances we take for granted, and none of the social support mechanisms provided by the Government. Whilst there were ****bags, criminals and scroungers around then, there was at least, I think, more of an understanding that there was at a basic level a need to provide and work, if only to survive.

The most depressing thing for me was the hopelessness portrayed as bravado and a lifestyle choice.
"What do you do all day?"
"Hing aboot,huv a laff, get p!ssed".
With not the faintest thought that they could/should do anything different.

Decision making , respect for others and ambition are things that are taught by parents to their children over the period of them growing up.

These other kids don't have that influence and don't even think about trying to achieve something until later in life .

Whats to aspire to ?
If their role model signs on for a living they will think its normal and not realise that its not until they themselves are in the same situation and by then its too late for most of them.

19-05-2010, 05:59 PM

This irks me:agree:

Ive just got my first LCD TV 2 weeks ago and i've been in constant employment for 20 odd years.
I also did not pay for it as it came free with a phone contract:greengrin

hibsboy90
19-05-2010, 06:18 PM
Watched it last night as well. That we guy Chris, 20y old but looked 15. He was pumping everything, and next week it looks like he gets with the pregnant girl.

Apart from that, sad to see how many live, and it actually showed many of the classic stereotypes people joke of.

19-05-2010, 08:41 PM
I dont want to get my hands dirty and in retrospect these people keep jeremy kyle in a job. I suppose the taxes that he and indeed itv pay due to its workforce on the show outweigh the benefits that they scrounge on

Okay...so you don't want to get your hands dirty. So who would you deploy to shoot them on your behalf? The army? The police?

Who exactly would you have such marksmen shoot? Every one who lives in a scheme or everyone who lives in a scheme and is on benefits or everyone who lives in a scheme and takes part in such tv programs?

Would you spare the children, perhaps on the grounds that they could be adopted by a presumably stable family and go on to break the cycle of poverty? Or do you believe they are genetically damaged goods and should be culled, like their parents, for the benefit of future taxpayers like myself, yourself and Mr Kyle?

I'd like some evidence that you've thought through this social policy you advocate.

19-05-2010, 08:58 PM
Just finished watching it and you would almost be forgiven for thinking that was some drama programme akin to Shameless! Mixture of sadness and disgust for the way some people lead their lives on it. Feel sorry for the mum and dad who are trying hard to keep their kids on the straight and narrow but losing due to the gangster wannabe son. There are a lot of decent people in schemes it is just imho they end up getting dragged down by the not so good people.

magpie1892
19-05-2010, 09:04 PM
Okay...so you don't want to get your hands dirty. So who would you deploy to shoot them on your behalf? The army? The police?

Who exactly would you have such marksmen shoot? Every one who lives in a scheme or everyone who lives in a scheme and is on benefits or everyone who lives in a scheme and takes part in such tv programs?

Would you spare the children, perhaps on the grounds that they could be adopted by a presumably stable family and go on to break the cycle of poverty? Or do you believe they are genetically damaged goods and should be culled, like their parents, for the benefit of future taxpayers like myself, yourself and Mr Kyle?

I'd like some evidence that you've thought through this social policy you advocate.

It was an unfunny 'joke'. Let's not relive it time and again, eh?!

19-05-2010, 09:28 PM

'' Normal society'' would be too bloody scared to slow down in their four by fours in the schemes whilst taking their kids to the 'decent' schools to take a look at the reality of how some of our fellow citizens have to live.

19-05-2010, 09:34 PM
It was an unfunny 'joke'. Let's not relive it time and again, eh?!

Perhaps I'm missing something but I saw little evidence from the poster in question that it was a joke. This is advertised as a politics discussion board, so I feel it's legitimate to ask someone who advocates the murder of a large section of society to either explain their view or admit it was an ill considered statement ocassioned by his frustration with the behaviour of the participants in this tv program. I haven't seen any evidence of either so I felt it legitimate to press the point. I don't think it's healthy to make such statements, but the person concerned obviously doesn't want to debate it, which is his right - as it's mine to ask him to clarify his statements. Happy to leave it alone now.

Ah, those bad jokes.

magpie1892
19-05-2010, 09:58 PM
Perhaps I'm missing something but I saw little evidence from the poster in question that it was a joke. This is advertised as a politics discussion board, so I feel it's legitimate to ask someone who advocates the murder of a large section of society to either explain their view or admit it was an ill considered statement ocassioned by his frustration with the behaviour of the participants in this tv program. I haven't seen any evidence of either so I felt it legitimate to press the point. I don't think it's healthy to make such statements, but the person concerned obviously doesn't want to debate it, which is his right - as it's mine to ask him to clarify his statements. Happy to leave it alone now.

Ah, those bad jokes.

I don't think he was serious...

libernian
19-05-2010, 10:27 PM

they are fantastic tv! i thought it was hilarious its like eastenders but real life and gadgies instead of gangsters (apart from chris that is)

next week looks like a cracker. think the wee guy who looks about fifteen (chris i think) will get wi that junky living with marvin. marvin finds out about n goes radge then the good smaritans daughter also goes radge.... hm, not sure gonna be good tho!

the girl junky staying with marvin is actually pretty hot. just a pity when she spoke she had that weird parnoid junky / unconfident look in her eye. dunno whats shes doin with marvin, hes about as good lookin as his dog (bullet i think) which is a ****in ugly dog to be fair. mind u they say some people look like their dogs.

p.s. no need for all the snobbery, live n let live. for example, marvin will have a pretty bad criminal record as will others. obviously hes gonna find it difficult to find a job and hes probably not got much confidence which is a shame for the guy. at least hes attempting to stay off smack. just a shame all of his friends will probably drag him back down into it again but least hes givin it a go.

Hibbie_Cameron
19-05-2010, 10:52 PM
Have been reading various other forums this evening and have gatehred the following:

Chris and Candace have just had a child together
Bullet the dug is dead
Marvin was walking down Killie high street this afternoon recieving celeb like treatment

19-05-2010, 11:25 PM
I was absolutely speechless watching that last night. I already knew it deep down but I just found it difficult to comprehend that people like that are actually going about in this country.

There were moments where I laughed and moments where I came close to crying. I watched in utter disbelief as the mother lay in her bed and screamed orders at her kids to try and get them up for school. I think this was about 20 minutes before school started and the wee girl eventually arrived at school (with an older sibling I believe, not the mother) at 9:30am. I could not believe it when the mother used the "c" word as her young daughter (I think) lay next to her in the bed. Honestly, what hope do these children have in later life? It might be difficult to implement but I really don't think people like that should be allowed to raise children. All they are doing is allowing the cycle to go on and on, it's never ending.

It was really telling when the five year old girl was giving the most coherent and most sensible comments out of the entire family. I'm sure that'll be knocked out of her over the next ten years or so, as the f'ing and c'ing, drink and drugs will soon take over.

I also felt really sorry for the dog. It's obviously switched on since it made an attempt to escape.

I think it's really bad how the BBC, amongst other broadcasters, regularly have foreigners on their programmes who speak perfect English and they put up their comments in the form of subtitles on the screen. Yet last night, when these people were on, there was absolutely no sign of any subtitles, despite the fact that there were several times during the programme where I had absolutely no idea what was being discussed. They could have been saying absolutely anything at times last night and I would have been none the wiser.

The one bright moment for me came when the boy got done for a racial assault and after the sentencing the mother said to the father in her deadpan, weegie accent, "They said he cawed um a Bin Laden basturt, he widnae caw naeb'dy a Bin Laden basturt".

It might have just been me but it was just the way she said it and kept a straight face at the same time as well, I was nearly in tears at the time.

All in all, it was a thoroughly depressing programme and a really sad insight into the kind of people that are actually present in society and the kind of lives that they lead.

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 12:11 AM
several times during the programme where I had absolutely no idea what was being discussed. They could have been saying absolutely anything at times last night and I would have been none the wiser.

Totally agree. I don't hail from Scotland but I've been up here a while but at times I couldn't make out what was being said.

However, the worst aspect, as you also point out, was the wee five-year-old. As bright as a button but she'll be a mother in a decade without a doubt.

20-05-2010, 12:38 AM
I didn't watch much of it, only parts, I feel really sorry for that 5 year old girl, she really needs to be taken from her family and given a foster family who will give her hope and make her want to succeed, with a mother like the one she has, she'll be just another bright spark that never got the chance to shine, these folk live in what seems like poverty and yet they have a TV wider than my bed, I beg the question "how does that work" they would need to be on some serious benefits if they were to get a TV like that. What it also made me do is realise how truly privileged I am, I live in a nice area, live in a really nice house, I was privately educated for secondary school, I got a chance to do what I wanted with my life, I'm going to university but most of all, it made me realise how lucky I am to have parents who want me and my sister to succeed in life. For some people there is no way out, they are forever stuck in a vicious cycle.

20-05-2010, 07:06 AM
I didn't watch much of it, only parts, I feel really sorry for that 5 year old girl, she really needs to be taken from her family and given a foster family who will give her hope and make her want to succeed, with a mother like the one she has, she'll be just another bright spark that never got the chance to shine, these folk live in what seems like poverty and yet they have a TV wider than my bed, I beg the question "how does that work" they would need to be on some serious benefits if they were to get a TV like that. What it also made me do is realise how truly privileged I am, I live in a nice area, live in a really nice house, I was privately educated for secondary school, I got a chance to do what I wanted with my life, I'm going to university but most of all, it made me realise how lucky I am to have parents who want me and my sister to succeed in life. For some people there is no way out, they are forever stuck in a vicious cycle.

Never a truer word was spoken.

20-05-2010, 07:19 AM
Bullet the dug is dead

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo:boo hoo:

khib70
20-05-2010, 08:08 AM
'' Normal society'' would be too bloody scared to slow down in their four by fours in the schemes whilst taking their kids to the 'decent' schools to take a look at the reality of how some of our fellow citizens have to live.
:bitchy:Choose to live

RoslinInstHibby
20-05-2010, 08:34 AM
http://www.bebo.com/c/profile?MemberId=2054781645

admins feel free to remove if the link is breaking any rules....

this is the 18 year old lass that was let out of jail (on a tag) and got pregnant with marvin after a month or so, but from her profile pic she appears to be with Chris now and pregnant to him.....mind you getting knee'd in the stomach whilst pregnant from your boyfriend who was out of his face at the time is probably a fair enough reason to leave him....

20-05-2010, 08:50 AM

Not being funny but will either of these "parents" support the kid at all? I have a degree of sympathy for people that work hard to try better themselves but end up being pushed back down but there is too many people in poverty stricken areas that contribute nothing at all to their community and society as a whole. The social fund is supposed to be there for people who fall on hard times not people who view it as easy street where the government give you money because you are too thick or lazy to get a job!

20-05-2010, 09:06 AM
I was absolutely speechless watching that last night. I already knew it deep down but I just found it difficult to comprehend that people like that are actually going about in this country.

There were moments where I laughed and moments where I came close to crying. I watched in utter disbelief as the mother lay in her bed and screamed orders at her kids to try and get them up for school. I think this was about 20 minutes before school started and the wee girl eventually arrived at school (with an older sibling I believe, not the mother) at 9:30am. I could not believe it when the mother used the "c" word as her young daughter (I think) lay next to her in the bed. Honestly, what hope do these children have in later life? It might be difficult to implement but I really don't think people like that should be allowed to raise children. All they are doing is allowing the cycle to go on and on, it's never ending.

It was really telling when the five year old girl was giving the most coherent and most sensible comments out of the entire family. I'm sure that'll be knocked out of her over the next ten years or so, as the f'ing and c'ing, drink and drugs will soon take over.

I also felt really sorry for the dog. It's obviously switched on since it made an attempt to escape.

I think it's really bad how the BBC, amongst other broadcasters, regularly have foreigners on their programmes who speak perfect English and they put up their comments in the form of subtitles on the screen. Yet last night, when these people were on, there was absolutely no sign of any subtitles, despite the fact that there were several times during the programme where I had absolutely no idea what was being discussed. They could have been saying absolutely anything at times last night and I would have been none the wiser.

The one bright moment for me came when the boy got done for a racial assault and after the sentencing the mother said to the father in her deadpan, weegie accent, "They said he cawed um a Bin Laden basturt, he widnae caw naeb'dy a Bin Laden basturt".

It might have just been me but it was just the way she said it and kept a straight face at the same time as well, I was nearly in tears at the time.

All in all, it was a thoroughly depressing programme and a really sad insight into the kind of people that are actually present in society and the kind of lives that they lead.

I know programmes like this can be depressing but you can console yourself by remembering theres nothing new here. Hogarth was painting 'gin lane' 250 years ago, even in the industrial revolution there was an underclass that was looked down, laughed at and (if you were sympathetic) pitied. The only difference now is they can (or could?) get cheap credit, and at least they can have some fun on their Wiis while theyre all getting off their face. Its an improvement:agree:

Number69
20-05-2010, 09:42 AM
So. Because I can string a few words together, am relatively fortunate, and view the lifestyle and attitudes of the vast majority of the people in the programme as appalling, I'm a snob? (Which I assume you mean as a pejorative term).

Its a fair cop if that is the case. Rather that than the alternative. Now away and enjoy your buckfast and chain-smoked Regals.

No, you're a snob because you take these things for granted and judging by your last comment then I am not far of the mark :greengrin

for the record, i dont smoke, and I drink Jack Daniels...from a glass :wink:

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 10:13 AM

this is the 18 year old lass that was let out of jail (on a tag) and got pregnant with marvin after a month or so, but from her profile pic she appears to be with Chris now and pregnant to him.....mind you getting knee'd in the stomach whilst pregnant from your boyfriend who was out of his face at the time is probably a fair enough reason to leave him....

No, this is the then-15-year-old girl who's the daughter of the Kay woman who also has the five-year-old girl that she shouts '*****' in front of.

