View Full Version : The Scheme - BBC last night.

Pages : 1 [2]

17-05-2011, 10:10 AM
I watched this the first time around last year and that's the very point that I made on this thread at the time.

She's actually the most articulate out of anyone on that programme, along with Bullet. With most of the adults on there, I really need subtitles to understand what they're saying. It sounds as if they're speaking a foreign language.

Which is just really sad when you think that in 10 years' time, she'll probably either be on drugs, pregnant or in prison, or possibly all three.

I feel so sorry for her because she just doesn't stand a chance in life when all she's experiencing at that age is drink, drugs and every other word being an "f" or a "c".

Tragic.

:agree:...

She's the most responsible out of the lot of them, and she isn't yet old enough to understand why she's late for school and her brother/uncle, whoever it is 'goes out for the shopping' and doesn't come back.

17-05-2011, 05:16 PM
I watched this the first time around last year and that's the very point that I made on this thread at the time.

She's actually the most articulate out of anyone on that programme, along with Bullet. With most of the adults on there, I really need subtitles to understand what they're saying. It sounds as if they're speaking a foreign language.

Which is just really sad when you think that in 10 years' time, she'll probably either be on drugs, pregnant or in prison, or possibly all three.

I feel so sorry for her because she just doesn't stand a chance in life when all she's experiencing at that age is drink, drugs and every other word being an "f" or a "c".

Tragic.

Marvin's an arse, btw. I'm fed up reading sensational bull***** in the likes of the Sun such as 'TV star Marvin Baird' etc. TV star? Don't think so. He's 'famous' for being a scrounging, lowlife criminal. He'll die a drug-induced death in the near future no doubt. Off drugs? aye right.

17-05-2011, 05:41 PM
I feel sorry for the wee lassie. She's just a cute wee girl but you know she's got no chance with that lot

5 years old, but she appears the most intelligent out of them all.....

Loved how she kept telling on everyone and her line, which she said with a deadpan face "she is a *****" :greengrin

Twa Cairpets
17-05-2011, 08:17 PM
A line I missed from the last time round was the boy who got done for "The racial - calling him all the bin Laden bastirts" had as one of his defences - "I had a line in with them for post natal depression"!

17-05-2011, 08:56 PM
A line I missed from the last time round was the boy who got done for "The racial - calling him all the bin Laden bastirts" had as one of his defences - "I had a line in with them for post natal depression"!

I thought his Dad teaching him how to sneak in tobacco showed how ****my they are too.

18-05-2011, 07:57 AM
Last night as they were in the Garden talking about the impending holiday, the baby was playing with a cigarette lighter, FFS how wrong is that.........

18-05-2011, 07:58 AM
Would never tire of slapping that Chris, a cocky wee boy who needs brought down to earth....And he is going to be a parent.....:rolleyes:

18-05-2011, 02:25 PM
I thought his Dad teaching him how to sneak in tobacco showed how ****my they are too.

Don't see anything wrong with that, one of the few pleasures inside.

18-05-2011, 05:23 PM
Don't see anything wrong with that, one of the few pleasures inside.
It's prison, not a holiday camp.

18-05-2011, 05:49 PM
It's prison, not a holiday camp.

Don't be so naive Sean.

18-05-2011, 06:18 PM

I only noticed that line this time as well, probably cause it was slurred out in the usual monolithic drawl.

My favourite lines from the first episode that sums up the folk on it for me are:

1) Marvin: "I wanna huv' kids 'fore am too auld. I wanna learn it to go a bike." Where to begin with that second sentence! :greengrin

2) Marvin: "Am aff the drugs. Been oota jile fir six year."
Narrator (shortly after): "There's rumours on the scheme that Marvin is dealing drugs and Bullet's had enough. Marvin later caught up with Bullet, but the police caught up with Marvin - who had 150 diazepam in his pocket".

24-05-2011, 06:30 PM
Anyone see the bit last night, that Chrissy bellend went to pull his bird on a busy dancefloor, she towered about a foot above him so he stood on steps. Childish perhaps, but I found it hillarious :tee hee:

He's apparantly ''oan 'e smack'' aswell now. God, that stuff is rife on that estate. Pretty brutal watching the chap injecting and seeing how it affected him, it wasn't easy viewing. I quite felt for his Mother, tbh.

24-05-2011, 07:58 PM
The daughter's fake tan was the highlight of last nights episode form me. Rest of it was pretty boring tbh.

