View Full Version : NHC Millwall fan being punched by OB!

Auckland Hibs
16-05-2010, 04:43 AM
Millwall fan takes a sore one, bit OTT from the copper IMO.

Does anyone know if there had been trouble at the game which lead to this incident?

YouTube - Hudderfield Town & Millwall Hooligans / Police Brutality (Saturday 15th May 2010) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0wGAZp0B7I)

16-05-2010, 06:30 AM
:bitchy: shocking

Saw this on sky news this morning.

Police officers who abuse their powers and responsibilities in this way should have to face the full prosecution of the law.

Plenty witness and evidence. Will be interesting to see what happens.

Hibs On Tour
16-05-2010, 07:06 AM
:agree: Have been at far too many things where the OB clearly aren't interested in keeping the peace but are deployed in certain circumstances purely to get a reaction and give them reason to nick people. In the context of this particular incident, its perhaps not purely coincidental the reputation that West Yorkshire Police have got with being heavy-handed with football fans of ALL clubs either there or visiting.

**** all will happen though. We're [using the 'royal' wee as football fans here] all just fans and therefore bottom of the food chain as far as football cares...

Conrad Gray
16-05-2010, 07:11 AM
:bitchy: shocking

Saw this on sky news this morning.

Police officers who abuse their powers and responsibilities in this way should have to face the full prosecution of the law.

Plenty witness and evidence. Will be interesting to see what happens.

I totally agree with above, however I would like to see the footage of the previous five minutes before passing judgement. That is, what had the little character who was leathered done to merit being sconed, had he hit or thrown stuff at the polis or other fans???

I think there is more to this as I have never seen the police at Easter Road just wading into the stands with their sticks out. I doubt they would risk doing it without a reason.

camhibby1
16-05-2010, 07:49 AM
A quick read of the comments below the clip may give some idea of the context - no matter what still no excuse.

16-05-2010, 08:12 AM
I'm going to be honest and say I enjoyed that(apart from the muppet who spends the first minute and a half given us his view, clearly after his ten minutes of fame). Mon the police:thumbsup:

16-05-2010, 08:23 AM
whats James McFadden doing there - and wearing a parka as well - shocking.

YouTube - More Police Brutality (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKK9EjEEG_Q)

what goes around comes around can be pretty brutal

16-05-2010, 08:32 AM
Brutality aye? The guy is stupid enough to get in the police's face, gets PUSHED in the face, does it again, and get's PUSHED harder, to keep further distance. There is every basis for the police officer to claim that he felt intimidated by the stupid prick's aggressive behaviour. It's hardly Rodney King.

16-05-2010, 08:35 AM
No wonder certain folk hate the polis

16-05-2010, 08:40 AM
whats James McFadden doing there - and wearing a parka as well - shocking.

YouTube - More Police Brutality (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKK9EjEEG_Q)

what goes around comes around can be pretty brutal

THAT is brutality.

16-05-2010, 08:46 AM
Brutality aye? The guy is stupid enough to get in the police's face, gets PUSHED in the face, does it again, and get's PUSHED harder, to keep further distance. There is every basis for the police officer to claim that he felt intimidated by the stupid prick's aggressive behaviour. It's hardly Rodney King.

:agree: What a sad git that introduces the video,what happened before that caused the police to get involved?

2 shoves in the face to hold of an aggressive individual is hardly police brutality.

marleyhib
16-05-2010, 08:49 AM
two good lefts from the polis whatever the circumstances

16-05-2010, 08:53 AM
Got what he deserved.

16-05-2010, 08:54 AM
:agree: What a sad git that introduces the video,what happened before that caused the police to get involved?

2 shoves in the face to hold of an aggressive individual is hardly police brutality.

:agree:, still a tad ott in my opinion....

16-05-2010, 08:58 AM
It looks to me that he pushed him twice with an open hand. It did not look like he punched him imho.

16-05-2010, 09:21 AM
Non event really, wee bit aggro in the stands, young chap takes a slap or two from the polis for his troubles. Way it should be really, sure both parties would rather take a batton to the leg as opposed to spending a night in the cells and the hours of paper work that comes with it for the arresting officer.