The girl you're thinking of is Dayna.

RoslinInstHibby
20-05-2010, 10:16 AM
No, this is the then-15-year-old girl who's the daughter of the Kay woman who also has the five-year-old girl that she shouts '*****' in front of.

cheers, got them mixed up, must be cos of the hair colour:thumbsup:

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 10:31 AM
cheers, got them mixed up, must be cos of the hair colour:thumbsup:

Aye, one's a bottled blonde and the other a brunette. Easy mistake to make!

Dayna could be a cracker but her life's over before it's begun thanks to heroin.

Twa Cairpets
20-05-2010, 10:32 AM
No, you're a snob because you take these things for granted and judging by your last comment then I am not far of the mark :greengrin

for the record, i dont smoke, and I drink Jack Daniels...from a glass :wink:

What utter rubbish. You make wild assumptions that "I take things for granted" because - and I quote from myself - "I can string a few words together, am relatively fortunate, and view the lifestyle and attitudes of the vast majority of the people in the programme as appalling".

No, I work hard and never, ever take things for granted. Like many people, I've been made redundant (twice), struggled with money, and had to make choices about where the money goes.

I make no apologies for having a good upbringing, having good parents who cared, and going to a school with good teachers that helped me get good grades (and before you jump to yet another assumption it was an Edinburgh comprehensive).

If you want to support the lifestyles and behaviour of the people in the programme as being something aspirational, then thats up to you. If viewing it as awful makes me a snob, then, once again, gulity as charged m'lud.

khib70
20-05-2010, 10:33 AM
What utter rubbish. You make wild assumptions that "I take things for granted" because - and I quote from myself - "I can string a few words together, am relatively fortunate, and view the lifestyle and attitudes of the vast majority of the people in the programme as appalling".

No, I work hard and never, ever take things for granted. Like many people, I've been made redundant (twice), struggled with money, and had to make choices about where the money goes.

I make no apologies for having a good upbringing, having good parents who cared, and going to a school with good teachers that helped me get good grades (and before you jump to yet another assumption it was an Edinburgh comprehensive).

If you want to support the lifestyles and behaviour of the people in the programme as being something aspirational, then thats up to you. If viewing it as awful makes me a snob, then, once again, gulity as charged m'lud.
:agree::top marks

Number69
20-05-2010, 10:36 AM

Both my comments were tongue in cheek, I really dont care about your opnion on this matter, as I myself dont have one. Live and let live thats my motto so you take your moral high ground over to brokeback I'm sure they will entertain :wink:

Twa Cairpets
20-05-2010, 10:39 AM

Just a thought, as the boy Chris is 20 (although he looks about 12), the girl is 15, and they have been filmed in bed together and she has had a kid, does that not make him technically a Rix-esque candidate for the sex-offenders register. Is the mother guilty of anything in allowing it to happen under her nose?

I am not being judgemental (well, maybe a bit) but the boy Chris's father said something at the start of the show about Ayrshire being home to a cult of paedophiles. Maybe he was right

Number69
20-05-2010, 10:44 AM
Just a thought, as the boy Chris is 20 (although he looks about 12), the girl is 15, and they have been filmed in bed together and she has had a kid, does that not make him technically a Rix-esque candidate for the sex-offenders register. Is the mother guilty of anything in allowing it to happen under her nose?

I am not being judgemental (well, maybe a bit) but the boy Chris's father said something at the start of the show about Ayrshire being home to a cult of paedophiles. Maybe he was right

Blatantly lying to the police,filming people shooting up and carrying illegal drugs are all against the law and were all there for us to see...all illegal and shocking if this is not followed up.

Twa Cairpets
20-05-2010, 10:45 AM
Both my comments were tongue in cheek, I really dont care about your opnion on this matter, as I myself dont have one. Live and let live thats my motto so you take your moral high ground over to brokeback I'm sure they will entertain :wink:

Very good. Fling a petty bit of abuse in then backtrack, and post the above garbage when you havent got a response.

i'm guessing the irony in the emboldened bit above was unintentional?

Number69
20-05-2010, 10:52 AM
Very good. Fling a petty bit of abuse in then backtrack, and post the above garbage when you havent got a response.

i'm guessing the irony in the emboldened bit above was unintentional?

Its good.......but its not right :wink:

20-05-2010, 10:54 AM
Blatantly lying to the police,filming people shooting up and carrying illegal drugs are all against the law and were all there for us to see...all illegal and shocking if this is not followed up.

Police can't do anything with the drugs, what is done is done, if the police don't catch you doing it, then there isn't a huge amount they can do

Number69
20-05-2010, 10:56 AM
Police can't do anything with the drugs, what is done is done, if the police don't catch you doing it, then there isn't a huge amount they can do

And the BBC condoning it and using it for entertainment purposes??

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 11:04 AM

It is a criminal act and, yes, if convicted he would be required to sign the Sex Offenders' register but I'm guessing there's little motivation to pursue a prosecution for any number of reasons.

The mother's role is more of a grey area. In the US she'd be looking at a charge of 'reckless endangerment' for letting her daughter become the victim (!) of a sex crime and the fact that it's under her roof is pretty damning but I'm not sure where the PF stands on this in Scotland?

20-05-2010, 11:19 AM
I dont think they should be shot but at the very least they shouldnt be allowed to breed. Cannae help myself before all the Nazi lines come out. We dont let mentally ill people in hospitals breed and there is definately something missing with the majority of the people on this programme.

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 11:25 AM
I dont think they should be shot but at the very least they shouldnt be allowed to breed. Cannae help myself before all the Nazi lines come out. We dont let mentally ill people in hospitals breed and there is definately something missing with the majority of the people on this programme.

Probably a better option would be to remove children from people who do not have the means to pay for their upbringing and give them a decent home with loving parents who can't have kids of their own (couples like this are not in short supply).

The 16-year-old that's just popped one out is bragging on her bebo page about her new flat. On assumes she didn't pay for it herself nor, and I'm happy to be corrected here, has she ever likely earned a sinlge penny in her entire life. Mucg like me pay for her to breed and leech off the state. It stinks but options are limited and I'm not getting the feeling that the 'powers that be' are interested in changing the status quo.

Twa Cairpets
20-05-2010, 11:26 AM
It is a criminal act and, yes, if convicted he would be required to sign the Sex Offenders' register but I'm guessing there's little motivation to pursue a prosecution for any number of reasons.

The mother's role is more of a grey area. In the US she'd be looking at a charge of 'reckless endangerment' for letting her daughter become the victim (!) of a sex crime and the fact that it's under her roof is pretty damning but I'm not sure where the PF stands on this in Scotland?

I don't think he is a predatory paedophile or anything, but he does now have a track record of impregnating under 16 girls. I may of course be wrong, but Im guessing he wont be settling down for a life of domestic bliss with the girl, so presumably he will continue to see nothing wrong with being a mobile sperm donor to the daft wee lassies of Onthank. Is there not some level of motivation for prosecution to avoid him doing it again?

20-05-2010, 11:32 AM

What people define as snobbery, and what these same people - by extension - see as "negative" character traits always makes me laugh.

For all these people born on the scheme, of the vast majority who are just decent and want to improve their life, how many of them came from a background similar to that of those serial ****ging, benfit dependent wastrels we saw on the programme? I'd reckon a fair few at least.

Yes, it's very difficult to extract yourself from that cycle of drugs, benefits, crime, unemployment etc etc, but for those people who do ABSOLUTELY nothing to even try to get out of it, I have no sympathy at all.

What if, with their dole/benefit money they took care of the essentials and then used/saved any extra cash to look for a new job or take a course at college - heck, if they're Scottish going to a Scottish University or College (the latter I'm not sure of.......) they'd probably get their tuition fees paid for.

But no, widescreen telly's, booze and drugs all the way. Judge people by the choices that THEY make, not the environment they find themselves in.

The only ones I feel sympathy for out of that "cast" is the wee bairn - I hope she manages to "get out"!!!

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 11:34 AM
I don't think he is a predatory paedophile or anything, but he does now have a track record of impregnating under 16 girls. I may of course be wrong, but Im guessing he wont be settling down for a life of domestic bliss with the girl, so presumably he will continue to see nothing wrong with being a mobile sperm donor to the daft wee lassies of Onthank. Is there not some level of motivation for prosecution to avoid him doing it again?

I need to tread carefully here due but I broadly agree with your sentiments. I'm thinking, though, that if the PF sought a conviction and got one then he (Chris) clearly doesn't give a **** about anything and would he bother to sign the register? Would the fine be discharged in any other way than coming out of his benefits? Would he even be bothered if he got the jail? If he got Community Service, would he turn up?

He doesn't seem to bother about anything other than his hole and getting wasted.

20-05-2010, 11:39 AM
I know programmes like this can be depressing but you can console yourself by remembering theres nothing new here. Hogarth was painting 'gin lane' 250 years ago, even in the industrial revolution there was an underclass that was looked down, laughed at and (if you were sympathetic) pitied. The only difference now is they can (or could?) get cheap credit, and at least they can have some fun on their Wiis while theyre all getting off their face. Its an improvement:agree:

What frustrates me is that the people in Gin Lane never had a chance. These people have had the NHS, free education and countless local initiatives thrown at them, yet they still chose to be lazy.

They take so much for free, and then laugh in our faces when we criticise the way they live. Of course everyone is free to define what life is acceptable for them, but why should others fund it?

A dangerous road to go down though. Do we sterilise people who smoke cigarettes, as they clearly have a disregard for the consequences of an early death?

We could get into nasty territory, but we have to acknowledge that there is a section of society who are taking the p*ss, and work out some way that we can encourage them to lead more meaningful lives.

What gets my goat is that these are the vermin who will always be OK. A clampdown on benefits will most likely affect the people who need it most.

20-05-2010, 11:51 AM
Marvin looks like Munch from 2 pints :thumbsup:

http://www.lakemorefisheries.co.uk/images/munchface.jpg

20-05-2010, 12:06 PM
Marvin looks like Munch from 2 pints :thumbsup:

He will also no doubt cost the state a lot of money per annum as will others like him via his methadone, doctor appointments, run ins with the police and susbequent legal representation. This is not even taking into consideration the fact he will be given free money from the kind people in charge of the welfare state despite never having worked in his life! He also gets his own flat when people who work hard have to pay over the odds in rent. There is a definate inbalance in the way the welfare state is happy to be abused by those least deserving of help while OAP's who worked hard and paid their dues have to go through cold weather afraid to turn their heating on or eat properly due to their measly pension.

20-05-2010, 12:09 PM
:bitchy:Choose to live

Do they choose it? Is being born to useless parents a choice? Is having no positive role model a choice? When in her life will the five year old girl graduate from being deserving of sympathy to becoming an object of scorn? At which point of the cycle does her course in life become her choice?

20-05-2010, 12:25 PM
What frustrates me is that the people in Gin Lane never had a chance. These people have had the NHS, free education and countless local initiatives thrown at them, yet they still chose to be lazy.

They take so much for free, and then laugh in our faces when we criticise the way they live.

As frank gallagher says "you **** on our heads, but you pay your taxes".

I never watched the programme, however what this thread has clearly shown is it hit it's intended market. It's drummed up the debates the BBC knew it would.

Call me cynical but it's come out now just days after we got a new Tory-ish government.

Twa Cairpets
20-05-2010, 12:27 PM
Do they choose it? Is being born to useless parents a choice? Is having no positive role model a choice? When in her life will the five year old girl graduate from being deserving of sympathy to becoming an object of scorn? At which point of the cycle does her course in life become her choice?

Fair points, but demonstrably untrue insofar as lots of people do make the choice in similar circumstances. Its not easy, and its harder with no parental guidance, but there are other adults out there who will have an input (teachers, for instance) so its not as if they are constantly exposed to negative input. They see different lifestyles on TV. They are generally computer lliterate. There is a small but significant subset of people who take pride in stupidity and proclaim it as a virtue.

If the kids want to behave as adults, then they need to have adult levels of responsibility.

The 5 year old girl is a terrible case and a tragedy waiting to happen. The woman sets herself up as the protector of the weak and vulnerable, but is in fact exposing her own dysfunctional family to drugs, drinks, criminality and violence without any special qualification or apparent ability. What would i do? Take her into care today and put her with a family who might actually develop her, not chain smoke around her and shout c*** as she ******s in her pit as the wee girl tries to get herself ready for school.

20-05-2010, 12:28 PM

Her "other half box" is hilarious.:faf:

"a fancy the baws aff him lmfao......nae **** will come atween us....we have the odd fallout but hoo disny. especially when wur drinkin lol..... he couldn’t resist smacking the lips on me that night in sharn broons "

Cannae wait for the next episode.

20-05-2010, 12:39 PM

You should have a look at stats for social mobility. Its about as hard to get out of poverty now as its ever been.

20-05-2010, 01:01 PM
Did Alasdair Gray in Lanark name Unthank after Onthank? :dunno:

magpie1892
20-05-2010, 02:26 PM
Did Alasdair Gray in Lanark name Unthank after Onthank? :dunno:

I was wondering that. It can't be a coincidence.

Hibbie_Cameron
20-05-2010, 03:37 PM
I cant rememeber exactly but was it £400 worth of coke, that chris snorted in one night?

The BBC have certainly come out as winners in this. Everyone at my work is still talkign about it two days after broadcast

RoslinInstHibby
20-05-2010, 03:45 PM
I cant rememeber exactly but was it £400 worth of coke, that chris snorted in one night?

The BBC have certainly come out as winners in this. Everyone at my work is still talkign about it two days after broadcast

same here:agree:

and yeah i think it was £400 worth

20-05-2010, 03:50 PM
As frank gallagher says "you **** on our heads, but you pay your taxes".