Bring back Marvin!! :greengrin

EH6 Hibby
24-05-2011, 11:43 PM
God, that stuff is rife on that estate. Pretty brutal watching the chap injecting and seeing how it affected him, it wasn't easy viewing. I quite felt for his Mother, tbh.

I thought that the first time I saw it as well, I had a feeling I'd seen his sister before though but thought I must be mistaken, when I seen it last night again I thought again that I knew her face, I heard her full name so I googled it, and she was in a program called Girls Behind Bars when she was in and out of Cornton Vale because of her drink problem.

I know there is only so much parents can do, but surely if all your kids have problems then you have to take some of the responsiblity.

25-05-2011, 12:55 AM
I thought that the first time I saw it as well, I had a feeling I'd seen his sister before though but thought I must be mistaken, when I seen it last night again I thought again that I knew her face, I heard her full name so I googled it, and she was in a program called Girls Behind Bars when she was in and out of Cornton Vale because of her drink problem.

I know there is only so much parents can do, but surely if all your kids have problems then you have to take some of the responsiblity.

My brother said that when he was watching this last night and I didn't believe him.

Was it the girl who was very masculine and really looked like a boy? She ended up with a black eye in one of the programmes of "Girls Behind Bars"? :dunno:

25-05-2011, 08:00 AM
watched the first two episodes on catchup last night, laughed throughout the first one, by the end of the second I was just pretty sickened to be honest and don't think I will watch any more.

I sincerely hope that women moves out of the estate and gives that five year old a chance of a decent life, the rest of them I couldnae give a flying one about.

khib70
25-05-2011, 09:59 AM
watched the first two episodes on catchup last night, laughed throughout the first one, by the end of the second I was just pretty sickened to be honest and don't think I will watch any more.

I sincerely hope that women moves out of the estate and gives that five year old a chance of a decent life, the rest of them I couldnae give a flying one about.
:agree:That's about it

What I found ironic and a bit of a metaphor for society in general was that the only group of people trying to do anything constructive (the family trying to reopen the community centre) were the ones getting the least support from the system and it's "caring" services.

25-05-2011, 10:09 AM

Shirley if you already have, say, four kids who all have problems, the best thing to do in the circumstances is to keep having more in the hope that you eventually get a good one? :dunno:

25-05-2011, 09:46 PM
The bit at the start when the wummin' with the manky teeth goes 'it's a sit-in!' in a daft voice is always guarunteed to raise a chuckle :tee hee:

25-05-2011, 10:49 PM
:agree:That's about it

What I found ironic and a bit of a metaphor for society in general was that the only group of people trying to do anything constructive (the family trying to reopen the community centre) were the ones getting the least support from the system and it's "caring" services.

That just about sums it up. :agree:

Sit on your backside all day, watching Jeremy Kyle, shouting obscenities at your children who are late once again for the start of the school day but you're too lazy and irresponsible to make sure that they get there on time and inject yourself with illegal substances and you'll get all the help and support, financial and otherwise, that (hardworking people's) money can buy.

Meanwhile, if you actually look about your community and realise that you want better for your local area and are seriously trying to find ways of making that happen and you come up against a brick wall and people don't want to know.

You really couldn't make it up.

Twa Cairpets
25-05-2011, 11:06 PM
That just about sums it up. :agree:

Sit on your backside all day, watching Jeremy Kyle, shouting obscenities at your children who are late once again for the start of the school day but you're too lazy and irresponsible to make sure that they get there on time and inject yourself with illegal substances and you'll get all the help and support, financial and otherwise, that (hardworking people's) money can buy.

Meanwhile, if you actually look about your community and realise that you want better for your local area and are seriously trying to find ways of making that happen and you come up against a brick wall and people don't want to know.

You really couldn't make it up.

Well, a lot of this is total bollox, isn't it?

Do you really think that the woman with the jakie son is living in the lap of luxury?
That the jakes and lowlifes featured (although they seem to have enough for fags and cheap vodka) are really in a better position than they would be if they were earning money?

The people featured are pathologically stupid, congenitally ****less, monumentally unpleasant and, for the most part, pretty much adding nothing other than misery and cost to society. This doesnt mean that the rest of us in a better position should leave them to fend for themselves, while we point and laugh at the underclass.

The thing with the community centre is another matter - it was clearly edited to paint the activists as being hard done by. I support entirely what they're trying to do, but it doesnt mean they can opt out of reality. I suspect you'd be the first to shout if some schemey got funded by the council at the expense of the "hard working taxpayer" for bypassing a survey to stop the building collapsing on the occupants. It is not the councils fault that the place looks like it needs demolished and that the campaigners didnt understand that there would be a hell of a lot of cost in getting it to a position where it might actually be safe for the community to use.

