View Full Version : Hibs in for more than one Carlisle player

Penrith Hibee
11-05-2010, 06:55 AM
Extremely reliable source tells me that as well as Keogh we are after another one whose name I can't mention yet. Source says Keogh is the business and will be sorely missed by them.

AugustaHibs
11-05-2010, 06:57 AM
Just tell us!!! Gets so annoying...

11-05-2010, 07:07 AM
Extremely reliable source tells me that as well as Keogh we are after another one whose name I can't mention yet. Source says Keogh is the business and will be sorely missed by them.

Centre back Livesey - we have been linked before? :dunno:

11-05-2010, 07:41 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Anyinsah (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Anyinsah)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Livesey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Livesey)

quick look at carlisle utd mad message board and it seems to be these two that are out of contract now that they are dissapointed to be losing so guessing it's one of them :dunno:

11-05-2010, 07:59 AM
It's always good when the details of our transfer targets are leaked in advance. :bitchy:

If these players are coming to the end of their deals, why haven't Hibs signed them pre contract already? Does that have to happen in the window too?

Anyway, I'm not holding my breath.

11-05-2010, 08:03 AM
Saying that Keogh has turned down his latest contract offer

11-05-2010, 09:32 AM
Matthew Robson

(been watched more than once:agree:)

11-05-2010, 09:57 AM
A few folk have posted that the following have tunred sown contracts so far;

Anyinsah, Horwood, Raven, Dobie, Pidgeley, and ofcourse Keogh.

Poster also says that,

'Only get money for Keogh if he stays in England though, if he ends up at Hibernian we get naff all.'

I take it this is down to this foreign transfer rule?

11-05-2010, 09:58 AM
It's always good when the details of our transfer targets are leaked in advance. :bitchy:

If these players are coming to the end of their deals, why haven't Hibs signed them pre contract already? Does that have to happen in the window too?

Anyway, I'm not holding my breath.

I see the happiness didnae last too long :wink: :greengrin

11-05-2010, 10:17 AM

Poster also says that,

'Only get money for Keogh if he stays in England though, if he ends up at Hibernian we get naff all.'

I take it this is down to this foreign transfer rule?According to this we'd be due compensation of between 50-100K:

http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/176374-carlisle-united-defender-keogh-interesting-hibs/ (http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/176374-carlisle-united-defender-keogh-interesting-hibs/)

Petrie's Tache
11-05-2010, 10:19 AM
No compo as different countries.

Scott Dobbie is also awaiting a decision on his future!:wink:

Auckland Hibs
11-05-2010, 10:24 AM
Oh, how I've missed http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/ - Let the bull**** begin! :greengrin

BARNSLEY FC NEWS

david googwille to sign next week
also derek riordan will sign soon after a 400k bidhas been accepted

hugo colace will sign soon
dicko will sign a 3 year deal as stoke have accepted a 450k bid a shotton will sign on a 1 year loan
tom cleverley from man u will sign on a 1 year loan

Scottish Rumours

The guy who said derek riordan to barnsley for 400k. You are completley wrong. The hibs chairman will accept no less than 1 million pounds.

Colin Nish plus cash to aberdeen with Zander Diamond going to hibs.
Hibs will also sign Richard Keogh (Free Transfer), Scott Arfield (Falkirk– 200k), Michael Hart (Free Transfer) and Garry O'Connor (Free Transfer)

11-05-2010, 10:36 AM
I see the happiness didnae last too long :wink: :greengrin

How did you work that one out?

M11BMO
11-05-2010, 10:52 AM
http://www.newsandstar.co.uk/carlisle-united/latest/richard-keogh-to-hold-more-talks-with-carlisle-utd-boss-abbott-1.706520?referr (http://www.newsandstar.co.uk/carlisle-united/latest/richard-keogh-to-hold-more-talks-with-carlisle-utd-boss-abbott-1.706520?referr)

Here's the latest on Keogh... apparently he is to have a re-think...

Get a move on Tach and get him signed up!

11-05-2010, 10:59 AM
Scottish Rumours

Hibs will also sign Richard Keogh (Free Transfer), Scott Arfield (Falkirk– 200k), Michael Hart (Free Transfer) and Garry O'Connor (Free Transfer)

Done !!:thumbsup:

I would be happy with that this summer. I would feel for big Nishy but Garry O would soften the blow:greengrin

Let the madness begin:thumbsup:

M11BMO
11-05-2010, 12:05 PM
[QUOTE=Paul;2464478]Oh, how I've missed http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/ (http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/) - Let the bull**** begin! :greengrin QUOTE]

11 May 2010 11:25:16
Hibernian News:

Garry O'Connor to sign for £200k plus John Rankin to Birmingham to shore up the engine room.