I never watched the programme, however what this thread has clearly shown is it hit it's intended market. It's drummed up the debates the BBC knew it would.

Call me cynical but it's come out now just days after we got a new Tory-ish government.

I thought of that myself. I can't pretend for a minute that there is any scientific or rational basis to my opinions. My frustration comes from the fact that some people milk the state for everything they can, and - I know this from experience - they take up resources that other people desperately need.

I don't know how much they actually cost other than the time they take up in my line of work.

You should have a look at stats for social mobility. Its about as hard to get out of poverty now as its ever been.

Tell me about it. Whether it's having to take credit at extortionate rates, or paying more for your food because the only store for miles is a Somerfield. What's getting my goat is the families who expect the state to do everything for them, and have no intention of putting anything back.

I can't morally justify my stance, and I wouldn't seriously argue for it. It's just that I see such people at work and at home, and occasionally you think they'd be none the worse for a good thrashing.

Does anyone seriously believe that the people in "The Scheme" are victims, and if so victims of what?

20-05-2010, 04:17 PM
I thought of that myself. I can't pretend for a minute that there is any scientific or rational basis to my opinions. My frustration comes from the fact that some people milk the state for everything they can, and - I know this from experience - they take up resources that other people desperately need.

I don't know how much they actually cost other than the time they take up in my line of work.

Tell me about it. Whether it's having to take credit at extortionate rates, or paying more for your food because the only store for miles is a Somerfield. What's getting my goat is the families who expect the state to do everything for them, and have no intention of putting anything back.

I can't morally justify my stance, and I wouldn't seriously argue for it. It's just that I see such people at work and at home, and occasionally you think they'd be none the worse for a good thrashing.

Does anyone seriously believe that the people in "The Scheme" are victims, and if so victims of what? Yes they are victims. Victims of being too lazy to get a grip, get out and work to save enough money to escape. I know there are people who live there who do work and still live there but if you are the kind of person likely to be drawn into heavy drinking/ drug taking you owe it to yourself to GTF out of there away from temptaion on every corner.

Chuckie
20-05-2010, 04:29 PM

What makes you so remarkable that you should be spared the bullet ?

hstn747
20-05-2010, 05:02 PM
I think that a whole lot more money should be spent on looking after young kids/teenagers than currently is. Scrap the billions they're going to spend on Trident and use it to look after kids and give them opportunities and reduce the chances of them being sucked into the same lifestyle as their parents.

There are many teachers out there who can't get jobs. They could spend money on actually reducing class sizes in primary school so that every kids actually learns maths/english poperly; learns how to be a functioning member of society and learns that just because their parent(s) have been or are: in and out of jail / alcoholics / drug users or whatever, that there are ways for them not to have to do the same.

A lot of these kids will develop psychological and emotional problems from growing up around violence/drugs/alcohol and/or without love. Employ qualified people to help these kids while they are young and before they're beyond help and discover drink and drugs.

Money could be spent on subsidising (not free) extra curricular activities. It would create more jobs and ensure kids have things to do rather than heading back to broken homes/communities. And by giving kids the chance to find what they are good at/enjoy, their self confidence will be built up and they will have something to live for.

Just look at that kid on the show, Chris and his sister. She's got her dancing while he's got no (in his mind) reason to stay off drink & drugs. The mother was saying how expensive the dancing is. There are probably plenty of people out there who can't afford to keep their kids doing other activities.

Provide more affordable activites on week nights but especially friday or saturday nights & perhaps more kids will choose to do them rather than have their first taste of buckie.

20-05-2010, 05:24 PM
Ah, those bad jokes.

Speaking of which, BBC News now saying that a report is recommending that peeps be paid by the state to give up overeating. They'll just spend it on chocolate!

20-05-2010, 06:28 PM
While my line of lets just shoot them all has been taken far more seriously than I imagined it would. I for the record am not advocating the mass shooting of members of our populace. Can you imagine how much that would cost? Plus gov resources are streched as it is. Far better to hang them, we can reuse the same rope:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Ok ok bad joke, no mass killings then. But I do think that the nanny state that people like them do happily exploit needs to be reviewed. I see people like them every day in my job, I have been threatened, attempted to be robbed, abused and so forth. In fact if you have a look at a thread I posted a while back you would see exactly the kind of stuff I have put up with being a humble postman.

But the welfare system is there for a reason, I myself like many others have used it when needed. Yet I bet me and many other members of this board have never leeched for years of a soft society, willing to accept it. I have delivered Giros to people who probably could not tell you what a job centre looks like. Countless generations who live a life sitting on their backside because its seen as the norm.

Well I think if people take benefits over a vast period of time, say 5 years or more of unemployment then they dam well better work for it. Im sure they can be made to do community service and work groups and so forth to earn their benefits. Also I dont buy this crap about drug cycles, I have lost two relations to drugs and while its tragic it was all of their own making.

20-05-2010, 09:25 PM
A dangerous road to go down though. Do we sterilise people who smoke cigarettes, as they clearly have a disregard for the consequences of an early death?

I think there is a difference between not letting people breed who do not have and never will have the social or parental skills to raise childeen to become contributing members of society and folk who smoke. Why would we prevent smokers from procreating?

21-05-2010, 09:19 AM
I think there is a difference between not letting people breed who do not have and never will have the social or parental skills to raise childeen to become contributing members of society and folk who smoke. Why would we prevent smokers from procreating?

Who is to judge what is acceptable behaviour? How do we define acceptable social and parenting skills?

If we go by what the majority say, then I can see the time when smoking is seen as deviant behaviour. When you think about it, is someone who engages in a habit which has a high chance of shortening their lives behaving in a responsible manner?

I don't think this way, it's just that when you start making decisions about how other people should live their lives, then you get into all sort of mad cul de sacs.

21-05-2010, 09:57 AM
Who is to judge what is acceptable behaviour? How do we define acceptable social and parenting skills?

If we go by what the majority say, then I can see the time when smoking is seen as deviant behaviour. When you think about it, is someone who engages in a habit which has a high chance of shortening their lives behaving in a responsible manner?

I don't think this way, it's just that when you start making decisions about how other people should live their lives, then you get into all sort of mad cul de sacs.

I would think contributing to society by paying taxes instead of sponging off the likes of you and me via the welfare state would be a start.
It could be argued that smokers pay quite a bit of tax on their fags as do drinkers.
It could also be argued that they are a drain on the NHS when they are ill because of their smokiong and drinking though.
Perhaps we should ask them to pay for treament for self inflicted smoking and drinking related illness treatment to make it a bit fairer. I would include accident and emergency treatment in that also where its a contributing factor to their injuries.
I wouldnt have a problem with either if they were self inflicted to be fair.

Did you know if you are in a road accident and call the emergency services you get the bill for that call out. You are then supposed to claim it back off your insurance/ Why should I as a driver be faced with higher insurance premiums that this ultimately leads to whilst reckless behaviour through drink and drugs get off scott free? (I know this to my cost as I hit a pedestrian out their mind a few years back,(on the bypass I may add) and was gobsmaked when the bill came in) I refused to pay the bill but thats another story.
Not fair in the slightest.
Maybe shooting is the answer.

21-05-2010, 10:36 AM
I would think contributing to society by paying taxes instead of sponging off the likes of you and me via the welfare state would be a start.
It could be argued that smokers pay quite a bit of tax on their fags as do drinkers.
It could also be argued that they are a drain on the NHS when they are ill because of their smokiong and drinking though.
Perhaps we should ask them to pay for treament for self inflicted smoking and drinking related illness treatment to make it a bit fairer. I would include accident and emergency treatment in that also where its a contributing factor to their injuries.

Did you know if you are in a road accident and call the emergency services you get the bill for that call out. You are then supposed to claim it back off your insurance/ Why should I as a driver be faced with higher insurance premiums that this ultimately leads to whilst reckless behaviour through drink and drugs get off scott free? (I know this to my cost as I hit a pedestrian out their mind a few years back,(on the bypass I may add) and was gobsmaked when the bill came in) I refused to pay the bill but thats another story.

It's not about smoking, it's about where you draw the line. It's about how you judge who is a fit person.

I don't know the answer, like you, I am sick of paying for people who take all the time and put nothing back.

JE89
21-05-2010, 12:25 PM
If we look at poverty in this country (i.e the Scheme) and poverty in parts of Africa it is frightening to see the difference in attitude. Here, we have the 'I'll dae whit a want' attitude where as in places abroad the people have to work to survive.

Don't know the solution, but surely these people have it too 'easy' to be able to piss about all day, getting drunk and doing drunks. I am aware that there is a recession on, but surely even during the prospering years things weren't that much different or were they?

The realitiy of the show is pretty shocking but I'm hooked.

21-05-2010, 01:08 PM
The BBC could have picked any scheme in any city or town across Scotland, and found the same minority who have no hope or aspirations. This programme should be shown in schools, ideal for any budding sociologists. :greengrin

21-05-2010, 05:52 PM
If we look at poverty in this country (i.e the Scheme) and poverty in parts of Africa it is frightening to see the difference in attitude. Here, we have the 'I'll dae whit a want' attitude where as in places abroad the people have to work to survive.

Don't know the solution, but surely these people have it too 'easy' to be able to piss about all day, getting drunk and doing drunks. I am aware that there is a recession on, but surely even during the prospering years things weren't that much different or were they?

The realitiy of the show is pretty shocking but I'm hooked.

:agree: Been watching the thing on BBC 3 where some rich kids have gone off to third world countries to discover how their luxury goods are made, and some of the conditions that they've encountered have been horrific, but despite that there is a huge sense of community, responsibility, and duty amongst the people that live there who are living hand to mouth every day.

I finally got round to watching The Scheme last night, and one of the first thoughts I had was to look at the poverty portrayed here compared to poverty in Africa.

All the people had massive flat screen tvs. In Africa (sorry, I can't remember specifically which country in Africa it was) there were 5 year old kids with flatscreen tvs. Except these were broken tvs that had been dumped, and the 5 year olds were working, scavenging parts from them literally to feed themselves. These kids had the choice between spending the money on education, or on food.

Meanwhile, in The Scheme there's a mother that can't be ersed getting out her bed to send her daughter to school on time, and who tells the school her other daughter is sick so she doesn't have to sit an exam.

I know there are tons of factors that contribute to why people behave the way they do, however when someone's putting forward poverty as mitigation into why folk are criminals, they should compare it to the poverty that these African kids are dealing with, sleeping on dumps etc.

21-05-2010, 07:48 PM

1. I'm outraged on your behalf.
2. I'm nosey. What happened (clearly it's none of my business - feel free to ignore me....)

Darth Hibbie
21-05-2010, 07:53 PM
2. I'm nosey. What happened (clearly it's none of my business - feel free to ignore me....)

I'll add who sent you the bill?

21-05-2010, 10:33 PM
I've just watched that tonight on the re-run.

Firstly, I'm not shocked at all. That's just what happens in places like that and for anyone to be shocked that such people exist suggests that they have had a sheltered upbringing. I had a good upbringing but hung around in and with people from the familiar estates in the west of Edinburgh.

The people who have been highlighted have weak and addictive personalities and that, combined with the upbringing results in them becoming these nobodies who drain our resources.
The area and it's temptations are an extra hurdle but one that can be overcome if you have the inner desire to make something of yourself. It's the same with the problems you might have experienced "role-model" wise.

The people from these places I knew had pretty damn awful upbringings and grew up in total poverty yet to this day they have self-confidence, self-respect and want to make something of themselves. In fact a a few of them have. Some of them are bampots but that goes with the territory.
There were always people knocking around who were destined to be junkies and wasters. These people had the best intentions in the world, like everyone else but couldn't keep away from whatever was messing them up. The only difference between them and the guys I used to hang around with (and sometimes still drink with) was their personality and inner confidence.

Unfortunately, You just get people like that in life who have those personality traits. People look for the easy way out or turn to the easy option when things get tough. It's not class specific either as there are plenty of middle class drug addicts and alcoholics. However, it's easier to escape for those people than it is for the people in the schemes who seem "trapped".

One poster made an excellent point about the lassie who was a dancer. She was growing up in a toxic environment but escaped it all by having a passion.
Maybe if more was available to people in council estates then less people might end up "lost". I've known junkies who have been passionate about things but it just been talk and they've never had the chance to indulge in something they really love. You might say "why don't they seek it out?" but I'll go back to their personality. Presenting opportinities whatever they may be and encouraging learning might not have a great success rate statistically but how much does it cost for a years supply of methadone...and how much will it cost to support the junkie bairn they have raised because they never had the opportunity?

22-05-2010, 04:32 PM
Maybe if more was available to people in council estates then less people might end up "lost". I've known junkies who have been passionate about things but it just been talk and they've never had the chance to indulge in something they really love. You might say "why don't they seek it out?" but I'll go back to their personality. Presenting opportinities whatever they may be and encouraging learning might not have a great success rate statistically but how much does it cost for a years supply of methadone...and how much will it cost to support the junkie bairn they have raised because they never had the opportunity?

I think there is actually quite a lot there to give people opportunities. Certainly in the scheme I live in, there is a whole raft of projects to help people move on. The poverty industry is actually quite a lucrative source of employment from what I can see.

Like you, I don't find "the scheme" eye opening at all. Maybe the fact that it has come as a shock to so many speaks volumes.

I was in a house in Ballingry, where a wee tot was playing with a toy computer. Her mother (must have been 19) astounded me by saying "oh, I doubt if I'll ever know anything about computers".

It just struck me that this girl had grown up with an attitude that ignorance is acceptable. I had to take what she said with a pinch of salt anyway, I'd be very surprised if she hadn't used Facebook for example. Needless to say, the mandatory wide screen LCD telly took pride of place in the corner of the living room.

I should really feel sorry for the girl, she had been born into a family and environment where the career of choice was the benefits system. But, the fact that her "problems" were keeping me from seeing more deserving people got in the way a bit.

