View Full Version : east stand re build pics

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

biggie1875
10-05-2010, 11:54 PM
some pics taken today http://s858.photobucket.com/albums/ab149/biggie1875/ (http://s858.photobucket.com/albums/ab149/biggie1875/)

11-05-2010, 12:02 AM
some pics taken today [/URL][url]http://s858.photobucket.com/albums/ab149/biggie1875/ (http://s858.photobucket.com/albums/ab149/biggie1875/)

Cheers, mate. Much appreciated. :top marks

11-05-2010, 05:03 AM
Well done on the pictures, its great to see it taking shape. It really be a great home when it's completed, and light years ahead of about 98% of Scottish stadiums.

When you think about the embarrassing fuss those plums across the city made with their application in all those boxes! Here they are still left with that asbestos-ridden death trap. It really rubs their nonsense and incompetence back in their faces.

Keep them coming!

hibbiedon
11-05-2010, 05:56 AM
some pics taken today http://s858.photobucket.com/albums/ab149/biggie1875/ (http://s858.photobucket.com/albums/ab149/biggie1875/)

its looking good, thanks for the photos they are really good for a teri:thumbsup:

11-05-2010, 06:27 AM
Is the new east stand going to be the same height as the other stands? I bloody well hope so would look pash otherwise?

11-05-2010, 06:39 AM
Is the new east stand going to be the same height as the other stands? I bloody well hope so would look pash otherwise?

Aye.

11-05-2010, 06:46 AM

Cheers mate, really helps seeing these when you are not near the ground :thumbsup:

11-05-2010, 07:16 AM
Its starting to look superb. I cant wait to take my seat in there next season.:thumbsup:

M8UDB
11-05-2010, 07:47 AM

Good stuff :top marks keep them coming. Taking shape now, cant wait for the first game in there.

11-05-2010, 07:55 AM
The pitch is looking better than it has all season.

Progress.

11-05-2010, 07:59 AM
Its starting to look superb. I cant wait to take my seat in there next season.:thumbsup:

Me too. Seat number allocated already. You should be easy to spot with your 'I love John' T-Shirt!!!! :o)

11-05-2010, 08:04 AM
Can't wait got seats bang on centre line about 1/3rd of the way up.

11-05-2010, 08:45 AM
Cheers for the pics.

At the rate their going you'd think it could be possible that they will have it like that right across so it was already the size of the actual stand in the next few weeks.:agree:

HFC07
11-05-2010, 08:47 AM
Fantastic stuff, great to see it taking shape :thumbsup:

HFC07
11-05-2010, 08:48 AM
What are there estimated time scale for completion?

11-05-2010, 08:50 AM
any chance someone could post some of Biggie's pictures on here? I cant get onto that website from work.

Much appreciated! :thumbsup:

Arch Stanton
11-05-2010, 08:51 AM
Cheers for the pics.

At the rate their going you'd think it could be possible that they will have it like that right across so it was already the size of the actual stand in the next few weeks.:agree:

Looks like a few weeks could even see it finished - they're not dawdling.

HFC07
11-05-2010, 08:53 AM
There you go squire :thumbsup:

Disc O'Dave
11-05-2010, 08:55 AM
Cheers for the pics.

By my reckoning, there are were 5 cantilever struts up yesterday (May 10th) and the first ones went up on May 5th - so an average of one per day. The West Stand appears to have 18 struts, so in theory, we could have the length of the stand done in another fortnight.

That assumes the build plans contunue as they are, as opposed to them doing (say) half the structure, then some internal work, then the second half.

11-05-2010, 09:00 AM
Looks like a few weeks could even see it finished - they're not dawdling.

IIRC it took mid-January to July to build the West. This one shouldn't take so long, being single-tier and no dressing-rooms, hospitality, treatment rooms, etc, and they do seem to be cracking on with it.

It's coming up to the middle of May now....

It'll be months rather than weeks, but it should be done early in the new season. Some time in August, beginning of September?

Once it's up, it still has to get a safety certificate, mind.

11-05-2010, 09:08 AM
By my reckoning, there are were 5 cantilever struts up yesterday (May 10th) and the first ones went up on May 5th - so an average of one per day. The West Stand appears to have 18 struts, so in theory, we could have the length of the stand done in another fortnight.

That assumes the build plans contunue as they are, as opposed to them doing (say) half the structure, then some internal work, then the second half.

Yep hopefully that's the case.

Will go and have a look in the next few days when i go to buy the new away top.

11-05-2010, 09:15 AM
There you go squire :thumbsup:

top drawer mate thanks very much :thumbsup:

:top marks on the pics and builders!!

Disc O'Dave
11-05-2010, 10:03 AM
Another link to my set....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/sets/72157623914155893/

Apologies if you can't follow that at work.

11-05-2010, 10:32 AM
quality pictures from aw body:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
can i ask 2 questions
1 are they moving the gates/entrance/exit ?????
2 is there gonna be a bar in the new stand????
sorry if already asked
looking braw
hb

11-05-2010, 10:45 AM
quality pictures from aw body:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
can i ask 2 questions
1 are they moving the gates/entrance/exit ?????
2 is there gonna be a bar in the new stand????
sorry if already asked
looking braw
hbTurnstyles at rear of the stand & no there wont be a bar ..there will be food kiosks ...a bookies ..& bogs ...:greengrin

11-05-2010, 10:54 AM
Turnstyles at rear of the stand & no there wont be a bar ..there will be food kiosks ...a bookies ..& bogs ...:greengrin
I cannae believe they never put a Greggs in, a source of all future transfer activity, as well as tasty pasties!

11-05-2010, 11:18 AM
Turnstyles at rear of the stand & no there wont be a bar ..there will be food kiosks ...a bookies ..& bogs ...:greengrin

I just noticed your avatar :faf:

11-05-2010, 11:22 AM
I just noticed your avatar :faf::angelic:

11-05-2010, 11:25 AM
Any chance someone could post these pics on here? I cant get into photobucket at work :dunno:

RoscoHibby
11-05-2010, 11:31 AM
Think Hibs are missing a trick by not putting a bar in the east, surely something they are looking at down the line? About >95% of old east-standites have had at last 1 pint before the game! BTG always mobbed, makes sense to me, just let walkups in aswell showing a match ticket, another money spinner, surely be a winner?

biggie1875
11-05-2010, 11:32 AM
nowt wrong wi being a teri :grr: :wink: no probs more to follow in a few days ggtth

its looking good, thanks for the photos they are really good for a teri:thumbsup:

11-05-2010, 11:38 AM

Off the top of my head:

Complete the steel & concrete bleachers / stairs etc
Roof steel & cladding needs to go on
Cladding to the external walls + probably some element of blockwork walls
External finishes + Bit of landscaping!
Internal Services (plumbing/lights/power/fire systems etc) + External Lights/PA system
Spot of decoration (mint green perhaps?) & minimal finishes
Bit of a fit out - turnstyles/food areas/toilets etc
Final mucking about to finish all the bits they missed!
Oh and put the seats in!!

So would probably expect end of July to be fairly realistic IMHO, depending on weather and level of finishes and how good the contractor/suppliers are!

And the pitch work must included new undersoil heating to go in before the turf goes down?

BTW what are they doing about floodlights?? :confused:

Sandy
11-05-2010, 11:39 AM
Quality photos mate cheers, especially good for those of us that are far away from ER :boo hoo:

11-05-2010, 11:46 AM
Off the top of my head:

Internal Services (plumbing/lights/power/fire systems etc) + External Lights/PA system

So would probably expect end of July to be fairly realistic IMHO, depending on weather and level of finishes and how good the contractor/suppliers are!

And the pitch work must included new undersoil heating to go in before the turf goes down?

BTW what are they doing about floodlights?? :confused:On the roof ..just like the West ..

Disc O'Dave
11-05-2010, 11:47 AM
Off the top of my head:

BTW what are they doing about floodlights?? :confused:

I think if they continue in the mode of moving on to the next job for each section once complete (eg concrete already going onto the framework in the first section) , we could be looking at some sections being open nice and early.

Well done if you bought seats nearest to the South Stand :greengrin

As has been said elsewhere, the key thing will be getting the pitch up to scratch in time for the first ties in July. That's the real deadline.