26-05-2011, 07:45 AM
It's a housing scheme not a concentration camp. There's no guards in towers or barbed wire keeping them in. They could choose to do something different every morning when they wake up but they don't because they're obviously comfortable with the way they live.

It's the kids I feel sorry for but even they will one day have the choice to leave or stay. I did at the earliest opportunity.

26-05-2011, 08:21 AM
He's apparantly ''oan 'e smack'' aswell now. God, that stuff is rife on that estate. Pretty brutal watching the chap injecting and seeing how it affected him, it wasn't easy viewing. I quite felt for his Mother, tbh.

So did I initially but there comes a point when each and every kid you have had has been in prison / is a junkie / is an alcoholic / is a walking ASBO when you need to look at the way you raised them and your behaviour when they were growing up.

I can't actually see what any of the participants got out of being on the programme though. They weren't paid apparently, most of them have incriminated themselves in some sort of lawbreaking and the vast majority haven't come out looking particularly good. The programme hasn't really aided understanding of their problems, only provided a 'viewing platform' for the rest of us to watch them and be astonished / dismayed etc etc.

26-05-2011, 09:28 AM
I don't like watching it, it reminds me of certain parts of my own family that choose not to better themselves.

It is sad to see that the only people realising that they have massively ****ed up there lives are the current crop of adult parents that are 45-50 years old. Only then are they starting to realise they need a job and that they need to change.

I never even grew up on a scheme and I can think back to 3 or 4 choices I made in my teens that would have set me down a completely different path to the one I am on now. Specifically turning down drugs and getting ridiculed for it at age 14 and then finding out the two guys trying to get me to join in were recently jailed for burglary and assault.

I am glad I had parents that took me to play football/Basketball and everything else because if you are just wandering around any town at night then its easy to get sucked into all the bad stuff that is going on.

A lot of the people on this show are beyond help, the only ones that can really help them now are themselves, it won't be until they really want to get out of it that they will, or they will just die there.

26-05-2011, 12:41 PM

I thought I recognised her!! Cheers for the info.

I think someone else asked what do they get out of it, being on the programme? Their 15 seconds of fame I guess. Someone in my work told me a few weeks ago when we were talking about it coming back on tv, that they had been in Macdonalds at Meadowbank a while back when the cheerleading daughter came in, pushed past everyone in the queue and announced "serve me first, eh've been on the tv, on the Scheme". What a little charmer.

26-05-2011, 12:55 PM
I havent seen much evidence on the programme of 'sponging off the state/tax payers/hard working families or whatever the daily mail jargon of the day is.

The woman who takes in the various waifs and strays including chris and the skinny blonde girl says shes doing it because theyre homeless and have nowhere else to go. A case of well-meaning (but misguided, shes obviously got plenty of problems herself) do-gooders taking the place of the under-resourced housing system.

Ive watched enough now...poverty porn gets depressing after awhile.

26-05-2011, 01:30 PM
I havent seen much evidence on the programme of 'sponging off the state/tax payers/hard working families or whatever the daily mail jargon of the day is.

I would have agreed until this week's episode. Candice and Chris get a house together through a charity - how? It looked practically brand new with all mod cons as they say.

Then Candice moves out to her own place - how? House was in the middle of renovation but plenty painting etc going on and she was getting a new bathroom and kitchen the next day.

FWIW, I'm not saying they're spongers, just not sure of the relationship between social welfare and curing the problem rather than tolerating it.

26-05-2011, 01:35 PM
I would have agreed until this week's episode. Candice and Chris get a house together through a charity - how? It looked practically brand new with all mod cons as they say.

Then Candice moves out to her own place - how? House was in the middle of renovation but plenty painting etc going on and she was getting a new bathroom and kitchen the next day.

FWIW, I'm not saying they're spongers, just not sure of the relationship between social welfare and curing the problem rather than tolerating it.

I heard reference in that episode to Rathbone, who do some good work in retraining young people and get most of their money through external funding (Europe etc). Im not sure but they could have housing association contacts etc.

FWIW, im not saying they're NOT spongers:greengrin Theres just not the emphasis on the welfare system that id have expected.