Hibs are also to move for upcoming Pollok star Chris Brophy. Who has netted 34 goals this season from the left side of midfield.

Sol Bamba will move to Fulham for £1.6M
Paul Hanlon will join Bundesliga new boys St. Pauli for £1M

Hibs will replace these two Central defensive rocks by bringing in :

Zander Diamond and Ritchie Foster (Aberdeen) £300k

David Van Zanten will also rejoin former club Hibs after impressing at Hamilton.

Anthony Stokes will join Celtic for £4.5M with Paul Caddis and Pat McCourt moving in the other direction.

Where do some people get their imaginations from!?:confused:

11-05-2010, 12:08 PM
According to this we'd be due compensation of between 50-100K:

[/URL][url]http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/176374-carlisle-united-defender-keogh-interesting-hibs/ (http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/176374-carlisle-united-defender-keogh-interesting-hibs/)

See thats what I was told at first but the compensation only applies to English teams that are buying another English teams player.

11-05-2010, 12:11 PM
[QUOTE=Paul;2464478]Oh, how I've missed [/URL][url]http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/ (http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/) - Let the bull**** begin! :greengrinQUOTE]

11 May 2010 11:25:16
Hibernian News:

Garry O'Connor to sign for £200k plus John Rankin to Birmingham to shore up the engine room.

:faf: :faf: :faf: - Nurse, NUUUUURSE!!!!!!

Hibs are also to move for upcoming Pollok star Chris Brophy. Who has netted 34 goals this season from the left side of midfield.

Sol Bamba will move to Fulham for £1.6M
Paul Hanlon will join Bundesliga new boys St. Pauli for £1M

Hibs will replace these two Central defensive rocks by bringing in :

Zander Diamond and Ritchie Foster (Aberdeen) £300k

David Van Zanten will also rejoin former club Hibs after impressing at Hamilton. :faf: :faf:

Anthony Stokes will join Celtic for £4.5M with Paul Caddis and Pat McCourt moving in the other direction.

Where do some people get their imaginations from!?:confused:

I think I've just passed my pancreas oot ma arse from laughing so hard at the above 2!!!

Brilliant stuff :thumbsup:

11-05-2010, 12:12 PM
Keogh has become somewhat of a cult hero at Brunton Park,[1] with one group of supporters carrying a giant 'In Keogh We Trust' banner across the country in support of Carlisle United.

M11BMO
11-05-2010, 12:19 PM
David Van Zanten will also rejoin former club Hibs after impressing at Hamilton.

And while your there can we have Martin Canning back as well!?:faf:

11-05-2010, 12:20 PM
See thats what I was told at first but the compensation only applies to English teams that are buying another English teams player.I'm not saying we are due compensation, just saying according to that link they reckoned we were. I tried looking on the FIFA website for compensation rules and it's a bit of a minefield to be honest.

Do you have a link that explains transfers between clubs and compensation rules?

Penrith Hibee
11-05-2010, 04:24 PM

Poster also says that,

The other one is Anyinsah, but my source says they will pay us to take him! Not a good sign....

11-05-2010, 04:27 PM
Oh, how I've missed http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/ (http://www.football-rumours.co.uk/) - Let the bull**** begin! :greengrin

BARNSLEY FC NEWS

david googwille to sign next week
also derek riordan will sign soon after a 400k bidhas been accepted

hugo colace will sign soon
dicko will sign a 3 year deal as stoke have accepted a 450k bid a shotton will sign on a 1 year loan
tom cleverley from man u will sign on a 1 year loan

Scottish Rumours

The guy who said derek riordan to barnsley for 400k. You are completley wrong. The hibs chairman will accept no less than 1 million pounds.

If you scroll down further on that page you will see in the Hearts news that it says 'Hearts legend Christian Nade is to be released'. So yep it's definitely a reliable source when they label Nade as a legend.:agree:

vahibbie
11-05-2010, 05:08 PM
[QUOTE=M11BMO;2464621]

I think I've just passed my pancreas oot ma arse from laughing so hard at the above 2!!!