One assumes floodlights will be as per the West - though realistically won't be needed until later in the season anyway. The Euro qualifiers are usually during the day, aren't they?

11-05-2010, 11:53 AM
Think Hibs are missing a trick by not putting a bar in the east, surely something they are looking at down the line? About >95% of old east-standites have had at last 1 pint before the game! BTG always mobbed, makes sense to me, just let walkups in aswell showing a match ticket, another money spinner, surely be a winner?

I suspect that the priority right now is to get the stand up and operating; a licence application might slow that down. It would make sense for the club to look at all ways of boosting revenue, though I suspect that the polis and the licensing board might just reckon that letting the East Stand hooligans have access to DRINK! before a football match would mean the end of civilisation as they know it....

But a decent hospitality area with big-screen TVs and reasonable quick meals and a bar would be an asset IMO.

The pub-owners in Easter Road and the Walk might not agree, mind....

11-05-2010, 11:53 AM
Crikey they aint fannying about!

Its taking shape.

11-05-2010, 12:15 PM
Crikey they aint fannying about!

Its taking shape.

Rod must have set up one of his incentive schemes.

Horse's head in the bed? Hands nailed to the bar? The offer of a lift to the airport in the 'family' car?

jon_snows_tie
11-05-2010, 12:33 PM
bit of an unintersesting but did the contractors take out the undersoil heating as well? is there a chance it could be damaged?

Disc O'Dave
11-05-2010, 12:38 PM
As I recall, it was to be replaced anyway, as the bigger pitch needs a bigger network of heaters.....

jon_snows_tie
11-05-2010, 01:12 PM
As I recall, it was to be replaced anyway, as the bigger pitch needs a bigger network of heaters.....

cheers, surprised you understood the question, just realised my spelling was shocking

Chuckie
11-05-2010, 02:29 PM

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/th_hehehe.jpg (http://s396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/?action=view&current=hehehe.jpg)

11-05-2010, 03:02 PM

http://i396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/th_hehehe.jpg (http://s396.photobucket.com/albums/pp49/Chuckie1977/?action=view&current=hehehe.jpg)

:jamboak:

CallumHibs07
11-05-2010, 05:46 PM
Is there going to be a singing section in the East at the south end? Would be great if it was like the wee Motherwell neds, only 3 times the size:devil:

11-05-2010, 06:24 PM
Is there going to be a singing section in the East at the south end? Would be great if it was like the wee Motherwell neds, only 3 times the size:devil:
The top corner nearest the South will be the 'singing section' I noticed that when I renewed a few weeks ago.

11-05-2010, 06:44 PM

A nice green repaint would make a vast improvement. :agree:

11-05-2010, 07:05 PM

Post of the day chuckie:thumbsup:

Big team:faf::faf:

My arse.

11-05-2010, 07:07 PM

Post of the day chuckie:thumbsup:

Big team:faf::faf:

My arse.

C'mon C be fair. Big team, big debt, big bus shelter, big big big striker, big mouthed MP, big loady pish

11-05-2010, 07:14 PM
C'mon C be fair. Big team, big debt, big bus shelter, big big big striker, big mouthed MP, big loady pish

Bigger team, bigger stand, bigger time to get planning permission, bigger time to find the cash to build it, bigger duration to build it....

CallumHibs07
11-05-2010, 07:21 PM
:hnet:
The top corner nearest the South will be the 'singing section' I noticed that when I renewed a few weeks ago.

If it's the top corner we will hardly be able to see the away fans:hmmm:

11-05-2010, 07:36 PM

Any truth in the story going the rounds that it is going to appear on the "Antiques Roadshow" ? :greengrin

:devil:

Disc O'Dave
11-05-2010, 08:08 PM
Getting slightly back on topic......

My efforts from today;

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/

SEVEN cantilever struts up today.

11-05-2010, 09:15 PM

My efforts from today;

Looks a bit flimsy. Big slabs supported on loft ladders. Is this standard construction? Jings!
No more bouncing for the east.

I miss the old stand ( the west ), old railway sleepers and rusty corrugated iron and the boiler with the gas ring, sitting on the wooden floor, to heat the water for the Bovril.

AJHibby
11-05-2010, 09:42 PM
Is it just me or is there quite a lot of space between the end of the east and the south? Think it might just be the angle the photos are taken at but there seems quite a big gap.

Disc O'Dave
11-05-2010, 10:20 PM
Is it just me or is there quite a lot of space between the end of the east and the south? Think it might just be the angle the photos are taken at but there seems quite a big gap.

The original planning application made mention of vehicular access to the pitch, which might explain the gap.

Also, should there ever be the need to put something into the corner - say a large screen, you would need a bit of a gap to actually build it in.

The cartoon-like rendered images do imply a bit of a "running track" in front of the East, further pushing the stand back away from the edges of the South and Famous Five

It seems we missed the opportunity to have a really imposing "closed in" arrangement.

sunshine1875
12-05-2010, 09:17 AM

My efforts from today;

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/ (http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/)

Looking good. Also pic below from the Bounce taken last night around 9:00pm. The beams do look a bit flimsy!

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/10th_May_25_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31245-10th-may.html)
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/10th_May_2_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31239-10th-may.html)

12-05-2010, 09:24 AM
Looks a bit flimsy. Big slabs supported on loft ladders. Is this standard construction? Jings!
No more bouncing for the east.

I miss the old stand ( the west ), old railway sleepers and rusty corrugated iron and the boiler with the gas ring, sitting on the wooden floor, to heat the water for the Bovril.

Tell you what (looking as ever on the brighter side of things) - if it falls down, there's plenty of photographic evidence for the FAI right here in this thread....

Brando7
12-05-2010, 09:34 AM
For anyone with google earth on your pc

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=11755fcb5a2b5bf8e3ca70218ae05f25&prevstart=0

download Google Earth 4 (.kmz):thumbsup:

12-05-2010, 10:21 AM
Looking at the construction of the stand I would not think that it will ever be fully fitted out inside.

Firstly the concourse is a fair bit above pitch level thereby reducing the available space below the seating area. Secondly those girders do not appear to be large enough to support anything more than the seating accommodation and I could not see how any concrete flooring could be put in at higher levels in any case.

I think the club have gone for a cheap basic structure which admittedly will look impressive from the outside with much improved match day facilities on the inside. Although it will look similar to the other stands at first glance it will really just be a shell which is not future proofed.

This is not intended to be a criticism by the way and in a better economic climate perhaps the club would have put in bars or other hospitality rooms. As it stands we are already fairly well catered for in these respects and our completed stadium will still be the envy of most of the SPL.

sunshine1875
12-05-2010, 10:54 AM
For anyone with google earth on your pc

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=11755fcb5a2b5bf8e3ca70218ae05f25&prevstart=0 (http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=11755fcb5a2b5bf8e3ca70218ae05f25&prevstart=0)

download Google Earth 4 (.kmz):thumbsup:

Looking good.:thumbsup:

12-05-2010, 10:56 AM
Can't believe what is being posted here !:rolleyes:
Stand isn't even half built and already the moaners/whingers /generally dissatisfied are out in numbers :greengrin

Re the closing in of corners it is an accepted fact ( from Murrayfield staff) that grounds with this type of stands do not get the correct circulation of air and can affect the growth of the turf

12-05-2010, 02:32 PM

My efforts from today;

Cracking piccies :thumbsup:

What camera do you use?

12-05-2010, 03:04 PM
So the new stand isnt as big in height as the others?

Aubenas
12-05-2010, 03:26 PM
So the new stand isnt as big in height as the others?

Not now, but it will be when it's finished
:cool2:

Disc O'Dave
12-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Cracking piccies :thumbsup:

What camera do you use?

I use a Nikon D70 - classed as quite an old ****ger these days. 6.1MP sensor, it was one of the first DSLR's.

My lenses range from 10mm at the widest angle end, and up to 300m zoom for the close ups.

You will see from the other pictures doing the rounds that you can get equal results from a decent compact these days.

12-05-2010, 03:43 PM
Not now, but it will be when it's finished

What are they going to build on top of what we already have? :confused:
Having been down and seen it a few times now it definatly looks to be shorter than the others, espeically when you look to the South just beside it, you can notice the difference. I think it would look a heck of alot better if it was the same height all around the stadium, but going by what ive seen and the pictures it looks like this wont be the case. Maybe it was never the plan to be the same height as the others?