28-05-2011, 11:37 AM

Chris and Candice both got houses no problem at all. I felt sorry for the McCree family who tried their best to do some good for the community but obstacles were put in front of them at every oppurtunity....Real shame

Twa Cairpets
28-05-2011, 12:20 PM
Chris and Candice both got houses no problem at all. I felt sorry for the McCree family who tried their best to do some good for the community but obstacles were put in front of them at every oppurtunity....Real shame

Not true. What obstacles?

Offered it for a £1, if I recall correctly, but needed a lot of work done.

The only "obstacle", if thats what you call it, is that the council decided that they didnt want to ante up £30,000 to repair it. If thats the argument, then its a different one about how the council spends its money, its not that the poor community chapmions are deliberately thwarted in their goals.

Its not the councils fault that the Cree's had absolutely no idea about how much things cost, or how much work needed done.

31-05-2011, 07:31 PM
Watched the "1 year on" episode and at one point nearly switched off. How that waste of space Baird can be elevated to celebrity status for being nothing more than a ****less waster really got to me - £2k worth of dental treatment bought and paid for by a national newspaper while most folks have worked hard to attempt to achieve something with their lives (and I don't mean anything grand, just by doing things the right way, holding down a job, paying their way, etc) stuck in my craw.
Be interesting to see tonights 'debate'.

(Sweary filter a bit overzealous - the word censored begins with 'F' and rhymes with necklace)

31-05-2011, 07:46 PM
Not true. What obstacles?

Offered it for a £1, if I recall correctly, but needed a lot of work done.

The only "obstacle", if thats what you call it, is that the council decided that they didnt want to ante up £30,000 to repair it. If thats the argument, then its a different one about how the council spends its money, its not that the poor community chapmions are deliberately thwarted in their goals.

Its not the councils fault that the Cree's had absolutely no idea about how much things cost, or how much work needed done.

Obstacles being the cost of surveys, renovation etc, which was 30,000 when they had only managed to raise 4,500....In that aspect I felt sorry for them, I hope they manage to get the shop open as a centre although tight for space....

Twa Cairpets
01-06-2011, 09:52 AM
Obstacles being the cost of surveys, renovation etc, which was 30,000 when they had only managed to raise 4,500....In that aspect I felt sorry for them, I hope they manage to get the shop open as a centre although tight for space....

Yep, I can understand that they had obstacles to overcome, but that is different to the meaning of "obstacles put in front of them at every opportunity". The former is a passive state of affairs that would apply equally to anybody, the latter suggests an active campaign with the aim of thwarting what they are trying to do.

The fact that they only raised £4,500 is irrelevant. The cost is the cost.

01-06-2011, 06:29 PM
Watched the "1 year on" episode and at one point nearly switched off. How that waste of space Baird can be elevated to celebrity status for being nothing more than a ****less waster really got to me - £2k worth of dental treatment bought and paid for by a national newspaper while most folks have worked hard to attempt to achieve something with their lives (and I don't mean anything grand, just by doing things the right way, holding down a job, paying their way, etc) stuck in my craw.
Be interesting to see tonights 'debate'.

(Sweary filter a bit overzealous - the word censored begins with 'F' and rhymes with necklace)

On the flip side, I found it weirdly hilarious that loads of neds torture him by shouting "where's Bullet?" at him every day!

How was the debate? I switched off after about 5 minutes as it seemed to be the middle classes handwringing about how guilty we should all feel.

01-06-2011, 07:56 PM
On the flip side, I found it weirdly hilarious that loads of neds torture him by shouting "where's Bullet?" at him every day!

How was the debate? I switched off after about 5 minutes as it seemed to be the middle classes handwringing about how guilty we should all feel.

Pretty much how the whole programme panned out. Boring as. Especially enjoyed one woman's outrage at them showing the young lad 'shooting up' on the programme. She felt it was showing people how to do it. :rolleyes:

01-06-2011, 09:31 PM

I tend to agree with what Ian Rankin called 'a missed opportunity lacking in dissenters'. No real debate as such, just the usual noises from the usual suspects. Being fair, the former cop spoke a bit of sense but Susan Deacon (living of an honorary professorship - proving there is hope for us all) was shown up as miles out of her depth by deferring any difficult questions with trite phrases like 'that's another matter' or 'we don't have time to discuss that'.

One thing which was never touched upon was the phenomenon of personal responsibility and consequences - something which I find saddening on a personal level, knowing as I (and many others) do a lot of people who have become embroiled in drink, drugs, crime, etc and managed to claw their way out through their own efforts - overall it (the debate) became cyclical as it seemed to be everyone else's fault.

05-06-2011, 10:33 AM
Jakeriffic programme.

Mon the Scheme.