Brilliant stuff :thumbsup:

Ya *******.
You made me laugh out loud....mair funny looks from the Yanks.

11-05-2010, 07:01 PM

Dont get me wrong, I think Rankin is a decent player, he does a job for Hibs but thats just ridiculous.

11-05-2010, 07:45 PM
We don't have a "Gregg's" near me so have to do with a "Matheson's"

My "English Correspondent" tells me there is "a fair chance" Garry O' will be at ER next season plus one from Carlisle

:cool2:

woodythehibee
11-05-2010, 07:54 PM
I don't think we would have to pay compo. Remember the fiasco when we signed Clayton Donaldson? Their gaffer was not too pleased.

PC Stamp
11-05-2010, 08:11 PM
And while your there can we have Martin Canning back as well!?:faf:

I'd take Canzo back a million miles ahead of Zander bleedin' Diamond!
He's not so much a bombscare, more of an all out nuclear holocaust! :eek:

11-05-2010, 08:14 PM
I don't think we would have to pay compo. Remember the fiasco when we signed Clayton Donaldson? Their gaffer was not too pleased.
think they should have paid us compensation for taking him :greengrin

11-05-2010, 09:31 PM
no idea where he's heading, but the tone suggests he's already got something lined up...

http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10361~2048811,00.html

11-05-2010, 10:42 PM
no idea where he's heading, but the tone suggests he's already got something lined up...

http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10361~2048811,00.html (http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10361%7E2048811,00.html)

Hopefully with us :greengrin.

11-05-2010, 10:45 PM
Had to share this gem from a certain website.

"Hibs will be looking to strengthen with swoops for Damarcus Beasley of Rangers and Nacho Novo...St Mirren will also tie up summer deals for Burton O'Brien, Colin Nish, Jose Quitongo and Lee Hughes of Oldham Athletic."

Mah sides! :faf:

hibee4life1983
12-05-2010, 01:37 AM
There really is il some tosh statements here that are hurting me with laughter.
I think there all the transfers fi champ man! LOL

12-05-2010, 04:12 AM
Hopefully with us :greengrin.

Love to see it. He seems a highly influential guy on and off the park. i reckoned his cult hero status is handmade for us.

12-05-2010, 09:39 AM

Poster also says that,

This guy is GASH! In fact all the rest, apart from Keogh are gash.

Dr_Regal
12-05-2010, 10:02 AM
I would definetly be speaking to aberdeen about:

Diamond for Nish and cash. A new look centre half partnership of this Keogh and Diamond please. And GOC to replace Nish

12-05-2010, 10:15 AM

Diamond for Nish and cash. A new look centre half partnership of this Keogh and Diamond please. And GOC to replace Nish

Not Diamond.

PLEASE not Diamond. :boo hoo:

12-05-2010, 10:17 AM
Love to see it. He seems a highly influential guy on and off the park. i reckoned his cult hero status is handmade for us.

My worry is that "cult" heroes are usually heroes for reasons that are nothing to do with being good at football!

12-05-2010, 10:19 AM
My worry is that "cult" heroes are usually heroes for reasons that are nothing to do with being good at football!

Like David Koresh, you mean? :cool2:

M11BMO
12-05-2010, 01:01 PM
From the EEN:

"Meanwhile, Hughes described reports linking him with Carlisle United defender Richard Keogh as "news to me." Although United are keen to retain the 23-year-old, he has yet to agree a new contract."

:confused: :dunno:

12-05-2010, 01:07 PM
From the EEN:

"Meanwhile, Hughes described reports linking him with Carlisle United defender Richard Keogh as "news to me." Although United are keen to retain the 23-year-old, he has yet to agree a new contract."

Yogi speak for "yes, I'm trying to sign him".

Said the same about Miller & Stokes :greengrin

M11BMO
12-05-2010, 01:10 PM
Yogi speak for "yes, I'm trying to sign him".

Fingers crossed!:greengrin

12-05-2010, 01:15 PM
Like David Koresh, you mean? :cool2:

Something like that. :wink:

12-05-2010, 01:17 PM
From the EEN:

Also from a later edition of the EEN:

'Hughes continued "Player contracts and signings are the Chairman's business." No-one from the Board of Hibernian FC were prepared to confirm the whereabouts of Rod Petrie but a moustache answering his description was spotted huddled around a table in a motorway service station on the M74 earlier today.'