Amongst many of the underclass there is an attitude that there is always someone there to fix their problems. Personally, I think many of these "social" problems (aka family disputes) are draining precious resources.

22-05-2010, 06:50 PM

I'll add who sent you the bill?
The bill came from Scottish Ambulance service I think but it may have come form the NHS.I cant really remember as it wasnt yesterday. After querying why I had to pay they said it was standerd practice as I was insured and the so called "victim" wasnt. Raging doesnt cover it to be honest.

It turned out the guy I hit was the son of a local doctor I knew. I simply marched enraged into his surgery and asked to speak with him. After me refusing to go away he reluctantly did. I presented him with the bill and he said not to worry about it and that was the last I heard of it. I assume he either paid it or because of his position he made it go away.

22-05-2010, 09:12 PM
That was hilarious :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

That woman who lied to the police backing up the homeless guys story will probably get done.

Marvin & Bullet feel to made up to be taken serious.....:greengrin

22-05-2010, 10:39 PM
I think there is actually quite a lot there to give people opportunities. Certainly in the scheme I live in, there is a whole raft of projects to help people move on. The poverty industry is actually quite a lucrative source of employment from what I can see.

Like you, I don't find "the scheme" eye opening at all. Maybe the fact that it has come as a shock to so many speaks volumes.

I was in a house in Ballingry, where a wee tot was playing with a toy computer. Her mother (must have been 19) astounded me by saying "oh, I doubt if I'll ever know anything about computers".

It just struck me that this girl had grown up with an attitude that ignorance is acceptable. I had to take what she said with a pinch of salt anyway, I'd be very surprised if she hadn't used Facebook for example. Needless to say, the mandatory wide screen LCD telly took pride of place in the corner of the living room.

I should really feel sorry for the girl, she had been born into a family and environment where the career of choice was the benefits system. But, the fact that her "problems" were keeping me from seeing more deserving people got in the way a bit.

Amongst many of the underclass there is an attitude that there is always someone there to fix their problems. Personally, I think many of these "social" problems (aka family disputes) are draining precious resources.

There are opportunities out there but I'm not sure there are enough.

Why not saturate these schemes with places that offer diverse options and tasters of other avenues? I'm talking multipliying them by FIVE!
Things like street-dance, Decks and recording studios, sport and martial arts. Even things like art, acting and languages should be made available.
To do this would cost a bit but it's doing something to tackle the root cause of the majority of the social problems this country faces.

You ask a drunk bairn why they're drunk and they will say "there's **** all to do". If these increased options get some of them off the streets and let them easily indulge their passion then it helps them aviod this benefits/someone else will pick up the tab culture that they will undoubtedly fall in to.

It might seem like a big outlay for people who supposedly don't deserve it but the cost would be far outweighed by the benefits considering how much the underclass cost the tax-payer.

On a side note, a few things I noticed about the program:

1. That lassie who is seeing the guy with the dog is actually quite nice. I'd give her one.

2. I've counted one Celtic top, a few Rangers tops but not one Kilmarnock shirt.

3. In this program containing junkies, theives and jakeys I haven't yet noticed one Hibs top...but there's still time though!

23-05-2010, 10:07 AM
.......Did you know if you are in a road accident and call the emergency services you get the bill for that call out. You are then supposed to claim it back off your insurance/ Why should I as a driver be faced with higher insurance premiums that this ultimately leads to whilst reckless behaviour through drink and drugs get off scott free? (I know this to my cost as I hit a pedestrian out their mind a few years back,(on the bypass I may add) and was gobsmaked when the bill came in) I refused to pay the bill but thats another story.

I know of someone who had a similar experience. Had a crash in their car on a motorway in south of scotland (can't remember where) due to severe weather conditions and hit the crash barrier on the central reservation. A month or so later received a letter from the company who maintain the motorway demanding a few thousand pounds to pay for the repair of said crash barrier. Said letter got well and truly bumped. Heard no more about it.

23-05-2010, 10:17 AM

Why not saturate these schemes with places that offer diverse options and tasters of other avenues? I'm talking multipliying them by FIVE!
Things like street-dance, Decks and recording studios, sport and martial arts. Even things like art, acting and languages should be made available.
To do this would cost a bit but it's doing something to tackle the root cause of the majority of the social problems this country faces.

You ask a drunk bairn why they're drunk and they will say "there's **** all to do". If these increased options get some of them off the streets and let them easily indulge their passion then it helps them aviod this benefits/someone else will pick up the tab culture that they will undoubtedly fall in to.

It might seem like a big outlay for people who supposedly don't deserve it but the cost would be far outweighed by the benefits considering how much the underclass cost the tax-payer.

1. That lassie who is seeing the guy with the dog is actually quite nice. I'd give her one.

2. I've counted one Celtic top, a few Rangers tops but not one Kilmarnock shirt.

3. In this program containing junkies, theives and jakeys I haven't yet noticed one Hibs top...but there's still time though!

From what I can see these things are available in abundance, but no one takes them up. You can book a studio at our local arts centre any time you want. The local school has excellent sports facilities yet they too are underused.

I'm trying to be fair to some people here. Maybe if you are told you are nothing from an early age you will believe it. Meaning that even going to a class locally is as daunting as going to University miles away.

As for OF tops, its the same wherever you go. You'll notice a lot more of them in the poorer areas of Edinburgh than the rest of the city. I think that when you are that low, you desperately want some sort of success - and that is guaranteed with the OF.

When it comes to the bit though, it seems to be a few people who manage to bring everyone around them down.

23-05-2010, 10:17 AM
A few people on this thread have mentioned the fact that most of these 'type' of people live off the dole, smoke fags, take drugs etc, but also have massive television's in their houses.

Fair comment, but these tv's really aren't that expensive anymore. I didn't look but I'm sure the make of these tv's will be of the likes of Technika, Matsui, Targa etc - not exactly a Sony Bravia or Panasonic Viera? One drug deal would easily cover one of these cheaper model televisions.

vanNISHtelroy
23-05-2010, 11:58 AM
The "Scheme" is just 10 mins walk from where I stay :agree:, hope they do show some of the decent ones too!

Marvin is banned from the charity shop that I volunteer in, cos manager kept noticing that when he was in shopping, when he went to try things on they would "fall" into the Farmfoods carriers! :greengrin

23-05-2010, 12:03 PM
The "Scheme" is just 10 mins walk from where I stay :agree:, hope they do show some of the decent ones too!

Marvin is banned from the charity shop that I volunteer in, cos manager kept noticing that when he was in shopping, when he went to try things on they would "fall" into the Farmfoods carriers! :greengrin

I'm sure if he was stealing though, you'd send for the police. :greengrin

23-05-2010, 12:39 PM
I'm sure if he was stealing though, you'd send for the police. :greengrin

:yawn:

23-05-2010, 01:02 PM

Did he have Bullet with him? :hyper:

vanNISHtelroy
23-05-2010, 04:52 PM
Sorry, don't know if bullet was with him...was before I started :boo hoo:

23-05-2010, 05:07 PM
:wtf:

Is this thread degenerating into some sort of littry quiz? :confused:

23-05-2010, 05:46 PM

Ask Don Camillo. All I said was "that Halibut was fit for Jehova". :dunno:

23-05-2010, 07:01 PM
Ask Don Camillo. Now that's an author I recognise. Loved his "Underworld", with the baseball running through it. :agree:

Jay
23-05-2010, 08:21 PM

TS Elliot - Cats?

23-05-2010, 09:02 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2010/05/23/cops-set-to-swoop-on-stars-of-the-scheme-after-tv-confessions-86908-22279233/

Cops looking into the fact that Kay quite openly admitted tae lying to them and providing a false alibi and a few other things from the show.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2010/05/21/canine-star-of-bbc-show-the-scheme-has-vanished-and-owner-wants-him-back-86908-22274249/

Bullet isnae deid, yay:thumbsup:

(I dinnae read that paper btw, I am cool as **** and I got the links from the variety of "The Scheme" facebook pages:greengrin)

23-05-2010, 09:08 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2010/05/23/cops-set-to-swoop-on-stars-of-the-scheme-after-tv-confessions-86908-22279233/

Cops looking into the fact that Kay quite openly admitted tae lying to them and providing a false alibi and a few other things from the show.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2010/05/21/canine-star-of-bbc-show-the-scheme-has-vanished-and-owner-wants-him-back-86908-22274249/

Bullet isnae deid, yay:thumbsup:

(I dinnae read that paper btw, I am cool as **** and I got the links from the variety of "The Scheme" facebook pages:greengrin)

That's all well and good pretending you don't read the Daily Rankgers but you've freely admitted to using Facebook.

Mink.

23-05-2010, 10:23 PM

The big issue I have with that is why should it be down to other folk to give them something to do? Folk can get off their erses and do something off their own back, surely?

24-05-2010, 02:23 PM
Now that's an author I recognise. Loved his "Underworld", with the baseball running through it. :agree:

I don't know if you're talking about the books by Giovanni Guareschi. I've just come across the full trilogy, it's only taken me 30 years to get to the second book.

I often think the whole Don Camillo v Peppone thing is a bit like some of the relationships on here. We all agree on pretty much the same things, but somehow conspire to focus on our differences.

24-05-2010, 03:32 PM
Sorry, don't know if bullet was with him...was before I started :boo hoo:

aw well, i was told the SSPCA found him a new home :thumbsup:

JE89
25-05-2010, 08:39 PM
Last two episodes postponed apparently (http://www.allmediascotland.com/press_news/25730/scheme-transmission-postponed-by-legal-action)

25-05-2010, 08:43 PM
Apparantly a few folk get a ride of that Dayna on tonights show when Starvin' Marvin is in the Jail.

I would, even though i'd probably need to double-wrap it.

Chuckie
25-05-2010, 08:47 PM
Last two episodes postponed apparently (http://www.allmediascotland.com/press_news/25730/scheme-transmission-postponed-by-legal-action)

Damn criminals are ruining our t.v now.

Is there no end to their interference?

Shoot them all !!!

25-05-2010, 08:48 PM
AWWWWWWWWWWWW WHAT?? :grr:

25-05-2010, 10:47 PM
The majority of folk on this programme really, really *****ing rile me. Look at them, almost every one of them a complete and utter waste of space. Plasma teles, computers, phones and cars, they've got them all. Yet deserve none.

And who pays for it, eh? We do. Us who work our a*ses off all week, pay our taxes, and in a lot of cases tow a financial tightrope, whilst these lazy ********s sit on their fat a*ses doing sweet ***** all. I'm an apprentice, the wages aren't too bad considering but now and again i'll struggle. Then I watch the tele and I see these lazy fannys. They don't seem to even consider getting a job and actually earning a living like the rest of us, but seem more than happy to live off handouts, it's a complete and utter *****ing joke if truth be told.

Then you hear about 'Starvin' Marvin' walking through Kilmarnock signing autographs and posing for pictures as if he's some kind of hero. The man's a junkie, a guy who's done nothing for nobody his whole life and who, more than likely, commits crime on a daily basis to feed his habit. A complete waste of oxygen heading for a probable drug overdose if he carries on. He'll certainly not be missed and the World wouldn't be any worse off without him.

Then you see that wee Chris *****. A drug-using, borderline alchoholic twenty-year old who has never done a days work in his life. 'Ahm no leavin' this hoose tuw' a git mah Giro.' How about you go out and work for some cash like the rest of us eh, ya wee fanny?

RANT OVER.

hibsboy90
25-05-2010, 10:54 PM
The majority of folk on this programme really, really *****ing rile me. Look at them, almost every one of them a complete and utter waste of space. Plasma teles, computers, phones and cars, they've got them all. Yet deserve none.

And who pays for it, eh? We do. Us who work our a*ses off all week, pay our taxes, and in a lot of cases tow a financial tightrope, whilst these lazy ********s sit on their fat a*ses doing sweet ***** all. I'm an apprentice, the wages aren't too bad considering but now and again i'll struggle. Then I watch the tele and I see these lazy fannys. They don't seem to even consider getting a job and actually earning a living like the rest of us, but seem more than happy to live off handouts, it's a complete and utter *****ing joke if truth be told.

Then you hear about 'Starvin' Marvin' walking through Kilmarnock signing autographs and posing for pictures as if he's some kind of hero. The man's a junkie, a guy who's done nothing for nobody his whole life and who, more than likely, commits crime on a daily basis to feed his habit. A complete waste of oxygen heading for a probable drug overdose if he carries on. He'll certainly not be missed and the World wouldn't be any worse off without him.

Then you see that wee Chris *****. A drug-using, borderline alchoholic twenty-year old who has never done a days work in his life. 'Ahm no leavin' this hoose tuw' a git mah Giro.' How about you go out and work for some cash like the rest of us eh, ya wee fanny?

RANT OVER.

You have to remember it's not their fault though, their all just victims of circumstance......................... :wink:

MIFTHEBINO
25-05-2010, 11:04 PM
With the show looking like it might get axed, a facegroup campaign has been set up to try and put pressure on the BBC to show the last 2 episodes. Please join the group if you like the show and try and get your facebook friends to do the same.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=124695114227176

magpie1892
25-05-2010, 11:20 PM
With the show looking like it might get axed, a facegroup campaign has been set up to try and put pressure on the BBC to show the last 2 episodes. Please join the group if you like the show and try and get your facebook friends to do the same.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=124695114227176 (http://www.facebook.com/#%21/group.php?gid=124695114227176)

It's not going to be axed. The BBC will complete the series when the ****bag in the rangers top (seen shooting up briefly in ep 1 and taking his metahdone just now) has had his day in court.

Joining a Facebook group to protest something that's not going to happen? Silly. Joining a Facebook group in the hope that the BBC would somehow reverse a decision (had they intended to pull the series for good)? Delusional.