Police at fitba (and in town centre's these days) are still **** to a man though!

16-05-2010, 09:23 AM
Police brutality? I don't think so.

I watched the police at the title winning game against Rangers this season confronting some pretty knuckle dragging characters who were there in large numbers. Walking the line that keeps situations like these peaceful rather than violent is extremely difficult.

When you consider that they are routinely dealing with large crowds of alcohol fuelled people who are there for quite tribal reasons then this isn't exactly organising a children's tea party. At the extreme end of this equation you end up with the utter disgrace of what happened in Manchester.

16-05-2010, 09:56 AM
I'm going to be honest and say I enjoyed that(apart from the muppet who spends the first minute and a half given us his view, clearly after his ten minutes of fame). Mon the police:thumbsup:

:agree: What was that all about?:confused:

Think the wee runt deserved what he got for being in the polis man's face.

16-05-2010, 10:13 AM
by in large decent guys doing a difficult job, hampered by the dregs of society who wouldn't know decency if it slapped them in the puss :greengrin on one side and the political clowns who wouldn't know reality and the working man on the other.

folk all hate the police until they want them at their door then it's "theres never enough police" or "we should go back to the police on the beat".

can't have it both ways.

16-05-2010, 10:14 AM

:agree: What a trumpet that guy is,has he nothing better to do than get all steamed up about a push in the mush

16-05-2010, 10:16 AM
Got what he deserved. Dont go squaring up to a polis man, shouting in his face. He pushed him once, he came back for more so he pushed him again. We need more heavy handed polis these days, bit like the spanish coppers there mental, would be a lot less roudy teenagers on the streets.

Hibs On Tour
16-05-2010, 10:38 AM
by in large decent guys doing a difficult job, hampered by the dregs of society who wouldn't know decency if it slapped them in the puss :greengrin on one side and the political clowns who wouldn't know reality and the working man on the other.

folk all hate the police until they want them at their door then it's "theres never enough police" or "we should go back to the police on the beat".

can't have it both ways.

About half and half in my experience. Some proper decent guys trying to do the right thing in society in a difficult job and the other half being absolute ****ing helmets who abuse the outfit they are in and use it as an excuse to 'big themselves up' and stroll around being cocks with complete impunity. These lot tend to be the type of ***** who tried really hard to be part of the gang at school but could never quite cut it - bitter wee ***** who use the uniform to bully folk when they can.

16-05-2010, 10:42 AM
The anti-police crew do my head in...as wee hibby said, where would we be without them ?......doing a difficult job against the dregs of society...if we had more coppers like the one that skelped that guy we might have safer streets. The police do a tough job....far too easy to have a pop at, but we greet when they are not there for us when we need them.

16-05-2010, 10:45 AM
Would have to have seen the previous 5 minutes or so, but the guy in the checkered shirt, purely on that evidence, doesn't really have a case, showing off in front of his mates/family. Still don't like the polis though, they just seem to get involved when they feel like it sometimes, for example with those Yams who refused to move after a derby game at ER a couple of seasons ago.

16-05-2010, 10:46 AM
Heard about this before I saw it, thought it would be a lot worse to be honest

If you're going to get a bit rowdy at the football you may well get a slap whether that's from the opposition or a bizzie what's the difference

If the bizzie had went for it with the stick would have been a different matter

16-05-2010, 10:47 AM
Got what he deserved. Dont go squaring up to a polis man, shouting in his face. He pushed him once, he came back for more so he pushed him again. We need more heavy handed polis these days, bit like the spanish coppers there mental, would be a lot less roudy teenagers on the streets.

The Millwall fans have had made a rod for their own backs after 50 years of misbehaving. No doubt the police were told to adopt a zero tolerance approach with them knowing that any sign of police weakness (most famous example new den riot after iirc Birmingham game) is an open invitation for them to start a full blown roit. Id guess there would have been a much lower police profile had the visitors been a team without a notorious "firm" so bottom line Millwall reap what they sow.