12-05-2010, 01:24 PM
Can anyone confirm if Richard Keogh is pally with Anthony Stokes? Apparently they played together 6 times for the Irish under-21's

12-05-2010, 01:38 PM
Also from a later edition of the EEN:

'Hughes continued "Player contracts and signings are the Chairman's business." No-one from the Board of Hibernian FC were prepared to confirm the whereabouts of Rod Petrie but a moustache answering his description was spotted huddled around a table in a motorway service station on the M74 earlier today.'

I drove past him:agree:

Easy to spot ! Both front windows open to allow the tach to be fully extended:agree:

12-05-2010, 01:44 PM
From the EEN:

Nearly every manager says that whenever they are linked to or doing a deal with a player. Obv we dont know but like has been said, I wouldnt be suprised if he was in talks.

12-05-2010, 02:13 PM
Can anyone confirm if Richard Keogh is pally with Anthony Stokes? Apparently they played together 6 times for the Irish under-21's

If they're pally, maybe Ant can take him for a swally to tell him to sign!

12-05-2010, 05:20 PM

Easy to spot ! Both front windows open to allow the tach to be fully extended:agree:

:faf::faf:

http://www.instructables.com/image/F4IS741FOVXOMZC/Handsew-a-giant-stuffed-moustache.jpg

12-05-2010, 07:53 PM
Tho only two id like from carlisle are ian harte .....darryll duffy who was on loan at carlis:agree:le

12-05-2010, 08:08 PM

i must admit im a little suprised at the intrest in Diamond, he, at least up till now, has not fulfilled his potential. IMO of coarse.

12-05-2010, 08:11 PM
From the EEN:

said the same thing about LM the day before he signed.:agree:

12-05-2010, 08:13 PM
Tho only two id like from carlisle are ian harte .....darryll duffy who was on loan at carlis:agree:le

Harte's well past his best and has produced little for the Cumbrians this season, considering the magic wage he gets there. No for me.:bitchy:

12-05-2010, 08:16 PM
Harte's well past his best and has produced little for the Cumbrians this season, considering the magic wage he gets there. No for me.:bitchy:

And you'd need to wait a week until you could officially confirm that he's signed for good.:greengrin

12-05-2010, 08:16 PM
i must admit im a little suprised at the intrest in Diamond, he, at least up till now, has not fulfilled his potential. IMO of coarse. Aye, you are right, he still has a few rough edges to his game tho!

12-05-2010, 08:20 PM
Harte's well past his best and has produced little for the Cumbrians this season, considering the magic wage he gets there. No for me.:bitchy: Mikey, I cannae be arsed checking, but, was he not just about top scorer?

12-05-2010, 10:01 PM
Aye, you are right, he still has a few rough edges to his game tho!

I couldnae take a shine to him as he's defo lost his sparkle IMHO

12-05-2010, 10:15 PM
Why are we aiming to sign players from Carlisle for christs sake no disrespect ive no doubt keogh is a good player but why not try for quality in the continent :confused:

we should be going for players who are better than we have .....

steve75
12-05-2010, 10:52 PM
Why are we aiming to sign players from Carlisle for christs sake no disrespect ive no doubt keogh is a good player but why not try for quality in the continent :confused:

Lower league england defenders is exactly the type of players we need, bit of strength, grit and experience(in some cases). For me it's the forward looking players where we look for quality from the continent.

13-05-2010, 06:49 AM

How do you know hes not better than what we already have? Really think thats a nothing argument, you regularly see clubs picking up gems from lower league clubs.

There is a risk obv, but theres also a good chance a player you spend a fair bit on could be a flop.

13-05-2010, 08:02 AM

Exactly, i'm glad we never got that David Platt from Crewe. :wink:

13-05-2010, 08:07 AM

Or that Sproule from Institute. £5,000?
If you pay peanuts you get monkeys:grr:

13-05-2010, 08:10 AM

I'm not!!!!!!!

If David Platt had signed for Hibs, he would never have been picked for England and would never have scored that goal against Belgium!!!:grr:

Aubenas
13-05-2010, 08:28 AM
It's an old argument this, but I think Hibs have shown over the years that they can pick gems from lower divisions, and while the European, or wider, market might be attractive, it has its own risks.