JennaFletcher
26-05-2010, 01:21 AM
The thing that makes this show so good in my opinion is that it is entertaining and it's not supposed to be. You can't help but laugh but you also can't help feel sad, it documents the meaningful realities poor areas face.

Why are people bothered about a few material goods these people have in their house? Have you actually bothered to observe the area in that they are living? Hardly any opportunities and we all saw what state the community centre was in. I wouldn't exactly call my life a luxurious easy going one if I lived in that Scheme with a plasma TV.

It's easy for people from affluent areas to comment on it and go 'aw that's shocking, look at the TV they get and they're drug users' etc, but you really have to look at the reasons why these people act the way they do. It's a vicious circle really. A lot of drug users strive for normalcy just like everyone else, as exemplified by Marvin stating in the first episode he wanted a job, a wife, a family - just like everyone else.

What am really trying to say is that while it's easy to take the moral high-ground because you've got a job and supportive networks, it shouldn't be taken.

I think the media has a lot to blame for creating moral panics and sensationalising everything.

26-05-2010, 06:34 AM
Jenna I think that some working folk get peed off because they know the sacrifices they've had to make to go on holiday; to buy a car; to get that 42 telly and the rest.
Then they see those people with no visible means of income apart from benefits with the full set, holidays, cars, tellies!
Now we keep on being told how difficult it is to live on benefits. So?
It could be the telly was nicked - from someone who worked and saved hard to get it.
Shoplifting to feed their multi£ drug habit for example costs each and everyone us 10% on all the goods we buy.
These families are quite possibly on their 3rd or 4th generation of living off the backs of the rest of the population and they do not appear to be making much of an effort to change.

26-05-2010, 07:02 AM
Another fantastic installment of the scheme last night!

Highlights for me:-

marvins trampy cousins dancing in their garden.

THE PUNCH

the young mature girl acting grown up by saying she's keeping her baby..... Whilst smoking.

Her wee sister making up stories to get her crap mum in trouble

The dancer girl running Into an elbow.

The only actual good thing last might was bullet (my favourite character) getting rehomed!

26-05-2010, 08:34 AM
Well the first one was funny in a car crash sort of way, but last nights was just depressing.

I by no means grew up in a scheme, it was a small town on the outskirts of edinburgh but still i see paralells with half the folk i went to school with and were best pals with between ages 12-15.

For instance to going away to camp out and no telling your parents everyone i know done that, they got away with it i didnt. Roaming the streets getting wrecked and fighting with anything that moves, seen it, didnt do it. Leaving School because 'ah dinnae like it' yep half my mates done that. Started hanging out with the local drug dealers, aye they done that as well. Ended up with no jobs because they left school early, aye check. Anyway i could go on but the bottom line is watching this made me realise how close i was to that life a few wrong decisions i could be the guy with 3 kids, a drug habit and robbing the local club instead of working for a living.

The sad thing is all these folk i was pals with parents seemed to do the exact same as there children when they were that age or at least didnt care enough to stop them doing all this stuff.

I can count on one hand the amount of people from my age group that went to uni after school or even stayed on to 6th year. Most of my friends from age 12-15 ended up in jail by the time they were 20.

Its only now that they are about 27-28 that they are beginning to realise they might have ****ed up and by now its really too late for them to change very much, they are living the same life there parents did and there kids are running riot just like they did, totally depressing.

26-05-2010, 08:44 AM

THE PUNCH

the young mature girl acting grown up by saying she's keeping her baby..... Whilst smoking.

The only actual good thing last might was bullet (my favourite character) getting rehomed!

That was truly disgusting. Two big hard women acting like gangsters for the benefit of the camera, and the the one with the pink tee-shirt smacks Dayna in the face. Dayna comes across as really lost and depressed in the programme, and to me is crying out for help. I wonder where her family and friends are, or if she even has any. Very sad to watch, and my heart goes out to her, she seems to have no hope.

26-05-2010, 08:48 AM
That was truly disgusting. Two big hard women acting like gangsters for the benefit of the camera, and the the one with the pink tee-shirt smacks Dayna in the face. Dayna comes across as really lost and depressed in the programme, and to me is crying out for help. I wonder where her family and friends are, or if she even has any. Very sad to watch, and my heart goes out to her, she seems to have no hope.

i agree, dont know why she was with that big numpty marvin... must be for his looks i suppose!!

the two tramps who were dancing in the garden were complete skanks.

the police should go do them for assault.

came across this on the net this morning....

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/the-scheme-taken-off-air-after-teenager-charged-with-assault-1.1030455

khib70
26-05-2010, 09:48 AM
The thing that makes this show so good in my opinion is that it is entertaining and it's not supposed to be. You can't help but laugh but you also can't help feel sad, it documents the meaningful realities poor areas face.

Why are people bothered about a few material goods these people have in their house? Have you actually bothered to observe the area in that they are living? Hardly any opportunities and we all saw what state the community centre was in. I wouldn't exactly call my life a luxurious easy going one if I lived in that Scheme with a plasma TV.

It's easy for people from affluent areas to comment on it and go 'aw that's shocking, look at the TV they get and they're drug users' etc, but you really have to look at the reasons why these people act the way they do. It's a vicious circle really. A lot of drug users strive for normalcy just like everyone else, as exemplified by Marvin stating in the first episode he wanted a job, a wife, a family - just like everyone else.

What am really trying to say is that while it's easy to take the moral high-ground because you've got a job and supportive networks, it shouldn't be taken.

I think the media has a lot to blame for creating moral panics and sensationalising everything.
I respect your compassion, Jenna, but I feel it's misplaced. I think you're bang on about the media, though.

The group of people who make up most of the "cast" of this series have made choices about how they want to live, just as we all do every day. Their choices are not necessarily invalid because of some moral high ground position. They are invalid because they don't accept responsibility for them, and expect the state, and the productive part of the community to do so.
Marvin and his ilk don't "strive for normalcy". They might idealise it, much as tone-deaf no-hopers on "The X Factor" yearn to be the next Mariah Carey. But they aren't prepared to do anything to achieve it. They want it all delivered to their door, and if state handouts and petty crime can provide them with some sort of pathetic simulacrum of the good life, that'll do them.

It's not invevitable that people in their circumstances will become feral, chemically sustained parasites. My own experience of living in similar areas shows that the majority of people just get on with their lives, work away, look after their children. There is a significant minority who genuinely want to better themselves and their community - represented in the series by the family who are attempting to reopen the community centre, and by the guy who genuinely wants to rise above his background and get a job. There are people like that in every housing scheme.

But, as I've said in a previous post, they're not good television. The BBC has focussed far too much on the predators, the pathetic losers and the just plain bad. That way lie the viewing figures. It's not all their fault. People tune in to car crash TV. People watch the "X Factor" as much, if not more, to mock the deluded, cloth-eared Carey wannabees, than to see the emergence of genuine new talent. In Victorian times, mental hospitals had viewing galleries, where the priviliged could pay a few pennies to laugh at the inmates. Much modern television is the same, and as long as people keep watching it, they'll keep showing it.

I sympathise with those who are genuine victims, or are trying to take responsibility. Dayna is indisputably tragic, and iredeemably lost. The little girl whose touching naivete is gradually mutating into deceit and attention seeking is genuinely heartstring-tugging.

As for the others - let's not shoot or sterilise them. But let's not build a bubble of tragic romanticism around them, as has been done with poets or footballers who drink themselves to death. We all have choices.

26-05-2010, 10:12 AM
In Victorian times, mental hospitals had viewing galleries, where the priviliged could pay a few pennies to laugh at the inmates.

The 2010 equivalent is the Roseburn Stand :yamlaugh:

MIFTHEBINO
26-05-2010, 10:19 AM
It's not going to be axed. The BBC will complete the series when the ****bag in the rangers top (seen shooting up briefly in ep 1 and taking his metahdone just now) has had his day in court.

Joining a Facebook group to protest something that's not going to happen? Silly. Joining a Facebook group in the hope that the BBC would somehow reverse a decision (had they intended to pull the series for good)? Delusional.

There is always a chance of this getting wrapped under legal tape and the group was only set up to put pressure on the BBC if this happens.

Chuckie
26-05-2010, 10:38 AM
You have to remember it's not their fault though, their all just victims of circumstance......................... :wink:

In many ways they are though. If you're brought up with no encouragement, no hope, low self esteem and no role models, then you're already swimming against the tide with your arms chopped off. Children need to be nurtured properly.

I was brought up in housing schemes worse than that one, but I was fortunate enough to have teachers who cared, and praised me and allowed me to work on my own in class and away from the distractions. I could see what was going on around me, and was given the belief that I could be different and be a success. I got my nose stuck in books and hid from the world I saw. It wasn't easy, but I have achieved in life. I have travelled the world, taught English, worked with children from underpriveliged backgrounds, and now have a responsible job in the voluntary sector.

I have a friend who was brought up in the same areas as me. We went to school together. His father bought him a guitar when he was young, and he is now a skilled guitarist who plays in bands, and teaches others to play.

These kids need something to focus on to raise their self worth. I'll guarantee the little girl who goes to the dance classes will go on and prove her worth to society because she has a passion and a focus.

I have nothing but respect for that fat family, and the old dear with the gantin teeth for their efforts to pull the community together.

Respect also to the parents in the show for at least trying to make an effort for their children. However I fear it is too late for some of them (that little Chris is a walking timebomb).

26-05-2010, 11:19 AM
I fail to see anything funny or any point to this show at all.

Is it to raise awareness about the goings on in schemes so they can be sorted? Or is it so all the posh tory twats who havn't stepped foot out of their middle class estates can all point and laugh?

26-05-2010, 11:47 AM

Is it to raise awareness about the goings on in schemes so they can be sorted? Or is it so all the posh tory twats who havn't stepped foot out of their middle class estates can all point and laugh?

It's voyeurism, pure and simple. There is no real attempt to give genuine balance.
Don't kid yourself it's just those of a Tory persuasion that are pointing and laughing though. One of the few politicians in recent years who genuinely seemed to want to improve the lot of people on sink estates is a posh Tory twat, Iain Duncan Smith. The so called Peoples Party was quite happy to leave a large swathe of the population behind whilst in power.

IndieHibby
26-05-2010, 12:05 PM

"posh tory twats"?.....What a clown you are.

Chuckie
26-05-2010, 12:10 PM

THE PUNCH

What about the tramlines shaved in to the babies heed ?

Jumping Jehosefah !! !!

26-05-2010, 01:03 PM
The 2010 equivalent is the Roseburn Stand :yamlaugh:

I had to wipe the coffee of my monitor after reading that :grr::grr::grr:

JennaFletcher
26-05-2010, 02:04 PM
I respect your compassion, Jenna, but I feel it's misplaced. I think you're bang on about the media, though.

The group of people who make up most of the "cast" of this series have made choices about how they want to live, just as we all do every day. Their choices are not necessarily invalid because of some moral high ground position. They are invalid because they don't accept responsibility for them, and expect the state, and the productive part of the community to do so.
Marvin and his ilk don't "strive for normalcy". They might idealise it, much as tone-deaf no-hopers on "The X Factor" yearn to be the next Mariah Carey. But they aren't prepared to do anything to achieve it. They want it all delivered to their door, and if state handouts and petty crime can provide them with some sort of pathetic simulacrum of the good life, that'll do them.

It's not invevitable that people in their circumstances will become feral, chemically sustained parasites. My own experience of living in similar areas shows that the majority of people just get on with their lives, work away, look after their children. There is a significant minority who genuinely want to better themselves and their community - represented in the series by the family who are attempting to reopen the community centre, and by the guy who genuinely wants to rise above his background and get a job. There are people like that in every housing scheme.

But, as I've said in a previous post, they're not good television. The BBC has focussed far too much on the predators, the pathetic losers and the just plain bad. That way lie the viewing figures. It's not all their fault. People tune in to car crash TV. People watch the "X Factor" as much, if not more, to mock the deluded, cloth-eared Carey wannabees, than to see the emergence of genuine new talent. In Victorian times, mental hospitals had viewing galleries, where the priviliged could pay a few pennies to laugh at the inmates. Much modern television is the same, and as long as people keep watching it, they'll keep showing it.

I sympathise with those who are genuine victims, or are trying to take responsibility. Dayna is indisputably tragic, and iredeemably lost. The little girl whose touching naivete is gradually mutating into deceit and attention seeking is genuinely heartstring-tugging.

As for the others - let's not shoot or sterilise them. But let's not build a bubble of tragic romanticism around them, as has been done with poets or footballers who drink themselves to death. We all have choices.

I wasn't aiming to create a bubble of romanticism as you put it. While we're largely autonomous people capable of making choices, we are constrained by our social background. These people are stuck in their community, with little or no choices. How can you motivate someone who has a chaotic family, with little or no qualifications to go out and get a job? It's not as easy as saying "I'm going to get a job" - the father of one of the families was out trying for months as we saw last night and he had no luck whatsoever. It's difficult to let that get you down. I hate rejection, as most people do, it would ware you down.

The media will do anything for a good story, it's true that it controls the minds of the population, it plays upon the whole 'you pay your taxes and fund this lot' crap which is totally sensationalised. As I've said before, if you were on benefits living in that Scheme would you be happy with your lot?