12-05-2010, 04:00 PM
Can't believe what is being posted here !:rolleyes:
Stand isn't even half built and already the moaners/whingers /generally dissatisfied are out in numbers :greengrin

Re the closing in of corners it is an accepted fact ( from Murrayfield staff) that grounds with this type of stands do not get the correct circulation of air and can affect the growth of the turf

Yeah but why is the new stand further away from the North and South stands than the West stand is? It gives the stadium a lop sided feel IMO.

Surely when building the West stand they would have planned ahead for the East and designed the gaps accordingly so it was at least symmetrical.

I was hoping for a Stand bearing down on the pitch creating a great atmosphere like Tynie but I fear the big gaps at either end of the stand will create a feel more like bloody St Johnstone.

Yes it's great we're getting a new stand but we only get one chance at getting it right.

great pics by the way.

Aubenas
12-05-2010, 04:00 PM
I've not been down to see in person, but the plans stated the same height and I can't believe they would spoil the stadium by not finishing it off to the same standard.

I think the problem is without the angled roof and with the groundworks not finished, it probably looks shorter from certain angles - but all I've heard suggests same height.:dunno:

12-05-2010, 04:04 PM
Yeah but why is the new stand further away from the North and South stands than the West stand is? It gives the stadium a lop sided feel IMO.

Surely when building the West stand they would have planned ahead for the East and designed the gaps accordingly so it was at least symmetrical.

I was hoping for a Stand bearing down on the pitch creating a great atmosphere like Tynie but I fear the big gaps at either end of the stand will create a feel more like bloody St Johnstone.

Yes it's great we're getting a new stand but we only get one chance at getting it right.

great pics by the way.

12-05-2010, 04:26 PM

great pics by the way.I don't know the answer but assumed it would be for either the disabled or emergency vehicle access!

Probably a pre-requisite for planning approval but i'm only guessing.

Anyone else know?

Jamie
12-05-2010, 04:27 PM
I've not been down to see in person, but the plans stated the same height and I can't believe they would spoil the stadium by not finishing it off to the same standard.

I think the problem is without the angled roof and with the groundworks not finished, it probably looks shorter from certain angles - but all I've heard suggests same height.:dunno:

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/7th_May_40_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31221-7th-may.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/7th_May_35_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31215-7th-may.html)

howdenthehibby
12-05-2010, 04:56 PM
same height if observed from london road around the moray park area,and once the outer shell goes on it'll all fit perfectly:agree:

12-05-2010, 05:42 PM

great pics by the way.

May be to accommodate the wider pitch. This would not have been allowed for when the other stand were built.

Disc O'Dave
12-05-2010, 10:14 PM
Better light tonight.....

12-05-2010, 10:20 PM

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/ (http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/)

all in a days work, they are throwing that thing up!!

12-05-2010, 10:44 PM
From picture number 16 taken from behind the FF it looks like you cant see the front rows of the seating deck when level with the side of the FF.

If thats the case then perhaps the stand wont be as far back from the pitch as it looks in the clubs mock up, which will be a good thing when it comes to that fully enclosed feel that is best for football grounds.

Could just be an optical illusion though.

M8UDB
13-05-2010, 07:37 AM

Can someone please copy and paste some of these pics up, flickr.com is access denied at the work :rolleyes:

13-05-2010, 09:04 AM
all in a days work, they are throwing that thing up!!

I count 9 frames up already there. There are 19 frames along the length of the West Stand. :agree:

Hillsidehibby
13-05-2010, 09:14 AM
Is the camera gantry planned for the east?

13-05-2010, 09:27 AM
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/7th_May_40_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31221-7th-may.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/7th_May_35_.JPG (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31215-7th-may.html)

nae luck for the Homo dressing Huns who have flats at the back there :thumbsup:

13-05-2010, 09:29 AM
The colour of those beams, should be the colour of our strips.

13-05-2010, 09:33 AM
Is the camera gantry planned for the east?

I think the main cameras will be in the West next season.

13-05-2010, 09:37 AM

great pics by the way.

it is stated in the plans for the new East Stand that Vehicle access is required when building the stand. I would presume this would be for Fire/Ambulance/Riot police v yams, and even for returfing of the pitch.

Markthehibee
13-05-2010, 09:39 AM
I count 9 frames up already there. There are 19 frames along the length of the West Stand. :agree:

Acording to the artists impression on our website the new stand has 16 frames. This picture also shows 17 frames on the west stand! Wouldn't suprise me if this was wrong though!

cockneymike
13-05-2010, 10:00 AM
this is looking quality. I reckon they could have the full length of it done by the end of the month the way things are going!

13-05-2010, 10:04 AM
Acording to the artists impression on our website the new stand has 16 frames. This picture also shows 17 frames on the west stand! Wouldn't suprise me if this was wrong though!

I checked it out on Google Maps. The West has 19 frames, end to end.

According to the latest photos on this thread, the framework reaches just short of the half-way line, and four complete sections of concrete decking are in place. Frame 10 should be just on half-way.

I'm beginning to think we could really have the stand in operation for the start of the season.

I think Rod and the boys have been cunning here - by leaving the ground-level on the east side higher than on the other three sides, and setting the first four steps of the decking on an earth banking, they've managed to accommodate 6,500 new seats in a smaller stand.

Thus saving time and money.

There's nae flies on oor Rod! :devil:

Groathillgrump
13-05-2010, 10:18 AM

Great pics, Disc O'Dave. Keep 'em coming! :thumbsup:

Disc O'Dave
13-05-2010, 10:36 AM
Can someone please copy and paste some of these pics up, flickr.com is access denied at the work :rolleyes:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4021/4602548528_87892d2a82.jpg

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1286/4602549766_c1ea8576f7.jpg

13-05-2010, 10:44 AM

Yup. Thanks, Dave. Quality, mate. :thumbsup:

13-05-2010, 10:45 AM

Fantastic pictures.:thumbsup:

13-05-2010, 11:18 AM
So the goals are moving 2 metres further away from the west stand.

Hmm, this will mean the goals not being central to the North and South stands will this be noticeable or is 2 metres nothing:dunno:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/football/New-stadium-rapidly-taking-shape.6291881.jp

13-05-2010, 11:25 AM

Hmm, this will mean the goals not being central to the North and South stands will this be noticeable or is 2 metres nothing:dunno:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/football/New-stadium-rapidly-taking-shape.6291881.jp (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/football/New-stadium-rapidly-taking-shape.6291881.jp)

Nish should bang in at least 10 more next season if he maintains his home target range from this season then. :greengrin

And Rankin should contribute more as well. :greengrin

In fact any chance we could also move them 2 metres off the ground whilst we are at it? :cool2:

Disc O'Dave
13-05-2010, 11:27 AM
Fantastic pictures.:thumbsup:

I do have to give a fair bit of credit to the weather and the quality of light at the time....might have to miss a night out tonight though, as I'm playing 5's for the first time in ages, so I don't fancy my chances of wanting to wander about this evening :o)

My only worry is that it'll be finished by Friday

13-05-2010, 11:28 AM

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/football/New-stadium-rapidly-taking-shape.6291881.jp (http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/football/New-stadium-rapidly-taking-shape.6291881.jp)

I wouldn't have said that that was a major concern, myself. The main concern is that the whole pitch should be visible from every seat, and I understand that that will be the case.

We won't know what it'll really be like until it's done.

13-05-2010, 11:34 AM
I do have to give a fair bit of credit to the weather and the quality of light at the time....might have to miss a night out tonight though, as I'm playing 5's for the first time in ages, so I don't fancy my chances of wanting to wander about this evening :o)

My only worry is that it'll be finished by FridayFFS man, i won't have anything to look forward to tomorrow morning :grr: poor show!

13-05-2010, 11:50 AM
anyone got a link to the hibs web cam update? be interesting to get the view from the west stand

13-05-2010, 11:54 AM
anyone got a link to the hibs web cam update? be interesting to get the view from the west stand

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html

Sweep
13-05-2010, 11:55 AM
Great pictures. :thumbsup: I Would like to see some from the west stand looking at the seating area. Anyone care to try?:greengrin

13-05-2010, 11:56 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html)

Way out of date. :bitchy:

Disc O'Dave Rules OK! :devil:

13-05-2010, 12:15 PM
Way out of date. :bitchy:

Disc O'Dave Rules OK! :devil:Aye, but apparently he's got another life outside of Hibs and cannae get his lazy erse down tonight to take more stunning photos! :wink:

13-05-2010, 12:33 PM
Aye, but apparently he's got another life outside of Hibs and cannae get his lazy erse down tonight to take more stunning photos! :wink:

He'll be down there tomorrow evening. they should be putting the roof on by then.