Johnny Leith didn't exactly set the heather on fire despite coming from Monaco, whereas Jonesy from Grimsby was just what we needed. In addition, I think we'd have got a lot more from Zouma and Benji a lot quicker if they hadn't had to adapt to a different culture.

As an Irish guy, Keogh will know about the game here and maybe even has connections with Stokes, Cregg, Stack etc. He's done well at Carlisle by all accounts and maybe needs to move up a level. Championship sides in England mostly have access to fringe Premier players and fairly high level Europeans, salary wise, so his route is blocked in that direction.

All signings are a risk, but there is a good chance that he will fit in well and quickly and continue to learn his trade with us. For every Boozy we unearth sur le continong there's a Daquin or a Hakim Sar.

Management may feel our defensive needs are so immediate ( as do most posters on here) that the route of least risk is the best option.

Put simply: an uncomplicated lower division player with promise is a better punt than a classier French guy who may not adapt to our game.

13-05-2010, 09:34 AM

They have to operate a contraflow when Rod is on the motorway.

13-05-2010, 09:36 AM

Further to the reasonable points above, given that Hibs don't have a proper right back, it wouldn't be difficult for him to be better than what Hibs have.

13-05-2010, 10:19 AM

Eh?!

Ian Harte scored 17 goals last season - apparently he played many games at CH as well! He was also selected in the League One PFA Team of the Year.

13-05-2010, 10:38 AM
Further to the reasonable points above, given that Hibs don't have a proper right back, it wouldn't be difficult for him to be better than what Hibs have.

We were in for Michael Hart from Preston in January, but they sacked their manager and the deal was shelved. He's a right-back.

If we were to renew our interest in him (I believe he's available) and sign Keogh, we might well have solved two major problems at one stroke.

Just thinking aloud. :cool2:

Twa Cairpets
13-05-2010, 12:18 PM

I went to watch Carlisle this season when they gubbed MK Dons 5-0. Couldnt comment on individual players, but as a unit they knew what they were doing, played some tidy football and scored good goals, there were no obvious weak links that day.

Discounting lower league teams when looking for players is ridiculous. It doesnt matter where he plays, its whether he could do a job for us.

13-05-2010, 04:50 PM
On the subject of Carlisle, has anybody else heard we are apparantly away to them late July??

SalfordHibs
13-05-2010, 04:59 PM
On the subject of Carlisle, has anybody else heard we are apparantly away to them late July??

Could that be part of the deal :hmmm:

13-05-2010, 05:02 PM
I went to watch Carlisle this season when they gubbed MK Dons 5-0. Couldnt comment on individual players, but as a unit they knew what they were doing, played some tidy football and scored good goals, there were no obvious weak links that day.

Discounting lower league teams when looking for players is ridiculous. It doesnt matter where he plays, its whether he could do a job for us.

All the great players will have started out with a smaller club at some time in their careers.

13-05-2010, 07:11 PM

Is that not when our 1rst game in uefa cup will be ?

13-05-2010, 07:44 PM
It's an old argument this, but I think Hibs have shown over the years that they can pick gems from lower divisions, and while the European, or wider, market might be attractive, it has its own risks.

Johnny Leith didn't exactly set the heather on fire despite coming from Monaco, whereas Jonesy from Grimsby was just what we needed. In addition, I think we'd have got a lot more from Zouma and Benji a lot quicker if they hadn't had to adapt to a different culture.

As an Irish guy, Keogh will know about the game here and maybe even has connections with Stokes, Cregg, Stack etc. He's done well at Carlisle by all accounts and maybe needs to move up a level. Championship sides in England mostly have access to fringe Premier players and fairly high level Europeans, salary wise, so his route is blocked in that direction.

All signings are a risk, but there is a good chance that he will fit in well and quickly and continue to learn his trade with us. For every Boozy we unearth sur le continong there's a Daquin or a Hakim Sar.

Management may feel our defensive needs are so immediate ( as do most posters on here) that the route of least risk is the best option.

Put simply: an uncomplicated lower division player with promise is a better punt than a classier French guy who may not adapt to our game.

You don't post all that often, but when you do............ :top marks

13-05-2010, 07:47 PM
You don't post all that often, but when you do............ :top marks

He does a lot of unseen work. :wink:

13-05-2010, 07:49 PM
Is that not when our 1rst game in uefa cup will be ?