The TV show shows that these families are far from peaceful, they're lost, confused and lethargic. If we cling on to the hope of rehabilitating people and re-integrating them into society then they should be helped not condemned. That is the only way that you will be able to get these people out of the poverty they are stuck in. What good is it going to be being irked at them because you pay taxes and they get benefits and are unemployed? Nothing. The only way that things can be done is through action that will actually help them, get them into jobs, help them live a decent life then people like the folk on this thread can finally get off their backs. :rolleyes:

JE89
26-05-2010, 02:06 PM
Watching the show makes you see exactly where Chewin' The Fat got all their material a few years ago. :agree:

26-05-2010, 02:09 PM
I wasn't aiming to create a bubble of romanticism as you put it. While we're largely autonomous people capable of making choices, we are constrained by our social background. These people are stuck in their community, with little or no choices. How can you motivate someone who has a chaotic family, with little or no qualifications to go out and get a job? It's not as easy as saying "I'm going to get a job" - the father of one of the families was out trying for months as we saw last night and he had no luck whatsoever. It's difficult to let that get you down. I hate rejection, as most people do, it would ware you down.

The media will do anything for a good story, it's true that it controls the minds of the population, it plays upon the whole 'you pay your taxes and fund this lot' crap which is totally sensationalised. As I've said before, if you were on benefits living in that Scheme would you be happy with your lot?

The TV show shows that these families are far from peaceful, they're lost, confused and lethargic. If we cling on to the hope of rehabilitating people and re-integrating them into society then they should be helped not condemned. That is the only way that you will be able to get these people out of the poverty they are stuck in. What good is it going to be being irked at them because you pay taxes and they get benefits and are unemployed? Nothing. The only way that things can be done is through action that will actually help them, get them into jobs, help them live a decent life then people like the folk on this thread can finally get off their backs. :rolleyes:

But you have on the other hand people like my cousin who have never worked a day in there life, have a fake illness, live on mobility and go away to florida once a year for a holiday with his wife and kids.

You can never generalise even in saying that these people are trapped? Well that one woman who is oblivious to the mess shes making of her 5 year old is selling up and moving, granted some of them dont have the ability to move but then you have the other family that cant get a job and locked the son out for a week away to majorca for a holiday? Im assuming thats the BBC money thats paying for that.

JennaFletcher
26-05-2010, 02:13 PM
But you have on the other hand people like my cousin who have never worked a day in there life, have a fake illness, live on mobility and go away to florida once a year for a holiday with his wife and kids.

You can never generalise even in saying that these people are trapped? Well that one woman who is oblivious to the mess shes making of her 5 year old is selling up and moving, granted some of them dont have the ability to move but then you have the other family that cant get a job and locked the son out for a week away to majorca for a holiday? Im assuming thats the BBC money thats paying for that.

I agree that you do get some people that chance the system. But by helping those into work and facing the inequalities they face then surely we'd be creating a culture where people were less likely to be dependent on the state and more inclined to work? (if there's any jobs)

26-05-2010, 02:26 PM
I agree that you do get some people that chance the system. But by helping those into work and facing the inequalities they face then surely we'd be creating a culture where people were less likely to be dependent on the state and more inclined to work? (if there's any jobs)

I agree aye, one of the major stumbling blocks i think is JOBS in general, the current state is most jobs have HUNDREDS of applicants. I got a new job last year and was told 250 people applied and when my old job went up 200 people applied for that.

Before working in IT which i started 5 years or so ago i found it really hard to get a job, even shop work i was going up against lots of people and sometimes didnt pass the interviews.

Employers now have such a massive field of people to choose from why would they chose someone whos been more trouble than they are worth previously with no qualifications and an addiction? and the other side to that is if you add incentives to employ those people then the "normal" folk lose out on jobs and start slipping down the slope getting closer to the bottom.

but thats all another discussion.

26-05-2010, 03:12 PM

It's voyeurism, pure and simple. There is no real attempt to give genuine balance.
Don't kid yourself it's just those of a Tory persuasion that are pointing and laughing though. One of the few politicians in recent years who genuinely seemed to want to improve the lot of people on sink estates is a posh Tory twat, Iain Duncan Smith. The so called Peoples Party was quite happy to leave a large swathe of the population behind whilst in power.

What he said.:agree:

26-05-2010, 05:42 PM
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=130356173642836&ref=ts#!/group.php?gid=130356173642836
:faf::faf:

Fantastic parenting fae Chris' parents. They bang on and on about wanting their kids not to turn out like them, and then they **** off to Mallorca without him leaving him with nae cash. Fantastic stuff.

Starvin's cousins are a pair of cants though, poor Dayna:boo hoo: She really does seem to be crying out for help, only 18 as well. Drugs completely ruined her life too.

26-05-2010, 06:08 PM

A very good and considered post, with a lot of salient points. In any society, there has always been a hopeless underclass, who will take rather than give, have no gumption, pride or sense of self. However, I believe that the way a society and economy is set up, either encourages or discourages this type of behaviour. It's way too simplistic just to blame Thatcher, but the changes in the eighties, where many schemes went from being low-rent affordable, first-rung-on-the-ladder housing for working-class families, to drug-addled ghettos of mass unemployment, has pulled many more people into this negative lifestyle than would otherwise be the case. (ie: if their was a vibrant local economy.)

I read a study about Cuba, after the revolution, where it found that poverty hadn't been abolished for the next generation, but the culture of poverty had. In other words, people who seemed hopeless suddenly got motivated and interested in the place they lived. However, within two generations, these expectations were crushed, as people realised, that despite better education and health care, they were still poor and at the bottom of the pile.

I think the real reason that many of us vent our spleen on people who take part in programs like this, is that they challenge the viability of the capitalist and religious thought that is the basis of our society. The idea is that you work hard, and then get the good things in life, like the LCD, the leisure time, and multiple sexual partners. Every single drama in our culture has this conspicuous consumption as a reward. And if we don't attain the yacht, sports car, med playboy lifestyle in this life, there's always the hint of our own private planets stuffed with vestal virgins, which is the implication of the christian/islam afterlife.

In some ways, this TV absorbed underclass are 'living the dream' without putting in the work. So, some of us ask, 'who are the real mugs here?'

I suppose it comes down to how you believe people are. I believe that in a stratified society, which we have, you must have people at the bottom, and they serve some kind of function for the rest of us. You could go round and shoot everyone in receipt of a state benefit. For a while it would probably make a difference, and you could delude yourself that you had done something useful, saved some money, increased the quality of the gene pool. But again, within a generation, you would have the same issues, as you need people to fill the bottom rungs in our stratified society, with all the depression, humiliation, low expectation and lack of life chances that implies.

26-05-2010, 06:25 PM
This weeks was better than last weeks!!

I agree with the comments about Dayna, where exactly are her parents??

I couldn't help but laugh when Chris left at home while the rest are away to Spain lol and when he went on a huff when the post man didn't bring his giro lol

I hope it works out for the celtc fan trying to get a job, at least they have realised their errors and trying to fix them. Well with their daughter anyway

26-05-2010, 07:42 PM
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=130356173642836&ref=ts#!/group.php?gid=130356173642836
:faf::faf:

Fantastic parenting fae Chris' parents. They bang on and on about wanting their kids not to turn out like them, and then they **** off to Mallorca without him leaving him with nae cash. Fantastic stuff.

Starvin's cousins are a pair of cants though, poor Dayna:boo hoo: She really does seem to be crying out for help, only 18 as well. Drugs completely ruined her life too.

Nope I disagree, it's her who has chose to ruin her life with the Heroin. The Heroin didn't choose her. I'm assuming nobody forced her to take the ***** in the first place. It's widely known that it's seriously addictive stuff that shouldn't even be messed with yet she decided to experiment with it.

Junkies like that get no sympathy from me, and the majority of folk I know :bye:

26-05-2010, 07:49 PM
Nope I disagree, it's her who has chose to ruin her life with the Heroin. The Heroin didn't choose her. I'm assuming nobody forced her to take the ***** in the first place. It's widely known that it's seriously addictive stuff that shouldn't even be messed with yet she decided to experiment with it.

Junkies like that get no sympathy from me, and the majority of folk I know :bye:

You don't know anything about that wee girls background or upbringing, yet you seem quite prepared to write her off. She appears to be really depressed and is probably suffering from a lack of support. Yes she has made the wrong life choices, but people can change, don't you agree.

26-05-2010, 07:54 PM

I never said it did.

Chuckie
26-05-2010, 07:54 PM

Man that's pretty ignorant when you know nothing about her life.
Heroin can be an escape for people whose lifes are too unbearable. You don't know if shes been abused or what.
Never judge a person til you've walked in their shoes.

26-05-2010, 08:00 PM
Never judge a person til you've walked in their shoes.

:agree: or licked their balls

Storar
26-05-2010, 08:05 PM

what's your opinion on Barat and Doherty?

26-05-2010, 08:28 PM
...but thats all another discussion.

Great post, but I actually think this IS the discussion. I can't bear to watch this show as I hate car crash tv, but after four pages this thread is beginning to ask questions about "what do we need to do about this?" I think most people see that this sort of life is no fun, and the kids have no future. How prescient was Johnny Rotten?

In my view, the only way this show can redeem its public funding is if it stimulates a discussion about how to change society to improve the prospects for folks like Dayna and Chris. And I think SlickShoes has hit on an important point, a really important point. Jobs are key to resolving this.

26-05-2010, 08:54 PM
Great post, but I actually think this IS the discussion. I can't bear to watch this show as I hate car crash tv, but after four pages this thread is beginning to ask questions about "what do we need to do about this?" I think most people see that this sort of life is no fun, and the kids have no future. How prescient was Johnny Rotten?

In my view, the only way this show can redeem its public funding is if it stimulates a discussion about how to change society to improve the prospects for folks like Dayna and Chris. And I think SlickShoes has hit on an important point, a really important point. Jobs are key to resolving this.
Well said. One of the encouraging things for me is that people are actually seeing the reality of life for others. I'm heartened by the number of people who want to do something about it, rather than just laugh at it.

26-05-2010, 09:04 PM
what's your opinion on Barat and Doherty?
I don't base my musical tastes on wether or not the Artists are drug users.

26-05-2010, 09:18 PM

2 points that I'd like to make in regard to your post:

1. When the woman said she was selling up, I assumed that she was talking about actually selling her house? Or was it just a play on words on her part?

2. The guy you refer to that can't get a job has only been out of work for 2 months, so I am going to assume that the holiday was already booked whilst he was actually working? I don't have an issue with that. I also don't have an issue with them locking their son out of the house. Would you trust him with your house?

26-05-2010, 09:46 PM
The way I see it is, if you have been dealt a bad hand and you are struggling along but are desperate to make something of your life and are prepared to work hard to change things, then society should do absolutely everything possible and bend over backwards to help these people.

But you can only help someone who is prepared to help themselves. Using the people on the show last night as an example, I would urge employers watching that programme to give the guy in the Celtic tracksuit (can't remember his name) an opportunity to prove himself. There is clearly something there worth persevering with and he is obviously serious about getting a proper job. I would have no problem with him being given a helping hand to get him on his way. However, on the flipside the guy Chris is, in my opinion, a complete waste of space and I don't believe he has any intention of trying to improve his situation. Trying to offer him help would be a complete waste of vital resources, until he actually realises for himself that he wants things to change then I don't think he deserves to be given the time of day.

That might sound harsh but there is no point in throwing time and money at someone who really isn't interested in finding a job and all the things that goes with it. It would be a real shame if someone who is genuinely wanting to turn their life around was turned away because all available funds were spent on a complete waster.

26-05-2010, 10:33 PM
However, on the flipside the guy Chris is, in my opinion, a complete waste of space and I don't believe he has any intention of trying to improve his situation. Trying to offer him help would be a complete waste of vital resources, until he actually realises for himself that he wants things to change then I don't think he deserves to be given the time of day.

Okaaaay. So, what do you do with Chris? You're helping Celtic guy, presumably through some sort of benefit until he gets a job. But what do you do about Chris and his like? Refuse benefit? Put him in a workhouse? Lethal injection? I don't know what the answer is, but I think that these questions need to be asked. And the country as a whole needs to find answers.

magpie1892
26-05-2010, 10:36 PM
Okaaaay. So, what do you do with Chris? You're helping Celtic guy, presumably through some sort of benefit until he gets a job. But what do you do about Chris and his like? Refuse benefit? Put him in a workhouse? Lethal injection? I don't know what the answer is, but I think that these questions need to be asked. And the country as a whole needs to find answers.

Workfare for his giro?

26-05-2010, 10:38 PM

I'd send him on that strict parents thing in the states. The wee hard man would last 5 mins there :greengrin

Seriously though, no idea. He'll end up in string of jail sentences and that'll probably just make him worse.

Where's the social workers on here when you need them.

26-05-2010, 10:38 PM
Workfare for his giro?
Certainly an idea, and not to be dismissed out of hand.

magpie1892
26-05-2010, 10:44 PM
Certainly an idea, and not to be dismissed out of hand.

There's two sides to the situation in that it's intolerable that he continue to get a giro when he's clearly not looking for work and that his whiling away the hours making 15-year-olds pregnant is creating yet more of a burden for the benefits system.

Surely it's not too 'hard line' to ask him to give a little back to society in exchange for his beer money?

Might, just might teach him a little self respect and establish the concept of work/reward though, in his case, I think it's a bridge too far.

26-05-2010, 11:31 PM

To be honest, this might sound harsh, but I'm not really bothered what happens with him, whilst he continues to have his current outlook on life.

I don't believe it's the role of society to prop up wasters like Chris. The guy is effectively sticking two fingers up at every single tax payer in the country. If he isn't prepared to help himself first and foremost, why should that responsibility fall on other people?

You can only put up with someone continually throwing help back in your face so many times before you say to yourself that enough is enough. If people genuinely want help and are prepared to put in the hard graft then, as I have already said, they should be given the best support that money can buy.

People like Chris have no respect for anything or anyone, least of all for themselves, and until that changes, if you are going to continue with the financial support to him and his ilk, you would be as well chucking it down the nearest drain.

26-05-2010, 11:39 PM
To be honest, this might sound harsh, but I'm not really bothered what happens with him, whilst he continues to have his current outlook on life.