Societies full of characters who act like total wideos in our streets , pubs and fitba grounds and who when then pulled up by the polis give it the old your picking on me routine. No sympathy for them ... as you might have guessed.

16-05-2010, 10:48 AM
Its all very well claiming police brutality, but if you are claiming the police man should get charged then the wee guy is due a breach of the peace charge as well. Now personally I would rather take a couple of wee digs then a day in court.

Police brutality would involve whacking him with his truncheon. I think the police man held back and would probably have loved to give the wee guy a couple of raps the head with his truncheon.

Also who is kidding who, Millwall revel in their reputation, but when they get a slap they are shouting police brutality and wanting the guy on charges, give me a break.

I'm not a fan of how the police treat football fans in general, but that wee * was due a slap.

16-05-2010, 10:54 AM
Way it should be really, sure both parties would rather take a batton to the leg as opposed to spending a night in the cells and the hours of paper work that comes with it for the arresting officer

:agree::top marks

16-05-2010, 11:00 AM

:agree: A beauty. A fair cop.

16-05-2010, 11:12 AM
The anti-police crew do my head in...as wee hibby said, where would we be without them ?......

can't really say for sure, but i do know where liddle towers, blair peach, cynthia jarret etc wouldn't be.

HibeeDaz6270
16-05-2010, 11:35 AM
Also its a open hand push, and not a punch. Which police officers are pretty much allowed to do.

Hibs On Tour
16-05-2010, 11:46 AM
Also its a open hand push, and not a punch. Which police officers are pretty much allowed to do.

Don't think so. Sure a lawyer would say its technically assault... proving it would of course be another matter entirely! :greengrin

ChooseLife
16-05-2010, 11:54 AM
Looked as if the boy holding his pal was making a kind of "Wow, calm down, we're away" gesture to policeman, the sc*mbag to then go and hit him like that is way out of order, policeman who abuse their power are down there with the lowest of the low IMO, if he's still got a job next week theres something wrong.

16-05-2010, 12:14 PM
Don't think so. Sure a lawyer would say its technically assault... proving it would of course be another matter entirely! :greengrin

Well within his rights to do that.

Nae chance

16-05-2010, 12:42 PM
"There was about a 20 minute build up to this. A group of Millwall fans were throwing missiles into the Huddersfield supporters and trying to break through to the home end after the game. The police then had to step in to make the Millwall fans retreat. This is when the footage starts so all you appear to see is a policeman appear to hit a fan for no reason but this was not the case! It was only a small group of idiots but the police had to take action before anything more serious happened."

That appears to be the context in which this 'brutality' took place.

It seems that if the police move in decisively to prevent trouble escalating, they're accused of brutality.

If they don't, innocent bystanders get hurt, and they're criticised for their failure to act decisively.

That looks like a mouthy wee ned looking for trouble and getting it. He confronts the policeman; the policeman pushes him back, fairly hard, but not IMO hard enough to do damage. The ned bounces back, mouthing. He then gets a harder push verging on a blow. His mates then drag him back. They're not happy with the policeman, but they're not looking for more trouble. End of incident.

According to another of the comments on the footage, there was quite serious trouble last time Millwall travelled to Huddersfield, and the police would have been briefed to deal with any confrontations quickly and firmly.

Can't see a problem, really. :rolleyes:

16-05-2010, 12:43 PM
To be fair to the copper it was a Millwall fan here. Its not as if its a real person.

16-05-2010, 12:49 PM
the title of the thread title is misleading and should be amended - there was no punch involved. Granted it looks ayoungish lad but he obviously put himself right in the firing line and was giving it verbal. Don't hink he'd have got up if that policeman had really punched him.

Devonhibs
16-05-2010, 12:56 PM
Its the usual predictable reponses from some on here, the police can do no right, backed up by abuse - I have policed numerous high profile football matches and have been assaulted at least ten times by those attending - wouldnt call them fans as they didnt have any interest in the match - only up for aggro with like other liked minded others.

As usual, a few seconds of video clip is used to make your mind up!:grr:

Conrad Gray
16-05-2010, 01:14 PM
Better view of it here......