13-05-2010, 12:38 PM

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/football/New-stadium-rapidly-taking-shape.6291881.jp

Every inch counts aparently:wink:

13-05-2010, 12:49 PM

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/EastStand/0,,10290,00.html)

That's a bit pathetic.

Somebody needs to tell the Webmaster at Hibs what a Webcam actually is.

bandylegs_jLeighton
13-05-2010, 12:57 PM
In today's evening news there is a shot of the east stand from the west.

Inside there is another picture of the pitch. If you look at the south stand I reckon that the goal posts have already been moved to suit the new dimensions. Doesn't look too bad.

13-05-2010, 12:57 PM

This stand is - in words of one syllable - going to be ****ing quality!!!

Our stadium is going to be the envy of non OF teams (and if Celtic fans are honest, in terms of build qulaity, ER will piss all over their tinpot dome)

It's almost enough to make on think that if Hughes gets this close season right in terms of signings, we could easily be amongst the favourites with Dundee United for 3rd place, next season, and maybe even trouble the *****ter half of the Old Firm for longer than we managed this season.

Not that a new stand and performances on the pitch are ACTUALLY linked at all, just the general positive buzz about the place that the completed new stand should bring.

13-05-2010, 02:00 PM
In today's evening news there is a shot of the east stand from the west.

Inside there is another picture of the pitch. If you look at the south stand I reckon that the goal posts have already been moved to suit the new dimensions. Doesn't look too bad.

Somebody please scan it and post it here please :thumbsup:

13-05-2010, 02:02 PM
This stand is - in words of one syllable - going to be ****ing quality!!!

Our stadium is going to be the envy of non OF teams (and if Celtic fans are honest, in terms of build qulaity, ER will piss all over their tinpot dome)

It's almost enough to make on think that if Hughes gets this close season right in terms of signings, we could easily be amongst the favourites with Dundee United for 3rd place, next season, and maybe even trouble the *****ter half of the Old Firm for longer than we managed this season.

Not that a new stand and performances on the pitch are ACTUALLY linked at all, just the general positive buzz about the place that the completed new stand should bring.

last i checked ****ing had two syllables and quality had three? :wink:

13-05-2010, 02:05 PM

13-05-2010, 02:16 PM

I just had to google syllables to check that:greengrin

13-05-2010, 02:24 PM

I think that is a mistake. The pitch is getting widened by 4m. 2m in each direction (that's why they are taking the bottom row out of the west) so the goals should stay where they are.

13-05-2010, 02:40 PM

I just had to google syllables to check that:greengrin

just to clear any doubt i know he means by saying the two words as 5 seperate words like a child would. **** ing qua li ty :greengrin

13-05-2010, 04:44 PM
Wonder if these 'minor' changes to the West will incorporate new fancy Prem style dug-outs?

Also any more news on the Stadium becoming enclosed as was mentioned at the AGM?

13-05-2010, 04:50 PM
I think that is a mistake. The pitch is getting widened by 4m. 2m in each direction (that's why they are taking the bottom row out of the west) so the goals should stay where they are.

They're also increasing the run-off area in front of the West Stand; I think this is about compliance for internationals and European matches.

This is probably why the East is set back a little farther than we all first expected.

13-05-2010, 05:01 PM
They're also increasing the run-off area in front of the West Stand; I think this is about compliance for internationals and European matches.

This is probably why the East is set back a little farther than we all first expected.

:agree: thats why some grounds have front rows of seats covered of for euro matches as they are too close...just looks stupid...also the need for space for the copious amounts of advertising thats goes with the game now..

PS.. only now just realised why the new stands looks so different and spindley...its because the rear main supports are not the huge concrete sections that other 3 have (presumably du to not supprting large additional internal floors) whats being built reminds me a lot of away end stand at Rugby Park

steviecarnie
13-05-2010, 05:16 PM
:agree: thats why some grounds have front rows of seats covered of for euro matches as they are too close

i was always under the impression that the Champs League advertising was taller/bigger than normal and thats why the 3 rows covered as people cant see.

13-05-2010, 05:22 PM
The latest

13-05-2010, 05:26 PM
i was always under the impression that the Champs League advertising was taller/bigger than normal and thats why the 3 rows covered as people cant see.

Thats correct :thumbsup:

13-05-2010, 07:06 PM
:agree: thats why some grounds have front rows of seats covered of for euro matches as they are too close...just looks stupid...also the need for space for the copious amounts of advertising thats goes with the game now..

PS.. only now just realised why the new stands looks so different and spindley...its because the rear main supports are not the huge concrete sections that other 3 have (presumably du to not supprting large additional internal floors) whats being built reminds me a lot of away end stand at Rugby Park

Has it got any internal stairs to access the seats or do you start at the bottom and walk up the terraced deck (for want of the proper term)? Much like an old fashioned terrace.

anon1
13-05-2010, 07:19 PM
Starting to look great! No more freebies for the flats behind :greengrin

13-05-2010, 07:20 PM
Has it got any internal stairs to access the seats or do you start at the bottom and walk up the terraced deck (for want of the proper term)? Much like an old fashioned terrace.

Bobo
13-05-2010, 07:23 PM
Here's a couple of pics taken earlier tonight. Looks like they're starting to put the strappings on for the side panels now.

13-05-2010, 09:28 PM
Here's a couple of pics taken earlier tonight. Looks like they're starting to put the strappings on for the side panels now.

13-05-2010, 10:01 PM
Taking shape very nicely, :agree: me thinks...

Is there any chance that this build will be completed ahead of schedule?

At this rate they will be packing up before we know it..:thumbsup:

steviecarnie
13-05-2010, 10:04 PM

looking at the photo from the road, anyone else like them just to leave it without seats and put some barriers in so we can stand :greengrin

13-05-2010, 10:15 PM

Yer pic frae the West is the dugs bollocks. Gives the idea that ER might end up a scary place for teams to visit.

Heres hoping.

13-05-2010, 11:18 PM

Access is from the foot of the stand - they're keeping things simple here.

14-05-2010, 07:03 AM
Access is from the foot of the stand - they're keeping things simple here.

Isn't access from the walkway which is 4 or 5 rows up?

14-05-2010, 07:04 AM

I think it is 3 rows up.

14-05-2010, 09:57 AM
The hibs.net timelapse movie is looking great at this stage, be nice for a few more updates over the next few days given the rapidly changing shape of the stand! :wink:

14-05-2010, 10:17 AM

Yup - that's ground level from the rear of the stand. You pay your money, walk through, and come out a few rows above the pitch.

Exit in emergencies would be straight down and out onto the pitch.

They seem to have been quite clever about building a stand that fits in well with the rest of the ground without breaking the bank.

steviecarnie
14-05-2010, 11:09 AM
They seem to have been quite clever about building a stand that fits in well with the rest of the ground without breaking the bank.

surely thats the point in most building projects? wouldnt exactly call it clever

14-05-2010, 03:41 PM
Taking shape very nicely, :agree: me thinks...

Is there any chance that this build will be completed ahead of schedule?

At this rate they will be packing up before we know it..:thumbsup:

This has probably been posted elsewhere, but I was in renewing my ST today and was told they expect the East Stand to be ready by the start of the season (I'm assuming the start of the domestic season, not a European game in midsummer! :wink:) Perhaps I'm just not up to speed but I'd thought the official line was still that it would be completed a bit into the new season.