I don't believe it's the role of society to prop up wasters like Chris. The guy is effectively sticking two fingers up at every single tax payer in the country. If he isn't prepared to help himself first and foremost, why should that responsibility fall on other people?

You can only put up with someone continually throwing help back in your face so many times before you say to yourself that enough is enough. If people genuinely want help and are prepared to put in the hard graft then, as I have already said, they should be given the best support that money can buy.

People like Chris have no respect for anything or anyone, least of all for themselves, and until that changes, if you are going to continue with the financial support to him and his ilk, you would be as well chucking it down the nearest drain.

He's happy to be as destructive as possible, and until he decides he's going to contribute positively to society, then society owes him ****** all, IMHO. You're talking about a grown-up who's own parents don't trust with their stuff. The boy has no concept of anything but himself.

26-05-2010, 11:46 PM

The sad truth is that they ARE victims of circumstance. Basically if a kid's parents/carers are wasters then there's a big chance that the kids will follow suit.

What's the answer? The tories ideology is to cut benefits and encourage dossers back to work but that also encourages those who don't want to work into comitting crime. Labour's ideology is to preserve benefits and protect the lowest in our society but the problem is that some of the lowest who are dossers, are happy to take benefits and not work.

For me the answer is for Government to massively increase expenditure on education and in particular, making teaching one of the best paid professions in our society. At the same time fee paying schools should be abolished allowing a level playing field for kids to get on. Tax incentives should be introduced to promote families, convicted sex offenders should be castrated, convicted murders should face real 'life' sentences, and corporal punishment should be re-introduced within schools.

The sad fact about 'The Scheme' is that it is not an untrue reflection on Scottish society. Life expectancy in the poorest parts of Glasgow for example, is akin to the life expectancy in many countries in Asia and Africa.

UK Westminster governments have failed Scotland for decades. It is always a convenient excuse for the Scots to wrongly blame the English for everything that goes wrong. Maybe independence will encourage us to stand on our feet and deal with our problems? We couldn't do much worse:cool2:

Twa Cairpets
27-05-2010, 07:27 AM
I fail to see anything funny or any point to this show at all. Dont watch it or discuss it then.

Get over yourself. The intellectual robustness of your post does illustrate your impeccable credentials for being a class warrior though. :rolleyes:

27-05-2010, 07:54 AM
The way I see it is, if you have been dealt a bad hand and you are struggling along but are desperate to make something of your life and are prepared to work hard to change things, then society should do absolutely everything possible and bend over backwards to help these people.

But you can only help someone who is prepared to help themselves. Using the people on the show last night as an example, I would urge employers watching that programme to give the guy in the Celtic tracksuit (can't remember his name) an opportunity to prove himself. There is clearly something there worth persevering with and he is obviously serious about getting a proper job. I would have no problem with him being given a helping hand to get him on his way. However, on the flipside the guy Chris is, in my opinion, a complete waste of space and I don't believe he has any intention of trying to improve his situation. Trying to offer him help would be a complete waste of vital resources, until he actually realises for himself that he wants things to change then I don't think he deserves to be given the time of day.

That might sound harsh but there is no point in throwing time and money at someone who really isn't interested in finding a job and all the things that goes with it. It would be a real shame if someone who is genuinely wanting to turn their life around was turned away because all available funds were spent on a complete waster.

Definitely true. I used to see this a lot in my old job. Some young lad who is willing and has absolutely loads to offer and could turn his hand to pretty much anything given the right educational opportunities. Sometimes, they'd have missed out on basic education for many reasons - maybe didn't go to school much when they were younger, or were a bit of an arse for a few years - so it took a bit more effort.

There are some employers who don't like to take a gamble but there are others who are willing to spend the time to get someone into work. Perhaps some kind of incentives for their business or similar would be the way forward.

The other problem of course, can be the attitude of the friends and social circle around the person. If someone is trying to break out of a cycle of social deprivation, they sometimes have to deal with stick from their pals and even their family. I always found that the strangest thing: people having not only to battle against the odds to overcome gaps in their education and get the ear of an employer but then also getting grief from their family and friends for having aspirations to move on to something else.

27-05-2010, 08:08 AM
The other problem of course, can be the attitude of the friends and social circle around the person. If someone is trying to break out of a cycle of social deprivation, they sometimes have to deal with stick from their pals and even their family. I always found that the strangest thing: people having not only to battle against the odds to overcome gaps in their education and get the ear of an employer but then also getting grief from their family and friends for having aspirations to move on to something else.

It seems to me that telling a youngster that there is a world of opportunities for them is doomed. You are asking a teenager to consider a future away from their "parents" and friends.

From what I have seen it is difficult enough to ask adults to step out of their comfort zone, with teenagers I'd say it's nearly impossible.

27-05-2010, 08:11 AM
The sad truth is that they ARE victims of circumstance. Basically if a kid's parents/carers are wasters then there's a big chance that the kids will follow suit.

What's the answer? The tories ideology is to cut benefits and encourage dossers back to work but that also encourages those who don't want to work into comitting crime. Labour's ideology is to preserve benefits and protect the lowest in our society but the problem is that some of the lowest who are dossers, are happy to take benefits and not work.

For me the answer is for Government to massively increase expenditure on education and in particular, making teaching one of the best paid professions in our society. At the same time fee paying schools should be abolished allowing a level playing field for kids to get on. Tax incentives should be introduced to promote families, convicted sex offenders should be castrated, convicted murders should face real 'life' sentences, and corporal punishment should be re-introduced within schools.

The sad fact about 'The Scheme' is that it is not an untrue reflection on Scottish society. Life expectancy in the poorest parts of Glasgow for example, is akin to the life expectancy in many countries in Asia and Africa.

UK Westminster governments have failed Scotland for decades. It is always a convenient excuse for the Scots to wrongly blame the English for everything that goes wrong. Maybe independence will encourage us to stand on our feet and deal with our problems? We couldn't do much worse:cool2:

Interesting points made. I'd agree that real investment in education can make a difference, but it can only go so far. Teachers can only work with the kids during the day. So much of how they behave and act in society is shaped by their home life in the evenings and weekends.

It's exactly because of people highlighted in 'The Scheme' that makes me worry about independence. We have so many of these wasters that I don't know if we'd be able to support them. There was an article in the sun the other week that gave a break down of how many people in Scotland were working and on benefits etc.

There was around 550,000 out of work and on benefits. 150,000 of them wanted to work, the other 400,000 had absolutely no intention of working. There has been a social culture created that tells people it is acceptable to sit on benefits rather than work and let other taxpayers fund their life. That needs to change. How, I don't know.

27-05-2010, 08:13 AM
Interesting points made. I'd agree that real investment in education can make a difference, but it can only go so far. Teachers can only work with the kids during the day. So much of how they behave and act in society is shaped by their home life in the evenings and weekends.

It's exactly because of people highlighted in 'The Scheme' that makes me worry about independence. We have so many of these wasters that I don't know if we'd be able to support them. There was an article in the sun the other week that gave a break down of how many people in Scotland were working and on benefits etc.

There was around 550,000 out of work and on benefits. 150,000 of them wanted to work, the other 400,000 had absolutely no intention of working. There has been a social culture created that tells people it is acceptable to sit on benefits rather than work and let other taxpayers fund their life. That needs to change. How, I don't know.

A worrying figure. How many of the 400,000 were on "invalidity" benefit, as some of them can't work whether they want to or not?

27-05-2010, 08:36 AM
2 points that I'd like to make in regard to your post:

1. When the woman said she was selling up, I assumed that she was talking about actually selling her house? Or was it just a play on words on her part?

2. The guy you refer to that can't get a job has only been out of work for 2 months, so I am going to assume that the holiday was already booked whilst he was actually working? I don't have an issue with that. I also don't have an issue with them locking their son out of the house. Would you trust him with your house?

1: aye i think she was selling up that was my point shes actually realising she needs to get out of there, they showed the house later with a for sale sign in the garden.

2: I wouldnt trust the son either, it just shows what a desperate state they have got into when they cant trust there own son, its nice to see they are making an effort with the daughter but ive seen loads of families where i grow up like this and the parents only realise they have wasted there own life and there childrens life when they hit 40 + and by then its mostly too late.

27-05-2010, 08:55 AM
It seems to me that telling a youngster that there is a world of opportunities for them is doomed. You are asking a teenager to consider a future away from their "parents" and friends.

From what I have seen it is difficult enough to ask adults to step out of their comfort zone, with teenagers I'd say it's nearly impossible.

Nearly - but not totally.

27-05-2010, 09:37 AM
Nearly - but not totally.

You have to wonder if the ones with the desire and strength of character to make their lives different would have succeeded anyway.

27-05-2010, 12:17 PM
1: aye i think she was selling up that was my point shes actually realising she needs to get out of there, they showed the house later with a for sale sign in the garden.

2: I wouldnt trust the son either, it just shows what a desperate state they have got into when they cant trust there own son, its nice to see they are making an effort with the daughter but ive seen loads of families where i grow up like this and the parents only realise they have wasted there own life and there childrens life when they hit 40 + and by then its mostly too late.

I'm just astounded at the fact that she is in a bought house.

27-05-2010, 12:28 PM
If she'd been a council tenant long enough to get full discount that house could've been bought for not very much.

27-05-2010, 02:28 PM

I think it was her dads house, they mention in the first episode that her dad died recently.

The wee girl whos 5 also says something like "see that bottle up there, thats goat my papa in it".

27-05-2010, 03:15 PM
I think it was her dads house, they mention in the first episode that her dad died recently.

The wee girl whos 5 also says something like "see that bottle up there, thats goat my papa in it".

Yep i'm sure she says something like "this was my Grandad's bedroom, but he's dead now".

Storar
27-05-2010, 03:45 PM
I don't base my musical tastes on wether or not the Artists are drug users.

great, me neither. I didn't ask what you based your music tastes on though.

27-05-2010, 04:40 PM

:greengrin Never heard that saying for ages

27-05-2010, 05:30 PM
great, me neither. I didn't ask what you based your music tastes on though.
Doherty is a junke. My opinion on him is shared by the vast majority. It's a self-inflicted addiction and i've no sympathy for him.

Barat isn't and has never been a heavy drug abuser.

The Libertines make great music though. That's why I listen to them. I couldn't care less if Pete Doherty is a skaghead or not, he can do what he likes. I listen to The Libertines/Babyshambes/Peter Doherty simply because I really like the music. Simples.

Comprende?

Storar
28-05-2010, 03:03 PM
Doherty is a junke. My opinion on him is shared by the vast majority. It's a self-inflicted addiction and i've no sympathy for him.

Barat isn't and has never been a heavy drug abuser.

The Libertines make great music though. That's why I listen to them. I couldn't care less if Pete Doherty is a skaghead or not, he can do what he likes. I listen to The Libertines/Babyshambes/Peter Doherty simply because I really like the music. Simples.

Comprende?
Yup, respect to you, I can't wait to see them at Leeds. You're wrong about Carlos though. He's done more than his fair share and has never hidden that.
Anyway, the point I was making is that loser junkie ****bags aren't all bad and there's always potential for them to better themselves and do something worthwhile with their lives.

28-05-2010, 03:33 PM
Yup, respect to you, I can't wait to see them at Leeds. You're wrong about Carlos though. He's done more than his fair share and has never hidden that.
Anyway, the point I was making is that loser junkie ****bags aren't all bad and there's always potential for them to better themselves and do something worthwhile with their lives.
Nae worries :aok:

28-05-2010, 10:43 PM

That's a good point. The same thing can be applied to young adults like that Chris and even people in their early twenties. By that time you are generally in a comfort zone unless you have a burning desire to change your circumstances...and that can only come from within. It can be a by-product of your upbringing but it's a lot easier to take the simple way out and stick to what's on offer on easy street.

Like I said before, opportunities have to be bombarded at a much younger age. Only then will people like Chris and his gang have other things in their head by the time they grow up...and if even some of them decide to escape the cycle it has worked...and it will probably have been cost effective.

Chuckie
29-05-2010, 09:37 PM
http://news.scotsman.com/news/Teenage-star-of-39Scheme39-is.6328452.jp

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
04-06-2010, 12:06 PM

I think the above is half of the problem though - nobody 'has' to live like that. They choose to. You can moan about lack of opportunity etc, but as many others on this thread have pointed out, plenty people have had to work hard to overcome disdvantage, these dregs of society are the ones that CHOOSE not to, that chose to accept a life of handouts with no pride, dignity or respect.

They CHOSE to ignore the education that we all pay to provide for them, and they continue to CHOOSE to ignore the wonderful NHS we pay to provide for them by abusing their bodies.

I have no time for them - let them rot if thats what they want to do. My only gripe is why i, and any other hard working person, has to pay for their disgusting way of life.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
04-06-2010, 12:13 PM

The reason it offends people is that it is them who pay for it all. And i think you will find that most of the people who will make excuses for them are middle class types, its generally, in my experience anyway, the fellow working class folk who have chosen not go down that road that despise seeing them getting handouts and rewards for their deviant behaviour.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
04-06-2010, 12:19 PM
I agree aye, one of the major stumbling blocks i think is JOBS in general, the current state is most jobs have HUNDREDS of applicants. I got a new job last year and was told 250 people applied and when my old job went up 200 people applied for that.

Before working in IT which i started 5 years or so ago i found it really hard to get a job, even shop work i was going up against lots of people and sometimes didnt pass the interviews.

Employers now have such a massive field of people to choose from why would they chose someone whos been more trouble than they are worth previously with no qualifications and an addiction? and the other side to that is if you add incentives to employ those people then the "normal" folk lose out on jobs and start slipping down the slope getting closer to the bottom.

but thats all another discussion.

Its funny though, that the thousands of Polish guys and gals who came here all managed to get jobs OK.