Depends who wins the Scottish cup I think and a trip to carisle could be a lot of fun

13-05-2010, 08:15 PM

13-05-2010, 08:29 PM
Mikey, I cannae be arsed checking, but, was he not just about top scorer?

Awrite Coco!

Yes he was. He's their penalty man and got a good few from there and he's also scored a handful of free kicks but lots of Foxy fans still not taken to him. Ive not been overly impressed when ive seen him (considering his experience) and he was rank on the big Wembley stage at the JPT final. Notwithstanding all this, he's had a great career and look how Miller turned out for us (1st part of season). May be worth a gamble and certainly Yogi may well see him as part of our cog......

Wages may be a stumbling block...... and he's a wee guy :grr:

13-05-2010, 08:36 PM
Eh?!

Ian Harte scored 17 goals last season - apparently he played many games at CH as well! He was also selected in the League One PFA Team of the Year.

ask the CUFC fans then ! Scoring pens and free kicks for fun against the likes of Stockport, Exeter, Wycombe and co is fine but could he cut it in SPL? Remember, this guy would be our top wage bleeder....i guess life is a gamble.:cool2:

13-05-2010, 08:38 PM

Happy days. Botchergate will be minging wi Hibbies:greengrin

14-05-2010, 08:16 AM

why would there need to be a deal for an out of contract player?

14-05-2010, 08:23 AM

No I think Hibs and North of England clubs find the competition and practice useful. They will be playing other Scottish and maybe other SPL sides too.

An Leargaidh
14-05-2010, 08:29 AM

No haven't heard but as I am always in Carlisle working I'll keep my ears open :agree:
Carlisle have not had a very good season (according to the local paper there, the News & Star). Maybe they are trying to punt a few players to pay the bills and El Tash smells a bargain? :hmmm:

14-05-2010, 08:39 AM
ask the CUFC fans then ! Scoring pens and free kicks for fun against the likes of Stockport, Exeter, Wycombe and co is fine but could he cut it in SPL? Remember, this guy would be our top wage bleeder....i guess life is a gamble.:cool2:

I appreciate that I haven't seen him but you said that he had "produced little this season" but I thought that scoring 17 goals and being in the PFA Team of the Year suggested otherwise!

I wasn't touting him for a move to Hibs btw. Incidentally, Gus McPherson will perhaps be thinking that he may still have been in job if it wasn't for Harte's last minute U-turn.

14-05-2010, 08:45 AM
Happy days. Botchergate will be minging wi Hibbies:greengrinControl your excitement Mikey! I will make some enquiries on said street over the next couple of days! :party:

14-05-2010, 08:47 AM
No I think Hibs and North of England clubs find the competition and practice useful. They will be playing other Scottish and maybe other SPL sides too.I think Carlisle are meant to be playing Newcastle on 17th July.

SalfordHibs
14-05-2010, 09:00 AM
why would there need to be a deal for an out of contract player?

Maybe Keogh would like to give something back to Carlisle United and it's fans.

14-05-2010, 09:16 AM
I think Carlisle are meant to be playing Newcastle on 17th July.

thats a confirmed game.

And with Hibs being invloved in euro action same time i cannae see us playin the blues end of July. Pity.

14-05-2010, 09:21 AM
I appreciate that I haven't seen him but you said that he had "produced little this season" but I thought that scoring 17 goals and being in the PFA Team of the Year suggested otherwise!

I wasn't touting him for a move to Hibs btw. Incidentally, Gus McPherson will perhaps be thinking that he may still have been in job if it wasn't for Harte's last minute U-turn.

im only tellin you what i've read, seen and heard about Harte! He was p**h at Wembley. Rubbish. Distribution bad and his workrate not good enough.
As i said, he's was a good player and has had a good career. He's still got nice touches and can play a bit. (But why has no other club gambled on him down south?) But he'd be one of Hibs' top earners and i really think we could perhpas spend that money more wisely. Just my opinion though....

Anyway, i reckon all Hibs' recent scouting missions at Brunton Park will surprise one or two...

14-05-2010, 09:28 AM
im only tellin you what i've read, seen and heard about Harte! He was p**h at Wembley. Rubbish. Distribution bad and his workrate not good enough.
As i said, he's was a good player and has had a good career. He's still got nice touches and can play a bit. (But why has no other club gambled on him down south?) But he'd be one of Hibs' top earners and i really think we could perhpas spend that money more wisely. Just my opinion though....