14-05-2010, 03:57 PM
This has probably been posted elsewhere, but I was in renewing my ST today and was told they expect the East Stand to be ready by the start of the season (I'm assuming the start of the domestic season, not a European game in midsummer! :wink:) Perhaps I'm just not up to speed but I'd thought the official line was still that it would be completed a bit into the new season.

can you imagine the threads on this place if they said it would be ready by the start of the season and something delayed it for 2 or 3 weeks.........it would be chaos. :panic:

Better to overestimate the timescales involved just incase

14-05-2010, 04:00 PM
Think that, knowing hibs, they'll err on the pessimistic side when quoting finish times. Here's hoping :)

Imagine a euro tie or (whisper it) group stage ties, with a full house! :D

14-05-2010, 04:02 PM
can you imagine the threads on this place if they said it would be ready by the start of the season and something delayed it for 2 or 3 weeks.........it would be chaos. :panic:

Better to overestimate the timescales involved just incase

It certainly wasn't a promise on their part, but it did sound like things were going well at this stage. I can't see, however, why anyone would have any complaints if it's only ready after a couple of home games: that's what the club has said would be the case and ST holders would be accommodated elsewhere (I mean within Easter Road! :greengrin ) in the meantime.

14-05-2010, 04:07 PM
It certainly wasn't a promise on their part, but it did sound like things were going well at this stage. I can't see, however, why anyone would have any complaints if it's only ready after a couple of home games: that's what the club has said would be the case and ST holders would be accommodated elsewhere (I mean within Easter Road! :greengrin ) in the meantime.

But people would defo complain if the club had said it would be finished for the start of the season then wasn't. Think that's what he was saying

The_Sauz
14-05-2010, 05:21 PM
I think it is 3 rows up.
Its 4 :wink:
Just checked with photos over on the Bounce.

14-05-2010, 05:57 PM
surely thats the point in most building projects? wouldnt exactly call it clever

Oh well. :rolleyes:

14-05-2010, 06:12 PM
But people would defo complain if the club had said it would be finished for the start of the season then wasn't. Think that's what he was saying

Yes, he's right there.

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 07:42 PM
Tonights batch added.....

Light was a bit poor, so I've had to artificially "lighten" them a bit.....

bandylegs_jLeighton
14-05-2010, 08:10 PM

Dave,

Your snaps from tonight don't seem to be there. Your efforts from a couple of days back are still the most recent.

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 08:21 PM
Dave,

Your snaps from tonight don't seem to be there. Your efforts from a couple of days back are still the most recent.

Hmm, I can see them, but I can see from the "hit" counters that no-one else has viewed them yet...can you try hitting the refresh button after following the link? Bear in mind they are not too different from the previous set....

cheers

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 08:24 PM
It won't let me insert them as a picture either, so I think Flickr is having a wee moment....sorry.

Mibbies try again in a wee bit

bandylegs_jLeighton
14-05-2010, 08:28 PM
Hmm, I can see them, but I can see from the "hit" counters that no-one else has viewed them yet...can you try hitting the refresh button after following the link? Bear in mind they are not too different from the previous set....

cheers

I tried refreshing and that never worked either.

East Stand Construction 021 is the latest shot, and its got 'uploaded 12 May 2010' beneath it.

Not to worry buddy. I saw the stand for myself today anyway - just thought I'd let you know.

An Leargaidh
14-05-2010, 08:34 PM
It won't let me insert them as a picture either, so I think Flickr is having a wee moment....sorry.

Mibbies try again in a wee bit

Dave, just into your piccies from today :thumbsup: Seem to working now okay. Superb, thanks for sharing. Fairly coming along now eh? Must be halfway along at least now. The new bus shelter must seem a long way off now over the other side of the city in the land of maroon dreams.... :faf:

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 08:41 PM
Cheers for the heads up :agree:

old fashioned stylee....

bandylegs_jLeighton
14-05-2010, 09:00 PM

old fashioned stylee....

Old East stand railings in front of the West?

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 09:05 PM
East stand railings in front of the West?

Looks like it...don't know if it's temporary to stop any damage to where the rework was done, or a feature of the new requirements. It would explain why some sections were still lying outside the ground too, rather than being scrapped with the rest of the East Stand...

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1101/4599583174_77812eeb6d_m.jpg

14-05-2010, 09:25 PM
Looking at these pictures has just made me realise that the last remnant of the old ground is now gone forever! It's hit home.

This is now a completely new ground, totally unrecognisable from the one from the past. The transformation is almost complete.

I'm getting quite emotional about this. It will be one of the finest grounds in the UK but I'll never forget what was there before it and the memories it gave me.

14-05-2010, 09:42 PM
Looking at these pictures has just made me realise that the last remnant of the old ground is now gone forever! It's hit home.

This is now a completely new ground, totally unrecognisable from the one from the past. The transformation is almost complete.

I'm getting quite emotional about this. It will be one of the finest grounds in the UK but I'll never forget what was there before it and the memories it gave me.

parts of the old east will be included like the floodlights and looks like the railings getting put up along the west so the stands gone but at least we are using some of it to build the rest :agree:

it lives on after all :wink:

Criswell
14-05-2010, 10:01 PM
looking across from the top of the bus from London Road the new stand definitely appears lower than the others. Perhaps the rake of of the roof will be steeper to match up height of others? (does that sound like bullsh*t?)

Anyway I'm not complaining - delighted the club are completing the stadium.

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 10:03 PM
I think it will be a slightly more angled roof, to give the appearance of similar height from pitch side.

I guess it would have to be pretty steep to get one tier up to the same height as the West Stand on a similar footprint.

14-05-2010, 10:11 PM
looking across from the top of the bus from London Road the new stand definitely appears lower than the others. Perhaps the rake of of the roof will be steeper to match up height of others? (does that sound like bullsh*t?)

Found this picture - which looks the same size as the others ?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/FeaturedContent/0,,10290~1973171,00.html

steviecarnie
14-05-2010, 10:11 PM
anyone else noticed the crack in one of the concrete slabs n pic 026 hope thats still structually sound :greengrin

14-05-2010, 10:30 PM

Quality, quality photos Disco Dave, keep them coming :agree:

14-05-2010, 10:33 PM

There's a picture that shows the firth of forth in the background which shows that the cantilevers in the east are at the same height as the south. It's on this thread somewhere I think

page 2 post 71- you can draw a horizontal line across from the top of the south cantilever to the top of the east one

C I Hibee
14-05-2010, 10:36 PM
Starting to look great! No more freebies for the flats behind :greengrin
Mostly oribble unwashed from Gorgi or Weegie land ....Result:thumbsup:

Disc O'Dave
14-05-2010, 10:39 PM
Quality, quality photos Disco Dave, keep them coming :agree:

Thanks - I will try to, apart from my weeks holiday in June!

There's more photos in the Flickr group "Hibernian FC", by our very own "Supermac" among others (Ospreywatcher on Flickr)

http://www.flickr.com/groups/611154@N20/pool/

Save me stealing all the limelight

15-05-2010, 10:57 AM
It's got to be said that all the guys that have posted the photos of the construction of the new stand is wonderful, but what was wrong with the old one..:devil:

15-05-2010, 11:04 AM
It's got to be said that all the guys that have posted the photos of the construction of the new stand is wonderful, but what was wrong with the old one..:devil:

absolutely nothing:wink:

New stand is looking good though, going to pop past later for a wee neb

15-05-2010, 11:08 AM
absolutely nothing:wink:

New stand is looking good though, going to pop past later for a wee neb

Up in Edinburgh later next week, so will get some shots then.

The new stand is starting to look the mutt's nut's tho...:cool2:

15-05-2010, 11:49 AM
Found this picture - which looks the same size as the others ?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/FeaturedContent/0,,10290~1973171,00.html

I'm not sure about that from this angle..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4602547524/

madhibby
15-05-2010, 11:54 AM

It will be the same height. They still have to place the bottom rows beneath the entrances.

Jamie
15-05-2010, 12:08 PM
It will be the same height. They still have to place the bottom rows beneath the entrances.

they do them at the same time :thumbsup:

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/12th_May_6_.JPG

Brando7
15-05-2010, 12:48 PM

old fashioned stylee....

Looks like it...don't know if it's temporary to stop any damage to where the rework was done, or a feature of the new requirements. It would explain why some sections were still lying outside the ground too, rather than being scrapped with the rest of the East Stand...

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1101/4599583174_77812eeb6d_m.jpg

Those bars in Disc O'Dave's phote has to be temporary:confused:, there not much width from them to the 1st row of seats + not be a good view for people sitting in the front row, looks taller then the wall

15-05-2010, 02:09 PM
If you look at the stand from the west, through the gap between the south and the east you can clearly see it is the same height as the south. Was there today.