04-06-2010, 12:31 PM
I think the above is half of the problem though - nobody 'has' to live like that. They choose to. You can moan about lack of opportunity etc, but as many others on this thread have pointed out, plenty people have had to work hard to overcome disdvantage, these dregs of society are the ones that CHOOSE not to, that chose to accept a life of handouts with no pride, dignity or respect.

They CHOSE to ignore the education that we all pay to provide for them, and they continue to CHOOSE to ignore the wonderful NHS we pay to provide for them by abusing their bodies.

I have no time for them - let them rot if thats what they want to do. My only gripe is why i, and any other hard working person, has to pay for their disgusting way of life.

They are happy enough to use the NHS as a source of free drugs though. Once some of them learn the correct words to use they even use it as a hotel where they can get free board and lodgings for a couple of weeks, whilst their benefits pile up in their bank accounts.

Of course this comes at a cost to others who have real problems, but have to have their support limited whilst we care for these professional losers.

06-06-2010, 11:59 AM
The sad thing is this programme could have been made in a number of places all over the UK - all you have to do is focus on all the ***** that goes on in these areas and ignore the good, decent people.

FWIW, a portion of my family come from this scheme and every single one of them have worked their entire life, although hardly any of them live there anymore.

If the producers did the same in any one of the scheme's in Dumfries then it would look just as bad - who's to say that it wouldn't be the same in some of the ruffer parts in Edinburgh where many people on here have probably have lived or have known friends/family living there.

The very people exploiting places such as this, to make money, are just as bad as some of the ********s living there IMO.

08-06-2010, 12:42 AM
Some folk have way too much time on their hands (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezZ7ggW_kuM&feature=related) :greengrin

08-06-2010, 09:33 AM
The sad thing is this programme could have been made in a number of places all over the UK - all you have to do is focus on all the ***** that goes on in these areas and ignore the good, decent people.

FWIW, a portion of my family come from this scheme and every single one of them have worked their entire life, although hardly any of them live there anymore.

If the producers did the same in any one of the scheme's in Dumfries then it would look just as bad - who's to say that it wouldn't be the same in some of the ruffer parts in Edinburgh where many people on here have probably have lived or have known friends/family living there.

The very people exploiting places such as this, to make money, are just as bad as some of the ********s living there IMO.

The programme only focuses on 3-4 families, with only 1 family doing the decent thing for the area. Most of these scemes were built in the 50's and 60's and initially were filled with good honest working class people who couldn't afford private houses and mortgages etc. Over the years the good people, or the majority of them have moved out leaving the druggies and the like to run things, just look at our own schemes here in Edinburgh to know what I mean.

08-06-2010, 11:47 AM

Exactly my thoughts on it.:agree:

08-06-2010, 01:20 PM

The programme only focuses on 3-4 families, with only 1 family doing the decent thing for the area. Most of these scemes were built in the 50's and 60's and initially were filled with good honest working class people who couldn't afford private houses and mortgages etc. Over the years the good people, or the majority of them have moved out leaving the druggies and the like to run things, just look at our own schemes here in Edinburgh to know what I mean.

:agree: Spot on.

08-06-2010, 03:26 PM
Wear the t-shirt: http://549722.spreadshirt.co.uk/

09-06-2010, 12:05 PM

"leaving the druggies and the like to run things,.......

......and the few good people left to suffer the wrath of thier dickish neighbours; in silence, as most of these types don't change their behaviour after being "grassed on" - in my experiences they usually tend to get worse.

Sad but so true. :agree:

09-06-2010, 02:06 PM
Wear the t-shirt: http://549722.spreadshirt.co.uk/

Sumner
11-06-2010, 06:54 PM
one misses their comedy ways on the television.

Sumner
13-06-2010, 06:10 PM
When does this fine advert for the genius
drug & alcohol lifestyle return to our sets?

Nothing says "class" like chavs doing their crimes,
fighting their fights and blaming everyone else, unintentional comedy gold.

14-06-2010, 09:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFa_uJyUItc&feature=related

19-06-2010, 07:48 PM
By the way everyone.. Marvin and Dayna have split up.:boo hoo:

20-06-2010, 08:45 AM

Gutted as Larry!

20-06-2010, 10:33 AM

Who has got the photo rights - Hello, OK, Awright, Hiya?

Said a distraught Dayna Fathell, "I am totally distraught, Marvin was my soul mate and friend, but the pressures of fame have taken us in different directions. For Marvin it was the constant intrusion from the press, for me it was having to get up at 11am so I could see my picture in the paper".

20-06-2010, 03:05 PM

Said a distraught Dayna Fathell, "I am totally distraught, Marvin was my soul mate and friend, but the pressures of fame have taken us in different directions. For Marvin it was the constant intrusion from the press, for me it was having to get up at 11am so I could see my picture in the paper".

"Pressures of fame"

Did they not understand that everyone was laughing at them?

20-06-2010, 08:59 PM
"Pressures of fame"

Did they not understand that everyone was laughing at them?

I don't think they really appreciate irony. :greengrin

flood
22-06-2010, 09:39 PM

They were still together yesterday when I seen them coming out Kilmarnock Police Station together.

Must have been in reporting a stolen bike or something.........

14-07-2010, 08:09 PM
It's coming back on soon (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2010/07/13/hit-show-the-scheme-set-to-return-to-tv-screens-after-teen-thug-is-jailed-86908-22409143/) :greengrin

15-07-2010, 02:47 PM
It's coming back on soon (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2010/07/13/hit-show-the-scheme-set-to-return-to-tv-screens-after-teen-thug-is-jailed-86908-22409143/) :greengrin

:thumbsup: Cannae wait!

Hibbie_Cameron
15-07-2010, 10:38 PM
July 27th i believe

16-07-2010, 03:43 PM
A cheap and entertaining alternative to the scheme can be found in any bus that goes to the edge of your town; a queue at the Fintry/Letham/Easterhouse/Muirhouse Post Office; or a visit to your local A&E Department.

Not only will you see the parts that the producers cut out, but you will be able to smell poverty and see the bruises on the battered wives' faces.

Beats Jeremy Kyle - The Big Issue
*****in Barry Man - Deek Pilrig
Yahoorsir - Johnny Crosshill
Naw man ken bit ah man ken likes naw - Pete Methadone

16-07-2010, 07:07 PM

Do they not realise their getting this 'fame' for being the **** of the earth?

16-07-2010, 07:09 PM
A cheap and entertaining alternative to the scheme can be found in any bus that goes to the edge of your town; a queue at the Fintry/Letham/Easterhouse/Muirhouse Post Office; or a visit to your local A&E Department.

Not only will you see the parts that the producers cut out, but you will be able to smell poverty and see the bruises on the battered wives' faces.

Beats Jeremy Kyle - The Big Issue
*****in Barry Man - Deek Pilrig
Yahoorsir - Johnny Crosshill
Naw man ken bit ah man ken likes naw - Pete Methadone

Throw in an extra 10% sense of superiority and I will book up now.:greengrin

16-07-2010, 08:02 PM
Throw in an extra 10% sense of superiority and I will book up now.:greengrin

All Rolls tours come with a guaranteed 50% smugness in the unbeatable price. :agree:

21-07-2010, 08:53 PM
hearing its been cancelled again as another 'resident' has been hauled in front of the courts...

22-07-2010, 10:00 PM
hearing its been cancelled again as another 'resident' has been hauled in front of the courts...

:boo hoo:

23-07-2010, 11:59 AM

You mean you read the S(t)UN :cool2:

27-07-2010, 12:16 PM
Is this on then?

27-07-2010, 12:39 PM
Is this on then?

Not listed on BBC Scotland (http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone/programmes/schedules/scotland) schedule online :boo hoo:

27-07-2010, 01:44 PM
Not listed on BBC Scotland (http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone/programmes/schedules/scotland) schedule online :boo hoo:

Bad times :boo hoo:

JE89
06-08-2010, 09:47 PM
On Youtube now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0BmhzilI5zw

magpie1892
11-08-2010, 12:25 PM
On Youtube now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0BmhzilI5zw

That link removed by the BBC but as of right now, episode three is up again in five parts. Part two of the five is very grim. Not at all funny like the first two shows...

Twa Cairpets
11-08-2010, 12:45 PM
That link removed by the BBC but as of right now, episode three is up again in five parts. Part two of the five is very grim. Not at all funny like the first two shows...

Yeh, I thought that when I watched it.

Still all very, very tragic in a compulsive I-shouldnt-really-be-watching-this kind of way.

magpie1892
11-08-2010, 01:17 PM

Still all very, very tragic in a compulsive I-shouldnt-really-be-watching-this kind of way.

Funnily enough, this is the first one that should be watched to bring home what Scotland's relationship with drugs is all about.

I found the first two hilarious in a 'look how the other half lives' kind of way but not this one. Still, one wonders when it will see the light of day as the miscreants featured therein just can't stay out of the clutches of the 'polis'.

DCI Gene Hunt
11-08-2010, 01:51 PM
What never fails to amaze me is how anybody can be as stunningly thick as the lot from the Scheme.

It's hilarious, but really we should all weep at what this country is turning to...

Guv

11-08-2010, 06:53 PM
What never fails to amaze me is how anybody can be as stunningly thick as the lot from the Scheme.

It's hilarious, but really we should all weep at what this country is turning to...

Guv

Unless you live in the middle of it. :agree:

I agree, though, how can people be that thick? Or are we the thick ones for throwing money at them and letting them think this is a lifestyle option?

RoslinInstHibby
12-08-2010, 12:27 PM

:agree: very tough viewing tbh

DCI Gene Hunt
12-08-2010, 02:23 PM
I agree, though, how can people be that thick? Or are we the thick ones for throwing money at them and letting them think this is a lifestyle option?

Makes you wonder doesn't it, why do we allow this to happen. Why should the government feel obliged to provide for the ones who can't be ar$ed? :slipper:

The Guv

19-08-2010, 06:37 PM
Makes you wonder doesn't it, why do we allow this to happen. Why should the government feel obliged to provide for the ones who can't be ar$ed? :slipper:

The Guv

I blame the Irish and the Pakis guv.

19-08-2010, 07:26 PM
I read today that Christopher the wee dickhead that looks about 12 has been charged with robbing somebody at screwdriver point and is now on a 7-7 curfew.

Brando7
17-01-2011, 06:18 PM
Found the other episodes on a facebook page :thumbsup:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Scheme/146373415414086?v=wall

17-01-2011, 08:03 PM

magpie1892
18-01-2011, 11:04 AM

Nice one, appreciate it.

EH6 Hibby
23-01-2011, 11:51 AM

Has this page been removed? When I click on this link, it takes me to my news feed. :confused:

Brando7
24-01-2011, 10:40 PM
Has this page been removed? When I click on this link, it takes me to my news feed. :confused:

Aye looks like it has...bugger!!

30-01-2011, 05:17 PM
Scheme family in benefits probe (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2011/01/30/the-scheme-family-in-60k-benefits-probe-after-show-sparks-enquiry-86908-22886091/)

09-05-2011, 10:12 PM
All episodes now to be shown. Starts Monday 16th May at 10.35pm on BBC1 Scotland.

Hibbie_Cameron
09-05-2011, 10:50 PM
All episodes now to be shown. Starts Monday 16th May at 10.35pm on BBC1 Scotland.

I actually cant wait:thumbsup:

So many priceless moments to be revisited

magpie1892
10-05-2011, 10:22 AM
I actually cant wait:thumbsup:

So many priceless moments to be revisited

I'm loving your avatar. He's pure class.

16-05-2011, 08:26 PM
On Tonight at 10.35. :aok:

16-05-2011, 08:28 PM
On Tonight at 10.35. :aok:

And tomorrow......Loved the Dana line "he kicked me in the stomach but I don't think he meant it", compulsive viewing even if it is car crash TV

16-05-2011, 10:08 PM
I feel sorry for the wee lassie. She's just a cute wee girl but you know she's got no chance with that lot

magpie1892
16-05-2011, 10:12 PM
I feel sorry for the wee lassie. She's just a cute wee girl but you know she's got no chance with that lot

Take your point, to an extent, but she's been in and out of CV and, currently, in.

Shoplifting x10+, assault, etc.

No judgement on her, we need to get things sorted by people who can, or are at least willing to try.

Politicians clearly aren't up to the task.

16-05-2011, 10:15 PM
Take your point, to an extent, but she's been in and out of CV and, currently, in.

No judgement on her, we need to get things sorted by people who can, or are at least willing to try.

This is the wee lassie you are talking about, the one that's about 8 years old?

And what's CV?
Edit that you mean Cornton Vale. The other poster is talking about the bairn.

magpie1892
16-05-2011, 10:25 PM
This is the wee lassie you are talking about, the one that's about 8 years old?

And what's CV?
Edit that you mean Cornton Vale. The other poster is talking about the bairn.

I misunderstood.

Forgive.

CV, yes, Cornton Vale.

I was talking about 'Dayna'.

16-05-2011, 10:25 PM

I don't watch it much so don't know who you are talking about but I was talking about the wee girl that said she was 5 and was late for school in tonight's episode.

16-05-2011, 10:51 PM
I don't watch it much so don't know who you are talking about but I was talking about the wee girl that said she was 5 and was late for school in tonight's episode.
It's only the first episode! :greengrin

16-05-2011, 11:25 PM

I watched this the first time around last year and that's the very point that I made on this thread at the time.

She's actually the most articulate out of anyone on that programme, along with Bullet. With most of the adults on there, I really need subtitles to understand what they're saying. It sounds as if they're speaking a foreign language.

Which is just really sad when you think that in 10 years' time, she'll probably either be on drugs, pregnant or in prison, or possibly all three.

I feel so sorry for her because she just doesn't stand a chance in life when all she's experiencing at that age is drink, drugs and every other word being an "f" or a "c".

Tragic.