YouTube - Young Millwall fan clashes with the Polis (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa6QwZ-76YA)

16-05-2010, 01:17 PM
the title of the thread title is misleading and should be amended - there was no punch involved. Granted it looks a youngish lad but he obviously put himself right in the firing line and was giving it verbal. Don't think he'd have got up if that policeman had really punched him.

The rest of the Millwall fans are retreating fairly quietly, but this one kid decides to mix it with the police. He gets pushed back - hard - a couple of times. Then his mates grab him and take him away out of mischief. He probably thinks he's a right wee hero right now. In fact, just another mouthy wee nyaff.

I honestly don't see what the fuss is about. The policeman has his baton on his right shoulder - if he had lashed out with that, the wee ned would still be in hospital. I can't see how the officer can be said to have done anything wrong in the wider context of the match.

16-05-2010, 03:02 PM
Better view of it here......

YouTube - Young Millwall fan clashes with the Polis (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa6QwZ-76YA)

A big man in a wee laddies body. As far as I can see he got what he deserved and is lucky that the nice policeman didn't set about him with his baton. Best form of defence is attack first and that's what the policeman did.

:thumbsup: C'mon the polis.

16-05-2010, 03:09 PM
Shows how tame fitba is in britland when that is deemed 'trouble' and 'police brutality'.

16-05-2010, 03:10 PM
About half and half in my experience. Some proper decent guys trying to do the right thing in society in a difficult job and the other half being absolute ****ing helmets who abuse the outfit they are in and use it as an excuse to 'big themselves up' and stroll around being cocks with complete impunity. These lot tend to be the type of ***** who tried really hard to be part of the gang at school but could never quite cut it - bitter wee ***** who use the uniform to bully folk when they can.

Excellent post, giving some much needed balance. I'm finding a lot of the posts on here a bit hard to take, people falling over themselves to canonise every single police officer, just because a big guy in a uniform with the entire weight of the state behind him pushes a stroppy little fool in the face a couple of times. Get a grip chaps.

libernian
16-05-2010, 03:59 PM
Excellent post, giving some much needed balance. I'm finding a lot of the posts on here a bit hard to take, people falling over themselves to canonise every single police officer, just because a big guy in a uniform with the entire weight of the state behind him pushes a stroppy little fool in the face a couple of times. Get a grip chaps.

yeah good post by hibs on tour.

but have to say that lots of police genuinely are bully's.. the worst thing about them is that they are in no way whatsoever interested in what has happened when an incident takes place. all they are interested in getting enough evidence to convict someone no matter if theyve done right or wrong. far too many of them are jobsworths, wouldsnt say theyre all bad tho but most are.

16-05-2010, 04:14 PM
Hooliganism starts at a very early age.

YouTube - Little Football Hooligans Fight (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mS-qoiFBqh4)

16-05-2010, 04:16 PM
I remember when I was young I was punched in the stomach, struck on the head with a wooden object, grabbed by the clothing and thrown in a room. The teachers at Tranent Primary School certainly knew how to punish you.

What a nation of wimps we are turning into. :boo hoo:

16-05-2010, 04:19 PM
I remember when I was young I was punched in the stomach, struck on the head with a wooden object, grabbed by the clothing and thrown in a room. The teachers at Tranent Primary School certainly knew how to punish you.

What a nation of wimps we are turning into. :boo hoo:

:top marks From someone who had 6 of the belt on a number of occasions at the tender age of about 11/12 but didnae go hame greeting to my mother and complaining that the headmaster was a big bully. :cool2:

16-05-2010, 04:25 PM
didnae go hame greeting to my mother and complaining that the headmaster was a big bully :cool2:

You didn't tell your parents cause you would have got another skelp on the heid for getting into bother at the school.

oldbiker
16-05-2010, 04:26 PM
Reckon the cop was spot on.
He could have used the baton and didnt.
He was right handed and pushed the yob with his weaker left hand.
The yob came back for more after the first push which meant the cop had to escalate his push a bit more.

Play with fire and it gets hot

16-05-2010, 04:28 PM
You didn't tell your parents cause you would have got another skelp on the heid for getting into bother at the school.