Have to say the new stand is looking like being a big steep stand that should be great for atmosphere. Cannae wait for the first hibee

Hope petrie hasn't cut too many corners:wink:

15-05-2010, 02:24 PM

YouTube - Father Ted - On Holiday (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25N-4zrk390)

15-05-2010, 02:36 PM
If you look at the stand from the west, through the gap between the south and the east you can clearly see it is the same height as the south. Was there today.

Have to say the new stand is looking like being a big steep stand that should be great for atmosphere. Cannae wait for the first hibee

Hope petrie hasn't cut too many corners:wink:

I have it on the best authority that these are the same contractors as built the Tay Bridge.

But I can't for the life of me remember whether it was the FIRST one or the second.... :devil:

15-05-2010, 03:51 PM
I'm not around this summer due to work issues, and can't nip down to ER to see the way things are progressing. So a big thanks from me to Dave and all the other East Stand photographers - you are perfoming an invaluable service for me and all the other Hibbies who are out of the country/area during construction.

15-05-2010, 04:04 PM

Class.:faf:

15-05-2010, 04:10 PM
I'm not around this summer due to work issues, and can't nip down to ER to see the way things are progressing. So a big thanks from me to Dave and all the other East Stand photographers - you are perfoming an invaluable service for me and all the other Hibbies who are out of the country/area during construction.

well said and I'll second that

HibeesLA
15-05-2010, 05:10 PM

Between the Hibs.net, Dave's, the Bounce and all others that have been taking time to go down and keep us all updated, a big thank you from across the pond. It's unfortunate that the club's webcam turned out to be a static image every week or so.

I'm looking forward to the time when the seats start to be installed and hopefully someone at the club can get a picture (or video) coming out of the tunnel to see the new Stand in front of you.

16-05-2010, 12:54 AM

Well played mate :greengrin

Arch Stanton
16-05-2010, 08:56 AM
There's a picture that shows the firth of forth in the background which shows that the cantilevers in the east are at the same height as the south. It's on this thread somewhere I think

page 2 post 71- you can draw a horizontal line across from the top of the south cantilever to the top of the east one

There's no way they'd let you up there mate.

SvenNeil
16-05-2010, 12:31 PM

16-05-2010, 12:39 PM

Most cracking reply to a post this year! :faf:

16-05-2010, 01:22 PM
Father Ted on Holiday: Class.:faf:
The Hibs midfielders are not small, they are far away.

16-05-2010, 07:08 PM
Went past today and took these photos. Ther view between the West and the South stands gives an idea how enclosed the ground will look when its finished. Lets hope we can fill it.

16-05-2010, 07:13 PM
Here is another couple

16-05-2010, 07:24 PM
Here is another couple

the FF stand looks huge from that angle

hibee4life1983
16-05-2010, 10:33 PM
Me and a m8 went down yesterday, the gate was open! We walked right up to the pitch from the gate at the east side of the ff stand. I ran and got a few close up photos of the stand and the pitch(you could see the undersoil heating, it was unreal, its the same size and looks ace, not as steep as it looks, the dark green steel work is a bit weird. Hibs security really is poor, there was 3 workers digging away at the west and they didnt say boo! il try and get the photos on tmrw.

17-05-2010, 11:29 AM
Went past today and took these photos. Ther view between the West and the South stands gives an idea how enclosed the ground will look when its finished. Lets hope we can fill it.

Not quite Malcolm.

The new stand is further away from the South stand than the West stand is. Not 100% sure why but think it is something to do with access and potential for future filling in of the corners.

17-05-2010, 11:42 AM
East stand now on Hall Construction web site.

Interesting to note that the brief includes bars and fast food outlets. Is BTG moving???

http://www.hallconstruction.uk.com/admin/uploads/file/Hibernian%20FC%20-%20New%20East%20Stand.doc

biggie1875
17-05-2010, 11:47 AM

just about to post the same thing just been having a look the site

Interesting to note that the brief includes bars and fast food outlets. Is BTG moving???

http://www.hallconstruction.uk.com/admin/uploads/file/Hibernian%20FC%20-%20New%20East%20Stand.doc (http://www.hallconstruction.uk.com/admin/uploads/file/Hibernian%20FC%20-%20New%20East%20Stand.doc)

17-05-2010, 11:58 AM
Talking to my mate last night, an HGV driver, he told me he was delivering some steel to a firm in Bolton, and they were making the turnstyles. He saw them making them, and they are nearly ready now.

.SeventyFive
17-05-2010, 12:47 PM
Actually have looked at a few pictures and that original 3D rendering of the stand, it is looking more and more like the green used for the seats and the supports is of a darker shade than the current stand ... not so sure about that to be honest.

17-05-2010, 03:12 PM

http://www.hallconstruction.uk.com/admin/uploads/file/Hibernian%20FC%20-%20New%20East%20Stand.doc

If the external work is £3 million, is it reasonable to assume that the total cost of the stand, including site clearing and internal fit out, will be around £4-4.5 million?

17-05-2010, 03:31 PM
If the external work is £3 million, is it reasonable to assume that the total cost of the stand, including site clearing and internal fit out, will be around £4-4.5 million?

It's nearly all external.

A couple of pie stands and some bogs won't cost that much.

Zondervan
17-05-2010, 04:12 PM
Here are a couple I posted earlier on The Bounce:

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/ER1.jpg (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31348-new-stand26amp-3b-pitch-17th-may.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/ER6.jpg (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31353-new-stand26amp-3b-pitch-17th-may.html)

17-05-2010, 04:15 PM
Here are a couple I posted earlier on The Bounce:

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/ER1.jpg (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31348-new-stand26amp-3b-pitch-17th-may.html)

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3568/ER6.jpg (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/may/p31353-new-stand26amp-3b-pitch-17th-may.html)

I'm hoping that white van is a new feature in front of the goalmouth.

17-05-2010, 04:18 PM
It's gonna be phenomenal when it's completed. Also looks as if the work has been completed at the front of the West? What was the point in that?

17-05-2010, 04:21 PM
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/342353db.jpg

one I took this morning, some more work done since then though

Basildon Hibs
17-05-2010, 04:38 PM
Anyone know which stand will house the TV gantry (cameras) ?:confused::confused:

17-05-2010, 04:45 PM
Anyone know which stand will house the TV gantry (cameras) ?:confused::confused:

West

Disc O'Dave
17-05-2010, 05:21 PM
After a weekend off...it's back to the photos on the way home.

I have more to upload, but I thought I best get this one out of the way first......:devil:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4041/4616078776_caaeb28957.jpg

You may note the two strut elements in the latest section a lighter shade than the others. Hopefully confirming a final paint job once they are in place.

Alternatively, they have simply responded to the comments on here about them being "too dark" so far :wink:

Brando7
17-05-2010, 05:47 PM
have they removed the 1st row of seats in the west :confused:

17-05-2010, 05:58 PM

They used to have that wide walk way. have they not just reduced that.

steviecarnie
17-05-2010, 06:01 PM

yep, for the wider pitch needed in europe, i think it looks good.

17-05-2010, 06:19 PM
They used to have that wide walk way. have they not just reduced that.

They have just reduced that, but there used to be a row of seats fitted on the walkway, the first row is now up one step.

Zondervan
17-05-2010, 06:23 PM

In the 1st photo I posted, you can see that the concrete wall has been removed, and replaced by green metal "fencing" a few feet inwards (as mentioned, reducing the walkway at the front).

It also looks like the fencing has been recycled from the front of the old East.

steviecarnie
17-05-2010, 06:48 PM
It also looks like the fencing has been recycled from the front of the old East.

Petrie being frugal again.....good lad.

Disc O'Dave
17-05-2010, 07:34 PM
As to the point about the first three rows being below ground level...hopefully this picure illustrates it well (bottom left of the picture)

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3304/4615857869_3435a0e09c.jpg

Others from today can be seen at:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/sets/72157623914155893/

I have rearranged them so that the newer ones appear at the top of the thumbnails.

Disc O'Dave
17-05-2010, 07:49 PM
Also,

Thanks to Jamie (he of Bounce fame), I have discovered the joy of Flickr Slideshows.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/sets/72157623914155893/show/

I'm not sure how it will play as a default, but I clicked on "play backwards", then started on my picture of the old East Stand. It's quite cool.