Anyway, i reckon all Hibs' recent scouting missions at Brunton Park will surprise one or two...

Fair dos mate, as I say, I wasn't suggesting we should sign him.

14-05-2010, 09:31 AM
I saw an article that suggested Keogh was having second thoughts about leaving and had gone back to talk to the club again.

The article said that he had turned down sizeable offers elsewhere due to geographical reasons and that it appeared to rule out a move to Hibs.

We'll see!

Aubenas
14-05-2010, 09:45 AM
You don't post all that often, but when you do......

Thank you kind sir :thumbsup:

14-05-2010, 09:46 AM
I saw an article that suggested Keogh was having second thoughts about leaving and had gone back to talk to the club again.

The article said that he had turned down sizeable offers elsewhere due to geographical reasons and that it appeared to rule out a move to Hibs.

We'll see!

I think that article has been superceded by another that states he is definitely on the move now. Not necessarily to Hibs though.

14-05-2010, 10:39 AM

We'll see!

I think we'll get linked with quite a few players over the coming weeks. Hibs denied the story altogether anyway, and while that could be because we don't comment on anything til a deal's done, it may just as readily be the case that we weren't interested and his agent has just chucked our name into the mix to get a bit of interest in his player.

14-05-2010, 10:44 AM
Whoever Hughes wants to bring in, I hope he does it as soon as possible. (understand it aint easy though).

Would be good to be in better shape for the EL games & also the start of the new SPL season.
Although this season was terrible in the latter part, it shows how starting well is important. And if he gets the right players in, we will stay more consistent through to the end of the season, hopefully.

Point is, get in good players ASAP - coz I want us in the Europa League groups and some cracking trips :party:

14-05-2010, 10:58 AM
Whoever Hughes wants to bring in, I hope he does it as soon as possible. (understand it aint easy though).

Would be good to be in better shape for the EL games & also the start of the new SPL season.
Although this season was terrible in the latter part, it shows how starting well is important. And if he gets the right players in, we will stay more consistent through to the end of the season, hopefully.

Point is, get in good players ASAP - coz I want us in the Europa League groups and some cracking trips :party:

Let's not start this one again too early.

Hibs will get the players in because they want them to be the right ones. If we can get them all in early then brilliant but I'm more concenred that we get the right people tyo do us the next 2 to 3 yrs.

The complaints we hear every ten minutes on here during the close season seems to suggest that the people at the club are sitting about doing nowt!

Not suggesting yours was necessarily this sort of complaint but it will happen any time now and go on all summer I'd expect!

14-05-2010, 11:01 AM

We were watching Matty Robson apparently.

14-05-2010, 11:23 AM

Who's Matty Robson?

14-05-2010, 11:44 AM
Who's Matty Robson?

CUFC player.

14-05-2010, 12:24 PM
Let's not start this one again too early.

Hibs will get the players in because they want them to be the right ones. If we can get them all in early then brilliant but I'm more concenred that we get the right people tyo do us the next 2 to 3 yrs.

The complaints we hear every ten minutes on here during the close season seems to suggest that the people at the club are sitting about doing nowt!

Not suggesting yours was necessarily this sort of complaint but it will happen any time now and go on all summer I'd expect!

I was not complaining at all,
my 1st sentence is clear enough "Whoever Hughes wants to bring in, I hope he does it as soon as possible. (understand it aint easy though)."

all I meant was if he has # 1 targets, I hope he gets them and ASAP, has them into the squad / training & part of our early season big games.

But as I said, I know its not easy and we're competing with other clubs and players holding off etc etc, but still I hope he has known for a while who he wants and secures them before end of August, when we could be oot the EL and already a few games into the SPL.
Agree that if it's a Stokes or Miller though, I'd happily take the player on transfer deadline day if must be.

14-05-2010, 12:57 PM

We'll see!

It's only a couple hours from Carlisle to Edinburgh.

Austinho
14-05-2010, 01:45 PM
On the subject of Carlisle, has anybody else heard we are apparantly away to them late July??:pray: :pray: :pray:

14-05-2010, 06:19 PM
It's only a couple hours from Carlisle to Edinburgh.

1hr 20min in a choo choo and a cracking day out!

14-05-2010, 06:20 PM

14-05-2010, 10:34 PM
1hr 20min in a choo choo and a cracking day out!

Think i might just go when Newcastle are playing them as i'm a Toon fan.:greengrin