:agree: Aye and a skelped :asshole: from my dad when he got back from work or the boozer. :boo hoo:

16-05-2010, 04:33 PM
The wee ******** was asking for it. Acting the big shot with a gang behind him.

Pissed myself laughing when I saw him close to tears, I wouldn't be surprised if he'd said "I'll get my dad".

Regrettably though, the days of Gene Hunt are over, and the polis will have to take what is coming to him. I'm surprised he didn't just lift the wee twat.

A PC gone mad IMO.

PeeKay
16-05-2010, 05:52 PM
Yeah. Boy got what he deserved. Just like Hibs fans deserve at the hands of Strathclyde's Finest.

RigRoars
16-05-2010, 05:58 PM
Acab

16-05-2010, 06:47 PM

YouTube - Little Football Hooligans Fight (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mS-qoiFBqh4)

:faf::faf:

The smallest one is hilarious!

16-05-2010, 06:57 PM
Millwall fan takes a sore one, bit OTT from the copper IMO.

Does anyone know if there had been trouble at the game which lead to this incident?

YouTube - Hudderfield Town & Millwall Hooligans / Police Brutality (Saturday 15th May 2010) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0wGAZp0B7I)

It's not up to the police to dispense justice.

That said, it is always good to see Millwall fans receiving a good slap.

So on this occasion. well done the old bill.

16-05-2010, 07:03 PM

Aye. Exactly.

This is the age of the risk assessment and H&S gone mad.

16-05-2010, 07:05 PM

:top marks:faf:

Taught well, all the blows to the body so no marks on the face!

Eganov
16-05-2010, 08:16 PM
The fact that those cops are from the support unit shows that there has been significant trouble in the build up as they would not be placed there as standard.

That is perfect risk management from the cop who does the pushing away. Chose not to use his baton. Amazing how many football hooligan sympathisers there are about.

The next time you hear "political correctness gone mad" being banded about, just think of the old guy narrating that first youtube vid.

Hibs On Tour
16-05-2010, 08:35 PM
The fact that those cops are from the support unit shows that there has been significant trouble in the build up as they would not be placed there as standard.

That is perfect risk management from the cop who does the pushing away. Chose not to use his baton. Amazing how many football hooligan sympathisers there are about.

The next time you hear "political correctness gone mad" being banded about, just think of the old guy narrating that first youtube vid.

In one of the two vids, his colleague does however use his baton twice on the lad's legs...

Eganov
16-05-2010, 08:56 PM
In one of the two vids, his colleague does however use his baton twice on the lad's legs...

yeah, he does, because he's still not moving back and a crowd's formed. The danger's increased so the use of force is proportionate to the threat.

16-05-2010, 09:08 PM
Trying to act the hardman and got what he deserved.

16-05-2010, 09:20 PM

17-05-2010, 05:06 PM
If you don't want the police to be brutal, don't go asking them for a fight.

HibsMax
17-05-2010, 06:10 PM
I watched the video a few times and noted the same thing. I'm not supporting the police attacking youngsters but we don't know what happened before and the cop doesn't punch him, he pushes him away.

Unfortunately clips like this are a little like quote-mining, they only tell the story the presenter wants to tell.

Again, not saying the cops weren't being heavy handed but I wasn't there and I can't tell if the ned deserved it. He didn't seem to badly hurt from the ordeal....if he was hurt at all.

17-05-2010, 07:48 PM
I don't think there's any basis whatsoever for suggesting that the copper "attacked" the little scrote. I've got mates and family who live in Huddersfield and they said the place was an absolute mess the last time Millwall were there, so hardly a shock that the police were ready for them.

Know a few guys who went to the rugby at Huddersfield yesterday and they said there were loads of missing seats in the away end that presumably had been used as missiles the day before.

17-05-2010, 07:51 PM
Police brutality, boo, hoo. This is the quaint lads of Millwall, those innocent non-aggressive London wide boys going up norf for a ruck. Saw nothing in what the cop did that was out of ordinary. You can be sure if the cop had fallen the feral neds would have been on him as quick as.