I wonder if I can set it to play "Sunshine on Leith" while it scrolls = that would bring a tear to a glass eye....

17-05-2010, 08:06 PM
Also,

Thanks to Jamie (he of Bounce fame), I have discovered the joy of Flickr Slideshows.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/sets/72157623914155893/show/

I'm not sure how it will play as a default, but I clicked on "play backwards", then started on my picture of the old East Stand. It's quite cool.

I wonder if I can set it to play "Sunshine on Leith" while it scrolls = that would bring a tear to a glass eye....

Movie maker perhaps...:wink:

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=movie+maker&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

Disc O'Dave
17-05-2010, 08:09 PM
Movie maker perhaps...:wink:

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=movie+maker&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

Good shout - though I feel that might require a bit more attention than I can give it just now....I took the easy route and had iTunes on at the same time :thumbsup:

Riordans Boots
17-05-2010, 09:10 PM
Check out the green forklift :thumbsup:

Harpandcastle
17-05-2010, 09:24 PM

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5a/Easter_Road.jpg

From this picture it looks like the pitch is staying in the same spot at the West side, possibly require a wider track/ run off area to comply with UEFA?
unless of course the new area of pitch is still to be built up.

17-05-2010, 09:46 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5a/Easter_Road.jpg (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5a/Easter_Road.jpg)

From this picture it looks like the pitch is staying in the same spot at the West side, possibly require a wider track/ run off area to comply with UEFA?
unless of course the new area of pitch is still to be built up.

That's a good photo - just imagine how good the stadium will look with the stands all the same size.:thumbsup:

17-05-2010, 09:49 PM
That's a good photo - just imagine how good the stadium will look with the stands all the same size.:thumbsup:
there was a really good one with the new stand edited into it :agree:

dont know where it is though :greengrin

found this on google

http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg (http://img103.imageshack.us/i/neweast.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

camhibby1
17-05-2010, 10:04 PM
I have it on the best authority that these are the same contractors as built the Tay Bridge.

But I can't for the life of me remember whether it was the FIRST one or the second.... :devil:

Could only have been the first one. The Tay Road Bridge was built by Duncan Logan Contractors from Muir of Ord and the company went bust in 1969. Willie Logan the Chairman was killed in a plane crash on Craig Dunain hill in Inverness in January 1966 and the road bridge was opened in August of that year. Incidentally it was this comany that founded Loganair which runs all these air services to the islands

17-05-2010, 10:07 PM
Don't think he was talking about the road bridge, more likely he meant the first rail bridge which collapsed into the river on a stormy night!

HibeeMG
17-05-2010, 10:15 PM
there was a really good one with the new stand edited into it :agree:

dont know where it is though :greengrin

found this on google

http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg (http://img103.imageshack.us/i/neweast.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

That's a very good picture.

On the odd occassion when we have a full house it is going to be immense!

17-05-2010, 10:29 PM
Those pics originated on the east stand consultation part of .net and can still be found there, along with other graphics... Inc back to the days when we didn't know if it would be 1 or 2 tier- seems a distant memory now!

I'd done the originals then, when it came out that the entrance ways were going to be a few rows up someone else altered them.

Lots of good graphics on that thread- not as good as dave's though- can't beat the real thing!

17-05-2010, 10:49 PM
I was in row B last year, and looking at that in pretty sure they've taken about 2 or 3 rows out, when looking at the placement next to the away dug out?

Wouldn't it have been more authentic to keep the concrete wall at the front of the west and have this recycled east fencing as the new frontage for the east?

Also, amy idea what they have done with the dug up turf from last season? Pretty sure they could have either made a bit of dish by selling it 5/sq metre, or saved on disposing of it by giving it away...

17-05-2010, 10:51 PM
I was in row B last year, and looking at that in pretty sure they've taken about 2 or 3 rows out, when looking at the placement next to the away dug out?

Wouldn't it have been more authentic to keep the concrete wall at the front of the west and have this recycled east fencing as the new frontage for the east?

Also, amy idea what they have done with the dug up turf from last season? Pretty sure they could have either made a bit of dish by selling it 5/sq metre, or saved on disposing of it by giving it away...
There wasnt any turf. Turf has grass in it. :cool2:
Only one row has been removed and the concrete wall taken away and the fence installed. This allows a Yoofa compliant run off area. The pitch wont be extended towards the west.

Jamie
17-05-2010, 11:31 PM

Too late :greengrin althou I need to update this...YouTube - EAST STAND REBUILD- The Story so Far! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KL0KM-eY-4) :thumbsup:

17-05-2010, 11:40 PM

West
Just kill me now.

18-05-2010, 12:04 AM
Too late :greengrin althou I need to update this...YouTube - EAST STAND REBUILD- The Story so Far! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KL0KM-eY-4) :thumbsup:

Great stuff Mr bounce.

What I love about that video is the way the new stands somehow oversee the whole process in some scenes respectfully...as if we are the future but we respect the past. It's as if they're giving the come-on to jump into the new age...we're here so don't be frightened!

Well that's my interpretation anyway!:thumbsup:

plhibs
18-05-2010, 01:19 AM

That my friend is so good, brought a tear to my eye, coming over in June must pay a visit.

Rory89
18-05-2010, 02:18 AM

Would bring a tear to a japs eye.

Don't like how one of the related video's is a song called "burn it to the ground" though. :greengrin

18-05-2010, 08:59 AM
Could only have been the first one. The Tay Road Bridge was built by Duncan Logan Contractors from Muir of Ord and the company went bust in 1969. Willie Logan the Chairman was killed in a plane crash on Craig Dunain hill in Inverness in January 1966 and the road bridge was opened in August of that year. Incidentally it was this comany that founded Loganair which runs all these air services to the islands

Don't think he was talking about the road bridge, more likely he meant the first rail bridge which collapsed into the river on a stormy night!

18-05-2010, 09:04 AM
Great stuff Mr bounce.

What I love about that video is the way the new stands somehow oversee the whole process in some scenes respectfully...as if we are the future but we respect the past. It's as if they're giving the come-on to jump into the new age...we're here so don't be frightened!

:Ummm:

18-05-2010, 09:13 AM
Great stuff Mr bounce.

You hear the stadium TALKING to you????? :offski:

Naw, I think I know what you mean.

Disc O'Dave
18-05-2010, 10:12 AM

Ah, great minds think alike

(although fools seldom differ)

That's great work, sir.

18-05-2010, 05:39 PM
Was passing ER today and had a look in. The latest girders to be erected appear to be the same shade of green as the other stands so we now have two different shades! According to the Bounce they will be sprayed the right shade idc.

18-05-2010, 06:25 PM
Was passing ER today and had a look in. The latest girders to be erected appear to be the same shade of green as the other stands so we now have two different shades! According to the Bounce they will be sprayed the right shade idc.

Being a decorator!!! without the white van.:wink: I think that the painter got the colour wrong in the first place :devil:

I'm sure it will look absolutely fabulous when finished..:cool2:

18-05-2010, 06:46 PM

Was about to post the same thing - on the bounce there are pictures of the steel some being of a lighter green - well the same green as the other stands! :faf:

They will be sprayed so they all match - looks like the decks for nearly half the stand are almost done.

Wonder when the roof will start being added :confused:

CallumHibs07
18-05-2010, 08:12 PM
Disappointed that it's only single-tiered. Would look amazing if it was exact same as the West.

18-05-2010, 08:19 PM
Going to look amazing either way IMO. Think that argument needs put to bed ;)

18-05-2010, 08:36 PM
Disappointed that it's only single-tiered. Would look amazing if it was exact same as the West.

I'm glad it's one tier and i think they've done that to try and keep the atmosphere.:agree:

18-05-2010, 08:50 PM

:agree: I'm glad I'm not the only one to think this. Don't get me wrong, the stadium will look a whole better than it did when the old stand was there and it will make Easter Road the best 'small' ground in the country by a mile. I just personally would have preferred for it to have been a two-tiered stand, just like the other three.

I understand the club's view on cost and I know a one-tiered stand is going to cost less in terms of maintenance etc, but I just think that we should have done things properly and built the two-tiered stand.

I will reserve full judgement until I have seen the finished article but at the moment, I feel ever so slightly underwhelmed and I just think it will look a bit odd.

I'm glad it's one tier and i think they've done that to try and keep the atmosphere.:agree:

You're not alone in having this opinion but it's a view I just can't understand. I honestly don't think we will create any more of an atmosphere in the one-tiered stand than we would have done, had it been a two-tiered job.

Rangers and Celtic come to Easter Road and sit in a two-tiered stand and they don't have any trouble getting heard.

As far as I'm concerned, it's down to the people who sit in the stand that will decide whether there will be an atmosphere or not and nothing at all to do with how many tiers it has.

18-05-2010, 08:57 PM

I used to sit there (disabled section) and I got a letter a few months ago saying that my seat would no longer be available as the front row in the West Stand was being removed and I would have first shout on a seat in the new stand.

Davy Mac
18-05-2010, 09:12 PM
Nice vid indeed.

Tell you what though, apart from years under the camera uncovered I only remember 4 games from the East - Beastie against Gers, Videoton with Mitchell's header, Sellick (CS Gas) and pashed at an Hibs v Ayr game between Xmas and New Year in the first division.

It really was ganton with these pillars likes, but alas the bairns want to get their seasons in the East now as they fancy a wee sing song and all that.

Might just roll back the years.........:thumbsup:

18-05-2010, 09:16 PM

Was it not the cheapest option? :dunno:

18-05-2010, 09:27 PM

Yes that would have definitely been a factor as to why it's just the one tier.:agree:

18-05-2010, 09:48 PM
Yes that would have definitely been a factor as to why it's just the one tier.:agree:

another being a lot of fans wanted it this way on here, the bounce and the consultation meetings the club held

18-05-2010, 10:03 PM
another being a lot of fans wanted it this way on here, the bounce and the consultation meetings the club held

Yep, i have to say i do prefer it being one-tier despite it not going with the rest of the stadium as much as two-tiers would. And i do think it will generate a better atmosphere.

18-05-2010, 10:55 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5a/Easter_Road.jpg

thanks for my new desktop wallpaper :thumbsup:

19-05-2010, 08:53 AM
:agree: I'm glad I'm not the only one to think this. Don't get me wrong, the stadium will look a whole better than it did when the old stand was there and it will make Easter Road the best 'small' ground in the country by a mile. I just personally would have preferred for it to have been a two-tiered stand, just like the other three.

I understand the club's view on cost and I know a one-tiered stand is going to cost less in terms of maintenance etc, but I just think that we should have done things properly and built the two-tiered stand.

I will reserve full judgement until I have seen the finished article but at the moment, I feel ever so slightly underwhelmed and I just think it will look a bit odd.

You're not alone in having this opinion but it's a view I just can't understand. I honestly don't think we will create any more of an atmosphere in the one-tiered stand than we would have done, had it been a two-tiered job.

Rangers and Celtic come to Easter Road and sit in a two-tiered stand and they don't have any trouble getting heard.

As far as I'm concerned, it's down to the people who sit in the stand that will decide whether there will be an atmosphere or not and nothing at all to do with how many tiers it has.

You are overlooking the fact that it is far harder to get tickets together and sit with your mates when the stand is split into two, if me and my mates are all together at a game then we will all be singin, if we are all dotted about in ones and twos then this wont be the case, id imagine its the same for everyone. And also I think it was really important that they kept it as similar to the terracing as poss, I doubt wether they would have been able to allocate so many seats together for a singing section either had the stand been split into two..

I for one am over the moon its one tier, and it will look far better with a different stand rather than the legoland look of a mcdiarmad park or the den etc etc, give it a wee bit charachter...

19-05-2010, 09:03 AM

It was, by about £2m IIRC.

Imagine Rod's delight when all the consultation groups told the club, by an overwhelming majority, that they wanted a one tier structure.

19-05-2010, 10:12 AM
It was, by about £2m IIRC.

Imagine Rod's delight when all the consultation groups told the club, by an overwhelming majority, that they wanted a one tier structure.

And imagine the responses that would have appeared on this forum when it got out that the club had spent £2m on 400-500 extra seats and doubled the annual running costs of the new stand....

IIRC it wasn't an overwhelming majority in favour of one-tier. There was a big minority who really wanted a two-tier job; another group who would have preferred a two-tier job; and a smaller minority in favour of a one-tier stand. When the finance was being discussed, a lot of those in the second group - those who preferred two tiers but weren't as committed as the first group - made it plain that if the figures were as we were being given them, they wouldn't mind a single-tier stand.

I would have preferred a two-tier stand. It would allow better facilities (catering, etc) and would probably be quicker to empty after the match. Emergency exit I'm sure will be straight onto the pitch - after Hillsborough and Bradford I would hope no steward or policeman would stop people in a real emergency.

I would suggest that the choice of one-tier has simplified construction and cut costs quite radically - which is a major concern for a club with our present crowds and turnover. £2m off the initial cost means a lot less on the payments to the bank; and if the figure we were given at the consultation for running costs (£100,000 less than a two-tier construction are reasonably accurate, then this choice will make a huge difference to the club's annual budget.

And ER is gonnae be a cracking not-so-wee stadium.

19-05-2010, 10:36 AM

What was left of the grass at ER was diseased, that, I was told, was the main problem with it.

That being the case I don’t think anyone would have wanted to infect their own garden with a piece of dodgy grass.

19-05-2010, 10:44 AM
What was left of the grass at ER was diseased, that, I was told, was the main problem with it.

That being the case I don’t think anyone would have wanted to infect their own garden with a piece of dodgy grass.

Yup. There apparently was an impacted black fungus-infected layer under the turf which was killing the roots and preventing re-growth.

I can't quite recollect when, but I have the recurring thought that at some point, either in Mowbray's time or in Collins's time, we took to rolling the pitch for certain games. If that were so, I'd say that that was when the trouble started.

I imagine the old turf was dumped deep in some landfill somewhere.

Or maybe we've sold it to Motherwell. They need to do some work on their pitch...

Gerard
19-05-2010, 01:46 PM
The Hibs board made a good decision in having a one tier stand. Our stadium will be one of the best for its size in the United Kingdom.
Gerard:wink:

19-05-2010, 04:08 PM
The atmosphere inside Easter Road should be fantastic. Can't wait until this is done.

Disc O'Dave
19-05-2010, 05:52 PM
And it won't be too long to wait...progress continues a-pace

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3364/4622214228_838cf4c79a.jpg

Up to 13 struts now...the section of concrete where I'll be sitting must be going up next....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4621605825/

Stonewall
19-05-2010, 08:36 PM
Yup. There apparently was an impacted black fungus-infected layer under the turf which was killing the roots and preventing re-growth.

I can't quite recollect when, but I have the recurring thought that at some point, either in Mowbray's time or in Collins's time, we took to rolling the pitch for certain games. If that were so, I'd say that that was when the trouble started.

I imagine the old turf was dumped deep in some landfill somewhere.

Or maybe we've sold it to Motherwell. They need to do some work on their pitch...

Don't think the problem was the fact the pitch was rolled, rather the general maintainance of the pitch was poor. eg Cricket pitches are rolled far more than the Easter Road pitch has ever been but it doesn't cause the problems we've had if they are properly looked after.

Mon_the_cabbage
19-05-2010, 09:02 PM
Don't think the problem was the fact the pitch was rolled, rather the general maintainance of the pitch was poor. eg Cricket pitches are rolled far more than the Easter Road pitch has ever been but it doesn't cause the problems we've had if they are properly looked after.

Black root, which the ER pitch had, is indeed caused by use of a roller (amongst other things). Cricket pitches which are also rolled do not have any grass on them so your comparison is not like for like.
The outfield of a cricket pitch which is not rolled does have green grass however.

19-05-2010, 09:23 PM

Being the operative phrase.

However it happened, that pitch wasn't being properly looked after. If we're reseeding now, I hope we'll look after this pitch properly. It'd be singularly unimpressive if we ended up with one of the best stadiums in Scotland and one of the worst pitches - again.

19-05-2010, 09:35 PM
Black root, which the ER pitch had, is indeed caused by use of a roller (amongst other things). Cricket pitches which are also rolled do not have any grass on them so your comparison is not like for like.
The outfield of a cricket pitch which is not rolled does have green grass however.

Absolutely correct on all counts.
Spoke with the contractor who is seeding and he more or less said what you have posted :thumbsup: